Island Surf 506 ~ Two Lanais and Great Ocean Views! Very popular condo!
Gorgeous oceanviews from this 5th floor 1 bedroom, 1 bath unit at the Island Surf, an apartment style building. This condo has tiled flooring and tasteful, comfortable furnishings! Lanai glass doors are double paned to reduce noise. Conveniently located across the street from Kalama Park - walk to grocery store, shops and restaurants. Kamaole Beach I is two blocks from the Island Surf. Condo has two lanais with beautiful ocean views + complimentary Wifi! TAT #
Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Sleeper Sofa
Room Description: 5th Floor Unit - Building has Elevators
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Internet Cafe * Convenience: Nearby Grocery, Walk to Shops and Restaurants * Entertainment: Cable TV, DVD Player * Geographic: Across the Street from Beach * Kitchen: Blender, Coffee Maker, Cookware, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Rice Cooker, Toaster * Living: Air Conditioning, Ironing Board, Linens, Washer & Dryer, WI-FI * Outdoor: Lanai, Shared Pool
A guest from Victoria, BC, Canada does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in April, 2016 We are familiar with the Island Surf building. And this condo, being a corner suite, has two lanais. So the views are great and you have a choice of lanais for lounging. The condo itself though is tired with worn and stained carpets and a typical 'tired' kitchen. There was one wine glass, one large drink glass and then the clutter of many mismatched cups, glasses, bowls, cutlery etc. The counters should have been replaced years ago. We don't expect 5 star amenities, but it was like being in a family style cabin. I wouldn't mind if it was a cabin style price. There was no hand soap or shampoo. Typically a VRBO listing will have a starter pack so that you can bathe after your travels and then get to the store when convenient for more supplies. Perhaps this was an oversight, but again for the price we'd expect more. There are other units in the same Island Surf complex that offer much more value.
Property Manager Response: Response from Kumulani Vacations & Realty, Inc Aloha! Mahalo for your review. Yes, this unit is wonderful with the double lanais and ocean views! The owner does have plans for renovations and I'll pass your comments along to him. Sometimes items gets transferred to other units but we will certainly look into it. We appreciate your insight to help us improve our product. Sincerely!
A guest from Edmonton, AB recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in January, 2016 This is my second time staying in this unit, and we call the Island Surf home when we vacation in Maui. The price is very reasonable when compared to other vacation rentals and the view cannot be beat!! This unit seems to have the best views for seeing the whales from your lanai! There are lots of kitchen cooking supplies and utensils, the bed and living room furniture are very comfortable. With some sense of the owners you really get the feeling of sharing someone's home rather than being a stranger on vacation. Kumalani staff are amazingly attentive and the cleaning personnel were there promptly when we checked out. My only wishes: the beach gear provided was quite old and could be updated and while the kitchen has a very functional layout that optimizes a small space it could use some updating. That being said these are things that are not necessities! The building, pool and bbq are very well maintained and the building manager is a wonderful person! We will be back!
A guest from Golden, CO recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in January, 2016 Maui lodging is pricey,and for this area this place is a bargain! Across a very busy street from lots of activity at a park, there is no lack of things to do with volley ball and tennis courts, a long walking trail along the water, and of all things, a nighttime hockey rink OR just sit on one of the lanais and watch the surf and surfers. A walkable beach is about two blocks away. The unit is a bit dated, especially in the bath and kitchen areas, but comfortable. Best of all, the king sized bed was fabulously comfortable! The rental company was very helpful and even let us print our boarding pass in their office.The minor negatives were a slight musty smell, some of the throw rugs and bedroom carpet looked a bit dirty and the air conditioner vents were quite dusty. Overall it's a great place if you're not too fastidious.
Peter V. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in January, 2016 This unit has great views south and west because it sis on the corner of the building. It's location makes walking to grocery store, restaurants, bars, shops, surfboard and paddle board rentals very easy. Bed is very comfortable, as is the whole unit. There is road noise with the sliding doors to the two lanais open, but the triple pane doors do great job of blocking the sound of traffic. At night you can leave the doors open and hear the ocean. Very relaxing.
WILLIAM N. from SAN DIEGO, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in December, 2015 We have stayed in this unit the last 4 years. This stay we had our first hiccup, the lockbox had the wrong key in it when we arrived. Called Kumulani and Wendy was there in 20 minutes with a key. It is clean and the sunset views are amazing.The kitchen has almost everything you need to prepare meals or drinks. It is right across from Cove Beach park. We love staying here. One thing we noticed this time was that some of the furniture and towels etc are a little tired. If you can deal with that, it's great.
Rebecca P. from Lacey, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 11 days in September, 2015 The condo was filthy and the provisions were 3rd rate.There was sticky substance on the front lanai that had dirt stuck in it.The BR lanai was too dirty to use.I had to wear shoes in the bedroom because the carpet was so filthy.The bathroom was beyond gross!The fan was covered with fuzzy scum and the tub/shower was disgusting. We cleaned as best we could.The broom was worse than the floors.I called Wendy and she sent someone to clean the lanai's, and he spot cleaned the carpet.
Property Manager Response: Response from Kumulani Vacations & Realty, Inc Dear Rebecca, We certainly apologize for the condition of the unit and it is certainly not how we wish gst to enter when they arrive. We did have a long tern gst in before and we should of had a deep clean between renters. The Owner does have plans to renovate the bathroom in the near future. All in all the unit is very popular due to the ocean views from both Lanai's, and the doubled pane sliding doors! Hope to have you back!
Ralf S. from Rostock, Germany recommends this property. Stayed for 35 days in July, 2015 I was quite satisfied, particularly since I cook myself....
Property Manager Response: Response from Kumulani Vacations & Realty, Inc Aloha e Ralf, Mahalo nui for your review. We are so pleased that you have continued to book with us for all your Maui vacations over the past several years! We appreciate your loyalty and your honest review of this unit and look forward to helping you in planning your next windsurfing vacation to our beautiful valley isle. Take good care til then. ALOHA
Phil Y. from Des Moines,, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 14 days in March, 2015 Bed, shower, kitchen was great. The furniture in the living room, especially the couch was a pain. The TV sound was terrible, especially if you had a window open.
Peter V. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 9 days in January, 2015 Stayed in this condo for ten days. Loved the view. Very comfortable bed. Great sliding doors to the balconies. Plan to stay again in 2016.
Property Manager Response: Response from Kumulani Vacations & Realty, Inc Aloha Peter, Your feedback and review of the Island Surf unit 506 is very much appreciated. The staff of Kumulani Vacations depends on our guests' comments. It is wonderful to read that you found the condo pleasant. We look forward to your next stay on Maui. Mahalo, Kumulani Vacations & Realty, Inc.
Ralf S. from Rostock, Germany recommends this property. Stayed for 42 days in July, 2014 was good! especially the staff :-)
Property Manager Response: Response from Kumulani Vacations & Realty, Inc Aloha Ralf, Always a pleasure having you year after year. Much mahalo for being a loyal Kumulani guest. Glad you enjoy Island Surf 506 and noticed all the constant upgrades as the Owner continues to improve! See you next year! Warm Aloha, Wendi, David, Joanne
Carole Z. from Kihei, HI recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in May, 2014 This unit has everything a family needs and is well decorated and impeccably clean. The management staff are friendly and helpful. I use a wheelchair and though this unit isn't specifically ADA designed, it worked well and is accessible to be. The bed is very tall however. One great feature unique to this unit is that it has two lanais and soundproof glass doors -- giving sun on the porches and quiet when wanted. Highly recommend.
Property Manager Response: Response from Kumulani Vacations & Realty, Inc Aloha Carole, Thank You for your review of the Island Surf unit 506 and your recommendation to others. We look forward to assisting you again. Mahalo, Kumulani Vacations & Realty, Inc.
Reviewed by: Greg H. recommends this property. Stayed for 10 days in April, 2014 I have stayed in this building before and like the location, it is also very reasonable, and I find Wendi Ching, good to deal with. My first 10 days were in unit 506 which old but has been kept up somewhat. The last 5 days I was in 403; as 506 was booked. I have stayed in 403 1 year ago; it needs to be redone!!! The bedroom carpet is shag; how old?? and is beyond cleaning; the bed; you would find better at the dump; furniture, rugs, bathmats, are the same. The bathroom fan is filthy, bedroom windows in disrepair, and the shower isn't working properly. My suggestion would be to drop this unit if the owners don't spend some$$$ on it. I will still rent from your company and deal with Wendi. GH
Joyce G. from Lacey, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 23 days in October, 2013 The view from each room was beautiful.The apartment was located within walking distance of restaurants, different rentals, and beaches.The parking lot was clean and convenient.
Property Manager Response: Response from Kumulani Vacations & Realty, Inc Aloha Joyce, Thank You for the wonderful review of your stay and a accommodations at the Island Surf unit 506. We hope to provide for your next Maui Vacation! The Kumulani Staff
A guest from Rostock, Germany recommends this property. Stayed for 41 days in July, 2013 I have been staying at island surf for the last 5 years
Property Manager Response: Response from Kumulani Vacations & Realty, Inc Aloha Ralf, Yes, much mahalo for being such a loyal Kumulani guest! Great to see you every year! All the best to you in Germany! Wendi, David, Joanne
Alicia L. from Edmonton AB, Canada recommends this property. Stayed for 14 days in February, 2013 The unit at the Island Surf was clean and well kept. It had a very functional use of space. The thick glass on the lanai doors kept the traffic noise down. The view from the lanais cannot be beat! Kumulani provided helpful information and were available when I needed them! I had a spectacular vacation and I will be back in the future! Thanks to both the owners of #506 Island Surf and Kumulani Vacation for providing me with this wonderful opportunity to rest and recharge in paradise!
Property Manager Response: Response from Kumulani Vacations & Realty, Inc Aloha Alicia,Thank You for your review and comments of your stay at the Island Surf.We look forward to assisting you with your future stay on Maui.Mahalo,Kumulani Vacations & Realty
A guest from Honolulu, HI recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2008 We enjoyed the location and the room.The air con. in the living room didn't work but the cross vent. was good enough. We brought our owen towels & supplies and used some stuff avaiable to us but the unit was well stocked. We will tell our friends about our stay.I would consider staying there again. We ck in and out on our owen and left the place clean and did a wash before leaving.Good memories of Maui.