ALL CABINS HAVE A STANDARD $300 REFUNDABLE SECURITY DEPOSIT, A HOUSEKEEPING CHARGE AND 6% COUNTY TAX IN ADDITION TO THE RENT. 3 Night Minimum During Holiday Periods. One of our best! Inviting single story cabin located on secluded, large level lot with sizable private deck. 4 bedrooms and 2.5 bath. Sleeps up to 14 people in 1 King, 2 Queens, 3 bunkbed sets and 1 Queen hide-a-bed sofa. Enjoy themed decor and wooded views as well as central heat, fireplace, TV/VCR-cable, DVD, foosball, microwave, W/D, gas BBQ, horseshoe pit. Hammock, Wireless Internet. Hot Tub. NO SMOKING, NO CATS. DOGS ALLOWED on approval with additional $25.00 fee if bringing your Pet. Rec Center Membership (guest fees apply).
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Golf Course, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Shopping * Convenience: Area Fitness Center, Medical Services Nearby, Nearby Grocery, Restaurants/cafes, Shopping * Culture: Calaveras County Frog Jump, Casinos, Plays and concerts, Wineries * Entertainment: Cable Television, DVD, Foosball, gas fireplace, Horseshoe pit, Television, VCR * Family: Golf, Kids Games, Library, Movie Theatre * Geographic: Big Trees Area, Near Lake, Near River * Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Oven, Refrigerator, Stove, Toaster, Utensils, W & D * Living: Blankets, Pillows, central heat, Pet Friendly, Washer & Dryer, Wireless Internet, Internet, Dishwasher, Propane BBQ, Gas Fireplace, Fooseball, Cable TV, DVD player, VCR Player, Hot Tub, Washer & Dryer, Microwave, Tree House , horseshoe pit * Outdoor: Biking, Boating, Caverns, Deck, Fishing, Fly Fishing, Gas Grill, Hiking Trails, Jet Ski Rental, Near Big Trees State Park, Near County Fair Grounds, Near New Melones Lake, Recreation Center, Shared Swimming Pool, Sight-Seeing, Skiing, Snowmobile Rental, Swimming, Wildlife Viewing, Wineries
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Pretty good place
A guest from union city, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2016 prosbeautiful locationnice big clean house wireless internetnearby storesall appliances workconshot tub was not workinguncomfortable bedsbathroom latch didn't workfoosball table brokengrill was dirty but worked wellno coffee, sugar in kitchen
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Real Estate, Inc. Hot tub was unfortunately being serviced during this guest stay. This guest was informed regarding the hot tub needing repair. We make our best effort to make repairs as quickly as possible. Unfortunately, the hot tub part had to be special ordered delaying this repair. This is one of our most popular rental cabins due to the size, location and comfort of this cabin. This is the first comment we have received in regards to the beds being uncomfortable? We will look into the bathroom latch and foosball table repair. We never received a call from the guest during their stay informing us of any broken items and would encourage our guests staying with us to please let us know so we can make the necessary repairs asap and not have to find out about them on our review section. This cabin has a wonderful following of returning guests and we hope this guest will come back to stay with us again in the future.
James P. from San Leandro, California recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in July, 2016 Overall we had a great time. The only things that could have been better were the outside picnic tables were in disrepair, and we would have appreciated chairs rather than benches around the dining room table. Our group had older folks and getting in and out of benches was difficult.
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Real Estate, Inc. Thank-you for returning to stay with us in the sierras and for your comments. We will pass your input on to the owners.
Robert B. from Moraga, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in April, 2016 Awesome, house was great!
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Real Estate, Inc. Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the cabin and were able to ski the last week that the ski resort was open.
Abraham G. from Hayward, California recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2016 I'm not happy that you took money from my deposit for cleaning the hot tub. We cleaned our best. I been requesting for years to fix restrooms door locks and they never got fixed. I been with you for many years I think I deserve better treatment I may stop doing business with you.
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Real Estate, Inc. Thank you for your review. While we can pass on requests for repairs to the owners, it is ultimately up to the property owner to fix items such as the restroom door locks, etc. The hot tub was excessively dirty after your stay and needed to be completely drained, cleaned, filters replaced, and refilled. This is not normal wear-and-tear and deductions for excessive cleaning will be taken from guest deposits as necessary.
Rusty B. from Oakland, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2015 We had a great time , the house was clean ,and a great house for us.Some very minor maintenance issues, We left a list at the office when we checked out
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Real Estate, Inc. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Woodbery Lodge. The house is fabulous for large families and our housekeeping staff takes great pride in caring for these fabulous homes.
Olga L. from alameda, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2015 We were four families with young kids. Everyone had a good time, the cabin is very cozy on the inside.There were a few little things that didn't affect our stay, but would be nice if were fixed: the sink in the master was clogged, cover to the Jacuzzi was broken and taking on water, the deck was in pretty bad shape covered with bird poop. The main issue was the beds in Master and across were very hard and some of us had a hard time sleeping on it. A simple mattress cover would make it much better.
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Real Estate, Inc. Thank you for your review. The owners are aware of the hot tub cover issue, which was broken by a previous renter. A new one was ordered; unfortunately, it did not arrive before your stay. The deck is not in poor condition. The house is located in the middle of the woods, is surrounded by trees, and despite the best efforts of housekeeping, animal droppings, pine needles, pitch, etc. can be present on outdoor structures, particularly in the fall. We will notify the owners of the comments regarding the mattresses. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Alice K. from Piedmont, California recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2015 Overall, it was good. However, we had an issue with the hot tub and could not reach anyone at the realty company (on a Friday during business hours). They did call us back eventually and gave us extra time for checkout, which was appreciated. There was no soap in any of the bathrooms. The deck was large and nice, but very run down and filthy and the furniture was in bad shape. Sad, since we spend most of our time on the deck! The refrigerator was missing many of the shelf pieces, which rendered them unusable. In all other respects, though, the cabin was spacious and nicely appointed. The location is good--between the Stanislaus River and Alpine Lake, our two go-to recreation places. If we ever got word that the deck was cleaned and the furniture replaced (including the bbq, which is a propane one), we would re-rent it in a heartbeat! I would recommend it to a friend, but would disclose the downsides.
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Real Estate, Inc. Really surprising to here that these guests had so many faults with this cabin. This is one of our most rentable cabins. We do have an emergency number that guests can call if they cannot reach us in our office for we are out and about with clients and taking care of business frequently, so the provided emergency number is one that we can be reached at regardless of time of day. This information is included in the rental packet as well as on our arrival instructions emailed to all of our guests prior to arrival. The decks are near to impossible to keep completely clear of tree debris, especially this cabin with trees surrounding the entire deck. Our staff does clear off the decks 24 hrs. before arrival but never a guarantee that they will not have pine needles from the trees falling after cleared and if the wind picks up or the rain falls it is guaranteed to not be pine needle free. Due to the weather elements in our area decks need to be sanded and stained every year to keep them from rotting away which this deck does have done every year. I will need to go take a look at the deck furniture for we have never had any complaints about them from past guests. We do not allow broken furniture at our rental cabins. Some of our owners will provide bath soap but most typically do not. These are privately owned homes and hotel/motel soaps/shampoo, etc are not provided in our rental homes. We hope these guests will return to find another cabin that best fits their needs and requirements, sorry to hear that they were unhappy with these items, for they had not mentioned these things until this review.
A guest from Fremont, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in July, 2014 Accommodations for our family worked out very well. Beautiful setting
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Real Estate, Inc. The Woodbery Lodge certainly is in a beautiful setting, set back from the road and surrounded by the ubiquitous trees that make this area so special. Very glad to hear that this guest appreciated it.
Wendy S. from San Francisco, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014 Beautiful house. Housed all eight of us. Great Kitchen and dining /living areas. (but could have used chairs with back for us oldsters) Taking my friends up to Lake Alpine was a first for them, as well as Calaveras Big Trees-a must in any weather. Picnic at Brice Station Winery. Who can ask for more!! I will return to this cabin!!And the dog enjoyed it all1! It was totally loved and enjoyed by all. We'll be back.
Guerino I. from Petaluma, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013 There were two main reasons why we would not rent this property again. The first one is a safety issue. Very large pine cones would crash onto the deck area which includes the hot tub. Squirrels would chew the branches from the two trees that were right next to the deck off the living area. We were in the hot tub and a pine cone crashed and hit the side of the tub. Someone could be seriously injured. The deck was also very sticky from all of the tree sap from the pine cones that the squirrels were breaking apart.
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Vacation Rentals We are sorry to hear that these guests did not enjoy the Woodbery Lodge. We have never received any compaints about the safety of the deck, and this rental is among our most desired. Our housekeeping staff works diligently to keep all properties in the best possible condition. Unfortunately, part of staying in the mountains is sharing space with the woodland critters and the trees.
A guest from Santa Clarita, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013 The arrangements were great for our family reunion. Bunk beds all in one room is ok for kids, but not for adults. 2.5 baths required some cooperation from guests, especially when one bathroom was connected to master bedroom. Linens were not in cabin upon arrival, had to contact housekeeping for linens which we had paid for. Previous user of barbecue grill did not do a good job of cleaning after use. All in all, we had a good time.
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Vacation Rentals This is a well suited cabin for large parties. It has all you need to entertain a good size group with a wonderful open floor plan, making it very comfortable to enjoy each others company. We do make sure we give as much information as possible on our website so guests can pick the type of cabin that fits their needs best. Sounds like the bathroom arrangement in this cabin was not what these guests were looking for? This is a non-linen cabin but we did accommodate these guests with linens when requested. Our cleaning contractor did overlook laying out linens for these guests prior to their arrival but delivered them promptly after they called. Big Trees Realty/Sierra Vacation Rentals takes pride in providing guests with all they need to enjoy their stay and is available by phone 24/7 should anything be needed or requested by our guests to make their stay more comfortable.
A guest from Fremont, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013 Interior very nice; Outside and porch area not maintained - pine needles must be cleared. Children's tree house unstable and unsafe.
abraham g. from hayward, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2013 Most of all was great,exept foosball table and the restroom lock by jaccuzziRefrigerator and microwave not too clean
Maureen N. from Hayward, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in January, 2013 We enjoyed our stay in Woodberry Lodge. with our large family group, it works out well. it was our second year there.
Kim T. from San Jose, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in December, 2012 We recently stayed at the Woodbery Lodge. It is a nice cabin on a single floor with all the bedrooms to one end and one very large bedroom with room for 8. My only complaint is that when we arrived after 5 hours of driving, we found that the dishwasher was broken. I called the maid service and they didn't think it could be fixed until after we left, but weren't sure. Then I called the property management and spoke with Linnea who was very nice and empathetic. She promised to update me the next day and speak with the owners regarding the dishwasher and compensation. I understand that problems arise, but a dishwasher is essential when you have 10 people in one house many of whom are young. I asked for compensation or to be able to leave a bit later so we didn't have to worry about it. Linnea also promised to look into it.Bottom line, the dishwasher was fixed by the 3rd day of our stay, but we had had to do dishes the whole time. I believe compensation is due. I also believe the owners should have contacted the property management office so we would have been forewarned. I feel the whole thing was badly handled on the part of the owners.
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Vacation Rentals Unfortunately, things do break unexpectantly and we do the best we can to get things fixed as quickly as possible. Sorry they had a few days of dishes to do by hand, but glad it all worked out in the end.
A guest from Soquel, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in March, 2012 Everything was as shown in the photos, and very nice. The fireplace is gas, not wood burning. I would be happy to go back again. The driveway is mostly level and long, but a short steeper incline to the street.
Youn-Jun Y. from Cupertino, California recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in January, 2012 I had great time!One thing that I looked forward was ping pong table, cause I had lots of fun two years ago, but I couldn't see it this time.Anyway I really liked the place and may visit next winter again, as my forth visit. :)
Mostly had a great time until we got home and there 3+ cases of folliculitis (A Satph infection obtained from poor chlorinated h
James H. from Lincoln, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2011 Absolutely unprofessional and unacceptable. Would definitley not reccommend any properties that need pool or hot tub maintenance.
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Vacation Rentals This cabins hot tub was checked, cleaned and ready to go for this Church group prior to their arrival. It was unfortunate that this Youth Group was not supervised more closely. The condition of the hot tub upon their departure was disappointing. The amount of dirt and pine needles dragged into the hot tub during their stay was beyond even trying to remove. The hot tub had to be drained, cleaned, refilled and filter serviced. We post hot tub rules expecting them to be respected, unfortunately, with this group they were not.
Annie P. from Salinas, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011 We love staying in the Woodbery cabin, however this time it was not cleaned well at all. For $2000 per week I expected it to be more clean.
Deborah R. from Morgan Hill, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2011 The cabin isn't very well stocked and a few things were broken when we arrived (the hinges on the door leading to the kids room, the dishwasher, the hot tub locks). We also had trouble figuring out how to use the hot tub - a friend was able to help is out. But we love the location and the lot and we love that our dog is allowed. Thank you very much! We also enjoy the big trees membership and always make good use of the rec center.
John W. from Oakland, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2011 one thing to change. allow renters to leave dishes clean in dishwasher. some dishes were dirty because people washed them themselves so to avoid a fee. doesnt make sense. cleaners can put away dishes. this was the best cabin we've rented so far
Lisa G. from Hayward, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2011 The cabin was wonderful and pet friendly. Our dog Nikko had a great time playing in the snow. The electricity was out the majority of the time. The owners called to make sure we were all okay and the realtor even stopped by. Excellent service!!
Tracy L S. from San Ramon, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in January, 2011 The last three years we have enjoyed getting away to "our" winter cabin. It's a wonderful cabin for both kids and adults to enjoy. It was great when it snowed 6-8 inches Sunday morning that the snow plow got there bright and early to make it easy for us to get up the long driveway. The only downside we had this year was a new cover that had been put on the hot tub that there was no update to the tub instructions about how to unlock the cover. It appeared that it just needed to be pinched to unlock but broke under the pressure. Later we found a key in a basket that was marked for the hot tub. Updated instructions would have stopped this from happening and us receiving a $35 fee for the broken locks (the two on the other side were already gone so this probably wasn't the first time there was an issue). This put a mild damper on an otherwise fabulous trip.
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Vacation Rentals Instructions are clearly posted for guests inside the cabin on how to remove the cover locks. If ever a question, calling the rental company is advised, we will be glad to help.
A guest from Roseville, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2010 Upon arrival at the cabin, the cleaning crew was still at work and told us they would be done in 15 minutes. They asked us to wait in our cars and 90 minutes later they were done. 90 minutes sitting in a car when it's 20 degrees outside gets a little old fast and leads to a cold and edgy wife!The fireplace was a bit funky and should be repaired/replaced. My "handy" friend would have to relight the pilot light nearly every 30 minutes. The fire would start and last about 20 minutes and then for no reason it would turn off. Each time we would have to get the pilot light started again in order for the fireplace to work. For a cabin in the woods at nearly 6000 ft. elevation, the fireplace should be of top most importance for maintenance, especially a gas fireplace.Otherwise, the cabin was a lot of fun and we enjoyed the hot tub often and really appreciated the isolated and quite location which turned into a winter wonderland with nearly 24" of snow falling during our stay. The power went out on our 3rd day there which was a bit annoying when you're trying to watch the Rose Bowl and movies, but we understand not much can be done about the power going out. The driveway is quite steep and anyone without 4-wheel drive probably should avoid this particular cabin in the winter. Fortunately, the snow removal company came by early and often each day and kept the driveway accessible, although a couple of us needed to put on chains just to get out of the steep driveway. Beds were comfortable and the showers were hot.
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Vacation Rentals This cabin is enjoyed by many in the winter. Not a steep driveway at all. With all the snow that fell, chains are very important to bring along and are required in the high country. Sure glad these guests followed our recommendation and brought theirs along. The fireplace was recently replaced and has been working just fine. Checked again and there is no problem?? Instructions to turn on the gas fireplace are close at hand. This cabin provides central heat which is a plus when you do not want to mess with the fireplace. These tenants arrived before the cabin was finsihed being cleaned. A hot cup of cocoa at the local store is where I would have been until the cabin was ready. With the storms and very cold weather the power will sometimes go out when least expected. This is mountain adventure at its peak.
judy a. from modesto, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2010 Our family of twelve had such a great time at the lodge. The kids' room was perfect for the 6 grand-children even though they spent most of their time sledding in the snow. Of course, the adults enjoyed the fireplace and completely stocked kitchen.
A guest from Santa Clara, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2010 We had a wonderful stay at Woodbery, and in-fact the entire location was beautiful. We hope to visit one of your vacation rentals soon.
Deborah R. from Morgan Hill, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2010 Not a well-stocked kitchen - large pots missing, & the can opener didn't work, the BBQ has a problem - it took hours to cook some chicken. Otherwise, we had a great time - loved the location & it was pretty clean. Oh, and the back-left burner on the stove doesn't work.
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Vacation Rentals Checked the back-left burner and it is working fine. Not sure what happended with the barbecue, it fires up just fine and doesn't seem to be malfunctioning.? Have never had complaints about this cabins kitchen not being well stocked with pots/pans, etc.? Will make sure the can opener is replaced.
Big Trees did not give correct information at the time of the booking. They informed me that the cabin had a gas stove and the n
A guest from Felton, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2010 would not allow as to change. I understood that it is difficult to change cabins last minute but what was so disappointing was they didn't offer a refund for their error. They did find us an alternative pool 20 minutes away but it was still a hassle. The most disappointing information along with the pool being closed during the week we were there was the cabin had an electric stove. I confirmed with BT at the time of the booking that I only wanted to rent a cabin with a gas stove as I love to cook. Cooking is what I do for enjoyment but only on a gas stove. There was a gas barbecue but the tank was empty so we had it filled up for about 20.00. Big Trees said that it is not required to have the barbecue tank filled so they would not reimburse us for the cost of filling up the tank. The property manager owner was not helpful at all. He was annoyed that we weren't happy with the cabin. I felt he had our money and really didn't care about us at all. I would not rent from this management company again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Vacation Rentals I have been working with this customer since May. She never mentioned to me the importance of having a gas stove to cook on. This is a wonderful cabin enjoyed by many renters who return yearly.This cabin does have recreation privileges which are paid for by the owner. The hours vary depending on when you come. We do not set the recreation centers hours, which were available for their use during their stay. We did offer free pool services for this family elsewhere on the days when the rec. center was closed. We did provide a full tank of propane for the barbecue the day they arrived as well. We went out of our way to accomodate this family the very best we could. However, we could not provide a gas stove or change the appearance of the yard as this tenant wanted us to do. There was absolutely nothing wrong with this cabin to justify moving these tenants to another cabin. We feel we provide top notch service and work our hardest to make our customers happy. Unfortunately, nothing we did for this customer during her stay made it better for her.
Hillel S. from Berkeley, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2010 We loved the house and the location! We we're disappointed that the hot tub would not exceed 95 degrees regardless of the higher setting. We were also unable to get the gas fireplace to work.
Property Manager Response: Response from Big Trees Vacation Rentals If there was a problem with the hot tub & fireplace I wish these guests would have called our office. We are available by phone 24 hrs. a day to provide service calls. Usually it is something as simple as resetting a button or switch. The fireplace was serviced. The owners ended up replacing the entire fireplace in the spring.
Jeanne S. from San Mateo, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2009 There were 9 of us and plenty of room. It is in a great location for a variety of activities and we did them all. I loved the big square table for meals so that we could all sit together facing each other like in a circle. The negatives I will mention were minor disappointments that could easily be remedied, we thought. The garbage cans should be replaced with bear proof cans and the BBQ needs replacing too. Otherwise all was great!
A guest from Watsonville, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2008 Great time, loved the cabin! Two areas for improvement: living room carpet was very dirty upon arrival; there were no outside trash cans - we were expected to store our trash and recyclables in the house (for a week!); instead we had to make several trips to the Avery disposal site which wasted precious vacation time and gas. The fact that there were two brand new trash cans in an animal-proof enclosure that we weren't allowed to use was especially frustrating.
A guest from Santa Cruz, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in February, 2008 We had a great time once again renting with Big Trees. This was a first time staying at Woodberry Lodge and the house was very group freindly. We did not receive our entire deposit back due to confetti under the couch from previous renters (not ours) so make sure and report EVERYTHING upon departure!
Penni W. from Batavia, IL does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in December, 2007 The ad still stated a hot tub which did not work. Hot water heater was not working and had to call management multiple times and they finally had to show us how to fix it ourselves. Asked for a discount given the situation and management never replied. Property Manager in office Toni was unhelpful, nonresponsive and I would NOT recommend using this company to rent from. They offered us a discount on our next rental. Who wants to rent from this company again? The right thing to to do is to provide a discount on the stay given the hotel tub was advertised and the hot water heater wasn't working. We could not even all take showers everyday. If you have an issue, you will not get any support. Find another property to rent!
Joseph M. from Stockton, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2007 We have 14 in our family! Everyone of them enjoyed staying at the Woodberry Lodge. It was very well equipped and comfortable! My grandchildren are asking when are we going to our house in the mountains? haha And we soon will be!