Valhalla~oceanfront and perfect for larger groups, reunions and retreats.
Rockaway Beach - Valhalla is perfect for family reunions or large retreats with its spacious floor plan and extra amenities. As soon as you walk into this luxurious two-story home, you will notice the recently updated kitchen, stainless steel appliances, and the large granite countertops. The dining room features a sliding door out to the deck where you can move your dinner parties on sunny days or walk a few more steps and have a picnic right on the beach! Circle around to the living room that has an enormous brick fireplace and plenty of room for everyone to sit down and relax by the fire. Go upstairs and step through the double doors into the master bedroom where you will be blown away by the spectacular ocean view. Step out onto the balcony and sip your coffee as you watch the birds swoop down to the ocean. On the other end of the house, is a large kid's room with four twin beds, a TV with VCR and plenty of room for them to play. Centrally located upstairs is a large Jacuzzi tub, perfect for soaking your worries away or head over to the sauna and feel your stress melt away.
**Holiday Premiums will apply over all July 4th reservations**
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Nice place and location
A guest from SANDY, OR - Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in December, 2016 All was good with the house. One small thing, but worth noting. While we were at the house we received a call from a telemarketer trying to sell us a vacation in Florida. They called on the house phone. I thought that was in poor taste. Then a few days later I received another similar call from the same person on my cell phone. I called Sunset and they said they didn't give my phone number out, but I don't see how the telemarketer could have had the rental house number while I was there, and also my cell phone.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the beach. Just to make it clear, we do not sell, share, or give out our customers phone number, email, etc. Our lists are private for our use only. We are not affiliated with any Florida Property management company or do any telemarketing. The house phone is listed in the local phone number so could be easily found for telemarketing however, we do not supply it through our company in any way. Same goes for cell phone numbers. We are sorry you were bothered on your vacation but rest assured that your information was not acquired through our office or website.
Sylvia S. from Phoenix, AZ recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2016 House is spacious and location is lovely. Description is accurate. Property is clean. Furniture/ tv is old but has character. No internet available and no signal for cell. Restaurants and downtown within walking distance. Beautiful deck/ view.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
Renae Joanne H. from Caldwell, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2016 We rented Valhalla for our 30th Anniversary week. Our kids and the littles had a blast. Best location ever. Weather was great. Room for everyone to enjoy themselves. Priceless memories were made and we will definitely be back.
Brad B. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2016 we loved the view and location. however the home needs some attention regarding repair. The picnic table outside is old and in very poor shape, we had a teenager sit on the bench and it collapsed and he fell off it onto his back. its rotted from water and sun damage. recliner is in poor condition. But we enjoyed the house location and view.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so sorry regarding the shape of the picnic table. We will take care of that immediately. We will forward your comment regarding the picnic table to the homeowner as well. We are happy you enjoyed the location and view and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
Madeline S. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2016 This was a second time renting this home. Everyone loves the home & its location/access to the beach. The very large room upstairs is great for many children & gives a place for just them to play & play their video games. I whole heartedly recommend the home for large families.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you being a repeat customer here with us at Sunset Vacation Rentals. We hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
A guest from Bothell, Washington recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2015 This is a great house, great location, but some maintenance is in need! The view is obstructed by overgrown blackberries. They have also taken over the courtyard. The master could be beautiful if the repairs on the ceiling above the bed were completed and the pocket door to the bathroom was useable. We were disappointed that there wasn't enough hot water to use the jaccusi tub. It should not be advertised if you cannot use it. We were also disappointed by not being able to acess the garage. We did not like leaving our cars on the street. It is a great family space with enough seating in both the living room and dining room for large families. There were two lamps in the living room with no place to plug them in! Need a lamp in the 1st floor bedroom where the light switch is located outside of the room.I think a handyman for a day could fix most things in this place to make it a 5 star rental.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you for letting us know! The blackberries have been cut back, the pocket door has been repaired. The Jacuzzi tub is very large, so if any other water source is used before or during, it will use up the hot water very quickly! The lamps are now all workable as well!
Benjamin V. from Portland, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2015 Great location and view! Would be highly recommended if I hadn't needed to pay for/replace the gas tank for the grill while mid use, if there was a sharp knife in the kitchen, if the outdoor furniture didn't fall apart by just moving it, and if the windows were cleaned before arriving. The family reunion was never-the-less, fun!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you for your review. We will pass on the information to the owner so that we may improve the home for future renters. We are available for propane refills if you contact our office during your stay and you run out we are happy to get them filled for you.
Madeline S. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2015 The house was wonderful. A few things to 'fix'.Lights that didn't work in kitchen; upstairs tv had no sound; house needs wifi.
A guest from Princeton, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 10 days in October, 2014 The house was plenty big and right on the ocean; however the bushes in the front yard blocked the view from the first floor. You could only see the ocean from the second level. The walls in the bathrooms were dirty; and 1 of the toilets had pubic hair on the seat, and in the shower along with longer hair. One of the rooms had not been vacumed under the bed in a long time, it was full of dust bunnies. Some of the lights didn't work and niether did the jacuzzi. Some of the boards on the deck were rotting and the balcony was slick with grime. There were also dirty pans in the cabinet. Was not worth the money!
Randy D. from Lake Oswego, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2014 This is the 5th year in a row we have stayed in the Valhalla with two other families. We have loved this home in the past, but this year we all noticed it is getting a bit worn and in need of some repair and new furniture. You can't beat the location and we are hopeful it will get a little tlc before our trip next year.
A guest from Aloha, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 9 days in August, 2014 This is a nice home located walking distance to anywhere in Rockaway. We have stayed at this home for many years. A bit disappointed in the owners lack of normal upkeep on the property. Deck needs to be repaired or replaced. Outside lights do not work. TV'S did not work at all. Most of the furniture needs to be replaced.Sunset Vacation Rentals is a great company to work with.
Connie G. from Renton, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014 Our family with small children and teenagers totally enjoyed our 7 day stay at this house. We have stayed here before and will again - it is always clean and well maintained. No "working television" which was a plus. so close to the beach and such easy access to the sandy shore - it is perfect for a family with little ones.
Nancy M. from Spokane, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014 Loved the home. Disappointed the "Cribs" were not there for the first day. Luckily our babies did not arrive until the second day. Also not happy we were told they were cribs when in reality they were pack n'plays which are much smaller and almost did not work for our 2 year old twins. But, overall, we loved the house. Also would have been helpful to have in the directions that there were 2 third streets and be sure to find North NOT South. We had some problems finding the house.
Stan C. from Burbank, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014 We have a large family, so we also rented the Aces House next door. It is very convenient to have two in close proximity. Even though there is a bedroom on the ground floor, there is only a half bath on that level. The clothes dryer does not work well, and the Jacusi does not work well. However, it does have beach front access and we will probably rent this property again.
Barb R. from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in April, 2014 Had a great stay @ Valhalla, plenty if room for our whole family. Great beach acsess. House equipped with everything we needed. Definitely plan on renting this property again :)
Sushil K. from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in November, 2013 We were a group of 10 people and we had a great time at this house. Overall it was a memorable stay. House was pretty spacious and views were unbeatable. There were few things that I would like to mention though1. Door locks of all the bathrooms definitely need to be changed. They are pretty old and we all struggled with them.2. We never managed to get enough hot water in the Jacuzzi and as a result we could not use it at all.3. The Trash can outside the house was very filthy and literally unusable.
Stacy M. from Spokane, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013 This house is right on the beach the location could not have been any better. Wonderful deck and view. Would definitely recommend to others.
A guest from Aloha, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 9 days in August, 2013 Nice vacation home. This was out 4th summer renting this home. We are planning on coming back next summer.A couple of things do NEED attention.1. Except for the front porch, none of the outside lights work.2. Gates and deck are rotting. They need to be repaired.
Connie G. from Renton, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013 Very few rental properties could be better than this one. We love this house and have enjoyed our vacation tehre for several years. WE have already reserved it for next summer!!
Tina B. from North Bend, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2012 I think my title says it all. The worst thing about the cleanliness would have to be that there was drops of blood on the master bedroom comforter and sheets. I left a list of things that We all thought needed to be done hopefully your cleaning team gave it to you.
Stan C. from Burbank, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012 This house has excellent access to the beach. The one drawback was that even though there is a bedroom on the main floor, there is not a full bathroom on the main floor. If you have someone who can not navigate stairs, it can be a problem. The kitchen is very nice with updated appliances.
Lori B. from Tacoma, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in July, 2012 This is our second time at Valhalla and we absolutely love it. It is a perfect house in the perfect location. The only thing missing was a full propane tank of gas on the barbecue - we ended up eating leftovers our last night instead of the steak we had planned!! But that was minor compared with the beautiful experience we had once again. Love this place!
Connie G. from Renton, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012 Overall the house was in very good shape and we were pleased with the responses to our calls about too much garbage for us on arrival. Some garbage was removed almost immediately. The pocket door in the master bathroom did not work and that was a big problem for us as we needed the privacy for that bathroom that the door would provide. The clothes dryer needed two cycles to dry for every load of wash no matter how small. The lower deck gates need to have the closure apparatus repaired as they can be pushed open easily by children and do not stay locked. We plan to come back again as this is the very best house we have ever found - it is on the beach and has beautiful views of sunsets and the ocean. We have rented this house for three vacations. We all love it.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are working on fixing the you for notifing us.
Rich B. from Silverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2012 House has two very good assets. One, the kitchen is nice and open and large and accomodates big families. Second, the large upstairs sleeping room worked out great for our 6 grandkids to sleep together. Had a couple of important maintenance needs, though. the dining table chairs need sliders so you don't have to hear a loud screech every time a chair is moved. Second, the master bath pocket door is broken and prevented other family members from having bathroom privacy.
A guest from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 9 days in August, 2011 A very nice vacation rental. Well maintained. Very clean and always ready when we arrive. We will be staying here again.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2011 We rented Valhalla for a work function and it was fabulous! There was plenty of room, the beach access was magnificent, the view from the master bedroom was spectacular (full moon + ocean), the kitchen accommodated our large group well and the place was really clean. Definitely going back!
Wonderful stay with a few issues with the amenities.
Brenda D. from Fairview, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2011 the light bulbs burned out in the upstairs and the jet tub did not work and the gates on the deck we broke. Other then that it was fantastic!
Connie G. from Renton, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in July, 2011 The dryer needs some work and we would have liked the hot tub to have been working but otherwise this is an excellent house - the location is the best for a family!! We will be back again next year.
A guest from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in November, 2010 Sunset Vacation Rentals does an excellant job maintaining this home. We have rented through them before and will rent through them again in the future. If we had to say anything negative about this home... it would be that being a premium property which demands premium rates it would be nice if there was better than the bare minimum cable coverage...though we do not go to the beach to watch television it would be a good additon especially during the winter months.
Salvador L. from Cashmere, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2010 it was or frist time to the oregon cost and it was fun to bad we can not stay longer but bay be next time we will .
A guest from Cheney, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2010 We loved the house--plenty of room, lots of hot water, beautiful location. Our bed was quite nice (smaller room upstairs) and the pillows were great. The best part of the house was the balcony overlooking the beach! I enjoyed having a w/d in the house, also. Seems like it could've been a little cleaner, but I understand we were there at the end of summer and it was probably used quite a lot throughout. I think we left it cleaner than when we got there (and I know it's hard to keep that sand out!) The vacuum and dishwasher didn't work super well but were adequate. I think the kitchen supplies were plentiful but were just randomly all over the place (no order). I know these are quite insignificant details, but everything else was very nice. We looked in the garage for a shovel and it smelled really bad! Overall, a really nice place we would stay at again.
Natalie S. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2010 Everything was great. The kitchen faucet was loose when we arrived and there was no seal around it. If water gets splashed on the counter (as it generally does during dishwashing) it leaks into the cabinet below. Just so you are aware. The absence of beach chairs was a little annoying. They cost about $10 at your local rite aid. It wouldn't be much of an investment. Other than that we loved it. It was great for the kids and great for the adults. We would definitely consider it again in future.
Laura Y. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in April, 2010 can't beat the location and beach access, you can sit on the balcony and patio and feel like you're practically on the beach! upper balcony even has wind block. large equipped kitchen and island was excellent for large group cooking, would definitely come back here again, only wish the minimum night stay was less in the summer!
Angie H. from Troutdale, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in November, 2009 We really enjoyed staying in this home with a large family group. Kids could play in the very spacious upstairs room with twin beds and hardly be heard downstairs in main room as it was on opposite end of home. The master bedroom was the most spacious I've ever seen with an amazingly private large deck just steps from the bed. The kitchen island is huge and was perfect for extra Thanksgiving food. Staff was very helpful in accomodating extra needs for us also. Quiet spot with great beach access a few feet from the back deck. The only trouble with it is that it's a little dangerous for older folks as you must climb approx 15-20 feet down large boulders to get to the beach. Great place though!
Sarah J. from Gunnison, CO recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2009 the beach access just wasnt kid friendly. the trash can outside was full when we arrived. otherwise great. Would definately look at another property because of the access to the beach for the kids safety..thanks
David B. from Mill Creek, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2009 We very much enjoyed staying here and the location right on the beach is awesome. TV only has basic cable, though so if you want to watch the big game on FSN or ESPN, you'll have to hit the local sports bar. Also, the hot tub is not really a hot tub but more like a large jetted tub --no internal heat.
A guest from Tacoma, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2009 We loved it! The place is in the perfect location-close to town and RIGHT ON the beach! The house was very spacious and well-equipped (although we couldn't get very many radio stations). I would come back again and again - if I had the money, I would love to buy the place - perfect!
Cathy H. from Kirkland, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2009 We vacuumed and swept several times and found a lot of dog hair. We had people in our group with animal allergies and selected this house because the information read, "No Pets". Otherwise there were just minor problems such as bathroom locks that were in poor condition. We loved the location.
Property Manager Response:
This home is a STRICT non-pet home! I am sorry to hear that someone snuck a dog in! We will have to do some investigating!! I am glad to hear that other than that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the review. SSVR
Jane H. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2009 The week was great. The only disappointments came from the nonworking CD player, no DVD player for the kids films, the microwave ceased working on day 2 and the steps were broken from the front deck to the water - everything else was great.
A guest from White Salmon, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2009 We had a wonderful time and loved the house. The view was fantastic and it felt like the ocean was coming right into the master bedroom. We did not plan on watching TV, which was a good thing because neither of the two TV's worked. There was a VCR, but no connecting cable. The stereo did not function either. For our stay, this was ideal, but if you want electronics, it may be best to bring your own.
Awesome location, gigantic home, perfect for large groups but ...
A guest from Snohomish, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2008 amenities were aging. Bathrooms (2 of 3), linens and pillows were quite old (3rd hand). However, SSVR is awesome. They have always provided outstanding service. This house, however, was not ready for renters who cared about fresh/new linen, bedspreads, blankets and lighting that worked. The location and view is incredible and made up for this shortfall. Path to beach was difficult to navigate down rocks, but if you're at all nimble, not a problem.
Gene H. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2008 Fabulous location for a family gathering. The view is outstanding and there is plenty of room inside for all sorts of activities if the weather is a bit on the chilly side! Enjoyed ice cream, Lattes, and the arcade a couple of blocks away.