Looking for Paradise? Here it is at the El Matador! Has to be the most sought of family vacation resort on the Emerald Coast. A secluded condominium nestled between the beautiful white sand dunes and the sparkling Emerald Waters of the Gulf of Mexico.
El Matador is truly a beach resort. Just two miles down Santa Rosa Blvd at the end of the Island you will find us ? secluded but still just a few minutes to all the amenities that Destin and Fort Walton Beach have to offer. Just six miles down Hwy. 98 you can enjoy Destin ? ? The Worlds Luckiest Fishing Village? ? charter a private trip or take the kids out on a group boat and catch dinner. While in Destin enjoy fine restaurants, shopping, and golfing on some of the best golf courses in the Panhandle of Florida. Hard to believe that you might need a day off from the beach but if you do take the family to Big Kahunas Water Park in the center of old Destin. Much more than just a water park? it?s a day of fun!
Back at the El Matador enjoy the large grass areas between our buildings just right for family fun and games. With two pools, his and her whirlpool, and saunas just right for your tired muscles after a game of tennis on one of our courts, or in our fitness center. We are located at the end of Okaloosa Island a small barrier Island between Fort Walton Beach and Destin. This gated community with thirteen miles of undeveloped beaches to the west is sure to have you longing to return.
Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Sleeper Sofa
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Bank * Convenience: Area FitnessCenter, Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, On Site Fitness Center, Nearby Golf Courses, Nearby Movie Theatres, Nearby Outlet Shopping * Culture: Symphony Orchestra, Ballet, Museums, Theater * Entertainment: Cable TV, DVD Player * Geographic: On Beach * Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Ice Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Stove, Pots and Pans * Living: Central Air, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet, Washer/Dryer On Site, 2 TV's * Outdoor: Balcony, Shared Pool, Tennis, Beach, BBQ Grills On Site, Fishing, Boating, Parasailing, Jet-Ski-ing, Kite-Boarding, Snorkelling, Disc Golf, Diving, Sailing, Golfing
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Everything I wanted and very happy I stayed there Paul E. from Versailles, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2015 Unit 344 was the one I rented. Very nice view of the beach and gulf horizon. The unit is mostly all original and could use some updating but is kept in very good order and clean. The rental rate was in line with the units age and overall condition. I enjoyed El Matador especially due to its location adjacent to a protected wildlife zone. Very private to that side or could go east to "people watch" on the beach. On site Paddle boarding and Kayaking rentals were used and they were in good order and at a fair price. Ground maintenance was perfect as was the exercise facility - very nice. I'd stay again for sure and plan on doing so.
Property Manager Response: Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor Paul, we appreciate you taking the time to respond to our reviews, and let us know how you felt about this wonderful condo at the el matador. Just to let you know, that it is the most popular property on Okaloosa Island especially that it is the very last one on the island, and very family oriented, so coming back would be a great joy to you and your family. Most of all I am so glad that you enjoyed this unit, and we do take pride in keeping them nice and clean and fix every issue with them. We would love to have you back with us.
beach trip patricia y. from bullard, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2015 had a wonderful time. room was nice and beach was perfect
Property Manager Response: Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor thank you for staying with us at the El Matador condominium unit 344, a great unit directly on the gulf overlooking the pool. This is such a perfect location to sit out on the balcony and watch the sunset and the dolphins of the balcony. Please be sure that when you come back you give us a call again and we would love to accommodate you to that condo.
Friends and fun A guest from Bellaire, MI recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2015 This unit needs a larger TV, hard to watch for the size of the room on those rainy days and late nights. Flooring in kitchen needs a power washing. Overall a nice place.
Rental experience at El Matador 2015 A guest from Bellaire, MI recommends this property.
Stayed for 32 days in February, 2015 Great place.....A bigger tv is defiinitely needed for the living area!!!! Needs power washing on the kitchen floor tile. But overall a wonderful condo.
Amazing View A guest from Goodlettsville, Tennessee recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2014 This was our first trip to Ft. Walton Beach and was anxious about what we had selected. However once we arrived, everything was amazing. The property was in a great location and the view was wonderful.
great retreat Ella K. from Macon, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2014 Condo was clean and kept up. i would rate it a 5. Decor was beach theme and very nice. i would rate it 5 . I really enjoyed my stay, quite and restful.We had everything we needed for kitchen.The staff was very nice and helpful.i would rate my stay a 5.
Vacation with a View Joseph F. from Trenton, Georgia recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2014 Beginning with the Realtor, during the stay and departure our rental experience was great. Full gulf view, comfortable condo, quiet family filled complex with security. Great!
Wonderful vacation!! Laura M. from Gainesville, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014 The pictures doesn't do justice!! I was pleasantly surprised when I walked into the condo. It's beautifully decorated with bright beach colors. Everything you need to enjoy a wonderful stay. I was concerned about no washer/dryer in unit. But, it's right next door. No worries. We were there for a week. The only thing that I can think you might could add is a crock pot! :) will be back next year. Thanks, Amanda, for your help during my last minute rush.
Needs updating A guest from Bellaire, MI recommends this property.
Stayed for 27 days in March, 2014 The flooring in kitchen & bath need replacing. Needs A larger TV in the living area!!' Also wifi in this day and age is a must. Cushions on the balcony furniture we're falling apart and need to be replaced. With these changes then we can recommend this unit.
Unit 344 El Matador Terry P. from Nashville, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2013 Great location, and the reps at Alicia Hollis are the best. Unfortunately, our unit had a non-functioning ceiling fan and several lights out, as well as no batteries in any of the 3 clocks in the unit. But we loved our stay and will return, probably to the same unit.
Property Manager Response: Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor Thank you for the input on this condo. We will make sure these items are fixed and look forward to your return visit.
An enjoyable stay A guest from Durham, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 24 days in July, 2013 My family and I stayed in a sea-facing apartment in El Matador for 8 weeks, and had an excellent time. Almost the only issue we faced was with the folding bed, which smelt stale and wasn't very usable. Overall, the apartment was quite convenient and the view from the balcony was great. The people at the realtor's office were prompt and helpful with regard to any requests and queries.
Property Manager Response: Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at this condo. Thank you for the input about the sofa sleeper we will address this right away as this is the first time we have been notified about this problem.
El Matador 344 Kyle D. from Vail, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in March, 2013 We loved the location, but the unit smelled musty/smokey - the carpeting definitely needs to be replaced and needs new bedding... But we had a great time and it has a gorgeous view!
Arrived to flood aftermath Robert A. & Carole R. from Bellaire, MI does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 11 days in February, 2013 Carpet soaked from bathroom flood before arrival! We had to call to report this, don't you check before new guests arrive? 2 days of noise from blowers & dehumidifiers! Toilet leaked plumber had to come, stopped leaking til today, glad we're out of here soon. Flooring in entry, kitchen & bath in horrible condition, scratched, scruffed & dirty. Ceiling fans had 1/4 inch of dust on them.
Amazing place to stay...great view A guest from Bloomington, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in October, 2012 Everything about our trip was fantastic: Courteous staff; great view; awesome room; wonderful location. Highly recommend the El Matador.
title required Mark or Barbara H. from Cincinatti, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in September, 2012 I hoppe you know the unit had a musty smell that turned out to be mold in the ducts. I believe cleaning staff would have had to smell that. the rug in the entry needed to be cleaned. The xtra pillows were musty. without 2 cans of lysol we would not have been able to stay in that unit. my clothes that were in the closeet took home a musty smell too. also didn't like exterminator barging in and spraying. we are return visitors to the el matadoe and alicia and we will be back again. love the 1 bedroom size and lay out. love the beach chairs and umbrella
The property management staff was very unprofessional and rude Mary C W. from New Salisbury, IN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2012 I would NOT use this management firm again, we drove 16 hours arrived 2 hours early and they were very rude and told us the property was not available. I have used Southern Resorts for the past 10 years and ALWAYS arrived early and was ALWAYS allowed to check in upon arrival.
Property Manager Response: Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor Hi Mary, i was just reading your comments and i apologize that you were upset with us for not letting you check into the unit 2 hrs earlier, but, Mary, what if we did that, and then the unit would have not been cleaned properly, you would have been upset. We would always like to make sure that the units are cleaned, inspected and ready to be checked into, and if not ready, tenants must wait till for check in time. I hope you understand, and i hope we see you again. Thanks a lot Christine Ault.
Our newest favorite place to stay Linda W. from Covington, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2012 Everything was exactly as described and the entire process was great from first conract to checkihg out. Will use A.J. Hollis Realtors again.