Eclectic and comfy living area to watch deer meander through the
Tri level home with eating nook off off of kitchen with breakfas
Welcome to the "DRAKE" Haus
Fully equipped kitchen including a d/w
Fully equipped kitchen with coffee maker and microwave
Family style area with cabin "accents" and access to private hot
Family area with flat screen TV w/local cable and a place to jus
Master bedroom upstairs with brand new queen mattress
Master bedroom has set of twin log bunks for little ones with sl
Newly renovated master en suite
"Open" glass shower with large soaking tub in master bathroo
Upstairs second bedroom with queen bed
Third bedroom option has two twin beds
Upstairs full bathroom
The Drake Haus offers views of the Mt and Sounds of the River
Outdoor seating for up to 6 guests with Gas Grill
Rustic/Natural backyard setting
Log bench "story ring" in the "natural" backyard where Mt. views
Rustic and Natural elements for the large fenced backyard
Drake Haus~1/2 Mile From Downtown Leavenworth, hot tub 2 fireplaces Pets Ok
The Drake Haus is located less than .7 of a mile from the Bavarian Village of Leavenworth and all of its many festivities, while offering a RETRO style lodging experience for up to 8 guests. This 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom (master has brand new renovated soaking tub with beautiful open shower concept, the other is full bath/shower also upstairs), has a private hot tub, 2 cozy fireplaces, peek a boo mountain views of the Icicle Creek area, is easily accessible, and offers a great opportunity to be close to it all. You may even get a visit from the community deer as they meander through the yard, what a great treat.
This RETRO home offers a tri-level living space with its main floor kitchen, breakfast nook, and formal dining and living area. The lower level offers a cozy family gathering area with wood stove, lodge accents, and access to the private hot tub and laundry room area. Upstairs you will find the master bedroom with a queen bed and comfy brand new mattress, a set of single bunkbeds for those little ones (sleeping bags required for bunk beds), as well as, a large master bathroom en suite. The second bedroom also has a queen bed, and the third bedroom has a set of twins that are pushed together to either use separately or as a "king" option.
The formal living area is a great place to gather while enjoying a glass of wine, visiting with friends, and just taking in the warmth and glow of the open fireplace during those chilly nights. You will also find a main floor deck from the formal dining area for seasonal BBQ's and just enjoying the fresh air. A small deck off of the master bedroom is an added extra too, just sit and enjoy a good book and a morning cup of joe while taking in the glorious view of the Icicle Creek Mountains and hearing the rivers' song from across the street. These owners prefer a zero footprint style of lawn/garden care so the setting is more natural.
This home has many positive attributes that will make your visit to the Bavarian Village well worth it.
Base Rate: (First 4 Guests) (2 night min.): $197.00 Per Night
Additional Guest(s) Fee Ages 6 and Up: $25.00 Per Guest/Per Night
Children 5 and Under (Max 3): Up to 3 Children FREE Otherwise $25.00 Per Child/Per Night
Dog Fee (Max 2): $25.00 Per Dog/Per Night
Housekeeping/Linen Fee: $95.00 (NON REFUNDABLE)
Processing Fee: 3% of total reservation fees (NON REFUNDABLE)
State and Local Lodging Tax: 10.2% of total
Damage Security Deposit: *A one-time payment of $25.50 or a** 100% refundable $1000.00 charge
*The 1st option is a one-time plan payment of $25.50 through CSA Damage Protection Plan that covers up to $1,500.00 of accidental damages (this does not include willful, negligent or deliberate damages). **The 2nd option is through NW Comfy Cabins Vacation Rentals allowing a $1000.00 charge which is 100% refundable that will be taken 48 hours prior to arrival and refunded within 72 hours of departure barring inspection. Please be aware that it may take anywhere from 1-10 business days for the funds to become available in your account after it has been refunded, which is determined by your banking establishment.
First 3 Weekends in October: Add. $25 Per Night
Between November 20th and February 28th: Add. $25 Per Night
All Federal Holidays (3 Night Min.): Add. $25 Per Night
PLEASE NOTE: We DO NOT permit single night stays under any circumstance. We have a 2 night minimum stay for regular dates and a 3 night minimum stay over federal holidays. This is non-negotiable.
Bedding Configuration: 2 Queen, 2 Twin, 1 Bunk
Pets: Dogs Allowed
Additional Features: * Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Breakfast bar with stools * Living: Central Air, Air Conditioning, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Jacuzzi Tub, High Speed Internet, No Phone, Fireplace, Wood Stove * Outdoor: Deck, Patio, Gas Grill, Hot Tub
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
We love Leavenworth - close to town.
A guest from Bonney Lake, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2016 Enjoyed our family time in Leavenworth. Floated the River too. Love that the home was pet friendly as we have two dogs. Saw a couple deer in the yard too.
Sam R. from Bellingham, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2016 Accommodations were excellent. We left a list of small improvements which could be made. We liked the location near the river for launching inner tubes etc.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. Love to hear it! Danny
Suzanne B. from Shoreline, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in June, 2016 We had such a great time! No one wanted to go home. We ended up extended our stay with just a phone call. The house was clean and had lots of room for the whole family.If you have time go ziplining it was amazing.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. Wahoo, love to hear it! Danny
Cheryl R. from Moses Lake, Washington recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in June, 2016 It was a little outdated, but clean. Was disappointed that there was not enough towels in bathrooms, ie: washcloths and hand towels. Also did not have dishcloths or extra paper towels. However, totally enjoyed the deck and space to visit. So peaceful! If possible would rent it again.
john d. from spokane, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in April, 2016 The drake house was exactly as described on the website, and an awesome place for my family of 7 grown ups. The website is the best feature of all - everything you need to know. We had folks arriving from various places, and no one got lost or had to call each other!!! Amazing app.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. The Drake Haus is such an awesome getaway and we loved your review. So happy it was easy to find and everyone had the space they needed. We hope to have you come and stay with us again.
Dana P. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in February, 2016 We had a great stay. The cabin is nice and well equipped. Minutes away from Leavanworth. Great place for a city break.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. So glad you enjoyed yourself, come back soon! Danny
Alicia J. from Olympia, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in February, 2016 We had such a great time at the Drake Haus. It was clean and spacious and had everything to accommodate our needs for the weekend. It was such a pleasure to stay there.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. Thanks for the amazing review Alicia! We are so happy to hear your opinions on the cabin and so glad we could accommodate you for the weekend! We hope to have you back again soon and maybe stay at a different NW Comfy Cabin! Danny
Nick C. from Everett, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in January, 2016 I got a few couples together for a weekend at Drake Haus and we had a blast. There was lots of snow on the ground, the house was cozy, and the hot tub was perfect. I would definitely bring some firewood next time. They are pet friendly as well so we didn't have to leave our dog at home! The staff was extremely responsive as well. I was able to ask for a late checkout on Saturday night and had an email saying that was ok early Sunday morning (the day we were leaving). I highly recommend this place and I'd definitely stay with NWCC again in the future.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. We love to hear it Nick and so glad we could accommodate you for the weekend! See you again soon! Danny
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2016 Excellent place to stay! Close to Nordic center and Xntry ski trails, short drive to town, plenty of space in house, kitchen well equipped, responsive management. Fenced in yard for dog, plenty of dishes and towels, large fridge, multiple common spaces in house, clear instructions. Would have preferred bedding for bunk beds, so we wouldn't have to bring our own. Very festive decor!
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. Thank you so much for giving us such a fantastic review on your visit to the Drake Haus! We will definitely pass on the bunk bed suggestion to the owner and hopefully we can get something set up soon for future visits to the area. We definitely hope to have you come back soon!
A guest from North Vancouver, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2015 Very nice home. Its not modern,but friendly and is more than 1/2 Mile from Downtown and is not very essay to walk the distance because the sidewalks are covered by snow but you have a car is so quick and convenient at any given time.I'm sure in the summer days it makes it a lovely walk downtown.Only suggestion would be to make sure the kitchen wares are clean.We had a dishwasher and after one quick wash we felt like home.Customer service is excellent and have to thank for all the quick reply to all my questions.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed celebrating your New Year's holiday at the Drake Haus. It is true that the summer months provide a much easier walk to town but all the more reason to have you come and visit us again! We will definitely pass on your helpful comments about the dishware to the housekeeping company. We strive to make quality control a top priority and want to ensure that all plates, cups and silverware put away by previous guests be checked during cleans. We do look forward to having you come back and visit with us again!
Vic R. from Kennewick, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2015 The house was perfect for two families. Very clean. Hot tub was great. Used the upstairs fireplace. Could not get a fire going in the downstairs fireplace. Just a few minutes drive into Leavenworth.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. The Drake Haus is such a fabulous stay near enough to downtown but not in the midst of all the hustle and bustle. We will have someone go check out the downstairs fireplace to make sure the flue is not clogged. Otherwise, we are thrilled that it did not dampen your stay and we do hope to have you back with us again!
A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in December, 2015 We had 6 adults and 2 kids and the space was the perfect size for us. We loved how close it is to town. There was a lot of snow on the ground so it was great to have a private back yard to play in.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit to the Drake Haus and found it comfortable enough for a group of 8. It is also always wonderful when the weather cooperates and we get a great taste of winter in the Cascade Mountains.
A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2015 We had a great stay in Leavenworth at the Drake Haus with plenty of room and spotless condition. The management company was more than helpful and even plowed the snowy driveway :-) House was a bit dated and neighbor very unfriendly - we walked down what appeared to be a road to the golf course for sledding but was told we couldn't go that way and to walk on Icicle Road, which was snowy and we had a four year old! Also, would have been nice to have some toiletries. Loved the space in the house though and will return.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. Thank you so much for telling us about your recent visit to the Drake Haus. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the home and that we were able to provide the customer service you desired. We apologize for the brashness of the neighbor. The road you are referring to is a private road and we will recommend the owner post a no trespassing sign to avoid confusion in the future. We do thank you for the helpful tips to make future stays more comfortable. We look forward to having you back as our guests in the future!
Dorene H. from College Place, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2015 We loved the coziness of the home. Its not modern, it is like walking into our own homes. Furniture isn't new, and spotless, neither is the carpet, but you feel so comfortable and "at home" there. Yes, the walk was a bit longer than I thought it might be, but, it was such a lovely day, and the sun was shining, it was a perfect day for a walk. There is a bus that does go down Icicle Road, and I wasn't aware of it, until AFTER I walked home by myself in the problems, but its pretty dark on that road. My only suggestion for the kitchen would be a roll of aluminum foil and saran wrap. And if they would consider putting in a Hide-a-bed in the living room or family room, there would still be enough room for everyone. Love the layout of the house! Oh and that hot tub was wonderful the next morning after all the walking!!!!
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the coziness and quaintness of the Drake Haus. I apologize that the shuttle service through Oktoberfest was not made known to you. We will definitely add those extra amenities to the kitchen and be sure to make a suggestion to the current owners on possible expanding more sleeping space into the family rooms. Overall it appears you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to have you back as our guests again.
Tyler T. from Penticton, British Columbia recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2015 The Drake Haus in real life is very accurately represented on the NW Comfy Cabins website. Location is in close proximity to the downtown area of Leavenworth. We enjoyed the walk, however quite dark along Icicle Road at night. The house is very neat, clean, welcoming and easy to find. The management company was quick to respond to our one and only issue. We would definitely return to the Drake Haus, and would would definitely recommend to others. We visited during Oktoberfest and scheduled our time accordingly to enjoy the town in it's relaxed natural state, and also experienced the excitement of the festivities. Staying at the Drake Haus gave us a truly relaxed stay.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. Thank you for your detailed and candid review of your visit to the Drake Haus. It is a unique home and we are pleased to hear that we represented it clearly to our guests. We are also thrilled to hear that you were pleased with our services and got to have a taste of both the unique and busy atomosphere of Oktoberfest and the general relaxing fee of our Bavarian town. We look forward to having you and your group back again!
Sandy R. from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2015 We rented the Drake Haus with another couple. Accommodations were very pleasant. The light switches were a puzzle sometimes. The location was great. We spent one day just touring around the area. The little berg of Plain is delightful. The colors on Stevens Pass were glorious.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. We are so glad you took the time to tell us about your visit to the Drake Haus, We intend on labeling all the light switches soon as it seems they can be a bit confusing at times. Despite being in downtown we are so happy to hear you were able to make it out to explore the area and visit our favorite locals in the town of Plain. We definitely hope to have you and your group back again sometime.
A guest from Lutherville, MD recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2015 We had a wonderful two night stay at Drake Haus. The home was comfortable and a very short drive to downtown Leavenworth. Our kids loved playing in the backyard, and we loved the hot tub!
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. We are so thankful you took the time to tell us about your visit at the Drake Haus. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the home and found some time to go and visit downtown Leavenworth. It is definitely one of our favorite places to spend the day. We do hope you will come back and visit the area with us again!
Chandra A. from seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2015 well i was more pleased since I read reviews AFTER I booked and was a tad worried. It was a cute house, but it isn't .07 miles from town...edge of town yes, so def a car drive. Also bring your own knives etc for kitchen was about 4 crummy knives. The owners could for sure splurge and get some for even $20. Hot tub was pretty green and dirty, but we still got in. Also they reccomend taking home your recycling which wasn't expected but we did. Also the master has no fan so wasn't as breezy as other two rooms who windows opened. There was a slider but the screen didnt lock. Also the yard was dirt...nothing more so fyi if pets or kids. Otherwise house cute and quaint.
Carol W. from Grapeview, wa. recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2015 It was the best. Everyone was so helpfull and very nice
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. Hi!
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Drake Haus. We are glad we could be of service to you and you enjoyed your visit to the Leavenworth area. We are hoping to have you come back and visit with us again in the future.
Anya Z. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2015 We loved resting at "Drake Haus" after our Enchantments backpacking trip. It is walking distance to Leavenworth and we enjoyed that Bavarian theme, as well as the riverfront park with Blackbird Island and the beaches on the Wenatchee river. The house has 2 living rooms, AC in the summer (yay!) and a well equipped kitchen. The Master bathroom is beautiful and there was ample space for our 4 teens--and could sleep even more. Great experience.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. Anya,
We are so glad you and your family enjoyed the trip both to the Drake Haus and the Enchantments. Personally I have never made the hike but I have heard it is absolutely gorgeous. We are happy your found enough space for all of your children. We hope you will come and visit with us again!
A guest from Lewiston, ID does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2015 The photos hid a lot of the stairs. It smelled terrible when we arrived and the a.c. was not on. After cooling it down overnight the smell dissipated. The a.c. would not cool the bedrooms. The master bath was very difficult to get into and out of. Cutting board was used and put away dirty, as well as one fry pan. Location was gr8 but most furniture was to low to get in/out of. Property has sprinkler system but yard is dead. Angry bird with nest prevented use of hot tub.
"retro" in the description actually means outdated, old and tired
A guest from Seattle, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2015 Upon driving up, the house appeared to be well taken care of, but once you step inside the front door, it's very apparent that it does not apply to the entire house.I was traveling with my husband and 2 other friends, and all of us found the house to be old, outdated, dark and tired. Because of this, everything looked dirty.The master bath, while spacious and recently updated with new tile, did not have a door - oddly, just heavy curtains to pull across the opening where a door should have been.The hallway bath was very dated, and badly in need of updating.The appliances in the kitchen were not as old as the rest of the furnishings, but we found some of the dishes and pots/pans in need of washing prior to use.Overall, a big disappointment, and we won't be back.The one bright spot - NW Comfy Cabins was very easy to deal with and very prompt in returning phone calls, text messages and emails.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. Catherine,
We thank you for your detailed review about your visit to Drake Haus. We apologize again for all the issues you encountered and we wish to let you know that we did address adding more lights to the home. We do hope you will visit with us again and perhaps try another one of our lovely homes.
A guest from Aberdeen, Washington recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in May, 2015 Traveling with a high school marching band is not the most relaxing experience. However, escaping to the Drake House took care of that! Soft cozy beds, warm, bubbly hot tub and plenty of room to kick back, indoors or out! I loved waking up in the mornings and listing to the river flow nearby. It was truly the only sound I heard, besides the birds. Considering that it is only 5 short minutes to downtown Leavenworth, the quiet makes you feel like you are tucked away deep in the woods!
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. Gordon,
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your visit to the Drake Haus. We are thrilled you were able to relax and enjoy your stay at one of our most popular homes. We hope to have you come and visit Leavenworth with us again for some more rest and relaxation.
A guest from Bellinghamm, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2015 This property is awesome. Quiet, comfy and clean. Driveway is large an circular with ample parking space. Easy in and out secure access without having to worry about keys. Bed was the most comfortable I have slept in in many years. Quick access to leavenworth and surrounding activities. Kitchen well stocked with the commonly used cooking tools and more. I would recommend this cabin to my friends without hesitation.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. Hey Robbin, Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Drake Haus. We are happy you found the cabin to your liking and hope you will look to us again for any future trips to the Leavenworth area. Your NW Comfy Cabins Rental Crew
A guest from Yakima, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in February, 2015 We loved our weekend getaway at the Drake Haus! It worked great for 2 couples and 2 infants. The location is great but just a little too far to walk with an infant, otherwise could be doable. The house was very clean and had everything we needed. One of the breakers was tripped and staff from Nw comfy cabins responded right away to help us get that fixed.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc. Elizabeth, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Drake Haus. We are happy we were able to respond to your needs promptly and that you overall enjoyed your stay at the Drake Haus. We hope you will visit us again for any future trips to the area. Your NW Comfy Cabins Rental Crew
Nichol M. from Everett, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in December, 2014 Wonderful warm inviting home with great comfort touches. The fenced in yard was great play area for our active children and the home is very large and open with comfortable facility overall. Thank you for sharing this beautiful delight with others! We will be back!
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Leavenworth Vacation Rentals Nichol, thank you so much for your feedback! We love hearing that everything went great for you and we can't wait to have you back!
A guest from Seekonk, MA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in October, 2014 Property was in a great spot to get to downtown Leavenworth and for Oktoberfest as house was on shuttle route. The house is very spacious and allowed everyone to have place to relax. All of the appliances worked and there were plenty of dishes, utensils and pots and pans. The hot tub was clean and well maintained. However, the home has not been updated in a long while(with the exception of the master bath) and seemed tired. Carpets were stained in multiple places and generally needed to be cleaned. There is a need for general maintenance and repair.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Leavenworth Vacation Rentals Just to note, the carpets were cleaned immediately after your stay as per my phone call with you prior to your arrival letting you know we were not able to get anyone scheduled until after your departure. The cabin is marketed as "retro" and it that is always difficult to gauge people's interpretation of just what that means, but glad you enjoyed your visit the otherwise. Have an amazing holiday season. Jeanie
Therese M. from Lynnwood, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2014 We had a wonderful and needed time away in Leavenworth. The Drake Haus provided a clean and comfortable stay for my family. We are planning to rent this house again next year!
A guest from seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2014 The cabin was super clean. Had plenty of towels in both the bathroom and near the hot tub. Plenty of parking although we only had 2 cars and 2 motorcylces there. Had a chill night, staying in and had a bbq.
Patrick L. from Spokane, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2014 The air condition was not working and the internal temp was more than 85 degrees. We looked unsuccessfully for fans but there were none at the property. When we contacted the management they said they would get fans right over as well as a repair person. The fans came two days later after two sleepless nights. The management then told me that it was nice and cool and that no one else had complained about it. I attempted to protest and was actually "hung up" on - rather shocking. Generally the place is a bit run down and substandard for this price range.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc Patrick, I am so sorry that you feel as though you do. I know it was a very uncomfortable situation for you and that is why I drove over from Seattle to drop off some fans for you. As per my email, I never said the AC was working, I just said the house was cool when I walked in, but told Denise we definitely needed to get a repair person out there..unfortunately this was not able to happen during your stay and the AC unit is being replaced tomorrow. I did hear about the hang up between you and Denise and she thought you hung up on her, either way the call simply must have dropped, as we would never hang up on a guest. It is always difficult when there is a situation that someone is disgruntled about and we do the best that we can in resolving it to the best of our ability. We are at the mercy of the local subcontractors and so it is not always easy to get someone to a property to deal with an unexpected appliance/amenity breakdown but we do our best. Again, we apologize for the situation as a whole and we have heard your dismay and can appreciate that. Jeanie
A guest from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2014 Our trip to Leavenworth in mid-July was for four friends to visit, catch up on our lives, to laugh & share in the fun, and to see the Bavarian Village that everyone said we should see. We looked around some of the town earlier after arriving on our first day, & were told that the skies were hazy from a forest fire. During our first night at Drake Haus, there was a bright red glow in the sky which came from the fire. Ashes from the burning trees fell softly everywhere all night long, & a little during the next two days. We swept off the front porch a few times, and also the deck along with its table and chairs. We ate one leisurely breakfast, and one very relaxing dinner on the deck. The people who were experiencing the wrath of the forest fires, the store owners, the residents, all businesses, etc., are the ones who work so hard to make Leavenworth a lovely place to visit! By the time we left, the winds had created some new fires, and nothing much was yet even contained! Our hearts go out to all of those people who live in the beautiful area of Leavenworth, but who may also experience the dangers of nature, as well! Overall,we had a terrific time! We soaked up the experience and definitely got a special memory with a unique story! Our Comfy Cabin Crew was very accommodating and thoughtful! Thank you,Denise!
Sean L. from Burien, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in June, 2014 My family flew out from Florida and I wanted to show them Leavenworth while they were here. Great location, only 5 minutes to downtown and plenty of room for everyone, we had 6 people. House was clean and in great shape.
Michael R. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2014 It was great! The location was just far enough from town to make it feel relaxing but close enough to enjoy the amenities of town. The yard was fully fenced with a few smaller holes. My dog was able to gallop happily.
Michael K. from Vancouver, British Columbia recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2014 Great house in a great area. Close to town and super comfortable. The beds were quite soft, but that was the only detraction. We removed the memory foam from one bed and that helped. The hot tub was nice to use and the kitchen was fully stocked. Will look to stay again in the fall!
Haley S. from Snohomish, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in May, 2014 So reading all these reviews, I was a bit hesitant of staying at this location but it was a bachelorette party and the bride chose this house, so this was the one! But I was SO pleasantly surprised by this house. The pictures do not do it justice and it was perfect for our group! I would stay here again in a heart beat! I wasn't bothered by any signs that said "this is broken" or "don't use this" there were actually very few. The beds were nice and there was plenty of space.
scott w. from Seattle, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014 The property is in a great location, and its a neat tri-level home with room for the whole family. Also, although the hot tub was older, it was in good shape and was clean. However, the beds were uniformly in extremely poor condition, and I had to pull the mattress of the bed and sleep on the floor because it was so broken down. This was true for all of the beds, except for the bunk beds which were extremely hard. Also, the outside garbage cans were overflowing when we got there, and there was barely enough room to fit a small bag of kitchen waster in there. Also, someone had dumped a large pile of bbq ashes right next to the hot tub, and no one had cleaned it up. You basically had to walk through it to close the hot tub lid. In addition, the railing to the sunken living room was very loose and could have broken.I cant recommend this house to anyone because of the beds. I would feel bad telling someone to stay here and then have to deal with that. If the beds from 1978 were replaced with something from at least the early 1990's it would be a big help.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc Scott, Thank you so much for your news is new mattresses were already on the order, and a new queen for the master arrived today. I will address the garbage as that def should have been picked up prior to your arrival by the cleaning service. The owner of the Drake Haus is in the process of making some very positive changes in the home and I do hope that you will consider giving it another shot before the year ends by using the return guest discount to see that our guests experience truly are the priority and that the comments/feedback are very appreciated in that endeavor. Have a great night. Jeanie
John S. from Hillsboro, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014 The house was easy to find. We arrived to a warm, inviting house. Everything was clean and tidy. Some things were not spotless as you would expect for a house of that vintage. We enjoyed the stay as a gathering place for our party and were able to save money cooking breakfasts and dinners as a group. The large dining room table accomidated everyone. Comfy Cabins management was very helpful leading up to our visit, especially when we had a last minute addition to the people in our party. We will look to Comfy Cabins again in the future for our next Leavenworth vacation.a couple notes, we saw the "compaints" from other about the instruction notes around the home. We appreciated the informaton and instructions so we didn't mistakenly do anything wrong while there. We didn't find them at all annoying.Others have complained about the shower. You just needed to be careful setting the temperature and everything work fine. We had eight people there and never once ran out of hot water!
A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in January, 2014 Great location for a fair price. The Drake Haus is a bit outdated, but offers all the necessary amenities and a good amount of space. Recommend to stay here for weekend trips of 5 - 7 people.
Debbi M. from Emery, SD recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in January, 2014 We enjoyed our stay at Drake Haus. It would have been nice to have been able to walk to town, but due to the thick ice on the driveways and roads it wasn't safe and it was a bit too far. The wood stove was great and there was plenty of room. Beds weren't very comfortable, a bit too soft. All in all a nice visit!
Todd V. from Tacoma, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in December, 2013 We had a great time at the Drake Haus. The house was just as advertised - a bit dated but it all worked as part of the charm. The only issue was the shower - serious water pressure problem. It was more of a "spit shower" - but that was the only negative to an otherwise wonderful week.
Michael B. from Woodinville, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in December, 2013 This house looked wonderful from the outside but on the inside the place is a bit dated and set up like a fur trader lodge - complete with a coyote on the wall and a torn up bear ottoman in the family room and a fur wrapped lamp in the formal sitting room - we laughed as that was easy to roll with. The hot tub was very dated and the temperature was at maximum when we tried to use it the first night. The dial said 12 - does that mean 112? It was way to hot for anyone to use until I added 7 large pots of ice cold water to cool it down and rotated the dial to the 3 setting. The mattress in the master bedroom was completely lacking any support. My wife and I slept in the guest bedroom where the mattress was much better. The lack of a shower in the master bathroom would have been OK, except the soaking jacuzzi tub that was there had broken jets and a sign taped there to state that. The one shower that did exist in the other bathroom had almost no water pressure - not much more than a trickle and would vacillate between very hot and very cold. As we were mainly using this bathroom, a light above the vanity would also have been nice. We did enjoy watching a movie in the family room while we built a fire in the wood burning stove, but the TV was very high up on the wall, so you had to look upward at an almost unnatural angle - TVs are very affordable now, so a larger size would have also been nice. The kitchen was a nice size, but the floor in there creaked very loudly whenever you would walk in the kitchen. Overall the location is prime, but his place needs a lot of work. It looks well kept from the outside but the inside need a long overdue remodel and a bunch of TLC. We stayed in a house (12611 Icicle Lane) one street over a couple of years ago and that was a sparkling gem compared to this place and it cost us less.
A guest from Oak Harbor, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in December, 2013 Hi, We have always had a good experience renting through Comfy Cabins for about four years. Our rentals have always been in the summer,though this time we decided to rent in the winter and we chose the Drake House. The house looked inviting and comfortable however after spending a little time in it and reading the history on the house the owners are proud of keeping it just like it was. This is quite sad since it shows they are being tight wades and not upgrading things in the house which really need it, it being repairs. There were signs in different areas of the house saying this doesn't work,(well fix it)or you can't use this item because xxx. The Jet tub up in the master bath had a sign that the jets didn't work, well fix it, the hot tub outside the jets stopped working after awhile. The shower in the second floor bath fluctuated with water pressure and temperature. The kitchen was very poorly stocked compared to the other cabins/houses we have rented. I am a person who loves antiques and vintage things if they are for looks, but if you rent something that is suppose to have utility then it should work. I don't think we will rent the Drake House again, it is as I said, an old drape.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc Hello Brian, Thank you so much for your candid review, we have passed on all of your thoughts to the owner and are insisting that she initiate the process of addressing all of your concerns so that we can move forward and ensure this property does meet the expectations that our guests expect when planning their getaways with Comfy Cabins. We value your opinion and so appreciate you taking the time to let us know that this time round this particular home did not meet the standards you have come to expect from us, and want you to rest assured that we are on it, look forward to having you back. Warmly, Jeanie
Elizabeth A. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in December, 2013 This house was a last-minute find for getting my family out to Leavenworth over Christmas, and boy, were we glad we found it. It was really an ideal situation - my husband and I, my parents, and our kids were all able to stay in separate rooms, there were two living spaces that allowed my parents to watch TV while we read books in the front living room, and our kids loved the bunk bed and playing in the snow outside. Everything was well-maintained and easy to figure out (although my dad had some trouble working the TV), and while the lighting system was a little quirky, as they explained in the binder listing all the information about the cabin, you can chalk it up to period-centric ideas about lighting :-) Anyway, it was a great house to stay in for the weekend, not far from town, but well-appointed, charmingly decorated, and with the kind of personal touches that made it feel like home away from home. Thank you, Drake Haus owners for sharing your space with us :-)
Tina S. from Snoqualmie, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in December, 2013 Overall it was great! The house lived up to expectations and was very cozy for our group of 6 adults and 2 dogs. Def within walking distance of town, which was fantastic - but no sidewalk on icicle road which is the first 1/2 mile or so, just FYI (it was fine but with the snow and ice slightly worrisome). House had plenty of towels, blankets, dishes etc which was really thoughtful. Would mention that I think the dishwasher is on its last legs - the top rack was a little touchy to pull out - but again, I'm sure there are plenty of other places that don't even provide a dishwasher so no complaints here :)A little confused on the checkout process.... there didn't seem to be one. We tidied up and left the place as we found it, and locked the door behind us - but I still haven't seen an email confirming the end of our stay or anything... not sure how that works exactly. The mobile app is AWESOME and had most of the info we needed, but a personal touch to wrap up the experience would've pushed this to 5 stars.
Douglas M. from Boise, Idaho recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2013 The Drake house isa period (70's-80's) home with plenty of room for our party of eight. We were able to enjoy a large family gathering for a long weekend. The only improvements I would recommend to the owners is to update carpeting, add a second shower, and change the mattress in the master bedroom, it sagged, which was a bit hard on the back. While the property was usably clean, the kitchen trash was grimy, the outside trash cans sat on a sheet of ice, a bit dangerous, and the hot tub water was low. Overall we had a pleasant stay. For the price, I would recommend a little TLC in the maintenance department.
A guest from Powell Butte, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2013 Pretty and quiet spot. Nice big tub. Sick mouse we had to take outside from the dining room off the kitchen. Found little maggot crawling on the floor in the downstairs living area. So that was really yucky. Don't know where it came from.
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc Jennie, Thank you for your review we have taken care of the items you noted, as pest control was contacted and protocol set in place as we move this is one of those things that we can only do our best with prevention, but on occasion mother nature disrupts that action and reminds us we are in a mountainous area and all we can do is take action and resolve it to the best of our ability. I hope despite these 2 items you were able to enjoy the area and your visit in the beautiful Bavarian Village.
Ann T. from Chewelah, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2013 Hi,I have been renting for a number of years, as a return loyal customer from Comfy Cabins and I must say ~ I was thrilled when I drove up but alittle disappointed by the time I left. The beds were " funky" and ought to be updated, particularly the bunkbeds, which only DANGEROUSLY had a 1/4 " sheet ply on them , despite being log sturdy beds, if anyone of any size were to hop up for a bedtime story with a kiddo, the bottom would crash down on someone !! Some lights were burnt out in the bathroom, making it very dark to get makeup on in morning,and some of the lamps as well ~ There was one little presto log for a fire, when I always like a GOOD fireside night time relax. There was one dishcloth, and it was full of black dog hair ?? Somekind of hair, numerous warnings to not flush toilets made you afraid to take a POO ~ the master bath tub is not functioning :( and there was MOUSE POOP In the cupboards, mainly under the kitchen sink ~ BLECHHHH . Alot of the blinds are broken and I have honestly never seen SO MANY stickers in a house in my life !! They were : Doorlock broken, blind broken, dont flush too much, this and that, I always look forward to reading the guestbook and there are so many complaints, we actually read and were in dismay ~ might want to change out the guest book if your not going to change out the problems in this house. I am very leary to recommend Comfy Cabins for my Son's upcoming wedding venue in January ....I am sorry to say, this particular rental was sub standard, but despite seeming negative I always do have a great time in leavenworth, origin of my family and dear to my heart, and thankful I have somewhere to call " home " for a couple days each season. Thanks , and sorry , but I rather be truthful and come back, then leave a note on the counter that we thought of doing ~ but I am afraid housekeeping is all that would have seen it !!
Property Manager Response: Response from NW Comfy Cabins Inc Ann, We are so sorry that this particular Comfy Cabin was less of an enjoyable experience than the aforementioned visits you have had with us. We want you to know that we have addressed all of the items you mentioned, and so appreciate your continued trust in us and what we strive to offer our guests. The feedback/reviews are our best tool in ensuring we meet that endeavor. We do try to offer a wide variety of vacation rental units, and some fits are better for certain guests than others and it appears this particular property was not one of the better ones for you. The items that you mentioned of merit, the mice poo, and the overload of signs, etc... have all been sent over to the owner and are not only being addressed, but also rectified. This particular vacation rental is more of a "retro" "older home and so its amenities and ambiance are in line with that "feel." We hope that you will base your experience on your prior visits with us and those units, since this one was different than the norm. You know you are always privy to the return guest discount and we do hope that we can accommodate you again in the future to reignite your confidence in us. Have an amazing holiday season.
A guest from Surrey, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Drake Haus and will certainly book it again. It's furnished in an older rustic style but everything works, and it was clean and homely and situated in a beautiful setting. While we were there, we were visited by two does with their fawns (at the same time) in the driveway which delighted us all.
Jessica B. from Seattle, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2013 My group of 6 people came to spend a relaxed time in the hot tub, go tubing on the river, and spend some time in town.The hot tub broke when we got in it. Since it was late I didnt want to call the number. When I emailed the next morning about that (and the broken coffee maker) I was sent an excerpt from their maintenance contractor blaming us for not calling as soon as it broke, and blaming us for turning the heat up too high and shorting it. We didnt turn the heat up that high until it stopped working and we started messing with knobs trying to get it to work again.But I digress. The house smelled like old person. There is only ONE shower. ONE SHOWER- I know it says that on their website, but just dont get confused about 2.25 baths. It's 3 toilets, one gross bath, and one shower with horrible water pressure and water that fluctuates between hot and cold.There were not enough seats in the den (where the TV is) for more than 5 people. So if you're watching a movie after a long day in the sun waiting for your turn in the horrible shower, be prepared to sit on the disgusting polar bear ottoman, or on the floor.I did want some money back for the sadness that the broken hot tub/coffee maker brought us, but to no avail. I got a blamey email in return. Hopefully they have fixed it for you though, if my review hasnt convinced you not to stay.The beds were too soft. Dont try to sleep on your stomach- you'll be shaped like a boomarang by morning and your back will be killing you. There are rule signs posted everywhere, bathroom signs tell you not to flush ANYTHING down the toilet.The rental company (who I'm sure will filter this) is overtly religious too. Like I said, our stay was OK, but if you plan on sleeping well or going in a hot tub, or sitting on a comfortable couch watching TV, then dont stay here.
A guest from Seattle, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2013 While the the house was clean and tidy, we were a bit dissappointed in the general maintenance. There were light bulbs burned out, the barbeque was extremely dirty, curtains were broken so as to not be able to close them, the coffee maker was also broken, and a few battery operated remotes were dead. While these weren't major things, all together it made for a frustrating stay. We did get to see a family of deer one morning, right in front.
Sarah W. from Everett, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013 Went for a moms weekend away with some girlfriends and we stayed at Drake Haus. The cabin was clean and well stocked with everything we needed. Let me tell you... We barely left the house! The backyard was huge and very private. We could hear the relaxing sound of the icicle river just down the hill and even had some deer come visit one morning. The deck was our hangout the entire weekend. There were neighbors near by but they kept to themselves which is always nice in a vacation rental. Nothing worse than feeling like you're being spied on. As far as customer service goes, Denise and Kelly were great. We had a bit of an issue upon arrival but they were on top of it immediately when I called them. They made us feel very well taken care of. Needless to say we will definitely use Comfy Cabins again, we are already planning next years getaway!