Perfect Places Vacation Rentals
Traveler Login Owner Login
Chinese (Traditional) Portugeuse Spanish Italian German French English

Smoky Mountain Cabin Emerald City Lights 203
Gatlinburg 2 br Vacation Rental Cabin

Property Summary
Gatlinburg, Tennessee, United States
Type
Cabin

Bedrooms
2

Bathrooms
2

Sleeps
8

Rates
$177 - $442 per night
$1,133 - $2,488 per week
$5,446 - $9,953 per month

Pet Friendly   Non Smoking
 
Book Online   Visa Mastercard American Express Discover
This property listing provides real-time availability and rate quotes. Book it securely and instantly using a credit card.

Vacation Cabin Rental Description:



Location: Ski Mountain, Gatlinburg, Tennessee (Just 1 mile from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park & Ober Ski Resort)

If you are looking for THE BEST two bedroom luxury cabin rentals in is definitely ONE of them!!! This $half-million dollar$ home was custom built on top of Ski Mountain-Gatlinburg for the sophisticated traveller looking for the ultimate luxury log home in the Smokies! This vacation cabin in Gatlinburg would be great for any special event including Birthdays, Honeymoons, Anniversaries, Graduation Celebration, or sky is the limit but you will be celebrating THE GOOD LIFE! This log home is 3 levels with its own private land lot with an impressive overlook that admires the mountain views during the Day & sparkling City Lights at Night. You will love this amazing log home for its amenties, spacious layout, supreme gameroom, beautiful views, and primary location! When you drive up to Emerald City Lights, you will find a custom door greets you with a hand-carved wood tree pressed against a custom glass door. Enter the home & you will be impressed with the large foyer. (Upgrade: The alarm system will make your family safe & secure.) Step down from the foyer into the deluxe living room with upscale furnishings including leather furniture & flatscreen Television. To the right, indulge yourself by cooking meals in your amazing kitchen which features granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, and charming breakfast bar. Walk downstairs to your spacious entertainment room which features a full-size slate pool table & classic stand-up arcade game machine, featuring over 100 different popular games. To the right of the gameroom, you'll find one of your two master suites complete with King Pillow-top bed, oversized jetted jacuzzi, & TV for those romantic or restful evenings. Outside of this home you'll find three back porches or decks that feature rockers, & premium grade hot tub! On the top level, you'll have another master suite complete with its own fireplace (open seasonally), jetted jacuzzi, premium King Bed, & bathroom. This Gatlinburg vacation cabin has it all, so look no City Lights is in a League of its Own!!!

Emerald City Lights is a new, luxury log cabin located in Gatlinburg's Ski Mountain area. Just to recap: This incredible cabin offers a variety of amenities. Each bedroom features a jacuzzi tub and fireplace, and you will love the double-headed walk in showers! With another fireplace in the living room, a massive game room with pool table and arcade games, and stunning views from every level, this cabin will leave you speechless! Sit back and appreciate the view from one of the two wrap-around decks or large hot tub! In additional to these great features, the master bedroom also has its own private balcony! Wireless internet, seasonal swimming pool access and tennis court access are also available to you while you stay in this gorgeous home!

Price is based on 4 adults, each additional adult is $12.50 per day. Register your pet at time or reservation or check-in if you decide to bring one. No Smoking Allowed. We look forward to your visit to the Smoky Mountains & Emerald City Lights!

Bedding Configuration: 2 King

Pets: Dogs Allowed

Additional Features:
* Convenience: Pet Friendly
* Entertainment: Cable TV, DVD Player, Pool Table, Arcade Game
* Geographic: Mountain View
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Stove, Dishwasher, Utensils
* Living: Linens, Washer & Dryer, Jacuzzi Tub, Central Heat/Air, Fireplace - Gas, Jacuzzi Tub (2)
* Outdoor: Gas Grill, Hot Tub, Resort Pool Access
Book Online:

Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.

Arrival Date:
Departure Date:
Adults (18+):
Children (<18):
Visa Mastercard American Express Discover



Accommodation and Amenities:

Features:
  • Full Kitchen
  • Jacuzzi
  • Gas Grill
Appliances:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD Player
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Satellite TV or Cable TV
Activities:
  • Swimming
  • Tennis

Owner/Manager last updated on 07/22/2014

 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»
  July   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  August   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  September   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»


Pricing/ Rates:    (click to convert currency)
Nightly Price Range: $  177 to: $  442
Weekly Price Range: $  1,133 to: $  2,488
Monthly Price Range: $  5,446 to: $  9,953

   » Prices in United States Dollars.



This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 Property Reviews 
A Short Get A Away
Donald Z. from Powder Springs, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2014
We rented the cabin fora few days to take our kids to Dollywood. The cabin is in an excellent location that provides a top notch view. In fact we watched the Dollywood fireworks show from the back deck.The interior of the cabin was basically clean, but the outside needs more detailed attention. There were a few cigarette butts scattered on the decks and some minor pieces of trash that had fallen near the trash receptacle. Aunt Bugs personnel were very nice and helpful, but we were inadvertently not provided with a pool pass. This required an additional trip back to their office to obtain. That was ok since we were going right by it anyhow, and it was taken care of.Overall it was a good trip and we would rent the cabin again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful view
TRACEY B. from LANETT, AL recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014
The home was beautiful, the view was good, it was roomy, not cramped. The decks were nice and the deck furniture was comfortable. The sofa's look good but don't sit very good, the one downstairs is terrible. The kitchen was pretty, love the counter tops.The dishwasher didn't clean the dishes. We cooked and didn't really have many pots and pans to use, which would have been a problem if we'd had more than 4 people. We had to purchase a can opener and a hot pad, which we donated to the chalet. The bed downstairs was lower at the head. Overall the place was nice but I wouldn't call it a premium chalet. We have stayed at nicer places in that area at a lower price. We stayed a week and got tired of the number of stairs to get to the bedrooms. I would recommend this home to others as long as they didn't mind the stairs.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so glad you enjoyed the Emerald City Lights, and the wonderful views this cabin has to offer its guests! Thank you for sharing feedback about your stay. We are sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay! Did you contact the rental office with your issues? We would have gladly sent the contract cleaner to take care of your issues, and bring the kitchen utensils that you were lacking! Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Emerald City Lights
Joseph K. from Vidor, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2014
The cabin was great overall so I will just point out some shortcoming in the spirit of improvement for future guests. There was some unexpected wear and tear (especially the stairs) that was not visible from the pictures and some of the faux logs that form the corners of the cabin were rotted off and piled on the deck. The arcade game didn't work and the cabin wasn't really very clean (everything was dusty). Old TV,air mattresses and other junk piled in upstairs closet, taking up much of the closet space. The controls for the hot tub were also in-operable. Again, overall the cabin was great and we really enjoyed our stay. None of the issues above were that big of a deal and we never even called the office to address any them while we were there.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful View
Pamela S. from ESKDALE, WV does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2014
My top priority in choosing a vacation rental was to have a great view and this cabin has that - especially from the deck on Level 3 where we could watch fireworks every night. It's quite a sight to be looking down at fireworks instead of looking up. Squirrels on deck each morning were very cute and we had Bears out front twice which is nothing new to us because we have them at home but it was exciting for my nieces. The cabin is very beautiful. I feel that for a LUXURY CABIN price it does not measure up in LUXURY comforts. We had 5 adults, 3 children in our group. The kitchen had 1 small and 1 extra small skillet, making breakfast for 8 people was difficult and only 1 large bowl. The sofa looked nice but when you sat down you sank so far down you had difficulty getting up and the pullout sleeper was a back breaker! Upon arrival the air conditioning worked only on the bottom level and although a maintanince man came he couldn't fix it and we were told they would send a repairman that evening or first thing in the morning - it was around noon when he came and it was very hot the week we were there. The first night was 79 and 81 degrees on the upper floors (where 4 out of 8 people were to sleep!) The washing machine was extremely noisy so you couldn't run it at night and every single door in the house had squeeky hinges. The main bedroom by the hot tub did not have cable TV, only a few channels. You have access to 3 pools but when we checked in we weren't given a pass so I had to drive back to Pigeon Forge the next day to get it. The end log pieces of siding on the house by the hot tub were rotted off and just left laying on the deck. I first thought there had been a fire. Our overall stay was good but I would tell a friend to look for a better value for the money spent.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are glad you found this cabin rental to be beautiful, with great views, and received visitors a few times! We are sorry for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. The information you have given us, is greatly appreciated and will help us to correct some things for future guests in this cabin. We appreciate your business, and your feedback. Thank you for staying with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A new meaning for the "Emerald City"
A guest from Flat Rock, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in May, 2014
We had a wonderful mini vacation at Emerald City Lights!!! Only 2 things to suggest: 1. add screen doors to the deck doors to allow the wonderful mountain air to come in. 2. some of the street signs were missing so finding the way was a bit difficult at times.Thanks for offering Emerald City Lights!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so happy to hear about your wonderful stay in one of our cabin rentals! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Dusty cabin
A guest from Midlothain, IL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in April, 2014
This cabin was dusty dirty and still had the Christmas tree up and it's May. Also very dangerous getting up there what they don't tell you I is bring food because you won't want to go back down disappointed.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Norma, thank you for taking the time to talk to me about your recent cabin rental experience with our company! I am sorry the location was not quite what you were anticipating. Thank you for your feedback, and your business. I look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Excellent stay
Jeff E. from Nottingham, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2014
Enjoyed the house and the area a lot. I have no complaints about the condition of the house or the ammenities

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so glad you enjoyed your cabin rental, and trip to the area! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Had a great vacation.
BRIAN R. from PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in April, 2014
Had a few minor issues that were promptly taken care of. Squirrels were good entertainment. The ride up and down the mountain was exciting. Great location between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Mr. Rieken, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your cabin rental and experience with Aunt Bugs! I am sorry for the few issues you encountered, and am glad we were able to take care of this for you to enjoy the rest of your stay. We appreciate your business, and your review. Call us when you are ready to make your next reservation, in another really great Aunt Bugs cabin rental!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Overall, our stay was good. We had a good time.
ANGI M. from HICKSVILLE, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in March, 2014
Going into the vacation I was worried about the property due to negative reviews. I even called ahead with some of my concerns and was assured that these issues had been taken care of. My main concern was with the grill. Reviews stated that it did not work/out of propane. When I called I told them that our menu was being planned around the grill and I was assured that the grill would work. Guess what? It did not. We had to come up with a plan b for cooking after all our groceries were bought. The house was difficult to get to the first few times but it did have a spectacular view. The hot tub only half way works. Meaning that if you want jets, only 2 people can sit in it at a time. We did have to put water in it and a hose was left there to do so, however the hose did not have a connector to hook to the outside spigot so if we wanted to continue to use the hot tub we had to find another to fill it. We used a cleaned out trash can. The house for the most part was clean. Lots of cobwebs in corners though and the windows weren't too clean. With the price we paid for the house, I was disappointed in it's appearance. The pictures don't give the whole story. The house is very worn down. If you want to continue to rent it at the price you are, updates need to be made. I feel as if we paid for top of the line and got mid grade. I did love the showers, however the water pressure is really low and it is very difficult to even wash the soap out of your hair. Also, if you are going to have 2 Jacuzzi's, you need a bigger water heater. If one person wants to take a bath, that is the only person that will get any hot water. Overall our stay was good. We had a good time and enjoyed the spectacular views. Would I stay again? Probably not because it did take a toll on our vehicle going up and down that mountain as much as we did. If you are planning on staying in a lot, then it would be perfect.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Ms. Miller, I am glad you enjoyed the views and had a good time on your trip to the area. I am sorry for any issues you experienced during your stay! Were you able to report any issues to the office, so we could take care of them for you? We would have been more than happy to do so. We appreciate your feedback, and your business! I hope you will consider us for future rentals.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A nice cabin, But...............
A guest from GRANTVILLE, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014
The cabin it's self is very nice. I didn't like the location of the turn on valve in the master double head shower, your gonna get wet (yes I know that's the idea) but not when you are turning it on to warm up the shower. The window in the shower wasn't cleaned very well since once the room filled with steam the window showed that someone loves someone. But like I said overall a nice cabin. Now keep in mind this cabin is list as the best they have to offer and charge a premium price for it. The amenities are where I had the biggest problem. The cabin is listed to have a premium hot tub. Maybe in 1980 it was, it had no step to get in, (a bit of a safety issue there) it had no pressure at the jets and was cloudy so this was a disappointment. The game room had a pool table which was decent (again refer to premium) it also had an old style video game but the player #1 jot stick was broken so we couldn't play. The coffe pot was a new adventure, we brought our own coffee and filter as instructed, they just didn't tell us it was a "cone" style filter. So when it did finally make a pot (it brewed VERY SLOWLY) it had grounds in it. Our first night the oven didn't work only the broiler would heat up, I did call that in the next day and it was fixed that day to Aunt Bugs credit. Also when we arrived the main floor fire place pilot light was out so I called maintenance and the helped me get it started. Now I know some of these things sound petty but if it's billed as the best and charge a premium price the little things are what make it all worth wild.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your feedback and thank you for staying with us. We will address the issues with maintenance and the owner of the cabin. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Snowed In
Rich T. from Birmingham, AL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in January, 2014
My wife and I stayed at this rental property the first of January. If there is snow in the forecast you do not want to stay at this location unless you have a 4 wheel drive vehicle. The amenities were nice but the place could use a good deep cleaning. There were cobwebs and dust on all of the light fixtures and fans, the bathtub in the upstairs bedroom had dirt in the jets and not all of the dishes were clean when we arrived. Most of the time we had to wash them before using the dishes.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Mr. Trucks, I am sorry that the weather created a situation that you were not able to leave your cabin on your scheduled date. It is my understanding that you were given a discounted rate for the additional nights that you stayed, and were given the information to file a claim with the insurance company to recover your costs. We cannot control weather related situations, which is why we do recommend the insurance for these types of situations. We appreciate your feedback, and are happy that you were able to safely depart your cabin. We value your business, and hope you will consider Aunt Bugs for future rentals.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful accomodations, wonderful view!!
Terrance L. from Brandon, Fl. does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in December, 2013
This cabin home sits atop Ski Mt. and has two Master suites with two indoor Jacuzzi tubs and a hot tub outside. It was perfect for two couples providing complete privacy and plenty of common space when wanted. The approach drive to the cabin seems a bit challenging at first due to it's position on the mountain but after the first couple of trips up and down you'll become familiar enough to feel confident. All roads are well paved and maintained and I had no trouble even while driving a mini van in mid December. I would definitely recommend both the cabin and Aunt Bugs!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your feedback and thank you for staying with us. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Time
A guest from rockford, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2013
Management very helpful with issues such as replacing toaster, disappointed arcade game broke..and the fan in the kitchen had not been cleaned in years....center pieces had not been dusted...not the cleanest cabin in the world but okay for the stay. We would stay again but only with the guarantee that the cabin would be in cleaner shape next time. Fans should be cleaned at least every spring and fall. This fan was covered in grease and dirt. BUT...again it was okay and a great view and location! did not stop us from enjoying the view...the cabin and Gatlinburg and Aunt Bug's Cabin.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback about your experience with our cabin rentals. I am sorry there were some issues with the cleaning of your cabin! We will use this information to address and correct any issues for the next guest. Thanks, again! We look forward to your next stay with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great getaway
A guest from Sarasota, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013
This is the perfect place for 2 couples to spend a few days away from it all! It was a little rainy while we were there, so I'm sure the view would have been great, but we didn't get to enjoy it as much as we would have liked. The cabin is located at the top of the mountain, which is what we requested--but the road getting there is pretty difficult. Many switchback turns, very steep and narrow. We only left once during our stay because we didn't want to navigate the road! Two master suites, separated by floors, gave everyone the privacy they wanted. The kitchen could have been a little better equipped, but was okay. The gas grill had disintegrated, and wasn't replaced during our stay, even though we requested it, so we had to cook our steaks in the broiler, but that was fairly minor. The beds were very comfy, the decks were great and we enjoyed our stay!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for offering feedback about your recent cabin rental stay! We will use this information to correct what we can, to avoid the same issues with future guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great view but cleanliness lacking
BILLY S. from CARTERVILLE, IL-Illinois recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013
View was excellent and overall the cabin was nice but not as clean as should have been. When entering the location there was cobwebs hanging off the light fixtures and cobwebs in the corners that looked unclean. Had to sweep the cobwebs and dead spider bugs from around the sofa and the arcade game, spiders with webs behind the trash cans. Alot of dirt built up on the steps that i would think should have been cleaned. Extra blankets in the downstairs dresser that were not folded and smelled so we did not use the dresser. Remove missing batteries for the downstairs tv so i had to remove the ones from my camera for it to work because the buttons on the tv didnt work. Upstairs bedroom closet had rug and blankets thrown in the floor and a box with a tv sitting on shelf (dont know if tv in box or just empty box). I think these are items that should have been folded and put away so full use of the closet was available or put in a storage room.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your cabin rental experience. I apologize for the cleaning issues you encountered, and will pass this information to the appropriate person(s). Thanks, again! We look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Dissappointed
A guest from Arab, AL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in September, 2013
Furniture needs updated, very worn and TV reception in main living room was very snowy, cabin is not handicap friendly...stairs everywhere hot tub was dirty and showers had mold in them. Spiders and spider webs were all around front door.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. The feedback is greatly appreciated and will be used to address any issues with the cabin.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Emerald Isle in Ober, Gat,inburg
Colleen D. from hoover, AL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2013
The toilet leaked thru the ceiling to the bottom floor and we had to put stuff around the leaks to prevent damage and not get our stuff wet. The televisions were outdated and did not get good reception. The picture showed a hammock that I was looking forward using that is no longer there

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your visit at our cabin. Did you report the toilet issue to the office? We are able to send out a maintenance person to fix these, as quickly as we can, when we are made aware of a situation. The cabins are indivdually owned, and any updates or change in amenities is the owner's decision. Thank you for your feedback! We will use this to address and resolve the issues you encountered.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

the dirty windows ruined the view
Kathleen A. from Grand Island, NY does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013
the cabin was beautiful and the view was awesome. my satisfaction ends there. way over-priced for a broken toaster, no gas in the grill and over all very dirty. the couch beds were unsleepable. the management wouldn't bring gas for the grill and we had to go get. First night dinner ruined. then we went and got the gas for the grill and the grill didn't work properly and ruined the second nights dinnr. the pans up there are Teflon coated and we don't ever eat off that.. so we ate out the third night. the property was fine just poor management. I'll go back there... but not with Aunt Bugs

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We do a propane exchange program for all of our properties, we do apologize. When there is an issue with any of properties we take care of the problem right then and there, that is why we ask all of our customers to do a walkthrough in the first couple of hours while at the property to let us know of any issues with the property. That way we can fix all problems if any at the beggining of the stay, we again apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the property. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you and your family reconsider, we have over 180 properties we manage each one unique and individually owned.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice but $$$
Jamie V. from Erlington, MS recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013
The cabin was beautiful. But for the amount we spent on it we didn't have a broom in the cabin, there weren't a whole lot of kitchen supplies, it was sorta infested with spiders, the downstairs couch bed was broken,and there was trash all up the side of the mountain.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

FIRST CABIN RENTAL
A guest from GORDONSVILLE, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013
i wish the hot tube water had been clear and not murky-so didnt feel safe to get in, the jacuzzi tubs worked as well very disappoitd in the fact that we could not enjoy either one, needs a new fryhing pan the coating is off the one that is there, if the house was care for correctly there would not have been several light bulbs out spider webs in the corner of the upstairs bedroom,the middle of the sofa sunk in and couldnt sit comfortly as the other two side wanted to roll you to the middle due to that being sunk in. I WOULD RECOMMEND BECOUSE OF THE LOCATION VIEW WAS WONDERFUL
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Gatlinburg Cabins
Cindy T. from North Jackson, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2013
Our Vacation overall was very enjoyable. We wanted to stay in the mountains and this cabin is really up in the mountains. We were not prepared for the difficulty our vehicle would have climbing straight up a mountain and also felt it difficult to find our cabin the first several times up and down the mountain. The roads are marked but you wind around so much you are not sure you are on the same road you started. Our cabin was amazing. However, there was a problem with ants. I had to spray pretty aggressively. And the cabin was really dusty throughout. It was rustic and very similar to the photos except I felt uncomfortable as there were a lot of bugs, more than just ants. We did accomplish the things we set out to do including seeing up close and in person a mama bear and two bear cubs walking up the road and going to cabin porches! The clubhouse facilities were very nice and there was more than one to choose from. The clubhouse staff actually got us going on our way and were invaluable. My hero of the trip is still the pizza delivery man!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is unfortunate that the rain this summer has brought out so many bugs. The cabins are regularly treated, and we are happy to send the exterminators out for additional spot treatments when we know that the bugs are creeping back in. Thank you for your feedback on the resort and the resort staff as well. It is always great to know how your experience goes with the staff outside of our office. We look forward to having you back. Thank you again!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

MISLEADING & POORLY MAINTAIN
LAWRENCE C. from VERSALLES, KY does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2013
We were not satisfied with are stay. Your web site shows that the cabin has flat screen tv and a hammock, witch it does not. The gas grill would not work at all and was very dirty. Several light bulbs were burn out and the two pole lights in the driveway would not work. The ironing board had no cover on it and metal rod coming out of the top of it. Old bedding was thrown in the downstairs closet with the ironing board and iron. This (LUXURY CABIN) as said on the web site had no cd player or stereo in it at all, just small clock radio in the bedroom also the rockers and tables on the deck were in poor condition. The kitchen had a butcher block for carving knives in it, but had no carving knives at all. The stairs were worn and going down to the main level were badly repaired. The area rug by fireplace was dirty and worn with the corner sticking up making a trip hazard. Cobwebs were hanging from ceiling to light fixture on the main level by stairs. The windows and blinds were dirty and dusty. We come to Gatlinburg at least twice a year and always stay in cabins, Emerald City Lights was the most expensive and the worst we ever stayed at. We will never stay at Aunt Bug`s or Acorn cabin again!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Relaxing
A guest from lake worth, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2013
Felt like we were in the tree tops! Even in the rain the view was spectacular!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great vacation cabin
A guest from Alpharetta, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2013
My family loved the cabin. It Had something for everyone. From the spectacular views from the back porch that my wife loved to the gameroom area that kept my teenagers happy.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Dirty, over priced, terrible location, ants
A guest from GRENADA, MS does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2013
The drive to the cabin was so scary that we had to be back at the cabin before it got dark. The first day I pulled back the sheets to inspect the bed because I was seeing large black ants around the bed. I found food and ants in the sheets, so I had wash all sheets and towels. There was cheerios on the floor in the living room that was not ours and the rug was also very dirty. NO Hammock hanging on the porch like it was advertised. The kitchen cabinet and stove was dirty with hair and food. I had to clean the kitchen before use. Both hideaway beds were broken so my kids sleep with me and my husband. We called 3 times about the alarm system not working and it never got repaired. No broom or mop. Showers had no water pressure. So dusty that I had to take allergy medicine. A/c unit did work well. Totally wasted our money on this cabin !

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced these issues, and would have been happy to send the cleaners back to take care of them for you. We will make sure these things are addressed and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful
Brandi K. from Elizabethtown, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2013
This cabin was amazing..the views were gorgeous. We had squirrels come visit every morning on the deck, they would have come in if we let them. The only negative thing is that the microwave was filthy and every door leading outside had black finger prints all over them. It could of been a little cleaner, but it was a beautiful cabin.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for posting your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the cabin. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Emerald City Lights
A guest from Bastrop, LA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 6 days in May, 2013
When we went back to the office to get a brochure on the white water rafting that was tied in with Aunt Bugs Cabins the office personal was not very helpful. They almost acted like we were bothering them when we came in. The white water rafting people were excellent and very helpful it was just the ones with Aunt Bugs cabins that were not. Also I was going to raise the blinds in the living room to enjoy the view and the windows were filty. It look like something was poured on the windows and ran down them so really could not enjoy the view for the streaks on the windows. I thought the service should have been better since we paid almost $1500 dollars to stay here for 6 nights. The guy I talked to the night we checked in and the day we left was nice but the ladies in the office during the week were not nice at all and also on the internet it leads you to believe you have pool access but when I ask them about this they told me it depended on what cabin you were in and that the one I rented did not have pool access. If that is the case they should not advertise pool access under Emerald City Lights because that is false advertising or they should say it depends on the cabin.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for posting your review. We are sorry you were not pleased with our office staff. We generally get great reviews for our office, so we will look into the things you mentioned. This cabin does have pool access, however it is seasonal and opened on Memorial day as is standard for outdoor pools.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Pictures are 5 years old....
JAMES C. from ADRIAN, MI does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2013
The view was pretty great from the upper deck, the problem was the hot tub is on the lowest deck, not a great view. The cabin has many windows, which would've made for great views, except all windows were very dirty and streaked. The pictures showed a hammock, but there wasn't one. The entryway is bragged about in the cabin description, but it is worn some and looks tired. The place needs some refurbishing to look like the pictures. Patriot cabins seem to be in better shape than Aunt Bugs--FYI

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your review. Those photos are actually just a few months old. We are glad you enjoyed the view and cabin, and will forward your comments and suggestions to the owner.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The Howell Spring Break - 2013
Tammy H. from Catlettsburg, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2013
We only stayed for two nights, so we didn't feel the need to ask for maintenance. First, the hot tub would not work - it stayed at 64 degrees. Second, the ceiling fan in the master bathroom - one of the blades is brokend and when you turn it on it sounds like it is going to fall off the ceiling. Third, not all of the remotes for the TVs had batteries - very annoying when you finally relax and lie down to watch TV and it will not work. Fourth, there is trash everywhere around the cabin - cups, broken umbrellas, etc. Fifth, we were given an App to use on our phones - but most of the perks to the App would not work. I tried to submit this information to you via the App, but have not heard from you so obviously you did not receive it.Like I said, overall we enjoyed ourselves. But, if we would have stayed there longer, these issues definitely would have had to have been addressed. We plan on returning at least one more time this year, for a longer stay and plan on using you again, so although disappointed, we still have faith. Thanks, Tammy
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Disappointed
A guest from OCALA, FL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in March, 2013
The cabin was in a great location and the view was amazing, but the inside was covered in dust and cob webs. We had to check in 45 min late because they said they were still cleaning from the last guests but there was hair curlers and a hair wrap on the floor when we got there and the dishes on the table were covered in dust. The tv, fire place and fan upstairs were broke and the alarm system wouldnt work. We called the security system people and they said the censors were messed up and the batteries were low. And the hammock that they describe is not even there.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are sorry to hear about the issues that you experienced during your stay with us. We will address these issues with maintenance and housekeeping. Thank you for staying with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

beautiful cabin!
A guest from SWAINSBORO, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in February, 2013
We stayed at this cabin last weekend and had a wonderful experience! We had read some negative reviews but experienced NONE of the issues that others had referred to. We would highly recommend this cabin. The ride up the mountain is difficult but the view is worth it!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Emerald City Lights.. That cabin does have some wonderful views!! We hope that you will come again and stay with us soon!!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Contact the Manager
Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals

Leave this field empty First Name *

Last Name *

Email Address *

Country *
Arrival Date

Departure Date

Adult (18+)
Child (<18)
Telephone
HomeMobileWork
Additional Message
Max 500 characters.

Email me this inquiry
Send me deals email

By clicking "Send Email" you are agreeing to our Terms and Conditions.


This advertiser has listed with PerfectPlaces.com since Dec 18, 2012

Find additional Vacation Rentals: