Perfect Places Vacation Rentals
Traveler Login Owner Login

Pigeon Forge in Wears Valley
Sevierville 5 br Vacation Rental Cabin

Property Summary
Sevierville, Tennessee, United States
Type
Cabin

Bedrooms
5

Bathrooms
7

Sleeps
20

Rates
$332 - $813 per night
$1,899 - $4,895 per week
$11,492 - $17,432 per month

Non Smoking
 
Book Online   Visa Mastercard American Express Discover
This property listing provides real-time availability and rate quotes. Book it securely and instantly using a credit card.

Vacation Cabin Rental Description:



Location: Black Bear Ridge Resort, Pigeon Forge, TN Big Bear Cinema Luxury Log Cabin in Pigeon Forge is packed with luxury furnishings & entertainment! This spacious five bedroom, seven bath cabin has Four king beds, one queen, three twin and sleeps up to 20 guests! All premium new luxury bedding was purchased new for Fall 2012! Endless amenities included in this amazing property are: game room with pool table, foosball and various arcade games, private theatre room, 4 jacuzzis, hot tub, TV, DVD, and seasonal pool access! Treat yourself with a vacation to this beautiful cabin today! Enjoy your own incredible giant screen Home Theater Room with commercial theater lounge chairs to enjoy the best movies Hollywood has to offer! This cabin is not short on fun & entertainment with multiple standup arcade games, foosball table, air hockey, pool table, & more!!! Reserve Big Bear Cinema #510 today at. No smoking allowed. This cabin has swimming pool access during the Spring/Summer. It's $12.50 per person per night above 10 people in this cabin. No charge for kids under 12.

Bedding Configuration: 4 King, 1 Queen, 3 Twin, 3 Sleeper Sofa, 1 Full

Room Description: cabin has bunk bed double on bottom twin on top. and an extra twin cot

Additional Features:
* Entertainment: Satellite TV, DVD Player, Theater Room, Pool Table, Decorated for Christmas, Arcade Game
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Stove, Dishwasher, Utensils
* Living: Linens, Washer & Dryer, Central Heat/Air, Fireplace - Electric
* Outdoor: Deck, BBQ Grill, Hot Tub, Resort Pool Access
Book Online:

Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.

Arrival Date:
Departure Date:
Adults (18+):
Children (<18):
Visa Mastercard American Express Discover



Accommodation and Amenities:

Features:
  • Full Kitchen
  • Deck
Appliances:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD Player
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Activities:
  • Swimming
 available     unavailable     tentative «« View previous 12 months
  December   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  January   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  February   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29          
  March   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  April   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
  May   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  June   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  July   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  August   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  September   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30  
  October   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  November   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
 available     unavailable     tentative «« View previous 12 months


Pricing/ Rates:    (click to convert currency)
Nightly Price Range: $  332 to: $  813
Weekly Price Range: $  1,899 to: $  4,895
Monthly Price Range: $  11,492 to: $  17,432

   » Prices in United States Dollars.



This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 Property Reviews 
Dirty cabin.
A guest from BLACKLICK, OH does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2014
Our cabin dirty. The floors were dirty and needed moping. Dust was in every corner. The carpeted areas were filled with dust in every corner. Hair balls and were on your feet when you get out of the shower. Many of the outlets in the kitchen did not work.. Front porch lights didnot work which gave way to visiting wolves at night. We called due to a wasp nest on the front porch and no one came to take care of it. The iron didnot work and the ironing board cover was dirty... There was only one TV in one room of the cabin and it didnot have cable or satilight on it. Both couches in each living room was old and worn out and the sofa beds was horrible No one could sleep on it... We had to go to the rental office and get a second pool q for the pool table. Plus side the toilet and showers and tubs were clean and this cabin had plenty of dishes and cook ware.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for giving us feedback about your cabin rental experience with our company. We are sorry to hear that you had so many issues with your cabin! If we had known about any of these, we would have gladly sent someone to take care of these. Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you, and hope you will consider us for future rentals.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Back to school retreat
A guest from Lexington, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2014
We had a great time. The rental was great. Very clean and met our needs completely.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay! We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

wouldn't stay here again
A guest from yoakum, TX does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2014
The house was beautiful to the eyes as in the pictures. Bit what the pictures don't show is that the house is in a long line of houses that sit on asphalt. There is absolutely no yard or anywhere to hang out outside. There is no privacy, it's worse than being in a subdivision. When looking at the pics it looks like you are in the country by yourself. Also, the house sleeps 20 people. Yet there are no pots bigger than 2 quarts. So when we cooked for instance, spaghetti one night, we had to use 3 small pots and still didn't have enough room. The house also supplies maybe 10 bath towels. Not nearly enough for 20 people. There was not even a broom to where we could sweep the kitchen floor.we had to buy one at the dollar store. One of the worse things was the TRASH! NOONE PICKS THE TRASH UP! there was trash in the trashcan that they supply you on the outside of the house already when we got there, so we were able to only put maybe two more bags in and it was full. Then they tell you when trashcan is full just keep the extra trash in your kitchen until you leave. we had about 7 trash bags sitting on the kitchen floor when we left. I have stayed in large rentals many times and they have always been set up to host the proper # of people. Have never had this experience. The last problem I will mention is the noise. If you move in this house you can hear it throughout the house. I had never experienced this in a log home before. You literally could not go to sleep if anyone was still awake because it sounded like they were in your bedroom. ESPECIALLY if they were on the floor above you. Overall we were very disappointed.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback about your stay with us. Our records show that you made your reservation online and that there were 12 people coming to stay. This does make a difference in the supplies left in the cabin for your arrival. We are sorry that you were not happy with this cabin, or its location. We have several great cabins that may be in a better location for what you were looking for. Thank you for staying with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Heartbroken at our family reunion.
Donna S. from Bluff City, TN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2014
We had no air condition on the 3rd & 4th floor the house was 90+degrees for kids with T1 diabetes there was food under the furniture the doors including front door didn't lock properly. Drag racing went on all night long electrical outlits didn't work and when we complain we were told it did we just didn't know how to use it. With 11 adults and 7 children I think we know to work sime things. VERY DISAPPOINTED NEVER AGAIN

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Ms. Sims, I am sorry for the air conditioning, and other issues you encountered during your stay. We do try to create a positive experience for our guests, and I am sorry if we were not able to do that for you. Thank you for your business, and your feedback.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great overall experience!
A guest from Rienzi, MS recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in March, 2014
Everything was as seen in pictures but only better. Looking forward to dealing with this company again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Mr. Ozbirn, we are so glad you were pleased with your cabin rental experience with Aunt Bugs! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. We appreciate your business, and look forward to your next trip.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Rental Unit
A guest from PETAL, MS recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in March, 2014
I arrived very late after closing. We reported to the office and the staff walked around while others were on the phone as if no one entered the building. Just tell I/someone will be with you. Next door was a college party and the next door to that unit was a cheerleading party. On top of that I pulled out the sofa bed and saw RAT dropping with thrash and in the movie room under the chairs was more thrash. I called the office about a leak and they try to give me instruction on what to do. Did they forget I paid. The water in the sink drained VERY slow, I pulled out the stopper and it was full of hair that looked like sewage. However the unit was nice but I think we will look around for another.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Kenrick Short, I am sorry that you were not pleased with your cabin rental experience with Aunt Bugs! I have tried to contact you regarding the issues you encountered. Please return my call at your earliest convenience, so we may discuss your stay. Thank you so much!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Unacceptable for Preferred Repeat Customers
Manuel G. from Sterling, VA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014
This was the worst stay ever with Aunt Bug's cabins. My family and I have been coming to these cabins for years yet the management has no concept of 21st century electronic files of repeat customers. I expressed my dissatisfaction with management when the family arrived and the place was filthy. Management eventually offered me one night free but then reversed their course and said it would only be honored on future stays. This management company has gone downhill in the last year. Furthermore, if you have to interact with the office then ignore the old adage that the customer is always right. This company will never get my 1500 dollars per year ever again!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Mr. Garza, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your rental experience. Our property management system was switched a year ago, and has limited our access to past guests. Our contract cleaner for this cabin was sent immediately after the cleaning issues were reported to our office, and those issues were resolved within a few hours of check in. We appreciate your business, and your feedback.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Very nice cabin
A guest from Wellington, Florida recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in December, 2013
This cabin is exactly what we were expecting, the location cannot be any better. The only comments I may have is about the insulation issues in the lower room where the the cinema is located, it gets extremely cold that the heater won't warm it at all based on the amount of outside air coming through the edge of the balcony door. One more detail is the sound issues with the cinema to watch regular TV, watching DVD movies has no issues at all. And finally it has a very old, almost broken grill located outside and since I understand the safety reasons for it, the rest of the cabin in the same area have gas grills in the front porch, large party needs to have a good working condition grill!. Overall this is a cabin that I would consider to rent again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are glad to hear about your stay with us. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Terrible trip for school. Contacted TN Real Estate Board and BBB
John K. from Ridgeway, VA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in December, 2013
TVs not work. Dirty sheets. Doors broken. Very unprofessional staff. Maintenance came left lights on and door open. Dirty dishes. Nasty under beds. Hair in shower. Contacted authorities about been unsanitary. Got pictures and video. Bedroom doors wouldn't lock. Cinema is a sound.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Mr. Kendrick, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you had trouble locking up the cabin and came back to find it wide open. We appreciate your business, and hope you will consider Aunt Bugs for future stays.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Thanksgiving Vacation
SALLIE W. from LEXINGTON, MS recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in November, 2013
The location was great. The cabin had a few problems. However, most was solved when reported. The dyer wasn't able to be repaired until after we left. The cabin was very clean and inviting. The heating down stairs in the basement did not work properly. We were unable to use it fully because it stayed so cold down there. So we could not take advantage of theater down there or sleep in that area until the last night after the weather warmed up. Even with the problems we still enjoyed ourselves because the cabin was so nice and had lot of space inside for my family of eleven. I would go back again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your cabin rental experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your cabin, and do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. We appreciate you and the information you have given us. We look forward to your next stay!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

2 night stay
HARRIET C. from GREENEVILLE, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in November, 2013
theater tv hard to get going-some games didn't work right-need bigger pots in kitchen & pitchers.need elevator in this many stories for handicap.party both nights behind us-very noisy-broom was broke-couldn't find a vacuum-loved the room--large family stay together--quite expensive

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are sorry to hear about the issues that you experienced during your stay with us. We will address these issues with maintenance and housekeeping. Thank you for staying with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Cabin...but
Margaret E. from Ava, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2013
Had a very good stay...just wish the area wasn't so close to other cabins. Very noisy, our neighbors did not keep, their kids or themselves in check. Had a few brown recluse spiders in the cabin and the doors were hard to lock. Only 1 bedroom had a tv in it. This cabin just needs a good update and the main floor electric fireplace and internet fixed, or drop the price to rent the cabin.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback about your stay. The information you have given us will be forwarded to the owners, regarding updates. We look forward to your next visit! Call our office for your reservations and we will help you find a cabin more suitable for what you are looking for.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hot House in October
TERESA G. from HARRODSBURG, KY does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013
The best part was the basement, Movie Room, Game Room both great...Main Floor ok, accept for broken tiles that I reported when I first open the door. Everytime someone stepped on them, another piece would break off, actually hurting one person's foot...ugh! Then 2nd floor and up, the temperature during the day got to 97 degrees and signs were posted not to put the air conditioner past 71 degrees or the unit would freeze up... Needless to say, we roasted. Complained about that, didn't seem to matter. we paid a total of approx. $2,000.00 for 3 nights and was a bit miserable. The resort area was hard to find and these giant cabins were placed right on top of each other as if no one cared about the beauty of the resort, lets us see how much rent we can get for them, was how it seemed. Something had ran down the front of the upstairs and fireplace and had not been cleaned by the cleaners, reported that too upon arrival. t.v. had to be rebooted and remote controllers need new batteries. First bad experience I've ever had at a Cabin and we rent a lot. Won't come back ever again....

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We apologize about the issues you experienced during your vacation. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

family vacation
Gail S. from Claypool, IN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in September, 2013
The cabin wasn't in the neatest condition. A beer can and pack of cigarettes were left on a balcony, a fake eyelash in the bathroom, the floors were really dirty along the baseboards. You could tell it wasn't cleaned the best before we came. My suggestion would be to get NEW pots and pans and the ones in the cabin were very old and very used. With the amount of money paid for the cabin the pans should be updated. We only had chairs on one cabin balcony and the other cabins around had chairs on each balcony. There wasn't a view like the picture showed. The views we had were of other cabins.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are sorry about the issues you experienced during your stay. We will address these issues with housekeeping and maintenance.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

One of the Good Place to stay on Smokies............
A guest from new orleans, LA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013
Cabins are very clean n neat including the wash rooms, utensils and bedding. Nice place to njoy with Friends, families and fun for kids.There was no internet....

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your cabin rental with Aunt Bugs. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. We appreciate your business, and look forward to your next stay!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Our Recent Stay
A guest from Cordova, TN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013
We paid over $350 a night to stay at this cabin but it wasn't clean, tiles in the kitchen and bathroom area came up. The furniture was really dusty, and I had to re-clean the Jacuzzi's in each room for our guest. No one offered to make things better for us. The property itself was not a bad pick but the condition of the property was more of where the ?? marks were. I forwarded a complaint in writing but no has return my call.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review on your stay with our company. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, and we hope to see you and your family in the future. We will send you out a VIP card in hopes that you give us another you, Steven
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

XX
A guest from Portsmouth, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2013
XX

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your business. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice Cabin
STEVEN C. from VIRGINIA BEACH, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013
It was a beautiful cabin. Nice location, but pictures make it seem more remote and not in a "neighborhood" of other cabins. Never did find the pool, need to improve the directions to that. Need to increase trash pick up from check out day to multiple times per stay. We had 16 people in our cabin and generated a lot of trash. When bins got full, had to stack bags on top of bin holder. Smelled horrible and looked worse. Otherwise all was good, will be staying again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your stay with us and thank you for your feedback. We will address the issues that you experienced with housekeeping and maintenance. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great for Large or Multiple Families
A guest from Salem, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013
Very Large. Great for multiple families.5 Bed Rooms + extra beds in loft for kids. Approx 4 miles from Light 3 on Main Street in Pigeon Forge.No WiFi.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sleeping in Mice feces.
A guest from Lexington, KY does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2013
Management was very rude and refused to clean up mice feces that littered various beds in the cabin. The cabin was not clean upon arrival. Despite reporting various damages to the cabin staff, the staff charged for previous damages. They also demanded a 500 cash deposit upon my arrival, which was not stated anywhere in the contract. I still have not received the money back. I was told by management that they were allowed to discriminate against my age due to being a college student. My self and my family will make sure to tell everyone we know to never rent from this property and this company. I also writing a review in the Kentucky Kernal about my awful experience. I also plan on contacting the local newspaper to prevent further discrimination and actions of fraud.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Contact the Manager
Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals

Leave this field empty First Name *

Last Name *

Email Address *

Country *
Arrival Date

Departure Date

Adult (18+)
Child (<18)
Telephone
HomeMobileWork
Additional Message
Max 500 characters.

Email me this inquiry
Send me deals email

By clicking "Send Email" you are agreeing to our Terms and Conditions.


This advertiser has listed with PerfectPlaces.com since Dec 18, 2012

Find additional Vacation Rentals: