Perfect Places Vacation Rentals
Traveler Login Owner Login
Chinese (Traditional) Portugeuse Spanish Italian German French English

1 BR Luxury Log Cabin Near Dollywood, Pigeon Forge and Ga...
Sevierville 1 br Vacation Rental Cabin

Property Summary
Sevierville, Tennessee, United States
Type
Cabin

Bedrooms
1

Bathrooms
2

Sleeps
4

Rates
$119 - $244 per night
$802 - $1,461 per week
$3,930 - $5,818 per month

Pet Friendly   Non Smoking
 
Book Online   Visa Mastercard American Express Discover
This property listing provides real-time availability and rate quotes. Book it securely and instantly using a credit card.

Vacation Cabin Rental Description:



1 BR Luxury Log Cabin Near Dollywood, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg

Location: Oldham Springs Resort (Pigeon Forge, Tennessee) This luxury log cabin is perfect for a romantic escape. It has a log framed King Bed in the master suite with jacuzzi jetted tub, that is fabulous for romantic and relaxing evenings. This log cabin is semi-secluded and offers a premium private hot tub on the back porch. Bearly Mine has a loft gameroom with pool table, also. This cabin has a full kitchen and laundry facilities for your convenience. Relax in your living room with gas fireplace for a restful evening or grill out on your gas grill during the daytime. This cabin has fully supplied kitchen so you can enjoy meals indoors or go out on the town in Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg to one of the many fine restaurant establishments. This Pigeon Forge log cabin is ideal for folks wanting to stay in a gated resort, but enjoy the wooded privacy of a mountain cabin away from the noise. Newly added to the cabin America's Top 200 with HBO & CINEMAX. Yogi Bear always wanted a cabin this nice. Now you can pick Bearly Mine for the ultimate Smoky Mountain cabin experience! Reserve today! Cabin is priced for 2 adults. Each additional person is just $12.50 nightly. Kids are free under 12. Pets are allowed, but must be registered. No smoking allowed at this cabin. This cabin is motorcycle friendly.

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Other

Pets: Dogs Allowed

Additional Features:
* Convenience: Pet Friendly
* Entertainment: Satellite TV, DVD Player, Pool Table, Internet, Decorated for Christmas, Wi-Fi
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Stove, Dishwasher, Utensils
* Living: Linens, Washer & Dryer, Jacuzzi Tub, Central Heat/Air, Fireplace - Gas
* Outdoor: Deck, BBQ Grill, Hot Tub
Book Online:

Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.

Arrival Date:
Departure Date:
Adults (18+):
Children (<18):
Visa Mastercard American Express Discover



Accommodation and Amenities:

Features:
  • Full Kitchen
  • Jacuzzi
  • Deck
Appliances:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD Player
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
 available     unavailable     tentative «« View previous 12 months
  October   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  November   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
  December   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  January   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  February   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29          
  March   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  April   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
  May   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  June   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  July   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  August   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  September   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30  
 available     unavailable     tentative «« View previous 12 months


Pricing/ Rates:    (click to convert currency)
Nightly Price Range: $  119 to: $  244
Weekly Price Range: $  802 to: $  1,461
Monthly Price Range: $  3,930 to: $  5,818

   » Prices in United States Dollars.



This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 Property Reviews 
Awesome! Cannot wait to return to Aunt Bugs!
A guest from Pounding Mill, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2014
Everything was as it was described and seen in the photo's online. Quite, beautiful and just so much better than any resort or hotel! In a few minutes you are back in Pigeon Forge to enjoy all the attractions then to return to peace, quite, great amenities and comfort! The staff at Aunt Bugs are very nice and helpful. Cannot wait to make another trip to Pigeon Forge and stay with Aunt Bug's!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay! We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

our special getaway
A guest from Sumter, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2014
This was our 50th wedding anniversary getaway given by our children. we really did enjoy ourselves very much. If we could change anything about the mountain house, we would love to have had a pretty view of the mountains when we set out on the porch drinking our coffee.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful
MEGHAN R. from CADIZ, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in May, 2014
I loved the Bearly Mine cabin! It was in a private location, no sounds except wildlife. I can't wait to book another stay at Aunt Bugs!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so glad you loved your cabin rental, and its location! We can't wait for you to come back! Call us when you are ready to make your next reservation. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Birthday Getaway!
Francesca C. from Chesterland, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in May, 2014
The cabin was perfect for my boyfriend, me and the dogs! We did call aunt bugs to let them know our freezer was leaking into the fridge and they never came to fix it or called back. It was not a big deal though. The cabin was in good condition and clean! The only other thing is wish they would have had a light bulb on the front patio, so when taking the dogs out at night it was easier to see and if they had a lock on the garbage thing (raccoons were trying to get our trash). Overall, we had an amazing time and I am already trying to figure out when we can go back!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so glad you enjoyed your cabin rental stay with Aunt Bugs! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize for the refrigerator leak you experienced. We are showing a call was put in to the maintenance, and that you were called back about this situation. We appreciate your business, and your feedback. We look forward to your next stay!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful Escape
A guest from Owaneco, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in May, 2014
The cabin was amazing. The scenery was beautiful. Hope to be able to visit again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so glad that you enjoyed the cabin and the views it has to offer its guests! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Bearly Mine
A guest from Summitville, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2014
Very nice cabin, and very respectful staff. Easy company to book through. Only issue was the water was a little smelly, but that's what you get with well water, so not a big issue.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so glad you enjoyed your cabin rental stay with Aunt Bugs! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

good weekend
Jim E. from Waynesville, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2014
Gas grill does not work,it had a full tank, very poor lighting inside and out. out front no light at all. Hot tub had poor water quatily.Proptery needs some repair work ,when that is done it would be a very nice cabin

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Mr. Eyler, I am sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to speak to me about your experience. We appreciate your business, and your feedback and hope you will still consider us for future rentals.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice but...
A guest from Bowling Green, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in March, 2014
When we arrived there was confusion over billing. I thought the balance was paid but it was only half paid from the deposit. Then when I went to get in the whirlpool the water was rusty. I let it run for quite a while to see if it would turn clear and it never did. The next night my husband and I brought back steaks to cook on the grill and only 1/5 burners would come on so I had to cook our steak in the oven instead. it was a nice stay and convenient to town. And the mattress was a little too hard. We are used to a tempurpedic mattress so this hurt our back.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Amanda, thank you for sharing feedback about your rental experience with our company! I am sorry for any issues you encountered, and the confusion with your billing! We appreciate you, and look forward to another stay from you!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Forest life
ibrahim a. from Nashville, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in March, 2014
Was nice but the price was high

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Ibrahim, I am glad that you enjoyed your cabin rental with Aunt Bugs! We always have various specials going on, make sure you check our website for those specials so you can get the best rate available. Thank you for your feedback, and your business. We look forward to another opportunity to assist you with your cabin rental needs!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Was ok
A guest from Statesville, NC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2014
Dust everywhere lights out things broken dirty water and the toilet ran all the time.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Mr. Duncan, I am sorry to hear that you were not entirely pleased with your cabin rental from our company! Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback about the cabin you stayed in. We appreciate your business, and hope that you will consider our rental company for future cabin rentals!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

best place ever!!!
Peter H. from Galliano, LA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in February, 2014
The best place to stay!! Cabin was very clean and comfy. Staff at check in was very friendly. Cajin was also very clean!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Mr. Hebert, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your cabin rental and experience with Aunt Bugs! We appreciate you taking the time to give us positive feedback about your stay. Thank you for your business! We look forward to your next stay.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Stay!
Heather H. from Hermitage, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014
We had a great stay in Bearly Mine 112. We were only there for the weekend so we packed up some things and loved that it was in the mountains and had some privacy, but was also close to town. The refrigerator had some problems and was not getting cold, but we had brought a big cooler so we left most of our stuff in there. Otherwise everything was pretty great. Minor issues with the pool table racks being broken and the side of the hot tub coming apart, but for the most part we had a great stay and were happy with the overall upkeep of the cabin.Thanks! Aunt Bugs :)

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Heather, we are so glad you enjoyed your weekend stay with Aunt Bugs! We are sorry that you experienced a few minor issues. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about these issues. We will make sure they are addressed and resolved for future guests. We appreciate your feedback and your business! We hope to see you on your next trip to the Smokies!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Water Smelled Like SEWAGE!
Casey R. from Christiansburg, VA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in December, 2013
Our cabin was nice and actually perfect until we ran the water for the first time. It started out black in color and after filling up and draining the bathtub 4 times it turned to a minty green color. After contacting maintenance, we found that the cabin ran off of well water. The excuse we were given at the Main Office was "well, you're in the mountains, what did you expect?".... We expected some customer service... This was our Honeymoon... A time we can't get back and we received nothing for our troubles.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are sorry to hear about the issues that you experienced during your stay with us. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about the water in that cabin. What you experienced during your stay was most likely due to sediment and dirt run off from the recent amount of big storms that we have gotten. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Unsatisfied
A guest from Pikeville, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in November, 2013
I was given wrong directions to a cabin, fireplace didnt work, c/h/a unit was hard to setat a comfortable temperature and pool table pockets were not in place and had been screwed and nailed in place. I don't plan on returning any time soon.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your cabin rental experience. I am sorry that you were not happy with the cabin or our services! Thanks, again, for the information.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Cabin in the Mountains
Jeff A. from Muncie, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in October, 2013
We had a great Time......

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Come back and see us soon!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Visit
A guest from Moncks Corner, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013
The bed was very uncomfortable, the shower in the bathroom hardly had any water coming out, the area around the cabin was growed up with weeds, it seems the thermostat for the heat/cool operation would not let you set the temperture in the cabin you can mash the up button, down button nothing. Overall was not pleased with cabin and I will not reccomend it.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the information you have given us, and hope that you will consider us for your next cabin rental.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Disappointed!!!
DIANA H. from COLLINSVILLE, IL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in September, 2013
I was so excited about this cabin stay and was very disappointed with the cleanliness or lack of it! There was no mattress pad on the bed, the sheets needed to be replaced, the place was dusty, dryer lent hanging out of the dryer, light bulbs burnt out in the bathroom, the hardwood floors looked dirty, the barbeque grill was disgusting and I felt over all the place wasn't very inviting. We probably would not stay in cabins again!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for telling us about your cabin rental stay with our company. We appreciate you doing so, and will use this information to correct any necessary issues.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

not as advertised
Sara G. from Camdenton, MO does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2013
Upon checking in we began looking around and found the hot tub that was advertised was dirty, very little water and just gross. Called the management to let them know and they said they would send someone out. The cleaning crew came within a couple of hours and cleaned and filled the tub flipped the breaker that they said pops off all the time. My husband had already looked at the breaker box, but it was labeled wrong, something the cleaners knew about and told us the correct one. We asked them about the wifi which also didn't work and they informed us that the mobile hot spot had not worked for quite awhile and that they had informed management and the owners and there was nothing they could do about it that the mobile hotspot was bad and the owners were supposed to replace it. We left to go to dinner and were looking forward to getting in the hot tub upon our return. When we got back hot tub was full and cold so my husband went to flip the breaker again and it made a loud bang and sparks came out of the side of the hot tub. We then decided to take a nice relaxing bath in the large Jacuzzi tub in the bedroom and it would not hold water as the drain would not close. Also you really should warn people to bring bottled water as the water was brown. My husband had initially requested a different cabin and we were told that we couldn't be moved to a different cabin since they were owned by someone else. We rented through Aunt Bugs, not a private owner so feel we should have been moved to a different cabin that was in good shape. If your owner doesn't keep up with his place you shouldn't rent it and advertise hot tub and wifi. We were so disgusted we left the next morning a day early. Never even got a sorry from anyone. It's your loss since we were thinking of renting a big cabin this summer and bringing our whole family. Please remove this cabin from your rental list until you fix the problems. Very disappointed in Aunt Bug's!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We apologize for the issues and we thank you for you feedback. We will address these issues with maintenance and housekeeping.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Bearly Mine vacation
Rick J. from Taylorsville, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013
Overall, my stay was very nice. This was our fourth time staying at this property. The main problem we had was with the Jacuzzi. The water pressure was little or none & the drain stopper would not work. This had never happened the other times we were there. We didn't call maintenance because we were leaving the next morning. Other than that, the time spent there was very enjoyable, and I hope the problem will be resolved the next time we stay there.Thank you!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your cabin rental experience with Aunt Bugs! We appreciate your business, and look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE
A guest from NATCHEZ, MS does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2013
Water went completely out on the morn of day 2 - went by office to tell them - when we got back that eve water was working but was the color of coffee - called office to tell them - they said they would send someone out and if it stayed the same they would put us in another cabin - water stayed like coffee for the remainder of our stay - NEVER heard a word from Aunt Bug's - stayed for 2 days and could not use the water - Absolute worse customer service - they could care less - bunch of smart elic young kids as far as I'm concerned - will never use Aunt Bug's again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
I am sorry that you experienced so much trouble with the water and the water quality in your cabin! Did you report to the office that it was still a coffee color? I am sorry this was not resolved for you. We appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback about your stay. It will help to resolve any issues relating to this particular cabin.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

First cabin vacation
Candice A. from Mt Pleasant, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2013
Very relaxing and private. Enjoyed the cabin and being able to see wild turkeys and hawks in their natural setting. Will comes back again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your review!! The natural beauty of this area and its wildlife is always a great reason to come to this area!!! We will be looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
THANK YOU FOR STAYING WITH US! THAT IS GREAT! WE ARE VERY PLEASED TO HEAR THAT! WE HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN VERY SOON!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Loved the cabin!!
Oreal B. from Decatur, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2013
This was a beautiful cabin. We enjoyed our stay and would definetly come back to visit!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your feedback and thank you for staying with us. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Better Luck Next Time
A guest from FOUNTAIN INN, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013
I understand that things happen, however good customer service can make up for a bad experience any day. Trash around cabin, screen hanging off, no water for almost a day, and ants in the microwave. A simple solution as to how they wanted to make us want to come back would have made all the difference, but all we got were excuses, and sorry about that. No offer to change cabins, reduce the rate, or anything. Was offered a late checkout, but no one remembered when it came time to leave. Was offered a free night in the future, but no coupon has arrived yet. Will probably try a different company next time.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with a cabin in our program. I rarely get complaints on this property, I have been to the property myself and its really nice. We do not own these properties and its our job to fix any issue brought up to us from the customer, it takes alot for us to move someone from one owners property to a different owners property. We try our best to fix all issues at the beginning of the stay which is why we ask everyone to do a walkthough in the first couple of hours at the property and to report all if any issues they may have at the property to where we can resolve them right then and there. We appreicatie your feedback and hope you and your family gives us a second chance and I will personaly send you our a free night certificate. Thank you once again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awesome Trip
A guest from knoxille, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2013
It was our trip as a family and everybody had a blast and the cabin was perfect!! Can't wait to come back up!!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Worth the trip
KENNETH W. from TWIN CITY, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2013
Had a great time looking forward to comlng back
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Bathrooms were not clean!
A guest from SPRINGFIELD, KY does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2013
We had to purchase cleaning supplies and clean bathrooms!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We apologize about this issue. We will address it with the housekeeper.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Excellent
Brandy L. from Sevierville, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2013
Was exactly what we needed for a quite getaway for a weekend.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Come back and see us soon!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Contact the Manager
Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals

Leave this field empty First Name *

Last Name *

Email Address *

Country *
Arrival Date

Departure Date

Adult (18+)
Child (<18)
Telephone
HomeMobileWork
Additional Message
Max 500 characters.

Email me this inquiry
Send me deals email

By clicking "Send Email" you are agreeing to our Terms and Conditions.


This advertiser has listed with PerfectPlaces.com since Dec 18, 2012

Find additional Vacation Rentals: