Perfect Places Vacation Rentals
Traveler Login Owner Login
Chinese (Traditional) Portugeuse Spanish Italian German French English

Smoky Mountain Cabin Mountain Crest 333
Sevierville 3 br Vacation Rental Cabin

Property Summary
Sevierville, Tennessee, United States
Type
Cabin

Bedrooms
3

Bathrooms
4

Sleeps
12

Rates
$186 - $482 per night
$1,090 - $2,697 per week
$4,730 - $8,257 per month

Non Smoking
 
Book Online   Visa Mastercard American Express Discover
This property listing provides real-time availability and rate quotes. Book it securely and instantly using a credit card.

Vacation Cabin Rental Description:



This luxury three bedroom, three and a half bath cabin has all new furnishings and is located in Pigeon Forge's beautiful Wears Valley area. Experience the spectacular views from the cabin's large decks and all the comforts of home inside, including a fully equipped kitchen. Relax and enjoy the 3 private jacuzzis, hot tub or play a game of pool. Scenic views are yours and you'll be just a short drive from the entertainment of downtown Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. You will love Mountain Crest! This log home is one of the most spacious, elegant cabin rentals on the Aunt Bug's Cabin Rental Program. This cabin is perfect for family events, reunions, and holidays. This log cabin has beautiful mountain views, a wet bar area, two living areas with deluxe TVs, and an upstairs lounge for those that just want to read or conversate. There is a business center for those students & professionals that need to do a little work while on vacation. Soak in the outdoor hot tub in privacy, while taking in the amazing views. Mountain Crest has a beautiful kitchen with stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. You'll be happy to prepare your group's meals in this fully stocked kitchen. This luxury cabin has something for everyone to not book Mountain Crest today? This cabin also has free internet access, so be sure to bring your laptop along! Price is based on 6 adults, each additional adult is $12.50 per night.

Bedding Configuration: 2 King, 1 Queen, 2 Sleeper Sofa, 2 Other

Additional Features:
* Entertainment: Pool Table
* Geographic: Mountain View
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Toaster, Cookware, Stove, Dishwasher, Utensils
* Living: Air Conditioning, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Jacuzzi Tub, Central Heat/Air, Fireplace - Gas, Jacuzzi Tub (2)
* Outdoor: Deck, Gas Grill, Hot Tub, Private Hot Tub
Book Online:

Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.

Arrival Date:
Departure Date:
Adults (18+):
Children (<18):
Visa Mastercard American Express Discover



Accommodation and Amenities:

Features:
  • Full Kitchen
  • Air Conditioning
  • Jacuzzi
  • Deck
  • Gas Grill
Appliances:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster

Owner/Manager last updated on 04/19/2014

 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»
  April   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
  May   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  June   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
  July   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  August   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  September   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»


Pricing/ Rates:    (click to convert currency)
Nightly Price Range: $  186 to: $  482
Weekly Price Range: $  1,090 to: $  2,697
Monthly Price Range: $  4,730 to: $  8,257

   » Prices in United States Dollars.

Pricing Notes:
Minimum Night Requirements:
StartEndMin Nights
Apr 1, 2014May 20, 20142
May 21, 2014Jun 23, 20143
Jun 24, 2014Jul 7, 20144
Jul 8, 2014Aug 2, 20143
Aug 3, 2014Aug 26, 20142
Aug 27, 2014Sep 1, 20143
Sep 2, 2014Sep 29, 20142
Sep 30, 2014Nov 2, 20143
Nov 3, 2014Nov 20, 20142
Nov 21, 2014Nov 30, 20145
Dec 1, 2014Dec 19, 20142
Dec 20, 2014Jan 4, 20155
Jan 5, 2015Apr 30, 20162



This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 Property Reviews 
Aunt Bug's does not accomidate it's customers!
William M. from Memphis, TN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in March, 2014
I called and spoke with someone concerning our hot tub not being clean. It was our second night here but first not in the tub. I asked if they could have it cleaned. They told me it would be $25. No matter if we were in it or not. I have stayed with Aunt bugs at least 7 times and never complained or had any problems. Have always been happy. I explained to the lady that the rest of the cabin was real dirty also, but we were dealing with that. The hot tub was the breaking point. It was nasty. We all got out and showered immediately. I picked up a bag of hair and trash off the floor with my hands because there is not a broom in the cabin. The lady on the phone questioned my integrity saying the housekeeper cleaned the hot tub and the cabin. My point was if she swept and mopped our bathroom floor on the main level we would not have had a full bag of hair that I picked up. After calling to no success, we drove to the office to speak to someone from management. The same lady told me to e-mail the website she could not do anything else for us. I took the bag of hair to the office and showed her. She said we didn't need to bring it to her. I explained that I am trying to prove you can not just take the housekeeper word over the guest. All over $25. So we have now drained the tub and cleaned it ourself after a day full of frustration that should have never happened. We wanted to book Friday and Saturday since we are not in a hurry to get home and the cabin is available. Now we are looking to check into Cabin Fever Vacations. When it was time to check out of Aunt Bug's the housekeeper was knocking on the door at exactly 10:00am, checkout time, rushing us out. Very unprofessional!!!Normal check in time with Cabin Fever is 3:00. They had us in our new cabin before 11:00am. That's accomidating your guest. Book through Cabin Fever not Aunt Bugs. Aunt Bugs just wants your money they do not care about accomidating their guest.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Mr. McGraw, we were more than happy to send someone to clean your hot tub again, for a charge of $25 because it was completely cleaned prior to your arrival. I am sorry if you felt that your integrity was being questioned, that was not our intent. However, our policies are very clear regarding the contract cleaners responsibility with the hot tub. As I said, the hot tubs are drained, cleaned and refilled after each guest checks out. Additionally, the hot tub at this cabin was just drained, cleaned and refilled hours before your arrival and had you reported the issues immediately, and not 48 hours AFTER checking in, we would have sent the cleaner to address the issues you claimed you were having. Our check in and check out times are listed on our website, as well as, the confirmation paperwork that is sent to you. Late check outs create a difficult situation in getting the next guests into the cabin for the check in time of 3pm.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Mountain Crest
THERESA S. from IUKA, MS recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in January, 2014
We had a great time on our family vacation staying at Mountain Crest! The view was really great and the location was just right!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Theresa, thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your positive cabin rental experience with Aunt Bugs! We are so glad you enjoyed your cabin and your vacation! We appreciate your business, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

FREEMAN STAY
KENNETH F. from OVETT, MS recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2013
WE HAD TROUBLE WITH COUCH IN BOTTOM ROOM AND THE HANDLE FLUSH HANDLE BROKE IN BOTTOM REST ROOM.THE HOT TUBE HAD TRASH IN BASKET AND THE WATER WAS NASTY WHEN YOU TURNED THE PUMP ON.ONE OF THE AIR BED THE CAP WAS MISSING, THE OFFICE SAID THEY WOULD GIVE US ANOTHER ON, BUT I SAID IT WAS OK. WE CHECK OUT A DAY EARLY BECAUSE OF WEATHER, CALL THE OFFICE TO REPORT LEAVING, SOME ONE CALLED THE NEXT AFTERNOON TO SEE IF WE MADE IT OUT. SO SOME ONE DIDN,T LOG US OUT.I CALLED SO SOMEONE MIGHT CLEAN IT UP BEFORE THE BAD WEATHER CAME IN THAT NIGHT SO YA,LL MIGHT RENT IT TO SOME ONE ELSE.OVER ALL THE CABIN WAS GREAT. PS ITS A SHAME WHEN PEOPLE COME TO STAY AND WANT TAKE CARE OF OTHER PERSONS STUFF LIKE THE COUCH,POOL TABLE, WE KNOW YA,LL CAN,T FIX SOME THING IF YOU DON,T KNOW ABOUT IT. I REPORTED THE PROBLEMS WE HAD.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Mr. Freeman, we appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback about your recent rental experience with our cabin. Additionally, we appreciate you letting us know about the issues you encountered during your stay so that we can correct these issues, for future guests. We are glad to know that you were able to make it home safely, and before the bad weather came. We appreciate your business, and look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Enjoyed the stay & it was very cleaned & furnished nicely.
BARBARA S. from WAYNESBORO, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in November, 2013
The only problem I had is with the cancellation policy.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are sorry to hear that you do not like the cancellation policy. You can book the reservation with or without trip insurance. The trip insurance is your cancellation protection policy. Thank you for staying with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

--
A guest from Cincinnati, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013
The cabin was beautiful, but it needed a good cleaning. The ceiling fans were very dirty and you could see it from te loft level. All of the carpets needed to be vacumed.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We appreciate your feedback regarding housekeeping issues. Each cabin is periodically issued a deep clean in which the housekeepers take care of issues like cobwebs on the ceilings and corners because, in many cases, they need a ladder to reach them, which can be time consuming. This is set aside for a specific time when the cabin is open and not squeezed in between reservations because it is important to us that you also get into your cabin in as timely a manor as possible. Again, thank you for your feedback and for allowing us the opportunity to address this.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Heaven On Earth
SHEILA R. from jacksonville, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in October, 2013
I have never had a better vacation. This was the perfect cabin, clean, comfortable, and we had a view that only heaven can top. I thanked God everyday I was there, and I will be back. Thank you to all the staff for all they do for those of us out of townees. Gods blessings from Florida.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your feedback Sheila Roberts. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at Aunt Bugs Cabins. We look forward to seeing you on your future trips to the Smoky Mountains. Returned blessings!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Family vacation:
A guest from Leesville, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013
We were disappointed in the condition of the furniture in the lower level. The sofa couch will not even open because the frame is broken, We were very specific in questioning the sleeping arrangement prior to renting because of the small children traveling with our family. Mountain Crest was chosen because of the family room, small kitchen, bedroom and bath downstairs - this would be a great area for the baby to sleep away from the noise. both children had to sleep on an inflatable mattress instead of a sleeper sofa. The oven was nasty, the dishwasher is not bolted to the counter top, the "front" door did not lock.ETC

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
I am sorry you encountered a negative experience with your cabin rental! We appreciate you taking the time to offer us feedback, and willl forward your concerns to the owner of this cabin. Thanks, again. We hope you will still consider our company for a future stay.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awesome Place
Michael C. from Pensacola, Fla recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in September, 2013
Never been to the mountains. It was so awesome we are going to start a yearly trip up there every September or October. Thanks again, Mike & Theresa

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your positive cabin rental experiene with Aunt Bugs! The Smokey Mountains are especially beautiful when the leaves start changing. We are so glad you were able to see that, and look forward to seeing you again!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

WONDERFUL VACATION
RUTH E. from LITHIA, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013
We stayed in Mountain Crest #333. The cabin was beautiful. There were only a couple of issues that weren't really issues but the land line phone did not work. Dead batteries. There was a leak coming from either the Washer, A.C or hot water heater. Maintenance came right out to look at it within an hour of when I called. Also the propane tank for the grill was empty and I had to go into Pigeon Forge to swap it out. Other than those things, I was totally satisfied with Aunt Bugs. The Smoky's are beautiful and the weather was great.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Many of the cabins actually do not have land line phones hooked up for anything more than emergency 911 services any longer since so many guests now have the use of their cell phones at the cabins. It is also very nice to hear the compliment to the speedy response of our maintenance team. Thank you again and we look forward to having you visit us again soon!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

vacation in the smokey mountains
GRACIE D. from VICKSBURG, MS recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2013
A wonderful place to vacation.Had a wonderful time.Everything was great,lot to do and visit. Great place for a family vacation.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Very nice
DANA P. from OWENSBORO, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2013
Awesome views, great location. The sleeper sofa had a broken pull out sofa and both air mattresses had holes in them but everything else was perfect. I will stay here again

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We do apologize about the sleeper sofa and airmattress, and we will make sure those are replaced. We hope you will come stay with us again soon!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awsome!
WILLIAM D. from MT. ZION, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in March, 2013
Perfect View to go along with a nice cabin. Would rent again and plan to.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Amazing Cabin!
MAX P. from SEMIONAL, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in March, 2013
Amazing cabin with great views. A few problems though with all the couches. The pull-out's were all broken or springs busted. The track collection service never came and animals kept digging into the trash leaving it all over the place.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Contact the Manager
Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals

Leave this field empty First Name *

Last Name *

Email Address *

Country *
Arrival Date

Departure Date

Adult (18+)
Child (<18)
Telephone
HomeMobileWork
Additional Message
Max 500 characters.

Email me this inquiry
Send me deals email

By clicking "Send Email" you are agreeing to our Terms and Conditions.


This advertiser has listed with PerfectPlaces.com since Dec 18, 2012

Find additional Vacation Rentals: