Pelican's Nest~ Nautical & Beach Lover's Perfect Getaway, bring the dog too!
Pelican's Nest is located in a quiet neighborhood on a private street. This beautiful home sits in close proximity to the homes adjacent homes so is not well suited for large, noisy gatherings. This home is perfect for small families, or adults looking for a peaceful, relaxing getaway. No garage parking available. There are two compact guest parking spaces on the driveway and one additional parking spot for daytime visitors. No additional street parking available.
This Cape Cod style house is perfect for the book & beach lover. It is in town, above a trail to Indian Beach and boasts sweeping ocean views. Cozy up and read by the wood burning stove, play a game or just take in the seascape below. Pelican?s Nest has a great nautical, beach style décor. This home is whimsical and full of character. The main level offers an open eat in kitchen with large pantry that is a cook's delight. This opens to the living, dining room, and newly rebuilt deck so one can cook while taking in the ocean views. The great room also has oak floors, a picnic style dining table, sofa & chairs and a flat-screen T.V. Both bedrooms have Tempurapedic beds. The second bedroom and bathroom with tub/shower are on the main floor. This bedroom has a queen bed, small lots of books and is very cozy. Upstairs is a large master bedroom & bathroom with a romantic balcony to take in the sweeping ocean views below. This room has bamboo floors, a wet bar, very small T.V. and ocean views even from the bathtub/shower! The large bathroom also serves as a closet/dressing room and has a fun play loft for older children (accessible by ladder not suitable for young children). The garden offers a lovely meditation bench overlooking the coastline. All of this beauty and comfort plus your pets are welcome too! Enjoy some fun in the garage with a pool table that also converts into a ping pong table.
*Please Note: The owners of Pelican's Nest have their own private retreat below the property. They like to think of it as their "Writer's Workshop". Since they live in nearby Arcata, they occasionally retreat to their workshop during the day but will not bother you during your vacation. They are very friendly and if you should see them coming or going please feel free to say hello and ask them any questions about their home or the greater Trinidad area. They have great stories to share!
Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Queen
Pets: Dogs Allowed
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Internet Cafe, In Town * Convenience: Nearby Grocery, Walk To Town, Walk to cafe & restaurants, Nearby Wi-Fi @ Cafe, Walk to Yoga Studio, Walk to wine tasting room, A few miles to Moonstone Beach * Culture: Near Town, Near Patricks Point, Near Redwood National Park, Marine Lab and Aquarium, Yurok Village, Quaint fishing village, In recreational fishing mecca, In town w/ commercial fishing * Entertainment: Cable TV, CD Player, VCR, High Speed Internet, Blu Ray DVD Player * Geographic: On Beach, Ocean Views, Harbor Views, Above Bay * Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Dishwasher, Coffee, tea & other staples * LOCATION_TYPE: Oceanfront * Living: Linens, Gas Stoves/Fireplace, Wi-fi Internet, Laundry & Laundry supplies, No Garage Parking, Ping-Pong Table, Beds - 1 King, 1 Queen, Ping-Pong Table, Pool Table * Outdoor: Deck, Gas Grill, Beach, Beach Access * SPORTS_AND_ADVENTURE_ACTIVITIES: surf fishing, surfing, swimming, tennis
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
3days/nights in the pelicans nest
A guest from Diamond Springs, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2016 overall a good experience.comfortable home and furnishings,great view,nice town.kitchen had almost everything(needed measuring spoons).good food in area.patricks point s.p./prairie creek redwoods/fern canyon awsome
A guest from Ashland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2016 Could not get the house we usually rent so took this one. Only negative s: tiny tvs and poor lighting in lr. Also, materials in welcome basket were outdated, i.e., 2015 tide tables, not 2016. Otherwise, very pleasant stay.
A guest from Tigard, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2016 The location is wonderful, beautiful view and very quiet. The beds were very comfortable. If you like books, there are plenty. On the flip side, the house has some wood rot issues and smells very musty. The downstairs bedroom advertised as "cozy" is dark, cold, with a sour smell and is right by the front door and garage entry. The upstairs bedroom is lovely, but the bathroom is difficult to use, especially for a woman trying to put on cosmetics (tiny little mirrors and no counter space at sink). I ended up using the small downstairs bathroom that had a normal sink/counter and shower and had to drag things up and down the stairs. We brought a pot and pan based on previous review and were glad - for the price being charged a decent set of stainless steel pots is needed. Also, the glasses all had lip marks on them, so I felt compelled to wash everything before I used it - not so great for conserving water. The private trail to the beach was closed, but no sign until halfway down the trail, so we had to hike back up and over to the light house to gain access. Would be nice to let guests know this. The Redwoods are enchanting, Patrick's Point State Park is a must see, and check out the local grocery before you go elsewhere, they are great and may have everything you need.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats I appreciate your feedback and will share with the owners. We have never received comments about the needing a larger mirror for the upstairs bathroom. I will look into getting a new set up stainless steel pots. Guests are responsible for running the dishwasher and putting dishes away so I apologize that the last guests appear to have not done a good job washing them. I will ask our housekeeping staff to check these items out between stays. We just had the downstairs carpet cleaned so musty smell should not be an issue. The trail had been marked as closed at the top not sure why that sign is gone but I will be sure to include this information for future guests. I am glad you enjoyed the location and found the beds comfortable. -Jonna
A guest from Redding, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2016 The location of this house was ideal. You really can't get any better! The home was clean but due to it being older there was a musty smell upstairs and definitely a slight smell of dog which you should expect with a pet friendly home. We left the doors/windows open at all times to smell the ocean. The home was cleaned well but because it is well worn it doesn't feel sparkling clean. And, having a Murphy bed in the bathroom is a bit odd but I'm OK with a funky beach home. Character is good. I wouldn't rule out staying here again. It was comfortable enough. The rental agency was great. And, again, you can't beat the location! We had a great weekend.
Susan A. from Redding, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2016 This was a perfect way to celebrate my husband's birthday. We spent 4 relaxing days and nights in this home overlooking the ocean! We really enjoyed it so much! The views were awesome! So many interesting books to read!Spotlessly clean. Close to everything! We went on so many great hikes! We were happy we could bring our dog too. A very positive experience. Thanks so much! We would definitely stay here again. To be expected a few worn furniture items and the pool table needed a little repair. But it rated a grade of "A" in our opinion! Management was helpful and the owner was helpful and gave us valuable information on our stay in the area.
A guest from PAYETTE, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2016 My husband and I, and our two dogs stayed at this beautiful house just recently. We loved everything about it! The view off the back deck was glorious and the house was simply wonderful. We walked through town with our dogs and everyone was so friendly. Just a wonderful experience all around. We drove down to the redwoods and they were as beautiful and amazing as we had remembered them! The only thing we did have to do was fill up the propane bottle for the bbq, as it was empty. We had bbq almost every night we were there. Had a wonderful anniversary trip!!
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats What a great place to celebrate an anniversary! I apologize that the propane tank was not full and that you didn't call us to come deliver a fresh tank. Our housekeeping staff is supposed to monitor propane tanks to ensure they are always full. I will discuss this with our housekeeping manager. Please visit us again! -Reid
A guest from PalosVerdes, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2016 Pelican's Nest is a lovely retreat in a quaint, litlle ocean side town. The location couldn't be better for views, tidepools and nice cafes. A short drive to Redwood National Park and a restful home when the day is done.
A guest from San Francisco, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in May, 2016 Our family of 3 was very comfortable at this rental over Memorial Day weekend. The property was clean, and was in a wonderful location, just a short trail down to Indian Beach, and also a short walk to the market, coffee, & restaurants. Do not miss MacIntosh Farm Country Store in Arcata for breakfast. Not in the mood to drive? Then the Beachcomber Cafe is for you. Overall, we would stay here again and recommend to friends.
janine d. from livermore, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2015 My son's wedding reception was held in Trinidad and we needed a place to stay. We spent three nights at Pelican's Nest and were very happy with the rental. Very clean, comfortable, and beautiful view! If I return to the area, I would definitely book here again! :)
A guest from San Rafael, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 9 days in October, 2015 We come to Trinidad often and stay 7 - 10 days. We love this small seaside town for its quiet and natural pleasures -- walking on the beaches, hiking in the Redwoods, watching the sunsets over the beach. We chose this specific property for its "dog-friendliness". However, we did not bring the dog after all. Pros about this property: quiet and private location, great views of the harbor; nice size rooms; large kitchen.Cons: several appliances did not work, including wall clocks, instant hot water tap, trash compactor; spotty lighting with no ceiling lights; lots of pots and pans but in questionable condition (e.g. corroded teflon); upstairs bathroom funky and inconvenient.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Trinidad is indeed a very special seaside town. We appreciate your feedback and will share your thoughts with the homeowners. We look forward to you visiting us again. - Jonna
Holly M. from Santa Rosa, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2015 From the moment we got here our stay was fantastic. The house was bright sunny and clean. Bedrooms (and beds) were very comfortable. Location is the best and the views were amazing! Walking distance to everything in Trinidad, and a short drive to Arcata. We didn't use the fireplace because there was only one log and no kindling. Also bring coffee and tea (I left some for the next visitor (you're welcome). If you've been accustomed to a welcome basket, there won't be one, other than doggy treats, so don't be disappointed. Other than that the accommodations were very nice and the location is the best Thanks and we hope to stay here again in the near future!
A guest from Red Bluff, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2015 Location and view A+. It was great we were able to take our to small and in bad location. A lot of tacky stuff. Upstairs really weird especially the bathroom. Some of the pots and pans needs to be thrown out. The garage is very junky and unorganized. I would recommend the house only because of the location and view but would make sure it was known about the problems the house has. It could be a top notch rental.
A guest from SAINT PAUL, MN recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2015 We actually added a night to our stay, we loved it so much. The staff made it happen quickly - impressed and very happy! The rental was just as it is pictured and described. The only thing I would wish for is comfortable chairs to sit out on the deck. The ones there now are not for sitting and relaxing. The town is easily walkable, a couple of restaurants within walking distance, and a beautiful path along the cliff to the pier or down to the beach below. And, an easy drive to the National and State parks, kayaking, microbrewpubs, etc.
Valerie E. from Bend, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2015 Pelican's Nest is filled with shelves of wonderful books. A great place to curl up and read or watch what is happening in the harbor or out over the ocean.Wonderfully close to town and beach.
A guest from Douds, IA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2015 I took my daughter, her friend, and my niece on this get away. Our choice was perfect for us. We loved the location, view, and the fact that we were within walking distance from the ocean and the shops. We loved every restaurant we ate at in town. Every thing met our expectations. The previous reviews were on target. The vacation I expected was what I got.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We love when guests not only find the vacation home they chose "perfect" but that they enjoyed the town of Trinidad and all is has to offer too! Hope you visit us again. - Jonna
A guest from Austin, TX recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2015 Nice home in Trinidad easy walk to everything. Big kitchen, well equipped, very comfy master bed. Sunny patio. My only complaint was the TVs. Master TV was so tiny it was useless and the position of the living room TV to furniture was so unworkable we had to rearrange furniture to watch. Also the cable/sat was not working properly and had to have mgt. come fix it. But that was exceptionally prompt and he was very nice. Overall it was a good property. Hot tub would have made it much better.
Anthony C. from Forest Ranch, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in July, 2015 We love this place for many reasons. First, it takes dogs-we vacuumed daily to help keep the hair down like we do at home and that is a small price to pay to be with them. Secondly, the location in town and view justifies the cost; the house itself is a nice kind of funky beachy but it's warmer and less windy there. Third, the beach is minutes away and just gorgeous. We try to come annually.
A guest from eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in June, 2015 We really enjoyed the house.The view was great from the balcony.The weather was nice and we went for some hikes and to Trinidad Beach park and it was wonderful.Wish we could have stayed longer.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Glad you got good weather because those views are truly amazing especially on a sunny day. Please visit us again for a longer stay! - Jonna
Jon D. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2015 We enjoyed staying at the Pelican's Nest - the access to the beach, convenience of being close to Trinidad amenities, and of course the view! Our dog had a great time as well!
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Pelican's Nest is a great pet friendly, family retreat. Glad you had such a great time. Please visit us again. - Reid
Michele S. from Alameda, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in June, 2015 This home has beautiful views from the living and dining area. With ocean views and a built in bar in the master bedroom, you may stay in all day. Restaurants, beaches and hiking trails are all within walking distance.
Teresa E. from McDonough, GA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2015 We had a great time at Pelican's Nest. While the photos show an amazing view, when you get there it is even more breathtaking. The house had everything we needed and we enjoyed being able to walk to the store, coffee shop, winery, restaurants, and the beach.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We love hearing our guests have had a great time and found the views breathtaking. Please visit us again- Reid
LINDA R. from PITTSBURG, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in May, 2015 I think this was one of the most beautiful places I have stayed and everything was in good order and shape. I would be pleased to recommend this home to anyone. This home is equiped with every possible need that you would have and a delight to stay at.
Kathleen R. from Lockeford, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2015 House was in a perfect location, the ocean view was incredible! With so many windows, you got an awesome view everywhere. Watched whales and sea lions from the living room. A great 2 bedroom house, was perfect for myself, husband and son. Very clean, well maintained, loved the decorations! You could walk down the path to the beach or into town, very good location. It is in a neighborhood so you do have neighbors, but was very quiet, never a problem. Kitchen was very well equipped. Would definitely come back here again.
Peggy H. from Chesterfield, MO recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2015 Great location, fantastic view, well-equipped kitchen, plenty of linens, Tempur-pedic beds were so comfortable!
A guest from Antelope, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in March, 2015 We had a great time! The house was in the perfect location. We were able to walk to the restaurants in Trinidad, and there was a very convenient path that led down to the beach. From both the living room and master bedroom, we had a beautiful view overlooking the ocean! Would highly recommend it!
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Glad you had such a great time. Pelican's Nest is the quintessential beach house. Hope you come back and visit us again soon.
Jeremy C. from Redding, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2015 The house was very dirty the furniture and tvs need to be updated the king bed was two bed pushed together not too pleasing
Melanie P. from Santa Rosa, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in February, 2015 The Redwood National and State Parks area is our favorite place on earth. We deeply love the redwoods and the elk. We come there a few times every year. It feels like home. Trinidad is where we always stay, and this property was the most beautiful, wonderful place we have ever stayed. It was perfect. The view and sound of the waves and seals was extraordinary, and the property itself is gorgeous, comfortable, and welcoming. We especially loved the deck, the kitchen, the Tempurpedic beds, the awesome selection of books, and the ping pong table. The location is also perfect, with easy access to Indian Beach as well as our beloved Beachcomber Café (you've got to try the scones). If only we could live there year round. It is paradise. We will be back!
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats I love to hear guests describe their stays as "Paradise! Joy, joy, joy! We are delighted that you loved Pelican's Nest and beautiful Redwoods. Trinidad truly is a magical place. Hope you visit us again soon!
Eva V. from Anderson, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2015 Great place to stay, very comfortable, nice location, easy walk to beach. especially fun if you like to bring along your canine family members.
A guest from Gold River, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2014 Really loved the location right on the bluff overlooking the ocean! The kitchen was roomy and well stocked. The living room/dining room was delightful with lots of light and breathtaking ocean views. The bed was comfortable. The decor was nautical, very inviting and comfortable. What more could you ask for???
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We are delighted that you enjoyed Pelican's Nest and its fun nautical decor and ocean views! -Jonna
Nancy B. from Columbus, OH recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in November, 2014 We had a wonderful time staying in Pelican's Nest. The view was so incredible I often did not want to leave the house. The house was just wonderful for our family Thanksgiving. We hope to return in the future.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We look forward to you visiting us again. Glad you had a wonderful Thanksgiving stay. - Jonna
A guest from Oakland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2014 My husband and I, along with ChiChi the Chihuahua, stayed for four nights in mid October. The home was very welcoming and comfortable, with lots of interesting knick-knacks and hundreds of books lining the walls. All our needs -- from towels and toiletries to plates and cookware -- were met. The hosts even provided treats and waste bags for ChiChi. Trinidad offers outstanding views of the coastline, and this home is the ideal place to enjoy them. Huge sliding glass windows upstairs and downstairs let in the warm ocean air. When the squalls rolled in, we storm watched from the cozy chairs. A trail right out the door led down to a sandy almost-private beach. When you visit, don't forget to stop by Katy's for some smoked fish!
Mark G. from San Bruno, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2014 Excellent stay in Trinidad /Pelican's Nest. Amazing view. Very comfortable house and pet friendly. Would recommend.
Laura S. from Hillsboro Beach, FL does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2014 The house in two blocks from the lighthouse and walking distance to the beach, a nice view of the cove/ocean. Unfortunately, when you walk into the house you are overwhelmed w the smell of dog & mold. Yes I know it's a pet friendly house but not everyone who rents here are brining one. The odor in the downstairs bedroom was so bad I slept on couch/livingroom for 3 nights. The home is furnished with a mish mosh of unmatching garage sale chairs, couch, love seats and over ten book cases filled with hundreds of books. Our towels smelled like mold/dog we had to go buy detergent and wash them. There was a lot of things broken, not working, ants in the kitchen. DO NOT GO IN THE GARAGE... It's a junk yard. This property could be fabulous if it was treated like a vacation home that was being sold to travelers instead of " come stay at our house"
Kim S. from eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2014 We love the Pelican's Nest--stayed for three nights and wish we stayed longer. Great location--can walk everywhere. Beautiful views. Peaceful and quiet. The house is very spacious, well appointed, terrific kitchen, great bed, just a perfect place to stay. Also so appreciative that dogs are welcomed, as ours loved Pelican's Nest too!
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Come back again and remember we always offer the 7th night FREE! -Jonna
Margo G. from Trinity Center, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2014 We met some relatives in Trinidad for a birthday and stayed at Pelican's Nest. We were 2 couples in our 50's. The house was lovely with great views. We especially liked sitting and reading in the two chairs looking out the master bedroom glass doors onto the harbor below. Loved the faint ringing of the bell buoy and the sound of the waves crashing as we fell asleep.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Glad you enjoyed your stay! - Reid
A guest from Central Point, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2014 This home has a lovely location and is totally oriented to the view, which is gorgeous. We were comfortable and never at a loss for something to read.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Pelican's Nest is an ocean lover is a reader's delight! -Jonna
jenise p. from freehold, NJ recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2014 We loved this place. Every night we dined on the deck with a gorgeous view and every morning walked down to the beach and watched the sea lions. All this in a walkable tiny town with not much more than a food store, coffee/breakfast place, seafood restaurant, art gallery and wine tasting. There is also a great hiking trail. We didn't even need to get in the car. The house had everything we needed and we really enjoyed our stay at Pelican's Nest!!
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Trinidad really is a special little town and Pelican's Nest is a real "retreat". Glad you enjoyed all that we have to offer. Please visit us again! - Jonna
Eva V. from Anderson, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2014 The house was nice, very comfortable. Beautiful views, close easy walk to beach. Two things made it especially desirable for us: tempurpedic beds, and dog friendly. Downstairs and upstairs showers were not the best we've experienced.
Lindsay N. from Grapevine, TX recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014 Location was incredible! Home was beautiful! Experience was wonderful! We cannot think of one complaint, truly...really really great trip!
Stan R. from Cottonwood, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2014 Very happy with the place, better than expected. Beautiful scenery of the ocean from the living room and master bedroom. A little disappointed with management for not returning my phone call with question about not getting the insurance for damage property since we didn't have little kids with us.
Paul A. from Pacifica, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2014 Mid may at Trinidad Bay turns out to be a wonderful place to watch whales. Better yet, when you watch them from one of your two decks. Wish we would have found this place his freshmen year (instead of his senior year).
Roomy/quaint, FAB views. Cleaning could be better/floors
A guest from Jeffersonton, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in December, 2013 Trinidad is awesome place for shopping, dining, wine tasting & Murphys' grocery all in walking distance. Hiking @ College Cove, State beach. From rental, path to Indian Beach, a medium challenge. Had a great visit with my sons, daughter in law and extended family & friends. Be back for sure.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We are so glad you enjoyed Pelican's Nest and its great location. It really is a great launching place for all the area activities. We look forward to you staying with us again and appreciate your business. - Jonna
A guest from del mar, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013 As is expected in Humboldt County, this home isn't without it's quirks. Older property fairly well maintained. The old girl could use a little TLC on the exterior. Come north....the views will not disappoint!! Trinidad retreats is on it!!! Will rent again when the rail system makes it easy for us So Cal peeps to make the trek.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Thanks for staying with Trinidad Retreats, we hope to see you next year. So many of our guest keep coming back to us and we often offer discounts and feebees to our return customers~ Reid (owner)
A guest from SEBASTOPOL, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2013 We have stayed at Pelican's Nest twice in the last few months to create a spot to see our son and daughter who are going to school at HSU. The proximity to town and the beach as well as hearing the waves crashing on the beach will keep us coming back. Kitchen is well appointed and the neighborhood is quiet. Pathway from house leads right down to the beach. 20 minutes north of Arcata and the same distance further north takes you to Prairie Creek State Park a great place to spend the day hiking. Looking forward to returning soon!
Heather M. from Seminole, FL recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2013 Trinidad Retreats took care of us again (this is our 4th house rented through them) when our son got a severe ear infection while on vacation in Trinidad and we had to delay our flight home by two days. They quickly found us another home to stay in and we were lucky enough to land in Pelican's Nest for the last 2 nights of our stay. The view is nothing short of breath-taking. The location is great - walking distance from the Eatery and a nice trail down to the beach for excellent tidepooling. The house is very unique, older with lots of character. Clean and well kept. I would warn those with small children that there are alot of beautiful & fragile knick knacks throughout the home to pay attention that your children don't touch. There is however a magical "secret room" for young children to play in and my two boys had a blast climing up the ladder and playing with the toys hidden up there. A lovely stay for sure!
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We were so glad we could accommodate your extended stay and that you enjoyed Pelican's Nest. Your suggestions are helpful and we will add them to the home's description. We look forward to you visiting us again! - Desiree
Anita M. M. from Belmont, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013 Pelican's Nest is a really cool house in a great location. We loved the open feel of the house, the accommodative kitchen, the sound of the ocean at night, and the Grosbeak in the pines who sang all day long every day his beautiful call.
A guest from SEBASTOPOL, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2013 We had the best time in Trinidad. The guys went salmon fishing while we hiked at Prairie Creek State Park. Cooked in the kitchen and barbequed on the deck with the awesome views of the bay. Owner was immediately responsive when one of our keys wouldn't work, came right over with a replacement.
christina j. from clairemont, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in June, 2013 Trinidad was always our go to spot when we lived in the area. After moving to So. California, we missed the clean beaches and cooler climate. So this house was a great escape from our hustle and bustle.We loved the trail to Indian beach, seeing the ocean everyday outside the huge picture windows and going out onto either patio to envelope that fresh ocean air was marvelous.The place had many fun play areas, a small loft in the master bath and a pool table in the garage. we would come again.
michael h. from redding, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2013 ideal location, awesome view, comfortable beds and chairs-though you will probably want to move some of the chairs, nice well equipped kitchen, overall we enjoyed the house and stay.problems- sand/dirt on the floor in several areas(not a biggie given location/use) upstairs toilet doesn't function well, upstairs gas fireplace was non functional, had a massive leak of dishwater in the kitchen one night, pool table was tucked away which means we had to move chairs and drag it out-and of course reverse the proc on leaving(not as bad as it might sound but still a chore), no laundry soap for washer(we left a bottle there),and there could be a little more light over the main(&only)large table-were we eat and play cards at at nite.as u can tell none of these problems are show stoppers, just annoyances that take a little bit away from overall enjoyment. think my star ratings give my overall opinion best.it is expensive, I think it could be a little cheaper for good value but I would still recc it to anybody.fyi, the local area is wonderful.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Glad you enjoyed Pelican's Nest despite those issues. This is the first we have heard about problems with the upstairs toilet or dishwasher. We will send our handyman over to take a look. Please notify right away of any problems so that we can deal with it directly and make the home more comfortable for you. The housekeepers are supposed to have all the soaps fully stocked. I appreciate your feedback and we will keep the pool table pulled out for others enjoyment and discuss improving the lighting with the owners. Thank you for choosing Trinidad Retreats. -Jonna
Michael L. from Steilacoom, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2013 Great entertaining home with breath-taking view and the sound of the waves to lull you to sleep. Pictures don't do it justice. The home is larger than it looks in the pics. The upstairs master bedroom and bathroom with it's own private deck is huge and includes a wet bar and small fridge. Small TV and DVD player up there too. Complete kitchen with lots of dishes and glassware, fully stocked, but some of the spices are old and some of the cookware hasn't been used for a while but everything worked fine. Large, newer fridge. Great open space downstairs and comfortable seating area with FM/CD player (bring your own CDs). Great selection of books in almost every room. The house feels lived in and lovingly appreciated by it's owners. Nice trail to beautiful Indian Beach with few visitors. Quiet neighborhood. Great restaurant at the end of the dock. Definitely would stay there, and look forward to it, again and again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Sounds like you truly enjoyed your Trinidad Retreat! We look forward to working with you again.
Shannon M. from San Pedro, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in March, 2013 We loved our time at the Pelican's Nest. The view was our favorite part. We also loved having our dogs with us. The house had everything we needed for a great relaxing trip.
Mary C. from Bend, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in March, 2013 The location of the house was great and we had a wonderful time exploring the town and hiking in the area! The property appeared well used, needs a thorough cleaning in and out, and has some deferred maintenance. We'd gladly refer the property to friends if some of that were taken care of. That said, we loved the area and would come back again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Pelican's Nest owners have been working diligentlly on projects to improve their home. This past year they re-did the deck and balcony and replaced some windows. They currently have plans to work on their coastal trail. I will share your sentiments with the owners. I am sorry you found deeper housekeeping needed. Our housekeepers clean and sanitize between every stay but I will have them spend more time there.
A guest from Eureka, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2012 You could stare out those big windows for hours just watching the tide. The feeling of space looking over the ocean, that vast expanse, was so completely satisfying it was easy to overlook anything amiss. We had a few hiccups during our stay but the T.R., in conjunction with the owners, were prompt to fix the problem and bought us breakfast for our trouble. The house has a lovely and eclectic library of books, a decent selection of cookware (although a bit dated), and a cozy wood stove. The furniture configuration in the main room is a bit odd: bunched in corners and simultaneously spacious, but we moved items to suit us. The upstairs room was much colder than the rest of the house and lacked any other mode of heating, but the view was so beautiful it was easy to get over it and in summer this wouldn't be a problem. The real downside for a group of four was, who gets the "master" suite? The room upstairs has that breathtaking ocean view while the room downstairs is rather cramped and located next to the garage. This really is a perfect getaway for couples or a family with older kids. There is a great beach trail to Indian Beach, it's located right in town so we could walk around, and once again, the view the view the view!!
A guest from Claremont, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in November, 2012 We had a wonderful stay. The house is amazing, and three adults and one toddler had plenty of roaming and sleeping room. The house withstood 114 mile-per-hour winds and we had a beautiful view when the storm cleared! We consider this place our Trinidad home.
A guest from Keene, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 12 days in August, 2012 The house had issues. We were there for 2 weeks. There were no shades on some of the windows, and had privacy and sun wise issues. It was a beautiful view but just too bright with out shades to knock it down. TV too small for the room. Furnature hard to arrange to use the tv and have a view. Some of the house was blocked from us, and during a windy night there was a window open in that area, and there was a lot of racket going on. It needs some work for the price of it.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Thank you for your feedback. We will discuss these issues with homeowner and try to get them resolved. -Jonna
A guest from San Antonio, TX recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2012 A quiet little town with amazing views of the pacific ocean. Our 3 & 5 year old children had a great time playing on the beach and building forts out of the driftwood. The walk down to the beach Is a little steep, which might be hard for elderly or anyone with balance troubles. I also would like to mention the master bedroom is upstairs separate from the second bedroom and main level. This adds privacy, but can be concerning for families with young children. Since our children could manage stairs well enough they ended up sleeping upstairs in the master BR and my husband and i forgoed the wonderful master BR views for our peace of mind at night that our kids were safely sleeping away from the front door. Another great extra was a small loft full of toys for the kids to play with. My kids really enjoyed this little space all their own.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Thank you for your feedback. The homeowners have plans to improve the trail so it is less steep and easier to navigate. We are glad you enjoyed Pelican's Nest and its amazing views. It is one of our newest vacation homes. Please visit us again. - Reid