Perfect Places Vacation Rentals
Traveler Login Owner Login
Chinese (Traditional) Portugeuse Spanish Italian German French English

Find Your Bliss in Paradise in our newly renovated Oceanf...
Lahaina 1 br Vacation Rental Condo

Property Summary
Lahaina, Hawaii, United States
Type
Condo

Bedrooms
1

Bathrooms
1

Sleeps
4

Rates
$126 - $190 per night
$882 - $1,330 per week
$3,402 - $5,130 per month

Non Smoking
 
Book Online   Visa Mastercard 
This property listing provides real-time availability and rate quotes. Book it securely and instantly using a credit card.

Vacation Condo Rental Description:



Find Your Bliss in Paradise in our newly renovated Oceanfront Condo

ALOHA AND WELCOME TO HALE KAI # 213

YOUR BLISS IN PARADISE

Our condo is situated so close to the ocean that when you first open the door, it seems as though you could dive right in. So close in fact that your favorite pastime might just be kicking back on the lanai, relaxing to the soothing sound of the surf, and enjoying some of the most scenic vistas Hawaii has to offer!

Here you can view marine life right from our lanai, including humpback whales in season and sea turtles frolicking directly in front of the property year round. You can also enjoy easy access to swimming or snorkeling right in front of the property via the adjoining beach, or just relax by the oceanfront pool and revel in the scenic views of Molokai and Lanai right offshore.

Recently remodeled in December 2010, our condo continues the tropical ambiance indoors through the extensive use of bamboo materials, porcelain "travertine" tile floors, tropical themed ceiling fans and fixtures, and louvered doors. As a second floor end unit with vaulted ceilings, it also affords its occupants with an abundance of natural light and ventilation.

The remodeled kitchen features granite countertops, custom maple cabinets, stainless steel appliances, and an ultra quiet dishwasher, and is fully equipped for when you would rather dine in.

Our living room and kitchen feature a direct view of the Ocean and the island of Molokai, which is all the more grand once you step out onto our balcony, or "lanai" as it is locally known.

In the bedroom, you will find a new Cal King-Sized Bed and 100% Organic Cotton Blackout Curtains, both newly installed in June 2011, and in our newly remodeled bathroom, a walk in shower and high quality fixtures.

Extra sleeping accommodations in the living room include your choice of two Twin-sized Murphy beds newly installed as part of the remodel, or a convertible sofa bed.

For your entertainment, there's a 32" LCD Flat Screen TV, Blu-Ray Disc Player, iPhone/iPod compatible stereo, and free wireless internet access.

To minimize its impact on the environment, our unit is equipped with a tankless water heater, energy star appliances, and energy efficient lighting and ceiling fans.

Just see our reviews on the next tab and you'll quickly see what we mean, Hale Kai # 213, truly a place to find _your bliss in paradise_.
LOCATION:

Our condo is conveniently located midway between the Ka'anapali and Kapalua resort areas, just a 10-15 minute drive from most any West Maui attraction. On foot, it is just one minute away from the Honokowai Farmer's Market, organic food store and neighborhood coffee shop, and just a few minutes from many more restaurants and shops. And right next door is Honokowai Beach Park, an expansive open space featuring a recently upgraded playground area for the kids.
RATES:

Rates for this unit are based on two occupants, (additional $15/night/person), and also vary depending on season, length of stay, and whether booked at the last moment. Please specify your desired dates and number of occupants on the "Rates & Availability" tab to obtain a quote for your specific circumstances.

ADDITIONAL LINKS:

Rental Terms and Conditions
Photo Album
Videos
Facebook Page

Managed by HKR LLC, Hawaii Tax ID #: # W-01.

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 2 Twin, 1 Sleeper Sofa

Room Description: Non-Smoking

Additional Features:
* Common Area: Access to Adjoining Beach, Oceanfront Pool, Oceanfront Gas Barbeques, Onsite Laundry Room, Onsite Rental Office, Off-Street Parking for 1 Vehicle
* Entertainment: Cable TV, Flat Screen TV, CD Player, DVD Player, Stereo System, iPhone/iPod Charger
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Range, Dishwasher, Microwave, Cookware, Coffee Maker, Toaster, Blender, Dishware, Glassware, Flatware, Cooking Utensils
* Lanai: Patio Set, Chaise Lounge
* Living: High Speed Wireless Internet, Vaulted Ceilings, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Beach Towels, Murphy Beds, Iron and Ironing Board, Hair Dryer, Cordless Phone
* Nearby: Beach Park, Farmers' Market, Grocery, Neighborhood Restaurants, Golf Courses, Tennis Courts, Exercise Fitness Facility, Spa, Resort Areas, Tourist Attractions, Shopping
Book Online:

Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.

Arrival Date:
Departure Date:
Adults (18+):
Children (<18):
Visa Mastercard 



Accommodation and Amenities:

Features:
  • Full Kitchen
Appliances:
  • Blender
  • CD Player
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD Player
  • Microwave
  • Phone
  • Refrigerator
  • Stereo
  • Toaster
  • Satellite TV or Cable TV
Activities:
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Tennis

Owner/Manager last updated on 07/22/2014

 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»
  July   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  August   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  September   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»


Pricing/ Rates:    (click to convert currency)
Nightly Price Range: $  126 to: $  190
Weekly Price Range: $  882 to: $  1,330
Monthly Price Range: $  3,402 to: $  5,130

   » Prices in United States Dollars.



This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 Property Reviews 
Perfect summer getaway!
Brian F. from Peoria, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in July, 2014
Words cannot express enough the amazing experience my family had this past week at the Hale Kai. The room was exactly as it was described, furnished beautifully, and the views were ridiculous. We went to sleep every night with the lanai open...lulled to sleep by the sounds of the ocean and cool ocean breeze. The pool was refreshing and the small private beach allowed for snorkeling without ever leaving the property. We saw turtles EVERYDAY munching on seaweed off of the reef in front. This was my third time to Maui, but first time at the Hale Kai. I can honestly say that this trip was by far the best. I am already trying to figure out how I can book this same week next year! Mahalo!

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Brian, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We're thrilled that your family had such a great time. Your description of being lulled to sleep by the sound of the ocean is making me wish I was there right now. Our unit's two twin-sized Murphy beds in the living room provide a very comfortable yet affordable option for a family of four. This is in fact exactly what we had in mind when we installed them, so we're always happy to see a family like yours take advantage of them. And how can you beat those sea turtles frolicking in the surf right in front of the property! We'll look forward to hosting you and your family again in the future. Mahalo, The Mathews, Hale Kai #213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Turtles out side your door
A guest from North Vancouver, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2014
We found 3 turtles less than 10 fett from shore

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Isn't it amazing to be so close to the marine life! One can find sea turtles directly in front of the property year round, which can be seen right from our lanai or even up close while taking a swim, (being careful of course not to touch them). One might also find monk seals on occasion taking a snooze in the park next door, and spot spinner dolphins and humpback whales, (during the winter months), right offshore. Thanks for sharing something about your experience, and please come stay with us again. Mahalo, The Mathews, Hale Kai # 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

great condo
Elfriede B. from Schwarzach, Vorarlberg recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in April, 2014
It was a wonderful time, the unit is perfectly clean, well maintained and absolutely great. We also appreciated the "little" things which were provided, a sweet welcome, beach towels, binoculars, body boards. We can definitely recommend it but would also love to stay there again. Unfortunately it's a long way from Austria. Mahalo!

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Elfriede, Danke for staying with us and sharing your experience. We always enjoy the opportunity to host a guest from another country. Although Maui is a long ways from Austria, we'll hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. Mahalo, The Mathews, Hale Kai # 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Anniversary Getaway
A guest from Gibsons, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 13 days in April, 2014
Hale Kai was the perfect spot to call Home as we enjoyed our first experience in Maui. We chose the island for our 50th Wedding Anniversary trip ..... Hawaii 50.Our condo unit was everything we hoped it would be. A place to relax after a day of touring and sightseeing. Morning coffee on the lanai watching the ocean activities including the turtles on the reefs, then cold drinks later in the day as we viewed the stunning sunsets. We'd love to return in a couple of years and we would request Hale Kai,unit #213

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Thank you for your recommendation and the honor of hosting you on such a special occasion. May you enjoy many more anniversaries to come! Our lanai is really a lovely place to begin and end each day, so thank you for mentioning it. We'll look forward to hosting you again one day. Mahalo, The Mathews, Hale Kai 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hake Kai 231
A guest from Harvard, IL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 37 days in February, 2014
An excellent vacation experience. We've been staying here for over 30 years and love it.

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Don & Ruthie, Many thanks for sharing your experience and staying 5 weeks in our unit every year. Your comments and your actions are a real testament to what our unit has to offer so I'm going to assume that you actually meant to recommend our unit, and of course that you meant to identify unit 213 and not 231 in your title. We'll look forward to hosting you again next year. Mahalo, The Mathews, Hale Kai #213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

12th year coming to Hale Kai
Vincenzo & Brandi S. from San Francisco, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 21 days in February, 2014
After 12 years coming to Hale Kai and bringing dozens of friends we expect more. We expect if we pay for 3 people in a unit that it has the beds made up for 3 people, towels for three people and the unit particularly clean. Even though we have come for so long, no special care is taken to ensure our unit is prepped properly. We had to make up one of the single beds ourselves and track down enough beach and bathroom towels for all of us. We have sent dozens of people to Hale Kai and now two friends come with us each year (last 5 years). We've never even received a thank you for that. It's an awesome place but it could be run much better. Also the units should be far cleaner. The cleaning during our three week stay was a joke and the unit was not clean when we arrived. We spend A LOT of money there. We'd expect to be treated as a special guest and thanks provided when thanks are deserved.

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Brandi & Vince,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback, and thank you for renewing your reservation for next year. I'm sorry you feel that the unit wasn't adequately prepared for your arrival. I wish you had notified the office, as one call and the situation would have been quickly remedied. I also wish you had completed the check-in and check-out forms, as these are our quality assurance mechanisms for making sure that our guests are satisfied with the condition of their unit upon arrival and that they have enjoyed their stay. The former in particular is prepared and signed by our rental office personnel upon inspecting the unit and finding it ready for our guests' enjoyment. Hearing about your dissatisfaction with the arrival condition after you left unfortunately leaves us unable to do anything about it.

Try as we may, I think that there may be guests that we will never satisfy. If you're as dissatisfied with Hale Kai as you sound based on your reviews the last two years, I wonder if it's time that you considered staying at another property. You may discover something much more to your liking, or you may find that what we offer isn't so bad after all. Fortunately, we have many guests that based on their reviews find our unit and Hale Kai overall to be exactly what they're looking for, so I don't think we'll have any trouble finding someone else to enjoy our unit in the interim.

Mahalo, The Mathews, Hale Kai # 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

our Maui experience
joyce c. from ashland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in January, 2014
overall, it was just GREAT!

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Joyce, Thanks for sharing your feedback. We'll hope to accommodate you again in the future. Mahalo, The Mathews, Hale Kai # 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fun time!
Bret B. from Sandy, UT recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014
We had a great time! Loved the view!

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Thanks for staying with us Bret. Hopefully we can accommodate you for a longer stay next time. Mahalo, The Mathews, Hale Kai # 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Paradise!!
Debbie & Richard S. from Anchorage, AK recommends this property.
Stayed for 13 days in December, 2013
This is our third time in three years staying at Hale Kai. We love starting our day having coffee and watching the whales and turtles. And we love finishing our day watching the sunset and listening to the blowing of the the conch shells. We will be back!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Debbie & Richard, Thanks for staying with us and for sharing your description. Our lanai really makes for a great venue for observing the marine life right out front and the sunset between the islands offshore. We'll look forward to hosting you again in the future. Mahalo, The Mathews, Hale Kai # 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hale Kai - Where the land and ocean meet
Lynn N. from Lake Stevens, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in October, 2013
We loved staying in a small, local complex right on the ocean. Our unit felt like we were literally over the water. Each night we sat on our deck and watched the sun set. Each morning I would sit with the binoculars and watch for dolphins, turtles and whales. It was magical.We plan to return next year and stay in the same unit. It was an experience we will always treasure.

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Lynn, Thank you for your wonderful description. When we can't be there ourselves, we enjoy our unit vicariously through our guest's reviews, and yours makes me feel as though I'm there right now, chillaxing on the lanai, observing the marine life during the day and enjoying another splendid sunset followed by an even more incredible dusk. Thanks for staying with us. We'll look forward to hosting you again next year. Mahalo, The Mathews, Hale Kai # 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Get Away
Vicki T. from Tualatin, Oregon recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in October, 2013
My husband and I stayed in unit 213. This condo has been updated and is very clean. View is perfect! The condo is walking distance to a small grocery store, Farmer's market and coffee shop among other things.Enjoyed the pool and little beach access where there were lots of turtles!Also was a great price!

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Vicki, Thanks for sharing your feedback. With all that it has to offer, our unit really provides a great value for one's vacation dollar. We'll hope to have a chance to host you again in the future. Mahalo, The Mathews, Hale Kai #213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect Getaway
A guest from Lodi, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in September, 2013
We loved our stay at Hale Kai #213. Great location, beautiful view, very comfy bed. The unit was super clean with great decor. We met some really nice folks who live there full time and part time. Can't wait to return and stay longer!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Many mahaloz for your feedback. We'll hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. The Mathews, Hale Kai # 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A Slice of Paradise!
A guest from Tigard, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in September, 2013
We found the perfect fit for a girls getaway to Maui with our Hale Kai rental #213. I knew I wanted to stay in Honokaui area and find an affordable rental for us gals on a budget but really didn't want to flip a coin to see who gets the bedroom and who gets a hide-a-bed. I then came across a ocean front condo unit that included the option of a murphy bed (with nice new comfy mattress I might add) and I knew this was it. All newly remodeled with a vaulted ceiling, and beautiful kitchen, the rental had everything we needed. We moved the coffee table aside and had enough room for us to practice yoga nearly every morning. It was quite warm mid Sept and at first was hesitant to rent a condo without air conditioning but the unit has several fans and when we moved to a condo down in Kihei for our last few nights we immediately ran over to turn off the a/c. It was too cold and too noisy, we knew then we had quickly acclimated to the tropical Maui climate. I've stayed in about 6 condos in this area in the past and would not hesitate to return to Hale Kai #213!

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Many mahaloz for sharing your feedback. Yes, our two twin-sized murphy beds in the living room work well not only for families on a budget, but for friends enjoying a getaway as well, as there's no hard feelings over who got stuck with the sofa bed. And yes, who needs a/c! Even during the warmer part of the year, with the afternoon tradewinds, our building's wide eaves, and our unit's vaulted celings and natural ventilation, one can enjoy a vacation in Maui while still minimizing their impact on the environment. So thank you for staying with us and we'll hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Aloha, The Mathews, Hale Kai #213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A very special place to stay!
James S. from Colleyville, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013
My wife, daughter and I stayed at Hale Kai #213 a couple weeks ago. We were so very pleased with the unit, as well as the property as a whole. The unit was very clean, updated, well positioned on the property with a wonderful ocean facing view. Our daughter slept easily on one of the 2 murphy beds in the living room. This feature was excellent as we could easily return the bed to upright during the day and use the living room when needed. The bedroom my wife and I slept in was very comfortable and spacious.The lanai was our special place each evening to relax after active days enjoying the surrounding area's offerings. From the lanai we could sit and look at island of Lana'i, the stretch of ocean in between, and we even saw sea turtles and spinner dolphins. After enjoying the incredible sunset each night (directly visible from the lanai) we would watch the stars come out 1 by 1 until the sky was full. We miss the routine so much already.We also enjoyed meeting the friendly and welcoming residents of the property. We learned about and participated in the daily conch shell horn blowing ceremony at sunset.The closeness of the property to Lahaina was very convenient to quickly drive to the venues for snorkeling, surfing, and dinner cruise excursions. The surrounding neighborhood was also great, with an organic market, coffee shop, water sports equipment rental, awesome restaurants, and an excellent beach park. So many things to see & do that were so close!Our Maui experience was so much better as a result of staying at Hale Kai, and we would eagerly recommend it to our friends and family. We already plan on staying there for our next Hawaiian vacation.

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Jim, Thanks for sharing your experience. A place that you'll want to return to time after time is exactly what we aim to provide, so we're glad to hear that your family had such a nice stay. As the view of Lanai is quite limited from our unit, the island view you were enjoying was probably that of Molokai. Otherwise I think your description nailed it, so much so that I'm longing for the time that we'll return ourselves. Please come stay with us again in the future. Mahalo, Matt & Emiko Mathews, Hale Kai # 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Laid Back Maui Style
Marc D. from Westminster, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in June, 2013
My wife and I spent a fantastic week in early June in this exceptional unit. Unit #213 is wonderful. A lot of work has been put into the upkeep and it shows. Great comfortable king bed, clean modern kitchen with excellent appliances, updated bathroom, great living space with flat screen TV and I-pod docking station, and a lanai with spectacular view of ocean and Molokai. The quiet and less crowded pace is what really attracts us to the Hale Kai. Park right in front of your unit (no parking fees); walk across the street to local grocery; easy drive to Lahaina or Kahana; well maintained swimming pool; amazing sunsets; and friendly people. Are you kidding me.... we will be back.

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Marc, Many mahaloz for sharing your feedback. Your title really says it all. We look forward to hosting you again sometime. Mahalo, Matt Mathews, Hale Kai # 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfectly relaxing
Lisa S. from Te Atatu South, Auckland recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2013
From start to finish, my experience with Hale Kai has been exceptional. The unit is thoughtfully furnished and perfectly located. I would definitely stay here again

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Lisa, Thanks so much for your recommendation and for sharing your experience with our unit. A place that you'll want to return to time after time is exactly what we aim to provide, so we'll look forward to hosting you again in the future. Mahalo, Matt & Emiko Mathews, Hale Kai #213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The place to stay
justin h. from elk grove, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2013
This was my second time to Maui and my second time staying on the West side. This resort and in particular condo number 213 was exactly as its described online and an absolute wonderfull place to stay. The condo was remodeled in 2010 and was done beautifully. The resort is clean and allways being washed or updated in some way. The grounds staff were out working every day on something to maintain the high level of neatness and overall look of the property. The owner of my condo was very concerned that ors stay was plesent and that all items in the condo was functioning as it should. He could not have been more informative and helpfull. The resort is low key and quiet which is exactly what we wanted. We would stay there again and again. The absolute only thing we had a problem with is the Cal King bed was very soft and by the end of the week was bothering our backs. Be aware that my girlfriend and I are both stomach sleepers.

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Justin, thanks for providing your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that the bed was not to your liking. It is just two years old this month, so I don't think this is due to it being worn out. We were also just there last month and didn't notice it being too soft, although I guess people's preferences can be very subjective in that regard. We'll monitor the situation though and replace if this feedback becomes more common. So far, this is the first time anyone has registered a complaint about it. I'm glad you and your girlfriend found everything else to your liking and thank you for mentioning the efforts of our grounds people, who have been working hard to improve and maintain our gardens and common areas. Mahalo, Matt Mathews, Hale Kai #213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Unforgettable View!
Dan S. from Mississauga, Ontario recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in May, 2013
After getting married in Oahu, unit #213 was a perfect place to spend our honeymoon. The view was breathtaking when we first opened the door to the unit and looked out the lanai window. We especially enjoyed the proximity to the local food market and coffee shop. Walking distance to everything you need including yummy fish tacos down the street and gelato. It was great to have a park next door to throw around a frisbee. Skip the hustle and bustle of the other resorts in the area and book this quiet and intimate gem! We would definitely book this unit again in the future and hope be back to Hake Kai again!

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Mahalo for sharing your feedback Dan. I think you summed it up pretty well, a view to die for, convenient neighborhood shops and restaurants, and feeling as though you've lived Hawaii rather than just visited there. We will look forward to hosting you and your wife again in the future, perhaps on your anniversary next time. Aloha, Matt & Emiko Mathews, Hale Kai # 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We'll be back!
A guest from Napa, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in May, 2013
Loved the location, proximity to the ocean and beaches, kitchen, BBQ, laundry availability... all excellent. Views could not be better, sunsets and conch-blowing were a highlight each evening. Valerie was wonderful to work with and the property was extremely well-maintained. Thanks for a great stay - we look forward to returning!

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Many mahaloz for your feedback. A place that you'll want to return to time and time again is exactly what we aim to provide, so we'll look forward to hosting you again. As it happens, we're enjoying our unit right now ourselves and the sunsets between Lanai and Molokai have been magnificent as usual, and the conch-blowing good fun too! Thank you as well for your kind words regarding Valerie, our Rental Office Manager. Having an onsite Rental Manager is of course very convenient for our guests, but we feel that having someone as special as Valerie in this position is just another factor that distinguishes Hale Kai from other properties.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fantastic ocean front property with casual charm!
Jennifer J. from St Albert, Alberta recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in April, 2013
This property is a great way to "go local" without scrimping on the luxuries of home. We chose this property because we are anti resort people who wanted a low key experience. This unit has great upgrades and a view to die for. Neither of us have ever stayed in a unit that was this close to the water. We have a one year old and it was no trouble renting a crib from a local company and accommodating his sleep needs. There is no air conditioning, so it took us a bit to learn how to take advantage of the winds, but it can actually be quite comfortable once you get the hang of that. My only complaint is that the modern cable style of the railing on the lanai is not safe for children- especially babies. We had to keep our son away from the edge of the lanai at all times- he could easily pass through the cables if left alone. This is not the fault of this unit- the whole complex has this style. I think this unit is probably the best on this property if you consider all of the upgrades, the tasteful decor and the special touches considered by the owner. We would love to come back one day- we made a lot of special memories here as a family.

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback, especially regarding the decor of which we are quite proud. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. You're right, if someone is looking for the resort experience, our property probably won't fill the bill. However, if they're looking for a beautiful setting without the high prices and noise associated with a resort, then our low-key property is probably just for them. The stainless-steel cable railings on our lanai that you mentioned were just installed in the last year to bring the railings up to current code. While the greater visibility that they afford may give the impression that a child could pass through them, please be assured that the distance between the cables conforms to standards that are designed to prevent such an occurrence. That said, I would still recommend against leaving a toddler unattended there. A place that you'll want to return to again and again is exactly what we aim to provide, so we'll hope to host you again in the future, perhaps when your son is old enough to utlize one of the murphy beds in the living room.Mahalo, Matt & Emi Mathews, Hale Kai 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Chillin' at Hale Kai
A guest from Toluca Lake, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in April, 2013
We saw whales right from our balcony.... no sea sickness for us! This is definitely the place to be for a relaxing vacation.Aloha !

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Chillin'Many Mahaloz for staying with us. Yes, our lanai makes for a wonderful whale watching perch during their annual visit to the islands, and a wonderous venue for relaxing by the sea at any time of the year.We'll look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future.Mahalo, Matt & Emi Mathews, Hale Kai # 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

2013
A guest from Harvard, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 37 days in February, 2013
As always, for the last 34 years, it was a wonderful visit with friends at a wonderful condo complex.

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Don & Ruthie, Thank you for your continued patronage over the years. We'll look forward to hosting you again next year. Mahalo, Matt & Emiko Mathews, Hale Kai 213
Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Don & Ruthie,Thank you for your continued patronage over the years. We'll look forward to hosting you again next year. Mahalo, Matt & Emiko Mathews, Hale Kai 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sweet Quiet Getaway
Elizabeth M. from Arcata, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in January, 2013
I loved this space -- perfect for a vacation rental or a multi-month holiday!

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Elizabeth,Thank you for staying with us. We'll hope to accommodate you again in the future, hopefully for more than just two nights next time.Mahalo, Matt Mathews, Hale Kai 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

West Maui Gem
A guest from Gladstone, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in January, 2013
We have stayed at the Hale Kai several times and will again!

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Harold, Thanks for your recommendation. We really appreciate our repeat customers and will hope to have the chance to host you again.Mahalo, Matt Mathews, Owner, Hale Kai 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Spot
A guest from Seattle, Washington recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in January, 2013
We had a great stay Unit 213 was excellent. It had been recently remodeled and is in a great location.

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Mark,Many Mahaloz Mark. We really are conveniently located, and our unit is well sited on the property to provide direct views of the ocean and the island of Molokai. We'll hope to have the chance to accommodate you again in the future.Matt Mathews, Owner, Hale Kai 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awesome home away from home.
Wendy M. from Penticton, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in December, 2012
This was an excellent condo, right on the ocean. Sea turtle and whale sightings from the deck!! Condo has everything needed.

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Wendy, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We're pleased that you found our condo to your liking. The ability to observe marine life right off shore from our unit's lanai is one of its best features, although the sunsets and rainbows you can see from there are pretty cool too. We'll hope to have the chance to accommodate you again in the future. Mahalo, Matt Mathews, Hale Kai 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

very satisfied
Danilo R. from Barueri, barueri recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2012
very good, very nice and clean when I go back to hawaii, I'll rent again.Danilo From Brazil

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Danilo,Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. A place that you will want to come back and enjoy time after time is exactly what we aim to provide, even when you're coming from as far away as Brazil!Mahalo, Matt Mathews, Hale Kai # 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful view
Stacy H. from Kent, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in November, 2012
The unit is everything we were looking for during our stay in Hawaii. The view couldn't be any better. We were right on the water and could watch the sea turtles in the waves. There is a telescope in the unit so I imagine whale watchers would be in heaven during season. The unit design is Hawaiian without being tacky and the two twin murphy beds give the unit a lot of flexibility. The complex is very quiet and small and has a very relaxed feel. Having a BBQ available by the pool is great. We will absolutely come back and bring the kids next time. One thing I would point out is that the units are very close together and a lot of the walls/windows are slatted to let in the winds which keep the unit cool. This is a great thing because you really feel like you're outdoors. It's not so great if you want a lot of privacy. Not a big deal and totally worth it for where you are but something to mention. We will definitely be back.

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Stacy, Many Mahaloz for staying with us and sharing your experience! The scenic views, the proximity to nature, the relaxed vibe, the temperate climate, I think you did a great job describing what folks can expect when staying in our unit. The louvered windows along with the vaulted ceiling and the wide eaves all combine to make our unit naturally comfortable even on a warm day, but for the benefit of anyone else reading this, please be assured that the louvers can be closed and that the bedroom features high quality, black out curtains. Thanks for mentioning the two twin-sized Murphy beds too, since they make our one bedroom unit a comfortable yet economical alternative for a small family. We look forward to hosting you again in the future, but please bring your kids next time if you can. Mahalo, Matt Mathews, Hale Kai 213
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice little unit
Kathy G. from Mill Valley, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in November, 2012
The unit was modern and clean and in a central location. We liked that it was an upper corner unit. And it was a 3 minute walk to a groovey organic shop so we never had to venture far for some yummy food. No complaints. Totally worth the value. It was lovely to sit on the lanai in the afternoon and we were sometimes treated to turtles munching in the sea. There is no beach to speak of here -- one needs to drive down the road a bit to get to a white sand beach.

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Kathy, Many Mahaloz for staying with us and for sharing your experience. Sitting on the lanai and watching the turtles right out front is also one of our favorite "activities" there, although snorkeling with them is a close second. You're right, if someone's looking to stay next to a big, white sandy beach, then Hale Kai might not be for them, but we do have a small adjoining beach that depending on the time of year does fill in with a fair amount of sand, and that allows easy access to the reefs out front. And as you mentioned, we're very conveniently located near the "Farmers' Market" Organic Grocery store, but also the thrice weekly Farmers Market, and numerous other neighborhood shops and restaurants. So compared to staying in a touristy resort area, many folks say that a stay at our place leaves them feeling as though they've lived rather than just visited Hawaii. In any event, that's the experience we try to provide, so we'll hope to host you again in the future.Mahalo, Matt & Emiko Mathews, Hale Kai 213 Owners
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A wonderful and relaxing experience. Gorgeous sunsets and calming
A guest from Rosedale, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in October, 2012
Condo was as described with all the amenities of home. Relaxing experience from the first day. Loved the sound of the waves, they were calming. Everyone was friendly and the manager was very helpful. Would like air conditioning when the trade winds were absent. Couch could use cleaning. Would definitely stay here again .

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Betty,Thanks for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I apologize about the couch, it will be cleaned as soon as our current guest departs. As you may have learned during your stay, "Hale Kai" means "Home by the Sea" in Hawaiian, and that plus the Aloha of our manager and neighbors seems to have summed up your experience. I'm surprised that you felt the need for air conditioning though as in our experience the building's wide eaves, and our unit's vaulted ceilings, ceiling fans and ample louvered windows keep our unit quite comfortable, even when the tradewinds are absent. Perhaps a dip in the oceanfront pool would have helped? We hope that you can come and enjoy some R&R with us again some time.Mahalo, Matt & Emiko Mathews (Hale Kai 213 Owners)
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Our 2nd Stay in #213 as great as the first!
Greg C. from Dallas, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 11 days in August, 2012
This is our secon visit to Maui and our second stay at Hale Kai, condo #213. The owner and the property managers were friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The condo is fantastic. Tile floors, ceiling fans, remodern kitchen and bath, hardwood cabinets, king sized bed and 2 comfortable Murphy beds help make it a wonderful home away from home.

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Many Mahaloz Greg! We really appreciate the return business as a place that you'll want to return to again and again is exactly what we try to provide our guests with. Matt (Owner)
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful location
Brian G. from San Jose, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in July, 2012
The location of the condo facility couldn't be any better. Very close to the ocean with views of the islands, easy access to the small private beach and a very very nice pool. We loved this place, and being on the second floor facing the ocean....

Property Manager Response:
Response from HKR, LLC, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Aloha Brian,I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, we're located in a great spot and I'd have to agree that being on the second floor really affords our unit with an amazing view of the ocean and the neighboring islands from both the lanai and inside the unit. Please come stay with us again some time! Mahalo, Matt (Owner)
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Relax!
Suzette S. from Santa Barbara, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in April, 2012
Wonderful small condo complex. Very friendly, convenient. Turtles just offshore! Easy to rent, easy to communicate with owner and property manager. One bedroom -perfect for a couple!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hale Kai 213
A guest from Harvard, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 31 days in March, 2012
The new owner has done a fantastic job renovating this condo. It is truly a "home away from home."
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Contact the Manager
Hale Kai Resort Rental Inc.

Leave this field empty First Name *

Last Name *

Email Address *

Country *
Arrival Date

Departure Date

Adult (18+)
Child (<18)
Telephone
HomeMobileWork
Additional Message
Max 500 characters.

Email me this inquiry
Send me deals email

By clicking "Send Email" you are agreeing to our Terms and Conditions.


This advertiser has listed with PerfectPlaces.com since May 8, 2012

Find additional Vacation Rentals: