Walk the Parker Creek Trail to Indian Beach and unwind!
Parker Creek Cottage~affordable & Cozy, In Town, Near Beach, Pet Paradise!
This home is conveniently located on a quiet wooded street just footsteps to a beautiful coastal beach trail. Head down the trail and you are a five minute walk to Indian beach for great beach-combing and tide-pooling. Head up the trail and you are a 5 minute walk to stores, restaurants, pier, local museum, public Bocci ball and tennis courts and other great hikes. Grab the dog because the town & beaches are super dog friendly.
This home is well suited for a couple?s getaway, friends gathering, or a comfortable stay for a family of four. There are 2 Queen beds and futon sofa sleeper in the living room. Parker Creek Cottage sits on an extra large lot with plenty of yard to enjoy and is fully fenced. Sit and relax on the covered deck that looks out at the forest and neighborhood. This home has beautiful hard wood floors and large windows making it feel open and warm. The wood stove provides great heat and ambiance while watching cable T.V. on the new flat screen. Living room is open to the well equipped kitchen with breakfast bar. The high café style dining table adds a contemporary touch. The beach style décor creates a relaxing atmosphere and a fun beach cottage vibe. Washer and dryer in detached shed.
Trinidad, once a historic whaling town remains a quaint, fishing village. It has one of the last "mosquito" commercial fishing fleets in California. Take a stroll on the newly remodeled pier or venture out on one of the many charter fishing boats. Depending on the season, dine on local Salmon, Rock Cod, Ling Cod or Crab. Come and enjoy Trinidad, where the Redwoods meet the sea!
Bedding Configuration: 1 Queen, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 1 Full
Pets: Dogs Allowed
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Internet Cafe, In Town * Convenience: Nearby Grocery, Walk To Town, Walk to cafe & restaurants, Nearby Wi-Fi @ Cafe, Walk to Yoga Studio, Walk to wine tasting room * Culture: Historic fishing village, Sport and Commercial Fishing * Entertainment: Games, Basic Cable 2-13 , Large Flatscreen T.V. * Geographic: Secluded, Near Beach, Close to Town, Wooded * Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware * Living: Linens, No Phone, Wood Stove, Wi-fi Internet, Laundry & Laundry supplies, baseboard heaters, 2 Queens, 1 futon sofa bed * Outdoor: Deck, Tennis, Beach, Beach Access , Charcole BBQ, Large Back yard, Fenced backyard, Charcoal BBQ
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Cozy stay in Trinidad
Jayme c. from columbus, MI recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2016 We enjoyed our stay. The house was very nice and met our needs. The walk to the private beach was not far, although there were signs saying the trail was closed. We walked anyway because that was what drew us here. The walk back from the beach was a bit strenuous but invigorating. The only suggestion I would make about the house is to maybe have a fan in the property. The house got very warm during the day, of course we opened the windows which helped. I appreciated having laundry facilities to use.
A guest from San Anselmo, California recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2016 Our family of four and our dog had a great experience in Humboldt and the house was a perfect place to stay...comfortable, clean, and well-situated. The only downside was that the trail to the beach was closed and we would have preferred to be informed of that in advance, since nearness to the beach was one of the selling points of the house.
A guest from Redding, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2016 It was wonderful to stay in my aunt and uncle's old home. So many wonderful memories. The house is simple but very warm; private; great if you are bringing dogs.
Pooja K. from Duluth, MN recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2016 I couldn't have asked for a better getaway for my husband, lab and I. It was our two year anniversary and the nature perks of the redwoods and stunning beach, along with the convenience of restaurants, cafes and other sites made this for the perfect getaway. The cabin was perfect, cozy and felt like home. I can't wait to come back to this gem of a place.
Barbara A. from Petaluma, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in March, 2016 We spend our anniversary weekend in Trinidad at the porter Creek Road Beach bungalow. The house was very adequate for our needs, we didn't need anything luxurious or fancy. The house was clean comfortable and nicely appointed the yard was perfect for our two Boston Terriers although the path to the beach was closed due to all of the rain we had, speaking of which, it rained the entire time we were there and we still managed to enjoy ourselves. The only small disappointment was the wood stove which seemed to have drafting difficulties, no matter how I adjusted it it had trouble sustaining a fire; I lived with wood heat for 15 years so it may have been operator error but you might want to look at the stove. Other than that it was lovely.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats So glad you enjoyed "Parker" Creek Cottage. I am sorry you didn't notify us of trouble with the wood stove during your stay as we would have been happy to come help you. We have not had any trouble with the stove before or since your stay so it must have been a user error. Please visit us again and don't be shy about reaching out to us for any questions or assistance. We love helping our guests! - Jonna
A guest from Long Beach, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in December, 2015 Had a great time. The home is ideally located within walking distance to the beach, great restaurants, a cool casino and grocery store. What better is the location allowed us to make small local trips to many of the parks and beaches in the area. Loved our stay!
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Always happy to hear when a guest has a great time! Please visit us again. - Jonna
Stacy B. from Ft. Lauderdale, FL recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2015 A great little getaway cabin. Close to everything you made need and easy walks or fantastic hikes. This is the perfect place to escape. The cabin has everything you need and then some. Quiet, relaxing and perfect. Close to the market so no need to shop ahead of time if you decide to cook in. Nice hot shower. Great fenced in log. Bring your dog as the house and beach are super dog friendly however plan on eating in as most places do not allow for dinning outside with your furry friend unless it's a service dog which is really a shame as the town has only about 5 restaurants and none allow them to dine with you.
Anthony C. from oakland, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2015 Overall it was a great experience. Cute property, nice yard, well appointed, great location. Cool amenities near by including a few small but and good restaurants. Also a very convenient grocery store within walking distance. Lots of hummingbirds and a pleasant view of trees from the living room and patio picnic table.
David a. from Chester, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2015 The house was very clean, a bit dated but all was good. It was wonderful having a fully fenced yard for this dog friendly home. A short walk (79 stairs) to the beach was a bonus. We would stay here again.
Stephanie H. from Santa Rosa, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2015 This house was dirty from lack of housekeeping to smelly rugs and very dated décor and furniture. Careful the bath tub was a bit slippery.CLOSE neighbors and view of a chain link fence.Just not suitable to be a rental.@ Trinidad Retreats and VRBO...your description of a property should be view or non-view specific to make it easier on your renters. Thank you!
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats I am so sorry to hear you found the housekeeping not up to your standards. I had inspected the home myself prior to your stay and found it quite clean. The bathroom had been completely repainted 2 days before your arrival. I wonder if that was the smell you noticed. I will add a rubber mat to the tub to prevent slipping. I appreciate the feedback. Our description lists this home as a "quiet, wooded location within footsteps to beach trail". We do not advertise that it has ocean views. We offer may photos showing the wooded views and include photos of the beach trail and the beach that is within walking distance. Our description even includes, " Sit and relax on the covered deck that looks out at the forest and neighborhood. " I would be happy to assist you in choosing an ocean view home next time if that is what you are seeking. - Jonna
A guest from Wijk bij Duurstede, XX recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2015 We loved the proximity of the beautiful beach and nature in Trinidad. No crowded beach just you and the relaxing nature. We would have loved to stay a few days extra to enjoy the environment.The house was well fitted and had everything you need for a stay with family.
Barbara R. from Chico, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2015 My dog, Rossi and I introduced a friend and her dog. All of us had a great time and the dogs went swimming in the ocean of Indian Creek Beach. The pups loved it so much they wore themselves out. And then us humans went and got clam chowder for dinner. YUMMMMMMMM
Rachel R. from Quincy, MA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2015 The whole experience was great. The directions were helpful. The house was clean and in a great location. I'd definitely rent it again next time I am back.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We look forward to you visiting us again and are happy you had such a great stay! - Jonna
A guest from Stockton, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2014 The Parker Creek Cottage is a great home for 2-4 people. It was immaculate when we arrived and nicely stocked. The beds are very comfortable and it has a heater as well as a wood stove if needed.The yard states it's fully fenced, although there is a small area (about 7') next to the front gate that is not fenced at all. We always bring a portable fence because of our dog, and that fixed the problem. Most of the fence is 4' chain link. The deck is fabulous, has a nice view of beautiful trees and the trail down to Indian beach is gorgeous, fairly steep with stairs and takes about 5 minutes. It's a very nice beach with views of Trinidad Harbor and off the beaten path, so very quiet. I would definitely stay at this home again and bring my dog.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Glad you enjoyed your stay at Parker Creek Cottage. We will look into seeing what can be done to fence in the small area you reported. Thanks for the feedback. We look forward to you visiting us again! - Jonna
Leslie W. from Carmichael, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in June, 2014 Overall, we were pleased with the house. It is all wood inside (walls, floors, ceilings) and had a cabin-like feel. It's nothing fancy, but it worked for us. The beach is about a 7 min walk up and down steep stairs, so you have to be in decent shape to get there and back. There are other, prettier beaches that we preferred going to. It was a two minute walk to the grocery store which was very handy. Some people may be dismayed that there's no dishwasher, so hand washing only (but no rubber gloves!) Supplies are decently stocked, but the frying pans need to be replaced in the kitchen (and a large one supplied).
Jan R. from West Sacramento, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in May, 2014 I think it was a little overpriced for the condition, older kitchen and bathroom. The management company was very professional and really helpful with this last minute rental.
Melanie P. from Santa Rosa, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in January, 2014 This was our second stay in this property and it feels like home in the most awesome sense of the word for us two humans and two Golden Retriever service dogs. Every day we get to pick awesome things to explore nearby, our favorites being the redwoods (infinite places to explore them) and elk. We love the easy walk to the Beachcomber for scones in the morning and the beautiful, easy walk to Indian Beach down the hill. We will be back as often as we possibly can. We are so grateful for our experiences there. The ONLY disappointment: there was no firewood for the woodstove, so we bought it at Murphy's. Seems like it should be included, especially since there's a posted notice requesting use of the woodstove instead of using the electric heater all the time. Other than that: pure joy.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We apologize for the lack of wood. The housekeepers are supposed to stock the wood stove area with a starter bundle of wood when they get the house ready for your arrival. We are sorry for your inconvenience, won't happen again! -Jonna
Julie S. from Davis, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 11 days in December, 2013 I was looking for a dog-friendly rental near the beach and Trinidad village. This home on Parker Creek Road suited perfectly. It was very clean and tidy (no vacation home clutter). I enjoyed my stay and so did my dog.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Parker Creek really is the ideal stay for dog lovers. Glad you and your pooch enjoyed it. Please visit us again. - Jonna
A guest from castro valley, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2013 Went up for Thanksgiving and had a delicious apple pie waiting for us in the fridg. Cottage was very comfortable with plenty of towels. Extra firewood or coffee would have been most welcome. This cottage is definitely pet friendly but the one area not fenced was an invitation for my dog to escape regularly. Front deck and windows were refreshing.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats So glad for the positive feedback on the complentary pie, we try to surpise our guest with goodies and such. I agree about the wood, we will leave more out and look into the fence, for future guest wtih pets, thanks for the heads up. ~ Reid
Nicholas K. from Supply, North Carolina recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2013 I loved our stay and was very happy with the last minute availability of the house. Would definitely stay again!
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Thanks for staying with Trinidad Retreats, we hope to see you next year. So many of our guest keep coming back to us and we often offer discounts and feebees to our return customers~ Reid (owner)
christy j. from pollock pines, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013 The bed in the master bedroom was HORRIBLE, lumpy and uncomfortable. The bed in the second room was not lumpy; however not very comfortable either. The temperature in Trinidad was nice so the fact that the whole house had single pane windows was not a problem, but we won't stay again. In addition the $150 is a good price for the rental, but all the additional fees made is less than ideal.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We are so sorry to hear that you were so uncomfortable. Beds are difficult since some folks prefer soft and other prefer firmer mattresses. However, the homeowner is looking at upgrading the beds this season and we do appreciate the feedback. Given the proximity to the beach (just a 5 minute walk down trail), pet friendliness, FREE Wi-Fi, well stocked kitchen for easy cooking and comfortable living and dining space we feel this is still a great value when you compare with a hotel/motel to sleep 4-5 guests. Please visit us again and try another one of our many homes and we would be happy to waive the booking fee. -Jonna
marie b. from cottonwood, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2013 The little herb garden was a nice touch, as was the view from the ample patio..The trail, over-hung w/lush flowers, berries, plants....awesome! A private spot not far from shopping. Very refreshing.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Thanks for staying with Trinidad Retreats, we hope to see you next year. So many of our guest keep coming back to us and we often offer discounts and feebees to our return customers~ Reid (owner)
Nancy M. from Chico, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013 The house was nice - especially the large porch and fenced nice yard. Great walk to a wonderful beach! No ocean view at the house - and there were other rentals for the same price that did have views - so will look around and book earlier next time. House was hot and couldn't really cool it off very well. There are no screens on the bedroom or other windows - only the sliding doors. Also a larger table would be a great addition to be able to eat on the deck. And the hose only worked minimally - a new hose would make it easier to rinse sand off a dog coming from the beach. Wi-fi worked well and location is close in town - easy to walk to the main street in Trinidad and the grocery store.
A guest from Seneca, IL does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013 We arrived after dark. The gate was open to the property and no porch light was on. We could not even see any numbers on the home to know that it was the correct address. When we got in, a window was open - that was not screened. Some of the windows would not open and others would not lock. It was very musty smelling and exacerbated my asthma. The little village was fine. We expected it to be rustic, just not so outdated. I really felt unsafe, like someone could easily kick the door in or come through a window easily. The decor of the house was from the 1950's - old flimsy curtain rods and curtains, linoleum, very outdated. Way over priced!
A guest from Redding, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2013 It was a very comfortable cottage and well-supplied. It was great for our dog since the spacious yard was fenced. We will definitely book the property again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Thanks for staying with us.~ Reid (Property Manager)
A guest from Dana Point, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2013 This wonderful little cottage met all our needs. It was immaculate,beautiful, convenient location. We really enjoyed our stay. The only improvement I can suggest is better lighting. Otherwise, I hightly recommend Parker Creek Cottage.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We are delighted you enjoyed Parker Creek Cottage. We appreciate your feedback about lighting and will discuss adding lamps with the homeowner. - Jonna
Susan J. from Moraga, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2013 Parker house was perfect for our family of 3 and dog. It is a smaller house but had hardwood floors and ceilings and panels that made it feel like a cabin. I loved the large yard for our dog that was almost completely fenced in so we didn't have to worry so much about him running away... also it's not next to a busy road but a dirt path so we felt safe w our dog in the yard briefly without our eyes on him all the time. The house was clean and perfect for our needs, especially b/c there were a couple of restaurants with grass fed hamburgers and organic breakfasts... very convenient and satisfying. The house could have used more amenities like herbal teas and some basic staples. We didn't cook at all at the house so the fact that it didn't have any staples didn't bother us. The walk to the beach is fun and great for healthy abled people. The path is getting overgrown in some areas and hopefully someone (s) will keep the path clear b/c it was pretty dense in a few spots. Indian Beach is gorgeous.. it was even better than I expected.. we were totally happy and are preparing for our next trip here and plan to rent Parker House again unless we can find something alittle nicer with a situation as comfortable for our dog. If the fencing can be complete, it would be a big improvement for the house. Plenty of sheets and towels, which was a great help. The bathroom needs remodeling but we don't mind.. just the aesthetics are not very pleasing w/ paints peeling and mold in the grout... but overall the place was so great that I will definitey stay here again. I rather have lower rental fees than higher than this if they remodel the bathroom anyway! Another improvement would be if checkout time would be at least 1 hr later if not up to 2 hrs later... just enough time for housekeeping to finish.
James R. from Santee, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2012 Everyday a walk down to the beach seemed to lead to something new. Great location in scenic little town. Great grocery store a short walk away. Not really a fenced yard for our dog as advertised but we adapted and enjoyed our stay. Go to the Arcata Farmer's Market on Saturdays. A great community experience!
victoria s. from canby, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2012 My husband rented this house because he got the impression it was right on the beach. Overall the house was good. I would stay here again, if we travel to that location again. But I will definitely bring some candles or glade plug-ins to mask the musty/smoky smell from the wood stove. I really liked having a fenced yard for my dog to run around in.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Parker Creek Cottage sits right above a trail that offers easy coastal access but does not have ocean views. I will look at our website to make sure this is clearly stated. This is an older home that has updated furnishings. We appreciate your feedback and will look into getting a dehumidifier or air purifier. - Jonna
A guest from Sacramento, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2012 We enjoyed our stay in this quaint little place, but felt it would have been worth the price at $175 per night, but not the $175 per night PLUS all the other fees that turned the price into $265 per night. We'll be looking elsewhere for a place to stay on our next adventure up that way.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Thank you for your feedback regarding the price. We just dropped the nightly rate to $150 from Sept. 15 - mid May for the low season and reduced the cleaning fee as well. We want our properties to be competitively priced and fair. Please visit us again. -Jonna
Barbara R. from Chico, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012 We had a very good time and it was just perfect for us. My dog, Rossi, enjoyed the yard very much and loved going down the trail to the beach. We would be interested in renting this property again next year.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Parker Creek Cottage is a great choice for dogs. Glad Rossi and you enjoyed it. We look forward to your next visit. -Jonna
A guest from Barre, VT recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2012 I liked the location of parker creek cabin. just a short walk to trinidad bay,beautiful bay.nice neighborhood very quiet.very clean cabin, would love to go again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Glad you enjoyed Parker Creek Cottage. We look forward to your next visit. -Jonna
Ellen A. from Mokelumne, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2012 We really enjoyed our stay. The house was close to town, and close to the trail to the beach. Very quiet, and a nice home. There was not a view of the ocean, but we loved the house. We would stay again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats So happy you enjoyed you stay!Desiree
A guest from Burney, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2012 Maybe we would have been happier if we hadn't already stayed a few times at the View Crest cabins.The lack of dishwasher, wi fi, larger TV, hot tub, comfortable sofa's accompanied by a slow draining bathroom sink and tub, dirt accumulated in shower tracks and behind bathroom door made our stay less than comfortable. Too much $'s for this place.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Sorry you found your stay less than comfortable. We will alert our housekeepers to your details noted. We do list the amenities of each of our homes on our website. We have many other homes that do offer more amenities than this one. - Reid
Nice Manager, Spotless, Great Location, missing a few items.
A guest from Centreville, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2012 Overall our experience was very positive. The location of the house was great, it was spotless, and the furniture was dated but comfortable. The manager was very friendly and quickly took care of arranging for a missing third bed (that we had reserved)when we arrived. We also let them know that the kitchen only had 2-spoons and had wine glasses but no drinking glasses. I'm sure they have now fixed that as well. Would definitely recommend this rental, especially because of the good service and sparkling condition.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found Parker Creek a comfortable home. For some reason this home has the highest attrition rate of glasses! We have restocked it once again and will keep a closer eye on these items. It was nice meeting and working with you. - Jonna
Reviewed by: Mary T. recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in April, 2012 We were very satisfied with this cottage. The only thing I would warn visitors about is the trail down to the beach. It was raining lightly so that made the path slippery. The path is also a little steep so it was pretty tiring coming back up. We are in our late 50's but in fairly good shape. Loved the deck and landscape. Quiet neighborhood and private. Very clean.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Thank you for the feedback. We will add some notes in the Parker Creek Cottage binder about the trail being a good climb back up and potentially slippery. Glad you enjoyed your stay! We would like to offer $50 off your next booking.
A guest from San Jose, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2012 The low rating is based solely on a very dank and musty smell in the cottage. Although, we did our best to air it out (and it improved some), the smell was difficult to handle.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats This is a new property for Trinidad Retreats so we appreciate your feedback. We will try adding a dehumidifier to see if we can eliminate moisture that may be causing a musty smell. We are sorry this was not a totally positive experience for you. We would be happy to offer you $100 off any of our 15 properties for a future stay.