Hale Hali'a is distinctively located a 'stones' throw from Poipu Beach in the heart of Kauai's scenic South Shore, close to numerous ocean activities including world class body surfing, several surf breaks, snorkeling and lap swimming. Hale Hali`a also known as "House of Fond Remembrances", is a two story Poipu Beach vacation home, uniquely designed to take full advantage of the incredible ocean views. You can hear the waves crashing upon the shore from every bedroom and throughout the common areas of the home. The open living room features many windows and a large seating capacity to comfortably admire the awe-inspiring surroundings.
Perfect for large families or small groups, this home features four bedrooms, two aero beds, three full bathrooms and can accommodate up to ten guests.
If you're travelling with a gourmet chef or simply someone who has a passion for cooking, the fully-equipped kitchen has everything you need. The large table and benches made of "monkeypod" wood in the spacious dining area are perfect for entertaining during " dine- in" evenings. Plus the outdoor gas grill is great fun for cooking up a Hawaiian-syle BBQ.
The well tended details and beauty of this home are evident both inside and out. Both the lanai and luxurious hot tub on the deck overlook the blue Pacific Ocean, a great place to enjoy the sunset. After an active day of sightseeing, relax in the hot tub which has a soothing underwater light show with changing colors. The beautiful, landscaped yard is lush with tropical flowers and features an outdoor shower - perfect after a long soak in the hot tub or a swim in the ocean.
Did I mention this home is located just a stone's throw away from Brennecke's and Poipu Beach? While playing at the beach you will have the opportunity to see Hawaiian monk seals, sea turtles and dolphins! This home is also in close proximity to fine and casual dining, golf, shopping, snorkeling and much more.
Kauai, the "Garden Island" is loaded with attractions--enjoy a train ride around the sugar cane plantation, a birds-eye view of the island by helicopter, a round of golf at the Kiahuna Golf Course and an evening luau.
Once you stay at Hale Halia, you will want to make it a vacation tradition for years to come!
" Best location in Poipu" - Frances K, League City, TX
" Experience of a lifetime!" - David O., Keller, TX
Bedding Configuration: 2 King, 1 Queen, 2 Twin
Room Description: Two bedrooms downstairs, two upstairs Two king beds, one queen, one set of twins, two bedrooms entry level, two upstairs.
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Bank, Wireless high speed internet * Convenience: Area FitnessCenter, Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, Golf Course, Shopping , Walk to fine and casual dining * Geographic: Near Beach, Close to Town * Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Ice Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Gourmet Kitchen * Living: Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet * Outdoor: Deck, Gas Grill, Outdoor Shower, Hot Tub, Beach
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
LEAH M. from FORT MYERS, FL recommends this property. Stayed for 14 days in May, 2016 Our entire family vacationed on Kauai for two weeks. We were very pleased with the location of the home as its right across from our favorite beach. We loved waking up to the sound of the waves and being so close to Poipu and a short drive to stores, etc. Despite not having AC, there was never a moment during our stay where the home felt warm or uncomfortable. The breeze at night was fantastic and a few nights, it was chilly and very much enjoyed. The main living area is very nice for large gatherings. Several nights we had a lot of our local family visit us for dinner and we never felt tight for space. Couple of things we wish were different: There was a leak in the bathroom upstairs that we were not informed about and had we not heard a drip, there could have been serious water damage. We had to empty a bucket each day which wasn't ideal. There were a few items that could use attention as well as some basic updating. The oven didn't work for a few days either. We did run out of gas for the stove however, the management company handled it that same day without any issues. There is no can opener at the house which was strange. Check in process was great although cleaner was still there and was rushed.
A guest from Fountain Hills, AZ recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in March, 2016 Wonderful house for a multi-family vacation. The layout provided for a combination of privacy plus together time. Great views of the ocean, great location, a grocery store only 10 minutes away in Koloa. The beach was just across a small road that had minimal traffic just steps from the house. Lots of areas to explore on our daily walks. Brenneckes was just down the street for a meal, mai tai, quick snack or ice cream. A protected beach for the 4 year old and snorkeling just steps from the house. General maintenance was a bit sloppy however. I found dirty plates in the cupboard, some lite bulbs were burned out, the hot-cold water adjuster was broken in our bathroom. The leather furniture was worn and ripped and the stained white plastic chairs in the lanai did not meet the standards of this lovely house. This house does need a facelift, but we chose to ignore these little things and concentrated on enjoying this family time together as we celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary. The maintenance crew did respond to our requests but did not get it done until the day before we left. Overall we had a wonderful time and happy we chose this location in Poipu and this house. I know this property is up for sale, but these small issues do not do this house justice.
Property Manager Response: Response from Poipu 365 We are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay, we appreciate you taking the time out to write a review. Mahalo
A guest from Mililani, Hawaii recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2015 We rented two beautiful vacation homes in Poipu for a family reunion. Both homes were spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Hale Halia has an awesome sunroom with a fabulous view. We were completely satisfied with the properties and would definitely return. Thumbs up to Poipu 365
Property Manager Response: Response from Poipu 365 Patricia, we hope you use us again for your next Kauai adventure. Mahalo for your review.
Howard J K. from Spokane Valley, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2015 Nine of us stayed in the Hale Halia, immediately across the street from Brennecke's Beach, which was an ideal location for us. The house has no air conditioning, but most areas had good ventilation, except the inside lower bedroom - very stuffy and hot. Also, the place is advertised as accommodating 10 people, but there are only 8 beds. Our "ninth" person had to sleep on an air matress in the hallway upstairs! There are no decorations on the walls, but the place is spacious and we settled in nicely for the week. Although it is right on the main road through Poipu, neither traffic nor people on the beach caused any issue. We used the cooking equipment and found it in good condition and adequate, except that there was an electric skillet there with no cord provided.
Property Manager Response: Response from Poipu 365 Howard, thank you for your review. Sorry for any missing understanding, Hale Hali'a is a four bed house that sleeps 10(2 on a aero bed). We appreciate that you brought the skillet situation to our attention. And are so happy to see that everything else was to your liking. We hope that the next time you book a Kauai vacation, that you will use our services. Mahalo
Reviewed by: Stephen G. recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in May, 2015 I'm just getting around to reviewing the fantastic five-night stay my wife, three relatives and myself had at Hale Halia last May. But better late than never for this great, well-managed property. It's actually even better than it looks in the photo, in that you have a nice view of the ocean from both an enclosed sitting room, the living room and an upstairs bedroom. And it's even roomier than it looks in some other photos I've seen. The company we rented it through, Poipu 365, was a pleasure to deal with. (Stay away from Indiana-based TBD Rentals, by the way, which tried to rent and overcharge us for the house, using another name for it.) In addition to its other features, the house is well-supplied with whatever you'd need in terms of plates, glasses, outdoor grill and other supplies, as well as having a very nice hot tub. It's location is great as well, as, there's an open green area on one side, a few nice beaches are right across the road and Brenecke's (sp?) bar restaurant is an easy five-minute walk away. Plus, if you go out to the street and turn to your left, there is a nice residential area to walk through, followed by some beautiful seaside trails just past the Hyatt Hotel (itself perhaps a 15 minute walk away). The only slightly negative thing to be aware of is that, contrary to the impression left in the photo, the house is not on the beach but across a small road. But the road is neither busy nor noisy. I'd go on and on, but there is a word limit. So I'll simply say that we had a great time in this very pleasant, well-ventilated (no AC needed), spacious house.
Property Manager Response: Response from Poipu 365 Stephen, you taking the time to write this wonderful review is greatly appreciated. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Mahalo for your time and have a wonderful year.
Lawrence C. from Vancouver, British Columbia recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in March, 2015 Warmest, sunniest spot in all of Kauai. Swam with wild dolphins right in front of the home! The convenience of being right on the beach makes it a very memorable experience. The hot tub turned out to be a fabulous addition. Home's big windows makes the beach that much more inviting. "Stunning" is a good description of the location.Good selection of pots/pans/utensils/plates/etc.BUT, furniture, dishwasher, faucets, stereo all in need of attention. Leather furniture are past their prime. Dishwasher bottom tray missing wheels, and detergent dispenser is no longer functional (dishes aren't all that clean). Downstairs shower faucet needs repair. Patio speakers don't work (broken control panel?). Plastic chairs for patio are not inviting/comfortable.Having said all the above, its a wonderful spot.
A guest from Friday Harbor, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in February, 2015 This house was large enough for two families no problem. Well stocked with towels and all the things you would need for a vacation, cooking and other wise. Location was awesome, the beach in front of the house the kids found to be the best boogie boarding, turtles feeding off to the left all day. The enclosed Sun Room was AWESOME!! we spent all our time there, I don't think we even sat in the living room. The house could use some updating, but all in all we would rent again in a heart beat!
A guest from Wading River, NY recommends this property. Stayed for 9 days in December, 2014 I did not want to share my adult kids and grandson, so I suggested to my husband that we spend the holiday vacation in Hawaii! I am so glad that we did! All three "kids" and their partners, had their own rooms and the 3 bathrooms were more than sufficient. The living space was huge and comfortable and the kitchen was perfect! It was convenient to be able to ln to the beach with the baby and the couples took turns walking to shipwreck beach. I took 2 yoga classes on the grass next door, while gazing at the ocean. We sat in the lanai with our coffee in the morning and watched whales breaching and spinner Dolphins, and had sunset cocktails in the couldn't have been more perfect! We felt like the luckiest people there! We rented 2 cars and explored the island with everyone. Maybe we will skip next christmas, but we will be back!!! Thank you for sharing this perfect location!
Sean B. from Murrieta, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in October, 2014 Excellent location and great house! Very clean and great views. Had a few issues with no hot water downstairs and spa not working the entire trip. Otherwise would easily rent this house again and really wish we would have stayed longer!
A guest from Oceanside, California recommends this property. Stayed for 13 days in October, 2014 We stayed here for 13 nights with 4 adults and 2 small children. The location can't be beat. Poipu beach park is the best beach for small children and it's a short walk from the house. The house itself is amazing. You don't have to leave to feel like you're at the beach. The owner and management were very helpful and attentive to any concerns we had. The house is big and open and perfect for entertaining guests. I highly recommend this house for anyone considering staying in the area.
A guest from Willits, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in September, 2014 My family and I very much enjoyed this home. From the beach out front to the kids beach only a short walk away. Enough space for everyone to spread out, the owner Ian was also helpful with anything we needed. An overall pleasant stay.The house could use a better vacuum, dust pan and cleaning supplies, and more comfortable chairs for the front lanai, not the best comfort for our older guest.
A guest from Walnut Creek, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014 We had a wonderful time in Kauai and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hale Halia in lovely Poipu Beach. The property was clean and well maintained and the views were incredible. We would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative!!
A guest from Valley Springs, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 8 days in July, 2014 We enjoyed many things about Hale Hali'a, including the beachfront location, the lanai, the outdoor shower, the spacious floor plan and the well stocked kitchen. Yet there were problems that we reported several times during our 8 days there and they were met with little to no response from the property manager and owner. The kitchen sink was leaking underneath and no one came to fix it. There was a lot of sand in both the washing machine and the hot tub when we arrived and we reported it as we did not want to be help responsible for it. The downstairs toilet did not flush properly and make a horrific squeaking noise that was never fixed or addressed and one of the screens was coming out of the second floor bedroom so we fixed it as best we could. I guess overall for the price we paid (a LOT) we were expecting a bit more, especially in the way of repairs and responsiveness to our complaints.
A guest from Malibu, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in May, 2014 We came to celebrate 2 birthdays and to scatter my mom's ashes with the whole family. We had 8 people including my daughter's kids (1 and 3). We found the home in very good condition and our jaws dropped when we saw the surf right across the street. Brennecke's beach has some of the best body surfing and boogie boarding on the island in the summer months and the water is teeming with huge sea turtles that swim right past you; we swam twice a day at least and the waves were 5-7 feet all week. A short distance away (3 minute walk) is the playground for the kids with a very secluded baby beach. The house is situated so the trade winds blow right through, even at night! We were comfortable in the home at all times. It was our home base for excursions to snorkel NaPali (Holo Holo), kayak the Wailua river, tour the botanical garden close by, and see the beachside Luau at the Sheraton just down the beach. I caught a 140 lb. yellowfin tuna with my son-in-law that left me sore for 2 days! We drove up Waimea canyon all the way to Kalalau lookout and the view was perfect! Seeing the north shore is also a must; we just happened to catch the outrigger canoe races the day we went. Thank you for making your home available to us, it exceeded our expectations in every way! Each day was better than the last.
A guest from Aptos, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in May, 2014 This was our second year at this property. The location and views cannot be beat. The home is very clean, with ample space. For those of us who had to do a little work, the absence of good internet was a real problem. The internet is very spotty and weak. Also, the TV was very hard to use--never was able to figure it out. This was also the case last year. For a rental, it would be good to have an easy-to-use TV for when you are not out sightseeing, at the beach, etc.
Gail B. from Havana, IL recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in May, 2014 The layout of the home was amazing and I loved the screened in porch! Very clean, location was amazing and everyone at Poipu 365 was so helpful and friendly! The home exceeded my expectations! On the last day of our vacation we were surprised with spinner dolphins off of our beach. I will be returning.
A guest from Pender Island, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in January, 2014 Our vacation experience on Kauai was wonderful. We absolutely loved the beaches and tropical forests. Our experience was enhanced by having such a perfect home to stay in, located right across from the beach and park. Our hosts made our stay easy and enjoyable. Thank you.
A guest from Burnaby, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 9 days in December, 2013 We had an amazing Kauai trip and Hale Hali'a was a key part of it. The house is well set up and suited for a large family. It had a few missing pieces (very few bowls and mugs, a shower with some issues, and no drain plugs for the bath tubs (for bathing a 4 year old)), but overall was an excellent place. I'd rent it again and refer it without hesitation. The house and location can't be beat!
Rich C. from CORVALLIS, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in September, 2013 This beautiful 4 bedroom, 3 bath, 2 story house is located right across the street from the ocean with a nice beach good for boogie boarding. The nearby Poipu public beach offers snorkling and a no-way "kiddy" section within the ocean. The house was nicely maintained and the owner was very responsive to any request we made. Please note that the 2 queen size bedrooms downstairs share a single full bathroom. The two twins upstairs have a nearby bathroom and the full size bed in the 4th bedroom has a connected bathroom. I would definitely stay here again!
Property Manager Response: Response from Poipu 365 Aloha Rich, Hale Halia is in an excellent location to enjoy all the Poipu activities. The owner thanks you for your acknowledgement of his responses. We look forward to seeing you again at Hale Halia!
Sarah B. from Morgan Hill, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 14 days in July, 2013 Our family had a very comfortable stay at Hale Halia for 2 weeks! The location couldn't be better: directly across from Brennekes beach and a relaxing stroll to Poipu beach! The view from the lanai was perfection. We enjoyed family conversation while watching the body surfers and sun worshipers. The house is beautifully designed and even with 10 people, it was never crowded. The beds are comfortable and the trade winds blew throughout the many windows keeping the house cool and fresh. Mahalo!
A guest from North Wollongong, NSW recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in June, 2013 We had a great 8 nights staying at Hale Halia. The house is amazing and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The location right opposite Brennecke's beach is as good as it gets. We would definitely rent this house again when we return to Poipu.
Susan H. from Los Angeles, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in May, 2013 Steps away from the beach! No A/C but great ocean breezes. A few things didn't work, such as dryer, but comfy beds and large living area made up for it.
A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in March, 2013 Overall a good experience. The home is getting dated, and showing wear and tear with needed maintenance. The hot tub was not functional during our stay, and the dishwasher is in need of repair/maintenance. The home could also use more daily supplies, as we needed to buy many of these products.
Awesome rental!! Great location and wonderful property!!
A guest from Minnetonka, MN recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in March, 2013 This home was ideal and a great place to gather after a day on the beautiful beaches of Poipu!! You could see the ocean from virtually every spot in the main floor and hear the waves. The beach was a stones throw from the door and we could see whales and dolphins daily. We would gladly return again and stay in this gorgeous property!!
Property Manager Response: Response from Poipu 365 Aloha Nicole,Hale Halia awaits your return and its owners appreciate your patronage. Mahalo for the review!
Reviewed by: Chris B. recommends this property. Stayed for 14 days in March, 2013 This Beach house was perfectly located in front of Brennecke beach with Poipu Park/ Beach right attached to this. Awesome open concept with an attached lanai to watch Whales/ Turtles/ Body boarders while dining or hanging out. The owner lives a stones throw away and more than eager to help with any quirks with the house. Brenneckes restaurant/ Bar is 1 block away, and there was a great pathway system to take a stroll to Shipwreck beach and hiking trails. Awesome snorkling right off of the tip of Poipu beach and Surfing right there too. A perfect house and would book again in a heartbeat. Basically if you wanted to walk out the door barefoot, it could easily be done with so many things to do right there.
Property Manager Response: Response from Poipu 365 Aloha Chris,Mahalo for your review of Hale Halia. We will be waiting to book your return visit!
TOM D. from Woodinville, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in February, 2013 The only thing we could possibly say negatively was that we had sand on the bottoms of our feet sometimes. The house has a very unique floor plan that is designed perfectly for the lot it is on and facing the ocean the way it does. It flows perfectly for our three families. The kitchen was first class. You can cook on the six burner gas stove while looking out over the beach or watching TV. The two sinks make prep work and clean up a breeze. With the windows open the tropical breeze comes right through or if the windows are closed it is as tight as a drum. The down stairs bathroom is shared by two bedrooms but is very workable. The sunroom overlooking the beach and road was a favorite. It is a quiet road so very easy to cross to get to the beach which is used by visitors and locals alike. Lots of turtles and whales to look for. Yoga is right across the street on Tues, Thurs and Saturdays at 9 am.
Property Manager Response: Response from Poipu 365 Aloha Tom,Mahalo fro your great review! Hale Halia is all you describe and more... we look forward to your return to Poipu and Hale Halia!
janet s. from Scarborough, NY recommends this property. Stayed for 10 days in June, 2012 The house was well situated, well appointed, without pretension. The owner was very friendly and aims to please. Perfect house for adults and kids, alike.
Property Manager Response: Response from Poipu 365 Mahalo for your review. We are glad you found Hale Halia perfect for your needs! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.Vicki
Mitchell S. from Willoughby, NSW recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2012 We stayed at Hale Hali'a for a week with friends. The house is excellent and the location is great. Would definately stay again or recommend to anyone.
Property Manager Response: Response from Poipu 365 Aloha Mitchell,Mahalo for your review of Hale Halia. Its beachfront location is great!! We look forward to seeng you on your next Poipu trip.Vicki
Philip F. from Littleton, CO recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in May, 2012 30 feet from the beach. Easy walking to rentals, food, bar, shave ice, snorkeling, boogie boarding. Plus the house was wonderful. Full kitchen with two sinks, oversized fridge, huge party room, screened-in lanai looks over the ocean. We saw spinner dolphins and sea turtles almost every day. You won't be disappointed.
Property Manager Response: Response from Poipu 365 Aloha Philip,Mahalo for your review of Hale Halia. Your description of the location and activities available is right on! So glad you enjoyed this special home! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.Vicki
Louise E. from San Diego, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in March, 2012 We recently returned from a family gathering celebrating my 70th birthday. Attending were my husband and myself, two sons and wives and two grandchildren ages 7 and 11. The Hale Hali'a was the perfect location for us. We enjoyed being across the street from the beach, listening to the sound of the waves, and watching the world pass by from the screened veranda. While swimming, my granddaughter came close to a sea turtle and on another day we watched a young monk seal scramble up on the beach. The location is convenient for walking pathways through landscaped and bird-filled areas. The common area in the house is large with plenty of comfortable seating, and the dining table allowed for our group of 8 to eat together. The washer, dryer and dishwasher were used often and greatly appreciated. There were plenty of towels, a well equipped kitchen, and many beach "toys." We had nice weather, but there were no games, puzzles or books for those possible occasional rainy days.Our few requests were quidkly attended to by the friendly and helpful management staff. Our welcome bouquet of tropical flowers completed the island decor.Everyone agreed that this was a special time together and the Hale Hali'a provided a fantastic setting.
Christine J. from Anchorage, AK recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in November, 2011 Very pleasant surroundings with up to date equipment. We did have difficulty with the Refrigerator cooling down! Also, we were unable to unlock and use the safe!
Tim K. from San Diego, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in October, 2011 The location is excellent. The House is great for a big family or multi-family. Overlooks Breneke's beach and park. Need to fix the electronics. (remote, ipod jack, and had trouble with wi-fi) Not real high end but very nice.
David O. from Keller, TX recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011 Our immediate and extended family (group of 9) spent a week at Hale Hali'a and came back refreshed from the gorgeous views and beautiful house. I had done considerable research to locate a large enough property that didn't sacrifice location in Kauai. As with many vacation home rentals, it's somewhat of a leap of faith that the property will live up to the photos/descriptions provided. In this case, we knew we were in paradise as soon as the house came into view in Koloa. Hale Hali'a is immaculately-kept and plenty roomy for even a group of 8 adults and 1 child. We never felt like we were stepping on each other and the kitchen provided all the right amenities to eat any or all meals at home. Apart from grocery shopping and renting a couple of boogie boards we didn't need to buy anything for the house. The real estate agent, Vicki was always helpful and responsive and the owner even swung by to fix a loose shower handle towards the end of our stay. Our favorite location in the house was the sun room out front. It seemed likely everyone regardless of age was drawn to this breezy, spacious room with an spectacular view of Brennecke's beach. There's plenty to do on the south side of the island and Koloa is a quaint city that feels the opposite of touristy. We had access to great beaches and the drive from the airport was around 30 minutes (with construction). The neighbors were generally quiet apart from some large gathering on a Saturday night. Some tips: Check out Kauai Coffee Company about 15 minutes away, buy your groceries from Costco if you can accommodate an hour drive (round trip) - otherwise you'll buy from the local market at a considerable premium. Definitely do a boat cruise on Captain Andy's "Southern Star" boat on the west side of the island - it's not the "perfect launch location" but the boat is remarkable and the crew is fabulous. If you can stomach a big adventure, do the open-door helicopter tour
Frances K. K. from League City, TX recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in November, 2010 We loved this house. We had 9 adults and it was more than capable of housing all of us. We loved the location and beautiful views of the beach. We had the opportunity to meet and have dinner with Ian, the owner and his father Les, the designer of the house. We all plan to come back and stay here again!!!