Marvelous pet-friendly mountain home offers completely comfortable privacy!
Perched high on a hill and surrounded by nature, lovely Loop Lodge amplifies peace and quiet. Families and friends will enjoy the open kitchen, dining and living room for catching up after busy days of hiking, biking or skiing. If you have to work WIFI is available?but at least you can cozy up by one of the two fireplaces to take care of business. Loop Lodge?s wall of windows provides amazing views and unlimited wildlife observation in every season. For a nominal fee, your well-behaved dog is welcome to enjoy your mountain adventure. Four wheel drive is required for winter visits?for sure!
Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Queen, 2 Twin
Pets: Dogs Allowed
Additional Features: * Entertainment: Cable TV, DVD Player, VCR, Blu-Ray DVD Player * Geographic: Secluded, Views, Wooded, Timberline Gated Community * Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware * Living: Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Gas Fireplace, WIFI, Non Smoking Property, Dog Friendly * Outdoor: Deck, Gas Grill, Hot Tub, 4 Wheel Drive Required in Winter
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
A guest from waynesville, Ohio recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2016 Loved the location. Lots of windows to view nature. Clean and nice furniture. We all enjoyed the hot tub. Appreciated the gated community. Trout pond was fun to fish. Definitely will stay again.
A guest from Beech Bottom, West Virginia does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2016 When we drove up the driveway I thought we were entering a forest. The pictures of the property were deceiving. They show a well maintained yard. The grass was up past your knees. No views. You see only grass out the back door and trees and more high grass out the front door. No yard for your pets or children. There were cobwebs all around the porch & deck. They charge you for the hot tub and you can't even use it because it smells like mildew so bad. The outside furniture was outdated. The gas grill was funky looking. The deck needs work done to it. Entry door is all glass so you have no privacy. Some of the windows on the first level have no curtains. It was creepy after night you could not tell if there was anybody looking into your windows or not. They tell you to bring your own food when there is no storage space. Refrigerator don't keep things cold. Outdated stove. Kitchen chairs scratched up. Cracked floor tile. Cracks in the walls. Fly infested. I would not recommend this house to my family or friends.
Louis D. from Palmyra, PA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2016 We have rented through Best of Canann in the past and as usual we were njot disappointed. Loop Lodge is a little smaller than some of the places we have stayed, but it was just right for what we needed this time. Would definately stay here again. Quite, secluded, and well taken care of. The staff at Best of Canaan mee=t all our needs and were delightful to deal with. We will be booking through them again, and may even consider buying as well.
Christy R. from Springfield, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2015 Loop Lodge is great!! We have stayed there twice now and will probably continue to stay there. The only issue we had was with the hot tub jets, they were very temperamental and the upstairs shower had little water pressure. It was very corroded as well. Those were the only two maintenance things we found could be improved on otherwise, the property is just spectacular!
James H. from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2015 My partner and I loved this lodge. Well appointed interior with lots of windows. Hot tub was a problem with no instructions for how to use it and most of the jets not working. Other than that, it was a great place to relax with an easy drive to Black Water Falls.
William A. from Central City, PA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2015 We were very disappointed with the condition of the home. We took our pet and could not understand why she was trying to get under the couch. Until we looked. It was a mess food,dirt,hair,under and all threw the couch,love seat.The top of the fridge was so dirty and sticky that you could not put anything up there. The burner on the stove did not work,dust on all the window ledges, tops of the dresses you could write your name on them . cobwebs hanging from the windows. Lots of dedicated bug in the kitchen light cover. ND the grass was ten inches high. Could not enjoy the yard. When I spoke to a lady named donna. She just made excuses, the owner won't pay to mow the grass he wants the rustic look, the cobwebs can happen over night. I took lots of pictures of what we found and the shape of the place. And not once did she ask for me to send them to her. Anyone that wants to see them. Email me at. . will gladly show them to you. To sum it all up, if they had someone to take care of the place,clean ,and handle customer problems instead of making excuses. It would be a nice place. Can't blame the owner I am sure he has no idea that they are doing him a unjust. Don't stay with them unless you look first. And for you Donna. SHAME ON YOU.
A guest from Dunbar, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2015 We had a very enjoyable mini family get together here and hope to do it again next year. Two items, however, would make this rental more senior friendly: a step with handrail at entry porch, and a regular height bed in main floor bedroom .
Teresa E. from Frostburg, MD recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in June, 2015 This was our second trip and our first stay at Loop Lodge. We love this place and the staff at Best of Canaan are totally Awesome! We are already planning to come back again next year and cant wait to get back. Loop Lodge is beautiful and we have NO complaints. Thanks again to Best of Canaan and Donna Patrick for making this another wonderful trip. We miss you already!
Mark R. from Albany, Ohio recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2015 The loop lodge was excellent to stay in. Situated along a quiet street with very little traffic, this lodge provided a quiet getaway which was perfect to rest and relax. Hot tub was nice, kitchen had everything needed and the location close to The Dolly Sods area and other local features was great. You can access the Dolly sods along the top road in the Timberline area which was perfect for us to do some hiking.
A guest from Wheeling, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2015 Overall a very nice and clean house. The only problem we had was the ceiling in the downstairs bathroom would leak when people used the upstairs shower. The owners should probably get that fixed ASAP. Other than that, it was very clean and well equipped w everything we needed.
Jay H. from Fredericksburg, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in January, 2015 Brought the family for a ski vacation last week of January. Fresh snow meant the skiing at Canaan Valley was excellent. Definitely need a 4x4 to get up the driveway in the snow. The cabin was in good condition. Hot tub worked well as did the wifi and TV. Nice couches, recent carpet downstairs. Could use better bed sheets and kitchen implements. Would gladly go back for another stay.
A guest from Silver Spring, MD recommends this property. Stayed for 9 days in August, 2014 We found the cabin to be very comfortable. The house is spacious and has a good lay out. Most earlier complaints have been resolved. There are brand new sofas in the living room. The linens are in fine shape. The hot tub seems to need a new control panel and the living room carpet is getting worn. The pictures don't do the place justice. The cabin is quite private. The hot tub is surrounded by trees. There is a large deck on the side and a shaded porch on the back. Great stay.
Property Manager Response: Response from Best of Canaan Thanks for taking time to complete a review. Stay carpet is being planned for the house!
Judy M. from Newtown, PA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014 We loved our vacation rental! It was very well maintained, we had everything we needed. We were secluded but not isolated. The hot tub was wonderful and our dog could roam free looking for anything he could chase. It is a great location for hiking the canon, kayaking, golfing.. Just so relaxing we didn't want to leave. Best of cannon realty was wonderful to work with and very accommodating. I highly recommend LoopLodge for a lovely getaway..
Kelly O. from College Park, MD recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2014 We really enjoyed our week at this property. The only downside for our family was that the living space was a little close to one of the bedrooms, which was a minor problem in the morning and late night for the early birds and night owls. But the living space is gorgeous and comfortable, the upstairs bedroom has its own fireplace, the porch wraps almost all the way around the house and is lovely, the kitchen was nicely stocked, and the hot tub is one of the better ones we've experienced.
Martha M. from Annapolis, Maryland recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014 We arrived on Monday afternoon in great need of a relaxing time to de-stress. The house was light, airy and open. The covered porch was a very relaxing place to sit in the rain and enjoy the fern covered hill behind the house. the hot tub was a great way to get the kinks out of muscles tired from hiking. The open deck was a peaceful place to sit and listen to the birds and watch the sun set. The comfy leather couches invited a lounging game of cards or three. The house was very comfortable and peaceful. It was so quiet and private, we couldn't see any other houses. We liked it so much we didn't want to come home. The house definitely worked at relieving all the stress.
Chris M. from Mineral, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014 We love Loop Lodge for it's private location and bright & spacious rooms! It's well appointed and easy to feel right at home. Something was not right with the TV downstairs, however. Very fuzzy & unwatchable. We watched a World Cup match huddled around the tiny TV upstairs. So it was all great except for the TV issue!
Property Manager Response: Response from Best of Canaan Thanks for letting us know about the bad reception on the downstairs TV. We appreciate the feedback and will be sure to have someone take a look at it.
A guest from Waynesboro, Virginia recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014 Overall a great property and experience. Rental associates were very polite and friendly and the house had everything needed to have a good time. The only negative thing was the driveway. You should have a high clearance vehicle or 4 wheel drive to access this property.
A guest from New Martinsville, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014 We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend stay at Loop Lodge. The setting was beautiful especially with the snow. The only negative comment I would have is that the home needs some newer towels and linens. Everything else was very nice.
A guest from goochland, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014 The house's location was close driving proximity to Timberline slopes, making it convenient to drop snowboarders off and pick them up at anytime. The driveway is steep so it is no exaggeration that a 4WD vehicle is needed during winter conditions. The house--the living room sofas were dirty and uncomfortable. There were plenty of linens and towels but many were worn and should be replaced. Overall, I was not dissatisfied with the house but the owner may want to consider spending a minimal amount of money to replenish items that have "out lived their usefulness" or should simply be updated, ie: linens, towels, area rugs, living room furniture and televisions. Because I felt the house was clean for the most part, I would recommend this property to a friend but would inform them of the negatives I have mentioned.
A guest from Centreville, Virginia recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in December, 2013 Pros: Beautiful setting. Beautiful home. Enjoyed the fireplace. Skiing/snowboarding was tons of fun. Coming home to the hot tub was maybe even better. Con: Comfortable seating for only 3 people in the living room. 4 if you count the rocking chair.
A guest from Parma, OH recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2013 House was very nice. For 3 bedroom and 2-1/2 bath, a hair dryer would have been nice. A little more staples would have helped as well - like aluminum foil. Ice machine did not work. Cable was good, but an updated flat screen TV would have been nice. TV was on the small side to watch football game. Hot tub was good, stars were amazing. No real gift shopping in the area and nearest Walmart was 30 miles away in Elkins.
Robert R. from Vienna, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in October, 2013 Our 17th and final time at Loop Lodge. After all these years we have purchased a condo at Deerfield Village in Canaan Valley. We were sad as we walked out for the last time, after all of these stays, with many pleasant memories this beautiful mountain chalet has brought our way. Tears came to our eyes as we wrote in the owner's book for the last time. Loop was special as we walked around the loop and Spruce Island Lake in Timberline. Sitting on the front porch gazing at the star show up above. Relaxing in the hot tub. Amy & Donna of Best of Canaan Realty have taken wonderful care of us during our stays here. We will miss Timberline and Loop Lodge.
Eileen E. from Palmyra, PA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2013 Beautiful location! Loop Lodge was perfect for a relaxing getaway. Wonderful deck, very private hot tub for relaxing or watching the stars at night. Property Management team was excellent in every way. Would love to return to this house in the future. Though the house is in a "gated" community, it is on the side of a mountain with large lots. We visited in the Fall and could barely see other houses from our deck. Close to great hiking trails, biking, and skiing. Davis is a friendly, quaint town.
A guest from Rimersville, PA recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in August, 2013 We had a great family vacation at Canaan Valley! Loop Lodge is centrally located to most things and was a lovely fit for our family.
A guest from Inglewood, ontario recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2013 Its a very nice cabin, comfortable and roomy. We enjoyed the hottub and private property. The cabin has a good laid out. Definitively better then staying at an hotel.
Denise R. from Fort Belvoir, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013 This was our 1st time to rent a vacation home. We were pleased with the house. It is a nice spacious house and we felt comfortable. The sofa's were uncomfortable to sit on and they were dirty from prior visitors. This was disappointing! The kitchen was well equipped, dishes and glasses were nice quality:) The comforters on the beds had an odor of being sweaty,not freshly washed. The sheets were fine. Overall I think the house could have been a bit cleaner. The hot tub had 1 jet that didn't work and the bottom felt a bit grimy. But we still enjoyed it and would stay again.We were pleased that we could have our dogs with us. They loved it too!Ethiel & Denise
Linda M. from Baltimore, MD recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013 Loop Lodge home was adequate -Shades in the bedroom on the first floor did not go up and down- and when I tried to pull the shade down it fell off, so in turn I left the shade down. The bedroom on the second fl. with the two twin beds those shades did not work, so they stayed down.The toaster I had to hold the handle down in order to toast bread. The freezer did not have a automatic ice maker- just ice cube trays.I did not like the drive way up to get to the home it was a very bumpy ride- and the stone need to be filled in.I would give this rental home a 6 1/2- I would recommend this home, but I would tell them what needs repairs than they can make the choice to rent the home or not.Next year if we come back to Canaan- we will stay at Cubby Hole.- That is where we stayed at in 2012- and we were comparing it to Loop Lodge. Over all we had a great vacation and love the mountains.
David J. from Pittsburgh, PA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in June, 2013 Excellent accommodations, peaceful and serene surroundings, and impressive views. One of our "new" Favorite spots to vacation.
Robert R. from Vienna, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013 Loop Lodge is special to us as we enjoyed our 16th stay in this beautiful country lodge. Rained about every day, went out in it anyway. Saw a large black bear running in the meadow by Spruce Lake in Timberline. Best of Canaan had the place looking good with plenty of supplies. Used hot tub every day with brand new cover. We feel at home in Loop Lodge, just like our second home. Enjoyed dinner at the Golden Anchor and several at Sirianni's in Davis. Will be back in October for our 17th stay. Best of Canaan does a great job maintaining and caring for Loop. They always make us feel welcome.
A guest from Weirton, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in May, 2013 We have stayed at Loop Lodge many times over the years. We always enjoy our stay and always find the property in perfect condition. This is especially important as nice pet friendly properties difficult to find.
Andrew P. from South Charleston, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2013 The first house in the Canaan area that we have stayed in that we will revisit. Great loction, layout and comfort!
A guest from Clifton, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in January, 2013 The location was very nice for skiing at Timberline and Canaan. The house layout was welcoming, the cable and internet were fully functional, and it was well equipped (the couches we not too comfortable). The previous renters had turned off the hot tub heater so it had frozen. The rental company went out of their way to ensure I was aware of the situation as soon as they were aware. They offered us another property but we choose to stay.
A guest from Marinette, WI recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in January, 2013 We spent a wonderful week relaxing and reconnecting here. The hot tub was a perfect place for looking at the stars! The folks at Best of Canaan were extremely helpful when we accidentally locked ourselves out!!!
Joseph L. from Peoria, IL recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in October, 2012 The proximity of the house to State Parks is excellent. A bit more comfortable chair and couch would help. We'll be back.
Robert R. from Vienna, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in October, 2012 This was our 15th time staying at beautiful Loop Lodge in Canaan Valley. While there we celebrated my 70th birthday,even snowed that day.Down through the years we have enjoyed many wonderful memories staying in Loop Lodge,just like our second home. Amy & Donna, Best of Canaan realtors, treated us well helping to make this a great 8 day experience. The amenites were super this year with plenty of towels, soap, tissues and trash bags. New shower head on downstairs shower was a big improvement.Last June we notified Best of Canaan that the gas grill was gone & needed replaced. It was a pleasant surprise to see a new grill on the porch when we checked in the first day. If I could rate Best of Canaan higher than a five I certainly would.All ready booked Loop Lodge for June and October,2013.
Douglas C. from Harrisburg, PA recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in September, 2012 This was our 4th time staying at the Loop Lodge. The area is beautuful in the fall and the location is great. Lots to see and do in the area. Great little shops in Davis and Thomas. Hiking in Dolly Sods, Spruce Knob or even Old Timberline are great in the fall. The staff at Best of Canaan are great people and some of the niceset property management staff we have ever dealt with. So glad they have this listing now. Thanks to the owners of the Loop Lodge for allowing us once again to bring our bullterrier, Keiko along. He considers it his second home. The house is is good condition...some items (kitchen utensils, pots and pans, toaster need replaced... but we made do with what was provided) Sorry to hear current owners are selling... hopefully new owners will continue to allow us to rent/stay and bring our dog along as well.
Gary B. from Naples, FL does not recommend this property. Stayed for 31 days in July, 2012 The first thing that greeted you at Loop Lodge was an unkept driveway. I had to shovel gravel into ruts at the roadside. The 2nd thing was the outside deck and furniture were were not clean. The furniture was of poor quality and uncomfortable. There was no outdoor table. Inside, the carpeting was badly stained throughout, and the living area furniture was of poor quality. The tvs were from the 90s. Most of the linens and towels were not fit to donate to Goodwill, the agent promised to get new mattress covers, never did. Two toilets needed fixed (noted by a renter a year ago), it took several weeks to get the one operating. One vent fan sounded like a jet starting up, never was replaced. An attempt to fix it by maintenance resulted in the light not working.I replaced one malfuntioning showerhead. There were no cleaning supplies except for two diswasher tabs & a couple of trash bags. On the + side, the grill was new, the washer/dryer, dishwasher, stove and fireplaces worked. The setting is quiet and serene.
Robert R. from Vienna, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2012 This was our 14th time staying at beautiful Loop Lodge. Hot tub worked the best since we began staying at Loop. Only negative would be the poor condition of the gas grill, which has been here since our first stay and needs replaced. Had to finish cooking hamburgers on kitchen range. We love it here in God's Country at Loop Lodge and Canaan Valley.Like it so much we had to track down the new realtor last year to find who had Loop Lodge for 2012 and found Best of Cannaan on our 5th realtor stop.Loop Lodge has given us many special memories and we thank the owners for sharing their lovely home. Hope we can continue renting our favorite mountain chalet for many more years.
Property Manager Response: Response from Best of Canaan You will be happy to know that the owners have put a new gas grill at Loop Lodge!
Fiona H. from Alexandria, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2012 The rental property was beautiful in a great location. The house was lovely with everything we needed. Clean and the facilities were excellent. We had an amazing time and this was made more pleasant by having the wonderful property to go home too. It was peace and quiet and the hot tub topped it off. fabulous location for walking hiking fishing etc
Katherine H. from Arlington, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2012 This cabin was unbelievable - the pictures do NOT do it justice. We had to cut our trip a day short because of the snow storm that came through (LATE APRIL), but other than that everything was beyond perfect. Donna in the rental office was friendly, accommodating, and super friendly. This place is a Utopia for people with dogs and can't vacation without them. My husband and I and our friends absolutely loved our entire experience. We would not change a thing. The ONE negative was that the blender did not work - so no frozen margs :( I will tell anyone who will listen to stay at the Best of Canaan.
Randy E. from Richmond, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2011 We had a nice experience and loved the location, living space and hot tub. The bathrooms and beds could be updated though. Overall, we enjoyed our visit.