Rustic,older,ocean front home south of Waldport built in the 1930's. Two units may be rented together or separately. When one side is occupied, the other side is blocked from renting. Large, rock fireplace in the main home which has three bedrooms, one with king, one with queen, both upstairs with a full bath on the upper level. There's a small study room with a queen on the main level with small bath with shower only. The adjacent unit (B) side has a master bedroom with queen bed and full bath, with fireplaces in both bedroom and family room. Fully equipped kitchens in both units although the older "A" side does not have a dishwasher. Both units have stack washers and dryers. Beach access very close by. The "A" side now has a smart Apple TV. WIFI. Now dog friendly with 1 dog limit.
See all of our Oregon coast vacation rentals
Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 3 Queen
Pets: Dogs Allowed
Additional Features: * AMENITY: jetted tub * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office * Convenience: Golf Course, Nearby Grocery, Nearby Medical Services, Video Rentals * Culture: Hatfield Marine Science Center, Library, Oregon Coast Aquarium/Newport, Visitor's Center * Entertainment: Cable TV, CD Player, DVD Player, Internet Access, WiFi, Apple Smart TV * Geographic: Close to Beach Access, Close to Town, High Bank Ocean Front/No access, Ocean View * Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Toaster * Living: Fireplace, High Speed Internet, Ironing Board, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Jetted indoor tub * Outdoor: Balcony, BBQ Grill, Beach, Deck
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Genna A. from Boise, Idaho recommends this property. Stayed for 10 days in September, 2016 We had a great time! My daughter and grandkids stayed in one side and my fiance and I in the other. Dowd House provided lots of space for everyone, with the option of either privacy or togetherness; the internal door separating the two properties was great, we didn't have to go outside to visit between places. Both kitchens were adequately stocked, the furniture and bedding were nicely appointed, and the units were very clean and ready when we arrived. We had a small issue trying to figure out how to work the upstairs shower (operator error - nothing wrong with the shower), and a quick call to Bayshore Rentals resolved the issue. We had a very nice stay, and we even got lucky with about a week of sunshine. Thanks Bayshore for another great place to stay for vacation, as always! We'll be back!
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2016 The location of this house is great. The views of the ocean are wonderful. The older side of the house is quite dark, even with so many windows. It also has an old/musty smell. There are a LOT of decorative items in the house and old 70s style furniture. I felt like we were staying in a thrift store. The cabinets where the dishes are kept smells horrible - I didn't use any dishes or utensils without washing them first. There were also cobwebs in many places. The new side of the house is much nicer. We enjoyed the backyard and easy access to the beach a few door down.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC Dowd is an older home, we agree. It was built probably in the 1940's and we do advertise that it's older, also we feel the price reflects some of the deficiencies of the home. There's no excuse, however, about the smells and the dishes, although we have not had any complaints about smells before. Maybe we can find you another home next time that is more to your liking.
Lurane G. from Hubbard, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2016 Small but comfortable. Tightly packed in amongst other rental homes. A lot of foot traffic through our yard and driveway. Pictures and description online need updating. Clean with everything you might need included except firewood. Rental company friendly and efficient.
Meagan E. from Duvall, Washington recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2016 The Dowd House is perfect for us and our teenagers. Lots of bathrooms, bedrooms, and since we rent both sides, 2 laundry stations! The house is quirky and comfy. We just love it!
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC Great, hope to see you again soon!
Harry R. from Draper, UT recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2016 What a fabulous stay, wonderful house overlooking a fantastic stretch of beach. The walk to the path down to the beach was short and the beach near deserted everyday.House was cosy, welcoming and well equipped.
Jim W. from Spokane, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in May, 2016 Very peaceful location. The home is very cottage-esque, which would appeal to many, but not all. If you need top drawer, this is not the place for you. It is very well taken care of, and homey. It suited us well. Like anyplace on the coast, constant upkeep is a mandatory. The only thing I saw that needed immediate attention was the gutters were plugged. We rented both sides and it suited our family wants perfectly.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC Great! thanks for the review, you are right, Dowd is a special place and isn't the fanciest, most furnishings are original with the exception of beds and some appliances. The owners are installing a new shower this week!
A guest from Dillon, MONTANA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2015 Very nice place close to the beach only a short walk down. Only thing to complain is the wind was blowing hard and the tree was hitting roof. Made it hard to sleep.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC We will certainly take care of the tree. Thanks for letting us know.
A guest from Gilbert, AZ recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2015 We spent 1 week in this beautiful house with 8 people (including a 14 month old)! We didn't want to leave. The house was perfect for our family retreat, and the views were the best we've ever had a in rental. The walking path to the beach was seconds away, too. The bench overlooking the ocean got use from each family member. And, it was great having the kitchens because our family cooks alot! Next time we travel to the Oregon Coast with a large group, we will stay here again!
Vicky H. from Boise, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2015 One of the few places I have stayed that I can say the actual home was way, way better than the photos! This place has personality, charm, somewhat rustic, homey and just plain comfortable. Not your typical steril mansion that costs 3 times what it is worth! We enjoyed every moment of our stay and will be back.
Meagan E. from Duvall, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2015 We rented both sides of Dowd house and it was fantastic! The house has a lot of charm and felt very home-y. It's a great house to rent with older kids, as they can have their own space, while the two rentals (A and B) are connected with an adjoining door. The house also has 3 bathrooms, which was very convenient. We love Dowd house and will definitely be back. Bayshore Rentals is great to work with, as well. Friendly, efficient customer service, and easy check-in/ check-out procedures.
Martin R. from Toronto, Ontario recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2015 Our vacations on the Oregon coast are usually spent with a least a little rain and grey skies, but not this time. The house was midway among all the places that we wished to visit, and a private, panoramic view of the ocean and Alsea estuary.
Marci S. from Waltham, MA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2015 The Dowd House is a lovely beach house. We rented both sides and enjoyed imagining what the place was like in the old days before the smaller side was built. Everything was clean and there was plenty of room. We had fun investigating shops and seafood, and loved the hike up Cape Perpetua.My only suggestion would be to fix the windows in the older side. Many did not open. A main reason for staying on the beach is for the smell of the ocean and the sound of the surf. It was a bit stuffy/warm on that side of the house and the ocean breeze would take care of that.
A guest from Lebanon, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2015 This house is large enough for our whole family. Nearby easy beach access. Private front yard for watching the fireworks. Grandkids can play without worry. Quiet deadend street. Friendly neighbors.
A guest from Powell, Ohio recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in June, 2015 This eclectic beach house is truly great, especially if you enjoy the unusual. You couldn't ask for a better location, even though it is located in a neighborhood you'd never know it while you're there. Beautiful views about from the inside and even more so from outside. We enjoyed the AppleTV by streaming music while we played cards with the family - the electronics enhanced our experience and did not take away from family time. My only regret is that I didn't book it for a couple of more days. NOTE: one draw back is the amount of work that has to be done to close up (checkout) of the house. For the amount of money paid for clean up a lot less should be required.
Daniel C. from Bellevue, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2014 Once we cleaned up DOWD A and remedied electrical issues and slow draining kitchen sink, the stay was pleasant. My 93 year old father and 88 year old mother loved the view. The weather was extremely good with little heavy wind.
A guest from Bend, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2014 Esta localis=zado en un buen lugar pero esta un poco vieja solo parece que le agregaron otras recamaras mas, es lo unico que no me gusto mitad nueva y mitad vieja y un poco caro.
A guest from Middletown, NJ recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014 We spent three idyllic nights in the Dowd cottage. The view is beautiful and the cabin is charming. We will return!
Renay T. from Salem, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2013 My four development mentally delayed boys had a great time. My boys want to return soon, the vacation staff was very friendly, helpful.
A guest from Homosassa, FL recommends this property. Stayed for 15 days in August, 2013 This older, but nicely refurbished home was a wonderful place where we connected with our spread out family. Everyone loved the location with its beautiful views. The only negative was the early rising squirrels that had taken up residence inside the bedroom wall in unit b.
Gayle C. from Ogden, Utah recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013 My family booked both sides for a fun getaway, and this place was great--they just need to add better pots/pans to the kitchen and it would get 5 stars across the board. The home is quaint, with stellar views and a good feel to it. Additionally, the beach access is an easy walk down the hill. If a person likes a warm atmosphere over modern amenities, this is the place to stay.
A guest from Kuna, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013 The View was amazing. My group stayed in both houses. There were 7 of us which both sides of the house accommodated just fine however the living rooms were a little crammed if we all wanted to be in one. The beach was great because you had the crashing waves to your left and a calm swimming area in the harbor to your right. All in all great vacation and if I ever went with a big group again I wouldn't hesitate to pick this house.
Reviewed by: Caroline B. recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2013 Reserving the house online was a little confusing because we ended up reserving the entire house (Dowd A and Dowd B) without realizing it.Dowd A is larger, but older. The kitchen is really outdated, with an ancient stove and cabinets and drawers that can sometimes be difficult to open and close. It is also quite dark, with little natural light from the outside.Dowd B is newer, but smaller. My only real complaint here is that the bedroom has too much natural light. Even after closing all of the blinds, the patio door still lets in so much light that I could not sleep once the sun was up.Also, if you rent just one side of the house, parking may be a bit tricky. Both sides of the house park single file along the Dowd A side. So it would be a bit of a challenge if you were staying next to an unfamiliar group next door, as you may have a stranger's car blocking in your car.My main issue with the Dowd house (and Bayshore Rentals) was that the house not as clean as I would have liked. When we arrived, there was a used wine glass left outside on the patio, a large dead insect left in the middle of the bathroom floor, and a strange hair in the bathtub. Then, before checking out, we were required to wash all of the used linens and do the dishes, in addition to paying a $145 cleaning fee. Cleaning fees are typical, but in my experience, this fee is about 3 times higher than other homes I've rented.All in all, our stay was okay, but next time I'm in Waldport, I'll look for another place to stay.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC I just read your review and I am so sorry you had sucn a bad experience at the Dowd house. In the summer months we do only offer the entire house as an option for renting as the owner likes to maximize rental income by having the entire home rented. I do want to emphasize that we never rent out both sides so separate parties. If the A side is rented to a guest we block out the B side because of the reasons you mentioned, parking and privacy issues. If you rent the whole house or either one of the separate areas you have both sides to park in. We will certainly speak with the cleaners, there is no excuse for those oversights and I will be refunding you cleaning fee money. We do not ask that you do all the laundry, we do have a sign to please start a load of towels, and start the dishwasher. (Since the A side does not have a dishwasher, washing the dishes would be a nice gesture. Thatnk you for your honest review. Please give us another chance.
A guest from Corvallis, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012 This is our second stay at the Dowd house. It is a special getaway- rustic, but extremely cozy. The nearly 180 degree views of the Pacific over the Alsea River outlet and South beaches cannot be described properly with my limited vocabulary- AWESOME, SPECTACULAR etc...
Lots of character, great views and easy beach access
Ann R. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012 Management company was great. House was old, but "cool" with lots of character and we liked renting both sides. Kitchen in "a", the older side was not great, but "b" was good. great location and wonderful views.
Tim C. from Pullman, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012 The Doud house sits on a bluff above a lovely beach. Unfortunately, the house is in serious need of repairs. The floors are uneven, the showerhead on the main floor doesn't work properly, there's a hook and eye closure on the bathroom door that seriously scratched one of our party and ruined two t-shirts. The steps on side A are narrow and slippery, the carpet may be loose. One of our party almost fell down the stairs. There are no window coverings in the living room of side B and the master on side A. There seems to be an animal stuck somewhere within the walls of the house as well.Finally, all of the notifications about keeping the furnishings in the proper side and that forgotten property wouldn't be returned were off-putting and offensive. I felt like a college kid in a really restrictive dorm not a guest who had paid over $1,000 for the privilege of staying in the Doud House.
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2012 We rented both Dowd A and B to accomodate our family and out of town guests. Dowd B is nice and clean (although you can hear everything in Dowd B, so I wouldn't stay there without renting both). Dowd A smells terrible. The carpeting in the living room and dining room smell of mildew and urine. The downstairs bathroom is disgusting and ought to be condemned. We didn't hardly go in Dowd A because I didn't want my children anywhere near the carpeting. We all huddled in Dowd B for most of our stay to avoid the Dowd A. I can't imagine anyone would like to stay there--especially for a vacation.
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 9 days in August, 2011 Great view from the property and close to the beach access. Subsiding area of the coast, a little bit scary over the edge of the yard. The house was comfortable enough, but the cooking equipment and the kitchen facilities left something to be desired. We had a great time anyway, but I would not rent this property again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC Well, the kitchen in the "older" A side is very small. We have added some more pots and pans and pyrex cookware which should help.
Property was advertised to sleep 10, but when we got there the sleeper couch had a note that said not to use. The little BR has
Donald M. from Eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2011 The property is on a cliff that gives it a very good view. When we arrived the view was interupted by growth of untrimed bushes. A call to the manager resuted in a prompt response and the trimming was accomplished. Result great view returned. A bed and a working sleeper couch would make it great.
A guest from Eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2011 The vegetation surrounding the cottage is starting to take away the view of the ocean. It could stand to be cut back some.
we had a wonderful stay, we will rent again from bay shore, great experience very clean and also felt very private even though w
A guest from klamath falls, oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2011 house because i was told their was nothing between us and the beach and since i am slightly handicapped i was very excited to think i could walk to the beach with little assistance, as to my surprise we were on the edge of a cliff about 80 feet straight down and i was not able to get to the beach from our rental, but believe me all in all, we had the most wonderful time and will rent from bay shore next year, they are a wonderful company to work with.
Melanie H. from Spokane Valley, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2010 The house was very comfortable and in a great location overlooking the ocean. My only complaint is that some of the bed linen was obviously not clean prior to us arriving.
Absolutely amazing home. Makes me wanna move to Waldport, OR.
Derek W. from Yakima, Washington recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2010 Only problem with the place is that it would be nice to have a light above the stove in the smaller portion of the home. Other than that I will be coming back to the Dowd House in the future for sure! I loved this place and I think my family and friends did too...a wonderful view of the pacific and beach too. This home makes me want to move to the Oregon Coast in the very near future!
LIGHTING: B Kitchen's lighting is inadequate. one bulb burned out and no replacement bulb available so had to use table lamp f
Richard F. from Bend, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2010 no dishwasher in A unit/ B's is small so we had to hand wash dishes because of small quantity of plates, etc.
Suzanne W. from Winter Springs, FL recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2010 We loved the Dowd house. We had a group of 12 stay there recently. So we had both A & B sides. We liked B side better as the kitchen was open to seating area. Overall the house was great. No complaints. Loved waking up to the ocean view every morning. The sunsets in the evening were amazing. Perfect. We would definitely stay here again.
Older Oregon Coast Charmer. This to our family is what Coast rental property should be older with lots of characeter.
A guest from Springfield, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2010 Our family enjoyed out stay at the Dowd house. We used both sides A and B. We found the house to be well equipped and in good condition. A few things could have been improved so these were mentioned to the rental agency for consideration. This house has fantastic views of the ocean and Alsea Bay. Beach access is very close and easy to access. Fires on the beach are allowed and we enjoyed making Snores and sitting around the fire at night. If you like old world charm this is the place for you.
Shirley S. from Aurora, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2010 The kitchen in the A section was poorly furnished. There were 4-5 lids for glass bake dishes...but no dish that the lids went to.