Sweet Retreat--R521 South Beach Oregon ocean front vacation rental
Beautiful high bank ocean front home in Pacific Shores, 3 miles south of Newport. 4 bedrooms with queen beds, plus additional sleeping with futon and trundle. Spectacular ocean views from almost every room. Gas log in fireplace,large deck off living room/dining room and master bedroom. State of the art kitchen with every amenity. 2 1/2 baths, garage, laundry room. Beach access is a little more than 1/2 a mile from home. Master bedroom has large bath with shower on main floor. Upper floor has three bedrooms with full bath in hall. Located in private neighborhood, approximately 3 miles south of Newport. Limit 3 cars in driveway. Please drive slowly through neighborhood. Please no dogs Wifi.
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office * Convenience: Area FitnessCenter, Golf Course, Movie Theatres, Nearby Grocery, Nearby Medical Services * Culture: Hatfield Marine Science Center, Oregon Coast Aquarium/Newport, Visitor's Center * Entertainment: Cable TV, CD Player, DVD Player, Games * Geographic: Close to Beach Access, Close to Town, High Bank Ocean Front, Ocean View, On Beach * Kitchen: Blender, Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Ice Maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster * Living: Fireplace with Gas Log, High Speed Internet, Ironing Board, Linens, Washer & Dryer * Outdoor: BBQ Grill, Beach, Deck
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Awesome Ocean front retreat
Novana L. from West Linn, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in May, 2016 The house is clean, comfortable with breathtaking ocean beach view right in front. Located at the end of the road which give even more privacy. Short walk to the neighborhood private beach. We found a lot of claim fossils on the beach. Kids are very happy with their treasures. The management is very kind and helpful. There are lots of activities can do near by. We are very happy with the stay. Will definitely Recommond to friends.
Pamela F. from Junction City, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2016 6 ladies rented this home for a quilting weekend. After rearranging furniture and opening up space in the main living room we did great! Great lighting! The banister above was our showing station of quilts completed and hung from there. It was really nice. The home provides books to read and those were enjoyed. comfortable furniture. A well stocked kitchen. Beds were comfortable. The beach access was quite a walk until some of the ladies discovered a much closer access a few hundred feet from the home to the south. I have never seen a garage so small for such a big house! It wasn't usable at all. We parked without problem. The bank on the road where you enter driveway was occupied by big trucks who were building the home next door until Friday night late. That ended doubling as another place to park. Overall we plan to rent this place again in the fall if possible. We had a great view of the ocean, boats and even a spouting/cresting whale.
Susan D. from Monmouth, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2016 We really enjoyed our stay at Sweet Retreat as we celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary with our family. The house worked out very well with our family of four couples and four children. It is a beautiful home, very cheerful and well designed. We really enjoyed the ocean view and the outdoor deck-we even saw whales and eagles! It was very clean and well supplied with all the appliances and amenities we needed, The realty company was very helpful. We had a problem with the lock box and they sent out a maintenance man right away on a Sunday AM am fixed it for us. They also called during our stay to check that everything was satisfactory. We were very pleased with this rental and hope to enjoy it again in the future . I have already recommended it to a friend.We visited Old Town in Newport, the Marine Museum,the lighthouse and ate crab at the Crab shack . Lots to see and do!
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us! We look forward to your return.
nancy z. from Eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in March, 2016 Beautiful home with wonderful views of the ocean. It was a great place for our whole family to gather for a birthday. Large rooms and a nice deck for summer weather. It's close to the Aquarium and Newport shops and restaurants. The house has wifi but cell service is poor that's why only 4 stars. They do have a land line.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC Thanks for the review. Yes, cell phone service is quite "spotty" in that area of the coast. There's really nothing we can do about that, and some guest do get annoyed about not being able to receive calls. There is wifi, and like you said a land line which might be useful if you had a phone card. We hope you will return!
Perfect for families with little ones and during stormy weather!
Michelle C. from Boring, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in January, 2016 This house turned out to be absolutely perfect! We had our grandchildren with us, twin 1 year olds and a 6 year old. There was not much to get off the ground to get stuff out of their reach - and very spacious and open living dinning kitchen area. So glad we chose this place! A very nice and convenient set up!
A guest from Brownsville, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2015 We spent the recent New Year's weekend at the coast with three other couples. As a group, we have spent New Year's together for several decades, the last 15 years, or so, at various locations on the Coast. This house fit our needs and wants perfectly. We trade who reserves a place each year, and the couple responsible for this coming year has already reserved this house. The only issue we had was that the microwave oven didn't work. We called Bayshore Rentals, and they replaced it within a few hours. Great service. House has a wonderful view of the ocean. Beach access isn't direct, but isn't very far either.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC So happy you had a great time, hope to see you again next year!
A guest from eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2015 Three families began winter break by sharing a weekend at the beach. A great place to just relax and watch the waves. Meals were easy to prepare and serve; everyone had good sleeping places; wifi worked for all requiring that; fire place and trmendous view of ocean kept all happy and entertained.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC Thanks for the positive review. Hope you will be able to return soon.
A guest from the dalles, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in November, 2015 Spotlessly clean, great floor plan, and charming decor! We had a marvelous time. Our only (constructive) criticism was that the wall oven was too tiny. We cooked a small (12 pound) turkey which took up the entire oven. No room to cook our side dishes. We had to partially cook the side dishes at noon, take them out shortly thereafter to get the turkey into the oven for several hours, take out the turkey, put the side dishes back in to finish cooking while the turkey went cold. We were a party of five, half the house capacity. Had there been ten of us, which would have required an 18-20 pound turkey, a big bird like that would not have fit into the oven. Highly recommend the owners install a large capacity oven below the cook top and then either keep the current, tiny wall oven or replace it with a new, larger capacity wall oven. Also, the tiny wall oven is not properly calibrated. We baked several batches of cookies and they came out raw, even after putting them back into the oven for many more minutes. BUT, aside from the oven issue, the house was clean and comfortable and the decor is charming. We had a wonderful time.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC Thanks for the positive review. In all the years no one has ever mentioned the size of the oven, we are sorry if you were inconvenienced. We will check out the calibration of the oven, that could be an issue for other guests. We hope you will return again soon.
A guest from Knoxville, TN recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in September, 2015 Had a wonderful and relaxing time at Sweet Retreat on the Oregon coast. Beautiful home, beautiful views, close to town...if you even bother going out!
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC Thank you Gordon for your house review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at this most comfortable home. It is one of my favorite homes. Barbara
Donald C. from Los Alamos, NM recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2015 Have stayed here several times. Nice space for our entire family and great views/access to the ocean. The deck furniture is getting a little worn and dilapidated. Also, not even leaving a roll of paper towels for the convenience of new arrivals seems a bit too spartan. All in all, a good bargain and we will return.
Alice S. from Beaverton, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2015 This wonderful home is hands down,one of the nicest property's we have ever stayed at. Our family visits the coast for a week each summer. We have done so for the past seventeen years, and always stay someplace different. We ALL agree Sweet Retreat is at the top of the list. This lovely home has everything you could possibly want in a vacation "home away from home". The layout is wonderfully designed.Clearly, a great deal of thought went into every detail of this home. The views from each room are fantastic, the kitchen is perfect,with everything one needs to make great meals.The living room is very comfortable, the big denim couch became everyone's favorite place to hang out.Also the bedrooms are very cute,and the beds are comfortable.We were impressed at how clean the house was as well. We highly recommend this gorgeous home to any family looking for a place to make happy memories a guarantee.
JUDITH B. from BALTIMORE, Maryland recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in August, 2015 This is our 8th visit to this beautiful house. It is so well designed and is the perfect fit for our multi-generational family. We love watching the whales and fishing boats from the deck which extends across the whole back of the house. The location is perfect for all the things we love to do on the Oregon Coast. The people at Bayside couldn't be more accommodating and are wonderful to work with. We just can't wait to come back.
A guest from Orofino, Idaho recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2015 This house is a wonderful place to stay. We had a large group and we had plenty of space. The house was stocked with everything a person would need. It also had both a gas grill and charcoal BBQ for outdoor cooking! We had gorgeous weather so got to utilize the outside deck space a lot. We had numerous nights that we sat and watched the whales pass by!! Also enjoyed the easy access to the beach. Fabulous house and will definitely come back again!
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC Hope to see you again soon!
A guest from Mineral Wells, TX recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2015 I could not have asked for a better experience and how totally everything went perfect...would do this over again Thanks
Danielle W. from Corvallis, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2015 The company we went through were incredibly nice, helpful, and easy to work with. House on the outside looks a little older but on the inside absolutely beautiful. Sleeps ten easily and could sleep more if allowed. Love the big open kitchen dining living room, great for entertaining a group. Views from deck phenomenal! We saw whales and had an amazing feast as the sun set. Only complaint is cell phone service is ****** - but who needs that when your having a blast. Would be great if somehow could add a hot tub or something then Inwould never leave. Short cab ride to the bay front and pizza delivers!
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC Thanks for the wonderful review, yes, cell phone service is always spotty on the coast. Hope to see you again soon.
Soundharya N. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2015 Everything about the house was great, except the Internet did not work for the two days we stayed there. Also, Wave Communications seem to be lacking in ability to address it fast. Not much signal strength for At&T and T-Mobile carriers. But everything else was awesome.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC We are replacing the internet and TV service with a new company on 08/31
Want a lovelly family reunion....give Sweet Retreat a visit..
Marlene N. from Salem, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2015 We numbered 8 adults and everyone was very comfortable. Sweet Retreat exceeded our expectations, however, we couldn't find one washcloth in the whole place! And there wasn't enough unbroken deck furniture for more than four. That can be overlooked because the place is so outstanding in every other way.
Debra O. from Corvallis, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2015 Our stay was very nice. Sweet Retreat has a wonderful view of the beach and ocean. We saw lots of whales and among the shore birds, Eagles!!The house is very nice.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC We hope to see you again soon. Thanks for the wonderful review.
Toni C. from Roseburg, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in March, 2015 The house is beautiful and extremely clean. We had room to stretch out and with plenty of room for everyone. The ocean is so beautiful from the kitchen to livingroom and even three bedrooms. We would stay again!
A guest from Junction City, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in January, 2015 This house was ideal for 6 women on a quilting retreat! The house overlooks the ocean with great views and a large deck. Kitchen was well situated with everything we needed. Nice open areas for relaxing. Bedrooms were very comfortable too!
A guest from Klamath Falls, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2014 House was clean and nicely decorated. View was fantastic! It had everything we needed. Highly recommend to anyone.
Andrew S. from Philomath, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2014 We had a great time! Wonderful view from the master bedroom, living room, and deck. We were able to see whales on multiple occasions. Great value for the price!
Janene D. from Eagle, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in October, 2014 We have stayed here a few times and have recommended to friends. Very clean, great location easy access to anything and everything. Spacious and truly a great place to stay. We did have problems with a few of the kitchen items- the skillet- worked but not well and the coffee maker- important item for most people- slow, super super slow! The rest is great!
A guest from West Linn, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2014 This is 17th year for family reunions of family from Oregon, Washington and Idaho. LOVED THIS HOUSE. Four bedrooms with 2 1/2 baths, which worked out for us all. Loved the layout, large table and TV'S in just 3 of the bedrooms. Great kitchen for all our meals at the house. Beach a little hard to get to but we worked it out. Would go back to this house again in a heart beat.
Philip R. from Nanaimo, BRITISH COLUMBIA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014 The house description online does not do it justice. It was clean, comfortable for all our family (five adults and three children) and had panoramic, breathtaking ocean views. The layout was perfect and we would certainly rent it again.
A guest from Deerpark, IL recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in June, 2014 We had a nice stay at this house. Three families, my parents, my sister and her family and my family all stayed very comfortably at this house. The kitchen was well stocked. The laundry room had all of necessities. There was soft soap at all of the sinks - not much was missing. The only gripe I would have would be the $100 house cleaning fee when they want you to strip the beds of all the linens and bring them down to laundry room, bring all of the towels to the laundry (start a load of laundry), gather all of the garbage and bring it down to garbage can, wash all of the dishes, etc... Seems like a lot of demands when you are paying them to take of that.
A guest from Bothell, Washington recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in May, 2014 We went over with 3 families together and enjoyed the stay to maximum, very nice place to spend some fun time with family.
A guest from Corvallis, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in April, 2014 This place was perfect for our family! We had 4 couples and all got their own bedrooms. The view was amazing, from almost every room in the house! The rental company was great and very friendly to work with. The only downside was that we had to leave! Next time we will reserve this place for longer!
Lisa B. from Lebanon, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in March, 2014 We loved this place it was perfect for all of us. We had 4 teenagers, two little ones and 6 adults. The weather was great and the house was bright and cozy.
Marty L. from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in February, 2014 Absolutely love the place but the sectional needs to be replaced. Very uncomfortable. Also, fix the electronics (wifi and cable) people want to work and enjoy. Couldn't do it. No cell phone signal. These discourage coming back in spite how great the place is because you aren't able to be connected.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC We are so sorry about the lack of signal, there's nothing we can do about lack of cell phone coverage in this area. We did try to compensate you for the difficulties you encountered and we do appreciate your patience with the lack of availability. We hope you will come back.
Judy C. from Monroe, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014 We had a great time with our friends. We could not find the beach access however.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC Gosh, you should have called us! We are in the office every day. We will make sure that the directions are clearly posted from now on. There are two beach accesses, the easiest one being to the north of the house, about a 5 minute walk within the neighborhood, it's a deeded beach access for all the Pacific Shores neighbors to use, every easy to access the beach there. There's also a small place to picnic at the entrance to the beach access.
Sarah P. from Eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014 Sweet Retreat is a wonderful beach front home with room for 10 people. We have stayed there with three couples and four children many times. The kitchen is great for cooking and entertaining, and the living room/dining room/kitchen has a panoramic view of the ocean. A short walk to the beach takes us to magical times, and a wonderful deck is perfect for gin and tonics at sunset. Thank you, Bayshore Rentals, you are wonderful to work with. We have appreciated all the years we have been renting through you. (We have stayed at other houses as well as Sweet Retreat, but this one is our favorite for this big group). Even if the weather is stormy, I love watching the weather come in and go out. It's a magical place to stay. Bedrooms and beds are great too!
Carol B. from Eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2013 The home was delightful; bright colors and pretty accessories -- didn't even want to leave the house during the day. There were five women in our group and we'd all go back again.
A guest from CENTRAL POINT, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013 I almost hesitate to rate this house it was so nice! So glad we found it. Will definitely be renting it again when we have a group.
Lori A. from Wilder, Idaho recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013 Okay we loved it! Beautiful, bright, cheery colors, very clean and well stocked. Super easy beach access and the weather was great. We look forward to coming back. The staff at Bayshore were great also! Very friendly and helpful, it made the experience that much better.
A guest from Grants Ville, Maryland recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in September, 2013 We are a family of interesting people. We meet each September for a week of recreation, adventure, and relaxation. Sweet Retreat was perfect, well set, near the beach, good space, and was in reality everything the individual pictures in the advertising represented. The only problem we see is that the front picture shows a boring house. In actuality, the home has terrific windows throughout, all ocean view. The family room kitchen space is perfect for a group of five. The bedrooms look out on the sea and are large and bright. You can not appreciate the full value of the home from the picture of the front.
Elle B. from Walterville, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2013 We had a wonderful Labor Day weekend getaway here! Great house to stay in and lots of room. The beach is just a short walk away and miles of it.
Patricia R. from Bend, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2013 Wonderful house.Great views.Would replace the chipped plates.Thank you for the clean carpets.Polyester sheets not my favorite.Lauren bedding great.All an all we really enjoyed ourselves.Thanks
Ian T. from Boise, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013 Check-in and payment was convenient and professional. The house was well-appointed and had everything we needed. (The only possible complaint would be the cleanliness and condition of the gas grill.) Location is great and the access to the beach was not a problem at all. The house provides a nice space, with plenty of room and beautiful views.
Glen S. from Meridian, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013 We Had A Great Time While Staying Here! We had a Large Group.The Location Was Very Nice. Close Enough To newport For convenience.I Thought about writing Something Bad So That It Would Remain A Secret But I Could Not Do It. We Absolutely Enjoyed Our Stay. Nice And Quite. Close Enough To The Beach for A Small walk After Dinner Or First Thing In The Morning. Loved It. Thank You!!
Mary C. from Burley, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013 The house was beautiful, great view. The location was perfect for the things we had planned. Sand rails in Florence, fishing trip out of Newport to shopping in Depot Bay.. I would recommend this property to any of my friends. PS.. I saw a post about the beach access and having to drive to it.. There is actually a trail down to the beach just past the property located at the end of the drive (just next door). You have to skirt the front of the next door property and then take a narrow little trial down to the beach. It is a little steep, but not too far down. There is also a road you can use if you go back up to the highway that would be good if you wanted to take chairs or a picnic down to the beach.
A guest from Lava Hot Springs, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2013 Our party of 10 stayed in this house for 4 days and had a wonderful time! Upon walking into the front door you are greeted with bright, cheerful colors and decorations that give it a very "homey" feel. The layout is interesting and fun! Everything that you need is supplied, the only problem we had with the amenities were the dull knives. We weren't able to successfully cut much. The furniture is all very clean and in great condition. The beds were also very comfortable. The location is great as well! The ocean is clearly visible through most of the windows, including the entire panel of windows in the kitchen/living room area where it's easy to spot whales. We spent a good portion of our time with binoculars viewing whales from the kitchen!There is a nice beach access, but driving to it is easier than walking as it is further than expected. In addition, the house isn't very far from Newport, making grocery or leisure trips do-able. The only other slight issue we had was the bathroom arrangement. Aside from the master suite, there is only a full bath upstairs plus a half downstairs. Fitting most of the house in 1.5 bathrooms was somewhat inconvenient. All-in-all a very clean, comfortable, relaxing home that made us all sad to leave!
Debra O. from Corvallis, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in April, 2013 We very much enjoyed our mid-April stay at Sweet Retreat. Great views of the beach and ocean from inside--we got to see whales! and we enjoyed sitting out on the deck.
A guest from Cordova, Alaska recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2013 This rental worked out great but my one complaint is the $100 cleaning fee, specially when you have to do the laundry (sheets and towels). Overall, the place was great with a wonderful, quiet (few people) beach. Awesome views!
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC We don't ask you to do the laundry, simply do up some towels as you can. The washing machine and dryer is really small for that home and all the towels we supply. It's so helpful for the cleaners not to have to spend an extra 4 hours just waiting for towels to dry. Sweet Retreat is very large and there's a lot of surface to clean. We do appreciate your feed back.
Pat B. from Eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2013 Our entire group loves this super clean house! I always enjoy speaking with the Bayshore people - they always friendly and helpful.
A guest from Salem, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2013 We were four couples spending 3 nights together for food, fellowship and fun. Sweet Retreat was a perfect place, comfortable and cute. The kitchen was great for 8 foodies to impress one another with their skills.
Calvin C. from Albany, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2012 We had an AMAZING weekend at Sweet Retreat!! It was great to have all our kids and grandkids together. The grandboys had fun and there was plenty of room. The weather was incredible---especially for December!! Everything we needed was at the rental. We are already planning our next trip!!
Andee K. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in December, 2012 Our entire family stayed at Sweet Retreat over the Christmas holiday and enjoyed our stay very much. View was awesome from all rooms but one and house was very clean and comfortable with room for all of us.
Linda M. from yakima, washington recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2012 This location and home was perfect for us. We did not want to leave. Very comfortable, and the kitchen was perfect for our needs with the Thanksgiving meal! Thank You!!
Katherine N. from Oregon City, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2012 We had a wonderful few days! The house was perfect for our group, and the gathering areas made it great for all the visiting together. Glad we brought our own chairs for deck, so we had enough for everyone. The bath faucet is "unusual" and had us stumped as to how to get the shower on... putting up a sign or a different spout would make things easier. We would have loved a fire in the evenings, or even in the cold morning times, but were told it wasn't turned on until winter. It would have added to the ambiance of being at the beach. Overall, we all would like to return next year!
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC We apologize for the fireplace, it's usually so warm in our homes facing the west with lots of windows that we don't have availability in the summer in some homes. We will put up a sign for the shower, we did have one there at one time. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
A guest from North Vancouver, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in August, 2012 Great place, beautiful location,Bayshorte staff friendly and helpful... only changes I would like to see are 1. queen or king size beds in the 2 main bedrooms with higher quality mattress and bedspring (they hurt both my wife and mine old backs) 2. keybox put in use so guests do not have to pick up and drop off keys in Waldport, it is an 8+ hour drive from Vancouver so adding the drive to Waldport and back (about 40 minutes?)makes it seem that much longer...we have stayed at several places in Northern Oregon that all have had keybox's.Thanks!
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC We do have a lockbox at the house, so not sure why you were not informed of that and we apologize. It's in plain sight also, sorry it was overlooked. All the bedrooms have queen beds, not sure about the quality though, we will look into it. Glad you thought we were "friendly and helpful", thanks!
A guest from Seattle, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2012 This is the second time we have rented this house. We LOVE the house, but this is the second year the weather has been unwelcoming; but, we might have considered coming back, but we were literally 'thrown off' at the ending. It is true that with our large family and little ones it was challenging to get out of the house at EXACTLY 11 a.m., we did our best though. My daughter called the mgr. and let her know we would be out soon, in about 20 minutes, which I think was over the 11 a.m. and what should we do with the keys. She told my daughter just to leave them if we were going to be leaving, but then before we were fully out, she arrived and started going through the kitchen, she was actually slamming things around. Very much an attitude of not really caring about us as a family, she didn't connect or communicate with us, like saying "HI! I hope it's okay if I come in and start working on the house, and hope your stay was great." We were fully out, just checking last minute stuff, doing a sweep to make sure all was out when she arrived. There were NO smiles, no connection whatsoever. I came out of the back bedroom having no idea she was there and saw a person in the kitchen I did not know. Out front my kids told me who she was so I went in and introduced myself and thanked her, she barely acknowledged that. Sorry but this person is NOT someone you want to represent your house. That was ridiculous! We all left feeling let down, especially after we tried so hard to follow all instructions. We left that house CLEAN, I KNOW because I used to manage houses in the Yachats area. Our family believes in integrity and caring for others. Clearly we did not get that in return. Still, we realize that perhaps she was having a personally difficult day, and that is normal, but as a representative of the property, she needs to hear that whatever brought her to the house that day with that attitude while we were still there, it left us feeling disrespected. Thank you.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC I apologize for the lack of respect to your family. This person must have been a cleaner, she was not the management. Our cleaners feel a huge pressure to get into the home and get it ready for the next guest. If you were sitll in the home after 11 am, we have intsturcted our cleaners to begin cleaning. Sweet Retreat is a very large home and depending on how it was left by the previous guests can take many hours to clean. On the flip side the cleaner might have felt "disrespected" for having to work around your family when it clearly states check out is at 11 am. It's very difficult to get these homes cleaned and ready for the next guests who, sometimes show up early hoping to get in to the home early. Everyone is under pressure this time of year to please the outgoing guests and the incoming guests. We hope you will return, but please resepect the 11 am check out time. Thank you.
Peter D. from Eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012 This beautiful beach house is at a convenient yet secluded location south of Newport. It is light and bright, perfect for a beach stay. Access to the beach was a little awkward but very manageable. The views were excellent from all rooms except one bedroom which faced the east. It was still a lovely room. The kitchen/dining area was well equipped and well accomodated our group. Since this trip was a first time visit to the Pacific ocean for some of our family members, this home was a fabulous pick tuly giving the best of what our Oregon coast has to offer. The staff at Bayshore Rentals were so helpful and accomodating. We certainly look forward to renting again!!!
Kathleen M. from Lancaster, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012 This Beach House is amazing for a family vacation! The view of the beach is perfect and we loved it! It is a lot bigger than it looks in the photos on-line, bright and cheery. Afternoons were sometimes too bright, but we just lowered the blinds half way down on the amazing wall of windows and that made it perfect! The worst part of this vacation was leaving!
A guest from Meridian, Idaho recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012 Just returned home from our 3rd stay at this beautiful home on the Coast;the perfect place for a relaxing vacation. My first and only choice when vacationing to Oregon. Clean, so comfortable and the views from the deck are breathtaking. We've clelbrated 2 birthdays there over the years. If I had to make any negative comment, it would be this (albeit, so very minor) that there just weren't enough lounge chairs on the deck for all our guests. Otherwise, PERFECT & BEAUTIFUL home.
Patricia M. from Boise, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in April, 2012 The home was very clean. It was actually larger than the pictures showed. Access to the beach was easy, just beyond the house next door. I would like to stay there again sometime.
Pat B. from Eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2012 The home is very comfortable and the question we did have (after hours) was answered quickly. Thank you. We're looking forward to an Oct. stay!!
A guest from Eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2011 The weather rained hard and wind blew, the whole three days, but my family had a great time indoors that snug home with the big kitchen and great view.
A guest from Eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2011 We enjoyed our stay very much, and found the home and location lovely.My recommendations would be to more fully supply with essentials. There was no foil or bar soap. Also the kitchen pots & pan needed an upgrade and glasses were a mix match. Also the carpets could have used a cleaning.
Shyla D. from Richland, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2011 We had a great time staying at Sweet Retreat.... The house was clean and fully stocked with every cooking utencil, towel, and linen we could want. The only thing that was a little deciving was the overall size of the main living quaters. We had planned to have a party of 7 stay with us over Thanksgiving but only 4 ended up making the trip. The pictures are a little deciving on the living room size, if all 7 people would have arrived it would have been a tight fit. The bedrooms on the other hadn were perfect..... I loved waking up every morning to the sound of the ocean.... Great Rental, I would highly recommend.
Judy B. from Baltimore, MD recommends this property. Stayed for 21 days in October, 2011 We look forward every year to coming back to Sweet Retreat. The house is so well designed and so comfortable. The views are magnificent and the sunsets even more colorful in the fall. Susan, Barbara and the rest of the staff are great about instantly responding to any requests (a highchair for our granddaughter or fixing the wall switch on the fireplace) and we look forward to our next visit from the very day we leave. Our one suggestion would be to have Wi-Fi available.
One of the TOP locations/properties we've been in!
A guest from Albany, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2011 Would only add--notice in info to bring house slippers/socks because shoes are to be removed in house. Thanks. Also appreciated not having to drive to Waldport to get/return key. Also the phone call that we could arrive early.
A guest from Lake Stevens, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2011 the house didnt have any paper towels or coffee filters- We drove from seattle and didn't think we'd have to purchase these. At other properties that I have stayed in they were included.
Property Manager Response: Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC Sorry, the coffee filters should have been there. We do not provide paper towels and state that in all of our information. We hope you were not too inconvenienced.
Douglas B. from Vancouver, Washington recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2011 This place was a breathless walking into it once we unlocked the doors, the kids were enamored. The plan was to go do the typical Undersea gardens/Ripley's museum/Hatfield Science center stuff. We did none of it due to the lure of how wonderfully homey the place was and we just spent time on the beach below. Cooking meals were a delight in the open area kitchen as conversations flowed unobstructed between the kitchen and those in the front room. I'm Definitely coming back.
A guest from Spokane, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in May, 2011 We were very pleased with this home. There were 4 couples that went on this trip and it was awsome that every room had a queen bed. Full kitchen-stocked w/everything, toilet paper in bathrooms, LOTS of towels... The only unexpected thing was that I believe the description of the home said every room has a view of the ocean and one of the rooms did not. But no big deal... if we ever go to the oregon coast again this home will definetly be on our list to chk availability.
Kristin S. from Albany, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in March, 2011 this is the 4th time I've stayed in that particular property and it was absolutely wonderful each time. We will definitely be back. Thanks!
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in November, 2010 The management company is in Waldport, but this house is in South Beach. We had to drive to Waldport to pick up the key. The house should have a lock box for the key.
Sharon R. from Lorane, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2010 The house was warm and just perfect for a family to have a great time together...roomy, beautiful and the views are amazing!
Thomas C. from Salem, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2010 Superb views complement this spacious well-appointed property. For the price- and in our current age of computers - you would expect wi-fi.
Judy B. from Baltimore, MD recommends this property. Stayed for 15 days in June, 2010 This beautiful, well-designed home with its magnificant views of the Pacific from almost every room, calls us back year after year (this was our 5th). It is the perfect vacation spot for our multi-generational family. The house is so well designed we never feel crowded. We can't wait until our next visit!