Sunset Knoll~ Tranquility on the Bluff w/ Sweeping Ocean Views, Pets Welcome
Sunset Knoll offers the best in comfort, privacy and sweeping ocean views. Set up high on a bluff in the private community of Baker Ranch, this home offers beautiful scenery of Baker Beach below. The back yard is grassy and expansive, great for barbecues and picnics or walk down to the meditation bench to sit and take it all in. Sunset Knoll is approximately a quarter mile walk down to Baker Beach and just 1 mile south of Trinidad on Scenic Road. Upstairs is the main living room, dining area and master bedroom with queen bed and bath. The living room also has a very comfortable queen sofa sleeper. Downstairs has one bedroom with a queen bed and another bedroom with two twin beds plus a full bathroom. The house is comfortably furnished. The wood stove adds both warmth and ambiance. The deck is great for relaxing and has a gas barbecue. This pet friendly home includes a nice, large outdoor dog kennel. Sunset Knoll also includes: dishwasher, washer/dryer, flat-screen T.V. with plenty of channels, DVD/VCR, and stereo. FREE WiFi included.
Room Description: Upstairs - Master bedroom and bath with a queen bed. Living room has a Queen sofa sleeper. Downstairs- One bedroom with a queen bed and one bedroom with 2 twin beds and a second bathroom.
Pets: Dogs Allowed
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Internet Cafe, Near Town * Convenience: Nearby Grocery * Culture: Near Town, Near Patricks Point, Near Redwood National Park * Entertainment: Satellite TV, CD Player, Stereo System, VCR, Wi-Fi * Geographic: Secluded, Near Beach, Close to Town, Ocean Views, Wooded * Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Dishwasher * Living: Central Air, Linens, Wood Stove, Wi-fi Internet, Laundry & Laundry supplies, Garage Parking Available, No Internet, Beds - 2Q, 2 Twins, 1Q sofa bed * Outdoor: Deck, Gas Grill, Large Back yard, Large gated dog kennel
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
great fanily tradition
A guest from Ventura, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 10 days in June, 2016 This is our sixth stay and we plan to return. We love the place. Our only problem is the curtains. We are all light sensitive and even though we go to bed much earlier than at home we are exhausted as we wake at dawn, The curtains are so inadequate. My daughter brings sheets to drape over the windows but that isn,t effective. Amazon sells blackout curtains at a very reasonable cost. There was water pooling under the sink and the toaster only worked sporadically. Loved the new bbq,
A guest from Broomfield, CO recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2016 Spent a long relaxing weekend with the family. We had a wonderful time. The place exceeded all of our expectations! Only regret is not eating a Larupin while we there.
A guest from Redding, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2015 The property is in a phenomenal location, was clearly dated but still very functional and the rental process was conducted in a very professional and efficient manner. The cliff which provided the exceptional views would have been problematic for our dogs as one excited misstep would have been a disaster. Energetic dogs would need to be leashed when outside and would not enjoy long stays in the small kennel.
Lorraine E. from Hawthorne, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2015 The home is beautiful! The location is perfect for a family getaway. We stayed here for a week while our freshman was getting settled at HSU! We hope to visit her often and plan on staying at Sunset Knoll. The home was just beautiful! The staff was very pleasant to work with, everything ran smooth. There was plenty of linens, kitchenware, and even goodies for our pets!
A guest from San Jose, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2015 We had a wonderful time staying here for 5 nights in early August. The highlight is without doubt the location and views from the bluff - we had some amazing sunset views. We will definitely be back, I highly recommend Sunset Knoll.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We look forward to your next visit and appreciate your business! - Reid
A guest from Ventura, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2015 as usual we picked up a lot of other people's "pooh". The new carpets are nice.We noticed leakage and moss on the black tanks in the yard.\A vegetable peeler would be nice, also some more folding chairs to use on the lawn.As always we had a wonderful time and are already looking forward to next year.
A guest from Anderson, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2015 We had a wonderful visit to the coast for the 4th of July. The property is beautiful. Located close to town, but not to close to neighbors. The only downfall was the bedroom doors on the entry floor were squeaky loud and the toaster didn't work.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Glad you had a wonderful visit. I will have our handyman oil the doors to see if we can make them less sqeaky. Sorry you had trouble with the toaster. I checked it after you left and got it to work just fine just needed to hold the button down and turn the knob. Next time please contact us when you are having an issue and we will send a manager to assist you. We are always happy to help! - Jonna
Michael F. from Bellevue, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in June, 2015 Spent two days in this charming cottage. When we arrived we were blown away with the size and condition of this property. 3 bedrooms/2 baths. Wood burning fireplace. Huge deck overlooking the ocean. The views are amazing. The property immaculate. The only problem was the WIFI didn't work, but we were happy to divorce ourselves from technology for our stay. Highly recommended.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats A break from technology is always a welcome retreat but next time please contact us right away so that we can trouble shoot it for you. Although we cannot guarantee WiFi connectivity due to rural location we usually can assist our guests and get things working just fine by resetting the router. Thank you for the recommendation. We hope you visit us again. - Reid
Tom W. from Newbury Park, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2015 We had a great time at this house. The view from the house was amazing. The house worked well for us. We had Three kids and a dog and were very comfortable. The place had brand new carpet and was well stocked. We will be returning we hope soon.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Sunset Knoll is a perfect choice for a pet friendly, family stay. We are glad you found a home away from home and look forward to you visiting us again! - Jonna
Gina I. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in June, 2015 This was the 4th time we have stayed in this home. As always, the house is warm, family friendly, and the view is amazing. The kitchen and bathrooms very clean and i appreicated access to a full size washer and drayer. We will be back!
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit! Glad you have found your "Home away from Home!". -Jonna
Michael M. from Hemet, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2014 We were on a visit when our motor home break down and needed a place to stay.for 3 nights. We found this place on the Internet and tookit that day. It was such a great place we didn't want to leave.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Sometimes there is a silver lining, glad you found it at Sunset Knoll. - Jonna
A guest from Martinez, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2014 Had avery relaxing weekend while visiting family. The view is one of the best I've seen. Beds were warm and comfortable. Loved being able to bring my dog.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Glad to hear you had a relaxing stay! - Desiree
Amazing Panoramic View of the Ocean & Trinidad Bay
Jennifer F. from Redding, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2014 We couldn't have been more pleased with the setting & views from this rental property. From every room of the house, the deck, and the large, park-like yard, all you see is ocean. It felt as if we had a private park to ourselves! I also appreciated finding a rental that allowed me to include my 2 small dogs. The house itself was very clean and comfortable and, though the interior is a bit dated, the price is probably reasonable because of that. Everything important was spot on; comfortable beds & furniture, clean bathrooms with plenty of towels, etc. We will definitely rent this place again and recommend it without hesitation.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We agree. Sunset Knoll is a great value for an ocean view, pet friendly, comfortable home. It may not be fancy but the views more than make up for it! We look forward to working with you again. - Jonna
A guest from Ontario, NY does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2014 We had a wonderful family trip. The view was beautiful. Quiet secluded location. Well equiped with linens. There were several broken kitchen cabinet doors, some type of liquid dripped from the stove vent hood despite wiping it up several times it persisted, dirty kitchen floor and terribly stained rugs. The back patio rails could use more side rails for safety. A child can easily slip their head and/or body in between them. We had a one year old with us so cleanliness and safety were concerns.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We were just notified about the kitchen cabinet doors and did not have time for repairs prior to your arrival, my apologies. I had not heard about a liquid dripping from the stove vent until now so will definitely investigate. We encourage our guests to contact our management right away with any issues so that we can deal with them in a timely manner. I had the rugs professionally cleaned right after your departure. Being a pet friendly home the rugs do take a beating and we clean them twice a season. The owner does have plans to replace the carpet before the next summer season. I will definitely discuss your cleaning complaints with our housekeeping manager. Please visit us again and I would be happy to waive your cleaning fee. - Jonna
Matt L. from Camas, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2014 We were able to rent this home at the last minute for less than we would have been able to rent two hotel rooms. This was my first experience using VRBO and we were very pleased.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Vacation rentals are a great way to go! Glad you enjoyed your last minute stay at Sunset Knoll. - Jonna
Mary F. from Olympia, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in July, 2014 This vacation home is in a beautiful setting. We stayed last year and were not offered the repeat stay discount. Other than that, the property management people were excellent. They were very understanding when I did not get emails and resent them to another address. They were also helpful when we added a fishing trip to the itinerary. The home is well stocked and very comfortable. My only corrective feedback is that it was not as well kept as last year. The lawn was not mowed (my husband ended up mowing with the lawnmower in the garage) and the inside of the home was not as clean. Despite this, I would still stay at the rental again because of excellent property management and beautiful location.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats I am sorry to hear that the lawn was not looking well kept. The landscaper comes every two weeks or so this time of year as the grass starts to go dormant. We would never want or expect a guest to mow the lawn and wish you had notified us right away as we would have taken care of it for you. We included your 7th night free which is a $295 savings. We do not offer multiple discounts, especially during our busy summer season. The owner is planning on replacing the carpets next year which will really refresh this home. I will pass your feedback along to our housekeeping and landscaping staff. I would be happy to waive your next cleaning fee. -Jonna
A guest from Bella Vista, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 9 days in July, 2014 The setting is incredible. We had problems with getting a hold of management - they did not respond for 2 days when we had an issue with garbage not being picked up from former tenants. (We arrived Friday - garbage was supposed to be picked up Thursday). The carpets were dirty. Everything else was very well maintained - the house is well equipped. We would definitely come again - just would like better response from management.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We apologize for not getting back to you, we actually did not receive your message. Trash is scheduled for pick up on Thursdays and Sundays so I am not exactly sure what happened. We had the carpets professionally cleaned in May but being a dog-friendly home this carpet takes some wear & tear. The owner is actually planning on replacing the carpets before next summer season. Please remind us of your comments when you call to book next year and I will waive the cleaning fee! - Jonna
A guest from Anderson, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014 Awesome views from the deck. Large windows let light in from all over the house and allowed us to enjoy the view of the ocean from the second story. Plenty of room and hot water. Truly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this property.
James R. from Redding, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in June, 2014 We've stayed at this property a number of times and it seems that it's not being kept up as well as other properties we've stayed in. As soon as I walked in and went to open the screen door to the deck the screen door fell off. My son and I attempted to fix it, but it was clear that it needed significant repair and was just leaning against the frame. Other little things like a dirty ice container, only a partial roll of paper towels, cheap & falling apart furniture on deck, etc., made for a pretty bare bones rental. And at that price there are other rentals that go out of their way to make it more comfortable and accommodating to their guests.
Gina I. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2013 Our family has vacationed in Trinidad for over 50 years and we have stayed at this home several times. The location and view can not be beat! Sunset Knoll is our home away from home.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Thanks for staying with Trinidad Retreats, we hope to see you next year. So many of our guest keep coming back to us and we often offer discounts and feebees to our return customers~ Reid (owner)
A guest from Arcata, ca, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2013 The house is fine; having a kitchen/living room upstairs was new to us but we understood as soon as we looked out the windows. We had amazing days with little fog and great sunsets. We live close by but wanted to give our house to relatives while having a small get together here and it worked great.
Carolyn W. from South Lake Tahoe, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013 This house was in a beautiful location. It was close to everything we wanted to do. The beds were very comfortable and we had everything we needed. The house was pretty clean with the exception of the carpet it could use a professional cleaning and they should really vacuum out the kitchen drawers after each check out, otherwise these small issues can be overlooked as it wasa great place to stay and we will be back
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Thank you for staying with us, we have alerted our housekeepers to the crumbs and we have had the carpets cleaned. We hope to see you next year. Reid (Owner)
A guest from Fresno, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in July, 2013 Hello,We had a great time. It was a perfect low key retreat, with a great house that served as our home base. We were very pleased with the clean house, and the views that were spectacular. We look forward to returning next year.
Patricia k. from Ventura, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in July, 2013 Your pre info said paper products were supplied - we were only three but had to shop for Tp and paper towels.The hallway needs paint and the kitchen cabinets need varnish but we had a wonderful time - relished the view and the privacy (picked a lot of dog pooh not from our dog)Overall it was wonderful and we are planning a repeat net year.
A guest from Weed, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2013 The location & view couldn't be better, but that was the only good thing about this place. The house is outdated, has terrible decor & furniture, and wasn't that clean. Since the view is the best thing about it, you'd think there would be nice deck furniture to sit in and enjoy the scene, but no. The one loft had furniture haphazardly stacked in it, (which was unsightly) and a sign saying not to go up in it. The other loft had a big ugly plastic tarp covering whatever was up there. I would not recommend this place unless you only want a good location and view.
Mary F. from Olympia, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in June, 2013 This home had a spectacular view and was extremely comfortable for our family. The kitchen was well equipped for our cooking needs. The home is located in close proximity to Arcata, where we watched two baseball games, and to a beautiful beach. I would highly recommend this home. Thanks for a wonderful experience.
A guest from danville, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2012 Staying in Trinidad is always a peaceful retreat from our normal lives. The scenery, the sounds, the smells, the fog--you couldn't ask for more. The home is maintained well enough--and you can't beat the location. I could live on the deck......
A guest from Pine Grove, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012 The house was everything we expected, as we stayed there last year too. My only complaint is that the twin beds were very uncomfortable--they really should be replaced. The day we locked ourselves out of the house, we tried to drive to the office to get another key, only to find out there really isn't an actual location. That made our wait to be let back into the house take over an hour, and we had a tired toddler needing a nap at that time.Another issue is that we noticed that on the website the price for that house had been reduced . . . and since we had booked a few months ago, we paid a higher price. That did not seem fair to us.Overall, we had a nice stay. Thank you for asking.Lyn Edick
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Thank you for your feedback. We have a home office and are available 7 days a week. We will discuss getting new beds with the homeowner. Prices may vary depending on the time of booking and current specials being offered. Please visit us again and we would be happy to offer you a discount on your next stay. - Jonna
Elisha L. from Corning, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012 We had a lovely time in this house. The view was spectacular and it was just a short drives away from several beaches. I guess we have been spoiled by other renting houses who stocked their houses with items like cooking oil and fish fry, as well we chairs for the beach, and toys for dogs to play with and board games for us adults. The location of the house beautiful and was so private. The house is outdated and there are not luxurious amenities, but that did not detract from the experience as far as we were concern. But in the future, I think we would pick a location that was a little more modern and contained more of the comforts of home as park of the package. We enjoyed thie house thoroughly and tried to care for it as it it were our home and made lovely memories there, but hopefully next time we could find a home through trinidad retreats that was appropriate for our grandmother with disabilities
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We are glad you had a lovely time at Sunset Knoll. We will pass along your feedback to the homeowner about "updating the decor and providing more amenities". Trinidad Retreats does have a range of properties it manages and has many homes that are much more contemporary with all of the quality amenities I think you may be looking for. We look forward to working with you again to help you find a home that provides you with all the comforts and meets your grandmother's needs. -Jonna
Comfortable Relaxing Home with Beautiful Scenery and Sunset View
A guest from Fresno, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012 My family and I had a good time in this house. Inside you feel like you are away from everything, yet if you want to go to the market, it is a two minute drive. The management were very helpful and easy to deal with. We are already talking about going there again in the near future.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We look forward to you visiting us again. - Jonna
A guest from Ventura, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012 Once again we had a wonderful time at Sunset Knoll. Ryan was extremely helpful, especially in getting help when our dog tumbled down the hill. The rescue people couldn't have been nicer and, thankfully, the dog was unhurt.It was disturbing to have people coming an the property to harvest mushrooms several times, bringing a truck.We had both keys the night before we left but could not unearth the second after everything was packed in the car, and still haven't found it. We will, of course, pay for a replacement if it wasn't located in the clean-up and should we find it we will immediately return it.Thank you again the house was excellent for our purposes. We will probably be back.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats So glad your dog is all right and you had a nice stay. This was the first occurence to our knowledge of people coming onto the property. We will post "No Trespassing"signs and alert the neighbors. We look forward to you visiting us again. - Reid
ANNI H. from OROVILLE, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2012 We really enjoyed our stay. Beautiful views.The bed was very comfortable. The woodstove put out some wonderful heat and ambiance. Thank you for sharing.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Sunset Knoll. It is a very comfortable home with great views. We hope you visit us again. - Reid
Relaxing vacation with spectacular ocean breezes and view
A guest from Redding, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in June, 2012 Very nice property in forest-like setting, very private and secluded location. We enjoyed the nice deck and ocean view, having satellite service was especially welcome!
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you visit us again!Jonna
Janet G. from Stockton, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2012 Trinidad has been a vacation destination for us for over forty years. We rented Sunset Knoll for three nights (four days) in late May 2012. This is the third time we have rented this house, so obviously we like the house and the area. If anything, the house was cleaner and the furniture more comfortable than the last time we rented (about 3 years ago). We used the gas grill (a big improvement over the old charcoal grill that was there before). The views are spectacular. This year we had our son-in-law with us who is from the East Coast and had never been to Humboldt County before. He was impressed with the beaches, hiking, and good restaurant food available in Trinidad and the surrounding areas. Dealing with Trinidad Retreats is easy and there were no logistical problems. We'd definitely recommend Trinidad Retreats and this house to friends (in fact, we have!)
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats We are thrilled you enjoyed the improvements to Sunset Knoll! Sounds like you had a great stay. We appreciate your return business! - Jonna
A guest from Dublin, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in September, 2011 We arrived to a very comfortable and well equipped home with beautiful views of Trinidad Bay. It was very private and quiet and we enjoyed spending the majority of out time just being there. It was close enough to town and the beaches. I would definitely stay there again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats So glad you liked the Sunset Knoll. Look forward in seeing you next summer.
Reviewed by: Robin B. recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2011 The property exceeded expectations. The accommodations were great and the view absolutely stunning. I would most definitely stay again and highly recommended staying at sunset knoll when visiting California's beautiful north coast.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats So glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to you staying with us again!Desiree
A guest from Mt. Shasta, CA 96067 recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2011 The property is a bit worn and lacks any warmth or personality, but the view is great if you are just looking for a little retreat.
Property Manager Response: Response from Trinidad Retreats Sorry you felt that way, glad you enjoyed the views.
A guest from Hayward, California recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2011 The location and view was great. Loved sitting in the back watching and listening to the ocean. The house was nice, deck was great. Only suggestion would be to update the living room furniture to make it more comfortable. Would recommend this place and would stay again. Our dog loved it also!!
A guest from Danville, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2011 The only disappointing aspect of the stay at Sunset Knoll in Trinidad is that we didn't stay longer. The location was beyond expectations, the house was much nicer than expected and maybe the most surprising thing of all was how comfortable the beds were! It had all of the comforts of home with an exceptional view! Can hardly wait to go back!
Tracy A. from Redding, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2011 Very peaceful and spectacular views welcome you. Location close to town, easy to find. Get away from the Valley heat and enjoy!
A guest from Oroville, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in July, 2011 We had a wonderful time at Sunset Knoll. The location and views couldn't be better. In fact we hope to return again in the future. Everyone commented on how wonderful our stay was. The only suggestions we have are; the carpets really need a deep clean and perhaps a pest control service for the spiders. Other than that our stay couldn't have been better. We really liked the floor plan and would recommend this home to anyone looking for a great vacation.
A guest from Pine Grove, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2011 This house was adequately clean but not spotless. The rug and furniture were pretty worn and the kitchen was not well-stocked and was quite disorganized (i.e., there were bowls in 4 different locations.
Noah I. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in June, 2011 We had a great visit to Sunset Knoll. The location is convenient and beautiful, the house is comfortable. Would definitely recommend to anyone.