Picture perfect meets perfectly peaceful in this beautiful mountain property.
If Christopher Robin and Winnie the Pooh had known about this beautiful piece of mountain property, they would have abandoned the Hundred Acre Woods and come to Wind Landing to chase all the clouds from the sky. Secluded and serene, this beautiful contemporary home features covered porches, expansive windows, a pool table, WIFI and more. Bordering the Canaan Valley National Wildlife Refuge, the five acre lot provides a spacious yard for outside fun in any season. Surrounded by trees and brimming with wildlife this amazing sanctuary is sure to satisfy your longing for adventure or total set the pace. Plan to prepare your favorite meal in the fully equipped kitchen, relax in the outdoor hot tub, dine on the porch or nap by the fire. Winter visitors should be prepared with 4 wheel drive, but year round area attractions Canaan Valley State Park and Blackwater Falls are just a short drive.
Bedding Configuration: 2 Queen, 4 Twin, 1 Full
Additional Features: * Entertainment: Satellite TV, CD Player, DVD Player, VCR, Games, Foosball Table, Pool Table * Geographic: Secluded, Views, Wooded, Timberline Gated Community * Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware * Living: Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet, Fireplace, WIFI, Non Smoking Property * Outdoor: Deck, Patio, BBQ Grill, Hot Tub, 4 Wheel Drive Required in Winter
Regina S. from Burlington, NJ recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2015 Wind Landing is such a beautiful home. It had everything there that we needed. We couldn't have been more pleased. This was our second time to stay there & we'll be back again next year.
Robert M. from Arlington, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2015 Staying at Windy Landing was perfect for our family reunion. The house is nice and had plenty of space for our group. Only downside was when we got there we noticed that the house does not have biggie since the nights are cool and you can open the windows and get a constant breeze through the house.
Nathaniel D. from Pataskala, OH recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2015 My whole family, 11 of us in total over 3 generations, rented the house for a week long family vacation to relax and spend time with one another. We loved the house. It was big, comfortable, and welcoming. Was well equipped and cut down on the stuff we needed to bring. We really enjoyed the fireplace and spent much time by the fire relaxing and playing games. The weather was great considering how much it rained. It was a vacation we won't forget and look forward to coming back someday.
Mary N. from Erie, PA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2015 Wind Landing was a wonderful vacation home which our family tremendously enjoyed. Our family of nine, and a friend had very comfortable and spacious accommodations in this beautiful home. The 5 bedrooms and 3.5 baths were great. The family really enjoyed the foosball table and pool table (we had tournaments), as well as the hottub. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking for our large group. The large porch provided plenty of sitting space to sit and read, talk, or relax. We also loved the very private location. On our first day, we hiked through the woods to the top of the mountain and experiences a gorgeous view for miles. Our family would highly recommend this home.
A guest from Fairmont, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in April, 2015 Had an excellent time at Wind Landing. It is a beautiful home in an amazing location with more than ample living space and parking. I would love to stay there again.
Margie P. from Fairmont, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in April, 2015 We love this home! Clean, wonderful customer service, and well-maintained describe this lovely property. Lots of room to play and relax inside and out. Enjoyed eating in Davis at Hellbender Burritos and Sirianni's Cafe. This was our second stay here. We WILL stay here again.
Susan M. from Bethesda, OH recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2015 The best vacation house we've rented in Canaan. Well maintained, clean , enough firewood to keep fire going all day.
Hope H. from Ellicott City, MD recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2015 Ten family members, ranging in age from 3 to 73, found plenty to enjoy: pool, foosball, television, and reading. The large lazy Susan vastly simplified family dining. We are all ready to return.
Ryan M. from Meadville, PA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2015 We chose Canaan because it it about half way between Raleigh NC and Meadville PA where our families live. We were very pleased with the house and the resort overall. The home is beautiful and a great getaway, Actually, I think this house is as far up the mountain as you can go! We had two couples and four toddlers on this stay. We went snow tubing, and skiing one day but mostly stayed in around a fire. I would definitely recommend this resort and house to anyone. The only thing we wish is that we would have stayed a few days longer. You will need four wheel drive in the winter!
Lynn P. from West Springfield, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in October, 2014 This was a wonderful place for our group of 8 friends to spend a long weekend. The pool table and foozball were a great hit when the weather was bad. Plenty of room for all. The place was well kept and clean.
A guest from S Charleston, 25303 recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2014 Great house. Room enough for 6 guys on a golf trip. Open area was great for watching football on tv while we played cards.
Violet S. from Philippi, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2014 Just had the best weekend ever with family and friends at Wind Landing. This house is a beautiful hidden gem back in the woods. House was perfect for us!
Tina B. from Brighton, TN recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in July, 2014 Beautiful well equipped home deep In the woods away from it all as the house is tucked into the mountains. Had family gatherings with plenty of room to spare. The kitchen was well stocked with all we needed for cooking and preparing dinners. The rental staff was great. Our only complaint was the internet and that only worked for about 6 hours even after the cable company came to fix. (Don't come here expecting to get work done......makes for a media free vacation, which is not bad) looking forward to my next visit here
A guest from Keysville, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014 The location is outstanding, furnishings and amenities were in need of updating but mostly functional, lot and parking area were above average.
Hafida Q. from Woodbridge, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in May, 2014 Very Nice House. We were about 10 people (6 adults and 4 kids), the house is more than enough for 10 or even more people inside, we all had a good time between the location of the house, the hot tub, the hikes and games nothing was missing......2 lakes to walk by if you like taking a 5 miles or so walks, or simply a road walk between 2 to 7 miles...Our kids could not ride their bikes though, the road to the property is just gravel not smooth.....Davis and Thomas 2 small town where you can get some of your shopping done especially groceries at Save and Shop store ( I called it mini Walmart lol)...Dont forget to check the Blackwater Falls, very nice water falls not to miss......Horse back rides at the Mountain trail rides $30 a ride for an hour, done it and I liked it so did my kids and friends we were with...That's about it, a trip to RELAX!
MOLLY I. from PARKERSBURG, West Virginia recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in March, 2014 Our "spring break" vacation turned into a winter wonderland and we were snowed in for a couple of days, but had a wonderful time anyway. This beautiful home provides lots of opportunities for family fun, but is so roomy that you can also be alone when you'd like time to yourself. Rarely have we stayed in a place where the pictures didn't do it justice, but Wind Landing is even better than the pictures. We were also pleasantly surprised at how well stocked the kitchen was - literally everything you could possibly need, and the linens were more than plentiful. Great vacation home!
A guest from Manassas, Virginia recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2014 The house was great! We really enjoyed our trip, but we had two problems about the house. The dryer got so hot it melted two coats and some ski pants. They were ruined. The other problem was the supplies in the kitchen were not the best quality. There was no can opener and the knives were not sharp at all. Other than that, we loved the house!
Diane B. from Baltimore, MD recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014 Wind Landing is a beautiful home and exceeded expectations. It can be a treacheous drive from guard house; one of our 4 wheel drive vehicles had to be towed when we slid off the road, and another pushed out by 5 men. Road signs are hard to see when driving at night, better to arrive before dark in the winter. Otherwise,a good time was had by all.
Lorren L. from Mechanicsville, MD recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014 May want to have more firewood on hand for those cold snaps. While there was some we still spent over 50 dollars at the gas station getting wood bundles. Not really complaining just a helpful suggestion. Awesome place for a get away. Thank you!!!
Property Manager Response: Response from Best of Canaan Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. In the future please feel free to call the Best of Canaan office and let us know if you feel you need firewood. We are fortunate to have excellent firewood providers who will deliver and stack the wood within 24 hours of the call. We are glad you had a good visit otherwise and hope you will return.
Rebecca M. from Glen Dale, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in October, 2013 Our group loved the open floor plan of this house. We could all be together while playing pool, watching tv, cooking, or just enjoying sitting at the bar and dinning room table. The covered porch was also nice. We were able to be outside even though it rain most of the time of our stay. The three and half bathrooms and five bedrooms were perfect for our group size. Loved the location, it was very private.
A guest from Barboursville, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013 There were 7 adults that stayed for the weekend and it was just perfect for our group! We really enjoyed the outdoor firepit and the hottub. Also, we did alot of cooking and found the kitchen very well equipped, which is a must for me.
A guest from Troy, NC recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2013 The house was amazing. The master bedroom is on the ground floor. the upstairs opens into a sitting area, then is divided into the left side, with two bedrooms and a bathroom and the right side, with two bedrooms and a bathroom. There was plenty of dry firewood, even though it rained most of te weekend. The fire place was gas ignited but burned wood. Perfect for quick starts! The hot tub was a steady 104. Wow! What a great kitchen! Well stocked. The house was really close to the parks and a quick drive to town. Don't miss the Ice cream shop in town. The owners were a riot and hey had the best waffle cones ever!
Wind Landing is the perfect place for a family & friends retreat!
Mike S. from Bristol, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2013 We rented Wind Landing for a long weekend getaway with family and friends to celebrate my wife's birthday. In a word, Wind Landing was perfect for our gathering. The hot tub, fire pit, and pool table were very popular with everyone and the front porch with all of its seating quickly became our favorite gathering spot. We have stayed at many houses in Canaan Valley in the past and all of us agreed that this was the best ever!The people at Best of Canaan Realty get five stars their professionalism and maintenance of the property. Make no mistake about it, we will be back to Wind Landing in the future!
A guest from Davis, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013 Our stay was excellent. My only complaint was with Adam at the gatehouse. He was very rude to my family and had a definite attitude from the very moment we handed him the paperwork.
A guest from Columbus, IN recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The home was well equipped, clean, and well-kept. Would definitely recommend this property to others
Daniel O. from WORTHINGTON, Ohio recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013 Our family very much enjoyed our stay at Wind Landing! It's a beautiful home in a great, wooded, secluded spot. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed playing billiards and making s'mores and hot dogs in the fire pit, plus fishing and horseback riding nearby.The only negative was some persistent Internet problems that couldn't be fully resolved in spite of everyone's best efforts. But since we were trying to "get away," this was actually not a big problem.
Don H. from Washington Grove, MD recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013 An absolutely clean, comfortable and pleasant home. The large, wide porch was perfect as was the isolated location.Although it lacked a view of the valley and was within a forest setting, the landscaping gave an open feeling.We have stayed at many houses in Timberline over the years, and this was one of our favorites.
Sara R. from Buckhannon, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in February, 2013 My family had a great time we loved playing pool and having fooseball games we also took our Xbox for the kids and the woman ending up playing dance central . Wind landing is a very nice place to stay very relaxing and peaceful . I would recommend it for any family .
Sherry R. from Charleston, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2013 We had a great time at the house except the hot tub wasn't heating up so the heater or a thermostat must have went out.
Simon C. from Cincinnati, OH recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2013 Our group of 10 found a perfect house to rent in Wind Landing! The main living area was large and open enough so all could see and hear each other, weather some were cooking, relaxing in the great room, or enjoying a game of pool. The bedrooms/bathrooms were arranged for a fair amount of privacy, and the sitting room upstairs was convenient for some quiet reading time. We're also thankful that the roads were plowed and treated in a timely manner, since we had quite a snowfall that weekend. The home was beautiful and very well appointed! Looking forward to a return next year!
Great family Christmas vacation except son broke a leg!
A guest from Martin, Ohio recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in January, 2013 A very beautiful house and comfortable. Our family enjoyed the pool table and being close to skiing. We had a great time even with our son breaking his leg snowboarding the day before leaving.
Josh D. from Centreville, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2012 We had a great time at this beautiful property on the mountain! We planned the fall getaway/retreat to catch up with old friends. We had 4 adult couples and 3 small children all under 4 yo. There was plenty of room and plenty to do! We had a lovely fire in the fireplace that kept us warm and cozy. We enjoyed the outdoor hot tub and fire pit. There was a curious racoon that wondered onto the property to check things out, we called him Bandit, say "hi" if you see him! The ameneties were perfect and we had a great time. The pool table and foosball kept us entertained. There is satellite TV, entertainment system, and WIFI. By the end of the first night, everyone was asking me to book this property for next year!!
Rebecca R. from Covington, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2012 The property is beautiful and well equipped. Our problem was mice. We opened a drawer on the second day there and found droppings. They had also gotten into some of our food. The worse part was in two bedrooms the ladies had trouble sleeping because of the noise in the walls. I called the property company and they said they would send up mouse traps, but they never did. When we checked out, they said they had the mouse traps and were going to take them up the next day. This house and the rental is too expensive to have mice running through the walls at night.
A guest from Portage, PA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in June, 2012 Our family stayed at Wind Landing the week of June 17th. The house was very nice. We enjoyed the Hot Tub and the Pool Table. Everything was exceptionally clean. We have no complaints. A great place to stay.
Young C. from Alexandria, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in May, 2012 It was a great time for church family members. We can take a rest in peaceful atmosphere and kid enjoyed with game stub. Candle would make it possible for us to feel like warm and close to God by sharing food on comfortable table. That is awesome.
Brent C. from gaithersburg, MD recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in February, 2012 Nice place. The hot tub did not work well, but the manager tried to help us. Very nice house, especially if some want to play pool while others relax in front of the fire.
karen h. from parkersburg, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2012 Wind Landing offered everything we needed to have a wonderful family vacation. The house was better than expected, with eveything in great condition. There was plenty of room for our 3 generations to spread out. We will definately return next winter.
A guest from Aydlett, NC recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in November, 2011 Great house, great location, and perfect for the number and various ages of guests. (9 guests, adult children w/ friends, young children, and old married folk!) Would definitely stay again. Double oven and large stove came in quite handy when cooking massive amounts of food for Thanksgiving dinner. Only issues, which we found a minor inconvenience, was no TV in bedrooms (only video), kitchen could use some updated utensils (knives, can openers, etc.) and upstairs bathroom w/ no pressure and toilet issues. Beds for adults were pretty uncomfortable and had to support mattresses w/ blankets, etc. folded and placed underneath. Again, nothing we couldn't overcome. And, since it rained the first 4 days we sure appreciated the pool and foosball table and array of wine glasses! Hot tub was a dream...
A guest from Thomas, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2011 A perfect place to get away with family or friends for some relaxation. At the top of the world and away from it all. Great service from the BOC staff, too!
Summer pics, as well as winter, would be helpful for summer renters. Home in secluded spot. Loved that..
A guest from Pataskala, Ohio does not recommend this property. Stayed for 8 days in June, 2011 The outside was not tidy at all. First impression after we got to top of driveway was very disappointing. Cement blocks, tarp, wheelbarrows and lumber decorated the hillside very close to the house. The inside of the house was very nice. One upstairs shower has poor pressure. Really wasn't taken care of after it was reported. It was a , "Sorry, thats the best I can do" even though the other shower upstairs was good. We took the propane tank up for the grill because it wasn't done before we got there even though I put that in my e-mail 1 1/2 months before. Was told upstairs toilet would be fixed one day but wasn't even looked at til the next. Seemed like a lot of time waiting on ppl to come look at things that weren't working. WiFi wasn't working but they got that fixed. Not so sure I will deal with Best of Canaan again even though the phone calls and e-mails beforehand were very pleasant.
A guest from Colorado Springs, CO recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in May, 2011 When we first arrived at the property the floor was sticky there were dirty towels on the floor and occasionally we found dirty mugs in the cabinet. For a rental it had a surprising amount of personal effects of the owners in place, large family photos, awards, trophy which was odd. The location is beautiful and tranquil and we saw bears and dear around the house.
A guest from Ashburg, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2011 Overall, very pleasant stay. However, the most important deficiency was that the hot tub was not adjusted to be warm enough and significantly affected my experience. Also, we were not able to start the gas grill outside.We couldn't find a broom to sweep the floors.