Incredibly incredible mountain home. You have to see this one to believe it!
Take the virtual tour and this custom built home is sure to be on the top of your "places to stay list". With seven bedrooms and six levels of living space, privacy isn't an issue. Send the kids to the media room for a movie on the huge flat screen, the guys to the pool room for a game of billiards, and let the girl talk begin in the amazing kitchen. Get the gang back together at the lovely and large dining room table for some quality time. The outdoor hot tub and patio with a built in barbeque add even more space to the already generous floor plan. Skiers, hikers and mountain bikers will love the quick and easy access to Timberline's Salamander Trail. Winter visitors are drive will be necessary for access.
Bedding Configuration: 3 King, 4 Queen
Additional Features: * Convenience: Nearby Restaurant * Entertainment: Satellite TV, CD Player, DVD Player, Pool Table * Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware * Living: Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Ironing Board, Fireplace, WIFI * Outdoor: Deck, Patio, Gas Grill, Hot Tub, Walk to Ski Slopes, 4 Wheel Drive Required in Winter
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Enjoyable stay with some hiccups
Nicholas Z. from Hatfield, PA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2016 Overall we enjoyed our stay. The house was very large and spacious. Several of the appliances did not work or functioned poorly (ice maker didn't work, fridge water came out warm, coffee maker evaporated about half the water as it brewed, air conditioning stopped working about half way through our stay, hot water heater stopped working). Maintenance responded promptly to our needs.
Heather C. from Toms River, NJ recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2016 Great place for a great price thos was our second time going. You wont find a better deal online the only thing that needs improvement is some safety issues other than that its awesome. We will be going next year see you then
Angie S. from Davis, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in October, 2015 I rented this house for a group of ladies with whom I hiked Tuscany. We meet up a couple times a year for a reunion, and they all came to Canaan for my daughter's wedding and to spend time together. They were blown away by the house and the beauty of Canaan Valley.
Holly H. from Matthews, NC recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2015 The location of the property was great and the size of the home perfect for our mid-size group. The oversized rooms and bathrooms were a definite bonus -we never felt cramped. The weather was rainy, but it didn't take away from the beautiful surroundings. We were somewhat disappointed with the cleanliness of the home -very dusty throughout and the floors were dirty. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us!
Brent K. from Ariss, Ontario recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in June, 2015 There where 5 couples on motorcycle's. I wanted a place so all couples would have there own bathroom and space to roam this place had all that and more. The hill into the place is only about 1000 feet of gravel and is fairly steep but no problem. It was well laid out with all the amenities. I have all ready told people about this place it was great
Heather C. from Toms River, NJ recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2015 We rented out Casa Nova for a family get-together vacation a few weeks ago and we absolutely loved it. The house was beautiful. It was even better in person than I imagined it to be from the pictures. It was comfortable and so spacious. We had 14 people thee and there was more than enough room for everyone. There were a few minor maintenance issues with the house, but nothing that took away from the overall experience. We all enjoyed ourselves so much we are hoping to make this a yearly trip.
A guest from Waldorf, Maryland does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2015 Over the years my wife and I have rented several properties within the Canaan Valley area. Over the past 20 years we have been bringing large groups to Canaan as a weekend retreat. This was our first stay in Cassa Nova. There were a total of 14 adults staying for 3 nights. We simply wanted to relax, bar-b-q, watch movies, etc. The house is very spacious and well maintained. However there were a few things that could be better. First, there was an ant problem in the kitchen/dining area. Again, the house was clean, but for some reason we had ants which was limited to the kitchen area thank goodness. Next, the exterior door in the coat/ski area near the main entrance did not lock. There was also a window in one of the bedrooms that didn?t lock as well. Then there was the electronics.. We could not figure out how to get the stereo in the pool table/bar area to work. The large screen in the ?movie theater? had internal spots on half the screen and the surround didn?t work, so we could never use the equipment. The surround sound connected to the television on the main level did not work and we couldn?t enjoy it as well. Finally the WIFI ? it was basically non-existent. Even while standing two feet away from the modem, you still couldn?t surf the web using the WIFI in the house.The overall experience was pretty good because the house is in fact very spacious and beautiful. However, it was a disappointment that we were unable to take advantage of all the amenities.If all of the issues were resolved I would highly recommend renting this home.
A guest from Arlington, Virginia recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2015 We had a wonderful time at Casa Nova as always. The house is perfect for a large multi-family group. This was our 3rd year in this house and we always have a great time.
Cindy P. from Ripley, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2015 All the beds were very hard! There was several light bulbs that were out and all the TV's had something wrong. The couches were not very comfortable as well. We had a good stay other than those few things. This house is in a perfect location. Everything was nice other than the few things I listed.
Danny C. from Walker, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in October, 2014 we all had a great time on our fall visit. the house was amazing with plenty of room for did take me awhile to figure out the heating system but that was a minor detail cant wait til next yr
Reviewed by: Cynthia P. recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2014 Overall it was very nice. Great group of Christian friends who ride together. We had lots of room to spread out and the large dining table was really nice. We could all sit around table and gave our morning devotions with our coffee. The only bad thing for us was the gravel drive uphill with our bikes. A little tricky for the guys. It was really nice to have a garage that fit all 7 of our bikes though.
A guest from Dover, OH recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2014 We stayed with family and had a wonderful vacation! Upon entering the house, we were thrilled with the appearance and spaciousness of the house. Plenty of room for everyone! During the course of our stay, we noticed a few things that needed to be updated....most notably the dishwasher. Midway through our stay, we realized that we couldn't get a door on the main level to lock. We also had some issues with the TVs/DVD players (huge TV in the mid-level room was incompatible with hooking up game systems, DVD player in living room wouldn't open...). Also, I would recommend replacing the mattresses. Some smaller issues were blinds that didn't work correctly, and general updating like several lightbulbs that needed to be replaced. While the place was generally clean, it seemed to need a good deep clean (some closets and dresser drawers were dirty). The kids loved the hot tub, and the boys thought the loft room was really cool! I really liked the floor plan and overall layout of the house. Despite a few inconveniences, my family and I very much enjoyed our stay, and loved the benefit of having such a large house for everyone to enjoy! Thanks!
Tom M. from Pasadena, MD recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014 I have been renting this house once a year since it was built and love it, thanks to the owner for sharing this wonderful home.
Jonathan P. from louisville, KY recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in December, 2013 This house is a gem. Three of the bedrooms have attached bathrooms and the master suites are huge. There were plenty of linens and soaps and such. The kitchen is very well appointed with utensils and bowls. Complimentary trash removal would have been a big improvement as 14 people generate a pile of garbage. Additionally, we had to provide our own cleaning supplies and toilet paper. The ski room was a little cramped for such a large house. None of these aren't deal breakers, but the experience could be improved with some tweaks. Overall, it was a good experience.
A guest from Wilmington, Delaware recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013 Great house for a family get together. The house has a lot of different areas to hang out in. The open kitchen/dining/living room was great for getting everybody together. The hot tub was a hit and the media room could fit 12 adults watching a movie on slower nights. The pool sticks didn't have tips for some reason, so playing pool was a bit of a challenge. the kitchen is very well stocked, the outdoor grill is huge. The ski slopes are right across the gravel street, which was great for hiking since we were there in July/August. The drive up to the house is bumpy and full of potholes, and you can get stuck on the gravel street if the car is full and you don't keep your speed up. Overall a fabulous house -- top of the line amenities and a unique layout. Had a great time.
A guest from Stuarts Draft, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2013 The Cassa Nova house was very nice and we had a very pleasant weekend stay. There was plenty of room for our 14 family members. The furnishings were nice with plenty of seating, multiple TV rooms, and the pool table was a special hit. The house was generally well maintained. My only complaint is that the harder to reach places could use some cleaning. Moving couches to gather around a table for games revealed dirt hiding underneath. The ceiling fans and walls high up in the main room were quite dusty. The property management representatives were extremely helpful and responsive.
Property Manager Response: Response from Best of Canaan Thanks for your kind comments, and for pointing out that it is time to spend some extra time to clean up from the winter rush. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
A guest from Silver Spring, MD recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2013 We had a great time at casa nova. We had snow for 3 days so the skiing was great. Only drawbacks were-poor road maintenance-even 4wd cars had difficulty getting to the house; hot tub cover was difficult to put on after taking off due a broken support bar; and having to haul trash back to town was inconvenient and treacherous in the bad road conditions.
Matthew D. from Butler, PA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2012 Been visiting Canaan Valley for 12 years now and this is by far the nicest winter home we've stayed in. I gave the four stars because of the location of the Hot Tub, too far from the back door. The other 4 stars was the icy hill the house is located on. I had 4 wheel drive and still was sliding around. Kind of scary with all houses having minimal parking and cars sticking out onto the road.
Sandi F. from Columbus, OH recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2012 This is our second year and once again we had a wonderful family Thanksgiving. This house provides everything you could ever need or want for a vacation. Even snow this year!
A guest from Pittsburgh, PA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2012 This house was very large and spacious. The kitchen supplies were very good. This is the most pots/pans/dishes I've seen in a rental. The lighting in the rooms were very dim or only an overhead light. Overall I would recommend this house.
Barb F. from Johnstown, PA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2012 We had five families stay at Casa Nova. We all agreed that it was the nicest, cleanest, best furnished house we have ever vacationed in. Be it at Canaan, Deep Creek, or our beach vacations. We truely enjoyed ourselves and thank you all for you hospitality. We will definetly be back...and to the Casa Nova for sure!!!!
Daniella B. from Washington, DC recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012 Casa Nova was a WONDERFUL home! Great location and the amenities were abundant! Although items needed to be maintananced while we were there, (Air-conditioner and Grill), the staff came out right away and fixed everything! We would highly recommend this location.
A guest from Vienna, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2012 !7 of us --- 9 adults and 8 kids. Grandpas gathering of his clan. Fantastic house! We all enjoyed our stay. The house was more than we expected. Kids loved fishing (all caught at least one) Horseback riding was a big hit. S C,N Y, MD and WV represented.
Gary G. from Harrisonburg, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in February, 2012 We had a wonderful time again this year. As noticed above, our experience was great. However, I would like to mention a few things that need looked at. First, the dimmer switches in the great room, kitchen and dining room are too small for the amount of load. When operating in the dimmer mode for some time, they get so hot you cannot touch them. This is very dangerous. The dining room chairs need pads attached to the legs in order to cease the loud scooting noise from the floor. The fire place needs attention as some of the handles are missing to operate the dampers and screen. Several of the electrical outlets need replacing as they do not hold the plug in place to make contact with the power. Several of the TVs have been removed in the bedrooms. Need to have a couple cookie sheets added to the untinsels for baking. Need some new gravel on parking spaces to prevent carrying mud into the house. Just some maintenance items that need taken care of. We did enjoy our stay for the 3rd time. Gary
A guest from Vienna, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in December, 2011 The House was large enough for several families. Even though the skiing conditions were poor, there was still lots to do in the house. The kitchen and bar-b-que was great. Thanks very much!
Sandi F. from Columbus, OH recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2011 The was the best property we have stayed at to date. It generously accomodated the entire family of 12 with spacious rooms and gorgeous views. I wouldn't be surprised if we don't show up here again soon.
This was our second time, and we hope to return every year.
Leo F. from Washington, DC recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in November, 2011 This really is a wonderful place. We were a group of 14. There was lots of space, every single room is nice. Amazing kitchen, fully stocked with all the equipment necessary to cook a full Thanksgiving dinner. The management company (Donna) is extremely helpful and pleasant. We plan on coming back every year.
Joseph D. from Washington, DC recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2011 We recently returned from an ideal weekend getaway to celebrate my partner and our friend's birthdays. The property could not have been more beautiful, well kept, easy to access and comfortable. My only complaint was the beds were so comfortable I found it hard to get up in the morning! The staff could not have been more responsive, pleasant, and witty. I definitely recommend this property!
A guest from Mohnton, PA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2011 This was a very nice place for our cycle vacation. The stone drive presented a little problem with our cycles, but it was manageable. Accommodations were just what we needed after riding through the beautiful W. Va. countryside.
A guest from Leesburg, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2011 We had a great time and actually wished we were staying there longer than a weekend. The house was a really nice size for 8 adults and 6 little kids. We definitely recommend this house!
Wonderful Stay in Wild and Wonderful West Virginia
Lawrence H. from Washington, DC recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2011 We had a great stay at Cassa Nova in May. The house is beautiful and very large. All 14 of us had a great time and there was more than enough space for everyone to relax, eat, and sleep. The house has a beautiful kitchen and dining room that sat everyone in our group. Donna with the management company was a true pleasure to work with and was able to give lots of advice about area. The only disappoint about our trip was that it wasn't long enough. I wish we could have spent 5-7 days so that we could have enjoyed more of the spring/summer activities available in the area. The hikes we did at Blackwater offered breathtaking views. The location next to the slopes of Timberline make it clear that this would also be a great winter destination. We hope to be back this winter (and probably next summer too!).
A guest from Fairmont, WV recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in May, 2011 Great house for a family vacation! Beautiful kitchen plenty of room and several recreational areas. Property manager could not be nicer! Noise echoes throughout the house and it can get a bit loud when its full of people, doing different things on different levels.
Gary G. from Harrisonburg, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in February, 2011 All were very happy with Casa Nova. The skiers wish that the ski slope was just outside the front door. However, we enjoyed our stay and look forward to having it next year.
Carol C. from Chesterfield, recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2011 beautiful House! Smoke detectors needed new batteries, took us a while to find which ones, Operating TVs was confusing, dishes too heavy for dishwasher could fill halfway to get dishes clean, towels took forever to dry in dryer. We started the night before we left. finally gave up & hung the towels up throughout the house.Beds comfortable, hottub great & enough dishes,glasses, pots, utensils to accommadate our large group.
A guest from Vienna, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in December, 2010 For a family gathering, as we had, this is a great place. There were a few initial problems with a water leak and missing instructions for working the TV and DVD, but the property managers are just wonderful and sorted everything out for us quickly. The conjoined kitchen, dining room and great room are just terrific, but echo a lot with a lot of people present. Which is fine for magnifying laughter.