Perfect Places Vacation Rentals
Traveler Login Owner Login
Chinese (Traditional) Portugeuse Spanish Italian German French English

Spectacular House~convenient Location~perfect!
Canaan Valley 3 br Vacation Rental Home

Property Summary
Canaan Valley, West VIrginia, United States
Type
Home

Bedrooms
3

Bathrooms
4

Sleeps
10

Rates
$180 - $483 per night
$870 - $2,320 per week

Pet Friendly   Non Smoking   High-Speed Internet
 
Book Online   Visa Mastercard Discover
This property listing provides real-time availability and rate quotes. Book it securely and instantly using a credit card.

Vacation Home Rental Description:



Spacious contemporary home offers a beautiful setting and endless amenities. Nestled beside a stream, the house features a lovely yard and amazing landscaping. The large deck with hot tub and grill provides splendid views of the Timberline Conservancy and Cabin Mountain, and is the perfect place for entertaining or just relaxing. The open floor plan makes socializing easy for friends and family. Enjoy the gourmet kitchen, stacked stone fireplace, cathedral ceilings and recently added 42 inch HD plasma TV in the great room. The den just off of the living room provides the perfect space for reading, movie watching or game playing away from the crowd. Kids of all ages will enjoy air hockey, foosball or a game of darts in the loft. Whatever the season the large picture windows will bring nature to you complete with mountain scenery and wildlife. Work or just WIFI is available. A perfect spot for all things recreational, the house is close to hiking, horseback riding, mountain biking, downhill and cross country skiing.

VIRTUAL TOUR

Bedding Configuration: 2 Queen, 2 Twin, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 1 Bunk 1 Full

Pets: Dogs Allowed

Additional Features:
* Business: Nearby Restaurant
* Convenience: Nearby Convenience Store
* Entertainment: Cable TV, CD Player, DVD Player, VCR, Games, Foosball Table, Air Hockey Table, Multiple TV's
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware
* Living: Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Jacuzzi Tub, High Speed Internet, Gas Fireplace, Unlimited Long Distance, WIFI, Non Smoking Property, Dog Friendly
* Outdoor: Deck, BBQ Grill, Hot Tub, Walk to Ski Slopes
Book Online:

Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.

Arrival Date:
Departure Date:
Adults (18+):
Children (<18):
Visa Mastercard Discover



Accommodation and Amenities:

Features:
  • Full Kitchen
  • Jacuzzi
  • High-Speed Internet
  • Deck
  • Games
Appliances:
  • CD Player
  • Coffee Maker
  • DVD Player
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Satellite TV or Cable TV
  • VCR Player
Activities:
  • Hiking
  • Horseback Riding
  • Mountain Biking
  • Skiing
 available     unavailable     tentative «« View previous 12 months
  August   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  September   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
  October   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  November   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
  December   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  January   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  February   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29          
  March   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  April   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
  May   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  June   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  July   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
 available     unavailable     tentative «« View previous 12 months


Pricing/ Rates:    (click to convert currency)
Nightly Price Range: $  180 to: $  483
Weekly Price Range: $  870 to: $  2,320
   » Prices in United States Dollars.



This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 Property Reviews 
Beautiful House -Good location
A guest from Johnstown, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014
The house is beautiful and was clean. The location was perfect. The grandchildren loved to play in the creek. Having four bathrooms was a blessing. The layout of the house was great. We love the deck! The house was dog friendly!The kitchen was well equipped but there were problems with the appliances. The electronic ignition on the gas range clicked whenever the range was used; this was very irritating. The management company sent two people to look at it but a part was needed. Also the freezer did not work properly. It must be something in the defrost cycle. The ice cubes would freeze but could not be placed in the bin; they freeze into a solid slab. Ice cream became soupy. The hot tub temperature could not be adjusted except by the maintenance man. He was able to adjust it to a temperature that we liked.The management company was very responsive in sending repairmen and arranging for garbage pickup. The problems did not stop us from enjoying our vacation
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful Home!
Allison M. from Shinnston, West Virginia recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in July, 2014
This was the perfect home for our families to have our laid back vacation. Even though the weather was cool, the house was big enough for us to hang out and have our own space. The hot tub was perfect since it was colder. However, instructions on how to get the perfect temperature in the hot tub would be great to have. We loved the laminated notes for the appliances, etc. The water heater may be turned up a little too high (sometimes the water at the kitchen sink was too hot). The house is right beside one of the main roads, so it was a little noisy at times, but not too bad. It is located within 30 minutes of Blackwater Falls (Davis, WV) and Seneca Caverns/Rocks. The Best of Canaan staff was very helpful and pleasant. Would highly recommend!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Vacation!
A guest from Mechanicsville, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2014
Great place for a summer vacation with young children. Our children loved the yard, loved the creek, and LOVED the hot tub.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Morgan's Graduation Trip
Frederick M. from San Antonio, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 16 days in June, 2014
Higher Ground was all that we expected and more. It was in great condition and very comfortable. We needed a big place to have about 40-50 people over for a college graduation party for our daughter. The deck on the back of the house was just what was needed. Also plenty of room inside for people to mix and mingle. With the cool temperatures the easy opening of the windows and ceiling fans kept it cool inside the house. The hot tub was also nice after the long road trip from Texas or our excursions after getting to Almost Heaven. I also want to acknowledge and thank the staff at Best of Canaan, very professional and helpful.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A Great Place to Relax
Jeremy W. from Charleston, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in June, 2014
We spent a week here with family and had a great time. The house was well appointed and maintained and in a great location for access to a variety of activities. I would certainly stay here again and rent through Best of Canaan.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awesome House
Angela S. from Culloden, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2014
The house is beautiful and location was great. We enjoyed our stay there and will tell everyone we see to stay here. Staff of Best of Canaan were fantastic. If you want to have a great time and a great house to stay in then look no further this is the one. Thank you.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Loved it
A guest from Staunton, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014
The house is great. Loved the huge patio with hot tub. It was nice that it was all fenced in so that we could let our dogs hang around outside with us without having to worry about them leaving the property. This house is probably better suited for families because while it sleeps many, most of the beds are in just two rooms. I stayed with 12 other adults, no kids, but we are all close and didn't mind sharing sleeping quarters.If you stay here in the summer, bring a big flash light if you plan on grilling outside at night. There are no outdoor lights for the patio.The mud room was great for storage and we kept all our excess baggage there. Very convenient. The kitchen was fully stocked, and we enjoyed the industrial grade stove/oven.The living room had a high ceiling so even with all 12 people in the living room it did not seem cramped at all.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Another great stay
Joel N. from Pittsburgh, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2014
What a great time in a great part of the world.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Family Gathering Spot....
Robert B. from Charlotte Court House, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2014
The perfect home in which to spend time with family who need time and space to catch up. Open and inviting layout, yet space for privacy if one needs a space to rest. We loved the beautiful fireplace, especially on the very special day that it snowed all day during Easter week. Lots of everyday "stuff" forgotten for a week while we enjoyed being an all-in-one-place family again.No complaints. Two suggestions.....handrails on the stairs to the second floor for the quite young and somewhat old and a step-stool in the kitchen for the vertically challenged who enjoy preparing meals.Thanks for a great week!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Lovely Interior; Great for chefs
A guest from Arlington, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2014
Pros: Beautiful rental house that is well-stocked with cooking implements, has comfy beds (a rarity in rentals), and a layout that provides a great gathering area. We also loved having the separate mud room for all our ski equipment. Cons: Only wish it had a gas grill, wasn't so close to a busy road, and had stairs that would provide access from the deck down to the beautiful yard below. That said, the pros greatly outweigh the cons, and we would rent there again in a heartbeat!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great place to stay
A guest from Chesterfield, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend at Higher Ground. The house was a wonderful surprise -- nicely decorated, clean, and in a great location to get to the slopes. The women at the management company were very friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. We would definitely stay again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Higher Ground in Canaan Valley, WV
A guest from Orrtanna, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014
Loved our stay at Higher Ground, it is a beautiful home, nice furnishings, great layout, and great location. Loved that is was pet friendly, and our almost 10 yr old English bulldog loved that he didn't have to do many steps! Lots of room, plenty of bathrooms, and great kitchen. The only negative we could say, the kitchen wasn't as clean as it should have been, the counters and table were in need of a good cleaning, and we found several glasses/dishes that were dirty. And there were several light bulbs burned out around the house, a detail we always find annoying. Having said that, the hot tub was great, the view of Timberline was great, and we will be back. Not a lot to do if you don't ski, but our adult children and their spouses do ski, and we just planned to relax and do a little exploring, and that was perfect. Very few places to eat out at, but we did have drinks and appetizers at the Blackwater Brewing Company, it was a great place with friendly service and a warm fireplace. Thank you Higher Ground for a great getaway!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Exceeds Expectations
A guest from Shepherdstown, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in December, 2013
We have rented homes in Canaan Valley for the past 8 years - this is the most beautiful we have rented. Beautiful architecture and solidly built, sunny, magnificent fireplace, highend appliances and kitchen supplies, pristine sparkling clean hot tub, nice touches for kids ( their own den, airhockey and foozball). Bedrooms wih comfortable beds and linens. Many dog-friendly rentals are run down but this home is nicer than most that dont even allow dogs. Location great - walkable or short drive to timberline ski area with no worries in bad weather (flat approach from driveway to main road). We will be back for sure.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great House small changes could make it Outstandig!!!
Lisa V. from Virginia Beach, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in December, 2013
Overall we enjoyed our stay. I would reccomend that laminated instructions for the fireplace and possibly the griddle and convention oven would be helpful. A gas grill would be a hudge improvement over the charcoal. The mattress on the pull out couch in the den should be updated in very poor condition. Overall the house is luxury but the tube TV's and the low quality sheets and towels just stand out as poor quality compared to all the other aspects of the house.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Our Thanksgiving Retreat!
Colleen R. from Parkersburg, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in November, 2013
We have stayed at Higher Ground for the past three years, and my family and I love it! The gals at Best of Canaan Realty couldn't be better!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A Relaxing and Great Vacation
A guest from Springfield, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in November, 2013
This house was very clean and comfortable. My family and I had a relaxing time and enjoyed the parks adjacent to the house. It was hard to leave.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect location---Perfect house!
Sandra M. from Scott Depot, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2013
It was one of the best places we have stayed in Canaan Valley. The location is great. Nice for walking and biking. The kitchen is wonderfully equipped. There is plenty of games and movies. The furniture was comfortable.The staff of "Best of Canaan" were very nice to work with. We couldn't have found a more wonderful vacation rental.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Our experience
A guest from Allison Park, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in September, 2013
The rental agency was very friendly and professional. They were well informed about all aspects of the house.My only comment is to the owner and rental agency. At should a well equiped house, we were a little disappointed that there was not a gas grill outside. Charcol is messy and seems to me more dangerous then gas.Don
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Loved Higher Ground
Bridget W. from Hoover, AL recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2013
Beautiful home, very clean, with everything we needed at hand. Would definitely recommend this property.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Best Vacation House We Ever Rented
Martha M. from Tallahassee, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 13 days in July, 2013
This house was great for a big group with all the separated sleeping areas, each with own BR. We would rent the same house again in a heartbeat. Very homey and not at all stuff, but with luxurious touches - steam shower, fireplace, pro kitchen, hot tub, etc. Nicely decorated with comfortable furnitures, just as shown in pictures. I just wish the master had a king bed. Open floor plan was perfect for all of us hanging out together. LOVED this house.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful mountain getaway
Michael K. from Sistersville, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013
Awesome house with everything you need for a relaxing stay; terrific staff at Best of Canaan exhibiting professionalism and courtesy whenever called upon and the breathtaking natural beauty of the Canaan Valley region made for a wonderful vacation for our family. We would highly recommend this property and Best of Canaan to anyone. Thanks for everything!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Back Again!!
A guest from Jeanette, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013
This was our second year coming to Higher Ground. Our family truly loves this area and highly recommends this house. Thanks to the owners for making this available to us!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Everything was great!
Elaine K. from Altoona, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2013
Beautiful home. We had a great time watching the deer and hummingbirds. Great place to just kick back and relax.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Winter family get-a-way
A guest from Oakland, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in February, 2013
We've stayed there 5 times and my family and grandson love it there - would like to see a better coffee pot and laundry supplies to wash the linens (as you requested) when we leave. I always leave things as clean as when we get there
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

President's Day Weekend
Rebecca M. from Glen Dale, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in February, 2013
What a beautiful house! We loved the lay-out of the house and the kitchen was great. We met the owner who thanked us for renting her home and it should be us thanking her for letting us rent her home. I love working with the Best of Canaan Realty office, they are so nice and helpful to deal with. Was a great time we all had!!!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great place. Close to the ski slopes. Nice View of the slopes.
George L. from Aiken, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in December, 2012
We enjoyed our stay. The property was clean and properly maintained. Great location. The only things that might need to be changed are the coffee maker (not a big deal) but it makes the mornings nicer :) and the kitchen glasses. They all have hard water deposits. Also I would have loved to have a wood-burning fireplace. The house was build with one but it was converted to a gas fireplace. For day by day use in a residential house it might be convenient to have a gas fireplace but in a vacation home in the mountains I love a wood-burning fireplace... but again this is my taste. Some people might actually enjoy the gas fireplace..and is a very nice one. No gas odor or things like that. It's properly ventilated. Beside these things the property is great, close to the slopes, clean and properly maintained. I would highly recommended it. The property management company is as professional and friendly as it can get. Thanks. I'm looking forward to book with them again. A+++++ .. and I forgot... the property has nice view of the slopes in Timberline... especially at night. This should be advertised with the property.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A+ for the staff at Best of Canaan!
Colleen R. from Parkersburg, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in November, 2012
This was our second year staying at Higher Ground, and we have already booked our reservations for next year. I think that says it all!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

blessed family time
Jennifer J. from Lynchburg, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in September, 2012
The space was perfect for our family. as we gathered for meals we could all be together, and when it was time for sleeping or time alone there are spaces for that as well. we enjoyed the mornings as the mist rose from the valley and the sun came over the ridge. the deer in the mist as they welcomed the morning. I was told you will hear the call of the mountains after you return home. i thought it would take more than 3 days, I am already wondering about our next visit to the Valley. Thank You all for a wonderful time and making us all feel welcome and at HOME. ~ The Jones / Stuart Families ~
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Enjoyed our stay at Higher Ground
Julie A. from Dover, Ohio recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
House is beautiful and very clean. Ladies working in the office were very friendly. Hot tub may not be working right as it took 5 days to heat up. We didn't realize there would be so much traffic into/out of the gated community next door. Loved the house itself and the area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

great place
A guest from New Martinsville, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2012
very pleased with overall experience. had a super vacation.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

from our 5 year old "I want to buy this house!"
A guest from Jeanette, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012
This was our 1st trip to the Valley, but not our last! We really didn't know where the house was located but couldn't have been more please. We have 8 children and there was plenty of room to run and have fun. They loved playing in the creek and relaxing in the hot tub. Actually, we all loved the hot tub. When my husband told our 5 year old he wanted to have the hot tub for Christmas, our son said he wanted the HOME for Christmas! The home is beautifully decorated and very clean. Also, it made everything a lot easier to be able to take our dog. Our kids have said this is where we have to come back every year...and we agree!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Birthday on Higher Ground
James S. from Alexandria, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in June, 2012
Probably the most comfortable, well-laid out Canaan Valley house I have stayed at, and I've rented well over 30 places and even owned a house up on the hill. Just wish/am glad I didn't have the password to the wireless router. :)
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect Family Vacation Spot
A guest from Hartford, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2012
Great location, grandkids loved creek, house was spacious and everything we wanted in a vacation rental. Only minor disappointment was hot tub didn't get very hot. Overall, was great and we will rent this place again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Place to Relax
Larry E B. from Uniontown, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2012
Very nice
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Higher Ground is Highly Recommended
A guest from Hyattsville, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2012
A wonderful, comfortable home with a large, well-appointed kitchen. The little stream running through the back yard was a big hit with my son. Well located and close to tons of outdoor recreation, but just as well suited for watching the sun set while dining on the deck. Only drawbacks: right next to main road leading in to Old Timberline; bathtubs fill very slowly. Still can't go wrong choosing Higher Ground.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Amazing stay at Higher Ground, didn't want to leave!
A guest from Davis, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 57 days in March, 2012
I was relocating to Canaan Valley and needed a place for myself and animals to stay while I found long term housing. Higher Ground was a terrific temporary home and exceeded my expectations for a vacation rental. The setting is beautiful, loved being along the stream and the view of the mountain off the deck was wonderful. The layout was great for entertaining and spending time with friends. It allows everyone to be part of the action whether cooking or simply relaxing. The nicest aspect of this house is that it didn't feel like a rental property. The construction, amenities, furnishings and finishes are quality and mirror those you'd choose for your home. I had a great two months at Higher Ground and wish I could have moved in for good. I?d like to compliment Best of Canaan for their great customer service and depth of knowledge.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Home away from home.
Joaquin V. from Falls Church, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2012
Even though our stay was short the home was amazing. It's had everything we needed. The fully equipped kitchen was great. Only problem was the wifi but not such a big deal. I would recommend this home to any family or group of friends. I'm looking forward to coming back next year and hopefully staying longer. Thanks for everything.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Higher Ground
Dustin D. from Troy, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2012
Best of canann as a company by far is the easiest to deal with in the area. As far as the house it was not very kid friendly, at least for a two year old. Plus a couple amenities weren't working properly. But i will do business with best of canann again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Stay!
A guest from Fulton, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2011
We had a wonderful time at Higher Ground. It is a very nice house, well kept with all you need for a relaxing stay. Close to the slopes but probably not walking distance with ski boots on but close enough for easy drop off. we'd stay there again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

XMAS in the Valley
Paul W. from Greensboro, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in December, 2011
Overall we had a great time. The property was wonderful and the attention that we received from the staff made all the difference in creating a great holiday experience. Thanks to the staff (Donna) at "Best of..."
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Family Vacation
A guest from Parkersburg, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in November, 2011
We had a wonderful time at Higher Ground and have already reserved a week for 2012. The girls at Best of Canaan were great to help in anyway they could to accomodate us. We were all very pleased with everything!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Higher Ground - October 2011
Robert B. from Wexford, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2011
Great rental property. Was in nice condition and had all the amentities you would want. Center griddle on the gas stove was a highlight and made for good eats. It was a little close to the main road back into Timberline, as it sits on a corner lot. But, it was walking distance to both the chairlift and Trail Mix (store). Overall, just a great vacation!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

very nice place
A guest from Fairfax, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in October, 2011
i really enjoyed staying here
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Higher Ground
Nathan S. from Rowlesburg, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2011
House was great. Very clean and in good shape. Very Satisfied
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

fall stay
Elizabeth S. from Durham, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in September, 2011
Lovely house and location. Late Sept was a great time to see the leaves change!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Vacation
A guest from Harrison Township, MI recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2011
Had a great time, lots to see and do. Kitchen appliances where top grade except for low end microwave. Phones were very poor quality and the TVs could be upgraded. Overall we were very satisfied and had a great time.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

In the Mountains we forget to count the days...
Brian L. from Lusby, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in August, 2011
This was our second stay at Higher Ground. We love it!! Such a Beautiful house! The only drawback is if you have a dog you have to be careful of the 's very busy so you need to put your dog on a leash to be outside. Our first stay was in the Fall so we didn't notice that the house doesn't have A/C till we stayed this would have been nice to have on the warmest days we were there.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Loving WVA
A guest from Palm City, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011
We had a lot of fun at our stay in Canaan Valley. The property was in great shape and with ample ammenities and space. We did a lot of hiking and sightseeing. The whole family and our beagle enjoyed our time there. The only draw back was the lack of a/c in house.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice House, Couple of Suggestions
sue s. from Rockville, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 16 days in July, 2011
LOVE the staff at Best of Canaan, and truly they are the best. We would rent from Best of Canaan again in a minute.We have stayed twice at this house for a total of 32 days. It is generally a nice house, but could use some updating of kitchen equipment and TV in living room. The sound is dying on that TV and was hard to tolerate. Deck also needs splinter maintenance.Hate the bed in the MBR. It is too high and a broken hip waiting to happen. I am almost 50 and only 5 feet tall. It was not at all fun to try and climb in and out of the bed which was 36" high. Wouldn't rent again because of the bed.For this second stay, the house no longer had free long distance. Okay for a weekend, but for 2 weeks we needed access to a phone, and we had no cell phone coverage from our carrier. Donna was great in helping provide emergency contact to a local vet, but things could have been easier with a phone. Suggest adding it back, offering a small fee to use or at least letting renters know to purchase a long distance card before arriving in the valley.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Best of Canaan
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Higher Ground. We sincerely hope that overall, during you time here, your experience was more pleasant than unpleasant. All of us at Best of Canaan, along with the owners of Higher Ground, regret that you were not pleased with the house in general and are currently evaluating all of your issues. We certainly appreciate your input and want to remind all of our renters that we are available 7 days a week to answer questions and resolve maintenance issues.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Pleasant stay
Stephanie T. from Vienna, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2011
We absolutely loved staying at Higher Ground! The only recommendation I have is a gas grill instead of charcoal. I had quite the time getting it going since I am not used to a charcoal grill. Other than that, it was perfect and we will be back.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Place! Wonderful Location!
Steve W. from Cincinnati, OHIO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2011
If you like being near a lot of hiking, horseback riding, and white water rafting in the summer, this is the place to be. We will be back!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful vacation home
Melissa S. from Linville, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2011
Higher Ground is one of the most beautiful vacation homes that I have ever stayed in! This house was super clean and everything that you need is there from a very large abundance of towels to every kitchen appliance imaginable, whether you are staying 2 nights or 2 weeks it is all there. The only problem that we found with the house is the 2nd queen bed is not very comfortable, other than that the house is perfect! We vacationed with some of our family and had 4 adults & 3 kids, but there were room for a few more. You will not be disappointed if you rent this vacation home, it is wonderful!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

very nice
Margot S. from Charleston, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in January, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful Experience
A guest from Morgantown, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2011
The house was beautiful and close to the slopes. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling in a group. My friends marveled at the quality for the price. We will be going back next year!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Higher Ground Beautiful
Mark S. from Gordansville, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Property and Managers Excellent
Mark H. from Vero Beach, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in December, 2010
I have booked accommodations in Timberline with the majority of the realty companies in the area of the years. Best of Canaan's staff is one of the best! They were very kind and in constant communications leading up to our stay. Higher Ground was a great house especially if you have two families that need space to spread out. The professional kitchen which overlooks the warm great room with an awesome view of the T Lines slopes was great. The Mr. Steam in the Master bath shower was a hit after a long day on the slopes. This home is nicely appointed with many extras but yet has a very warm and relaxing feel. Walking distance to the slopes is a stretch especially in ski gear, but the property location is easily accessible as its just past the 3 way stop going to T-Line. Our family will look forward to returning again next year, and I definitely recommend Best of Canaan Realty.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

High Praise for Higher Ground
A guest from Rockville, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in December, 2010
We had a great time staying at Higher Ground. The house was absolutely perfect, plenty of space for our whole group. The hot tub was amazing, as was the game area and kitchen. We couldn't beat the location either - we were literally around the corner from Timberline resort. Skiing was perfect there. All in all, just a gorgeous, perfectly located house. Thanks!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Richmond, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in November, 2010
Had a great stay...only complaint was the bed in the master. I did not sleep there personally, but my parents said it was very uncomfortable and a bit on the small side for a master bed. My bed was what I would expect from a rental.The other item you should know about is the knob/lock on the side door (main one used) is loose or something.Cant wait to stay again!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Best of Canaan
Thanks so much for taking the time to complete the review. We wanted to let you know that our maintenance staff reported the problem with the door knob after you departed and we have had a local locksmith install a new one. We hope that it wasn't an inconvience to you and your family. We regret that the queen bed in the master bedroom was not comfortable for your parents. We have never heard that comment before. In the house's guest book we have had many positive remarks about the comfort of that particular room, and we completely understand that mattress comfort is a very personal issue. We really do appreciate your comments and hope that you had a lovely Thanksgiving at Higher Ground. We look forward to welcoming you back.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Canaan Valley Charmer
Terri B. from Annandale, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2010
This home is a beauty, and has all the comforts of home and then some! The lovely view of the mountains and a babbling brook make for a peaceful stay. This was our third visit to this home, and we hope not our last.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A stay in Canaan is always pleasant and relaxing!
A guest from Ford, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in September, 2010
The staff at Best of Canaan couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. We would recommend them to anyone interested in a mountain vacation, ski or otherwise.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Contact the Manager
Best of Canaan

Leave this field empty First Name *

Last Name *

Email Address *

Country *
Arrival Date

Departure Date

Adult (18+)
Child (<18)
Telephone
HomeMobileWork
Additional Message
Max 500 characters.

Email me this inquiry
Send me deals email

By clicking "Send Email" you are agreeing to our Terms and Conditions.


This advertiser has listed with PerfectPlaces.com since May 24, 2011

Find additional Vacation Rentals: