Perfect Places Vacation Rentals
Traveler Login Owner Login
Chinese (Traditional) Portugeuse Spanish Italian German French English

Kona Makai Oceanfront splendor
Kailua-Kona 2 br Vacation Rental Condo

Property Summary
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Type
Condo

Bedrooms
2

Bathrooms
2

Sleeps
4

Rates
$175 - $250 per night
$1,225 - $2,100 per week
$5,250 - $7,500 per month

Non Smoking   High-Speed Internet
 
Book Online   Visa Mastercard American Express 
This property listing provides real-time availability and rate quotes. Book it securely and instantly using a credit card.

Vacation Condo Rental Description:



The Kona Makai is one of Kona's favorite repeat destinations. This oceanfront community offers ocean views to no end.

This unit is one of the 6 prime units in the entire complex. It literally hangs over the sea! When the water is calm, you can slip right into the water for a nice snorkel off your front door (not for the first time snorkeler though).

This is a spacious two bedroom 2 bath suite. The master fronts the ocean, the guest suite also has an ocean view. Huge wrap-around lanais add another whole dimension to your family adventure in this suite.

These oceanfront units are the most prized units in the complex.

Kona Makai is an oceanfront condominium complex of about 100 one and two bedroom units located one mile from the beautiful town of Kailua-Kona. Amenities include an ocean-side swimming pool, jacuzzi, tennis courts, cabana area and barbecue area. The whole complex is surrounded by lush manicured and landscaped gardens overflowing with tropical flowers. Enjoy spectacular ocean views, sipping a cup of Kona Coffee while dolphins and whales are splashing around right in front of your Lanai.

The complex has direct access to the black lava Coast of the Pacific ocean for spectacular snorkeling and/or diving and is just a couple of miles down the shoreline from several wonderful beaches with opportunities to enjoy the graceful green sea turtles.

Downtown Kailua-Kona, about one mile away for easy access to shopping, businesses, restaurants and hotels. Watch the people and the cruise ships come and go from the Kailua Pier. Visit the famous Farmer's Market. Enjoy a shave ice or a cup of Kona coffee, have a light snack or a gourmet meal, buy an inexpensive souvenir or a piece of fine art, book an activity, go for a swim or hang out at the beach. Everything you need and want is readily available in the heart of Kona town.

HAWAII TAX ID # W-01

Bedding Configuration: 1 Queen, 2 Twin

Additional Features:
* Entertainment: Cable Television, CD Player, Internet access, Television
* Family: Beach, Library, Miniature Golf, Movie Theatre, Playground
* Kitchen: Blender, Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Oven, Refrigerator, Stove, Toaster, Utensils
* Living: A/C, Fully Equiped Kitchen, Hot Tub, Linens, Washer & Dryer
* Outdoor: Art Studios, ATV Rental, Balcony, BBQ Grill, Beach Walking, Beachcombing, Biking, Boating, Boogie Boarding, Coffee Plantations, Deep Sea Fishing, Dolphin Habitat, Fishing, Galleries, Gas Grill, Hiking Trails, Jet Ski Rental, Ocean Kayaking, Outdoor Shower, Shared Swimming Pool, Sight-Seeing, Snorkeling, Surfing, Swimming, Tennis, Wildlife Viewing, Scuba Diving, Manta Ray Diving, Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching, Dinner Cruises, Snorkel Trips
Book Online:

Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.

Arrival Date:
Departure Date:
Adults (18+):
Children (<18):
Visa Mastercard American Express 



Accommodation and Amenities:

Features:
  • High-Speed Internet
  • Full Kitchen
  • Balcony
  • Gas Grill
Appliances:
  • Blender
  • CD Player
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Activities:
  • Biking
  • Boating
  • Fishing
  • Golf
  • Deep Sea Fishing
  • Hiking
  • Surfing
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Walking

Owner/Manager last updated on 09/13/2014

 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»
  September   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  July   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  August   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»


Pricing/ Rates:    (click to convert currency)
Nightly Price Range: $  175 to: $  250
Weekly Price Range: $  1,225 to: $  2,100
Monthly Price Range: $  5,250 to: $  7,500

   » Prices in United States Dollars.

Pricing Notes:
Minimum Night Requirements:
StartEndMin Nights
Sep 1, 2014Oct 1, 20143
Oct 2, 2014Oct 17, 20147
Oct 18, 2014Dec 15, 20143
Dec 16, 2014Jan 4, 20157
Jan 5, 2015Sep 28, 20153
Sep 29, 2015Sep 30, 20157
Oct 1, 2015Sep 30, 20163



This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 Property Reviews 
A little bit of Pardise!
Mary Jane A. from Lynchburg, Virginia recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in August, 2014
The views from this condo is amazing, we had a very relaxing time just sitting on the lanai drinking our morning "Kona" coffee watching, snorkeling, dolphins, parasailing and just listening to the sounds of the ocean smacking against the lava rocks. The complex is secure and the grounds are immaculate. Location is central and close to food, shopping and island attractions. We had a couple of issues but the Realtors took care of them right away. Would I recommend and go back...you bettcha!!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Etwas durchwachsen
Andrea R. from Berlin, does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2014
Die Buchung war einfach und sehr komfortabel.Das Condo sollte mit A/C ausgestattet sein. Tatsächlich waren aber nur in den beiden Schlafzimmer A/C. Diese waren so laut, dass man sie Nachts abstellen musste. Die Mikrowelle funktionierte nicht und es war nirgends ein Hinweis darauf. Ich habe versucht, die Mikrowelle zu benutzen und dabei fingen die Kabel an verbrannt zu riechen. Eine e-mail an Boundless brachte keinen Erfolg. Es meldete sich einfach niemand. Die Wohnung über uns hatte einen Wasserschaden. Der Wasseralarm war nur in unserer Wohnung und direkt vor dem Haus zu hören. Wir waren zufällig in der Wohnung, so dass wir das Wasser bemerkt haben. Wären wir nicht da gewesen, wäre die gesamte Wohnung überschwemmt gewesen.Der Office Manager war da und hat das Wasser sofort abgedreht.Auch hier haben wir Boundless eine e-mail geschickt, aber niemand hat sich bei uns gemeldet. Sie Wohnung hat mir wegen der lauten und fehlendenden A/C nicht so gefallen. Der Lanai war groß, aber jeder konnte uns beobachten.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The Perfect Home Away From Home
Jon G. from Los Angeles, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 13 days in June, 2014
I'm always a little bit leery about making a reservation for a place that I can't see with my own eyes but only through pictures posted on the internet but this one did not disappoint at all. The photos looked amazing but the actual rental was even better than it showed in the photographs.The unit was clean and fully stocked with everything my wife and boys could possibly need for our vacation.The view was spectacular, amazing sunsets, and nothing between you and the ocean except some lava rocks.Parking was simple. The kitchen was easy to use. The laundry machines were relatively new and worked well. The A/C was only in the bedrooms but worked well enough. TV only got local channels but we didn't watch it much. Would have been nice to have Netflix but we couldn't get it to work.We will definitely be back.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Offerred a view but nothing else
Robert B. from Longwood, Florida does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in May, 2014
If you want a great ocean view & sunset stay here, but this unit offered nothing else. The unit is old, one of the toilets was not functioning correctly and overflowed onto the floor. The toilet was fixed but it still did not flush & fill properly. The paint was peeling. There is no handicap parking. There is a "trick" to get into the unit and you may have difficulties getting in unless you ask someone. The parking lot code box is located on the right side of your car as you enter and you will have to get out of your car to put in the gate code and then get back into your car. There were ants in the kitchen. You better read all of the rules or you will be charged (ie: you can only leave one load of towels to be cleaned or you will be charged extra)
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Oceanfront condo
Karen F. from Honolulu, Hawaii recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in April, 2014
Everything was great , except when I arrived to the condo, the clothes dryer was not working, although the management company tried their best, it was not able to get fixed during my 5 day stay
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Stunning Views and perfect accomodations!
Darcy H. from Anchorage, Alaska recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2014
We absolutely loved this unit. Upon arrival we felt at home. Although it was only the two of us, myself and husband, we opted for the 2 bedroom for keeping of our clothes, and luggage. The bed in the master was comfortable, and the kitchen stocked full of all the gadgets you need away from home. Our deck was a wrap around, so very spacious. We spent most of our time "at home" there if we were not on the go. We were able to jump in and scuba dive right there, in front of the condo. Caution though, only good swimmers since youre climbing back up the lava rocks and during times of waves, you tend to get "washed" back up on the rocks. You can hear the waves crashing at all times, which was peaceful. The only negatives were 1) having to check out and leave and 2) the unit it directly above the ping pong table and activity area. Normally there arent young kiddos there, however our stay overlapped with a family that had 4 energetic kids that utilized the ping pong table at hours as late as 10pm.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Excellent Value at Kona Makai
Dean P. from Ladera, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in April, 2014
Overall very clean unit and beds in good condition. Some minor quibbles. Still an Ant problem mainly in the kitchen "Despite seeing the pest control come during our stay". I think these ants are resilient and living in the walls. WE even put everything in the refrigerator and this helped somewhat but the occasional "ant scout" was still present. Also, there was a huge cockroach found in the Master Bedroom and one of the blinds broke. A call to the office let them know about the blinds however this was not fixed my entire stay. Not a huge deal but it would have been nice to not risk having the blinds fall off the ceiling as is was just hanging by a thread. Bare minimum spices and necessities in the unit. Makes you wonder if cleaning crew keeps all the left overs from other renters for themselves or do the renters take the stuff? Considering how expensive food items are in Hawaii, it was annoying to purchase $25 worth of spices when you would use not a 10th of it. I also left 2 beach umbrellas behind, we'll see how long they last in the apartment. The electrical outlets are very loose throughout the unit, never know if your phone or camera is charging completely or not. The ceiling fans are not that effective due to low ceilings, but the A/C units work very well in the bedrooms. I would like to stop hearing of bug problems at Kona Makai, and less complaints of things missing from the unit (left by thoughtful renters). If these problems go away, I will return as the unit is very nice.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Boundless Hawaii LLC
Aloha Mr. Pericone,

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and that you have returned home safely. We received your review and I would like to follow-up with you and thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate guest input to help us maintain our units.

I'm concerned to hear that you had issues with the blinds. We sent a handyman on April 9th to visit your unit shortly after you called to report the issue. He was on-site at Kona Makai property visiting another unit. I spoke with him today and he verified that he repaired the blinds and left a message on your phone, as there was no answer. Were you still having issues before you left? The blinds were tested in working condition during the repair, but maybe there was a separate issue that he was not aware of.

I have been in touch with the on-site management team regarding the ant issue. Pest control is administered and monitored by their staff. We have scheduled a second treatment and are working to find some way to increase the intensity and/or coverage area.

I understand your concerns with the the spices and food material. We know that it is not convenient to have to purchase new items for minimal use, be we do request that our cleaners remove any food items. There is a fine line, so we ask them to use their best judgement to prevent any potential issues or passing of germs. Also, things can spoil quickly and seasoning may clump due to the moisture. There are often some spices left behind, but the cleaners may at times only leave salt and pepper.

I am so sorry that you experienced issues during your stay. We are working to find solutions. Again, I thank you for your input. I hope this helps understand how things work on our end. We hope that you keep us in mind for your next visit. As a returning guest you are eligible for a 10% discount.

Mahalo,
Boundless Hawaii Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Kona Makai Vacation
A guest from Klamath, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 21 days in February, 2014
Lovely location
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

very responsive
Phil F. from Milltown, WI recommends this property.
Stayed for 17 days in January, 2014
Management company very responsive on an ant problem. Condo is dated but great location
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Should of stayed longer!
Jody M. from Wasilla, AK recommends this property.
Stayed for 15 days in December, 2013
The property and location were wonderful. It was great waking up each morning to hearing and seeing the ocean. The location was close to everything and very easy to find from the airport with the directions provided. The only concern was some of the people around the pool didn't seem to like kids. My kids were older, so we didn't have much of a problem, but one lady was mad because she was getting splashed. I'm not sure why she was sitting by the pool if she wasn't prepared to get a little wet. Isn't that the whole point?!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Water's Edge on Big Island
Reviewed by: Maggie K. recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in December, 2013
This is a great location, especially if you love to sleep to the sound of the ocean. Be prepared for that to be pounding surf in the winter months. We loved it! Convenient location, private and relatively quiet. The condo was well furnished and comfortable with an awesome view. The only little issue was that we were challenged to keep the ants at bay. Put packaged foods in the fridge. We had a great time and found the condo to be good value even in the busy holiday period. Thank you
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Enjoyable and Relaxing Stay
Teri M. from Lynnwood, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in September, 2013
So good, I actually selfishly feel hesitant to recommend. Great location, fantastic view, everything you need for a fabulous vacation in paradise.Thank you to the owners for opening your lovely condo to us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Terrifc condo
Janis K. from Sacramento, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2013
Stunning view of the ocean with a wrap around balcony. We were concerned about the heat and humidity in August but each bedroom and the kitchen and living room all had access to the breeze from the ocean which kept us all very comfortable. the bedrooms, each with their own bathroom, were spacious and made for an extremely comfortable stay. late birds could stay up and early birds could rise early without impacting others. We would definitely stay here again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Best vacation ever to date...
Danny & Cindy T. from Carson City, NV recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in April, 2013
This was our first time using a VRBO location/condo. We found the property to meticulously attended to. The rental property was clean and orderly containing the necessities to start off the visit. Though dated, the condo was good to go and well outfitted with conveniences. Free WIFI was a bonus on this property which made it easy to stay in contact with the Mainland. Our specific oceanfront view was overwhelming with beauty, providing views of dolphins/porpoises playing, whales swimming and panoramic sunset views. The second bedroom had two twin beds, a second queen would have been nice; but our travel buddies just pushed them together. This property was just a short distance to Kailua which is full of outstanding restaurants, the KONA Brewery, COSTCO and other venues. Three BBQ grills graced the common patio area literally yards from the ocean. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and well maintained, but the rules a little too stringent (Heck were adults on vacation and they closed them at 9:00 PM) Just a heads up, very difficult/hazardous ocean (I wouldn't let young children wander!) access due to the typical KONA lava coast. If there is such a possible thing to complain about,,, The ocean was too loud... LOL... Love this location and will absolutely return..!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Ocean Front with sunset spectaculars
A guest from Bend, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 16 days in March, 2013
Would like to visit again, soon.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The Best Yet!
A guest from Meudon, France recommends this property.
Stayed for 19 days in February, 2013
There is nothing better than an ocean front rental and this one is the tops. It would be even better if the lanai had some lighting. At the moment it has a lamp from the sittingroom on a small lanai table. It was difficult to see what was in our dinner plates. More forks (only 5 left) would not go amiss, nor another medium size casserole, new non stick frying pan, and more dishes for cereal or desert, more small plates and dinner plates in crockery and not melanine please (there are lots of those). We have been in this condo 5 times now and over the years the general state of the interior has deteriorated. It needs a complete renovation, carpets and furniture included (bed in main bedroom is comfortable,however. The twins are too soft and need replacing). Things could be better, but we are still happy to come back - and we will. Just a note about the Kona Makai complex. It is an extremely well-looked after residence, with very friendly and hard-working staff. And people are friendly and you will get to know them if you stay long enough. The place is quiet. There are not enough amenities for small children so I would not recommend this place for young families. I imagine the average age is above 50. We have recommended this condo to our friends.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

great view but...
Frank M. from Waterford, WI recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in February, 2013
The view, location, staff were great. The layout of the unit was fine, large lanai. Very dated furniture, bedding etc. Carpets need to be replaced.uncomfortable chairs.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

An amazing ocean view and comfortable condo
Berta M. from Stillwater, Minn recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in January, 2013
This condo was very clean and roomy, right on the ocean. A wrap-around lanai was our "living room" when we were there. Saw whales every day, spinner dolphins too! Nice furnishings, linens were clean and soft. The apartment-sized washer/dryer was much appreciated. The grounds were beautifully kept and quiet; even though the property is on busy Ali'i Drive, we never heard any road noise (just the waves crashing on the lava shore). Very good location, about 1.5 miles away from farmers market, town. Good shoulder along highway to walk, bike. The check-in process was simple: fill out a card, drop it in the box (when I finally did catch someone in the office, he seemed surprised that I didn't know that was all I had to do, so that might be better explained in the "When You Get Here" document).A few constructive comments: the carpets could be cleaner (I would rip them out and put down tile); dishwasher did not clean dishes (we did them by hand, no big deal); would like more refrigerator storage containers in kitchen; knives needed sharpening. Could use nicer pots/pans, but if you don't like to cook on vacation that wouldn't be an issue.I think the "no games in the pool" policy and overall quieter atmosphere cultivated here should be communicated more strongly to prospective renters. Don't get me wrong--our children are grown and I appreciated the serenity very much. But if I had brought children, I would be very nervous allowing them to swim in the pool because, of course, children will make some noise playing in the water. Will we come back? Absolutely; in fact we are planning to rent again next January!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A million dollars view
Vincent M. from Shannon, Quebec recommends this property.
Stayed for 11 days in December, 2012
A lanai 25 ft from the sea, you can see the ocean from every room of the condo. The condo is well maintain with all you need for nice vacation. Very quiet site white nice pool and a lot of flowers. Take a breakfast on the lanai watching whales and dolphin was priceless.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Spot
A guest from Calgary, Alberta recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2012
We were thrilled to have such a fabulous condo. The location is second to none.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fabulous stay, awesome view
Teri M. from Lynnwood, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 13 days in September, 2012
Exceptional location with excellent views of sunsets and spinner dolphins off the 100 foot wrap around lanai. Very relaxing, will come again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

loved the holiday in Kona
Mavis N. from Chandler, Queens Land recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in June, 2012
we had a fabulous time at Kona Makai, only 1 suggestion for a clothes airer or clothes line for clothes that you can't put in the dryer.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Kona Vacations 2012
A guest from Huavhuca City, AZ does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 15 days in June, 2012
Stayed at this property in 2011 condo was clean and in great condition.Our next stay 2012 condo was very dirty,carpet not clean and Counters full of dust.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

can't surprass incredible view from lanai.interior poor
NURIT G. from San Diego, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 13 days in May, 2012
upgrades needed, but doable due to incredible view from all areas
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Kona Vacation
A guest from Lake Stevens, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 46 days in January, 2012
Great Island with a super little town of Kailua. The condo unit we stayed in was well located and we enjoyed every day spent there. A few things needed some attention such as the Television. It is of the old analog type and most of the time required turning it on several times before it would stay on and focus. This was not a problem for us as we used it only on two or three occasions. When we did have a problem (plumbing and a broken deck chair) Prince Properties handled it quickly and efficiently. Overall a great Hawaiian experience.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice ocean front condo but children not welcome
A guest from Weyburn, Saskatchewan does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2011
The view from the large lanai is awesome but the condo itself is a bit dated and comforters, etc. Had not been cleaned for a while. The big disappointment for us, however, was all the restrictions put on kids there. They can't have toys or play games in the pool and must be 14 to go in hot tub. People actually complained that our kids were in the hot tub and there was never anyone else at the pool area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

don't understand what this means by a title???????????
Bonnie J. from Bainbridge Island, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in November, 2011
We did not like the decor of the funiture. It was pretty dated and used. The building is old and the doors and woodwork were not in really good condition. We tried to play tennis and there was a $25. refundable charge to get the key and play. However, it was impossible to get the key as office was always closed, no one there. That is rediculous to lock the courts and not have your own key to open it to play. Wish the pool was heated. The place was very clean though.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

dsasd
A guest from Boulder, CO does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 14 days in November, 2011
dsdsd
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful
A guest from Long Beach, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 15 days in October, 2011
Overall it was nice. Unfortunately, they were working on the unit above us and woke up to jackhammers and men on the lanai 8 of the 16 mornings we were there. Kids liked the pool except they couldn't take any toys in the water.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Very poorly managed!
Michelle P. from Orange, CA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2011
The condo itself was amazing. The ocean view was breathtaking, and so very close to the beautiful town of Kailua, Kona. The snorkeling in front was something out of a story book. The condo was very clean, but very poorly equiped. There were very few plastic glasses, no cookie sheet, the ice maker didn't work, no toilet paper, paper towles,no plastic baggies, no bar soap, or laundry detergent, yet we were expected to do the towles before leaving. It advertised A/C, yet there was none. And the rules were so strict at the actual property, it made our trip very uncomfortable. No playing by the pool for the children, no upright tables & chairs by the pool area to play cards, or have a drink, (although, cards would have been a no no, since it would have been fun) The Kona Makai property is not for families with children. In fact I don't think I saw a child the entire week we were there. We expected to BBQ and enjoy the amenities, yet didn't feel comfortable talking to any other people on the property. The location manager actually asked me why I invited people off the street to come visit us when it was my brother and his family that live in Hawaii that came to see us while we visited from Orange, Calif. I would never recommend the Property Management Co. Prince Properties, nor the actual property, Kona Makai. My sister in law who rented a different condo at the Kona Reef was greeted by the property management company with a welcome basket full of fresh fruit, pineapple, mango, papaya, and kona coffee. Their condo had many plastic glasses, and was so equiped she actually brought things to our condo for us to use. We will definately book thru the same company she did for our next trip.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Prince Properties, Inc.
As we told you , you rented a two bedroom condo hoping to host a complete family reunion. Sorry your plan did not work for you. Next time rent an entire house.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Dated condo with a FANTASTIC view!
Gena A. from The Woodlands, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2011
This condo needs to be updated! The furniture is well worn, the carpets are gross looking - although they seemed clean, and if the person above you uses their AC, the condensation runs down to the ceiling of this condo and then drips onto the floor. We strategically placed towels so that the floor wouldn't get any more stained. If you bring food to the condo, keep it well sealed or in the refrigerator bc otherwise the ants will invade. All that being said, I would stay in the same condo again just for the lanai and view! They are amazing!! The grounds are also well maintained and beautiful. You can get in some open water swimming right off the rocks if you wish. It's only about 1.5 miles into the center of town, so an easy walk.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

WiFi poor
A guest from Pacific Grove, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in September, 2011
The WiFi service is terrible and needs to be improved
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location and lots of action on the water.
A guest from Saratoga, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 9 days in September, 2011
There was only one wash cloth in the unit - others were delivered later. Several plates were damaged beyond usefulness. The carpet needs a really good shampooing in all rooms. The remote control for the ceiling fan was not visible. The faucet above the tub in the small bathroom was very difficult to operate. These were reported to the management in writing. Otherwise, the things that really matter like the view, location, lovely surroundings, were stunning. The wraparound lanai was wonderful. I have stayed in the above unit, 6102 for several years so I know this property very well.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The best sunsets around
John D. from Grand Junction, Colorado recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in July, 2011
We had a great time. It was the first time to Hawaii and the first to rent a condo. It has all the comforts of home, quiet, super clean and the Lanni was great. We watched every sunset while we were there. Would be great for kids too.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The best
Erika F. from Huavhuca City, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 11 days in June, 2011
Be back next year !!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

KONA MAKAI 6101 in KAILUA KONA
A guest from Vallejo, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2011
Excellent Location! Well equiped unit. The grounds, pool and spa were very well taken cared. Would definitely recommend it and would rent it again. Aloha!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Needs updating
A guest from Columbus, MT recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in March, 2011
The location and view from this unit and large Lanai were great. This is a great location for activities on the Kona side. The carpets were worn and dirty. In desparate need of replacing. Appliances worked fine but were quite old also.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

great location but they forgot to clean it...
A guest from Moscow, Idaho does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 9 days in February, 2011
right on the ocean, loved the view, the waves, everything, BUT when we arrived it had not been cleaned, laundry had not been done, beds not made... kinda grossed my wife out, but after calling around to get a cleaner by 8 that night we had a clean condo with a view and they refunded the cleaning deposit.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wild Rose Pete
Peter V. from Wild Rose, WI recommends this property.
Stayed for 11 days in October, 2010
Condo in good condition. Bed sheets soiled and one screen door needs repair. Other than that wonderful stay. Great location.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awsome views from Lanai, I could even see the surf by just rolling over in bed! Great location
Todd L. from San Jose, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Contact the Manager
Boundless Hawaii LLC

Leave this field empty First Name *

Last Name *

Email Address *

Country *
Arrival Date

Departure Date

Adult (18+)
Child (<18)
Telephone
HomeMobileWork
Additional Message
Max 500 characters.

Email me this inquiry
Send me deals email

By clicking "Send Email" you are agreeing to our Terms and Conditions.


This advertiser has listed with PerfectPlaces.com since Oct 13, 2007

Find additional Vacation Rentals: