Perfect Places Vacation Rentals
Traveler Login Owner Login
Chinese (Traditional) Portugeuse Spanish Italian German French English

Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of P...
Pahoa 2 br Vacation Rental Home

Property Summary
Pahoa, Hawaii, United States
Type
Home

Bedrooms
2

Bathrooms
3

Sleeps
5

Rates
$155 - $225 per night
$1,030 - $1,575 per week
$3,950 - $5,757 per month

Non Smoking   High-Speed Internet
 
Book Online   Visa Mastercard American Express Discover
This property listing provides real-time availability and rate quotes. Book it securely and instantly using a credit card.

Vacation Home Rental Description:



Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!

IMAGINE FLOATING LANGUIDLY IN A WARM VOLCANIC POND, GENTLY CARESSED BY WAVES OF WATER. Feel the warmth of sun beams dancing on your body, inhale the sweet fragrance of tropical flowers, and feel the cool, gentle tradewinds as you relax on the lanai. Awake to the cooing of doves and watch moonbeams dance across the pond at night. You're at HALE MAHANA (HOUSE OF REST) IN KAPOHO on the East side of the Big Island of Hawaii!

Take a video peek.

HALE MAHANA is a multi-facetted building designed with the temperate Hawaiian weather in mind. There are two master suites, the each has a Queen size Select-Comfort bed with a 4" memory foam mattress topper, wet bar with sink, microwave and mini-fridge, flat screen TV, screened lanai and full en-suite bath. Both master bathrooms have jetted tubs, tiled floors and garden views. Each suite also has its own screened in lanai with a view of the Hale Mahana pond. The lower-level lanai also has a futon day bed for that 5th guest. From the lanais you can hear the ocean just a couple of blocks away. There is a third bathroom off the kitchen that boasts a large and artisic outdoor shower! The stained glass shows several Hawaiian fish, can you name them?

THE KITCHEN IS WELL EQUIPPED and with an outdoor gas grill as well, you can feast on local Hawaiian seafood and produce! There is room for dining al fresco under the stars or in the garden view dining room just off the kitchen. There is even a small flat screen TV in the kitchen so you don't miss a thing while you're cooking away! And if you're visiting in winter, you just may get chilly enough to turn on the small electric fireplace to warm your toes with your morning coffee or tea.


THE TIDEPOOL ranges from 6 feet deep at low tide and up to 15 feet at high tide. The temperature varies from 88 degrees F at high-tide to 91 degrees at low tide, year round. This lagoon is one of the original natural tidepools in Kapoho and neighborhood legend has it that King Kamehameha III frequented these grounds and swam in this tidepool!

KAPOHO is known for its great weather and the renowned Champagne Pond where you can swim with sea turtles and tropical fish, just two blocks from Hale Mahana. Pahoa Village is a 12 minute drive and has great restaurants, quaint shopping and even a public pool. Fly into the Hilo airport and you're an easy 45 minute drive to Kapoho or fly into Kailua-Kona about a 3-hour drive.

Year-round rate range is $165 - $295 per night, depending upon party size and dates of your visit. Cleaning fee ranges from $165 to $180, also depending upon party size.

W-01

Bedding Configuration: 2 Queen, 1 Other

Room Description: Hale 1 has dining, galley kitchen, small seating area, powder room, outdoor walk-in shower. Hale 2 has full master suite on lower and upper level, both with private lanai.

Additional Features:
* Drive Times: Near Kapoho Tide Pools, 15 minutes to Pahoa, 45 minutes to Hilo, 45min to Volcanoes National Park
* Entertainment: FREE high-speed Internet!, Wireless Internet, Satellite TV, Flat Screen TV
* Geographic: Kapoho Bay
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Microwave, Dishwasher, Electric Range
* Living: Ceiling Fans, Portable Fans, Flat Panel TV, Free long distance US and Canada, Phone with Answering Machine, Jacuzzi Tub, Walk-in Shower, Washer & Dryer, Child Pack-N-Play (Must Request)
* Outdoor: Unassigned Offstreet Parking, Balcony / Deck / "Lanai", Gas BBQ Grill, Outdoor Shower, Private Pond
Book Online:

Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.

Arrival Date:
Departure Date:
Adults (18+):
Children (<18):
Visa Mastercard American Express Discover



Accommodation and Amenities:

Features:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Full Kitchen
  • High-Speed Internet
Appliances:
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Phone
  • Refrigerator

Owner/Manager last updated on 07/26/2014

 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»
  July   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  August   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  September   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»


Pricing/ Rates:    (click to convert currency)
Nightly Price Range: $  155 to: $  225
Weekly Price Range: $  1,030 to: $  1,575
Monthly Price Range: $  3,950 to: $  5,757

   » Prices in United States Dollars.

Pricing Notes:
Minimum Night Requirements:
StartEndMin Nights
Jul 1, 2014Dec 13, 20143
Dec 14, 2014Jan 5, 20155
Jan 6, 2015Jul 31, 20163



This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 Property Reviews 
Beds and neighbors
Charles P. from Georgetown, TX does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in May, 2014
\Place was somewhat clean although because of ill fitting screens and doors it was buggy. Beds are horrible, and seeing a neighbor sun bathing in the nude was disgusting. It would have been nice to have tools to clean the leaves out of the pond. The place is for sale and it seems that the ownership has given up on keeping it up. I will not stay here again
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great tide pool and beautiful house!
Tatiana E. from Belmont, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in April, 2014
We enjoyed very much our stay at Hale Mahana. The house and surrounding garden are very beautiful and definitely unique. On our 3rd day we started to get used to the strange layout. This was not our first time at Kapoho, and this was our best place to stay so far. The house is located very close to the Champagne Pond; and the geothermal pool was a highlight of this wonderful place! Hale Mahana is very private, peaceful and relaxing. I liked its style and beauty, so we took lots of pictures.We had a few minor issues, e.g. bed mattress has a depression in the middle, but we did not have any back problems. It would be very helpful to have at least some hooks or towel racks in bathrooms, so we could hang towels to dry after we used them. It would be nice to have folding drying racks to hang wet things to dry after swimming. Also it would be nice to have some kind of shelving or drawers in bedrooms to unload our things into. I tried to use provided kitchenettes to hold our stuff, but mostly things stayed in our luggage.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Girlfriend said it was a perfect choice
Wally G. from Kailua Kona, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2014
All good, great surrounding environment, bedroom & spa bath combos were fabulous except for the beds ... Second floor bed really sunk in middle so bad we moved to first floor bedroom, better but ended up with sore lower backs, otherwise kitchen, shower in small structure very nice, living room area adjoining kitchen was nice but not really a living room you could get comfortable in. The private heated pond was a real plus. Rain came and went and added to the flavor of the Kapoho experience? I would rent again if they upgraded the beds.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful vacation rental
Reviewed by: Babette L. recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2014
We only had a few days to stay so did not get to take advantage of the hot pond as much as we would have liked.The property was very clean and comfortable. Our only real complaint was the kitchen. It was not stocked as well as we would have liked,was extremely small and the huge cabinet doors were very hard to open without any kind of knobs or handles on them. The set up of the property is very unique and we liked that, would have liked a larger indoor common area for when it was raining, our bedroom ending up being mostly our indoor "living area. I would recommend this property for no more than 4 people since there is not an actual living area indoors. Overall, very pleased. The hot pond is the most outstanding feature.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Unique House - Wonderful pool
Laura F. from Victoria, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in January, 2014
This is the fourth rental we have had in the Kapoho community, all of which have been satisfactory, but this one definitely goes to the top of the list, thanks to the interesting and unique design of the house and that wonderful geothermally heated pool. It was peaceful and the grounds very nicely kept. This view was shared by friends who were able to join us at Hale Mahana for the first three days of our two week stay.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A special home in a special part of the world
A guest from Duffy, ACT recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014
A striking property designed to make the most of the climate. We loved the layout; even on the day of torrential rain it was manageable although you had to take care not to slip on the stairs. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment and we enjoyed the books, DVDs and games available.I know others had problems with the wireless internet but we were running three tablets off it and the speed was fine.The geothermal pool was the highlight of the stay. Snorkelling in your own private pool watching tropical fish, whilst only 20 metres from your bed, is something unique.The Champagne Pools were also wonderful. The only issue we had was that the mattresses were very tired with deep depressions in the centre. Even my tiny teenage daughter noticed, and unfortunately my husband's back was badly affected. Update the mattresses and we'll be back!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful, modern, perfect house
A guest from Skokie, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in January, 2014
We had originally booked with another home through Aloha Coast, but due to noise from construction work on the adjoining property, we requested a move. Aloha was VERY understanding, and moved us to this amazing, spacious home. Although it was no longer directly on the water like the original house, the modern, comfortable, quite house along with the tide pool, more than made up for the difference. We loved awakening to the birds calling. We highly recommend Aloha Coast Realty and Hale Mahana.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fabulous warm pond and nearby snorkeling
A guest from Denver, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in January, 2014
We traveled with my husband, myself and our 3 kiddos ages 9, 7 and 7. The house is BEAUTIFUL. I love all the windows and unique shape (two Octagonal buildings connected by covered walking area and large deck). Kiddos slept in one room on the 1st level and my hubby and I enjoyed having our own separate floor and room upstairs.Walked over to snorkel in nearby warm bay and saw turtles, eels and fish. Kids spent hours playing on inflatable rafts in our own private warm pond. Water was crystal clear (until they stirred it up a bit with all their playing). Wonderful dock with two chairs for us to sit in when we weren't joining in the fun.They had several rafts, boggie boards and even water shoes we could use. Tree frogs in the evening to listen to and bright green geckos scampering around for kids and us to admire.Highly recommended!!Cheers,Annette
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Relaxing in Paradise
A guest from Carbondale, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2013
Loved the private thermal pool, Champagne Ponds, quiet area, comfortable accommodations and much Aloha! Will return again!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful property with a few hiccups
Jean-Paul B. from Dublin, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in November, 2013
Good news: Absolutely georgeous property. Rooms were very well appointed, kitchen had everything needed for an extended stay over the thanksgiving holiday. Bedrooms were very comfortable with nice tubs. Swimming hole was wonderful. Champaign pond less than 100 yards away. Plenty of beach gear - towels, footwear for a family of 4, boogie boards. Awesome!!Bad news: Bugs were a bit of a problem but it was to be expected. We all left with lots of bug bites! Downstairs bathroom and kitchen area had tons of bugs. We need more geckos! Upstairs pillow was stained with cat urin and had a very strong smell. We washed the sheets as soon as we arrived and discovered that :( - on Thanks Giving morning a mongoose got himself trapped in a rat trap on the deck. He spun around violently for about an hour, spraying rat poison and fecal matter all over the deck as he attempted to free himself. Yeah, yuck.Overall: beautiful rural location, safe, incredible house - bugs and animal life to be expected actually - you can't control nature! You can however control urin on the bed - that should have been taken care of well before we arrived. For that I give it 3/5 stars
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Amazing Private Sanctuary
Erica C. from Honolulu, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013
Such a fantastic place! Perfect for privacy not only within the home but the area! This is the 4th property I've rented in Kapoho Ponds and its definitely my favorite. Had an amazing time and can't wait to come back!Only suggestions would be to upgrade the beds and to have lights around the pond so swimming at night could be enjoyed as well.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful, Private Hale Mahana
Karen & Gene M. from San Ramon, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 11 days in September, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation in Kapoho. The quiet and private setting was perfect. The screened dining area, spacious bedroom suites and fully equipped kitchen made it a 5 star rating for us. Very nice landscaping - many orchids and other flowers. The warm pond was amazing and used daily. We can't really think of anything we wanted but did not have. Thank you!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Staycation on the Big Island
Tessa M. from Kona, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013
We had such a wonderful time! the house was perfect, and nice and clean. Check in and out was super easy. We loved the privacy. Our friends stayed at another house and the caretaker was over daily. Although she was nice, we preferred our location much better. I will definitely recommend to friends and family.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Very relaxing
Jeremy E. from Sonora, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 16 days in July, 2013
Quiet, nice neighbors. This was a working vacation and fit our needs very well. Only ding is too many cockroaches in the bedrooms. (We like the geckos).
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice quiet location - needs some maintenance.
A guest from Castle Rock, CO does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 6 days in May, 2013
Pro's -nice gated community -3 minute walk to the ocean-private tide pool was nice-unique house designCon's-issue getting keys correctly at night-jets in the bath tubs did not work-some of the fan's did not work(very discomforting trying to sleep) could use a window fan to pull in some cool night air-sink issues-missing drain stops-needed some TLC-no cell service with Verizon(about 5-10 min drive to get service) they do have house phone
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A beautiful location
Kim S. from San Francisco, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in March, 2013
This was a very beautiful property, very well appointed, decorated and maintained. There was the lack of great room that other renters pointed out and we were prepared for, so it was outdoor living for us! Love all the decks. The only sour note in the whole place was that the bed linens and pillows were very poor quality. To the point were it made sleeping uncomfortable. Fix that and it is A-ONE all the way. Suggestion, you might sharpen the knives occasionally too. Please pass on to the owner just how beautiful we thought everything else was! Can't really rate the property management as we had no direct contact with them.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Thanks for your review! We will definitely pass it along to the Owner for the suggested upgrades. Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Quirky awkward house design
A guest from Sylvan Lake, AB does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in February, 2013
We loved the location of this house (kapoho is a gated community in a tropical zone by the ocean, with amazing lava flows and tide pools), and loved our private tide pool. The house itself, though clean, was awkward ... Leaving meant locking 5-7 doors, there was no indoor games/eating area if it was raining hard (which it does), and the only shower was outside all of the lockable doors. On the fixable side, the downstairs bed was saggy and is not an adjustable mattress like the one upstairs, there are no towel bars (and too few towels), and the kitchen cupboards desperately need knobs. The kitchen tv is connected to nowhere. We've rented a number of vacation homes, this is my first poor review. Loved the area, the geckos, the pool. Not the house.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Thank you for your review. The house is designed with outdoor living in mind and when it rains, can be an awkward fit for multiple people. We're happy to say that the mattresses have both been upgraded as of 2/2013. We've also solved the mystery of the kitchen TV that does connect to a receiver in the downstairs bedroom. The lovely outdoor shower is not for everyone but we like it. Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful Setting but Be Aware
Kathleen & John S. from Boulder, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in January, 2013
The house is in two separate pods with the bedrooms also separate from each other by outside stairs. And no real living room area for a family to visit together but a lovely screened porch with a large table for meals, games, etc. The two screened lanais off the bedrooms were a wonderful addition for reading, watching the birds, or just enjoying the lovely setting. The only shower is outside (but attached to the house) and it is unique and very enjoyable! The large jacuzzi tubs were great. The home is very serene with a wonderful lava pond for swimming but it could use some pool work since it had a lot of debris when we were there. The Geckos were very numerous in the house but adorable! Just be aware... this is a natural setting not a Kona condo! Wonderful area with short walk to the Kapoho tide pools and short drive to the lava-heated public pool. Pahoa is a small and rather quaint town with lots of interesting characters but the choices of restaurants and shops is limited so again be aware that this is a rather isolated area of the island. We never did get the wifi to work for example. And you need to keep the windows and doors closed if there is not a screen on them since you will get some critters inside otherwise. Nice community with friendly neighbors. We found this rental both relaxing and yet challenging due to the need for going outside and upstairs so often but then i am 65 and have some spinal issues; the exercise was probably good for me! I LOVED THE LAVA POND AND THE LOVELY HAWAIIAN LANDSCAPING with the occasional night heron and mongoose dropping by for a visit. It was worth the drive and the challenge; it will be a very memorable vacation.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

hale mahana
A guest from Walnut Creek, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 16 days in January, 2013
The house is very well appointed and cared for. The internet was not available. The VCR was not working.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Loved the Tide Pool
Becky E. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in December, 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our five days at Hale Mahana. The home was very clean and well situated. We loved being a short walk away from Chanpagne Pond, and within striking distance of interesting things to see in Puna as well as the national park. The house itself has a unique layout that we enjoyed, though it would have been nice to have a larger common area or living room.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

when on vacay i want to be with family, there is no family room
Julie J. from Seminole, FL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 8 days in August, 2012
spent most of our time away from this property
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great stay in Kapoho
Chantal B. from Okotoks, AB recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012
We loved our stay at Hale Mahana. The ocean is so close, you can ear the waves. This location was perfect and quiet. The pond is fabulous, we swam every day. Many other properties have ponds, but few are as nice as this one. We slept with all windows open, the constant breeze was so comfortable. We woke up with bird songs. It rained every nights and early mornings, but days were nice. We really appreciated to have the kitchen apart. This way my husband could get up at 5AM and do his own thing, without waking us up. One week was not enough. We should have booked two weeks at Hale Mahana and only one at Waikoloa... I would love to get back...Thank you for sharing this great place with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A month at Hale Mahana
Donna P. from Phoenix, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 28 days in June, 2012
We enjoyed all 28 days at Hale Mahana. It was clean and homey. It had everything we needed. There was a lot to do in and near Kapoho so we were happy with the location. We even enjoyed and miss all the sounds. The warm pond was perfect for our kids. It kept them entertained. It felt great in the pond when it was raining too. The gardener let us pick the pineapples and bananas on the property! Great neighbors! They came to check on us and brought us a lantern when the power went out. We hope to be back!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wish we were still there!
Bren M. from Tulsa, OK recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2012
We loved our stay at Hale Mahana House. The house was beautiful and well equipped. Everything was in working order. It is only a very short walk to Champagne Pond which is great for snorkling. The private pond adjacent to the house was wonderful also. Loved the treehouse feel of Hale Mahana. It took a little to get used to the unusual layout of the house, but we quickly adapted. We stayed in the upper bedroom and our kids stayed in the lower bedroom.... which wasn't an issue as they are older. This was our second visit to the area and our first time to stay at Hale Mahana. We would love to stay there again on a future visit. We loved the sights and sounds of all of the local wildlife.... especially the geckos:) Thanks for opening up this lovely home to travelers like us. We will definitely recommend your company to anyone who is lucky enough to come your way. Mahalo.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Had a great time
A guest from Rozet, Wyoming recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2012
From start to finish the entire rental process was very simple to complete. The property was exactly as described and shown in the photos. The residence was located on the Hilo side of the Big Island with everything that you need close by. The thermal tide pool on the property was amazing.The snorkeling spot by the ocean was just as warm as the tide pool with lots of fish, and we evan saw sea turtles there on several nights. This was a great place to stay for a week and had everything you needed. The house was clean and in great working order with no problems. This was my second time using this rental company on the Big Island and both times it has worked out perfictly. I will be using there services again in the future. Thank You
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

remote home with beautiful design and furnishings
A guest from Venice, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2012
Very nice stuff, private pond and location but needs maintenence- main outside lights up high and tv in kitchen don't work, cupboard needs tightening, etc. We called maintenence number but no call back and not sure how they could as handsets seemed disabled and no cell service. Would also be nice to have more than two (queen) beds for this large place. Nice kitchen so don't need kitchenettes in bedrooms.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A place with no privacy
Reviewed by: A guest does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in February, 2012
The property has no privacy.It is overlooked by other large homes. You had to change clothes in the closet so no one would see you.Some selective landscaping would give it a more island feel and honor the island heritage of the pools.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Jim's review
James W. from Brookline, MA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in February, 2012
This is a very unique house and we enjoyed our stay. Only problems were the downstairs bedroom TV didn't work and the place should have wifi. Also we had to go begging down the street to get matches for the BBQ. Two other things. You need new mattresses on both beds and there are a lot of light bulbs missing. Despite those negatives we enjoyed the thermal tide pool and the house overall.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Thank you for your review. As we were not aware of any of the problems you encountered during your stay, we were only able to fix them after your check-out. We always respond to maintenance requests right away and would have been happy to resolve these issues for you. There is wifi in the house (password located on the fridge), the tv remote just needed batteries and light bulbs have been refreshed! As for the mattresses, they are sleep number and we could have directed you how to adjust them. Next time, just give us a call! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

tried to!!
Marla G. from Kailua Kona, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2012
I wanted to give a personal review and sent it, but got a "defensive" response back.. love Brady from Shangrila,......seems like she is the "pulse " of what's happening there.. if you really want an honest review, call me... Marla...
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Solitude, stars and sunshine!
A guest from Langhorne, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in January, 2012
My husband and I and my son and his girlfriend stayed for a week. We had a fantastic time. We enjoyed the outdoor living, the breezes, the pond, and the geckos! The home has everything you need for a relaxing stay. We highly recommend it.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice property in Kapoho
Vickie F. from kamuela, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in January, 2012
We recently stayed at a vacation rental in Kapoho and really enjoyed ourselves there. The property is conveniently located to the ponds, the house had all of the amenities (we only brought food with us). There were only 2 drawbacks: 1) there are two separate pods for the house which is great if you are staying with 2 couples but not so great for kids so there wasn't a living room we could all hang together in; 2) the neighbor's property (might also be the homeowner, mind you) looked directly into the property and we felt like we were being watched - in fact, the neighbor even left a note in the "guest book" asking that we turn out the outside lights before retiring because they shine into their bedroom - a little creepy that this note was sitting in the guest book inside the rental. If you are visiting with 2 couples or with older children, this is a great place to stay. We were totally okay with our children being in a separate room but just sharing this for those folks that may be traveling with younger children as 1 bedroom is upstairs, 1 downstairs with outdoor entry to each. The personal pond on the property was pretty cool too. Oh yes, and the property management company was very efficient and professional to deal with.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Thank for your honest review. We agree the property would not work well for younger children and we do tell potential guests the aspects of the house that make that so. The neighbor next door is not the owner of the house, but is a friend. Being a small, close neighborhood with many residents and toursits alike, many of the neighbors in Kapoho watch out for thier friend's properties. Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Swiss Family Robinson experience
A guest from Kailua, HI does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2011
Remote location with great geothermal pond.It is a great looking home, but the lay out was odd. The two bedrooms were separate units, under a large open air covered roof. One has to walk outside to check on kids/other guests, and to use the kitchen/dining room. We were constantly opening and closing doors, to go from this room to that room. On the last day, one of the heavy screen doors FELL ON ME. It was only hinged by 2 short screws and was missing all of the middle screws. A repair man came to fix it but I was hurt, shaken and angry. The beds were "full" size, not queen size and felt like a tent, air mattress. We all had trouble sleeping. The only shower is cold water for rinsing off. Didn't use the jacuzzi tubs for bathing. The pond was wonderful. Suggest cutting back to overgrown path to the deck. Something was stinging us, perhaps ants or flies? The sting only lasted a few hours only leaving a red spot. We've lived in HI for 16 years, so we're used to the bugs, geckos, ocean roar and ever changing weather. This place is nice, but next time we'll go back to renting a ole Kopoho Ohana house, where we can all sleep, safe and sound down the hall from each other.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

House of Semi-Rest
A guest from Brea, CA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2011
This my honest review of Hale Mahana after a 7 night stay in Aug '11: Positives: 1) Nice location in Kapoho through lush green areas. No touristy. 2) House is close to Champagne Pond (3 minute walk) 2) House built out of top notch materials and decorated nicely 3) Good indoor furniture 4) Excellent outdoor furnishings 5) Screened-in dining area, great for meals 6) Tide pool on site 7) Clean 8) All the fresh coconut water you want to drink. Trees are all over the property. Negatives: 1) No privacy: Screens and shutters do not obscure the bedrooms nor the bathrooms. All screens are translucent. Can see right through them at night. Bathroom and bedroom window shutters only cover the bottom half of the windows. So you never get a sense of complete privacy when using the bathroom. Disconcerting when bathing/showering or using the toilet. You always feel exposed. 2) No indoor showers. 2 jacuzzi tubs only. Only a useless outdoor shower. So we ended up showering in the tubs sitting or kneeling down to minimize splashes and exposure (shutters only cover half the window). Very uncomfortable. 3) No lights in the outdoor shower, so showering after dark is not practical, plus prone to mosquito bites in sensitive areas. 4) No real indoor living room to gather with the family. There's a very small sitting area next to the kitchen. No couches or TV. No place for the family to comfortably gather indoors. 5) Bedrooms are in a separate building from the kitchen. Inconvenient after dark as you have to keep the kitchen locked when no one's in there. 6) Noisy frogs croaking all night long. They're so loud you can hear them while driving in the car w/ windows up. 7)Mosquitoes at night eating you alive. Returned with bites even with wearing repellent (lemon eucalyptus; probably needed DEET) 8) Geckos live in the houses. They are cute and eat bugs, but poop everywhere 9) Cracked light fixture dropped and broke in the the bathroom where my kids
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hale Mahana
Matthew M. from North Liberty, Iowa does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2011
House seemed to have an unusually high number of geckos. On the border of infestation. I did not enjoy my stay.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Hawaii has one of the most enjoyable ecosystems on earth, and geckos are a part of that system. They are perfectly harmless and live on the walls behind framed pictures eating small flying insects and helping to keep the general environment free of nuisance bugs. This property is a luxury home and we stand by it's very clean and sanitary condition. Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hale Mahana - Wonderful Stay
A guest from Tulsa, OK recommends this property.
Stayed for 17 days in April, 2011
We had a wonderful two week stay at this great home. It's location was perfect and provided the perfect blend of peace and quiet and locaal flavor and activities. Snorkeling in the cove right around the corner was a highlight for my family. Crystal clear water with hundreds of beautiful fish. We also snorkeled with bigger fish and sea turtles at the near by tidepools. The house was clean and well appointed. We used the volcanic tidal pool every day and our daughter were always finding something new to explore. We visited the volcano and lava tube at the national park for a fun day and explored Hilo but it was hard to beat the local waters and the champagne pond.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Contact the Manager

Leave this field empty First Name *

Last Name *

Email Address *

Country *
Arrival Date

Departure Date

Adult (18+)
Child (<18)
Telephone
HomeMobileWork
Additional Message
Max 500 characters.

Email me this inquiry
Send me deals email

By clicking "Send Email" you are agreeing to our Terms and Conditions.


This advertiser has listed with PerfectPlaces.com since Feb 23, 2009

Find additional Vacation Rentals: