Perfect Places Vacation Rentals
Traveler Login Owner Login
Chinese (Traditional) Portugeuse Spanish Italian German French English

Oceanfront Penthouse in Hilo 2-Bedroom Condo
Hilo 2 br Vacation Rental Condo

Property Summary
Hilo, Hawaii, United States
Type
Condo

Bedrooms
2

Bathrooms
1

Sleeps
4

Rates
$110 - $175 per night
$730 - $1,225 per week
$2,800 - $3,857 per month

Non Smoking   High-Speed Internet
 
Book Online   Visa Mastercard American Express Discover
This property listing provides real-time availability and rate quotes. Book it securely and instantly using a credit card.

Vacation Condo Rental Description:



COME EXPERIENCE THE BIG ISLAND while staying in this gorgeous, exquisitely appointed oceanfront penthouse condo. The high vaulted ceilings give you that spacious feel. Snorkel with sea turtles right outside and experience some of the best swimming and snorkeling in Hilo.

MAUNALOA SHORES 703 IS COMPLETELY UPGRADED with a well-equipped kitchen, granite tile counters, tile floors, and lovely furnishings that have the comfort of guests in mind. The outdoor lanai has lots of seating for enjoying the amazing oceanfront views. You can even see whales in Hilo Bay in the winter! The master bedroom also has picturesque ocean views and high speed internet for your convenience. There is lots of room for extra guests; the second bedroom has two twin beds and the living area has a double futon. _Note: this condo does not have phone service installed, but all cell services work great!_

DOWNTOWN HILO WITH ITS CHARMING INDEPENDENT SHOPS and famous farmer's market is just 10 minutes away. Fish or swim in beautiful state parks and walk right across the street to Seaside, one of the finest local restaurants serving fresh local fish daily. Come snorkel in our gorgeous tropical lagoon. Maunaloa Shores is located on the beach next to a beautiful park and features private swimming pool amenities amidst a beautiful tropical setting.

THIS RENTAL INCLUDES FREE HIGH-SPEED INTERNET. Wind down the day while spending the evening enjoying a tropical breeze on your own private covered balcony overlooking the ocean. (Please note: there is no phone installed here.)

THERE IS A WALKWAY DOWN TO THE OCEAN with excellent swimming and snorkeling. Sea turtles bask on the rocks only a few feet away and the park-like grounds are great for children and families. Few places in Hilo offer such incredible sights right outside your front door!

Year-round rate range is $95 - $195 per night, depending upon party size and dates of your visit. Monthly rate range is $2,300 - $3,200. Cleaning fee ranges from $105 to $125, also depending upon party size.

W-01

Bedding Configuration: 1 Queen, 2 Twin

Additional Features:
* Convenience: Secured elevators, Coin-Op Washers/Dryers, Nearby Movie Theatres, Nearby Grocery, Nearby Restaurants, Nearby Banks & ATMs, Nearby Medical Services, Golf Course
* Drive Times: 45min to Volcanoes National Park, 45min to Kehena Black Sand Beach, 45min to Kapoho Tide Pools
* Entertainment: FREE high-speed Internet!, Wireless Internet, Cable TV, DVD Player, Games
* Geographic: Near Beach, Ocean Views
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Microwave
* Living: Ceiling Fans, Portable Fans, Shower over tub, NO Air conditioning
* Outdoor: Assigned Parking Space, Balcony / Deck / "Lanai", Shared Pool
Book Online:

Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.

Arrival Date:
Departure Date:
Adults (18+):
Children (<18):
Visa Mastercard American Express Discover



Accommodation and Amenities:

Features:
  • Full Kitchen
  • High-Speed Internet
  • Games
Appliances:
  • DVD Player
  • Microwave
  • Phone
  • Refrigerator
  • Satellite TV or Cable TV
Activities:
  • Golf
  • Swimming

Owner/Manager last updated on 07/24/2014

 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»
  July   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  August   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  September   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»


Pricing/ Rates:    (click to convert currency)
Nightly Price Range: $  110 to: $  175
Weekly Price Range: $  730 to: $  1,225
Monthly Price Range: $  2,800 to: $  3,857

   » Prices in United States Dollars.

Pricing Notes:
Minimum Night Requirements:
StartEndMin Nights
Jul 1, 2014Dec 13, 20143
Dec 14, 2014Jan 5, 20155
Jan 6, 2015Jul 31, 20163



This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 Property Reviews 
Nice place ,with new owner it shows
mike w. from san jose, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in May, 2014
the place was all you can ask for had everything you needed in fact more chairs then needed after the new owner showed up one day with five old dinning chairs to apparently store here! Oh well no biggie just seems odd they didn't fit anywhere. Then the day I'm leaving she's at the door (10:55 am) with a shopping cart full of nick knacks saying she needs to add more things ? Thank goodness I was all packed but still had to get her to move her cart out of the door way so I could pick up my stuff and get out the door. She was very nice though .
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hilo Gem
A guest from Huntington Beach, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2014
Great location during Merrie Monarch week - close enough to event venues but far enough away from the crowds. Loved falling asleep to the sounds of crashing waves and tree frogs!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great view and location
A guest from Sequim, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in April, 2014
The location was fabulous. There were a few items that need attention for future rental. The sofa had a mattress-like cushion which did not fold between the back and seat of sofa. The cushion was very uncomfortable and kept slipping off onto the floor. The king size bed had a thick foam mattress cover that made the whole bed too soft -- we solved that by removing the foam cover. It would be nice to have a small table with chairs for eating, instead of bar stools. The location with a great view was very convenient to downtown Hilo and only very near the airport.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awesome view!
A guest from Edmonton, Alberta recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2014
Our stay in Hilo was great. The views from the lanai are spectacular. Whale watching every day. The lagoon downstairs was like snorkelling in a huge swimming pool with large sea turtles swimming all around. The trail through the forest next to the lagoon also lead to another great lagoon area. The condo was perfect for 4 people. The beds were very comfortable and waking up to that view was awesome., although some window coverings would be a nice option to have in case you don't want to get up at sunrise. The cookware and drawers in the kitchen were very dirty and we had to prewash anything before we used it. The bathtub/shower could also use some maintenance. (Tile grout and silicone if not replacing tub and tile.)The building, although older like most things in Hilo, was very comfortable and extremely quiet. We would stay again. Hawaii Holiday was also very helpful in arranging our car rentals on The Big Island and Maui at way better prices than I could find on the internet myself. Looking forward to visiting again soon. Mahalo.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast RealtyHawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your experience. We're happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and so sorry about the dirty cookware in the kitchen. Unfortunately some guests put things away that way and since we're just coming off high season our cleaners haven't had time to go through all the cupboards between back to back guests. We talked to the housekeepers about the issue and they are scheduling a deep clean of the unit within the next week or so. Again, we're sorry about the inconvenience of having to wash dishes before use. As always, anytime guests find something like this we ask that you contact us right away so we can send someone over to take care of it for you.

With warm Aloha ~ Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Totally awsome!!!!!!
David S. from San Ramon, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in March, 2014
Hi I'm Kathy David's wife.We saw turtles everyday, which was GREAT! Nice and quite.The condo was very nice. I would go again next time.The only thing missing is a bar-b-que, by the pool.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location, great unit on 7th floor
A guest from Storrs, CT recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in March, 2014
Not sure how other units/floors would be, but 703 was awesome. We could sit on the lanai, or lay in bed reading, and see Humpback whales out in the bay jumping and spouting. Would definitely return.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fun in Hilo
Steven T. from Champagne, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in February, 2014
Everything was wonderful. The dramatic cathedral ceilings of the condo plus the native art accessories were a welcome surprise. The view was fantastic and the next door park and swimming area were fun.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

703 Maunaloa Shores, Hilo
A guest from Duncan, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in February, 2014
It is as described and better. I will be back.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

beautiful location
A guest from Osceola, WI recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in February, 2014
We had a great time, and enjoyed the turtles and whales. Thought furnature was not comfortable, and bar stools were much, much too high to use. The shower area needs some updating. Not very appealing.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Condo
Matthew N. from Saskatoon, SK recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in December, 2013
Nice condo with a fantastic view of the ocean. Good location with access to attractions, stores etc. Amenities were in good condition, only thing the condo was lacking a decent table. There was a small table on the lania, and a bar table inside. This was fine for us (my wife and I) but might have been a little inconvenient with a family.Over-all a great stay, I'd stay in this Condo again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

703
A guest from Lacey, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2013
Good place near turtles
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

First stay
A guest from Clute, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2013
The view from our condo was fantastic. The condo was clean and well stocked. The king size mattress was super soft so a problem for anyone with back or joint issues. The bar stools would require a ladder for me to sit on and I'm 5'4". The cushion on the sofa (futon) would not stay in place. Lack of air conditioning was a problem during our stay since the trade winds did not blow. With the vaulted ceilings the fans were almost useless. The only comfortable place to sit was on the balcony where the fan was helpful.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

New Grandson visit
A guest from Bellevue, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2013
We stayed with my sister-in-law and her husband while they visited their new grandson. The unit was great for four people. There were a few items that needed fixing - lights, screen door, cupboard doors. We were there for there for four nights only. Loved the little bay behind the condo. Would go again if we were to go to Hilo.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Ohio Visitor
A guest from Wintersville, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in September, 2013
Enjoyed the relaxation of the Lanai. Good location. But had to kill quite a few bugs in the place. Comfortable furniture. DVD player did not work. Key was not ready when we arrived and had to wait 2 hours to get in after a long trip
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Absolutely Heaven
Karen O. from Birdsboro, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013
Was slightly worried about renting a condo... this turned out to be the BEST vacation ever. I am very fussy with cleanliness, the place was spotless. Decorations were amazing. 40 yards to the cove and the ocean. Quiet and serene. Swam with turtles here for the first time!! Only drawback was the bed 'topper' to cover an older mattress. Unit does not have A/C, trade winds kept things pretty comfortable. Next visit, I would stay here the entire trip!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Happy in Hilo
A guest from Olathe, KS recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013
Great location for privacy, nature & great views. Great restaurant across the street. Close to Volcano National Park & town, however not walking distance.Would stay there again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hilo stay
A guest from Elizabeth, NJ recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2013
Great location. Great beach/lagoon on grounds. Bathroom needs updating- bathtub very old and shower curtain in bad condition but apt very clean - great decor. Would stay again
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful place in Hilo
Cj H. from Kailua Kona, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013
We enjoyed being right on the ocean. Playing in the pool and our own private lagoon! Ill stay here again if I get back to Hilo. It's convieniently located near town and ver safe.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Absolute CHARM!!!
A guest from Union City, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013
Arriving at the Mauna Loa Shores #703, most of the rental unit meet the expectations of a quaint vacation rental in Hilo. Most of the unit's items such as linens, towels and kitchen utensils were easily located and it was well equipped for cooking meals. The unit was very hot but quickly cooled once the doors and windows were open and the fans were turned on. The condo's location is convenient and directions to opening the unit were simple and concise. A designated parking stall for the unit is an added. We were aware of some of the construction occurring to the building during out visit. The building, though old and plain, offered excellent security for their residents and visitors. There are security cameras at key locations and the parking lot is well lit. You'll need a key to enter the lobby, after hours, and a separate key to enter the elevator at all times. Our unit also had a steel door along with a standard door. You just can't beat the view from this unit!There were some housekeeping issues that should have been taken cared of before our arrival. These were minor cleaning issues and the professionalism of rental management and cleaning staff absolutely shines which is to say that friendly customer service goes a long way when you're renting a vacation rental. Not only would we recommend this unit to any of our adventurous friends and colleagues, but we look forward to being able to spend our next visit here again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

beautiful location
A guest from Orange, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2013
Only issue is no air conditioning, but there were enough fans to keep is cool at night. Would be a great place for families with small children due to location on the water.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location!
Rebecca N. from Noraville, NSW recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2013
We had 2 apartments here as I was traveling with my sisters. Kids lived that they could go and snorkel with the sea turtles next door. Being here was central to all we wanted to do Summit, Volcanoes National Park etc we found the restaurants downtown Hilo were great highly recommend checking them out :) also Hilo Farmers Market I only wish is I could bring home some of the fabulous fresh produce. I give this place a A+
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Good place to visit
A guest from Naples, Florida recommends this property.
Stayed for 17 days in May, 2013
Great island, fantastic volcanoes and views.Condo location is spectacular and decor is thoughtful. It is beginning to show signs of age, especially the bathroom - but overall very good. We had a great time.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Vacation/Visit with Family
Colleen L. from Pasco, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2013
Condo was very clean, master bedroom bed was super soft and lumpy though. Was surprised to find absolutely no condiments in the kitchen, usually there is at least basic condiments available. I had planned to go shopping the next day, but was thankful that I had brought our own coffee for breakfast before we had a chance to grocery shop. Park right next to the condo was great for taking our granddaughter swimming and playing. A highchair was brought to us upon request. Was a very relaxing time.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Merrie Monarch Festival 50th celebration trip
Ilona M. from Kaneohe, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in April, 2013
Maunaloa Shores is a great place to stay during the Merrie Monarch Festival--conveniently close to all the festival activities yet away from the hussle/bussle of the crowds. Also, having assisted parking certainly helps--no need to find parking in the late evening after the festivities. Enjoyable stay.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great penthouse views
Eileen P. from New Orleans, LA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in March, 2013
My recent stay was wonderful and relaxing ! The penthouse was beautifully furnished and I could sit on the lanai forever ! I have friends that I was visiting in the same condo complex so location was convenient . Wish I were there now
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Amazing
A guest from Burnaby, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It was spacious, beautifully decorated, and had everything we needed. We swam with sea turtles in our backyard and saw whales from our lanai every morning. The property managers and housekeeping were a pleasure to deal with.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Enjoyable stay in Hilo
A guest from Old Saybrook, CT recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2013
Overall enjoyed the stay. Property was as advertised. View was very nice from lanai. A few things could have been better. The living room couch had a damp feel to it, which may have been due to the humidity. It was a futon, so was t that comfortable. Also think that soap should be stocked for guests. Apparently others commented on this as well. After a long trip most people will want to shower and not have to go out to buy soap first. Otherwise enjoyed the stay.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Aloha and thank you for your review! We do stock soap in all of our properties so we will investigate why that isn't happening here. Thanks for bringing that to our attention! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great View and Location
A guest from Sunnyvale, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in March, 2013
We had a wonderful time staying at Maunaloa Shores 703. The unit was in a great location and in very good condition. We really enjoyed watching the whales each morning from the balcony. We also appreciate the help of the property management staff (Tara) for making the arrangements as well as answering questions we had prior to the trip. We look forward to another opportunity to stay again at Maunaloa Shores 703.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Our fourth rental on the Big Island
A guest from Lansing, MI recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in February, 2013
Unit needs updating. Kitchen could use some major additions. Casseroles, garbage disposal, non glass glasses., serving spoons. Living room needs coasters. Bar needs place mats. We hated the bar! Even my 6'2" husband had trouble getting into the stools! Maintenance was great about responding to some minor glitches. John was great!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Thank you for your review. We'll share your suggestions with the Owner of the condo. Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Vacation
Reviewed by: A guest recommends this property.
Stayed for 9 days in February, 2013
We had a wonderful time and this property was a great value and ideally located to see the Hilo area sights and the volcano
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

More show than go
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 21 days in October, 2012
Unit looks good but lacked usability. There are better units at better value in same building. View is incredible, if that's all you want.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Thank you for your review. During your stay we did work with the owner to accomodate most of your requests for new items to replace worn items (mostly in the kitchen). We feel the condo does live up to the advertising and is a wonderful home away from home and we hope prospective visitors will read all of the reviews when deciding whether to book this unit or yes the views are fantastic! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A great place to stay!
A guest from Wheeling, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Maunaloa Shores. We rented #703 and the unit was exactly like the web site pictures. I read a review about it being in a bad area, we didn't find that to be true. (Property is past the commerial port area and is in a residential area). They have the elevators gated at night and you need an elevator key. There's a public beach adjacant to the property and they don't want non-residents/renters to meander the hallways. We loved that the beach was easily accessible and saw several turtles. Would definitely stay here again!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice location but don't expect luxury
Jan B. from Hickory Creek, TX does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2012
First off, this condo does not have ANY A/C. I don't recall reading this, maybe it was there and I missed it. It gets very warm in Hilo during the day and this condo desperately needs at least a window A/C unit as you can't keep the windows open when it's raining...and it rains a lot on the hilo side. Secondly, the two portable fans supplied were both broken. Third, all of the dishes that we went to use had a disgusting orange grease film like they had been put away dirty. We had to clean everything before using. The building itself seemed ran down, needed paint and obvious floor patches existed outside. The pool was cloudy the whole time we were there as well. The walls inside of the condo need paint and the ceiling fan lights were full of bugs. Hoping that the spots that looked like wet spots on the sheets were from fabric softener distributing in the washer badly. Speaking of washer, Im not sure how a washer burns clothes but the one on the 7th floor ruined some of my personal items....they were scorched and holes burned in them. Not sure how this property shows all 5 star is far from a 5 star property.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Thank you for your review. None of the condos at the Maunaloa Shores condo complex have A/C as the building does not permit A/C units. We do not advertise the condo as having A/C. At Hawaii Holiday we manage the condo unit and not the building so the issues with the pool and the washing machine were not issues we were aware of. The condo complex does have a very attentive on-site manager who we could have contacted if you had let us know of these are contacting him now. As far as the maintenance issues you are very sorry. These are all very easy to fix and we would have sent someone out right away if you had contacted us on our 24 hour contact number, provided to you. While we do pride ourselves on keeping all of our properties in top notch condition, in a quick turn around between guests things like dishes (already in a cabinet) may get overlooked. Deep cleans are scheduled twice a year and will be conducted very soon. Thanks again, Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Super, Super and Super
Dafeng C. from Germantown, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2012
best place to stay in Big island! We all love it. wish we could stay longer.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The best!!
Lynne B. from Christchurch, n/a recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2012
This prpoerty was everything listed and more!! The views, the turtles in the beach park, the location was spot on, very cool. The only thing for us, was the no curtains in the main bedroom, it was too light for us to sleep past 5.30am. We enjoyed our 7 days so much and will be back for more.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Mixed Feelings about Rental
A guest from Los Osos, CA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 8 days in May, 2012
Great View; Good location. However, inside not ready for guests and some items left for guests' use were not operational. Property management not responsive - had to leave several messages.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Condo review
A guest from Rathdrum, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2012
Great condo, close to the ocean and nice ocean view. We were able to swim with turtles in the lagoons. A little busy/noisy on the weekend (lots of locals come to the park next door) but overall a quiet place to relax.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hilo Bay Beautiful View
Sandra J. from Charlotte, MI recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in April, 2012
The condo is nicely furnished and has a wonderful view of tide pools and Hilo Bay from the lanai and from the master bedroom. Well equiped kitchen and we had everything we needed for a great stay. The condo was moderately clean. The bathroom mirror and refrigerator shelves had not been cleaned. I did not report this so it wasn't anything that the mgmt was aware of. The mgmt was great to work with and were very prompt with any correspondence. Overall, a very nice stay!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Gilbert / Mauna Loa Shores 703 4/6 - 4/20/2912
A guest from Federal Way, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in April, 2012
This was our 5th stay at Mauna Loa Shores 703.The view from the lani and master bedroom are sensational. The lagoon in Carlsmith Park where you can swim with turtles is always fun. The building comes with a parking stall and the location is very convenient to the sights around Hilo.This year we stayed two weeks and were surprised not to have an interweek clean, when the linens and towels are changed and supplies are restocked. Maybe we didn't read the fine print. Also the sofa and chair are very uncomfortable to sit on as the cushions continually creep down and are awkward and heavy to return to their proper positions.Would we stay again or recommend it to others, very definietly yes. The above are simply suggestions on how to make 703 better.Mahalo for a wonderful staySteve and Malia Gilbert

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Thank you for your suggestions about the furniture, we will share that with the condo owner. As part of any booking with Hawaii Holiday, you are charged for only a check-out clean. If you want an interim clean, that is additional and can be added upfront if requested. Mahalo! Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hilo in March
Penny L. from Wittmann, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in March, 2012
I brought my 80 year old mother to Hilo for out first visit to the wet side of the island. We loved the views we had from the 7th or top floor. We could see all of Carlsmith Park and the ocean. Location and environment is excellent here. The condo is in good condition and decorated interestingly (we liked it). We have but two items for feedback. The shower will need some repair soon and all the beds need to have matress covers on them. Should we return to Hilo for vacation we would definitely choose this unit again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great time at 703 Mauna Loa Shores
Joint Astronomy C. from Hilo, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in March, 2012
Excellent location for the snorkling and ocean views. The apartment was light and airy and well equipped with appliances, TV and very good quality cooking equipment. The lanaii was very pleasant and eating and drinking out was great with zero mosquitos. No telephone was a slight problem for international visitors given the cost of international cell phone charges. Having the second bedroom was very useful for general storage of stuff. Highly recommended and we're pretty picky travellers.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

An Enjoyable visit to Kona
Reviewed by: Mark W. recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in February, 2012
Went well there were no problems

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Glad you enjoyed your stay in Hilo (not the OTHER side of the Big Island!). Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Richard
Richard R. from North Vancouver, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in February, 2012
Excellent well appointed penthouse condo with sea and lagoon views. The lagoon with its large turtles is one of the best locations for swimming and snorkeling on this side of the island. Short drive to Hilo which has some good restaurants
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Paradise on the beach
Gerald R. from Winnipeg, MB recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in January, 2012
We were very pleased with our condo rental. The top floor looking over the trees to the ocean beyond was magical. The condo was well appointed, although the bldg. itself is showing its age. We loved having breakfast on the lanai, looking for whales out in the bay. The apt. had all the appliances and cooking utensils, except a dishwasher. We would go back in a heartbeat.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hawaii 2012
A guest from Vadnais Heights, MN recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in January, 2012
We loved how the condo was decorated and how they prepared the unit for our stay. We felt very welcomed.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hilo vacation accomodations
A guest from Kelowna, BC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 10 days in January, 2012
While the condo was nicely decorated, it was not particularly comfortable in terms of the furniture. Nice view being on the bay. Was not as clean as expected, as the fridge had evedently not been wiped out, and the microwave was not clean on the outside. Also the coffee grinder had not been cleaned out. We also had 2 lizards in the condo! The light bulbs in the kitchen needed to be replaced, making it difficult to see to work at the stove in the evening. The appliances were not in the best condition on the outside, but worked fine. No dishwasher, or laundry other than a coin operated one per floor. Did not realize this was a regular condo building, not a resort condo. We had smokers in the unit below and they smoked on the lanai, causing the smoke to enter our condo, even when we were forced to close all the windows and patio door! The fan in the bathroom runs 24/7 and we could not find a way to switch it off. Very noisy in the bedroom because of the fan.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
We're sorry that your expectations were not met. This condo is very well appointed, though we will certainly bring up the issues of burned out bulbs etc with our housekeeping staff. Appliances and other metal things age quickly in oceanfront locations, but they work just great. A little exterior rust is just a way of life here. It sounds like your party prefers the resort atmospheres of Maui and Kona, which are wonderful but are not what Hilo is all about. We hope you find just want you're looking for on your next visit to Hawaii! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Incredible property
Branden M. from San Juan Capistrano, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in December, 2011
I don't know how much I want to say, in hopes that this gem will be availible for my future vacations. Incredible place to stay, Mahalo and aloha!!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hilo Paradise
Steven L. from CHANDLER, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in November, 2011
This is such a nice place, the photos don't show how great the location and condo are. Especially the view from the lanai and master bed room. Relaxing, sleeping and waking to the surf sounds and trade winds was wonderful. The condo was clean, had all the basic amenities (even a rice cooker which is a big deal for many), and is in a great location just a few minutes from Hilo town and well located for journey's to Puna, Volcano, and beyond. We had great visits to the adjacent beach park and the Honu (turtles), which were amazing! Had one movie night (DVD) and enjoyed the wireless access. The staff (Tara)were very responsive to our questions and had the details nailed perfectly. This is not your typical west side resort but if you want that head to Kailua-Kona or Maui, if you understand what Hilo and East Hawaii has to offer this place is special and deserves consideration. I really think it was a great value. We miss Hawaii already. Aloha, a hui hou!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Vacation...
Rie P. from Fountain Valley, CA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in November, 2011
Well, the location is good considering it is right in front of a lagoon. However, it is quite a drive from Downtown Hilo, so if you don't have a car, I wouldn't recommend. Downside is that we had some cockroach during our stay. The place is clean but old. (Hilo itself is old town, so maybe you can't expect better than this.) Recommend stay here before staying on Kohala/Kona side because this is so different from "typical" hawaiian vacation.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
The distance between downtown Hilo and this condo is just 4 miles, an easy car or bus ride or even a pleasant walk if one has the time! Bugs are a part of life in the tropics, and the building is on a pest treatment plan. Assuming doors were kept closed during the visit (as suggested), bug visits would be very minimal. HAWAII HOLIDAY MANAGEMENT
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Relaxing and Peaceful holoholo
Kathleen J. from Kailua-Kona, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2011
We left our home in Kona to escape the Ironman madness and enjoyed a peaceful 3 days in Hilo. The view from this condo is exceptional and the beach park is just a few steps away, also a small "jungle" trail under the canopy of trees, and informational signage about tsunami damage a few decades ago. We didn't try the Seaside restaurant across the street, it is only open for dinner and seemed a very busy place. The Ponds just a couple miles towards Hilo is a nice restaurant, and Ken's is perfect for casual meals any time of day or night. Service from the management company was excellent, responded to every e-mail inquiry wiki-wiki. The condo is beautifully equipped and furnished. The lanai faces the ocean and beach park, it is fully protected so passing showers were not a problem. We hope to return when we want to escape from Kona again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Manua Loa Shores #703
A guest from Valencia, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Hawaiian vacation
A guest from San Jose, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2011
The condo and view were spectacular. But the outside of the building looks like it could use updating.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Location and Great, Clean Condo
Doug & Amy M. from Davis, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011
We had a very good time staying in this condo. The location is fabulous. It is next door to a very nice small bay and City park (and I really mean next door). You just go down the elevator and out the gate and you enter the City park. At the park, there is a sheltered bay with good snorkeling in several pools. We saw many tripical fish, sea turtles, colorful eals, and geckos. From the 7th floor lani, we could look out at the bay and see turtles swimming in one of the pools. We then would go down and swim with the turtles. The condo is about 5 minutes to downtown Hilo, where we often got fresh fruit at very low prices. The kitchen was well equiped and clean. We were able to make all the meals we wanted at home. The condo is ncely decorated with a Hawai'ian/oriental feel. The managment company responded to a call within about 10 minutes when I couldn't figure out how to get the TV/Cable system working, and the problem was solved right away. All in all, the condo is very nice and was a very good value for the price, but the location is what makes this place great.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Mesa, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Best vacation ever!
A guest from Marina Del Rey, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in May, 2011
We loved this place! We had an amazing time there, it was fantastic to wake up every morning with one of the most beautiful views i ever seen.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Robert N. from Calgary, AB recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in May, 2011
Awesome location and condo.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Mauna Loa Shores 9 April - 13 April, 2011
Rex T. from Santa Monica, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in April, 2011
We had a wonderful stay in unit #703 at the Mauna Loa Shores in Hilo, HI. This 7th floor unit overlooks the lagoon at CarlSmith Park with spectacular views. The unit itself is tastefully decorated. Even without air conditioning, the ceiling fans and cross ventilation made for a comfortable stay. The exterior of the building is not appealing at all and could use some work. However, the area is safe and well patrolled. We took many long walks and never felt uncomfortable. This property is about 3 miles out of town. Unless you plan on doing a lot of walking, transportation is recommended.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Tacoma, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 9 days in March, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hate to give this secret spot away
Thomas & Denna B. from Geneseo, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2011
Wow... simply an amazing condo. I hate to give it's location away with the fear of not being able to rent it again after everyone else finds out about it. We hope to return again soon.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Mauna Loa Shores 703 in Hilo
Richard R. from North Vancouver, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 9 days in February, 2011
Beautiful penthouse condo with great views located next to a lagoon which is great for swimming. The condo is furnished with unique indonesian furniture. We didn't want to leave.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We had a wonderful time
Joseph G. from Victoria, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in January, 2011
Don't let the out side appearance fool you. The inside of the unit was well decorated and felt safe. The building looks old and a bit dingy but the unit was clean and had a great view. Worth every penny.The bed needs a pillow top mattress but the sound of the ocean put me to sleep. I was with my wife and 4 year old. He loved the swimming ponds by the ocean. If you take a walk through the jungle you will find even better swimming ponds. We swam with turtles every morning, went to the volcano, hot ponds, all with in a short drive. If staying on the big island I would stay here again before heading to the Kona side,
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Contact the Manager

Leave this field empty First Name *

Last Name *

Email Address *

Country *
Arrival Date

Departure Date

Adult (18+)
Child (<18)
Telephone
HomeMobileWork
Additional Message
Max 500 characters.

Email me this inquiry
Send me deals email

By clicking "Send Email" you are agreeing to our Terms and Conditions.


This advertiser has listed with PerfectPlaces.com since Feb 23, 2009

Find additional Vacation Rentals: