Pahukoa Hale - Direct Ocean Front Hawaiian Style home in Kona Bay Estates
This vintage Hawaiian beach house is nestled in a private gated community of Kona Bay Estates. The simple seaside style will melt all of your cares away as you sip on your Mai Tai in the cool shade of the deep, covered lanai. Experience the feel of being in another place in another time.All beds are fitted with comfy mattress toppers,the master bed has a 2 inch memory foam topper for a peaceful,cozy nights sleep! Close to Kailua Pier where the fishing is fine, and the canoe races begin! Iron Man start and finish is nearby. **TAT W-01**
Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Queen, 2 Full
Additional Features: * Business: High Speed Internet, Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Bank, Free Long Distance * Convenience: Nearby Fitness Center /Gym, Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, Nearby Movie Theatres, Nearby Hair Salon, Nearby Shopping, Nearby Farmers Market * Culture: Nearby Hawaiian Luau, Nearby Archeoligical Sites * Entertainment: Cable TV, CD Player, DVD Player, DVR, High Speed Internet, TV in Bedroom * Kitchen: Fully Equipped Kitchen, Refrigerator, Range/Oven, Dishwasher, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Coffee Grinder, Toaster, Cookware, Rice Pot * Living: Non Smoking Unit, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, High Speed Internet, Wireless Internet On Site, Free Long Distance * Nearby Activities: Nearby Whale Watching, Nearby Snorkeling, Nearby Scuba Diving, Nearby Submarine Rides, Nearby Parasailing, Nearby Jet Skiing, Nearby Fishing, Nearby Sightseeing, Nearby Hawaiian Luau * Nearby Beaches: Keiki Pond * Outdoor: Private Pool, Lanai, Secure Gated Entrance, Gas Grill Near Pool Area, Free Parking, Nearby Golf, Nearby Swimming Beach, Nearby Snorkeling, Gas Grill, Hotel Safe
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Reminds me of better times Reviewed by: A guest recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in March, 2016 Pohukoa house was perfect. Like going back to 1970s in all its simplicity & soul. Grear books, gracious home, comfortable beds, AWESOME pool, though not pretentious in all the ways of its neighboring mcmansions. What matters is all there. Whoever owns this place, I like them from the bottom of my heart. Thank you
Property Manager Response: Response from Knutson & Associates Aloha, Thank you so much for your amazing review on the spectacular Pahukoa Hale!! We hope to welcome you back again in the future!!-Knutson & Associates, Property Management
Wonderful location and comfortable place Dan T. from Meridian, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in November, 2015 The location is great, right on the shore and near a small beach where you can lounge ans swim safely. There are tide pools right at your back door step. The gated community is a plus. We loved the pool, and out two younger kids were in it all the time. It does not have a shallow end, so if you have have small non-swimmers, I would be very careful about staying here. The beds were nice and the kitchen is large and well stocked with essentials. There were two boogie boards and some miscellaneous snorkle gear that we were able to use. Beach towels were great. We loved all the geckos in and out of the house. Most of the bugs were outside. We realize that this is a tropical location, so there will be bugs! There is no air conditioning, but coming from Idaho in November, we loved the warmth! There are nice ceiling fans in every room to keep the air moving.
Property Manager Response: Response from Knutson & Associates Aloha Dan, Thank you so much for reviewing our gorgeous Pahukoa Hale!!! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed it!! We hope to welcome you back in the future. -Blake Kessner, Property Manager
Kona Bay Estates Rick W. from Fort Mill, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 9 days in October, 2015 Wonderful. Pool + Oceanside = Happy Family. Close to Kona activity (we came for the Ironman), but not in the middle, so you can get away. Outdoor porch was large, we spent most of our time outside (no air conditioning, so prepare for that, but plenty of ceiling fans). House had lots of little extras (dishes, condiments, pool stuff, bikes)
Property Manager Response: Response from Knutson & Associates Aloha Rick, Thank you so much for your fantastic review on the Pahukoa Hale! It truly is a gem in the Kona Bay Estates. We hope to see you again next year! Mahalo!!-Blake Kessner, Property Manager
Mostly Good Reviewed by: Don K. recommends this property.
Stayed for 18 days in September, 2015 We had a couple of bumps during our stay. First of all, after 2 days there we discovered the side door was unlocked! Then there was backfiring noises coming from Paul Allen's property next door. That happened day and night. Really scared us. Lastly, the marijuana smoke and bad language from the house on the other side was very annoying. Don't know what can be done about that. Lastly, the kitchen light and fan went out an wasn't ever fixed. Otherwise, place was clean, is being updated slowly, and is located in a very nice place. Always enjoy seeing the cruise ships out it front!!
Property Manager Response: Response from Knutson & Associates Aloha Don, It was a pleasure having you back at the Pahukoa Hale! We appreciate you reaching out to us about the concerns, and we are addressing what we can as we speak. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. -Blake Kessner, Property Manager
Great location - very unprofessional management A guest from Trondheim, Soer-Troendelag recommends this property.
Stayed for 9 days in July, 2015 The day before check-in I got a mail from Grant Kessner, the property manager. He asked when we would arrive and if there was anything we would like for him to see to. He also said thet he would meet us at the property. I answered and told him when we would arrive, and asked him to check that the pool was cleaned and ready for use.He didn't respond to my email.When we arrived to check in, the security didn't have our names on the guest-list, and the property manager didn't show up, and neither did he answer his cell-phone. When we arrived at the property we saw that the pool was very dirty. Tried to call the property manager again, to no avail. We found finally another phonenumber to the management and got in contact with a person who said he would try to help us. He got hold of John - the pool guy. He did an excellent job to clean up the pool. He came by several times during the next few days to help us out. He did great work, very good. But we never heard or saw anything of the property manager during all our stay - very unprofessional. We did get an automatic generated email the day after our check in, but without mentioning the problem with the pool.A word of advice : When you have promised to show up, you do just that. And at the very least answer phonecalls and email.Also the clean-up crew need to check also the condition of the pool and report any problems right away.
Property Manager Response: Response from Knutson & Associates Aloha Hans, we are sincerely disappointed you chose to write such a negative review. I had hoped when we had spoke in person, that we had cleared up any communication problems that you experienced along with any concerns of the property. We sincerely applogize if you had felt ignored during your stay, as that was not our intention at all. Unfortunately our email server was having issues at the time which i had explained when we spoke in person, I informed you to reach out to us if there was anything i could do for you via phone. We did have the pool concern addressed the day of your arrival, since you had checked in early we had not sent out someone to do an inspection of the property yet as check in is usually at 4. We do hope you enjoyed the beautiful Pahukoa Hale & hope to hear from you in the future to see if there's anything we can do to make up for the experience. Mahalo, Grant Kessner -Guest Service Coordinator
Great location. In need of maintence A guest from Wauconda, IL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2015 The property is in a great location with a view of the ocean and a large pool. Unfortunately the pool was unusable due to a vacuum which we were told not to disconnect (no Marco Polo no swimming). The house was infested with ants(couldn't cook without ants crawling on your legs and the counter) my husband actually had to spray the bed with raid as he was being bitten during the night) my daughter went to stay in another house because she was afraid to sleep there due to bugs. The towels were stained and the dish washer didn't work. The shower was stained. The ocean access was right next to the bedroom window and people were walking and making noise right outside all night as well as construction vehicles driving by very eary.(no air conditioning and the road being right next to the bedroom windows. Overall the condition of the home was very poor and I feel the pictures and description do not depict the home, I would not recommend the property and was disappointed when the management company did not meet us despite a scheduled time which we waited for without them calling or showing up.
Property Manager Response: Response from Knutson & Associates Aloha Linda, Wow. We are at a loss for words for this review. By suggesting to not remove the vacuum out of the pool, we did not think you were going to not use it, as the pool is very useable while that was in there. We are very sorry you felt otherwise. We have addressed the ant issue, as there was no ant issue prior. Ants do come out if food is left out, and that's at any property. We are going to throw out the stained towels, and replace them with new ones. When you mention, that the shower was stained: Could you elaborate? The dishwasher is working fine, we just tested it prior to the next guests arrival. Your comments have been noted, and we are disappointed you had such negative remarks about the property, as it truly is a gem. Your last comment about the property management company not meeting you or your group needs to be clarified, as we believe it was an issue of miscommunication. We were told by your sister, that it was not necessary for us to meet you at your departure. We apologize if you had a different understanding. Please accept our most sincere apologies. We would love another opportunity to truly exceed your expectations. -Blake Kessner, Property Manager
Everything you could want in a vacation home! Carol M. from Sisters, Oregon recommends this property.
Stayed for 23 days in April, 2015 Property location was terrific! House was well outfitted in and outside the home. We spent most of our time in the pool or on the lanai. Sunsets were amazing! Great service and response from the management team, even when I had some basic questions. Not only DID i recommend this property to friends, I already re-booked it myself!
Great place! Reviewed by: Paula M. recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2014 This home, though older than the neighboring megamansions is a great place for a very relaxing vacation. Very clean and equipped for any and all to enjoy. Best bargain in Kona Bay Estates and the location on the water can't be beat. The pool is large and very private. Easy walking distance to most anything in Kona Town.
Property Manager Response: Response from Knutson & Associates Thank you so much for your fantastic review on the gorgeous Pahukoa Home. It truly is a gem in our inventory. We hope to see you again next year! -Blake Kessner, Property Manager
Kona Ironman 2014 vacation A guest from Yuba, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in October, 2014 We came for the Ironman competition, and this was the perfect location for all the activities. We were able to walk everywhere we needed to go, and not fight the traffic. The house is in a beautiful location, and has a view that is great. There is lots of room to enjoy the beauty, and a kiddies beach only 4 doors down. The house is well equipped, clean, and nicely furnished. The geckos were everywhere, and fun to watch. The house was everything that we were told it would be, and perfect for 3 couples and two small children, with 3 large bedrooms & bathrooms, large lanai, kitchen, and living space. We will definitely come back to this property on our next visit the the Kailua-Kona area.
Property Manager Response: Response from Knutson & Associates Aloha Timothy, Thank you so much for your wonderful review on the beautiful Pahukoa Hale. We hope to see you again next year! Mahalo! -Blake Kessner, Property Manager
Awesome time! Gary D. from Holualoa, Hawaii recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2014 Great location, close to restaurants and shopping, yet private and relaxed setting. Quiet, beautiful, easy going. Great for the entire family!
It's a Home Away From Home Reviewed by: Don K. recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in August, 2014 This was our 3rd stay at this Hale. Always return because of the location, amenities, and helpfulness of management team. All requests were promptly addressed. Became friends with the geckos, but not so happy with those biting ants! Pool maintenance man, John, was a wealth of information. We picked his brain for local restaurants to try--not the tourist traps. We brought our daughter and her girls, 13 and 6, with us. Wonderful having the private pool for them to enjoy. The gate keepers at the entrance were also very helpful and extremenly friendly. I had asked for a few small changes from the previous visit and they were all handled. Also the remodeling job was very nicely done. That was a surprise to us! Always sad to return to our real home!!
Pleasant Stay Reviewed by: Christine B. recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2014 The property fit our needs well. It is a little worn in some rooms (cracked bathtubs, scuffed paint, etc.), it does appear that improvements are being made as the kitchen looked recently redone. The pool needs a bit of maintenance. The pool lights don't work which is good since one is so broken/flooded that I would have been concerned about being electrocuted. Made friends with geicos inside the house and only had one cockroach each morning in the sink (though watch your drinks on the lanai at night!). The view can't be beat and the location is perfect! The gated community adds a level of safety and security. No AC in the house, which I think is only a problem in the middle of the summer. We were a bit warm, even at night. Plenty of towels and linens were provided and the beach umbrellas that were provided was definitely a bonus! Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and if we ever return, we would consider staying again.
Perfect Spot! A guest from Yuba City, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in July, 2014 Our group of 5 loved the house and the location. Beautiful fish, sunsets and ocean views were right outside. Petroglyphs are right up the street across from the Keiki Pond!
We just love this homefront place! Arild M. from Saltnes, Norway recommends this property.
Stayed for 20 days in June, 2014 This year was our second stay at this house. The oceanview, pool, charming house with enough space for the two families makes this place perfect! The neighbourhood is good and the distance to the centre of Kona is short. It's only a few minutes to walk. We recommend Knutson & Associates and this place very much. The only negative thing to comment is that the house (exterior) need some upgrade, but that doesn't affect us to much. Beautiful place!
Hale Pahukoa at Kona Ellen L. from Melopark, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 12 days in February, 2014 We were very pleased with Knutson and Associates on all levels and loved staying at the house.Ellen Lillington,Karlin Lillington and Chris Horn, from Menlo Park, Calif.
H family kona trip aaron h. from renton, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in February, 2014 Darn near perfect! Couple injuries w/ sea urchins and lava rock...but with the property it was great. We spent so much time in or around pool. Couple kids turned into fish. Kitchen was nicely stocked w/ pots and pans (Costco tools:)Furniture was what u would expect for traditional Hawaii. Location couldn't b much better. We watched whales and dolphins morning noon and night. Mahalo!
Home away from home A guest from chugiak, AK recommends this property.
Stayed for 15 days in December, 2013 Great, safe location. Pool fantastic for grandkids. House could use major renovation, but was no problem for us.
Some patina but well maintained and great location Rainer S. from Bonn, Germany recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in July, 2013 The property is old (as we knew from the description) but in very good condition. We would suggest to add a water boiler since the antique stove is slow and inconvenient. But this is a minor issue, altogether the property is very nice, spacious, in good condition, we would definitely use it again and recommend it to others. Particularly the pool is just great - large and deep, made for diving.
Vacation get away Terri V. from Graham, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013 Nice and roomy, didnt feel cramped at all. My only complaint was the cockroaches. There are some there as big as my cat.
Great location and good for 2 families to stay A guest from Edmonton, AB Canada recommends this property.
Stayed for 9 days in March, 2013 This house was perfect for both my family of 3 and my sisters family of 5. It sleeps 8 people and has 3 bathrooms. We never felt like we were tripping over each other. Its a good central location with which to explore the island. I was not expecting it to be a gated community, which was nice, as there was reduced traffic on the road in front of the house.
Great outside, inside not so much A guest from Glencoe, IL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 8 days in November, 2012 This house is in a great, convenient location and has a fantastic view of the water. Easy access to town and beach. We enjoyed eating and relaxing outside on the covered lanai. We appreciated the beach towels and comfortable beds. The inside of the house needs a lot of work. The bathrooms are college dorm quality with stains on the bottom of the tubs. The stove burners are the old electric grills that do not even allow a pan to sit flat on the top. The freezer did not keep ice cream solid and even though a repair person came during our stay, there was no improvement. The shelf in the freezer is rusted. There were a good assortment of dishes, pots, pans but no type of baking sheet or tuperware. We had to buy everything--toilet paper, paper towels, dish soap, dishwasher tablets, even garbage bags. The pool person left the hose running into the pool and so we arrived back late one night to find the pool deck flooded. The house needs a good general cleaning--especially the blinds, windowsills and the bookcase headboard in the master bedroom. The pillows had yellow stains on them (we bought new and left them there). We saw roaches every day which is expected in a tropical location but seemed more than usual. Considering the house condition, even with the great location, I believe it is over-priced.
Our stay during Ironman Reviewed by: Bryan V. recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in October, 2012 Loved this house! Very cute and comfortable. If I could just suggest for future guests: master shower doesn't drain and you could use a new can opener. I never got the original dishwasher to work, but the property mgmt responded and replaced it immediately. Great overall stay for our family!
perfect location A guest from San Carlos, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2012 After spending 4 days in Volcano, this was a very relaxing break for 2 kids (7 & 11), two parents and two grandparents. Location is perfect-- easy to get to beaches, restaurants, shops, etc. Pool was large and warm. Kids wanted to swim at night and lights were broken. That was the only pool complaint. Kitchen is large and well supplied. Easy for 4 adults to work simultaneously. As other reviewers noted, the house is a little tired. But location and price are in line with condition.Beach towels were missing and Nick at Knutson was very responsive.
Beautiful Vacation Rental MELISSA G. from KAILUA KONA, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2012 My new husband and I used Hale Pahukoa as the location for both our wedding and our reception, and it couldn't have been more wonderful! The weather was beautiful, the scenery was amazing, and the house had the perfect setup for everything we needed! Several people commented on how much they enjoyed the house and location, and how they would like to rent it for themselves sometime. I highly recommend this house to anyone looking for a good vacation rental (especially for a family)!!
Paradise Found A guest from Seattle, Washington recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in March, 2012 This was the third time in 5 years that we have rented Hale Pahukoa, we LOVE this traditional Hawaiian home ! We slept peacefully with ocean surf, and trade wind breezes filtering through the whole house thanks to the jalousie windows. It is a great get-away for just chillin' at the pool, plenty of shade on the porch, outdoor dining, and searching for the green flash at sunset. Will be back soon !
The best Home Away From Home! Laurie O. from Snohomish, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 11 days in November, 2011 We loved renting this property. We have been to Hawaii a lot, between my husband and I, we have stayed at the several different condos, the Hapuna Prince, even owned a time share at the Bay Club - NOTHING compares to the comfort and ease of this place. We loved having our own pool and being able to walk out on the beach and explore the tidepools with the kids! This place is so well equipped that it even had life jackets that fit my 5 and 2 year old. Our 21 and 20 year old liked being able to walk into Kona. Knutsen Properties was also great to work with and very friendly! I only hope this place is available every time we go to Hawaii!!!
Property Manager Response: Response from Knutson & Associates Aloha Laurie Loved your coments I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and please call me when you would like to make your next booking.Mahalo And Aloha from Knutson & Associates Sincerly Nick Benoit
Location, location, location! A guest from 1, 1 recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in November, 2011 I was pleased at how well the kitchen was equipped and loved the pool and the beach was so private. I will book this house again.
Hidden Gem! Jennifer T. from Denver, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in September, 2011 This house is in an amazing location! It's within walking distance to the shopping and restaurants of Kona but is in a beautiful, safe, gated neighborhood. It is also a good location for exploring both the Kohala coast as well as the southern Kona coast.We LOVED Keiki Beach!! It was absolutely perfect for my toddler as well as my 7 year old. The pool was convenient but be aware that it is very deep and doesn't really have a shallow area other than on the steps.I gave it only 4 stars for general condition for 2 reasons: 1) While we were there, the dishwasher broke. The management company handled it well though. 2) The house comfortably sleeps 6 but the living room only has seating for 5 and the lanai only has comfortable seating for 4.
Wonderful Vacation Spot Cynthia S. from Murieta, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2011 The house was great - the beds were wonderful. Spent a lot of time relaxing on the patio watching the waves come in. Pool was too cold to use unfortunately but keiki pond was fantastic.
Hale Pahukoa, Kona, Hi Reviewed by: Audrey M. recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in January, 2011 Upon arrival Kona was a cooler than expected but eventually warmed up. The location,lanai,pool,beach,ocean,and views were magnificent. For some reason at night when lights were turned on lots of tiny flying black insects came for the lights. Just a little annoying. Otherwise had a great stay.