Recharge your batteries. Treat yourself to a romantic weekend or just a secluded getaway on Central Whidbey?s east shore facing Camano Island with views of the Cascade Mountains. This Cozy cabin with a slight rustic flare is nestled among native ferns and large cedars and overlooks a cove situated at the head of Holmes Harbor. The cabin has 1 bedroom plus a loft room and 1 bath with a stand up shower only. With modern amenities including wifi and a tree house feel, views of Baker and sailboats navigating the sound may trigger your adventurous side to kick in. Take a short stroll to the private sandy community beach at the end of the road and explore the shores. Known for frequent sightings of bald eagles, deer, and whales as well as other abundant Pacific Northwest wildlife, this cabin is just minutes from Greenbank and Freeland. Additionally Meerkerk Gardens offers a 53-acre woodland garden only a five-minute walk from the cabin. You will undoubtedly enjoy this private vacation home after disembarking the short ferry ride from the busy mainland. 4 night minimum in July/August
Bedding Configuration: 1 Queen, 2 Twin
Additional Features: * Entertainment: Board Games, Cable, CD Player, DVD Player, High Speed Wireless Internet, playing cards,, TV, VCR * Geographic: Access to beach available, Private beach access, Secluded * Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Microwave, Range, Refrigerator, Toaster * Living: Washer/Dryer, Woodburning Fireplace * Outdoor: Deck(s), Propane BBQ
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
I would stay again, but bring an air mattress
A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2016 The location is very nice, the space is good, quaint and low maintenance, but the beds were amazingly springy, as in you sit on them and bounce right off. I totally would go back again, but only after investing a few hundred dollars in inflatable camping mattresses to do the job of the 2 mattresses upstairs. The kids actually chose to sleep on the floor over those mattresses, and I'd brought sleeping bags just in case (thankfully!). But it's a nice place. Oh, and they are big on teflon cookware, so bring your own steel pot. Love it!
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South Thanks for your review. We are glad you loved Whidbey Island.
Andrew L. from Dripping Springs, TX recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2016 The cottage sets just behind and above homes at the water's edge. The interior is pleasant with plenty of area to set and relax. The wall of the living area is mostly glass which can bring in light and a view of the water. There is all that one needs to carry on day to day food preparation etc. Washer/Dryer downstairs. The first day there, we spent much time just reading on the deck which is shady all afternoon. We visited with friends during our stay, and did not get a chance to explore all of what the area offers. However, there is a 'must-visit' within 4 miles at the "Greenbank Farm". There is also a flower garden on Resort Road.
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax and enjoy Whidbey Island.
A guest from Lake Stevens, Washington (WA) recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2016 I have stayed here 5 years ago and I love the location. However, I think you should invest in new beds. They seem very old and are uncomfortable. I had to sleep on the couch. I even tried the twin beds upstairs and they were in poor condition also. I realize the price of stay was very reasonable and I got what I payed for. But a good nites sleep would have made the stay much more enjoyable. I do love that the beach is very private and the neighbors are very friendly. So glad to see it was painted with a bright color:).
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South Thank you for your review! Nice to hear you came back to visit Whidbey Island.
A guest from Lake Forest Park, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2016 Such a wonderful spot! The property managers were friendly, prompt, and easy to work with. The neighbors were great, and the area very quiet and restful. Sweet cabin and lovely view and beach, and great big trees. Only suggestion would be a thorough cleaning. We didn't mind but it was clear the loft carpet hadn't been vacuumed in a while, and my husband really struggled with dust allergies while there. Still, this spot made for the best trip away we'd had in a while! Thanks to the owners for sharing their special place with us.
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South Thanks so much for your review! Glad you enjoyed your stay on Whidbey Island and that it was quiet and restful. We're happy our office staff was helpful to you. Sorry your husband struggled with dust allergies, we'll get someone in there to take care of the vacuuming.
Reviewed by: Darla W. does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2016 We rented this cabin for a few days at the end of our honeymoon vacation. I will start by saying the setting is absolutely beautiful. The beach is quiet, private, and one of the prettiest on the island. The cabin sits back in the trees with a stunning view, we saw Mount Baker on our last evening. There is a short walk down to the beach, mostly stairs, we found it pretty easy to navigate, well worth the trip.Our only negative comments would be the condition of the cabin on the inside. The whole house needs a thorough cleaning. There are cob webs and dust everywhere, the floors needed mopping, it seemed that nothing had been moved to clean under or around for a very long time. The view would have been better through clean windows. A few hours of cleaning and some "elbow grease" would make it a place to return to.Again, it is an absolutely beautiful location.
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South Thank you for your review, we're so sorry the cabin wasn't very clean. Cleanliness is our top priority and that is why this cleaner in no longer with our company. Again, we are very sorry about this and the issue has been taken care of.
A guest from Broomfield, CO recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2016 We enjoyed a wonderful stay. It was perfect for our family of 6, kids ages 8-13. Just a short walk to the beach and so much to do. We loved finding shells, sand dollars, watching the locals pull in their crab pots and oyster cages. A short drive from beautiful state parks, hiking, beaches, ebey's landing, lighthouse and WWI military fort. The house was clean and the kitchen had the things we needed in terms of pots and pans, etc. Thanks to Betty for sharing her lovely bit of Whidbey Island with us!!!
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your review!
A guest from Spokane, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2016 The view from the large windows took in the great scene visible from this Whidbey Island rental. We loved the proximity to the semi-private cove and the great shells we found on that quiet beach.
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South Thank you for your review!
Reviewed by: Shreekant W. recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in February, 2016 The beach is beautiful, although its a little walk away. The place is nice and well maintained. The bedrooms are very cozy and loved to hang out there. I personally don't like high roof living rooms. It just doesn't give that cozy feel. But that is just a personal choice. The places around the island are nice. Would highly recommend it.
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South Thank you for your review!
Diane (Dini) A. from Grants Pass, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in October, 2015 A friend and I spent 4 days in this funcky, little cabin and loved it! Dealings with the rental management agency were fast and clear and they were available for questions and answers both before arrival and after departure. The house was adequately stocked, refrig already cold for our arrival, plenty of linens/quilts and the kitchen was well stocked. My suggestion is that the 2 twin beds upstairs are far away from the little bathroom and for older folks, it could be an issue for nightime bathroom needs. We could not figure out how to turn on the upper kitchen lights so that room was dark! Overall, we loved the place!
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South Thank you for your review!
Reviewed by: A guest recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2015 I love being close to the beach and the forest. It's so peaceful and clean the walk to the beach is really nice. Just no wifi or a bath tub but we all where fine with showers. I would stay again love it !
Charles B. from Corrales, NM recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2015 Although this cabin is not as close to the water as some of the pictures might lead you to believe, it is a short (and steep!) walk down to the beach. The cabin is cozy and nicely decorated. The main bed was a little firmer than we like, but we managed okay. Our only minor complaint would be in the kitchen: there's no broiling pan for the oven and the biggest frying pan was so old and "cupped" that it didn't sit flat on the burner - important when it's an electric stove. (Since everything else was so nice, this is a bit nit-picky, since the cookware didn't match the "niceness" of the rest of the house). Very quiet and relaxing time, would stay here again...
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South Thank you for the review! We will inspect the cookware and add/replace as needed. Thanks again :)
Amie S. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2015 We came to the island for the Whidby Island Triathalon and a long weekend by the beach. The house is close enough to everything without being in the middle of everything. We were very happy. I loved the deck and the kids enjoyed the loft and had many beach adventures.
A guest from ojai, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in June, 2015 My husband wanted to include Whidbey Island in our northwest trip and it was perfect! We loved walking on the shell beach and sipping wine on the deck. Most of all we loved the fully equipped kitchen and the comfy recliners with an view of the water.
Pamela S. from Fairbanks, AK does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in March, 2015 These were the final two nights of our honeymoon, and we had hoped this would be the best place we stayed. It was not. For a place that is known for its view, the windows should have been clean, and they were definitely not, inside and out. The walk down to the beach is VERY steep, and when the ground is wet (usually), slippery. I have a bad knee and could only go down once in the two days. My husband was very disappointed that there was no wi-fi. The freezer smelled musty, and the box of baking soda in there looked very old. It was disappointing not to have the ice trays filled and frozen ahead of time. Overall, we got the feeling that this place had not been used in a while. I know this is a family-owned cabin, but I think it has too many knick knacks displayed around, it felt cluttered although they were not in the way, just everywhere! When we went to take out the garbage, we found there were no cans outside. The neighbor across the road showed us where they should be, but nothing there. We ended up having to take the bags of garbage with us. Overall, it was comfortable, but a disappointment. The pictures made it look more promising.
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South We are very sorry you and your husband did not enjoy your time at our cabin. March is one of our heaviest rainfall months. This home is a view home up on a high bank, due to the weather conditions the trail to the beach was slippery and renters are cautioned. There are several beaches within a 10 minute drive from this home that have easier accessibility. The trash cans were placed at the end of the driveway for weekly garbage pick-up. The home was vacated the day you checked-in. There were a few projects that were taken care of at the home prior to your check-in. The windows were not able to be washed because of the rainy weather. The fridge was checked and cleaned before and after your stay. The ice trays were an oversight and taken care of for future renters. The knickknacks are the owner's individual expression of the life they have enjoyed there at the cabin as a family, and happy memories they want to share with people who stay at their home. We sincerely appreciate your feed back. We endeavor to maintain a clean and welcoming home for our renters.
Reviewed by: Fiona L. recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in September, 2014 Fantastic location and the property had everything we needed. Would have liked an electric kettle though, but kettles aren't popular in the US.
Reviewed by: Jennifer C. recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2014 My husband and I stayed 6 nights at this lovely fully furnished and services cabin that is located in a small beautiful hardwood forest community. The cabin was just as described, only better. There is a short gravel path down to a private beach where you can crab or gather shells. We spent each morning and evening on the spacious deck in Adirondack chairs that overlook Puget Sound. There is even a basement with washer/dryer if you need it. We will be staying here again.
Roma Y. from Mountlake Terrace, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2014 The cabin was very cute. Our overall experience was fantastic. The only things that were a little annoying was the high pitched buzzing from the electrical panel in the main bedroom and some of the blankets/bedding seemed old and worn. Other than that it was a fantastic place to stay!
A guest from N. Vancouver, BC does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014 We were very disappointed in this property. There was an overwhelming smell as soon as we opened the door. Musty and stale. There is only a tiny water view and beach access is virtually inaccessible and dangerous. The sun only touched the deck for a few minutes each morning. Also, the deck and outside areas were over-run by caterpillars. It is truly nestled in the trees which make it feel cold and damp. We were so disappointed in our stay that we left a day early. We would probably return to Whidbey Island, we found it very beautiful and charming but cannot recommend this property.I have to thank the cleaners for finding a lost earring and returning it, much appreciated.
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South We are very sorry for this renters experience! In response, we would like to say that caterpillars have been EVERYWHERE on Whidbey this spring, but have subsided now. There is some tree cover around this cabin, but as you can see from other reviews, guests have been very pleased and this cabin is not directly on the water, but all the other guests have been happy with the beach access and the beach itself. Again our deepest apologies as we want everyone to have a great experience!
Matthew T. from Breckenridge, CO recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2013 My family and I had a wonderful stay at this rustic cabin. The views were beautiful and the walk to the beach was easy. I would recommend this cabin for anyone!
Sonia G. from Auburn, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013 Not only was the cottage clean, had a great view, close to the beach, we've never stayed in a place that had everything. We tried to think of something that we needed that wasn't supplied....couldn't come up with anything. We will rent again. The property manager "Tara Properties" made the transaction simple. We will use Tara's service again. Very impressed.
A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2013 Very private, but close drive to everything. Nice house. Lovely private deck. The surrounding properties are down a small hill, and there are a lot of trees so you never feel like people will see you. There were a bunch of seals on this floating wood on the private beach one morning. The only disappointment was that the dock is private and not part of this property, so you aren't supposed to go on it. There is no dock on this property that you can use.
A guest from Barrington, IL recommends this property. Stayed for 10 days in June, 2013 Everthing was wonderful. Cabin was great; clean; view was good; great location. Comfortable beds, and CLEAN; Deer at our door almost every morning. Bald eagles; very quiet area. Would love to visit again next year.
Karen K. from Ashtabula, OH recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2012 The cabin location was beautiful, the amenities in it were excellent. Cozy and very appealing. Everyone had a great time there. It was like staying at home. Thank you to the owners who rent this beautiful little cabin out to travelers like us!
A guest from Brooklyn, NY recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2012 I was looking for something low-key, quiet and quaint and that's exactly what I got. The cottage was perfect for a small group. Not a direct view of the water, but stunning.
A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2012 I was a bit disappointed that the cabin wasn't right on the edge above the beach (it's actually on the other side of the small road, so you are looking past the other houses to the water), but you are high enough up that you still get a good view of the water through the trees. It's a very nice cabin with amenities and would be a superb value for a small family. Quiet, peaceful, private; just make sure you stay ALL THE WAY to the right (on the grass) when you are going down to the beach to avoid the cranky neighbors!
A guest from Tacoma, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012 Very cute, clean cabin near the water. It is a quick walk to the beach but kind of a difficult one (not for young children or the elderly). We saw a deer family grazing right outside our door one morning! All the amenities i would expect at a vacay home, plus some. However, unless you like your pillows flat and wrapped in plastic, bring your own from home.
A guest from Delta, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2012 186-4B's Coastal Cabin, is a nice cozy place although I dont understand the name (unique but difficult to find in the web site). I was impressed how well stocked the place in regrds to sleeping arrangements (from sheets to inflatable mattress); stocked kitchen and bathrooms. I took eveything of mine but its good to have an emergency backup plan.Location is okay; has some view, although going the beach was a challenge due to steep climb.I would prefer to have less trees around the cabin as they blocked most of the sun. It seems cottage is also on the side of the island that gets less sun compared to the other side? place has a nice deck where you can relax or do some BBQ. (small propane BBQ set is provided) I would recommend this place simply as its a great value for money.
David L. from Mukilteo, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2012 My wife and I rented this for two nights at the last minute, to get away without the kids.Had a great time. It's a fantastic little place tucked into the trees with a view of the water. Close to the beach with access by way of a trail, but just a few minute hike. Spent two days exploring Whidbey. Would have liked another day just to lay around and relax at the cabin. Everything you need is there. We intend to go back, maybe in the winter when we could fire up the wood stove and lay around.Would highly recomend this place if you don't need to be right on the beach.
A guest from Escalante, UT recommends this property. Stayed for 14 days in September, 2011 Realxing is the key word. If you need R&R this is the place. Cottage is arranged nicely. Cooking was a delight as the kitchen is spacious. W/D is in basement for use. Loved the outdoor markets for fresh veggies & fruit. Shore fishing, a short drive to Bush Point on other side of island. We had fresh caught salmon for a few evening meals. A few area's were not as clean as they could have been, nothing that was digusting.
Reviewed by: A guest does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2011 Super cute cottage. Downsides: spotty cell phone coverage, no internet, view is PARTIAL, not like advertised. Not walking distance from anything. Bed is hard.