This is the downstairs living space with a view of the water.
Escape the city to savor this peaceful oasis. Wake up in a sunny master bedroom with its own egress to a waterfront deck and bask in sunrise views over Holmes Harbor. Watch the eagles play in the tree tops and fish in this island estuary. Spend your day playing in the spacious yard and beach combing the tidelands while capturing precious family memories. This unique and well placed home charms visitors with scenery and function. Bring family or friends and utilize the separate and private downstairs complete with bathroom and partial kitchen with accommodations for two. Nearby activities include public beaches, parks, golf, and shopping within walking distance. 7 night minimum in July/August
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Great Island Getaway A guest from Coatesville, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2016 First of all - the view! It makes the whole experience special. The house was comfortable, conveniently located on the island and had all the necessities.We watched seals in the harbor and were able to make use of the lovely deck even tho it was early in the season. While there were a few small issues of lighting or things mentioned in other reviews, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the house.
Bercot Beach Cottage Patricia S. from AUSTIN, TX-Texas recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in March, 2016 We had a lovely time at this house. The view is amazing-we often saw seals & the resident. The property managers thoughtfully left us a message checking on us when storms were forecasted. Accessing the downstairs part of the house is a little challenging during inclement weather or at night as there is no lighting. The main floor bedrooms/living room/kitchen are terrific.
A great place for family gathering Reviewed by: James C. recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2015 Our family gathered at this house on Christmas Day and we had a regular holiday meal including turkey and evrything we used to have at our home. One night we turned off all lights and enjoyed beautiful moon casting its light on the water.I give 4 stars because the lighting in the living room and bedrooms seemed to be poor. Hard to read books at night in the living room . Overall we had a wonderful family time.
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South We want to thank you for your very positive feedback. We will work on the lighting.
Bercot Beach Cottage A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2015 The rental was perfect to put up family members during our wedding. It was well kept inside the house and everything went smoothly during the stay. Thank you for a great and memorable experience!
Special place.... A guest from Napa, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2015 My husband & I traveled with friends of 30 years to stay on Whidbey Island. We had stayed at Bercot Cottage twice before & our friends decided to try it also. We were not disappointed. Clean,wonderful location, & comfortable. We recommend this property.
Great vacation home! A guest from Kirkland, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2015 House was just as described, spacious and well equipped. The beach is not right off the yard as the pictures make it look, it is down stone steps and then a drop to the rock beach. Big retaining wall with plants, so people with children can't really see them unless you are right down on the water.
Family get together for my husband's retirement Megumi C. from Seattle, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2015 This house was perfect for our family of 6 and 2 toddlers to comfortably spend time together for a week honoring my husband's retirement. We each took a turn cooking and mostly had meals on the deck. Made a fire in a pit, sang songs, played games and stargazed at night. What a memory we created.The reason I gave 4 stars on the condition, was that the master bed was a bit too soft and squeaky. It's a beautiful property and I highly recommend this place to others.
Seattle Vacation/Wedding Reviewed by: Louise H. recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2015 Overall it was a wonderful experience!! We thoroughly enjoyed the area. The unit was in need of some updating but overall it served our needs well as family gathered there for a family reunion. The screen was worn and torn, but overall the unit had everything we needed. The lower apartment was quaint although the shower was quite low for our tall children. The carpet was in need of a cleaning. We found all of the cookware more than adequate for cooking as we did most of our own cooking.
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South Thank you for your review! The carpet can take quite a beating during our peak summer months and it was cleaned as soon as we had a break in rentals at the end of the season. It looks beautiful again :) Our apologies to this guest that the carpet was in need of cleaning for their stay. Thank you again!
Nice place but... A guest from Lynnwood, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2015 Nice place, great view. Patio needs a bigger BBQ, also downstairs bedroom ceiling too short for a person over 6 feet tall to walk in. Place needs some improvements and upgrades though.
Nice, clean home! Carolyn O. from Yucaipa, California recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2015 At the last minute, we changed our plans from the hotel we were staying in, to this home. Tara Property Management was able to help us quickly with the rental with ease and professionalism. The home was very clean and accommodating. Please note, that there is no TV service; there is only a DVD/video player. (I didn't notice that part in the description.) Everything was great except the beds are not the best. If they would put a simply topper on them, it would help. However, the pull-out couch was the MOST comfortable one that I've ever seen!
Family Weekend on Whidbey Tammy C. from Coeur D Alene, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in December, 2014 Our 28 year old son wanted to start a new family tradition so myself, my husband, our 18 and 28 year old sons booked this house for the weekend after Christmas. We drove in and stopped to see Deception pass, Coupeville and Fort Edbey before arriving at the rental. The pictures and description did not do this house justice. It has an amazing view and is in a perfect location. We loved the house and couldn't ask for anything more. It cleared up on Saturday and we were able to sit on the deck and enjoy the sun and beautiful setting. The house was perfect for our weekend with plenty of kitchen supplies and the bed in the master bedroom is amazing. We had a great time playing games, talking and just hanging out staring at the beautiful water, we kept the shades/blinds open the entire trip. Our son has friends that have a private beach so we were able to go clamming and cook some wonderful meals. We would recommend this to everyone and hope to be able to come back soon.
Beautiful Harbor Property Tran M. from Seatlle, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2014 We enjoyed our stay at the property. The backyard stretches all the way down to the stairs that lead to the water. The deck spans the width of the house.The house is cozy and a bit dated. The finishes are average and the kitchen does not include a dishwasher. The bedroom that faces the water is bright and airy, but the other bedroom is dark. There is only one bathroom upstairs. There is an additional room and bathroom downstairs, but it must be accessed by a separate, outdoor entrance.Our experience was good, overall. However, there were a few negatives:1. We found a small amount of blood on the sheets in the second bedroom.2. There are noisy neighbors immediately to the south who subjected us to verbal abuse towards his dog and his children. He also plays the drums. 3. Pictures indicate that there is a fire pit on the deck. It is no longer there and we brought wood and were very disappointed.
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South We want to extend our apologies to this renter for any inconveniences they encountered during their stay. It is our priority to try to give each guest a wonderful experience! We do not accept keeping stained sheets in our rentals and have taken care of them. The fireplace that was on the deck had broken and has now been replaced. We are very sorry again for any inconveniences this guest encountered! The owners have also added a dishwasher! :)
A Memorable Week on Whidbey Reviewed by: A guest recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014 We had kids ages 7-15 with us, so separate downstairs sleeping/bath area was great. House was clean, ready to use. One caution: any beach use requires wearing water shoes, as it's rocky and full of barnacles. Wearing them allowed for good swimming, tidelands exploration, playing and walking.One idea for a day trip: take Keystone ferry to Pt.Townsend and visit Marine Science Center at Ft.Worden. There's no fireplace on deck as photos show.
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South The fireplace on the deck has been replaced. Unfortunately it was broken during this guests stay and our apologies go out to them!
Whidbey Island vacation. Stella W. from Arcadia, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2014 First time on Whidbey Island. The location of this cottage is perfect, close to ferry and easy to find.We had a great time digging for clams and playing in the water. Beautiful view of bay and perfect weather in the summer.The cottage itself needs some TLC. The property management was professional and friendly, easy to work with, they sent someone out right away to repair a panel in the bathroom.
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South The owner has been working on some updating the past few months and the home is looking beautiful!
Underwhelmed Douglas A. from Beaverton, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2014 The Good:-- Nice view. Especially at sunrise.-- Lots of board games availableThe Not So Good:-- TV is from the early 90s. Could not get cable to work; only the DVD player-- The neighbors play loud music and drums for a couple of hours each night. And they yell at each other.-- There is no kiva (beehive) fireplace outside as noted in the pic. Was looking forward to using this at night.-- Cannot access the lower level unless you go outside and under the deck. Not ideal with small children.Overall, I probably wouldn't choose this location again. I think Useless Bay area may suit us better :)
Property Manager Response: Response from Tara Property Management South Our deepest apologies go out to this guest! The owner has replaced the fireplace on the deck and made some updates to the home including a dishwasher. We urge anyone who ever has trouble with neighbors of any home we manage (which is very rare), to call the police for a noise complaint. Overall, the island in general is very quiet.
Relaxing!!! Kevin H. from Walnut Creek, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014 We loved our stay at 5213 Bercot. The house had ample room for my family. The boys loved having the entire downstairs to themselves while my wife, daughter and myself used the two upstairs bedrooms. The kitchen was fully stocked with utensils, pots, plates, glasses, etc. You couldn't ask for a better view of the fireworks from the deck. The seal lions and eagles were regular visitors right outside our door, not to mention the deer that roamed the area. My sister in law lives down the street so the location was perfect for our family get-togethers. I would love to rent that house again.
Love the beach filled with shells A guest from Lake Charles, LA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013 Our second time on Whidbey, and the location was well chosen. Close enough to Langley to shop and eat, yet not too far from Coupeville and other island towns. We did not go to Deception Pass as we had been there once before. Especially enjoyed hiking in South Whidbey State Park, where some could hike down to the beach and others do the full hike though the park. As I had read in other reviews, the 3rd bedroom, down on ground level, has a separate entrance which might be desirable for some renters, but we did not use that bedroom because it did not connect w/ the rest of house. Lovely views from inside and deck, and our 5 year old granddaughter enjoyed the little beach and picking up shells.
Beautiful Vacation Home Louise P. from Wooster, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2013 It is a charming house in a lovely location. Kitchen is well-stocked compared to some. We would stay there again.
awesome Dorothy C. from North Bend, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013 3 generations on vacation together, salmon surf fishing was great, early morning and late evenings on the deck were my favorite times. didn't have cable tv, that was okay, lots of conversation, played games, watched movies, digging clams with grandchildren, swimming and fishing on Goss Lake. Only drawback, the day we went to Langley, Tuesday, the shops were all closed. If we had inquired would have visited another day. The best vacation ever!!!! Thank you, will book again next year
Excellent Vaction Location Jim R. from Calgary, AB recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013 I was very impressed with the rental property.The fitted sheet on the master bed could fit snugger as it had a tendency to move about. Not a real problem though. Kitchen very well provided with all the necessities. WiFi was a blessing for the kids toys, games etc.Would rent again if the need arose. Tara Vaction Rental found to provide excellent service.
Peaceful A guest from Nashville, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013 We loved this beach cottage; it was the perfect "get away from it all" location to relax and enjoy the scenery.
Los of fun with water to kayak and good view A guest from Hebo, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2012 Pretty good over all-just needed a dish washer-too much time of vacation spent in washing dishes. No kitchen ammenities like blenders mixers and absolutly no large serving bowels which we very much needed. Have been in other rentals and expected to fully stocked with hand soap dish soap laundry soap and only enough for hardly one evening and had to keep going to the store cause kept running out of these things.
Summer stay at the cottage A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in August, 2012 We had a great stay at the cottage although the kitchen equipment needs some serious updating. Pans and pots are in bad condition and a dishwasher seems to be a good investment. The location is perfect especially for families.
Rental cottage on Whidbey Island A guest from Bellevue, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012 Great location with many interesting places around. Kids loved the little beach. Nice, big kitchen for cooking.
A few suggestions and comments: Myrna H. from Puyallup, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2012 We were concerned because there were no railings going down from the parking area and none going up to the front door. the stairway going off the deck and into the basement was not completed. The frying pans were in very bad condition. One of the people that work for you was nice enough to bring over dish towels and a pan to wash the dishes.
Charming and relaxing on the Water Deborah B. from Dallas, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2012 Loved the location and waterfront! Great house with fabulous view from deck or windows. Tons Of great shells and rocks on the beach early in the morning.
More time at this home Donna Faye C. from Coulee City, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2012 This was a wonderful experience for my family. Overall, we were very satisfied, the property was in very satisfactory condition, the location was perfect, the property was very clean, and Karen was very professional with a lot of heart as well. We will stay here again. The only problem was that we did not have enough time to spend at the home as we had a family reunion and family emergency while staying. The house was, however, a welcome and relaxing place to go when we could.
Bercot Cottage A guest from Yakima, WA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in September, 2011 Needs handrails everywhere. Poor lighting.Well equipped for cooking. Not for older people,BUT WE HAD A GOOD TIME!
Wonderful weekend! Sarah s. from renton, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2011 We had a fabulous time at the Bercot Beach Cottage. We loved that we had access to the water right from our back yard (bring water shoes though as it's very rocky, not sandy). My boys LOVED the hammock and we all loved the view. Loved that the fully equipped kitchen was open to the living room so we could catch while we cooked.
Bercot Beach Timothy P. from Temperance, MI recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2011 Since we did not really have a view of the property we were renting, the trip out was filled with some nervousness. However, that all changed when we got there. Not only was the scenery beautiful, the neighborhood was clean and quiet!! The accommodations were bigger than we had expected. The next time we go to Washington, we are definitely calling Tara Properties first!!
Relaxing beauty.... A guest from Napa, CAlif recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011 My husband & I with longtime good friends, arrived at Bercot Cottage in the late afternoon. We fell in love with it almost immediately. It is cozy, comfortable and picturesque. We felt like guests in a friend's home. The cottage was clean and well stocked with necessities. A small problem with a partially plugged toilet finally resolved itself the day before we left. A plumber would have been helpful. The views from the livingroom and the deck of the tidal action and the boats at anchor was very tranquil. The town of Freeland has a large grocery & hardware store only 5 minutes drive away. Exploring Whidbey Island was relaxing. Seabolts Deli in Oak Harbor provided us with fresh seafood. Bring DVD's or VHS tapes if you wish to watch TV as there is no TV signal. We hope to be able to stay at Bercot Cottage again for a relaxing vacation.
bercot beach/holmes harbor house A guest from Bellevue, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2011 Great location and comfy house. wish I had read that the third bedroom was downstairs with outside access only, no window coverings and very low ceilings. Dishes needed to be washed before using, no dishwasher. Beds ok, but with divot in master, good sofabed. Amazing deck with nice outdoor fireplace and nice rocky beach. Good kitchen spaces, good appliances, cabinets to full to store food. Bought our own TP as there was only 1/2 a roll. Might stay again with different family members. Not a great fit for 8 people.
Great Beach House A guest from Snuqualmie, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2010 We really enjoyed staying at this beach house, it had great views and was very cozy. We were surprised to learn that the basement was detached from the upstairs... you have to walk around outside to get to it and there are no window coverings. We think this should have been included in the description. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.
Great first time A guest from Lead, South Dakota recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in September, 2010 This was our first time for vac rental, everything we needed was there at the house from roasting marshmellow forks,binoculars,wood for fire places, kitchen ware to toilet paper etc. Bad parts were the BIG BIG spiders in the basement bed room, needs to be debugged, and the main floor creeks terrible when people walk on it and yourtrying to sleep below. Other wise we enjoyed are stay.
We loved location and the home.the only thing that we didnt like was the fact that the telivision equipment was out dated,could Shawn M. from Haysvillie, KAnsas recommends this property.
Stayed for 1 days in September, 2010
A guest from Lake Stevens, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2010 We were celebrating our mother's 86th birthday and she had a wonderful time. The house is comfortable, the view is phenomenal, the location is central to so many lovely sights. We all love to cook and it was a well-equiped kitchen which you rarely find in a vacation rental.Thank you for the lovely memories.