Condo #6012:explore the Sand and Shore; Remarkable Views from this 3Br/2.5Ba
THIS UNIT HAS A SATURDAY TO SATURDAY REQUIREMENT DURING PEAK SEASON! Updated with new TVs in 2010 and repainted in early 2011.
Offering the feeling of a beachy, airy bungalow, this 3 bedroom 2.5 bathrooms is a great retreat for the entire family. Not only will it sleep eight guests, it does it in style, providing all of the elements of an apartment, including a private beach front balcony overlooking the beautiful Gulf of Mexico!
All of our daily and weekly guests receive the following complimentary guest package: 2 beach chairs and umbrella set up for you on the beach (March 1 to October 31); 18 holes of golf with 1/2 cart at Shalimar Pointe Golf Club daily; one free pass to a 2-hour Dolphin Cruise daily; 1 adult pass to snorkeling daily (April - October); nightly movie rentals, FREE Internet access (most units wireless).
Guests at the Islander Beach Resort have access to one of Okaloosa Island's largest gulf-side pools, a shuffleboard court, and a barbeque grill area. A quick stroll across the boardwalk puts you right on the beach! All guests have Free High-Speed Internet access in their unit, as well as wireless Internet access in our lobby.
Please visit Guest Amenities to view information about entertainment and activities available in our complimentary guest package (some exclusions apply).
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Ft. Walton Beach-Islander-unit 6012
Armond M. from Powell, TN recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2016 We had a large group of family & friends; so I got to see five rooms at the Islander. Our room was by far the most dated. A word to the owners: take a look at unit 6011 right next door - it is a JOKE at the difference. The fridge for a 3 bedroom condo that sleeps 8 was one step up from a dorm room, lol! The fridge next door was a huge, new, french door stainless - we had to put some of our food in our neighbor's room! Get rid of the carpet - it is awful. All of the other rooms had updated tile in the common areas. We had a great time, and would stay at the Islander again (I think) but I would NEVER stay in unit 6012 again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you for your input regarding your recent stay at the Islander. We are sorry to hear that you were not particularly impressed with the furnishings in this unit and we will certainly relay your suggestions to the owner. However we are glad you got to enjoy some sunshine and fun on the beach with friends and family at the Islander beach resort and hope to see you back next year!
Cathy W. from Hymera, IN recommends this property. Stayed for 14 days in March, 2016 It was fine condo wasn't the cleanest place I have stayed it is in desperate need of updating
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you so much for your honest feedback and your review. We wish that you would have called us with any issues with housekeeping while you were here so we could have sent someone over to immediately take care of it!
A guest from Sevierville, TN recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in October, 2015 I would suggest removing the carpet and moving the washer and dryer. It was very inconvenient having to go through the bedroom to use the washer and dryer. Furniture throughout the condo was outdated.
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your honest feedback. We will pass on these suggestions to the owner so that they are aware of your feedback. We hope that you are able to come back and stay with us again in the future!
A guest from Lawrenceville, GA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2015 We had a great time on Okaloosa Island, and this condo was a convenient location and had great amenities. The 3 bedrooms gave my family enough room to spread out. The view from the balcony was awesome.
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you for your review! It's good to hear that you had a great time! We hope to see you again soon.
A guest from Columbus, IN recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2015 Condo was very nice. Had everything that we needed and worked great for all of us. View from the balcony was beautiful.Beach awesome, and the kids loved the pool.Would use same rental company again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you for the positive review, we love to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Islander Beach Resort and hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Excellent Vacation Condo and rental agency . Highly Recommended.
Jeff H. from Henderson, TN recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2015 Arrived in June for a week stay at the Islander Beach Resort and had a 3 BR 2.5 BA condo. Everything was as expected and the only recommendation would be a 3rd bath instead of the huge walk-in closet in the 2nd bedroom and a slightly larger than 30gal hot water heater. We ran out of hot water after 5 adults showered...I got the lukewarm shower:( Overall great view and great experience with the only downside was inconsiderate vacationers above us that made weird noises during the day but did not keep us up at night and it was manageable. It just amazes me how folks in a condo atmosphere conduct themselves as if they have a cabin in the woods! There are other people on every side of you so please control yourself and your children so not only you but others can enjoy their vacation. Great time overall and would go again and rent the same condo, considering purchasing a condo along the coast as well.
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you for taking the time to write this informative review, The properties during peak season can become a little noisy with people enjoying their vacations, however we are happy to hear that the 10 pm quiet time rule was respected and you were able to have a quiet nights sleep! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you for choosing Brooks and Shorey Resorts for your Florida vacation!
Robin K. from New Albany, MS recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in May, 2015 Nice spacious condo, all the amenities needed, great view of the ocean and daily siting of Dolphins. Would love to stay here again. Only problem, couldn't get WiFi to connect using given instructions. #3rdworldproblems
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you for the great review, You arrived on a Islander Beach Resort wifi change over day (they changed their system) so we were all up in the air a little but all has been rectified! Thank you for your patience... we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Claudia M. from Louisville, KY recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in May, 2015 This is a very comfortable, well-maintained unit directly on a beautiful Gulf Coast beach. We had everything we needed, and especially enjoyed the dolphin-spotting!
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you for a great review, we appreciate you choosing Brooks and Shorey Resorts for your Florida vacation and hope to welcome you back again soon!
A guest from Bonham, TX recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in February, 2015 The condo was great place for gathering of sisters who live far apart and a couple we rarely get to see. FOG was heavy most of the week but we managed to enjoy the sound of the surf and each other!
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The Fog was a little heavy for a while there, although you will be pleased to know that usual Florida Sunshine has resumed! We hope to see you again soon and so glad you got to spend quality family time together!
craig h. from gaylord, MI does not recommend this property. Stayed for 14 days in February, 2015 master bedroom mattress worn out and shot, all carpeting needed deep cleaning in bedroom, living and dining room. Skirt on bed torn and nasty looking nearest the sliding door. Kitchen in need of good knife set. Both sofas very uncomfortable and bars from the hide away bed is what you sat on.
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Islander Beach Resort, we will be sure to pass your concerns onto the owner of the unit. We hope that you will consider staying on Beautiful Okaloosa Island again, possibly in a different unit next time.
Michael T. from Fenton, MO recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in August, 2014 What a great time/ we took our daughter's family on a wonderful vacation. adults and 2 children. We had a wonderful time and the weather was wonderful. We'll be back again. We love this Island and having Destin just across the bridge is great. Ft Walton is the place to be.
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you so much for your great review! We are vary happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon!
A guest from St. Charles, MISSOURI recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2014 Condo was nice, great location, DVD machine does not work, mattress pad on king was awful, so we took it off, but in general it was a nice place.
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you for the review, we will be sure to address the issues, we did call the amenities company once we were advised of the machine being down and it was back up and running the same day! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
A guest from Pelham, AL recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014 We liked the condo and have stayed here before. It was clean and spacious. The only complaint I have is that there didn't seem to be anyone checking on the pool area. There was a large group of people staying at the property while we were there. They sort of took over the pool area daily and would eat, drink and smoke IN the pool. Their garbage was also floating around in he pool. It was pretty gross.
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you for your review and thank you for being a return customer! We are glad you enjoyed the condo and please accept our apologies about the pool crowd. Even though we do not manage the pool area at the Islander, if you had called us, we would have placed a call to the management company and asked them to check on the situation. Thanks again for staying with us!
Reviewed by: demetrios l. recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2014 Awsome view. Great space. Not busy like most beaches. Fantastic staff (thanks Jason). We all loved it and plan on coming back.
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you for your excellent review! We are very happy you had a great time and we hope to see you very soon at the ISLANDER!
Gary B. from Mountain Green, UT recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in July, 2014 This condo is clean, nice, comfortable, and in a very good location. The view is unbeatable. I'd recommend to all my friends, and hope we can come again to visit the area using this same condo.
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you for your excellent review! So glad you enjoyed your stay and the condo! Hope to see you back at the Islander very soon!
Travis W. from Talbott, TN recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in June, 2014 the pics are accurate and condo was very nice
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Sandra A. from Morrow, Ohio recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013 First time staying in Ft Walton Beach, had stayed in Destin before. Overall loved the location of this complex. The Unit was in an excellent location in the complex, right at the end of the building. The view was amazing and the pool area was great. The only downfall that I would say with this unit was that there wasnt enough cookware to prepare a family meal. Other than that it was a great place to stay and will stay in this unit again and will recommend it to anyone who is interested in going to Ft Walton Beach. Brooks and Shorey is a great friendly and helpful company to rent from. Any issue that we had which was only a few they took care of it within minutes. Thanks for a great vacation.
Reviewed by: Donna R. recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2013 VERY GOOD LOCATION. ROOMY. CLEAN. WOULD GET RID OF THE CARPET. VACCUM WOULD NOT WORK PROPERLY. SINK HAD A LEAK. FRIG LEAKED. ALL MINOR PROBLEMS. STAY WAS STILL COMFORTABLE
A guest from Birmingham, AL recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in March, 2013 Overall the place was very nice. I would stay there again.The view was spectacular! The unit is the last on the hall, so there was never any foot traffic noise. The pool is a nice size and well maintained. As another renter noted, there where not enough pots, pans or serving dishes for a place that sleeps 6-8 (plenty of plates, cups, and silverware). We like to eat in so this was an issue for us.The unit was not as clean as I would have preferred (housekeeping issue), but there were lots of clean towels. The appliances are all in excellent working order and fairly new.The beach was amazing. Loved it.
A guest from mantachie, MS recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2012 the kitchen needs to be better stocked, we had to go buy a strainer and some bowls, but we we were well pleased with everyhthing.
A guest from port gibson, MS recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2012 Overall everything was ok. We did have problems with the bathroom door not unlocking. After a few minutes of trial and error we did manage to open it but decided not to lock it again which left little privacy to the occupant. The garbage disposal did not work at all. There needs to be more pots and pans of the same size as are already in the kitchen.
A guest from Northfiled, MN recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2012 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The view from the kitchen and balcony was perfect. Getting to the family friendly beach was a breeze. We had great service with clean rooms. I'm glad we went -- even though a tropical storm was on the brew. Thankfully, it missed our area completely. The only negative was that with so many people (8 of us), we had to use the hide-a-bed in the sofa. It was plenty big, but wasn't the most comfortable. That's pretty typical of hide-a-beds though. We put the smaller kids on it. The other beds were plenty cozy.
A guest from Yorktown, VA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2011 The unit has all the right upgrades with flat screen TVs and Granite countertops throughout. The neverending ocean front view from the 6th foor is fabulous. Watchinig the sunrise and sunset sitting comfortably in the high end outdoor furniture made it even better. Highly recommend this unit to everyone!!!
A guest from Cabool, MO does not recommend this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2011 Brooks and Shorey staff were excellent! Addressed problems as they occurred. The condo we were in was poorly stocked with pots, pans, no strainer, no big bowls. To be advertised to be stocked for 8 guests they definitely need to update their supplies. There was one very small skillet and one slightly larger skillet. There were no big bowls; biggest bowl probably was 3-4 cups. When cooking for 8 people you need bigger containers. There was no stainer, no sharp knives except one extra large bladed one and steak knives. Oven burned your food if you tried to cook on the bottom shelf; once again when cooking for large groups you needed both shelves. Our internet was out; was the modem and/or router from the supplier. (Not Brooks and Shorey's fault). Did not have internet for the first 5 days there. Garbage disposal sounded like it was going to "jump out of the sink." All plug ins were not functional. Tile in the kitchen was scuffed up. No blinds/weather breaker on the patio. Owner definitely needs to invest some money in their place. Of note: Family members had the condo next door and it was very very nicely stocked and in good repair. Would defintely recommend utilizing Brooks and Shorey again! Would not recommend this particular condo though.
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Thank you for your review! Since your review, the kitchen had been re-stocked and the whole building now provides free secured WIFI. Also the owners have updated the condo. Thank you for you input! We appreciate your business and we hope to see you again on the Okaloosa Island. Please remember to ask about our return cutomer discount on your next stay with us!
Susan R. from Hartland, WI recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011 We stayed for 7 nights Jul 30-Aug 6. 6012 was a 3 bedroom condo. The beach was wonderful and we enjoyed the 2 chairs and umbrella per day, the free movie and dolphin cruise. The condo was well stocked and issues we had were handled in a timely fashion. The condo was decorated nicely, somewhat dated but still very nice. Plenty of room for our family of 6. The beach was nice to walk on and not tremendously busy, which we wanted. We were always able to find spots around the large pool and hot tub. I would recommend the Islander again and also room 6012.
A guest from Athens, AL recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2011 Only issue was that we could not hook to internet. It was not wireless we had to call the office and they had to hook us up on another rooms internet.
Very good -need better liv rm furn & more dining chairs
Robert M. from Freeland, MI recommends this property. Stayed for 20 days in December, 2010 Tom fixed our doors, were losing lot of heat before he came. We purchased a usedLa-Z-Boy recliner and small desk - hopethey can stay in unit. Would like to rent next winter. (No screens on patiodoors) Sure could use 6 dining chairsinstead of just 4) more teaspoons and teakettle needed too.
Karin N. from Sheridan, AR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in May, 2010 This is an absolutely wonderful place to stay... You will feel right at home as soon as you walk through the front door.. There were seven of us and a 19 month old baby and we all slept very comfortable.. The view from the balcony was amazing!! The people at Brooks and Shorey were wonderful. We will be back!! Thank you for a very wonderful vacation!!
Sam A. from St. Rose, LA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2009 This was my 3rd year visiting the Islander but my first year booking my own condo with my sister and her family. It was just what I expected and even better than her and her family ever expected. The view was awesome from the Islander as always and all the local attractions were as fun as ever. The children loved the beaches all day and the pool in the evening hours. I know we'll definitely be back again next year and probably bring even more family. Thanks for providing an awesome time for our family in the summer of '09.
Michael B. from St. Louis, MO recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2009 Condo 6012 was pretty nice. Decorating was attractive and no major functional issues except for a slow drain in the master bedroom bathtub that took 10 minutes to drain after a shower. View of the gulf is spectacular. The bldg. elevators are poorly ventilated and really hot - we used the steps up to the 6th floor quite a lot. I'm not real impressed with Brooks & Shorey office staff and their policies. I always feel like they are talking down to me. Setting check time on Saturday at 4 PM and closing the office at 5 PM makes little sense to me, plus requiring those that arrive after 5 to drive back over to their ofice the next AM or get an additional bill is not good service. This is my 3rd stay at the Islander. We stayed at the El Matador on our last visit. Their grounds and pool are much nicer than the Islanders', but the condos at the Islander are superior.
A guest from Kenner, LA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2009 The Islander was great as usual. Brooks and SHorey however were not. I will not use this agent again. I had previously rented at the Islander with other local agents and was treated much better by them. I had paperwork from Brooks and Shorey confirming an early check in and yet they refused to honor it. The result was us having no place to go for 4 hours after arriving in Fort Walton. I will always recommend the Islander but I did have my GPS stolen out of my car in the parking lot so just exercise care. That was the first time in over 20 yrs of going to Fort Walton that anything like that had happened. So go with the Isalnder just not Brooks and Shorey.
Property Manager Response: Response from Brooks and Shorey Resorts, Inc. Our guests are always more than welcome to use the pool area and take advantage of the beach chairs while they wait for the units to be cleaned, in case they arrive before check-in time starts. We also offer free dolphin cruises and a free buffet meal daily, which they can also take advantage of while they wait.
A guest from Hoover, AL recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in May, 2009 All the rugs in the bathrooms were gross. The kitchen needs a new bulb - it flickered the whole time. The main tv in the den was awful - the remote is held together with duct tape & doesn't work well.
NANCY J. from TUCKER, GA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in May, 2009 We loved our room and the overall stay . We were disappointed that the pool and hot tub were closed most of the time. We would come there again.
Kathy B. from Slidell, LA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in February, 2009 i was really impressed with the condo. everything was great. could have used a kitchen strainer in the kitchen , but that was minor. everything was just how it looked on the internet site. the people were very nice, in fact some of the nicest people that i have dealt with in florida. we usually come down at least 2-3 times a year and will definitly use this place again. the price was the best also for a 3 bedroom with a beachfront room.
Yvonne P. from Metairie, LA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2007 We were happy with the accommodations; great view from the balcony. Family members rented about 8 condos; our only complaint is that one member of our party did not get the particular condo he was promised and ended up far from the group. Otherwise, a great place to stay.