Oceanfront-Incredible Views, Surf Break & Romantic Sunsets at Bali Kai 223
Lovely Oceanfront upgraded second floor 2bd2bth unit in Kona Bali Kai one of Kona's most popular oceanfront destinations. Watch the surfers at "Banyans" from your lanai at one of Kona's premier surfing spots. Light, Bright, and Airy with several upgrades including new white paint, Hawaiian style furnishings, new tile, upgraded appliances, and much more. Located on the quiet North end of the complex, just steps from the ocean and BBQ area. Relax to the methodical sound of the waves and enjoy those magnificent Kona Sunsets from the privacy of your own lanai. Close to shopping, dining, and ocean activities.
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office, WI-FI High Speed Internet * Convenience: Area FitnessCenter, Golf Course, Movie Theatres, Nearby Beach, Nearby Grocery, Nearby Medical Services, Outlet Shopping * Entertainment: Cable TV, CD Player, DVD Player, HD Flat Screen TV, VCR * Geographic: Close to Town, Near Beach, Oceanfront * Kitchen: Blender, Coffee Grinder, Coffee Maker, Cookware, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Rice Cooker, Toaster * Living: Ceiling Fans, High Speed Internet, Ironing Board, Linens, Washer & Dryer * Outdoor: BBQ Grill, Lanai, Shared Pool
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
A guest from Oakland, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in April, 2016 Lovely view of the ocean and sunset from the back deck. Close to good snorkling beaches, restaurants and grocery stores, scenic sights. Loved being able to participate in out-rigger canoeing at the harbor ! The front desk staff was very helpful when my friend's delayed luggage arrived. We had a very relaxing time and good weather the 2nd week in April !(Had trouble with the lock box on the front door of the unit which held the door key-- perhaps too much salt air -- eventually the lock box would not open with the proper combination of numbers used)
Ryoko O. from Toronto, ON recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2016 We loved our time on Big Island and our stay at the Kona Bali Kai Suite 223. We would definitely stay at the same location again, no question about it. The suite is just as it looks in the pictures and the view is even better than expected. The layout of the suite is very well planned. The two bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen are well sized. The internet speed was perfect. And the suite was equipped with a washer/dryer and dish washer and other kitchen appliances, like a dishwasher. The suite was stocked with items that are needed around the house, paper towel, cleaning products, etc. Furniture was a little dated looking but completely functioning. The resort itself is a little dated but I would stay here rather than the hotels in the city, since it has a better view and way more amenities. Also, on the resort location is an excellent take-out restaurant called Da Poke Shack, rated very highly on Yelp and for a good reason. We were very surprised at how good it was. The only thing I would warn about staying in this location is the sound of the waves splashing against the rocks, especially at night. Although it didn't bother us, it was soothing for us, it could affect people who are light sleepers.
A guest from Tofino, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 11 days in March, 2016 I stayed in unit 223 for 11 nights in March, 2016. The condo was well equipped and clean. The view and location excellent. My grandsons enjoyed the pool, it was heated and well maintained. A little bit of updating in the condo (bedroom carpeting) is the only minor suggestion I have.
A guest from Allen, TX recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2016 The property was clean and comfortable and had nice extras, snorkeling gear, beach towels. We could see turtles from the balcony.
Shelley G. from Tigard, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 13 days in March, 2016 Overall a great vacation. Great friends and wonderful places we visited. I have to be honest and express my overall concern with the "tireness" of the condo. We never were able to get internet coverage the entire time we were there and the dryer did not work. Four hours drying time for one load of clothes???? The 2 umbrellas for use were totally broken. We bought one along with another more reliable beach chair from a local guy that were great. Kitchen had good stock of supplies, but once again, rather "old". Last dissapointing thing was the fact we had to clean the place ourselves when we arrived. It was not clean! But once we got that out of the way, we had a great time! Good location to get places.
Tim S. from Gowanda, New York does not recommend this property. Stayed for 8 days in February, 2016 Great location, clean, but needs updating. Screens to lanai don't slide well and screen was torn on one side of door attached with scotch tape. Floor tiles buckling. Dryer was broken. Would stay at Kona Bali Kai again just not this unit.
Property Manager Response: Response from Kona Sunsets Vacation Rentals When we became aware of the broken screen we responded right away. This was a back to back and the previous guest apparently walked into the screen causing the rip and warped frame. After checking the dryer it required a new bearing kit. We had to order off Island and it took longer than expected for the parts to arrive. They were installed the day of arrival. Owner is aware of the wear & tear as this unit has been booked steadily for the last 3.5 months and is in the process of upgrading and refreshing the unit. We are sorry we were not able to fix the dryer in a more timely fashion. The King bed is brand new as well as the HD TV. The living room furnishings are dated but comfortable. Our guests vacation is very important to us and we take all remarks seriously. Mgmt.
Stephanie L. from South Creston, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in December, 2015 The condo was perfectly suited for our needs. The view was amazing, exactly as pictured. We enjoyed watching dolphins while we had our morning coffee. The condo was clean and well equipped. We were pleasantly surprised to find snorkel gear for all four of us along with all the beach items that we needed.
A guest from Poestenkill, NY recommends this property. Stayed for 9 days in February, 2015 Great location, nice condo, couldn't ask for a better view. My wife and I enjoyed the turtles and other sea life right at the shore. Also had a show of local wave riders. The master bedroom looking onto the ocean was unbelievable. My only complaint was having to show the condo to an inspector as the condo was in escrow, not a big inconvenience just seemed to me unprofessional. I lay the blame on the condo owner. Wayne Twitchell the manager was very professional.
Joe F. from Butte, MT recommends this property. Stayed for 21 days in January, 2015 The property is located on the ocean front with wonderful views of the odean and the nearby surfing cove. The unit is well designed and very functional. Good startup supplies. The Condo staff was very helpful. On the down side the unit is old and looks it. Much wear and tear, corroded hardware, musty cabinets, ants and cockroaches, toilets that need constant fiddling, and the owner has it for sale.
Loren R. from Missoula, MT recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in January, 2015 WE FOUND EVERYTHING TO BE AS DESCRIBED. THIS WAS ONE OF OUR BEST VACATION EXPERIENCES WE HAVE HAD WHICH THE PROPERTY CONTRIBUTED TO EXTENSIVELY.
Jack P. from Washington, DC recommends this property. Stayed for 10 days in December, 2014 We enjoyed the condo very much. It is exactly as described, and terrifically situated on the coast--what a wonderful spot if you love looking at and hearing the waves. The location is convenient to the whole coast, and the condo itself has all the amenities. Our 10 day stay wasn't nearly long enough--and we'd jump at the chance to stay here again.
A guest from Olympia, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2014 The property was in a good location and was easy to find with parking. It made for a good base to explore the Kona area. The unit was a bit dated. The dishwasher didn't work, but the property manager got it fixed quickly. The screens on the windows were old and gross looking and it could have been a little cleaner (a little more attention to the bathroom counters). Overall, it was fine and worked well for our family. Best part was the wonderful ocean view.
A guest from St-Lazare, QC recommends this property. Stayed for 19 days in July, 2014 a nice, well equipped apartment, with a great view right on the oceanpractical location. the street side was quite noisy for the second bedroom however. sofa was more or less comfortable, but beds were goodno air conditioning, but the fans did the job, so we did not suffer from the heat.
Vivian R. from Reno, NV recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in April, 2014 This was a wonderful condo. My family and I truly enjoyed our stay here. The condo was fully equipped and we enjoyed many meals on the patio and watched the sunsets. The bonus was we were able to see turtles every morning in the tide pools. For the price you can't get a better view. Mahalo!
A guest from Golden V alley, AZ does not recommend this property. Stayed for 8 days in February, 2014 Beach view was wonderful~ Condo is in need of repair~ felt creepy~ out dated furnishings~ bad experience overall!
A guest from Cheney, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 56 days in January, 2014 Very nice condo! Lanai is large enough for the table, four chairs two chaise loungers and another small table. Securty was very friendly and made us feel welcome. Saw many humpbacks and calves, spinner dolphins and turtles from the lanai. No A/C needed, the ocean breezes kept the condo cool.
Stanislav G. from Bellevue, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 9 days in August, 2013 The unit's location is very nice. No obstructions to the ocean, easy access to the parking, bbq, pool. We had a couple of minor issues with a burned electrical outlet and a leak from the kitchen sink, but the agent resolved them very quickly. The unit was nicely stocked with clean towels, fully equipped kitchen, beach stuff, and pretty much everything we needed for a beach vacation. We had to buy very few household items during our 9 days stay. Agent was very professional. I am looking forward to coming back.
A guest from Danderyd, XX does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in March, 2013 We had a wonderful experience! We were a family of 6 staying in 223 for 5 nights. The oceanview was magnificent and the room was beautifully hawaiian decorated. We were happy to find bodyboards, snorkel gear equipment etc etc. The parking was also great. Our only concern was that we had paid for cleaning but had to clean all of our sheets etc despite this extra cost. Besides that, no complications. We really enjoyed our stay!
Property Manager Response: Response from Kona Sunsets Vacation Rentals Guests do not have to clean the sheets and towels from previous night or departure day use. This is included in the post clean. This appears to be a misunderstanding by guests. We do ask if sheets are changed during the stay those sheets are cleaned, so there is only one set per bed for cleaners to address.
Troy S. from Altoona, WI recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2013 This condo was fabulous. Great location, great value, great views! Everything was as promised. It has two bathrooms, which is nice when everyone is trying to get ready in the morning. The kitchen is well equipped, we made breakfast a couple of times. The Lanai was great, the furniture and beds were comfortable. We had no issues at all. I would recommend this place to my friends and family and would definately stay there again myself. Covered parking is included. There is a small take out restaurant (Da Poke Shack) on site, which has tasty fish.
Becky H. from Soldotna, AK recommends this property. Stayed for 21 days in January, 2013 We enjoyed our Kona Bali Kai stay very much. Nice condo with a wonderful view. The security staff were terrific! We will most likely stay there again..
A guest from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in January, 2013 My family (four adults and one child) stayed in this lovely condo for the second week of January, 2013. The location was perfect for activities on the Kona side of the Big Island--it is located near the town of Kona but far enough way to be a little quieter. The best part was the proximity to the water and the views. We saw sea turtles daily in the tide pools a 100 ft away and this was a special treat. The worst thing is that there is quite a lot of traffic noise if you are sleeping in the back bedroom (two single beds). I imagine this is the case for all properties on Alii Drive. The front bedroom (Queen bed) has gorgeous views over the ocean. With ocean views, the patio, was where we spent every evening after a busy day of activities--we even saw whales on our last day. The sunsets were incredible. Bottom line, while perhaps needing some updating, this is a well located, clean and well managed condo. We would definitely stay here again.
A guest from Edmonton, AB recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in December, 2012 We had a very nice time at Kona Bali Kai. We especially enjoyed being right on the water and watching the surfers every morning. Viewing sea turtles up close was wonderful.
A guest from Bainbridge Island, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 10 days in December, 2012 the view was so great - we never left the huge lanai where you had a table with four chairs, and then room for two lounge chairs as well! very interesting view with the waves crashing onto the rocks right in front of you. the condo layout was perfect - our teens had their own bedroom and bathroom to escape to, so good separation for families. we did walk to town, but it is a couple miles, so best with a car, but there are restaurants and some shopping nearby, so did not have to go anywhere.
Mary N. from Mt. Angel, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 18 days in November, 2012 The Kona Bali Kai is our favorite place to stay on the island. The condo was well furnished; the lanai overlooked the water. It was quite private and the beach on the property is as good as any on the island. We were very happy with our accommodations and will stay there again.
Gareth G. from Sturgeon Bay, WI does not recommend this property. Stayed for 29 days in October, 2012 We had a good time and liked the property and was considering booking for the next year as well as looking into a possible purchase until the property manager came up to us without even finding out any facts and started to ream us out for parking in a reserved spot. He assumed we were visitors and literally screamed at us. All we did was to park in a spot to try and find our correct parking spot. We were renting unit C-520 and was told to turn left into the parking area under the building and park in 117. Well that was incorrect. #117 was straight ahead under building E. This was not making any sense to me so we started to check out the area under A, B, and C Well, no #117. Finally the manager said 117 was under the E building and huffed off not bothering to find out any facts what so ever. We will never go back to that site again much less consider buying there.Gary and Donna Gridley
A guest from Novato, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in October, 2012 Great view and lanai access from living room and master bedroom. Lawn and tidepools right in front of unit. Beach next door. Very clean and comfortable.
Michael B. from St. Albert, Alberta recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in October, 2012 We decided to stay at Kona Bali KAi again this year and we found out a couple weeks before arriving that the lanai would have some minor painting taking place but hopefully it would be done before we wasn't. Wayne the property manager did his best to accommodate us but unfortunately it was Ironman week and there was no where else to move us. The noise was rediculous, we stared at scafolding off our lanai all week and one day when they painted the whole balcony was covered with plastic and we had no outside access. In the end I feel the room should have never been rented and we should have been moved to a different location no matter what the cost to the management company.
Philip & Rosemary K. from Geuda Springs, KS recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in March, 2012 If you are not from the city, like us, the noise from Alii street at night might take some getting used to if you stay in that bedroom. That was the only thing that we had a problem with. The kids slept in that room and didn't even notice it. We loved being able to see dolphins, whales and turtles from our balcony every day.
Dan A. from Valdez, AK recommends this property. Stayed for 14 days in March, 2012 We stayed at 223 for the third year in a row we were very satisfied with all aspects of our experiance at this location, the property is well kept with good security quiet and frendly to guests I am sure we will be back again next spring for our annual vacation. One thing to reflect on is that we have made freinds with several other vacationers that seem to return every year as well that speaks to how well the property in taken care of.
Chuck S. from Anchorage, AK does not recommend this property. Stayed for 22 days in February, 2011 We enjoyed our stay at KBK #223, but we have a couple of suggestions for the owner:- The mattress in the master bedroom should be replaced. It is very hard and has no padding on the top. We've stayed in about 18 different condos in Kona, and virtually all of them have a "pillow top" mattress. - Should have either new kitchen knives or a good quality sharpener available.- One morning we had a major lightning & thunderstorm, resulting in a power outage for about 2.5 hours. Should have some emergency candles available.- The condo was very clean, but we already advised you that the dishes, glassses, and silverware were put away and were quite dirty. Should have the cleaning staff check them out before changing over.- Also need to get the wall switch for the dishwasher repaired. There were several occasions when it would not stay in the on position. And would finally engage after several attempts over a lengthy time frame.While none of these items are serious issues, we would not recommend this unit until these recommendations would be completed.Thank you for asking.Chuck
A guest from Elk, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 14 days in October, 2010 We liked this condo very much. The only problem we had was that there were a couple of incidents of noisy folks in the unit upstairs.
Joel S. from Boise, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 14 days in September, 2010 Super seaside location on Ali'i drive in beautiful Kona. Condo is in pretty good shape overall, for a built-in-the-70's place. Very well supplied with boogie boards, etc. We had a few cockroaches, although it smelled as if it had recently been sprayed for them inside the kitchen cabinets. Having wifi in the condo was nice, made it easier to keep in touch with the office and customers.
A guest from Hermiston, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 9 days in February, 2010 The close proximity to the whales and green sea turtles, provided us with amazing entertainment. Whether it was polking around the tidal pools or watching the whales breach, we marveled at it all. The condo was well stocked and they seemed to have thought of our every need. The unit appeared to have been updated and well cared for.
Rich and Tammie B. from Lincoln, NE recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in January, 2010 We absolutely loved our condo at Kona Bali Kai. We were on the 2nd floor and would sit on our lanai and get sprinkled with ocean spray. We especially liked the entire condo, with the exception of the 2nd bedroom, looked right out on the ocean. The full glass patio doors facing the ocean were ideal. We'd stay here again.
Dan A. from Valdez, AK recommends this property. Stayed for 14 days in December, 2009 We are extremely pleased with our experiance at Kona Bali Kai the location is great, the property is well kept up, the security personel were super, the Condo itself is clean modern and well kept up I would/will recommend this unit to anyone.Thanks for a great place to stay on our vacation!!!