Manzanita - If you enjoy privacy, easy access to the ocean and state park, bright airy rooms, hot tubing, and cozying up by the fire, then come stay at Windward Lane, a charming home which comes complete with a bunkhouse for the kids and a fully-equipped executive office.
Your home base for your memorable Manzanita vacation is a quiet, intimate architecturally interesting home with an open kitchen/eating area adjacent to a comfy living room with cozy couches placed near the pellet stove. The downstairs also has a half bath and laundry room. Upstairs is a fabulous, bright roomy lofted area with an office, a bathroom, a queen bed, futon and a deck for morning coffee. Off the lofted area is a very private separate bedroom with a king bed.
The office is equipped with wireless DSL, a fax\copier\printer and every thing else you may need to keep in touch with your business and home. It is set up to easily allow you to plug in your laptop. The business phone line offers free long distance calls within the US and Canada. The convenient set up of the office will make you feel like you are at home if it wasn?t for the sound of the ocean waves in the distance.
A special treat for the kids is their very own bunkhouse, located just behind the main house; the bunkhouse has running water and a TV and will sleep 2. There is also an outdoor shower for taking care of those sandy feet just home from the beach.
You'll love the very private back yard garden setting with a brand-new hot tub and a spacious deck. Windward is only a one-minute walk to the ocean and the unsurpassed beauty of the rugged Pacific shoreline. It is just a few minutes further walk to the Nehalem Bay State Park, where you can bike the park or walk its trails.
Windward is the perfect home for all your vacation getaway needs. It is located in the quaint, family-oriented village of Manzanita, just off Highway 101, about 90 miles from Portland. Manzanita offers scenery, surf and outdoor activities which simply can't be matched. Here you can come to relax, explore the outdoors, play tennis, golf the local course, ride bicycles, walk the beach, enjoy a meal out in one of the city's charming eating establishments, do a little shopping, and end the day relaxing in the large hot tub in the back yard or curled up in front of the pellet stove with a good book and a glass of wine.
**Holiday Premiums will apply over all July 4th reservations**
Website - Contact #
Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Queen, 1 Bunk 1 Other
Room Description: Also has a bunk house out back.
Pets: Dogs Allowed
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office * Convenience: Area FitnessCenter, Golf Course, Nearby Grocery * Entertainment: Books, Cable TV, CD Player, DVD Player, Games, VCR, WiFi * Geographic: Near Beach, Near Hiking/Biking Trails, Near State Park, Close to Golf Course * Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster, Toaster Oven * Living: Ceiling Fans, Ironing Board, Linens, Pellet Stove, Washer & Dryer * Outdoor: Balcony, Deck, Fenced Yard, Gas Grill, Hot Tub, Outdoor Shower, BBQ Grill Seasonal Only * SUITABILITY: pets considered
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Great family time!!
Amy S. from Washougal, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2016 We had a great time! Quiet neighborhood, close to beach. Very comfortable home. Hot tub was nice. Loved the architecture of the home. Close to Canon beach, close to shopping. Great food close by.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in March, 2016 The location of the house was fairly good with the close proximity to the beach. But it is a bit farther from town than we wanted to be. The house had been cleaned but some of the sheets were quite worn or stained. The stove was very slow to heat up. The coffee grinder doesn't work. The outside shower for rinsing beach off doesn't work. The couch is very old and you feel like you are sitting in a hole. The lights went on and off randomly which made me wonder about the eletrical system. And then the power went out in the bunk house which made it too cold and dark for it to be fun for the kids. The mattress was good enough. The hot tub was great. I am just not sure I would rent this one again because all of these smaller issues add up. When you are a homeowner on vacation you don't want to think about how the place you are staying needs maintenance.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed the location of the Windward House. We will pass on your concerns to the owner on the maintenance issues, electrical problems, and outdoor shower so that we can get them taken care of. We will recommend updates on the linens and furnishings as well. We appreciate your opinion and hope you will let us help you plan your next trip to the beach.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2015 Wonderful house for a larger group. Funky design but in a delightful way. Did have some difficulty getting the house warm enough and the office was closed as it was a holiday. Spent our first night in 30 degrees. Once this was remedied the stay was great. We did also have some difficulty with the hot tub lock being rusted shut, and once we got in the hot tub would only get warm not hot.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed the house. We apologize for the issues with the heat with it being our first cold snap. We have since had all the cadets heaters you reported not working maintenanced and are now working properly. We are sorry our after hours line was not working the first night of your stay due to a power outage erasing our emergency message earlier in the week. Thank you for making us aware of the issue. It has since been fixed and will not be in danger of being out of order again. The hot tub as well has been serviced and fixed. It was on an economy mode that if accidentally pushed will not allow for the hot tub to go over a certain degree. We appreciate your comments and strive to correct any issues as soon as possible. We hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
Judie D. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2015 The house was a great vacation experience. It's nice and close to the shore and was close enough to downtown to walk.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you so much for your review of Windward House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will let us help you with your future vacations.
Great for Entertaining but Needs Updating on Both Inside and Outs
Darren M. from Tsawwassen, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2015 This is our second summer in a row staying at this property. It is great for the kids and dog. It also has a great set up for entertaining; kids can play upstairs or outside while the adults sit downstairs or outside.There were two issues....the first is the house is in need of a good cleaning and updates. The appliances are old and quirky and the whole inside could use a good clean/painting etc. As well both the front and back yards are totally overgrown and in need of some landscaping and trimming. For instance, when pulling into the driveway, the care will always touch the trees and it is hard not to walk to/from the car without ducking/hitting branches.Secondly, during our week long stay, the dishwasher would not drain and the washing machine would leak. This happened mid-way through. We brought this to the attention of SSVR, it appears they sent someone to look at it, but after that there was no contact with them for the rest of the stay and obviously this was not fixed.That said, it is a great property and perfect for a family with kids and a dog and great for having people over for dinner/drinks etc.All it needs is some minor upgrades and landscaping and it will be good as new!!Would still recommend this to anyone.
Karen S. from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2015 This house is in a great location and worked well for my husband and me. I don't think it would be comfortable for more than 4 people, due to the location of beds and only 1.5 baths. The architecture is quite eccentric, but interesting. The furnishings are adequate, not luxurious. We had everything we needed and everything was in working order. The exterior of the house needs some maintenance, but I don't think it is unsafe.
A guest from Tacoma, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2015 This house was set up very akward, having to walk through were friends were sleeping made for strang nights. The sink is seperate from the cooking area as well which made prepring meals more difficult. The whole house was poorly taken care of with loose boards in the deck that tripped my sister, a make shift fence that is by no means suitable for a dog of any size, and unattached stairs which dumped my husband intothe hotub. The outdoor shower was great but obvious that no one had cared for or cleaned it in months. The bathroom downstairs was so small my sister had to sit sideways to close the door. This rental was just not right for us. The positives, open and light, good family living room, hotub, close to the beach. We wouldn't stay there again. Another plus, sunset vacation rentals was helpful, and I would rent through them again.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2015 Very nice. Everything very clean. Beds very comfortable. Didn't use the bunk house but what a great idea. A little to far to walk to town but fine for walking to the beach. Very well supplied house. Very interesting architectural points.
Ray W. from Lake Oswego, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2015 The property was perfect for our family. It actually has 3 beds (1 in the bedroom, 1 queen in the loft together with a futton), plus the outside cabin which also sleeps 2 adults and 2 kids on the bunk. So overall it had plenty of beds for everyone! The bathroom on the main floor is just a toilet and sink and quite tight, and the bathroom upstairs is a great size, but could be renovated a little...tiles could be changed. The kitchen had everything we needed and enough space for the family and friends to gather. Although dining area is a bit tight, but doable. The yard was ok, we had to wash all the chairs and tables since they were very dirty. The location is great, a block from the beach and its beautiful! Overall I would say that for the price and location and the number of beds, its a nice place to stay!
Michael C. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in December, 2014 We had a good time. The house is perfect for a family, however a bit awkward in layout and not good if we were to share it with other adults. The "fully fenced" feature is not exactly correct as the fence needs repair and the gap at the bottom is quite large in some places. The entertainment system needs updating and operational remotes and operating directions. We never did get it to work. I would recommend this property with disclosure to its eccentricities!
Erica S. from Salt Lake City, UT recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in November, 2014 Our group had a great time at Windward House over the Thanksgiving weekend. The location was great and the house suited our needs. Thanks for making the process smooth!
Kim G. from Ladner, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2014 Perfect set-up for a family with kids and a dog. Close the beach, great backyard, cool bunkhouse and unique house set-up. Our family had a fabulous time and can't wait to go back next year.
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2014 This house has a very unusual design and was very open concept so noise carried through the house. I liked having the fenced back yard and the neighborhood was quiet. If you walk along the beach it is not far from town.
Patrick C. from St. Augustine, FL recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014 Very pleased with our choice of the Windward House. Nice easy walk to the beach and short drive to town. Everything was there as represented in the advertising. Looking forward to a return visit to this friendly little coast town. Thank you
A guest from West Roxbury, MA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2014 The house is pretty far from the center of town but really close to the beach so we were still happy. The house is big and spacious and the hot tub was a hit. The bedroom upstairs is situated so you have to walk through the loft bedroom to get to the bathroom if your staying with people that don't mind it's no big deal. The house was clean but it was raining and I could distinctly smell dog urine in several places. It also would have have been nice if the outdoor shower was working and if we had been informed prior to our stay that it wasn't working. Overall the house is fun and we would stay again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The outdoor shower has been checked and is working fine. We will clean the carpets if needed. Thank you for letting us know.
Jason S. from New Westminster, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in April, 2014 The place was great, there was lots of space for everyone. We loved the hot tub and how close it was to the beach. The kitchen was well equipped (although the coffee grinder was broken) and having the TV and dvd player was nice. Also, the bunkhouse was great with a double and 2 single beds. Only issue was that gaps in the fence can allow a small dog to escape and we couldn't figure out how to get the outdoor shower running.
Betty L. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 1 days in January, 2014 We stayed for a very short time but the house was wonderful. It wasn't super fancy but it was generally clean, cute and quirky, and has an excellent location. I wish we could have stayed longer but the rental company representatives were very accommodating, flexible, and professional. We loved the hot tub!!!!!!! Had a great time cooking, loved the open floor plan. Overall had a wonderful time and would love to come back.
A guest from Bellingham, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013 My family had a great time at the Windward. It's spacious layout felt like a home away from home, and the older kids loved the bunkhouse in the back! Best of all, the view of the stars from the hot tub was incredible!
A guest from Boise, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2013 We went to this house thinking, "hey it's pet friendly with a fence!," the only problem was the fence had giant holes and gaps in it, and was in serious need of serious repair. I just think if your going to spend the kind of money we did to rent this place for a few days it should have been more well kept.
A guest from Longview, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2013 The house is in great location near the beach, the state park, and the center of town. The kids loved the bunkhouse. The dog enjoyed the yard, though it is not entirely fenced, so he did have to be closely monitored or leashed when out there. Also, as a puppy, he could fit underneath the back patio, which may be a problem for small dog owners. We also enjoyed the hot tub. The appliances need to be serviced, though. The oven dials do not match up with what happens. (I.e. the oven had to be turned to "clean" to truly be "off.") This made it difficult to bake. There was a nice selection of cookbooks available, which was helpful. The freezer leaks and the dishwasher's filter needs to be cleaned. These are minor things that can probably be remedied to make a great house better.
A guest from Zillah, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in July, 2013 The house is very clean and in good condition. Its located in a quiet neighborhood 1 block from the beach and great state park, exactly what we wanted. Nice fenced in back yard for the dog. Relaxing hot tub for the cool nights. Comfortable beds. Lots of sleeping space that more than met our needs, but for those needing multiple private bedrooms this may not be the best choice. We and our two young boys had a great time during our eight days. One star removed because the oven wasn't working properly. We've stayed in many coastal rentals and think once the fees are added, this rental's bang for the buck could be better. That said, we've been coming to Manzanita for years and would rent this house again. Thanks for being pet friendly.
A guest from Gaston, Oregon does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013 Close to the beach and the Nehalem Bay State Park, so that was great. Not really a 2 bedroom. more like they took the family room loft and put a bed in it. no privacy whatsoever in loft (from others in the house and neighbors!) Moon or sun always shining in so hard to sleep there. Kitchen was cramped and poorly designed. No room to store any food (or clothes for that matter as there were no dressers). They could toss out half the pots/pans (unusable) and half the dishes/glasses (to make room). and add some large bowls and new baking sheets. Also, the microwave too small for a popcorn bag. We couldn't get the oven to work right, but that might have just been us. A couple of cabinet doors in living room were off the hinges. lights not working or switches? Hot tub was nice but half the jets didn't work. These things and others made the house feel like it was never kept up. The bunk house was nice for older kids. Fence didn't keep small dog in. (holes). Wifi was nice to have but didn't reach outside (bunkhouse).Patio furniture in front was dirty and uncomfortable. Deck in front had loose boards, so be careful! No storage area for bikes (no access to garage). Someone's review said they loved the fire pit, but there is no long one in the back yard.We had fun as a family but will look elsewhere next time.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in April, 2013 This was our third time staying at this rental. You can not beat the price for pet friendly with hot tub and close to town and the beach. I have to say that since our first stay things have become increasingly run down. The couch and chairs are stain, the sheet are worn and some had hole. The handle to the upstairs toilet broken on our second day. Thisi s a great house, but it is starting to get a bit grungy
Diana B. from Everett, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2013 The location of the house is great and we loved the size of it and the hot tub.Our stay was wonderful with the exception of the strong smell of cat urine. Once we rolled up the area rug and put it outside it was great. Also, for future renters, there was no coffee pot or filters.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We have removed the rug, and purchased a new coffee pot for the house. Thank you for letting us know!
Kate Y. from Bend, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in January, 2013 hi betty,We were a bit disappointed with the house. (We liked the hot tub. It was not as chemical smelling as last time. We had stayed at this house several years ago but this time the house felt quite grungy. The couch was smelly. The electric heat did not heat up the upstairs bathroom at all and it took about two days for the whole house to heat up. We did not use the pellet stove due to its noise. We would love to come back to Manzanita President's day weekend but stay somewhere a bit more clean and kept up. Do you have any newer rentals with a hot tub? would you consider comping us a night or two? Thank you for your help.
Randi G. from Sammamish, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2012 We loved this house. It's bright, spacious, with plenty of nooks to curl up in and read a book or draw, two things we love to do. At night, we used the fire pit to roast marshmallows. The hot tub was impeccably clean and wonderful to use after a day at the beach, and the outdoor shower worked great for getting the sand off. Drawbacks: a little far from town for walking, at least for kids; the bedroom windows aren't all shaded, which made it a little hard to sleep late :); and the second bedroom isn't very private. But these were small drawbacks -- we really loved the house and enjoyed our stay there.
Gregory S. from Port Orchard, Washington recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2012 Our stay was very nice and we enjoyed the location being away from the main drag. However, we could tell that for being pet free, someone had a white-haired dog previous to our stay as pet hair was still on the outdoor mats and the couch had the smell of dog. Also a little touch up paint would go far to really make a good first impression in the living room. This did not affect our stay but could affect someone down the road. The hot tub was perfect for those cooler evenings.
Lisa H. from Brush Praire, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in April, 2012 We very much enjoyed the stay. The home was a little outdated but that didn't bother us much. We were used to staying at the Spyglass. The kids really enjoyed the bunkhouse!
A guest from Lake Oswego, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in March, 2012 This is a great house. Great space, although there could be privacy issues for some. I was unhappy with not being able to see the ocean from the house. My fault, I should have known.
A guest from Portland, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2011 We stayed at Windward house for the Thanksgiving weekend and it was perfect! The beach was one block away where we built bonfires at nights (no rain in Nov. amazing!) Nehalem bay state park was within walking distance, so we spent a lot of time hiking and playing on the beach. Downtown manzanita was within 15 min. walking distance, which was perfect for us because we wanted to stay a bit away from the tourists but not too far from the stores and restaurants:) I even took yoga classes in the morning at 'Longevity'. The house was lovely and homey. We made Thanksgiving dinner, played board games and watched many movies on the comfy couch. Overall a fabulous weekend!
A guest from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2011 Had a good stay in September 2011 over Labor Day Weekend. Watching the sunset on the beach was a highlight of our trip - just a little over 1 block to the beach.... easy! We had two couples staying together, so the bedroom set up was a little awkward (if you stay in one bedroom, you have to walk past the other bed to get to the bathroom) - but we felt lucky to get a rental on such a busy weekend. On the busiest day of the year it was not terribe in town. The pub and pizza were the best. We would do this again anytime.
Emilie T. from Yakima, WA - Washington does not recommend this property. Stayed for 1 days in August, 2011 The bedroom situation was less than ideal, and we then had to change reservations and pay nearly $700 more for another home to accommodate privacy needs.
Debra E. from Richland, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2011 We were disappointed with the location. We like to stay close to Manzanita. There was no way to know where the home was located when booking it. We weren't even within walking distance. Also, there was very little privacy with the set up of the bedrooms.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2011 House is a quick walk to the beach is clean and has lots of space. No tub was an inconvenience for us with our toddler. Also, we needed to keep our dog inside and wouldn't allow her in the backyard once we discovered that a family of racoons was living under the deck. They were no trouble to us and stayed out of our way but we watched them explore the backyard a bunch. And lastly, we called maintenance to follow up on likely a rat that we heard throughout the night trying to enter the house through the garage.
A guest from Corvallis, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2011 This house was very homey and clean. The upstairs was lovely and the little bungalow outside was a great addition. The hot tub was pretty clean and worked great! This place has it all and is very close to the beach. We had a great stay!
Rebecca K. from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in December, 2010 overall very happy w/ conditions i.e cleanliness. staff promptly responded to issues. sunset managers are excellent. small details left unnoticed were irritating but tolerable i.e. a week's stay requires more than a tiny tub of laundry and dishwasher soap if you want us to truly wash dishes on the way out and laundry as the tiny supply provided last 2 days. not one roll of paper towels was left or even coffee filters. we expect to bring supplies but not even one grabge bag? poor cleaning service to leave none or little. Winward is not heat efficient thus leaving us no wood pellets (then only providing one bag after we called management for maintenance to swing by) is not cost effective for the owner or rental agency as using electric heat reduces the revenue on the rental - when 5 bags of pellets for the week would have only cost $25-30 vs electricity costs if they just had been left. other than these few small issues we were very very happy and would recommend to family/friends and will rent again.
Tony B. from Bellevue, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2010 If you're looking for a good value house for two to four people, then this is a good place. It has a nice hot tub in good condition. The house is located about 400 yds from the beach and about a mile from Laneda Ave in Manzanita. We experienced a few niggles that if fixed would make this house even better value: rear patio lock will not unlock from the outside; bunk house door sticks; bunk house heater vent is noisy when cycling on and off; the upstairs TV needs to be moved to the master bedroom as when both TVs are on, you can hear both at the same time. The downstairs DVD receiver sound settings were all wrong and the speaker cables were mis-connected. The kitchen electric stove is clean, but dated. SSVR were awesome as usual and the house was up to their very good cleanliness standards. This home is pet-free - which is much appreciated.
A guest from Edmonds, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2010 The house was great. It is close to the beach and in a quite neighborhood. It has everything a guest would need...well at least this guest. The only thing that could be improved upon is the cookware - pans are all the teflon like material and they are scratched up, which is kind of icky to eat from. The bunkhouse is awesome; my two girls (11 & 13) enjoyed having their privacy out there. There were 8 guests and the house was big enough for all of us. Would definitly return to this house.
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2010 the lay out was weird, and very dated. not even sure what they were going for. TVs in the middle of the room with cords that trip you.we loved the hot tub and the kids shed with extra bunk beds
A guest from Vancouver, BC does not recommend this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2010 Loved:- the location - half a block from the beach; a 1.5km walk to downtown; 1km run to state park- Free wifi and phone - much appreciated- hot tub was great- general condition was great, very cleanDidn't love- the design of the master bedroom - you couldn't close the curtains to have any kind of privacy; the skylights had no blinds so they let in so much light that you had to awaken at 6AM.- the house is dated and would need a design update if our family were to live there.I'd totally recommend the property mgmt company and Manzanita in general. But next time I'd pick another property.
Kerry L. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2010 We had a lovely time and look forward to picking dates to return. My only real suggestion would be to stock the kitchen with pots that wont stick and let guests know that they will need to supply the own napkins. Minor issues overall. Thank you for sharing the house! We will be back, the Lindals
A guest from Sherman Oaks, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2010 We loved the house. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking utencils and the back yard was great for bbqing. We really enjoyed ourselves.
A guest from Coquitlam, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010 House was clean, spacious and bright.Beds were comfortable and the bunkhouse was a great setup for the kids.We were disappointed about the condition on the BBQ and the outdoor furniture in the front. Contacted Sunset about the BBQ and they could not replace it for us-thus could not BBQ any meals. For our family, we would choose this house again if the BBQ was in a working condition and a bigger yard for our son to run around in.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Owner purchased and installed a new Gas BBQ on Aug 18, 2010
Dale S. from Vancouver, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 6 days in June, 2010 None of these comments reflect on SSVR as the company obviously is trying its best to keep this property maintained. We were exceptionally disappointed in the condition of the beds. The linens and mattresses were very worn and in desperate need of replacement. The pillows were filthy (thankfully, I brought some of my own). There were dead or dying plants in the living room and kitchen. The backyard fence needs repairs and there were pieces of wood and trash thrown into the high grass around the fence. The BBQ is totally rusted and unusable. The patio furniture is broken down. This is not really a two bedroom property as one must walk past the queen bed in the loft to get to the king bedroom, therefore the queen bed sleepers really have NO privacy. The sofa is filthy. There was garbage in the trash area under the cans that needed to be picked up and the trash cans were already quite full when we started our stay. We've stayed in a number of SSVR properties and this was, by far, the worst. The price charged was not in line with the poor quality of the property. SSVR should hold the property owners' feet to the fire to get some upgrades taken care of or take the home off their rental list.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in June, 2010 I was looking to do some work but wanted to walk on the beach on my breaks. This house had a great office area with internet. Hot tub at night and great enclosed back yard. So close to the state park and miles of trails and 1 block walk to the beach. I would stay here again for sure.
Review of Windward House - Overall we had a very good stay - a birthday celebration. The floor layout was great, very comfortabl
Tom R. from Colton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2010 review continued: The beach was easy access and close. The golf course was in very good condition and was less than five minutes away. Some of the negatives were:1. The first floor television was a computor screen hooked up to cable without of working remote. 2. The second floor tv had very poor reception and did not have the same cable access as the first floor tv.3. The garage had no access accept for the creature that chewed on the walls every night.4. The water was not on in the bunkhouse nor was the outdoor shower. When the maint. guy attempted to turn the water on the plumbing appeared to be broken in the wall.5. The upstairs bathroom lighting didn't always work.6. The stove is a classic but doesn't work that well - the temperature adjustments were inconsistent. 7. The patio light did not work. As a matter of fact there were several light switches that didn't turn anything on.While we stated we would recommend this house to others - not if these issue persist. We would not be back if the media center remained the same. While our stay at the beach doesn't include watching alot of tv it does include some and we would like it to be enjoyable. the costs of a decent media center are very inexpensive and there is no excuse not to have a large screnn tv.I hope this feedback is useful to you in determining making your income property the most desirable in your area for the price.Sincerely,Tom Rutledge and family
Julie J. from Redmond, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2010 Upon arrival it was discovered that the downstairs bathroom toilet was plugged. The hot tub water level was below what it was suppose to be as outlined in the policies -- I would have expected that to have been at proper level at arrival. The auger for the pellet stove was inoperable so we couldn't even enjoy the pellet stove the time that we were there -- that would have been nice considering the wet weather. The outside garbage recepticles were already full from prior guests -- one would have thought that during spring break that garbage service would have been ramped up to accomodate the extra garbage. Even though the dishwasher worked, it wasn't very efficient and most dishes either had to be re-ran or washed by hand -- that was even after pre-rinsing. Finally, the washing machine leaks -- that was discovered on our last day during washing all of the bedding ---that was the icing on the cake! For the money that was spent on the rental alone I expected things to work top notch, but that was not to be had at this rental.
A guest from Mt. Hood, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in November, 2009 layout of the house was clumbsy. Also, the fuse blew out several times while cooking thanksgiving dinner. Overall, nice experience for sure.
Dave S. from Vancouver, BC, Canada recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2009 My group of friends enjoyed a wonderful long weekend in Manzanita staying at Windward House. The house worked as a perfect home base for our active lifestyles, running, kiteboarding, surfing and relaxing at the beach. The house has wonderful character, well equipped kitchen, and fantastic hot tub (for our sore bodies)! Of all the houses we have stayed at from SSVR, this one is the best so far!
Kris C. from Sammamish, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2009 This is a very nice home with lots of windows and therefore lots of light. It has an open floorplan so it feels big. Great backyard for dogs and an outdoor shower to get clean after a day at the beach. Recommended.
Stephen W. from Eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in June, 2009 Overall, this home was accommodating and welcoming. With a few basic upgrades (ex. new sheets, a more cereal bowls and some new cushions for the outdoor furniture), it could be a terrific affordable Manzanita option. Let us know if these upgrades are made and we'll be ready for another stay! Thanks for offering your home to visitors.
A guest from Bend, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in January, 2009 Betty was very helpful with setting up our stay and accommodating our needs. We will continue to use Sunset when we visit the beautiful Manzanita coast!
A guest from Aloha, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 1 days in October, 2008 the house is charming and the little bunk house in the back yard is just adorable. It would be nice to have a bigger TV but the hot tub makes up for that.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals A new 27" tv was put in on 7/13/10!!