Perfect Places Vacation Rentals
Traveler Login Owner Login
Chinese (Traditional) Portugeuse Spanish Italian German French English

Windward House
Manzanita 1 br Vacation Rental Home

Property Summary
Manzanita, Oregon, United States
Type
Home

Bedrooms
1

Bathrooms
2

Sleeps
8

Rates
$169 - $199 per night
$1,183 - $1,393 per week

Pet Friendly   Non Smoking
 
Book Online   Visa Mastercard American Express Discover
This property listing provides real-time availability and rate quotes. Book it securely and instantly using a credit card.

Vacation Home Rental Description:



Manzanita - If you enjoy privacy, easy access to the ocean and state park, bright airy rooms, hot tubing, and cozying up by the fire, then come stay at Windward Lane, a charming home which comes complete with a bunkhouse for the kids and a fully-equipped executive office.

Your home base for your memorable Manzanita vacation is a quiet, intimate architecturally interesting home with an open kitchen/eating area adjacent to a comfy living room with cozy couches placed near the pellet stove. The downstairs also has a half bath and laundry room. Upstairs is a fabulous, bright roomy lofted area with an office, a bathroom, a queen bed, futon and a deck for morning coffee. Off the lofted area is a very private separate bedroom with a king bed.

The office is equipped with wireless DSL, a fax\copier\printer and every thing else you may need to keep in touch with your business and home. It is set up to easily allow you to plug in your laptop. The business phone line offers free long distance calls within the US and Canada. The convenient set up of the office will make you feel like you are at home if it wasn?t for the sound of the ocean waves in the distance.

A special treat for the kids is their very own bunkhouse, located just behind the main house; the bunkhouse has running water and a TV and will sleep 2. There is also an outdoor shower for taking care of those sandy feet just home from the beach.

You'll love the very private back yard garden setting with a brand-new hot tub and a spacious deck. Windward is only a one-minute walk to the ocean and the unsurpassed beauty of the rugged Pacific shoreline. It is just a few minutes further walk to the Nehalem Bay State Park, where you can bike the park or walk its trails.

Windward is the perfect home for all your vacation getaway needs. It is located in the quaint, family-oriented village of Manzanita, just off Highway 101, about 90 miles from Portland. Manzanita offers scenery, surf and outdoor activities which simply can't be matched. Here you can come to relax, explore the outdoors, play tennis, golf the local course, ride bicycles, walk the beach, enjoy a meal out in one of the city's charming eating establishments, do a little shopping, and end the day relaxing in the large hot tub in the back yard or curled up in front of the pellet stove with a good book and a glass of wine.

**Holiday Premiums will apply over all July 4th reservations**

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Queen, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 1 Bunk 1 Other

Room Description: Also has a bunk house out back.

Pets: Dogs Allowed

Additional Features:
* Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office
* Convenience: Area FitnessCenter, Golf Course, Nearby Grocery
* Entertainment: Books, Cable TV, CD Player, DVD Player, Games, VCR, WiFi
* Geographic: Near Beach, Near Hiking/Biking Trails, Near State Park, Close to Golf Course
* Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster, Toaster Oven
* Living: Ceiling Fans, Ironing Board, Linens, Pellet Stove, Washer & Dryer
* Outdoor: Balcony, Deck, Fenced Yard, Gas Grill, Hot Tub, Outdoor Shower, BBQ Grill Seasonal Only, Patio Furiture
Book Online:

Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.

Arrival Date:
Departure Date:
Adults (18+):
Children (<18):
Visa Mastercard American Express Discover



Accommodation and Amenities:

Features:
  • Full Kitchen
  • Games
  • Balcony
  • Deck
  • Gas Grill
Appliances:
  • CD Player
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD Player
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Phone
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Satellite TV or Cable TV
  • VCR Player
Activities:
  • Golf
  • Hiking
  • Tennis
 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  July   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  August   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  September   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»


Pricing/ Rates:    (click to convert currency)
Nightly Price Range: $  169 to: $  199
Weekly Price Range: $  1,183 to: $  1,393
   » Prices in United States Dollars.



This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 Property Reviews 
Excellent Experience
Kim G. from Ladner, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2014
Perfect set-up for a family with kids and a dog. Close the beach, great backyard, cool bunkhouse and unique house set-up. Our family had a fabulous time and can't wait to go back next year.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Manzanita Stay
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2014
This house has a very unusual design and was very open concept so noise carried through the house. I liked having the fenced back yard and the neighborhood was quiet. If you walk along the beach it is not far from town.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Family reunion
Patrick C. from St. Augustine, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014
Very pleased with our choice of the Windward House. Nice easy walk to the beach and short drive to town. Everything was there as represented in the advertising. Looking forward to a return visit to this friendly little coast town. Thank you
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Winward house 6/14
A guest from West Roxbury, MA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2014
The house is pretty far from the center of town but really close to the beach so we were still happy. The house is big and spacious and the hot tub was a hit. The bedroom upstairs is situated so you have to walk through the loft bedroom to get to the bathroom if your staying with people that don't mind it's no big deal. The house was clean but it was raining and I could distinctly smell dog urine in several places. It also would have have been nice if the outdoor shower was working and if we had been informed prior to our stay that it wasn't working. Overall the house is fun and we would stay again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
The outdoor shower has been checked and is working fine. We will clean the carpets if needed. Thank you for letting us know.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great place with lots of space
Jason S. from New Westminster, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in April, 2014
The place was great, there was lots of space for everyone. We loved the hot tub and how close it was to the beach. The kitchen was well equipped (although the coffee grinder was broken) and having the TV and dvd player was nice. Also, the bunkhouse was great with a double and 2 single beds. Only issue was that gaps in the fence can allow a small dog to escape and we couldn't figure out how to get the outdoor shower running.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

awesome stay
Betty L. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 1 days in January, 2014
We stayed for a very short time but the house was wonderful. It wasn't super fancy but it was generally clean, cute and quirky, and has an excellent location. I wish we could have stayed longer but the rental company representatives were very accommodating, flexible, and professional. We loved the hot tub!!!!!!! Had a great time cooking, loved the open floor plan. Overall had a wonderful time and would love to come back.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect Getaway
A guest from Bellingham, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013
My family had a great time at the Windward. It's spacious layout felt like a home away from home, and the older kids loved the bunkhouse in the back! Best of all, the view of the stars from the hot tub was incredible!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

great place but not quite as described
A guest from Boise, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in September, 2013
We went to this house thinking, "hey it's pet friendly with a fence!," the only problem was the fence had giant holes and gaps in it, and was in serious need of serious repair. I just think if your going to spend the kind of money we did to rent this place for a few days it should have been more well kept.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Generally great
A guest from Longview, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2013
The house is in great location near the beach, the state park, and the center of town. The kids loved the bunkhouse. The dog enjoyed the yard, though it is not entirely fenced, so he did have to be closely monitored or leashed when out there. Also, as a puppy, he could fit underneath the back patio, which may be a problem for small dog owners. We also enjoyed the hot tub. The appliances need to be serviced, though. The oven dials do not match up with what happens. (I.e. the oven had to be turned to "clean" to truly be "off.") This made it difficult to bake. There was a nice selection of cookbooks available, which was helpful. The freezer leaks and the dishwasher's filter needs to be cleaned. These are minor things that can probably be remedied to make a great house better.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great house and location
A guest from Zillah, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in July, 2013
The house is very clean and in good condition. Its located in a quiet neighborhood 1 block from the beach and great state park, exactly what we wanted. Nice fenced in back yard for the dog. Relaxing hot tub for the cool nights. Comfortable beds. Lots of sleeping space that more than met our needs, but for those needing multiple private bedrooms this may not be the best choice. We and our two young boys had a great time during our eight days. One star removed because the oven wasn't working properly. We've stayed in many coastal rentals and think once the fees are added, this rental's bang for the buck could be better. That said, we've been coming to Manzanita for years and would rent this house again. Thanks for being pet friendly.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

great location. unloved house
A guest from Gaston, Oregon does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013
Close to the beach and the Nehalem Bay State Park, so that was great. Not really a 2 bedroom. more like they took the family room loft and put a bed in it. no privacy whatsoever in loft (from others in the house and neighbors!) Moon or sun always shining in so hard to sleep there. Kitchen was cramped and poorly designed. No room to store any food (or clothes for that matter as there were no dressers). They could toss out half the pots/pans (unusable) and half the dishes/glasses (to make room). and add some large bowls and new baking sheets. Also, the microwave too small for a popcorn bag. We couldn't get the oven to work right, but that might have just been us. A couple of cabinet doors in living room were off the hinges. lights not working or switches? Hot tub was nice but half the jets didn't work. These things and others made the house feel like it was never kept up. The bunk house was nice for older kids. Fence didn't keep small dog in. (holes). Wifi was nice to have but didn't reach outside (bunkhouse).Patio furniture in front was dirty and uncomfortable. Deck in front had loose boards, so be careful! No storage area for bikes (no access to garage). Someone's review said they loved the fire pit, but there is no long one in the back yard.We had fun as a family but will look elsewhere next time.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We have had better experiences in the past
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2013
This was our third time staying at this rental. You can not beat the price for pet friendly with hot tub and close to town and the beach. I have to say that since our first stay things have become increasingly run down. The couch and chairs are stain, the sheet are worn and some had hole. The handle to the upstairs toilet broken on our second day. Thisi s a great house, but it is starting to get a bit grungy
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Windward House
Diana B. from Everett, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2013
The location of the house is great and we loved the size of it and the hot tub.Our stay was wonderful with the exception of the strong smell of cat urine. Once we rolled up the area rug and put it outside it was great. Also, for future renters, there was no coffee pot or filters.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
We have removed the rug, and purchased a new coffee pot for the house. Thank you for letting us know!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

not so great
Kate Y. from Bend, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in January, 2013
hi betty,We were a bit disappointed with the house. (We liked the hot tub. It was not as chemical smelling as last time. We had stayed at this house several years ago but this time the house felt quite grungy. The couch was smelly. The electric heat did not heat up the upstairs bathroom at all and it took about two days for the whole house to heat up. We did not use the pellet stove due to its noise. We would love to come back to Manzanita President's day weekend but stay somewhere a bit more clean and kept up. Do you have any newer rentals with a hot tub? would you consider comping us a night or two? Thank you for your help.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Windward
Alina S. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in November, 2012
A tad expensive considering the number of rooms but overall great!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Love this house.
Amy L. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2012
I just love this house. The design is a little funky, but that just adds to its charm.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Good stuff
A guest from Underwood, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012
Great place ? oddly decorated, but who cares with that jacuzzi.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A bright, airy stay in Manzanita
Randi G. from Sammamish, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2012
We loved this house. It's bright, spacious, with plenty of nooks to curl up in and read a book or draw, two things we love to do. At night, we used the fire pit to roast marshmallows. The hot tub was impeccably clean and wonderful to use after a day at the beach, and the outdoor shower worked great for getting the sand off. Drawbacks: a little far from town for walking, at least for kids; the bedroom windows aren't all shaded, which made it a little hard to sleep late :); and the second bedroom isn't very private. But these were small drawbacks -- we really loved the house and enjoyed our stay there.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice stay
Gregory S. from Port Orchard, Washington recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2012
Our stay was very nice and we enjoyed the location being away from the main drag. However, we could tell that for being pet free, someone had a white-haired dog previous to our stay as pet hair was still on the outdoor mats and the couch had the smell of dog. Also a little touch up paint would go far to really make a good first impression in the living room. This did not affect our stay but could affect someone down the road. The hot tub was perfect for those cooler evenings.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Windward
Lisa H. from Brush Praire, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2012
We very much enjoyed the stay. The home was a little outdated but that didn't bother us much. We were used to staying at the Spyglass. The kids really enjoyed the bunkhouse!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Good Times!
Megan S. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in March, 2012
We had a blast! Great for all.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

My Fault.
A guest from Lake Oswego, Oregon recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in March, 2012
This is a great house. Great space, although there could be privacy issues for some. I was unhappy with not being able to see the ocean from the house. My fault, I should have known.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

great house
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2011
We were very impressed with the house.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Thanksgiving Weekend
A guest from Portland, Oregon recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in November, 2011
We stayed at Windward house for the Thanksgiving weekend and it was perfect! The beach was one block away where we built bonfires at nights (no rain in Nov. amazing!) Nehalem bay state park was within walking distance, so we spent a lot of time hiking and playing on the beach. Downtown manzanita was within 15 min. walking distance, which was perfect for us because we wanted to stay a bit away from the tourists but not too far from the stores and restaurants:) I even took yoga classes in the morning at 'Longevity'. The house was lovely and homey. We made Thanksgiving dinner, played board games and watched many movies on the comfy couch. Overall a fabulous weekend!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Clean and spacious
A guest from Vancouver, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2011
Had a good stay in September 2011 over Labor Day Weekend. Watching the sunset on the beach was a highlight of our trip - just a little over 1 block to the beach.... easy! We had two couples staying together, so the bedroom set up was a little awkward (if you stay in one bedroom, you have to walk past the other bed to get to the bathroom) - but we felt lucky to get a rental on such a busy weekend. On the busiest day of the year it was not terribe in town. The pub and pizza were the best. We would do this again anytime.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Privacy needs not met
Emilie T. from Yakima, WA - Washington does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 1 days in August, 2011
The bedroom situation was less than ideal, and we then had to change reservations and pay nearly $700 more for another home to accommodate privacy needs.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

LOCATION
Debra E. from Richland, WA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2011
We were disappointed with the location. We like to stay close to Manzanita. There was no way to know where the home was located when booking it. We weren't even within walking distance. Also, there was very little privacy with the set up of the bedrooms.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2011
House is a quick walk to the beach is clean and has lots of space. No tub was an inconvenience for us with our toddler. Also, we needed to keep our dog inside and wouldn't allow her in the backyard once we discovered that a family of racoons was living under the deck. They were no trouble to us and stayed out of our way but we watched them explore the backyard a bunch. And lastly, we called maintenance to follow up on likely a rat that we heard throughout the night trying to enter the house through the garage.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Tom S. from Brownsville, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2011
small amount of dog poop in yard on arrival
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Linda R. from Williamstown, MA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Artsy cozy getaway
A guest from Corvallis, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2011
This house was very homey and clean. The upstairs was lovely and the little bungalow outside was a great addition. The hot tub was pretty clean and worked great! This place has it all and is very close to the beach. We had a great stay!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Kelley feedback dec 26-jan 2
Rebecca K. from Beaverton, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2010
overall very happy w/ conditions i.e cleanliness. staff promptly responded to issues. sunset managers are excellent. small details left unnoticed were irritating but tolerable i.e. a week's stay requires more than a tiny tub of laundry and dishwasher soap if you want us to truly wash dishes on the way out and laundry as the tiny supply provided last 2 days. not one roll of paper towels was left or even coffee filters. we expect to bring supplies but not even one grabge bag? poor cleaning service to leave none or little. Winward is not heat efficient thus leaving us no wood pellets (then only providing one bag after we called management for maintenance to swing by) is not cost effective for the owner or rental agency as using electric heat reduces the revenue on the rental - when 5 bags of pellets for the week would have only cost $25-30 vs electricity costs if they just had been left. other than these few small issues we were very very happy and would recommend to family/friends and will rent again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Windward House Good Value
Tony B. from Bellevue, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in November, 2010
If you're looking for a good value house for two to four people, then this is a good place. It has a nice hot tub in good condition. The house is located about 400 yds from the beach and about a mile from Laneda Ave in Manzanita. We experienced a few niggles that if fixed would make this house even better value: rear patio lock will not unlock from the outside; bunk house door sticks; bunk house heater vent is noisy when cycling on and off; the upstairs TV needs to be moved to the master bedroom as when both TVs are on, you can hear both at the same time. The downstairs DVD receiver sound settings were all wrong and the speaker cables were mis-connected. The kitchen electric stove is clean, but dated. SSVR were awesome as usual and the house was up to their very good cleanliness standards. This home is pet-free - which is much appreciated.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Labour Day Stay
A guest from Edmonds, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2010
The house was great. It is close to the beach and in a quite neighborhood. It has everything a guest would need...well at least this guest. The only thing that could be improved upon is the cookware - pans are all the teflon like material and they are scratched up, which is kind of icky to eat from. The bunkhouse is awesome; my two girls (11 & 13) enjoyed having their privacy out there. There were 8 guests and the house was big enough for all of us. Would definitly return to this house.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

needs new decor
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2010
the lay out was weird, and very dated. not even sure what they were going for. TVs in the middle of the room with cords that trip you.we loved the hot tub and the kids shed with extra bunk beds
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location but strangely designed house
A guest from Vancouver, BC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 6 days in August, 2010
Loved:- the location - half a block from the beach; a 1.5km walk to downtown; 1km run to state park- Free wifi and phone - much appreciated- hot tub was great- general condition was great, very cleanDidn't love- the design of the master bedroom - you couldn't close the curtains to have any kind of privacy; the skylights had no blinds so they let in so much light that you had to awaken at 6AM.- the house is dated and would need a design update if our family were to live there.I'd totally recommend the property mgmt company and Manzanita in general. But next time I'd pick another property.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Kerry L. from Seattle, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2010
We had a lovely time and look forward to picking dates to return. My only real suggestion would be to stock the kitchen with pots that wont stick and let guests know that they will need to supply the own napkins. Minor issues overall. Thank you for sharing the house! We will be back, the Lindals
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Family, Friends and Fun
A guest from Sherman Oaks, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2010
We loved the house. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking utencils and the back yard was great for bbqing. We really enjoyed ourselves.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

1 week with family & kids.
A guest from Coquitlam, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010
House was clean, spacious and bright.Beds were comfortable and the bunkhouse was a great setup for the kids.We were disappointed about the condition on the BBQ and the outdoor furniture in the front. Contacted Sunset about the BBQ and they could not replace it for us-thus could not BBQ any meals. For our family, we would choose this house again if the BBQ was in a working condition and a bigger yard for our son to run around in.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
Owner purchased and installed a new Gas BBQ on Aug 18, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We were disappointed in the very small inconvenient kitchen which we had specified as an area of interest. The bathrooms were a
A guest from Edmonds, WA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 6 days in July, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Windward House needs some upgrades and TLC
Dale S. from Vancouver, WA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 6 days in June, 2010
None of these comments reflect on SSVR as the company obviously is trying its best to keep this property maintained. We were exceptionally disappointed in the condition of the beds. The linens and mattresses were very worn and in desperate need of replacement. The pillows were filthy (thankfully, I brought some of my own). There were dead or dying plants in the living room and kitchen. The backyard fence needs repairs and there were pieces of wood and trash thrown into the high grass around the fence. The BBQ is totally rusted and unusable. The patio furniture is broken down. This is not really a two bedroom property as one must walk past the queen bed in the loft to get to the king bedroom, therefore the queen bed sleepers really have NO privacy. The sofa is filthy. There was garbage in the trash area under the cans that needed to be picked up and the trash cans were already quite full when we started our stay. We've stayed in a number of SSVR properties and this was, by far, the worst. The price charged was not in line with the poor quality of the property. SSVR should hold the property owners' feet to the fire to get some upgrades taken care of or take the home off their rental list.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Last minute
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2010
I was looking to do some work but wanted to walk on the beach on my breaks. This house had a great office area with internet. Hot tub at night and great enclosed back yard. So close to the state park and miles of trails and 1 block walk to the beach. I would stay here again for sure.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Review of Windward House - Overall we had a very good stay - a birthday celebration. The floor layout was great, very comfortabl
Tom R. from Colton, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2010
review continued: The beach was easy access and close. The golf course was in very good condition and was less than five minutes away. Some of the negatives were:1. The first floor television was a computor screen hooked up to cable without of working remote. 2. The second floor tv had very poor reception and did not have the same cable access as the first floor tv.3. The garage had no access accept for the creature that chewed on the walls every night.4. The water was not on in the bunkhouse nor was the outdoor shower. When the maint. guy attempted to turn the water on the plumbing appeared to be broken in the wall.5. The upstairs bathroom lighting didn't always work.6. The stove is a classic but doesn't work that well - the temperature adjustments were inconsistent. 7. The patio light did not work. As a matter of fact there were several light switches that didn't turn anything on.While we stated we would recommend this house to others - not if these issue persist. We would not be back if the media center remained the same. While our stay at the beach doesn't include watching alot of tv it does include some and we would like it to be enjoyable. the costs of a decent media center are very inexpensive and there is no excuse not to have a large screnn tv.I hope this feedback is useful to you in determining making your income property the most desirable in your area for the price.Sincerely,Tom Rutledge and family
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Julie J. from Redmond, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2010
Upon arrival it was discovered that the downstairs bathroom toilet was plugged. The hot tub water level was below what it was suppose to be as outlined in the policies -- I would have expected that to have been at proper level at arrival. The auger for the pellet stove was inoperable so we couldn't even enjoy the pellet stove the time that we were there -- that would have been nice considering the wet weather. The outside garbage recepticles were already full from prior guests -- one would have thought that during spring break that garbage service would have been ramped up to accomodate the extra garbage. Even though the dishwasher worked, it wasn't very efficient and most dishes either had to be re-ran or washed by hand -- that was even after pre-rinsing. Finally, the washing machine leaks -- that was discovered on our last day during washing all of the bedding ---that was the icing on the cake! For the money that was spent on the rental alone I expected things to work top notch, but that was not to be had at this rental.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Bill E. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in February, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Austin B. from Puyallup, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

we loved the Windward House! Great location, beautiful home. The hot tub was outstanding.
Lisa G. from Seattle, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

nice house, but...
A guest from Mt. Hood, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in November, 2009
layout of the house was clumbsy. Also, the fuse blew out several times while cooking thanksgiving dinner. Overall, nice experience for sure.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Windward House was Excellent
Dave S. from Vancouver, BC, Canada recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2009
My group of friends enjoyed a wonderful long weekend in Manzanita staying at Windward House. The house worked as a perfect home base for our active lifestyles, running, kiteboarding, surfing and relaxing at the beach. The house has wonderful character, well equipped kitchen, and fantastic hot tub (for our sore bodies)! Of all the houses we have stayed at from SSVR, this one is the best so far!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Beaverton, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice and bright home
Kris C. from Sammamish, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2009
This is a very nice home with lots of windows and therefore lots of light. It has an open floorplan so it feels big. Great backyard for dogs and an outdoor shower to get clean after a day at the beach. Recommended.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

loved the privacy....
Kim M. from Seattle, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A good spot for a non-oceanfront stay
Stephen W. from Eugene, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2009
Overall, this home was accommodating and welcoming. With a few basic upgrades (ex. new sheets, a more cereal bowls and some new cushions for the outdoor furniture), it could be a terrific affordable Manzanita option. Let us know if these upgrades are made and we'll be ready for another stay! Thanks for offering your home to visitors.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Portland, oregon recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Bend, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in January, 2009
Betty was very helpful with setting up our stay and accommodating our needs. We will continue to use Sunset when we visit the beautiful Manzanita coast!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

charming
A guest from Aloha, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 1 days in October, 2008
the house is charming and the little bunk house in the back yard is just adorable. It would be nice to have a bigger TV but the hot tub makes up for that.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
A new 27" tv was put in on 7/13/10!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Contact the Manager
Sunset Vacation Rentals

Leave this field empty First Name *

Last Name *

Email Address *

Country *
Arrival Date

Departure Date

Adult (18+)
Child (<18)
Telephone
HomeMobileWork
Additional Message
Max 500 characters.

Email me this inquiry
Send me deals email

By clicking "Send Email" you are agreeing to our Terms and Conditions.


This advertiser has listed with PerfectPlaces.com since May 20, 2009

Find additional Vacation Rentals: