Tradewinds ~charming classic beach cottage close to Nehalem Bay State Park!
Manzanita - What a great house for family gatherings- owned by a real family, as witnessed by the family photos throughout, you'll enjoy this large 1500 sq ft, fully equipped home, complete with fireplace and large wrap around deck. The best aspect of this house is the large attic style bedroom upstairs with two queen beds on opposite sides of the room, separated by its entryway. This room adjoins with a full bath. It also has a view of Neah-Kah-Nie Mountain and a wood-burning stove.
Main entry level is the living room/ dining room area, the kitchen and another bedroom with a Queen bed and the lower level has a third bedroom with matching day beds and a sitting area- more room than you might expect. Also it is only steps to the beach with easy beach access. Tradewinds is also pet friendly- the owners have a personal love for dogs and birds. Charming, warm, and comfortable describes this home. We are ready to book your stay at this great vacation home.
**Holiday Premiums will apply over all July 4th reservations**
Website - Contact #
Bedding Configuration: 3 Queen, 4 Twin
Pets: Dogs Allowed
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office * Convenience: Area FitnessCenter, Golf Course, Nearby Grocery * Entertainment: Books, Cable TV, CD Player, DVD Player, Games, Stereo System, VCR * Geographic: Near Beach, Near Hiking/Biking Trails, Near State Park, Close to Golf Course * Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster Oven * Living: Wood Stove, Fireplace, Linens, Washer & Dryer * Outdoor: Deck, Gas Grill, Patio, BBQ Grill Seasonal Only, Charcoal BBQ * SUITABILITY: pets considered
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
GREAT place! Professional renters!
Nathaniel W. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in April, 2016 Beautiful home and amazing location right by the beach! Professional renters with all details well described and extra efforts to make you feel at home.
A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2015 Spacious and comfortable, great kitchen and main living area. There was a real effort made to be welcoming including for pets. A toilet that continued running and caused the bedroom shower to suddenly shift from very hot to very cold was a bit of a problem. The view of the mountain was great but there was only a peekaboo glance at the water from a single angle in the upstairs bedroom. This the lower rating on the property overall. The layout with two queen beds in a room with a minimal divide wouldn't work for two couples who wanted any privacy. Overall it was a great experience, but there were only two of us this trip. I would encourage the realty company to reconsider the wording of the paperwork: while the home itself was welcoming and the women in the office pleasant, the required documents were officious and the instructions weren' all applicable to the individual property.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach. We will have the toilet issue rectified as soon as possible. We will also look into rewording the home information for a more precise description.
Debbie G. from Bend, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2015 The house was so clean and comfortable.The minute we walked in,we knew we were going to love our stay.The beds were wonderful,the bathrooms sparkling clean. I took a nice long bath on a very rainy day..The beach was a minute up the road,perfect, not too crowded. We eneded up staying a extra night and I look forward to going back !!Jenni took great care of us ! Manzanita is a cool little town ~
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you so much for your review of the Tradewinds. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach. The scale runs from 1-5, 5 being the best score you can give so we are assuming from your description of your stay you meant to give it all 5's.
A guest from Highlands Ranch, CO recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2015 Great location and house. We had an amazing girls week and staying in the house was the way to go. Close to beach and town, walked the beach into town several mornings. House wass stocked with all the essentials so we were able to enjoy meals and evenings without any needs.
Rebecca M. from Portland, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2015 This place is fantastic. Close to the beach on the sunny days....and lots of room inside for those rainy days too. The kitchen is small but manageable. Some rooms recently remodeled and really nice.
A guest from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 10 days in August, 2015 We have been visiting Manzanita in August for the last 15+ years. Of those 15 years we have stayed at Tradewinds at least 8 years. The location is terrific and the house suits our extended family well. Over the past 5 years the owners have made many upgrades making the home quite nice, functional and up to date.
A guest from El Cajon, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2015 The home and location were wonderful for our family vacation - everyone was very comfortable and the home was more than adequate for our needs. The only negative was that the kitchen was a bit tight if there was more than one person trying to cook at the same time. Everything else was outstanding, and we had a wonderful time!
Carlos S. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in March, 2015 Great space for more than four or five people at a time. Kid and pet friendly, but unfortunately the living area rug I think should not be creamy biege or whatever, as that is neither dog or kid friendly. The kitchen is a bit too small and two people will drive each other nuts unless they work together well, otherwise we had a great stay. Easy walk to beach and town!
William W. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2014 House was roomy and comfortable with a large outdoor deck. Good house for pets. Great location close to the beach in a quiet area. We saw a deer in the backyard that came over from the state park across the road.
A guest from Mertztown, PA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2014 Main bath under renovations, subflooring, counter plywood. Exposed wires in laundry room (also with only subfloor). Cigarette smoke smell strong in master br, laundry room and washing machine. We had not been informed of any issues and were pretty unhappy being in a place clearly undergoing renovations that were not complete. Great location, kitchen crowded if more than one in it. Information notebook badly out of date. If renovations done, would recommend. If not, no.
Walking distant to beach and town. Great for families.
Susan M. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014 Was a nice rental, good location to beach and town. EXCEPT the first floor bathroom was in the middle of being remodeled. The floor was plywood with an old rug. The pink bathtub and shower needs updated hot/cold knobs and lever to take a bath did not always work. We were not informed and feel we should receive a partial refund. We have rented a beach house for numerous years and never had this problemWe all enjoyed walking to the beach and walking to the cute town. The deck was great for the door. No complaints about the furnishing or all the nice white towels. Rooms and beds were nice and comfy. Would recommend but bathroom should of been completed. Owner probably didn't want to have it empty for the summer months. I don't know if we would rent it again, he case owner decided to rent it when one of his remodeling jobs isn't complete.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Unfortunately, the house had a major water leak and the owner has been hard at work to repair the water damage. We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused.
A guest from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 10 days in August, 2014 We have stayed in several different houses in Manzanita over the last 17 years. This house is one of our favorites because it's 1 blk from the beach, close to the golf course, and has an interesting floor plan that accommodates our family with teens, friends and grandparents. The house warm and charming and lends itself well to making great memories.
A guest from Monroe, Washington recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2013 We had a great time!!! Just wish it had Wifi (for the rainy days!). Kitchen had lots of useful stuff. Need to allow more pantry space for a week. Very clean and neat. Loved it.
Linda R. from VENETA, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2013 The home was very comfortable and the accommodations perfect for our needs. Nicely located with easy access to the beach, close to downtown Manzanita, but far enough away for peace and quiet. It's the 2nd year in a row my family (children and grandkids) have stayed at the home and we'll probably come back as long as the home is available for rent. I've shared the rental with some of my co-workers who are also interested in renting it. We had a wonderful time!
James K. from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2013 We had two families or 6 people in this house and had plenty of room to spread out. The kitchen was a bit tight when we did our cooking. Overall we were very pleased I would rent this house again.
Frances O. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in February, 2013 This is the 2nd time that I have stayed at this rental and both times were wonderful! The house is clean and in great condition and so is the furniture and accessories. The beach is a quick walk and there is a wonderful running trail through the woods that opens up to the water with amazing views nearby. It's a very short drive to the shops in Manzanita or a long walk into town. Manzanita has a shop for everyone and some really cute places to eat. The kitchen is smallish so I recomend making food ahead of time if you are a big group, but it has lots of great dishes and cooking essentials. The beds were EXTREMELY comfortable which is a big bonus in my book. Everyone was happy the next morning with the wonderful matresses so kudos to the owners on that one.Honestly, this place is a gem and a great deal! And sunset rentals was wonderful to work with and answered my many questions quickly. Jenni, was great to work with. We will be staying again! :)
A guest from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 32 days in December, 2012 A great location, only a block from the beach and an easy walk into town. Very quiet neighborhood, close to walking/biking trails as well as the beach. The house was well appointed and very roomy. We enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly choose this property again.
A guest from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 30 days in November, 2012 We love coming to the Oregon coast in the winter...the beach changes every day. Tradewinds is just a block from the beach in a quiet neighborhood and only an easy mile walk into town. They house has a great floor plan, very comfortable for just the two of us, but with plenty of room for friends to visit (it comfortably sleeps ten!) It is well appointed, comfortable, and clean. We would happily stay here again.
Virginia G. from Tualatin, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2012 Three day stay with family. Lots of sun. The wind at Manzanita is sometimes a problem but it is a beautiful area. Our rental was comfortable and well located.
A guest from Tucson, AZ recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012 Overall we enjoyed visiting Tradewinds vacation home. This was the best house we have rented in the past years. The layout worked well with the various combinations of people during the visit. Having 2 full baths was great. The walk to the beach is great and we found the neighborhood quiet. The problems we encountered - the lock box with the key is a bit tricky and getting the key ring out of the "bridge" holding the ring is difficult - also putting back in. Having some type of clip would have been better. In the kitchen the first morning, the coffee pot had not been cleaned. Also after turning on the oven we discovered a full pan of bacon which had been left. That meant a mess with the cooked bacon, grease, etc. Luckily we got all of that cleaned up and in the trash prior to pick up that day. There were some spots on the carpet - not a big deal for us but want to point out that we were not responsible. All of the beds were very comfortable except for the twin beds downstairs. Lots of towels in the bathrooms but very few wash cloths. We would definitely rent again and felt very comfortable in the house.
Brent R. from Eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2012 This is a great house that is very clean, comfortable and in a great location. As stated in previous reviews the kitchen is small and takes coordination with larger groups. The upstairs room is a bit strange with no door between the two bed "areas", but if your there with family it tends to not be a big deal as it is large enough to have some separation. The only con was that the outside trash bins were full and overflowing when we arrived, but after a call it was promptly taken care of. Overall, this is a great place that is not totally overpriced, not too fancy, allows dogs and is clean and kept up.
A guest from West Richland, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012 Property was pretty clean, carpets were a little dirty, could use some spot cleaning between visits. Nicely updated throughout, older home so floors are pretty squeaky, but that is to be expected. Lots of towels, sheets, blankets. Kitchen is very small but had tons of utensils, pots and pans, needs medium sized bowls and a pitcher that doesn't leak. Stove needs replacing, one burner didn't work, oven didn't get to temperature and light was burned out so had to use flashlight to check food so that was a challenge. Basement was very musty smelling, kids stayed down there so it was not a big deal but an adult would not be happy. Bedrooms need mirrors because bathrooms get busy with 8 people. Just a few minutes walk to the beach so that was VERY nice. Big deck for sitting outside and relaxing. Very nice newer washer and dryer, flat screen TVs in bedrooms and living room. Would stay there again if stove got fixed, overall a good value for the money.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We immediately called an appliance company, and the stove is now repaired.
A guest from Port Townsend, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2012 The cabin is tucked away, a block away from the beach, fairly close to the downtown area. Overall the home was definitely adequate and my only complaint,a concern when my reservation was switched from the original, is the size of the kitchen for the occupancy! Tiny, to serve up to 10 guests. Won't do that one again because of that! Otherwise, satisfactory!
Linda B. from West Linn, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in December, 2011 Dear Betty, thank you for helping make our yearly retreat clean, quiet and close to the beach. It had everything we needed. We will be back again this year. Charly and Linda
Cheryl H. from Mead, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2011 Kitchen is small with poor lighting, shower downstairs did not work. Good location, clean, good for family with a pet.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2011 We really enjoyed this beach house. We went with 8 friends and a small dog and it was perfect: Well-equipped kitchen, very short walk to the beach, a long but nice walk to town, and firewood for purchase for the fireplace or beach fires. The carpet has seen better days, but that didn't detract from our wonderful visit.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thanks for your feedback. We had the carpets cleaned immediately after your stay.
A guest from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2011 This home has provided our family with several years of beach vactaion memories with grandma and grandpa. It is a great location 1 block from the beach.
A guest from Poulsbo, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011 I really appreciated the very well appointed kitchen and the Layout was ideal for kids. Will definitely be back as the location to the beach was great. The only downside was the carpet really needed cleaning, otherwise rest of the house was very nice and the photos did not do the house justice.
A guest from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in July, 2011 The carpet in the hall downstairs & LR area needs cleaning. The upstairs is grand, but a privacy issue as the space is one large bedroom and two seperate bedrooms. The large deck was good, but was windy during our stay over the fourth of July so not good for outdoor eating area.
A guest from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2011 we absolutely loved the location of the house! the kitchen was a bit tricky to navigate as it was very small and narrow, and the beds were more on the uncomfortable side, but overall, the house was very cozy and made for a great place to get away!
Tracy H. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2011 we really enjoyed our stay, the only comment would be that the downstairs bedroom (with the twin beds) was very cold and musty smelling. it was unpleasant to stay down there hence a couple of the people who came with us weren't as happy with the accomodations. otherwise, it was a really nice property.
Christopher H. from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in February, 2011 We had a great time relaxing, watching the high surf and howling winds. It only took us 6 hours to get there from Vancouver due to snow and ice in between, but once there, just melted into relaxtion. This was the best house we have stayed in, in this area.
A guest from Portland, Oregon does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2010 Dryer broken and carpets very dirty. upstairs room awkward because of no wall between bedrooms
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We apologize for the inconvience of the dryer breaking during your stay. The owners have purchased a new washer and dryer forthe house and the carpets have been thoroughly cleaned!!
Kay S. from Spokane, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2010 My only complaint would be about the washing machine. It was extremely noisy. There also seemed to be a strong odor.... smelled musty. Other than that I loved the house. It was quaint and cozy. We felt very comfortable there.
A guest from Medford, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2010 Overall, Tradewinds was a great house for our family. The layout was perfect for us since the upstairs suite has 2 sleeping areas, great for families with young children. LOVED that there were baby gates available in the garage. The location could not be beat!
Barbara S. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in March, 2010 We stayed at Tradewinds for 6 nights at the end of March. The weather was horrible but the house was spacious enough to have some relaxing time inside. We were 3 adults and 5 kids (all less than 8 years old). The house was perfect for little kids. After we put away the tools for the fire place there wasn´t much left for the kids to get hurt. The beach was really close, only 5 houses away. So that we could go there in between of 2 rain showers. Great price for this big of a house! We will definitely come back.
Jessica B. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2010 This was a fabulous house and wonderful access to the beach, not as close to town as I would have liked but otherwise excellent! Too bad its not for sale! Perhaps the rental agency would be willing to give additional free nights for our assistance. :) Thank you so much!
Kandi N. from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2009 The upgraded amenities are great to see each year. It would be nice if the living room tv were upgraded to a flat screen. The kitchen sink handle doesn't stay on very well unless you want high pressure (lots of water coming out). We would choose this vacation home again for our annual Manzanita trip.
This was our second stay at this location and would certainly do it again
Rick H. from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2009 Everything was good. The house was clean, the kitchen was well stocked with utensils and dishes etc, and it is close enough to the beach that it is an easy stroll to get to.I also like the proximity to the golf course. This was our second stay at this location and would certainly do it again.Thanks
Chris L. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2009 The house was nice except for the water leak in the upstairs bathroom. We did call sunset rentals to report the issue. We have yet to hear back from them. Other then that, the house was great and we will be back next year!
Carol P. from Albuquergue, NM recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2009 We all 'loved' our vacation rental. It met all of our expectations and more. Even the nightly visit of the raccoon was fun for us. We got our money's worth and more. Thank you for a 'great' vacation. Carol Provance and Family
A guest from Dundee, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2008 Wish the fireplace would have worked better or that there had been directions on how to work the flue. No matter which way we moved it we could not keep the smoke from coming in the house!