Manzanita - Here you have the best of all possible worlds: your home is secluded amidst beach pine trees, creating a very private setting, yet you have wonderful ocean views from the upper level deck as well as from the interior living/dining areas. The main level is upstairs, where you'll find a light, bright living/dining/kitchen area featuring skylights, hardwood floors, and knotty pine walls. A wood stove will keep you cozy and a wide screen HDTV is there for your enjoyment. Sit on the couch and watch the ocean waves roll toward the shore.
The master bedroom is equipped with a king-size bed and the home's fourth bedroom will sleep two. The bottom level is perfectly suited for a family with children. There is one bedroom which will sleep two, and another bedroom which will sleep three; it is furnished with a set of bunk beds, a single bed, and a TV and VCR.
Downstairs also includes a laundry room and full bath. You'll want to investigate Nehalem Bay State Park, just a short distance from Spindrift, where bike paths and walking trails lead to the spectacular bay itself; you're likely to encounter deer, elk, and other wildlife along the way. The charming little city of Manzanita offers fine dining as well as informal restaurants, shopping, golf, video, and bicycle rentals.
Accommodating up to 9 people, you will want to return to this home year after year.
**Holiday Premiums will apply over all July 4th reservations**~ MCA# 152
Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 2 Queen, 2 Bunk
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office * Convenience: Area FitnessCenter, Golf Course, Nearby Grocery * Entertainment: Books, Cable TV, DVD Player, Ping Pong Table, WiFi, iPod Stereo System * Geographic: Near Beach, Near Hiking/Biking Trails, Near State Park, Close to Golf Course * Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster * Living: Wood Stove, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer * Outdoor: Deck, Gas Grill, BBQ Grill Seasonal Only
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2016 Great..love the front deck. Wish there had been furniture to eat outside. There used to be a big rod iron table. It would be a lovely breakfast and dinner dining spot.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we will recommend the additional of outdoor furniture to the owners. We hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
Geneva F. from Selah, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2016 We had an amazing stay at this home. Manzanita is a beautiful area and the home was perfect for our large family. I guess my only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
Toni D. from Helena, MT recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in June, 2016 We loved the Spindrift house! Location is excellent, and the rooms were "roomy." The guys in our group, however, fixed the front storm door, since the screws in the frame were stripped out. They also fixed the front porch banister, as it was coming loose and we didn't want to fall into the driveway. The only thing noticed that needs some attention is the outdoor spigot. It is extremely hard to turn off. Other than that, we highly recommend this house. If we come back, we would love to rent it again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay are always available with our maintenance crew to repair things once they have been reported to us. Sounds like you had some great handy men in your group though. On your next stay if there are any issues please contact our office and we can fix any issues for you. We hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
A guest from Tigard, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in December, 2015 Spindrift was a great getaway weekend with the rainstorm having the fireplace in the family room with the 52" screen. The couch could have been a little more comfortable and a few more bowls, etc in the kitchen. But would be a great rental for a couple families with kids. Very chilly in the downstairs and not a lot of heater vents but luckily we were just upstairs and had the fire. Would definitely come back again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach. We will pass along your recommendations to the owner. We appreciate your input.
A guest from Billings, MT recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2015 We loved the kitchen being right by the dining area and plenty of room for everyone. The overall appearance was lacking. The sofa had a big spot and the carpet was dirty. The bathrooms were in need of basic maintenance. The bunkbeds had no ladders and were so wobbly that we would have been scared to have the grandkids sleep in the top bunks anyway. But that was a main selling point. We called the rental company about the lack of ladders and their reply was--yes, the owner knew. They were going to replace them. But...since there was an earlier review that said they had been replaced, I thought we would be good to go. The location was great. Just know that you are paying a lot for some less than great features. Use some of the rent to redo some things and it would be a great stay.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so sorry for the inconvenience of the bunk bed situation. The owners had REPAIRED the bunk beds after it was mentioned in a review but had not replaced them yet. The bunk beds have now been REPLACED with new wooden bunk beds. We have also scheduled a carpet and upholstery clean for the house. Thank you for your feedback. We value your opinion and try to rectify the issues as soon as it is possible for us to do so. We hope you will come again and let us help you plan your next vacation.
spencer g. from portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2015 We were 2 families of 4 staying at Spindrift over the Labor Day weekend. Booking was easy. Pictures on web site showed the sleeping arrangements/bed configurations, but what the pictures do not show are the rough metal edges on the bunk bed where the ladder has been removed that can cut your kids foot or the squeakiness of the bunks when anyone moves a muscle. The pocket door to the master bedroom from the hall bath is PAPER THIN and you can hear everything in the bathroom while in the bedroom.Kitchen is well stocked with pots/pans, foil or saran and only salt & pepper for spices. Love that we can seat 8 for dinner. Sofa is very comfy. House furnishings & area rugs are tired and stained. Bedding is nice- King bed is firm. Upstairs queen is soft.It would be nice if chairs on deck had a table with the same height. House is "clean" but the shower caulking is moldy so the bathrooms feel/look dirty. I think the cleaning crew thoroughly cleans the house, but the stains and differed maintenance work against them.Kids loved the game room in the garage conversion.
Natalie S. from Silverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2015 Very nice and roomy house, light kitchen, big screen TV in the living room and in the playroom. Thank you for the grill and the propane provided, so we can barbeque our dinner. The house is very close to the beach, not too crowded and beautiful. The only thing was that the bunk beds were wobbly and made noise every time someone turned while sleeping. And during summer time we could have used a second garbage can, since the pick up is only once a week... But overall it was a great stay.
Alice S. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2015 We enjoyed our vacation so much. The location is beautiful with lots of evergreen trees and even a view of the Pacific horizon. We plan to return next year.
A guest from Bothell, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2015 Large living room, roomy kitchen. It's nice that is has 2 bedrooms upstairs and a bath, then a Queen bedroom and bunk beds in another downstairs. It was nice to have the separation, so my husband and I and the kids had the downstairs and my dad and sister had their own space upstairs. Ping pong table, large TV, bar in garage. Perfect for our group of 8!!! Would definitely stay there again. 2 blocks from the state park, close to beach, house was very clean.
Janet D. from Eagle Creek, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in March, 2015 The location is terrific - short walk to a beautiful stretch of quiet beach. The house is large and was comfortable for our large family. The main room is a great gathering spot. The bunk beds are super noisy - every tiny move makes them creak and screech waking kids up so we had to have two of them sleep o the couch in the living room which was not ideal. Also the house wasn't very clean - including dirty bathrooms and stained sheets in two of the bedrooms - eww!
Faith S. from Cuba, NY recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in December, 2014 Spindrift was home base for a wonderful family gathering. There were 12 of us and we fit in well. We enjoyed having the beach so close and spent lots of time there. The house worked well for our family Christmas celebration and then, on New Years Eve, we had a bonfire on the beach with s'mores and champagne. My only concerns were that the house was advertised for 12 but had only 11 plates and 9 forks. While the pots and pans were excellent, the rest of the kitchen was poorly equipped. The two bunk sets were very creaky and wiggly and the ladder broke as a six year old was climbing into bed. The vacuum cleaner and dishwasher worked intermittently. However, in spite of these problems we loved being there. The beds and linens were wonderful. I would love to spend another week there.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you for letting us know! We will restock the kitchen and repair the bunk beds, vacuum and dishwasher.
Alice S. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014 Our second year was even better then the first. The house was clean, the new BBQ worked beautifully, and we're looking forward to July 31st to August 7th 2015 for our 3rd year in your beautiful home.
Sara H. from Dallas, TX recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2014 The house is just up from the beach. A great location and the beach is breathtaking! The furniture is starting to show some wear but the house it self is great. We had one issue that was addressed immediately and the rest of the stay was great. I highly recommend.
Agnes D. from Mukilteo, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in May, 2014 The bed pillows were old and smelly. The bathroom towels were also smelly. The plastic shower curtain was dirty.And the fridge is very old and noisy.Over all the house would be much nicer if a few expenses were made.And if the bathrooms and kitchen were remodeled it would be a fantastic house!
A guest from Lake Oswego, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2013 The size and location of the house were great. We loved the deck but thought maybe a few more outdoor chairs would be a great addition. It was clean and comfortable. The linens/towels were adequate. I was a little surprised that there weren't adequate dishes, flatware and cups for a group of 12 or enough chairs for the table. We made do but you could get a few more pieces. The bunks in the downstairs were very squeaky- maybe tighten bolts. All in all, we had a great weekend together. I would recommend this house to my friends!
A guest from Portland, Oregon does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013 The house was in poor condition. The beds were old and uncomfortable. There was a bedroom window without ant window covering. The basement shower was moldy and didn't drain well. The kitchen cabinets were greasy. There was a broken towel bar in the upstairs bathroom and the towels were like rags. Very poor house!
A guest from Bothell, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2013 stayed for five nights in late august. The house is very close to the beach and you can hear the ocean which is very nice. The house itself is slightly old, but very comfortable and had many amenities. Plenty of room to fit at least 10 people. Overall a nice and enjoyable experience.
A guest from Bend, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in July, 2013 Once again, terrific week in Manzanita! New pots were a big improvement, knives still not great, but I think I'll bring my own next year. My parents thought the bed downstairs needs a new matress, but the beds upstairs were very comfortable.
A guest from Cathedral City, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013 The steep front stairs were difficult for 2 of the 3 of us. While we had a wonderful time, the living room furniture is old/we sank into depressions in the cushions and it was rather soiled in spots...time for a new sofa. None of the outside deck lights worked and there was a problem with the upstairs toilet; however, these were fixed promptly after calling the office. The beds were very comfortable and had attractive bedding. I had the downstairs bedroom and bathroom and was very comfortable. While I would recommend this property, I would definitely not suggest it for anyone with knee or hip problems because of the numerous step front stairs.
Melissa J. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2012 The space was perfect for 4 couples and 2 children. Open floor plan and a game room in the basement. Great location, wood stove, and 4 bedrooms. The bunkbeds were too squeaky for a restless child to sleep above their parents and there were a few odd quirks to the house (not enough hot water for more than 2 showers in a row, tiny mirror in basement bathroom, plastic wine glasses) but overall it was a great space for 10 people.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2012 Very nice house for a large group. However, if you think you will watch the waves on a stormy afternoon, think again. Instead of "Ocean View" a better description would be "Ocean Glimpse". Very nice house with lots of room. Ping-pong table is a plus, but it is against the wall for a reason: it will not stand on it's own! The description was for a pet free home, my allergies indicate otherwise. There is also a dog bed in the garage and a pet dish beneath the sink... However the house was pretty dusty overall, which may be the cause of the allergies. We also had exactly 4 washcloths for a party of 5. Which means we did laundry every day. Oh well, love the Oregon coast, always a good getaway no matter where you stay! This would be a great house for several families to rent together or for an extended family retreat where it is more about the company and less about the scenery.
Brian H. from Ogden, UT recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in September, 2012 House was great, staff is wonderful. only issue we had was very little dish soap and launadry soap was left at the home. we had to buy more of both. also garbage can was overflowing so we had to wait a couple of days to put our trash in the dumpster. might recommend a 2nd garbage can. everything else was great. Thanks
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012 I would recommend this property with some reservations. The kitchen is not well stocked if you like cooking -- wire whisk is missing a handle; only a few knives and all in poor condition; no aluminum foil, saran wrap, etc which you are not warned about until you arrive. The downstairs bedroom is not as nice as the two on the main floor -- mattress is old and the room just has a kind of damp feel because it's on the ground floor. In the kids' room, you won't want anyone on the top bunk because it's super noisy and both beds shake whenever anyone in the top bunk moves. But the house has a nice layout, is a short walk to the beach and there is a cool bar area with flat screen tv in the garage. The two upstairs bedrooms are quite comfortable and the living room is a nice place to hang out.
Daniel K. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2012 This was a totally comfortable and convenient house for us to stay after running the Hood to Coast relay! Some maintenance details should be attended to (TV remote still held together by tape and doesn't work well, dishwasher doesn't get dishes clean, no light bulb in 2 of the living room lamps, few mugs, etc.) Not an abundance of kitchen stuff for a group. BUT WOULD TOTALLY STAY THERE AGAIN! Very comfortable bed, very professional management company to deal with--they were accommodating and courteous! Deck is great off the living area.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you for letting us know about these issues. We will definitely look into taking care of them before your next visit!
A guest from Santa Clara, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2012 Our recent stay was very nice but there were many issues that needed to be addressed. We had no phone whatsoever, although it was listed as an amenity. That meant we had to do all callling by cell, which was costly for some. We also found that many lightbulbs were burned out but no replacements could be found. The mattresses upstairs were extremely hard, and the wood floors were in need of mopping. It is such a beautiful home in such a fabulous location, but for what we spent on rental fees, we expected it to be better cared for.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are glad you ad a nice vacation! We are unaware of the phone no longer available. Thank you for the feedback on the mattresses, we will pass this on to the homeowner. As for the bulbs, always call our office and we will send someone over to replace bulbs. Thank you again!
A guest from Spokane, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2012 Overall had a great experience. However property has some quirks that would have been good to know about or have an additional flier on:1. TV upstairs remote does not work and you need to change channels on the TV itself. Also, whatever channel is on upstairs, will be on the rest of the TVs in the house.2. Unlike instructions, no central heating system to turn to a "5" when you leave. Thermostats are in each room (would be good to know their locations and which areas they control).3. No hairdryer -- must bring your own.
Caroline G. from Bend, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 9 days in June, 2012 This was our third year renting this house. Terrific location, home, and amenities. Our only complaints are that the knives are bad and that the ping pong table continues to collapse.
Eryn B. from West Linn, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in May, 2012 House was nicely equipped. TV was huge! Made watching a movie, really fun! Maintenance man came out within minutes to fix the downstairs heater that wasn't working. WIll def come back.
Anneke T. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in May, 2012 Very nice, spacious, comfortable, nice interior decoration. Close to beach and town. Needs curtains in downstairs QBdrm and tupper ware for leftovers would be nice. We will definitely rent this house again.
Sarah S. from Snohomish, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in March, 2012 Enjoyed Spindrift very much. Great layout and lots of space for everyone. Beds very comfortable! House clean for the most part but found popcorn under the sofa and the used tissues under t.v. stand in the bunk room. Needed a deep clean including dusting the blinds.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The cleaning issues have been addressed. Thank you for letting us know.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2012 We have stayed in a number of SSVR homes in Manzanita and Spindrfit is most definitely up there in the medal positions. Finally a deck that you CAN actually see the sea from!!! Great cooking/kitchen set up, really nice rooms and loved the open space plus the comfy furniture, the kids room bunk set up is ideal for 4-6 kids (we had 2 with us) and the other bedrooms are just fine for adults. The main bedroom has a bed as big as manzanita itself!!! This house is ideal for a 6 adults 4-6 children vacation or 6-8 adults having a fun w/e. The beach is 100 yards away and the walk to the cafe down the beach to manzanita is 20-25 very pleasant minutes. No complaints and would request this house again.
A guest from Kelso, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in January, 2012 Very open, high ceiling with lots of light. Nice place to be even on a rainy dark day. Would love to stay again. Everything you need is there.
Leeann D. from Medford, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in October, 2011 The house was exactly as presented on the website. We were very happy with everything about the house. All the beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room for everyone (8 of us). The only thing we noticed was that there were 2 burned out bulbs in the kitchen area and there were no instructions to work the tv/dvd player. We figured it out but instructions would have been nice. Everyone agreed that they would like to return to the same house next year. The beach was great - close enough and great for walking to town.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 9 days in August, 2011 The house was great, the beach was near and so was the state park, which had free activities for the children. We fell asleep and awoke to the sound of the surf. The play area in the grage for the children was especially helpful. The only disappointment was the lack of a usable grill. We would definitely come back to this house again.
Christine G. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2011 Great week at Spindrift with kids, parents & grandparents. Loved the proximity to the beach (access was a block away on a quiet street, then a short trek through the dunes), golf course and state park - we took advantage of all three multiple times. It's about a mile from town, which wasn't a problem for us (we're a family of walkers). The house was a great fit for us, with a large family room, open kitchen and big dining table. Kids loved the ping pong table in the garage. Only issues were the light over the dining table didn't work, and we couldn't get either tv to work beyond DVDs (fortunately we brought along a good supply of kid & adult movies). My mom and I loved the puzzle cabinet and had a puzzle going pretty much all week. All in all a fabulous week - we would rent Spindrift again in a minute next year, except we've got an addition to the family which pushes us up over the guest limit (even though the house would have plenty of room). I wish we were still there!!!
Damian W. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2011 The home was clean and comfortable and we appreciated that the home owners supplied fire wood, kites, children's toys and books. There was ample space at the dining table and in the living room and we enjoyed the playroom/garage. We wish that the house had more mugs and toilet paper/paper towels that lasted our rental period. The house was close to the beach but not particularly close to town.
A guest from Bothell, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 6 days in July, 2011 1)update bathrooms 2)Some updating of kitchen 3)Dinning chairs and carpet need attn. 4)Replace BBQ more often,they arn't expensive
A guest from Walla Walla, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011 Great location to the beach, golf, and state park! House's kitchen needs more amenities like a broiler pan or 9X13 baking dish. Didn't find a dishtowel for three days until the washer and dryer were used and found 3 in the dryer. Beds in two bedrooms need to be replaced as they are so soft one person using them even rolls to the middle. The rec room has a very tired ping pong table, but the space is great for kids! If they added another cable box then the kids could watch their programming on the TV downstairs, as it is now, both TV's are hooked up to the same cable box so both show the same programming. The gas Bar-Be-Q is large, but is located next to the lower garage door, under the deck, next to the garbage receptacles completely away from the kitchen and eating spaces. Maid service and/or former renters had left it filthy so we did not even attempt to use it. For the price, we felt the bathrooms needed updating, especially the twenty year+ old towels, and a mirror in one that only a six foot person could use. The livingroom furniture, and space were the best features, along with the wrap around deck for sun all day long!
Bonnie J. from Woodburn, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2011 I cannot believe a vacation home at the beach would not have a working grill. The grill we were delivered was the smallest grill available on the planet, and charcoal heated. Ridiculous. Knowing we have a group of 7 staying there, how is that sufficient? The house has been neglected. Kitchen cabinets feel greasy and there is a dearth of usable pans and skillets. There were positives to the home, I don't mean to say all negative comments. However, I would not rent it again for several reasons.
A guest from Olympia, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2010 Overall, quite satisfied. Only compaints:Other houses we've rented in years' past had much better-stocked kitchens (in terms of cookware/utensils). Silverware drawer sticks badly. Laminated house instruction book smells badly of cat urine.
Cindy H. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010 Overall we enjoyed the stay at the Spindrift. We were very disappointed in the maintenance around the outside of the property. We had to pickup after the previous people - cornhusks below the deck, the grill around the burners was filled with debris from other peoples cooking, some of the light fixtures did not work, the garage door was not funtioning very well, and we fixed the upstairs toilet. I guess when you stay in a rental, it is not going to be perfect. However, when one spends $2200 for the rental for a week, you would expect that you would not have worry about those things. PS, we did fill out the yellow review sheet after our stay explaining all of this, but have not heard back from Sunset Vacations Rentals.
My husband had to work on the property on his vacation!!!!
Kelly O. from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 8 days in July, 2010 The toilet upstairs was not working. Several calls did not resolve it, my husband worked on it with a plunger for over an hour, not what we really wanted to do with our vacation time, and fairly unpleasant for him. We've used another rental agency in the past and probably will do so again.
Caroline G. from Bend, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in June, 2010 We had a great time! The house was terrific. Our bed was soooo comfortable! The ping pong table in the garage was a big hit. Location's perfect for us...just a few houses from the beach, walking distance to town, quiet part of the beach. I wanted to stay much longer!!! The only thing I would change is better knives for cooking and more dish towels. I wouldn't change anything else! Thank you!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thanks for the feedback. We took some kitchen towels right over!!
Jill A. from Tualatin, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2010 We had plans to stay in Manzanita at a home we rented through Sunset Vacation Rentals. The owners of the home decided at the last minute to come and stay. The property manager was fabulous about finding me a comparable home, which turned out to be a much nicer home than we were going to rent. We would rent Sprindrift again as it had room for all the kids to play and the grown ups to still have plenty of space.
A guest from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in April, 2010 There were 6 in our party and we all had a great time in the Spindrift House.Things we thought were great:1. Very close to the beach and close enough to the town.2. Great view of the beach from the main floor.3. Very comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms4. Big kitchen table which sat 8 was used for conversation, puzzles and eating.5. Great garage party room.6. Nice big kitchen7. Big screen TV was great for movies and sports.8. Comfortable furnitureThings that need fixing:1. No heat in the downstairs bedroom with the bunkbeds. Very cold and the mattresses on the bunkbeds were uninhabitable for adults. Kids would be ok with them.2. The kitchen did not have a potato peeler which seems pretty basic. There were beaters but no mixer for making mashed potatoes. The toaster did not work.3. The reference book states that this house sleeps 10 people but only allows 2 cars to park at the house. How can 10 people get to the house in 2 cars? Ridiculous rule. The driveway easily fits 4 cars.Would we stay at this house again? Absolutely!!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The city just changed to car policy and now you can have more than 2 cars on the property!
Brian L. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2009 Overall very good. Only complaint is that it was advertised to have a fireplace but when we got there there was a sign on the fireplace that said it didn't work.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We did remove from the website the fireplace. It was deemed unusable in December. We are very sorry!
Anne G. from Willowbrook, IL recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2009 When we arrived we could not get any heat for the house but we called management who responded quickly and sent out an electrician who fixed the problem quickly.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2009 The property was fantastic--very spacious yet warm and nicely decorated. I esp appreciate SSVR's help in retrieving the insulated cooler we left in the fridge and will be picking up this coming weekend. Thank you very much.
A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2009 We rented the house for a family reunion. It was perfect. We were even able to fit all 9 of us at the dinner table in comfort. Easy access to a lovely beach. Nice deck for enjoying the sun and the sound of the surf. Would be nice to have more outdoor furniture for the deck.
A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2009 This home is in an excellent location, within a short walking distance to the beach. It is well equipped, has a nice deck with a propane grill and peek-a-boo view of the ocean, nice firm beds and an awesome big screen t.v. for rainy days. The home is surrounded by pines which makes it very private. We liked this home but would make a few suggestions to improve its utility for guests. We would suggest the place needs to be fully finished before it rents at prime rates. There were a few rooms that looked like they were works-in-progress such as the laundry (no landing space or functional utility sink) and the bunk bed room had no dressers or hanging space for clothing and no door. The kids loved this, of course, since they had a bonafide excuse to throw everything on the floor. I would also suggest all the extra towels be stored in the laundry room instead of in every drawer in each of the bathrooms. This would make room for guests toiletries in drawer space. Lower the mirror in the downstairs bathroom so those of us who are vertically challenged can see more than the top of our heads. The refrigerator should eventually be updated to be full size for a property that accomodates 8-12 people. Having said the above, the needed improvements were relatively minor and nothing kept us from enjoying the home and having a really good vacation. Thank you.
Chuck H. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2009 We thought the property was roomy. We thought the garbage disposal switch was hard to reach and placed in a dangerous location. Also the cleaning service the day of the check out was irrating. Management already knows this and offered a upgrade on a later stay.
Jenna S. from Yakima, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2009 Great place, we had an excellent time. If I was to change anyting it would be the beds. They are very hard. Maybe an eggcarton or something on top would make them more comfortable.
Spindrift House upper floor was pleasant and relatively updated. Downstairs was less so. The queen size bed was uncomfortable
A guest from Redmond, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in March, 2009 Our kids were scared to stay downstairs in the kids' room because the windows are on the ground floor, facing the front, and the room is secluded from the rest of the house. Bedding is juvenile so our pre-teen didn't want to be there. Home location is great though. Very quiet & close to the beach and Nehelem Park! SVR staff were very helpful!
Lorette J. from Bend, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in March, 2009 everything was fabulous we loved the house, the windows, comfy couch and the little extras like dishsoap and clothes soap, perfect location and I want to thank your office people for being so helpful in having the patience helping me pick out the house, just one suggestion, the king size bed was a bit too hard, maybe provide an eggshell for those who don't do well with too firm a bed otherwise thank you all was great!!!
Laura S. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in March, 2009 the house was awesome, we loved the location and general uncluttered appearance. The only suggestions/issues were as follows: it would be nice to have a directionary and maybe some maps in the house. Also the pottery in the kitchen is definitely not ok for the microwave. It gets very hot, burned my husband badly. Also a few more lamps in the living room would be nice and the light in the ceiling fan was burned out. It would also be nice to have instructions on how to use the tv/dvd and fireplace. The only major negative about the house is I think there's a mold issue in both bathrooms and you can smell that throughout the house. I think if they remodel the bathrooms they should include heaters in the walls and that would take care of the mold problem and smell. I kept the fan on in the upstairs bathroom the whole time we were there and the doors closed and that reduced the smell.But overall, we love, love, loved the house and didn't want to leave.