Nehalem Nirvana~breathtaking views of the Neahlem Bay to Neahkahnie Mountain!
Rockaway Beach - This house has AMAZING VIEWS. It sits on an estuary, looking out over the ocean, the jaws of the Nehalem River, and across Nehalem Bay to Neahkahnie Mountain. Watch gorgeous sunsets over the water from just about everywhere in the house. You can even watch the Sea Lions play on the beach across the bay.
Located next to the Jetty Fishery, your crabbing and fishing gear, boat ramp, and fresh crab and shellfish are footsteps away. The house is comfortably furnished, with a spacious kitchen with stainless steel counters. It is set up to work equally well for a family gathering or a bunch of coastal fishermen. A master bedroom with Queen bed and a magnificent OCEAN AND BAY VIEW; second bedroom with Queen bed; the "Bunkhouse" with three twin beds and two double beds and a full TV setup to keep the kids occupied; a spacious and comfortable living room, with a family size TV/DVD/VCR; a kitchen/dining area, and a more formal dining room. Sit and read your book in the tiled sunroom with a couch that converts into a day bed. There is even a SAUNA to enjoy and relax in after a long day of being out on the boat.
The outdoor spaces at this home are so full of beauty. Walk down the stairs to the private beach that changes with the tide. Tide pools can be explored at low tide, you can watch the boats pass by and even see the bald eagles flying around the estuary. Or just relax in the sun on the two decks. Enjoy romantic nights in the HOT TUB with the sky full of stars or just for soaking those tired muscles. With a gas BBQ and lots of outdoor seating this will be the place your family wants to come back to again and again. And best of all it is pet friendly!
**Holiday Premiums will apply over all July 4th reservations**
Bedding Configuration: 2 Queen, 2 Bunk 1 Full
Pets: Dogs Allowed
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby Post Office * Convenience: Nearby Grocery * Entertainment: CD Player, DVD Player, Games, Satellite TV, VCR, WiFi, Spotting Scope * Geographic: On Bay or Sound, Secluded * Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster * Living: Sauna, Linens, No Phone, Washer & Dryer * Outdoor: Deck, Gas Grill, Hot Tub, BBQ Grill Seasonal Only * SUITABILITY: pets considered
Perfect place to celebrate a half century of living
Terri S. from Tualatin, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2016 We loved this place. Everything we needed was there, clean and ready when we arrived. All we brought was the food and the fun! Walking out to the beach along the jetty was popular, and soaking in the hot tub in the evening. We were lucky to have clear, warm, sunny weather for our stay so the stars were amazing. It's private and the neighbors campy at the jetty were quiet and respectful. Would definitely stay there again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
Ross S. from North Plains, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2016 I stayed at the Nirvana house which was located right on the water with a complete view of the Bay. The house was kept up in excellent condition and we all had the best experience with the service of Sunset Vacation Rentals! They were always responsive to every question I had and made everything about the weekend very enjoyable.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
Sonja A. from Quincy, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2016 It was very relaxing, totally all about family time! My family and friends have been coming and crabbing for several years and love the location and the set up of the home. Absolutely awesome!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
Ursula S. from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2015 This would be a very suitable house for fishermen wanting to hang out after a day of fishing/crabbing. Unfortunately, we were a family meeting for a reunion and it was not what we expected. Kitchen and bathrooms are very outdated and in need of repair and remodeling. The decks and views from the deck are beautiful but the deck furniture is rotting and rusting, so one does not feel like eating outside etc. We had rented another property for the Labor Day weekend which became unavailable at the last minute due to a shower flood. Nehalem Nirvana was recommended by the vacation rental company as a substitute. We were so disappointed in the property that we left a day early.
A guest from Spokane, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2015 Sunsets are awesome. Location is great. Fun to watch fishing boats in the bay. House is bright and big enough for a large family. Loved it there.
A guest from Honolulu, HI recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in May, 2015 Lovely cottage, well equipped kitchen and bedroom accommodations; lovely view. Have stayed here several times with daughter Susan Campbell who lives in Vancouver, WA.
A guest from Elk, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 8 days in July, 2014 We arrived early on the 2nd day (1AM) as we got a late start and missed check-in by 9 hours. We were greeted by numerous spiders. Spiders were prevalent throughout the stay (8 days). Sheets were damp upon our arrival which made for a bad night of sleep. The sheets being damp is easily explained by the dryer which is desperately in need of replacement. Homes that sleep 12 people should have laundry facilities to match, and the dryer would take 3+ hours to dry a single load. If we never intended to leave the property then doing laundry for every hour of our stay would have been ok, but it was difficult to keep enough towels clean and dry for our party of 12, and do any other laundry. The location was nice, and berries on the property in July was a plus.The hot tub was ok, but needing maintenance (jets and the light was out).Flushing the toilet scalded the shower occupant, flushing the toilet in the other bathroom froze the opposite shower, if occupied. As a result, laundry and bathing were to be mutually exclusive activities. The hot water heater was inadequately sized for the number of people that the home accommodates.The kitchen faucet had a tendency to remain on, unless shut off 'just so.' Kitchen drawers were labeled, but mostly contained not the items on the labels, so it was consistently difficult to find things. Some of the labels were not only inaccurate, but nowhere in the kitchen could some things be found.The vacuum in the home had no bag (was not a bagless vacuum), and was utterly full of filth and needed to be emptied before it could be used, as there was no suction whatsoever. It being by the ocean, sand will be a problem, and a vacuum run without a bag that is intended to have one will end very badly for the vacuum.Overall, the house felt more like a cabin, in terms of maintenance neglected.That said, the kids bunk room was awesome. The furniture was nice (and comfortable), and
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014 Our group had 3 couples and 4 children. There is alot to love about this house. The hottub with a view, the cozy livingroom, and The location was amazing. We througly enjoyed exploring the jedi. We saw seals, countless birds, and a coyote! Things to consider. The washer/dryer room that has a bed in it has a very strong mold smell and was not inhabitabal. The master bedroom has two sets of double glass doors facing the only livingroom space. so there is absolutly no sound/light privacy in that bedroom. So there only one bedroom in this house that really offers privacy. The house if right off 101, so if you have a dog that likes to bolt, this is not the house for you. Only real negative was finding old food and mice droppings in a kitchen droor and a dead mouse in the the master bedroom closet. Coupled with the strong musty smell, this house did not feel clean.I don't think I will return to this house due to the lack of privacy for a group of couples and the cleanliness of the house. I have stayed in many house up and down the oregon coast, and I don't think this house was worth it's cost.
Tracy H. from Aloha, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in March, 2014 We had a wonderful vacation at Nehalem Nirvana, The staff was great it was wonderful to find such a nice place we could go to with our dogs. There was a small issue with the hot tub but when we called, you guys were out to fix it within the hour and were friendly pleasant, quick and knowledgable about the property and the area. I can't really say enough about how much we loved the property,it probably was the best stocked kitchen/house of any vacation rental I have ever stayed in. We loved the house. Loved how secluded it felt. Loved the special you were running. If I had to give any negatives, of which there were almost non, I would say it is very close to the railroad tracks, but you can't change that. It has such a beautiful back yard and so big, but the fishery next door doesn't want any off leash dogs over there, so it would be nice if there was a fully fenced in yard so they could be off leash and not have to worry about them wandering down to the campground. and last it would be great if the spring/summer rates were the same as the winter. I would love to come stay again this summer, but I am hoping we can make this place a regular destination for our family. Thanks again!
Erik B. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2014 We had a great stay and appreciated the well stocked kitchen other than a very tempermental stovetop and a non-funtioning doorknob in the back bedroom everything worked great. We'll be back!!
Katherine W. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in February, 2014 I celebrated my birthday at the beach and some of my closest girlfriends were able to join me. All of us enjoyed the stay and kept saying it felt a little like hanging out at grandma's house. It was so cozy and cute! I plan to return to this wonderful home away from home every year!
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2013 The house was in great condition.The view of the Jetty was amazing. My friends and I had a great time and we would definitely use this house again.
Crystal G. from Kelowna, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2013 We loved our stay at Nehalem Nirvana (group of 9 adults). It was a beautiful location - we felt secluded yet close to a lot of amenities. Our group loved being able to go crab fishing next door. The hot tub was a perfect addition to a charming property. We had an issue with it the first night and the property management company sent out a mechanic promptly the next day to fix it (it was only a tripped breaker on a separate panel we couldn't find). The house itself is adorable. Comfortable beds, lovely layout. The next time we're on the Coast we hope to come back. A+++My only recommendation would be to make sure you bring kitchen supplies as theirs are limited - no paper towel, plastic wraps, containers, etc (which is mentioned in the listing).
Sarah N. from Portland, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in November, 2013 We had so much fun for my 30th birthday. The location next to the jetty fishery was so convenient and provided everything we needed to go crabbing. Plus the people that worked there were super friendly and helpful. We loved the hot tub, and sauna and the access to the beach. We will be coming back here for sure!
A guest from Troutdale, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2013 We have rented this home on several occasions. I love the location as we are crabbers and it's very close to the Jetty. This last time, however, was not the best experience. The hot tub was not available for part of the time and Wi-Fi not available at all. Our repeated calls resulted in no Wi-Fi the entire weekend though I think the property managers did try. I have called to discuss this matter but haven't received a response. It's a fun place to stay and we have had good times there except for these issues.
A guest from Redmond, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 7 days in October, 2013 The outside area such as decks and chairs were covered in spider webs and spiders. We had to clean them all off to be able to use them. The bathrooms had a very musty mildew smell. There were several spiders inside the home as well. The area outside especially the stair case going down to the beach area was very overgrown and there was no light to be able to go up and down the stairs in the evening. The only place to have a fire was on the beach so going up and down the staircase was very unsafe. The outside walk paths through the yard were overgown. There were plenty of plates for 12 people which is the occupancy of the home but not enough glasses or coffee cups. Not sure if I would ever rent this home again.
Spike S. from Portland, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2013 Enjoyed our stay at Nehalem Nirvana very much, it's a great location and such a comfortable home. Highly recommended!
Mark S. from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2013 Would have been nice if the cable was available on another Tv and not just in living room. Not close to beach. To walk to get to the beach required scaling a rock wall to get up on the jetty and then climbing over huge pieces of driftwood, rocks, holes, etc. Couldn't hear any beach sound from the property. That being said, short drive to beach and stores, great working hot tub and gas BBQ. House set up was great for putting puzzles together and playing games. Taking day trips to tillamook cheese factory, antiquing, Seaside and even to get to the beach. Walking to the jetty fishery and renting crab rings/boat for a few hours was nice.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in July, 2013 Everyone was happy with the location, layout, and amenities provided. It was very quiet and private, and is well-suited for a large group.
A guest from Clackamas, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013 The price of $1600 for 5 days was quite overpriced for the quality of the home: from the shockingly old bedroom carpets, to REALLY old bed linens, to towels that look worse than our garage towels, to antique deck furniture that doesn't seem safe to sit on (we used our beach chairs), to extremely outdated bathrooms including the worst shower head in the history of shower heads. General maintenance seemed lacking - the kitchen faucet that wouldn't quite turn off, ANTS (YES -ANTS!!!), dishwasher soap dispenser broken, shelf rail on the refrigerator door that kept falling off, no garbage disposal. Many of the cabinets in the kitchen are locked for the owners, so we ended up piling food on the counters - where the ants are...We called Sunset for a couple of issues (no propane for the grill, no kitchen cleaner and the path to the ocean was overgrown) and I must say they were very responsive. However, the place just didn't give you that CLEAN feeling - ie: hair in the bathtub, notably dirty floors / mattress pads / comforters (When I pulled the sheets off, I couldn't believe I slept on that!!).We didn't let this ruin our vacation, but we definitely will not be renting this house again. We had 9 people (adults/kids) and that would be my max in this house - it was jam packed! The "divider" in the bunk bed room does not provide the privacy it seems that it would in the pictures. The property is in an odd location on Hwy 101 and is not on the ocean, but the jetty area is OK. It's a short drive to the beach.
Dawn M. from Portland, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2013 I absolutely LOVED staying at this place. We celebrated my birthday with 12 friends. The views are amazing. The privacy is perfect, and the Fish Marina next door was chock full of yummy crabs and oysters. Everyday we had our own fresh crab and the people that worked there were so friendly ! I can't wait to go back.
Catherine E. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in June, 2013 Nehalem Nirvana is perfect for folks looking for a nice but welcoming place with character. The decorations are both interesting and cute! Crab is a theme :) It has everything you need (though a few more pyrex type baking dishes would be awesome!) for a relaxing and comfortable stay. They even had a plastic gingham tablecloth for when we had a crab feast. The area around the house is great-you can explore the beach, buy some delicious crab, and hang out in the hot tub. Our group of friends had a lovely weekend grilling, cooking up seafood, playing games (which are well stocked), and hitting the beach in the surrounding area. They only provide a certain amount of cleaning supplies so be sure and bring some. Other than that no issues whatsoever. All in all, a great rental!!
Mary A. from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in April, 2013 My friends and I rented this house for an extended weekend to celebrate her 50th birthday. What a treat! This house is large and spacious, and has some eclectic decor. The views are stunning, and you can walk down to the bay to collect shells, treasure hunt, and explore. Then there is the jetty right next door where you can buy fresh crab, mussels and clams. Yum! Oh ya, and soaking in the hot tub and watching the sun go down? Heaven! Overall, it was a wonderful vacation and I would highly recommend this property to anyone. Oh ya, and thank you Sunset Vacation rentals for being so nice and easy to work with. :-)
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2013 The property itself was very clean and still has the 70's feel everywhere you look. The view of the jetty, ample parking and living room area make it ideal for large groups. My only criticism was how the property management staff handled this rental. The follow-up on two occasions by the Sunset rental staff was most unimpressive. Their inability to take ownership and assist me with renting this property initially coupled with the failure to email entry instructions until after I called left me with a bad taste.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in December, 2012 We loved this house and the special view it has of the river and ocean. The hot tub was great and in good working order. As usual, the service from Sunset Vacation Rentals was responsive and professional (thanks Julie!), and booking was easy. The new wi-fi and other upgrades to the property are much appreciated. The main drawback was the smell in the kids' room; the comforters/blankets/bedspreads needed to be laundered. All in all, very good!
Linda I. from Milwaukie, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2012 Everything was perfect in this home, my family said it was their favorite. The only issue was the beds the mattress left me with a back issue.
Lauren B. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2012 My friends and I have stayed at this house 3 times in one year. It's a great place for families, friends and your furry friends.
Mike W. from Payette, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2012 We have a group of five couples from Idaho who are avid outdoors people. Our main purpose is to come to the coast for a week of fishing. The big advantage of this property over any others up and down the coast is that you can do so much right off the back deck of the house. Rent an RV Space from the Jetty Fisheries next door and you can crab off the dock or use a boat and crab the river or fish for Chinooks. There is a fish cleaning station available, Fire pits, fresh oysters and clams. If you need a large outdoor area for cooking your catch (which one can not do at most rentals)and eating, this property has it. We show up with 5 vehicles, boats and trailers. Parking is a problem here and at all rentals. And the Hot tub will get plenty of use. We fish Astoria and Garibaldi, so this is a good central location. This owner, like many, needs to invest a few thousand dollars and buy some good mattresses. These were ready for the dump 20 years ago.If you relish the outdoors activities, sights, sounds and smells the coast offers, enjoying a fresh seafood supper you just caught and then sitting around a roaring fire, watching the sunset, this place is unique and will be hard to beat.
Ryan S. from Silverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012 the house was amazing definitely the kind of house i want to retire in. Plenty of room for everyone to have a chance to relax, the only thing we didn't use was the sauna. We had dinner from the jetty right next door live crab, clams and oysters. we are already making plans to come back again.
Kirk S. from Colstrip, MT recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2012 Very enjoyable. My kids and I took advantage of the marina next door and had a blast crabbing on their dock.Only problem we had was the lack of any tv stations. When we arrived we had one station so we notified management. They were very prompt in arriving, but unfortunately after their "fix" we didn't even have one station! We didn't bother to notify them again, as we didn't stay to watch television anyway. Had a wonderful time. Thank you!
A guest from Evanston, IL recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in July, 2012 The view and location of Nirvana was great. Plenty of room for us. The grill was not cleaned well and we had to clean it after it started smoking and burning. The washer was inconsistent and the spin cycle did not always work. The house was not as clean as would be expected, as if it was not used for awhile. The caretaker was very prompt when called about the grill. I hope to get the $60.00 refund since we did not use hot tub. Overall a great time.
A guest from West Linn, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2012 This was a great house for our group. Plenty of room and things to do, plus the well stocked kitchen made our meals easy to prepare and serve. When the propane tank ran out, the management promptly replaced it the next morning, plesantly surprising all of us. Nice customer service!
Erik J. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in April, 2012 I had a great week at the Nirvana Jetty House celebrating 3 different April birthdays with friends. The location was awesome with epic jetty and ocean views and short drives to get necessary supplies as the week went on.
Tammy M. from Burbank, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in April, 2012 We had a wonderful time here enjoying the hot tub and the sauna overlooking the bay and ocean. The Jetty Fishery next door is a huge plus! The crabbing was fun! We had four teen/young adults and my Mom with us and we all stayed comfortably. The property managers took care of the issues we had with the baseboard heater, the water heater and the sugar ants right away. Even with these little things (things that are typical in any home), our stay was wonderful! We enjoyed grilling and relaxing on the deck, and watching beautiful sunsets. The decor is unique and interesting. The furniture in the living room is super comfortable. The only down side I saw was the TV in the living room is just right off the thin doors leading into the master bedroom. I couldn't get away in there for quiet while others were watching TV. No big deal though, I just went out on the deck and enjoyed some quiet time.
Stephanie H. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in February, 2012 I stayed at a property through this company before a couple years ago and had a blast so thought of them right away. Some friends and I went in on a weekend at this property for my birthday and had an amazing time. The house was roomy and comfortable and the sauna was a nice treat. The decor was interesting and the views were to die for. The staff at Sunset Vacation Rentals were friendly and professional as usual. My only gripe is that the hot tub was at 60 degrees when we arrived and the ph levels were all out of whack but Sunset extended our stay for the trouble and it was heaven to not have to rush out Sunday morning. I will DEFINITELY be staying at one of their properties again!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you for bringing it to our attention, we immediately took are of the problem. We are glad you had a great stay!
Mena F. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2012 Great place for a big Family. Bunkroom for the kids. Crabbing, Hotub, lots of fun watching the tide go in and out. Great overall and room for everyone!! loved it and will go back!
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in December, 2011 We loved this comfortable house for a tranquil, lovely and secluded getaway. It was perfect for us. The only problem was the Internet connection--it kept disconnecting every 5 - 15 minutes. This is fine if you want to check your email every once in a while, but not good if you're on a working vacation and really NEED to have uninterrupted wifi in order to do business and get work done. Other than that, this place was perfect and we would definitely go back. We especially enjoyed the wild life viewing, the hot tub, and the fishery next door where we bought some delicious crab. Also, the folks at SSVR were very professional and quick to respond to any issues or problems we had with the house--they were great to work with.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The internet was upgraded due to the problems we have expirenced
Alan H. from Camas, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2011 What a wonder place to relax! Great view of the Ocean and the river mouth. The changes in the tide could also be viewed from inside the house. The kitchen area is huge and well supplied with utensils, cork screws, crab crackers, etc. We were able to get crabs and clams freshly cooked next door at the Jetty Fisheries. The teenage girls loved the hot tub and sauna. The rest of us walked the jetty out to the ocean. Weather during our stay was gorgeous! Several were sad to find that the internet sevice did not work. Several other items needed repairs, but nothing really effected the beatiful time we had as a family enjoying a very memorable weekend together. Thanks!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The owner upgraded the internet and we haven't had any more issues.
Angela H. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2011 We have been to The Nehalam Nirvana for the last couple years off and on and had a really good stay. It has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable.
Lisa H. from Burns, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2011 We came from all parts of Oregon and beyond for 5 days at Nehalem Nirvana and couldn't have asked for a better place for beach play, cooking together, game playing, sunset watching, star gazing from the hot tub. The house made us feel instantly at home. We loved the eclectic art around the house! Only snafu-the directions for the VCR were challenging so we opted for the TV in the bunkhouse. We hope to return next summer!!
Barbra W. from Shelton, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2011 Nehalem Nirvana is a tastefully decorated house with rich history in the most beautiful, restful setting and was the perfect place for our family to have a reunion and celebrate a 60th birthday. It is very well stocked with blankets, games, books, and everything you could think of to have a comfortable retreat. The kitchen was beautifully stocked with cookware and serving pieces to entertain! Thank you for sharing your wonderful house with our family and Nehalem Nirvana is on our "return" list for retreat destinations.
Rick E. from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2011 We had a great family visit at the Nirvana Beach House. Everything met our expectations. It was a relaxing and enjoyable stay. My wife was very impressed with the fresh cut flowers from the garden that greeted us. We will plan on coming back in the future.
I would recommend IF my concerns are taken care of because i really loved the place
Esther E. from Portland, Oregon does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in June, 2011 We loved Nirvana --- but had a few major concerns. Quite sure the blankets in one of the bedrooms had fleas or bedbugs (it was cold the last night we were there so got out blankets from the closet and 3 in the room had a lot of bites)- what was unsettling (besides bugs) was when i reported this to the maid office I felt like they were trying to place the blame on us "Were you outside, did you..etc."; the box lock can be opened with many combinations; the shower curtain has mold on it and needs to be replaced; some of the things in the kitchen utility draw were dirty and there was gross water in the bottom of the drawer
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are very sorry about these inconveniences and we have taken care of them all. We hope you will give us another try and that we will see you again soon!
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in May, 2011 We loved the house. The property, the views, the hot tub, the grill--all great! You have to walk a bit to get to a classic "beach," but if you want to catch some crabs or clams it's a good place to be. The house is very private and nice, close ride to Rockaway Beach for restaurants and antiquing.We had a couple problems--connecting to wifi and the cleaning crew showed up 4 hours before they were supposed to, but both of these issues were quickly resolved with a call to the vacation rental company.All in all a great weekend!
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in April, 2011 We adored our time here. Perfect for kids with the estuary, close by ocean, and Jetty. The Fishery is next door so we had fresh crab and boating close by, but no other neighbors allowing us privacy and freedom. The master bedroom's picture window is inspiring and romantic. The living area is wide open and perfect for entertaining. The amenities are outstanding: sauna, hot tub, kitchen appliances galore (espresso maker, rice cooker, blender, etc) very intutively selected, and tastefully creative modern decor. Love it's proximity to wheeler, nehalem, manzanita, and Rockaway. Will definitely stay here again and again!
Heather H. from Cornelius, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2011 We had a great time. Even though we weren't on a huge expanse of beach we loved the location. It was very private and quiet, which is exactly what we were looking for. We really enjoyed exploring at low tide.
Jeff W. from Yakima, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2011 All was well, we will be back again in addition to our annual trip in Feb. Only issue was the silverware drawer had a broken guide bar and was real tough to open. Nothing major.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2011 The house worked out great for the ten of us. My only complaint was that three of us developed respiratory issues due (we suspect) to mold present in the house. We've rented this particular house the past four years and never had any prior issues, but this will need to remedied should we stay there again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We have had the house checked and there is no mold. Sorry for the troubles during your stay
Diane T. from Troutdale, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2011 We had 2 families (4 adults and 4 kids) stay for an extended weekend. The amount of space was perfect. The kids loved their spacious room with the 2 sets of bunkbeds and another area with a bed and tv for them to play video games. The master bedroom had plenty of room and a great view of the bay/ocean. We loved sitting out on the deck, although not huge, it had enough seating and the view was spectacular at night when the sun sets. Of course the hot tub was the best part. Even though there is a small campground next to the is far enough away that it seemed like we were secluded from any neighbors. The only part that was hard if you have small kids and a dog(s) is that there is no fenced in yard, yet it is very large. You are up on a hill though from the bay and there is a small inlet, so there isn't a fast moving river at the front of the property, which made us not worry as much in regards to the kids safety. The one part I missed was being able to walk in a neighborhood with the kids and dogs. It is right next to HWY 101, but it was fine because we couldn't hear the traffic.
Debra C. from Rainier, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2011 WE enloyed our stay at Nehalem Nirvana!!! The kitchen was a joy to work in, plenty of room to entertain and cook, with others milling around you. The view was spectacular. We watched our group crab from the comforts of a warm house, with the use of the telescope. AWESOME!! FABULOUS TIME.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2010 Great house with fantastic views. If you like to crab, it is right next door to the jetty fishery. Beds could have been a bit more comfortable, but it is rental... can't have it all right?Would consider renting this house again for a weekend away with friends or family.
A guest from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2010 The home was wonderful. Instructions on the use of the TV, VCR, etc., would have helped. We had a wonderful time and for my 89 year old mother this was ideal being on one level. Papers said we should have 2 rolls of toilet paper per restroom and between the two we did not even have half a roll, this was disappointing in that you have a late check in and running to the store is not a priority the first night. Our request for more went unresponed too. We also had campers at the bottom of the path to the water so we felt we could not use it unless we wanted to disturb them. Also dogs are allowed to run free at the camping grounds very close by so, although we did not have pets with us, we felt we needed to look for deposits. I believe the dryer needs to be looked at because if you require the sheets and towels to be washed and you had more than just the 5 of us you would spend the whole last day (up until a late check out) doing laundry. Knowing what we know now and how to prepare we would probably use the home again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Two rolls of toilet paper per toilet are provided at all our homes. We apologize that this was overlooked. Also, we only ask that you start a load of laundry. We don't want you to be doing laundry all day long! Glad you had a great stay regardless.
Sharon L. from Quincy, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2010 the only problem we encountered with our stay was that the trash cans were about half full when we arrived. Thursday was garbage pick up day, we arrived on sunday so the cans were completely full and overflowing by thursday.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We apologize about the garbage. We do have a maintenance staff that we can send out to pick up excess garbage if needed. Next time, please give us a call so we can take care of this for you.
Ilja N. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2010 We try to come here once a year because it's such a great deal. The only downside is that the yard is only half-utilized. The south half is overgrown, and has many weeds (like vines) thatare taking over. The Himalayan blackberry especially is getting to the point where it will be unmanagable, and kill shrubs and trees. Would be a pity! Besides that, the place is great!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The yard has been maintained. Thank you for letting us know.
David E. from Chattaroy, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2010 Sunset Vacation Rentals was nice enough to move us to this location after the hot tub at Neptunes Hideaway was not working. Everything was fine. Very nice accomodations. Just one problem, again with the hot tub. First night there, hot tub suddenly shut off. The next morning I discovered a GCFI switch on the outside of house and got it to come back on. Last night we were there hot tub began flashing "suction safety" error code and temperature dropped into low 90s. I believe SSVR needs to pay closer attention to the upkeep and maintenance of hot tubs at their vacation rentals. Also, one minor annoyance. Total of 5 channels on the TV. In 2007 and 2008 when we stayed at Pacific Escape, there were over 60 channels available. Must be a cost cutting strategy in the recession. Get the hot tub to operate without problems and add some TV channels and it's perfect!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We do have our hot tubs maintenanced before and after every guests stay. Unfortunately, we cannot forsee any potential problems but we definitely do everything in our power to fix these problems.
Mike C. from Yakima, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2010 my whole family went here for my sis funneral to say good bye the place was great its was what we needed we will go back for our vac.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2009 What a wonderful place! Our kids had a blast playing on the beach and watching the tides roll in and out. The hot tub is wonderful, a great day to start or end the day. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook a wonderful thanksgiving dinner! We will be back.
felt like trhe kid in the comercail that had his red truck taken away and givin a card board one
Scott S. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in November, 2009 i was shocked to see all the add ons like insurance for 50 dollars i have my own insurance ?? non refundable cleaning fee we leave them very clean used to get money back ?? the topper was i had to ask for my coed nobody contacted me .i had put on my money order that i agreed to the policy i had done that the year before thats right i was a repeat customer. then the last issue was i had seen a offer buy two night get one night free. at frist the woman on the phone said there was no way that offer aplied to me i was being pentlized for booking early . they agreed the next day that it did apied for me but due to the fact that on your end after you got the cheak the ball was dropped and no follow up i now could not use the free day on this trip because the owner was due in sunday afternoon so i could not get even late cheak out .this put a strain on a event that was brought on by no follow up and i feel a management problem brought on by your failer to do your end . you did offer a free night a later day . my question is will it go any smoother the next time or will we have the stress of leaving early and hassling over a promo.i was born in buiness at birth and have proffsionaly rated them. your property are the best you need to work on customer follow up and stand behind your add without making the customer find them and then bam sorry thats not for you. thank you for the chance for me to answer your question. if you need help with getting your staff on line and how to run a agressive promotion were they are not hidden but used in a tell a marketing campain i no you could increase your bookings by at least 20% agen thanks for this chance to help you and have a great day
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The $50 damage waiver is not insurance, it is what we do instead of a security deposit. It covers you up to $1500 of unintentional damages. As for the cleaning fee, we do have a very high standard of cleanliness and we send our housekeepers in to clean and sanitize after every stay, no matter how clean it was left. I apologize for the confusing marketing that occured. Our staff has been trained and this will not happen again.
Elizabeth E. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2009 When my group of friends and I get together to celebrate special occasions, we most often end up at the Oregon coast. This house was by far our favorite. The location was amazing, the house itself incredibly tastefully decorated, and it was very private. From the pictures and proximity to the train tracks, we felt like we were taking somewhat of a leap of faith...and oh was it worth it. We will all be returning to this house most surely.
Ingrid L. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2009 There was no phone connected to the rental, which was advertised in the rental brochure online and at the house itself. Internet access was also advertised, but found out when I got there that it was through the neighbor and needed to pay extra. Internet access was very weak and I needed to be outside to get reception.Otherwise, stay was wonderful!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals As of April 2011, the house now has WIFI
A guest from Scappoose, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2009 We had an awesome time. Nehalem Nirvana was perfect for our group. In fact everyone wants to make it an annual event now. I was the first to arrive and I had to contact SVR because I had left the paperwork with the lock box code at the office ( I thought I had grabbed the right paperwork ) one phone call to SVR and the gal had me in the house in just a couple of minutes - I wish I could remember her name, I do know she was staffing the phone after hours. She was a huge help. When I entered the house it was in perfect shape The house and location was perfect for our group. The only hiccup we had was on Saturday night when we were barbecuing cedar plank salmon ( freshly caught I might add !! ) we ran out of propane for the barbecue, fortunately I happened to have a bottle in my truck and we had it up and running again in just a few minutes. I would suggest a spare somewhere on premises so if it happens to someone else it doesn't ruin their dinner plans. But I can't say enough about our trip - we had a wonderful time We will be booking again for next year
Sonia A. from Ethrata, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2009 The stay was absolutely awesome. I will come visit again. I was very impressed with follow up from my previous suggestions, emptying garbages, propain in grill etc.. from our previous stay. What an outstanding way to run a business! Thanks!
Jim P. from Huntington Beach, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2009 Remind others that 'the train' DOES travel the tracks as it is operational. Be very careful upon drive entry & exit.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in May, 2009 We had a fantastic week end! Thanks again. I would like to make you aware of a possible issue at the home. I am a oregon home and pest control inspector (OCHI # 818) and I noted that there are carpenter ants inside the home. This indicates several things. One, there are conducive conditions, i.e. moisture is entering the house somewhere and two, there is likely a carpenter ant nest inside the home.I recommend you contact a local pest control company for a pest inspection and treatment.Just thought you would like to know.Marc
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you so much for letting us know! Maintenance immediately took care of this after your departure.
A guest from West Linn, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2008 Site was wonderful. Was almost like having a private beach and the house was spacious and had most amenities. Plan to bring along all your own paper products, besides toilet paper. None were provided. Hot tubbing under the stars is truly close to Nirvana!!!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We do provide a "starter pack" of supplies with toilet paper, paper towels, soap, etc as is stated in our contract.
Scott S. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2008 the place was one of the best i have stayed at in 20 years we fish and crab alot and the location is great there is lots of stuff to keep every age happy and busy!!!! the cleaning staff had a bad day i think they missed the back bedroom sheets and blanket were filthy and gross. the hot tub was cold the first night the screen was ripped and the cool lights in the living room poped off and scared us but that was all ok and the reat made up for the worst i would recond this to everyone i no thank you
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We apologize about the cleaning issues. This is very unusual! All in all, glad you had a great stay.
Ian M. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2008 Had a very nice time at this house. Loved hotubbing in the poring rain! The jetty next door is a treat and the local folks were very nice and helpful. We decided to stay another night we had such a good time and it was really easy to work with the management of the house. Overall it was fantastic! Thank you again!