Mckinnon's ~ Ocean front, sensational views with large expansive back yard
Rockaway Beach - Now offers Wireless Internet. This rustic, old world style, ocean front beach house is prefect for families. You'll love the piano and the fabulous, gigantic, stone fireplace in the living room. The living room is beautiful and has a lot of room for family gatherings. The kitchen and dining room just off the living room will allow for big feasts and great entertaining. There is one bedroom on the main floor that is very comfortable and has a great view. Go on upstairs and you will find three bedrooms and a bath, every bedroom has a spectacular view and through a hall way door there is an observation deck that over looks the entire back yard and the ocean beyond.
This ocean front home is warm, comfortable and has ½ acre lawn. This wonderful beachfront home sits on 3/4 acres, it has more space than you can believe. Watch the waves break and breathe in the clean ocean air while relaxing at this Rockaway Beach home. Whatever stresses you have in your life will simply melt away as soon as you walk into this great home, where the ocean is right outside your door. Come and live it up a little you deserve it.
**Holiday Premiums will apply over all July 4th reservations**
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Oregon coast dream house!
Carla S. from Post Falls, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in June, 2016 From the moment we entered the house we all felt at home. comfortable and surrounded be the beauty of the Oregon coast/beach! The short hike from the lovely back yard to the beach itself was fun. The beds were all very comfortable. The kitchen was very well stocked although we had a bit of trouble with the coffee pot. Overall we could not have had a better experience! The kids had almost as much fun playing the piano as they did on the beach!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
Mary S. from Beaverton, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2016 We were disappointed with the house. Not only is it now open concept, the floor plan is odd. We had to wheel the large TV from the first floor bedroom out to the "family room". It is precariously placed on blocks and plywood. Thank goodness we were able to move it successfully. There is not a light off the back porch, which I think is dangerous. The access to the beach is not easy (big drop off that my 6' 2" hubby was not even comfortable with). The fan did not work in the shower on the main level, or over the range in the kitchen. (The main floor shower is enclosed in all wood, which without a working vent is prone to mold.) We lost power 10 times the first night for no reason whatsoever. We will not stay here again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay. We will pass on your concerns to the owner regarding the TV placement and the electrical issues and get them taken care of ASAP. We had some unusually high tides this season and it has changed the beach landscape quite a bit. We will look into seeing if the path can be improved down to the beach. We hope we can help you in the future with your next stay here at the beach.
Lynne M. from Bellevue, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in March, 2016 My sister and myself stayed 5 nights, this home was perfect for us. Kinda eleclectic, funky layout of the house but that made it all the more fun. Plenty of room, beautiful views of the ocean, private large back yard with private path to the beach. Large rooms allow plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the quiet or social activities. NOT for folks with difficulty walking or stairs, and it's not a "5-star new" building - but that's not what we were looking for. It's a quiet, private cabin-feeling home with all the amenities and worked great for the 2 of us or would be ideal for large family get togethers. Thanks for a wonderful time!
Jeff O. from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2016 The house is an old Beach house and could use some updates... but the location, yard, view and access to the beach through the magical path is unbelievable.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in December, 2015 Our group has had 6 trips to this house over NYE and sometimes the superbowl weekend. The house location is amazing. Just a quick and private trail to the beach. Very few people on the beach most of the time. The house is older and by no means "fancy". It is an older beach house that could use some updating in the bathrooms and kitchen. But, for the most part everything works. The kitchen supplies are OK but if you need anything special to cook with or good knives I would suggest you bring them. Overall, we always enjoy the location, the Rockaway beach town and the amazing beach. They do allow dogs and that is great for us because we enjoy bringing our furry families with us. We will always look forward to coming back to McKinnon house.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach. We will pass along your suggestions to the owner.
Gianna I. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2015 We had a wonderful stay! The house was beautiful with amazing views from the back patio. The wifi could be improved as it was a bit slow but other than that everything was really great.
Tom A. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2015 Great time as always! Please get a new bed for the upstairs bedroom! We have mentioned this every time we stay there. Its the single bed. Replace it!!!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals 11/17/15- New mattresses are on order! They should be delivered by Thanksgiving.
Robbi S. from Redmond, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 9 days in August, 2015 This house was great for a family reunion. I would have like to see table and chairs on the balcony to watch the ocean.
A guest from Coeur d Alene, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in July, 2015 A lot of items within the house need updating...i.e. small appliances, kitchen items (pots & pans), the coffee maker is somewhat broken and has issues, washer & dryer need TLC, etc.There seemed to lack lighting next to beds on nightstands (need more lamps).Also - I realize this house is older...but the outlets are dated and limited, and the house also smells old (possibly the carpet & definitely the laundry room downstairs).The main water line out front burst while we were there - which I found happens often (twice a year?)The garbage pick-up schedule was incorrect.If Minor improvements in the small things listed happened I would recommend this house.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We will be happy to pass all this information on to the owner and try to get these issues resolved as soon as possible. We appreciate your input and hope we can help you with your next stay.
Jeannie Z. from Othello, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in July, 2015 It has three bedrooms up stairs two bedroom's have a king bed only one of the king bedrooms has a small flat screen TV. and the third with two twin beds no TV. The upstairs bathroom has a jet tub. The main floor has the fourth bedroom with two full beds and a futon and a large flat screen TV. A toilet and sink separate from shower in the bedroom. The kitchen is well stocked with lots of pots and pans to use. There's a washer and dryer in the basement needs TLC but works best with med loads. Great beach access beautiful view from upstairs balcony. The living room has a large fireplace and buy wood across from Washington street on 101 hwy for a large bundle for $5. The house also has WiFi but dated plugins but some in the kitchen that are grounded. We loved it. Clean but dated it was perfect.
A guest from Syracuse, UT recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in June, 2015 great location, comfortable old home. Piano is a nice touch. Dryer needs an upgrade, hard to find lighting to the basement. Beds on main floor need replacing.
Michael B. from Tenino, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in February, 2015 Even though the outside might have needed a coat of paint, which I imagine is an annual thing for a beachfront house, the house is perfect for families and to host friends. They have it set up just right, and the views are amazing. Wonderful experience!
A guest from Cornelius, Oregon does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in November, 2014 The fireplace was out of order and the thermostat was not working. Had to wear coats and bring in space heaters to get warm. Had called ssrv to notify and followed directions if we were in a rental. Did not receive a follow up call until the afternoon after we had checked out.
Bob B. from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2014 - House is not without its charms, but is considerably more weather-beaten than when the photos were taken.- WiFi password is incorrect on pdf; it ends with '967'.- Rear porch light didn't work.- One of the electrical outlets (by downstairs bedroom door) didn't work & others are worn out (plugs fall out). They're also mostly the (really) old style non'grounded outlets.- Kitchen was pretty well equipped.- Big kitchen table was nice; seated 8 + a baby easily.
Sally G. from beaver creek, OREGON recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2014 We enjoyed our stay at the McKinnon's Beach house. Had a bunch of family and 2 dogs. Overall clean, well stocked. Note: The one main level bedroom has 2 double beds and a double futon. The remaining 3 bedrooms upstairs have 2 with king size beds, and one with 2 twin beds. The televisions are in the main level bedroom and one bedroom upstairs. It was not possible to watch TV in the living room, which was not good for a few of our family members & children. Having to wash linens and towels before an 11 AM check out was very challenging, so the management company said to do what we could. We would certainly stay again, as it accommodated the whole family and allows pets. Location was GREAT!
A guest from St. Regis, MT recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in September, 2014 WE ENJOYED OUR STAY AT THE BEACH. IT WAS FURTHER FROM THE BEACH THAN WE EXPECTED. OVERALL IT WORKED OUT NICELY FOR OUR FAMILY REUNION.
Lucinda M. from Lewiston, Idaho recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014 Excellent location. House was generally pretty clean. Some issues though-wifi did not work, clearly supposed to pick up animal waste and not done, garbage pick up did not happen as scheduled so had to get ride of our own garbage to avoid a fee. Even with the above this was the second time we stayed there
A guest from Caldwell, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014 Comfortable, homey place with an excellent location on the beach. House itself was older and rustic but clean and airy. We found it a great place to stay. The laundry facilities could be better, at least for getting several loads of laundry done before 11:00 am check out time.
Robert D. from Spokane Valley, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2014 McKinnon house was comfortable and well furnished. The beach access was well maintained and it was easy to get to the beach. We loved having our dog there with us and will definitely consider staying here again!
Marcella R. from Moses Lake, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014 all was great the only thing wrong was we checked in on Friday garbage can full and no pickup till Monday and we filled it up and had a very big overflow
Faye H. from Rhododendron, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014 It was a really great location, great house except for one thing its too bad there is no TV in the front room so that a family could sit together and watch a movie..a night or even if its was raining weather, that would be only thing I would change..I am marking I would recommend but would let them know about the TV situation if they were planning on a group..if only a couple of you its okay
Michael W. from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2014 The only thing I was disappointed with was no WIFI, I called ssvr and no body called me back to fix the problem. I could not get the house internet and the box showed an internet light no working.
Nice Location - House didn't look like pictures on website.
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in March, 2014 One set of sheets was dirty, had to be changed before using. Internet access did not work. Called Property Management and they were not very helpful.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in November, 2013 We filled this house's capacity with 12 people, and that made a two-night weekend with comfortable, new, and clean bedding and a gorgeous view (not of "just" the ocean but of the haystacks) only about $40/person. That's incredible!
Brook C. from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in October, 2013 Overall the house was reasonable. The DVD in the downstairs bedroom was not working but that was not a big issue because the television worked fine. There was not a television/dvd player in the living room and it would have been nice to have one for later in the evening or just to watch a movie where we could all be together. The home was basically clean but it really needs a more in-depth cleaning, especially the kitchen. The SSVR staff were very friendly and gave us wonderfully fast support with any issues that we brought up. The home was plenty roomy and the back yard and location to the beach were fantastic. I would probably not stay there again simply because I would prefer every bedroom/living room to at least have a television and a dvd player. They do not all need cable, but the ability to watch a movie.
A guest from Sandy, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2013 The cookware could use some updating. And the jacuzzi tub had not been maintained, when the jets were turned on they shot out very gross black water all over the kids in the tub, very disgusting. But overall the house was a great place for family to gather with great access to the beach.
A guest from Parkdale, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013 great location, private and wind free back yard. That's the only redeeming quality of this property. The house was extremely worn and dirty. The floors, carpets, and especially throw rugs were filthy. Dead bugs in bath tub & on window sills.I do not recommend this house for families with young children because there are no screens on the 2nd floor windows and no secure lock on the upstairs door - it is difficult to even shut, as well as railings inside and out that are not code and young ones could fall through. There is also a very thin sheet of plywood that blocks off a 1 story drop from the upstairs to the main floor. The laundry room is in the basement which is reminiscent of a horror film where you scream "Don't go down there"! Also you must bring your own lawn chairs and any other outdoor needs as the yard and garage are bare of those little extras most beach houses are equipped with. Bring extra blankets and pillows, might even want to bring your own sheets. Recognized a set of sheets I had in the 80's. Also had to use highly scented candles, not just because it's pet friendly, it's an ingrained overall "old" smell. We would not rent this house again. Yuk.
Daniel S. from Hermiston, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2013 The house is in an incredible location. The kitchen is large and well equipped. The private beach access is impressive. I would definitely go back. If you are looking for new and fancy, this is not your house. If you are looking for comfort, rustic, and character, this is the place to go. We had a great time.
A guest from west linn, Oregon does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in March, 2013 The entire 5 week days we were there the garbage cans out front were overflowing and the garbage NEVER emptied. We had no choice but to lay our own garbage on side of can. rats?? Our sheets smelled and I would not use them until I washed and dried them. No warning regarging indention at bottom of stairs and my husband spent entire week in pain because of it. We were told bbq included. Called out the office and showed bbq was unusable, they said they would take care of it. Never did a thing to get us another one. So much for bbqing at the beach on lovely days. Nice deck upstairs. Too bad not one chair to sit on and enjoy it! Would not recommend this house. Too bad because friends and I rent often at Rockaway.
Mike L. from Brush Praire, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2013 My family has stayed here many times and I'm sure we'll stay many more. The house wasn't as clean as it has been in the past, probably because the season is just getting started. Outside had some pieces of garbage lying around.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in December, 2012 Love this house! Love the location to the beach! Also love the privacy of the house! However, the house needs some things. Kitchen ware that is updated is very needed. Sharp and good knife set, cutting board and good set of pots. It can be a bit frustrating to make a big meal here. The bedrooms all have nice beds except for one upstairs ocean view room. It needs to be updated desperately! The two small beds are extremely uncomfortable and bedding is just plain bad. We have to draw straws each year to see who gets stuck with this room. We always enjoy ourselves and will continue to go back. However it would be nice to some of these upgrades done for the next stay.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in December, 2012 This was a fantastic getaway for a big group of my friends and myself. None of us have children, but we all work hard and need a break from the city every so often. We brought our dog mascot with us. We had plenty of room in the kitchen to cook and play card games. We enjoyed the fireplace and the views. My friends were thanking me all weekend for organizing the trip! Thank YOU for offering this experience.
A guest from Vancouver, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2012 Property had a musty smell that affected one of the guests very badly forcing the entire party to depart. TV and dvd volume very low and hard to hear. Nice kitchen but had thanksgiving dinner alone.
Rajani B. from Redmond, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in August, 2012 The property is very conveniently located near the bach. But the house looks very old from outside. We reached in the night and we felt like ghost house from outside. The carpet stinks and has some stuff in the house which are very old . The sheets could be more better.
Robin C. from VANCOUVER, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012 Our Family of 12 (Grandparents, sisters, husbands and kids) stayed here in July for 7 nights. We loved the location, and the house was great. It is very rustic so don't expect granite counters and white walls. We had read some reviews where people complained about the table being sticky so we threw in a table cloth, problem solved. The only items worth mention was the upstairs bathtub could have used a good bleaching and there really isn't enough seating in the family room for all 12 of us but we spent most of time on the beach anyway. They don't have a fire pit outside so we built fires on the beach and we brought a folding table so we could eat and play games outside. We had a wonderful week in a house that was a great value for the location, the number of people it could sleep and the ability for us to bring our pets.
Glynda A. from Baker City, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2012 as my husband needed to keep in contact with the hospital by accessing his desktop remotely the weak wi-fi signal required we drive every day to tillammook to mcdonalds to achieve this
A guest from Butte, MT recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012 We enjoyed our vacation at the McKinnon House it was the 2nd time we stayed there. The location to the beach is the best, the house is in need of some repair I do hope that they take care of the repairs and not let the house go without up keep,it is such a great old house. We plan to make Rockaway Beach a family get together very two years and hope to be able to stay at the McKinnon House fun was had by all.
Ellen K. from Escondido, CA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2012 We love the location of the McKinnon House! The furniture is not very comfortable to sit on , plus there is not enough seating for 10 people in the living area. The kitchen table needs to be refinished, very sticky to the touch.The only key is for the front door, why have the other keys? It's time for a few updates. We'll be trying a new location next year.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The homeowner plans to update this property over the winter months.
Kim G. from Oregon City, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2012 The house is a great vacation spot. No problems and very relaxing. Short walk to town and easy beach access. Very comfortable.
A guest from Moscow, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2012 This was a very comfortable house to stay in, with lots of space and a huge yard to play in. It feels secluded, yet is only about a mile from the stores in town. The beach access is the easiest we've ever had in several years of renting beach houses - just right through the bushes beyond the backyard to the sand. The beach itself is sandy for miles; if you want tide pools, you can travel south a few miles. We did wish for a few more blankets for the beds/futon, but on the whole we really enjoyed this house.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in December, 2011 We had 8 adults and a few dogs. The house couldn't be more perfect for what we wanted. The location is amazing. Right on the beach but private yard for the dogs and no close neighbors. We cooked and spent nights by the big fire place hanging out. We already planned our next trip back. It was the perfect house for us. It's not a new house with new appliances or brand new furniture but it has a lot of soul and great cabin feel.
Richard B. from Mc Minnville, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2011 My family enjoyed this Thanksgiving stay very much. Great location near the beach and great views of the raging ocean.We all sat around the table for our meals.Would love to come again.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in October, 2011 There was no trash bags for the kitchen except the one in there initially. no sponge in the kitchen. other than that it was wonderful.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are very sorry about the oversight. Normally, we provide a starter pack of supplies with these items. Next time, please give us a call and we will send someone over to drop these supplies off to you.
Linda S. from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2011 I wanted to take an opportunity to give some feedback on our rental at the McKinnon house for the past 5 nights. I was quite disappointed with the condition of the home during our stay. The odors were very strong throughout the house, we purchased Febreeze to try to deal with this. The fact that there were no screens on any windows would not allow us to open the windows for airing out - unless we wanted a lot of bugs. My main concern with the house however, is the disrepair and very shoddy construction /and or remodeling that has taken place on the premises. I have some serious concerns about the way in which the downstairs shower is installed/vented through the chimney, condition of the upstairs and front entrance porches with dry rot, upstairs shower "rod" made of a plastic pvc pipe and not extending around the entire tub area. Some of the ways in which this property has been "repaired" or "remodeled" clearly have not been done by a licensed contractor or in compliance with code. As a rental property, this is a safety issue. The ceiling also seems to have some serious leaking issues as it rained quite hard one evening while we were there and clearly water was coming in through the roof area upstairs. As a courtesy, I wanted to let you know what kind of a property you are representing. I will be following up with some of the safety issues I mentioned so you may wish to communicate these concerns to the owners. It is my feeling that it should not be used as a rental until some of these issues are corrected.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The carpets have all been shampooed to help eliminate the odor. This is an older beach house and does have a slight musty smell to it but we do have air fresheners throughout. Ocean front homes do not generally have screens on the windows because it blocks the ocean views. Thank you for letting us know about the construction. We will be looking into it.
A guest from Vancouver, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2011 Alot of positives, 3 bedrooms upstairs, one downstairs, large table in the kitchen and roomy living room with large fire place. Great for a large group (8-10). Great back porch and back yard with private path to e beach. The house is rustic and smelled a little old and musty on arrival. We left the front and back doors open for a couple of hours to let it air out, as there was only one window on the lower level that could be opened.
Property seems to be in need of some repair. Both decks seem a bit soft in spots. Bathtub drain ,drains very slow. No screen on
Ellen K. from Escondido, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in June, 2011 needs to be looked at.Dryer takes a long time to dry.Does not have 12 chairs to seat 12 people for meals at one time.Over all had an nice stay just needs a little up keep. I would recommend with warnings.Thank you :)Ellen
A guest from Richland, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2011 The ordor when we entered the house was over whelming. It smelled like dogs had been wetting in the house. We opened all the windows immediately to air it out. The dish washer had many broken prongs and the stove burners did not sit properly on the stove which made it very hard to cook. There were many cracked and broken plates that should be replaced. The cooking utensils are in very bad condition and need to be replaced. The refrigerator worked well. I would recommend the property for the location only but would not give it an overall good rating. I repeat again the odor was over whelming.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The carpet has been shampooed so this took care of the smell.
Terry P. from Beaverton, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in May, 2011 Our new favorite place to stay in Rockaway! We've rented from you folks for years, and this one is the best place yet. Thank you.
A guest from White Salmon, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2010 This is older house with character and oceanfront charm. Anything and everything you could need in the kitchen is provided. It's a good place for gatherings and noise does not carry throughout the house. The only negatives are that is was a little musty and there was an interesting collection of broken stuff. If you're into magazines, books, videos, and cassette tapes from the 80's and 90's, this place is a must!
Jaymee J. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2010 Great location, good deal on the beach. We were disappointed that the wireless connection didn't work, and when we called the property manager to try to resolve the issue, they promised to call back and never did. We relying on having internet as one person in our party needed to take his boating license test in order to go on a planned boat outing during the stay. Also, we were overcharged for our pets, but the property manager did resolve that when it was pointed out.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2010 The location was ideal, and the house very comfortable. It was a great place for kids and adults to get together.It would have been nice to have the water turned on for the outside hose, so we could wash off feet before coming inside. We had to bring out water to rinse off so we wouldn't track sand all over the house.
A guest from Coeur D Alene, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2010 We enjoyed the property, the beach access was very confenient, the house is alittle more rustic than we had rented in the past which I believe made our Beach experience even better. The only thing I think I would bring next time would be a few better Pots and Pans espcecially a Skillet, as far as the condition of the house it was great, other than maybe replace some of the light bulbs.
Some Upgrades are needed...water pressure upstairs was poor.
Ellen K. from Escondido, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2010 Due to no garbage disposal there was no trash bags to put the garbage in. We bought and left them for future visitors. BBQ utensils need to be added.Not enough plates,silverware or seating for more than six people.Overall we had a Great visit.Thank you :)
Thanksgiving at the McKinnon House, Rockaway Beach
A guest from Anchorage, AK recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2009 For the last ten years or so, our family has gathered on the Oregon Coast at Thanksgiving. Our favorite place to meet is the McKinnon House. We love the fireplace where we wrapped potatoes in foil the first night we arrived there in 2001; there had been a violent storm flooding highways and disrupting power. But the fireplace worked fine, and by the time the lights came on, we were eating our baked potatoes, telling stories and just being happy to have made it through the storm. When we found the secret trail the next morning, through the woods to the beach, we knew we had chosen the perfect spot. We've added four members to our family since then, but the house still works fine. (We hope the rent will stay affordable. We'd like to come back for another ten years.)
Peter L. from Big Fork, MT does not recommend this property. Stayed for 6 days in October, 2009 Nice location, and great beach - but the the house is just this side of dilapidated. The owner has clearly decided not to put any money into basic maintenence of the structure. Water came in through the bedroom window and onto our heads the first night we were there. There were cigarette butts, a beer can and other trash just off the back deck. The rental staff were helpful and seemed concerned. Owner needs to decide whether he wants to rent a beach house or just a dive rental. Sorry to sound so blunt, but we drove two days, each way to get there and back and paid over a thousand dollars for the rental. It could be a great place if it were well maintained and repaired.
Carillon O. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in July, 2009 This house is good for a larger family group and beach access is easy. I especially enjoy the large backyard and porch.
Cassandra W. from Richland, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 6 days in July, 2009 The McKinnon house is a wondeful size for a large family, but there are so many things that could be done to make it more "user friendly." The pole in the kitchen is unbelievable! The stove was very difficult to operate; no hocks or towel racks in the bathrooms or bedrooms; bedside lamps would be good; dishes were nearly all cracked or chipped; eyepiece was missing from the telescope; fan in bathroom didn't work; closets smelled so bad they were not usable and the basement was equally smelly, but we braved it to use the washer and dryer. The private path to the beach has a 6 foot drop at the beach.
A guest from Oregon City, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2009 WE enjoyed our 4th of July in the Mckinnons Beach house. This was largely due to the amazing comfortable vacation rental! The walk to the beach was easily maneuvered by the children and my pregnant daughter in law. The Fireworks on the beach were amazing. And the Jacuzzi tub was a great way to end the day! Thank you...we will be using you again.
Misti W. from Damacus, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 1 days in April, 2009 We really enjoyed our stay and appreciate the hospitality. The kids had a blast being so close to the beach and roasting marshmellows in the fireplace.
Mary G. from Richland, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2008 Heater did not work on first day, but was quickly fixed by property manager. Bathroom sink would not drain and plumber did not come to fix, despite our multi day stay. Not as clean as previous places we have stayed at with this property manager. We dusted, vacuumed, and washed linens to make sure they were clean. If it were cleaner the cabin would have been much better. Our family had a wonderful time. The views were so-so for a beach house but it was still nice. We enjoyed the stone fireplace.