Lodge~great large group getaway only 1/2 block to the beach!!
Manzanita - This beautiful new home is located on a quiet beach access road and has some ocean view. It?s tri-level, craftman style design is very spacious. It is the perfect place for a large family gathering. The entrance of the home is located on the mid section of the house. From the foyer a rock tile floor leads to three bedrooms and a common full bath.
Downstairs there are two additional bedrooms, a shared full bath, and a den. The den is a relaxing area where there are comfortable furnishings and a TV.
Located upstairs is the great room, kitchen, and master bedroom. The large great room is designed with high ceilings, Pergo floors and lots of windows.
There is lots of comfy seating positioned around a beautiful river rock gas fireplace.
The fully equipped kitchen offers granite countertops and convenient appliances.
The luxurious master bedroom is complete with a deep soaking tub in its private bathroom.
Additional amenities include TV/Satellite/VCR, CD player, video library, large deck, hot tub, microwave, dishwasher, and washer/dryer. No smoking please.
**Holiday Premiums will apply over all July 4th reservations** ~ MCA# 196
Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 2 Queen, 4 Twin, 1 Full
Pets: Dogs Allowed
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office * Convenience: Area FitnessCenter, Golf Course, Nearby Grocery * Entertainment: Cable TV, DVD Player, Ping Pong Table, VCR, WiFi, Air Hockey * Geographic: Near Beach, Near Hiking/Biking Trails, Near State Park, Close to Golf Course * Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster * Living: WiFi, Garden Tub, Fireplace - Gas, Linens, Pack & Play, Washer & Dryer * Outdoor: Balcony, Gas Grill, Hot Tub * SUITABILITY: pets considered
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Perfect for a Group!
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in July, 2016 This house was perfect for our group of friends on our 14th annual coast getaway. The top floor great room and deck really make this house, it was a lovely space, and everyone naturally gravitated there. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, pans, etc. and there were ample towels in the bathrooms.There were just two small negatives. One is the limited parking. We parked several cars on Necarney between Spindrift and Ocean Crest and then just hoped we wouldn't get towed. We didn't, so yay. Next year we'll try carpooling.The second is that the house is "well-loved", as in lots of scuffs, dents, and minor maintenance issues. Nothing was a deal breaker, but if you're expecting high-end 5-star luxury, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a comfortable house at the beach where everyone gets a real bed, this is it! And we will definitely stay here again!p.s. When you arrive, turn on the dehumidifier in the basement, it really does help with the damp smell.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
A guest from spokane valley, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2016 The Lodge is a spacious home close to the beach. It truly is a beautiful layout that offered enough room for eight adults and five rambunctious boys. It provided plenty of kitchen, bathroom and bedroom amenities. The walk to the beach gave us close and easy access. We all enjoyed the comfort of the home. I would definitely rent this home again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
Michael M F. from Cheney, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2016 This place is just what it is: a plain big house that accommodates a lot of people quite well. It is nothing fancy but it does the job. It is an easy walk from the beach but has no real view of the ocean. It sleeps a big group with only one complaint about a lumpy mattress. The kitchen is well enough equipped that nothing extra is needed except for special items; just what they tell you in the description of the place. There is a bit of deferred maintenance here and there but nothing that detracts from the comfort and function on the place. We would happily rent it again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we will forward your comment regarding the mattress to the homeowner. We hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
A guest from West Bountiful, UT recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2016 We enjoyed the large living area with seating for all of us. The 1/2 block to the beach was great. Need a shade on door from master bedroom.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we will recommend a shade for the master bedroom to the owner. We hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
A guest from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in March, 2016 Five adults and eight kids had a very fun and relaxing Easter break at this very comfortable vacation home! ??????????
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
Kay S. from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in December, 2015 Great houses, great location. We had a Christmas family reunion and everyone had a fantastic few days together. The location and homes made it work out perfect would recommend the houses and the wonderful people at Sunset Rentals.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
Gail L. from Milton Freewater, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in October, 2015 wonderful place to rest and hang out with friends. nice to be so close to the beach.only disappointment was we couldn't get the lock open for the hot tub Saturday night and it was too late to call for help. Some of us left on Sunday morning and others stayed longer...
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you so much for your review of the LODGE. We are sorry you had issues with the Hot tub lock and we will have our maintenance crew check to see if the lock needs replaces. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay though and hope we can help you with your future vacations here at the beach.
Virginia G. from Tualatin, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2015 My family and I are happy with the 6 bedroom home so we can be together. Nice large kitchen, dining room, living room space for socializing. and the beach is just down at the end of the road.
Susan T. from Tacoma, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 8 days in August, 2015 Big house well equipped but its general state is very run down. It feels like it has junk in every drawer and wires exposed rather than hiding them behind TV. It is reasonably priced for the size. We visit Manzanita every year for 1 week and we won't return to this place.
A guest from Portland, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2015 Great location. Everything in house as advertised. Kitchen and furnishings are more modern/updated than many similarly priced rentals at the beach. SSVR was easy to deal with as usual. But I'd share 3 possible issues with prospective renters: 1) House is generally "loud", perhaps because of the hard-surface floors and seemingly uninsulated walls and plumbing. Lots of people may not notice or care, but everyone in our group noticed it, compared to other nearby houses we've rented. 2) The one refrigerator was missing all the door shelves/bins which cost a fair bit of storage. If you have a "full house" and plan to bring enough food for cooking etc, consider bringing a cooler for extra storage. 3) It's a minor thing, but the state of repair of the ping-pong table is bordering on unusable. We jury-rigged it enough for the kids to use though and they all enjoyed it.
A guest from Bainbridge Island, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in July, 2015 9 of us enjoyed our stay. It was very close to the beach with a peekaboo view. The main living area was bright and cheerful. Windows could have been cleaner, but just shows how bright it was, which we loved. The kitchen was terrific, which we used every night to prepare dinner. If you like family games, you need to bring your own, as there were very few. All beds were SUPER comfy. Basement had a musty odor with a dehumidifier in need of cleaning and basement shower was spraying water everywhere. Maintenance was there 10 minutes after we called and fixed it so kudos for responsiveness!! All in all a comfortable, clean, spacious, and bright home that has many amenities and responsive mgmt when things are below standard.
Grant H. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2015 27 of us (ages 2-66) got together in Manzanita for 5 days around the July 4th holiday. The Lodge was our primary gathering spot and was big and open enough to comfortably hold full family gatherings. We also had 2 other houses (Gentle Breeze & Spindrift) that got lots of use as well. While the homes show a little age, they are very well maintained and clean. In some ways it would have been nice to be right on the beach, but having all 3 homes so close to each other and less than a block to beach access was great. Manzanita is such a fun little beach town and the 4th celebration was pure Americana. Tons of fun things nearby for all ages. Sunset Vacation Rentals was great to work with from initial planning to check out. A wonderful time for all.
Tiffany L. from Boise, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2015 Overall, this was a good fit for our large group of 13. PROS: The location is spectacular; it's the 4th house from the sand on a quiet dead-end street. The beach is quiet and beautiful (but WINDY!). And Manzanita is a quaint little town with idyllic shops. The house is very large and because there are bedrooms on all 3 levels, it is easy to put little ones down early in a quiet spot. The kitchen is pretty well stocked and is a large enough to prepare meals for a big group. There is a lot of natural light on the top floor and the deck was a great place to eat or read.The CONS: the house gets a lot of wear from renters and it shows. There are several areas that need to be repainted and general wear and tear is visible at every turn. Also, the basement is musty and although my kids complained it isn't unlivable. The side and back yard greatly need some maintenance and TLC. The lock to the hot tub was rusted closed and couldn't be unlocked.
Anne B. from Forest Grove, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2015 The house was great--it accommodated our large party easily. The beach was at the end of the block and town was an easy walk away. Would definitely rent this place again.
Sage L. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in June, 2015 The location was superbThe home was nicely laid out, lots of natural light, open floor plan and good for our large family gatheringThe place was general clean, but in need of a deep clean- I noticed the ceiling fan in the frontroom had very thick layers of dust, the drawers to the dresser in the master dusty with food crumbs- beyond the surface if you looked you would notice it hadn't been deeply cleaned in a while. That would be my only negative comment. Otherwise the home was comfortable, nicely stocked and the rental company easily accessible for questions or concerns. We would return in the future!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you for the feed back, we will be sure to get in and do a thorough clean!
Trudy Z. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2015 This house made a great location for a retreat of women. We had plenty f room for everyone and the kitchen is fabulous. We'll be back.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in March, 2015 Comfortable home with many bedrooms. Nice amenities, great kitchen and dining table for groups of 8. Comfortable beds although one bedroom in lower level is noisy due to heat unit?
Dana M. from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in January, 2015 We have a group of friends that likes to get away a couple times a year, and this year we stayed at The Lodge. What a perfect space! Everyone had a bed, the living room was a great size for everyone to gather for games and socializing, and the beach is a short walk away. We'll be staying here again!
A guest from Hillsboro, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2014 We had enough space for everyone in our group. The basement was like it's own complete area. The location was excellent. The home was clean, although as expected from a rental house, there were a few things in less than top condition. Probably the most inconvenient was the TV, which seemed to have rudimentary hookups for the cable box, etc. The picture would glitch out, especially "on demand" when watching a movie. The ping pong table had no ping pong balls and the air hockey table--too small for true enthusiasts--had no puck. I recommend a foosball table and/or vintage arcade games instead. Overall, the Lodge was very good for our group getaway and fun was had by all.
A guest from Molalla, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in December, 2014 The house was very nice--clean, comfortable, well-equipped and accommodating. However, we really had a problem with the parking. We knew parking was limited but were under the impression that overflow parking was nearby. It's not within walking distance and we had to shuttle people to/from their cars parked in town (which is quite a distance from the house). Other than that, it was a perfect place to stay.
Andrea V. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in November, 2014 We have stayed at the lodge each of the last three years with a large group of families. We love all being in the same house together for a weekend. It has everything we need to cook big family-style meals. The only thing that would be great is some extra chairs to fit around the table upstairs.
Robin R. from Bremer, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2014 Our family stayed at the Lodge in Manzanita to celebrate my mom's 90th birthday party. It was the perfect place for all of us. Comfortable accommodations for 11 people, with room for a couple more. The kitchen and living room area in this house are perfect for a large group. The kitchen is incredibly well stocked. Sunny, airy and comfortable, with the big, wrap around deck with BBQ extending the space to the outdoors. The living room is spacious and bright, with comfy couches, arching windows and a gas fireplace. While there is no view of the water from here, you can hear the ocean, and it's just a short, easy stroll to the beach. The house is wonderfully decorated with a coastal theme, complete with gigantic glass floats. The house is in good condition, and although there are a couple of cosmetic things that need attention, we never felt like we had to be overly cautious. Those staying on the ground floor have lots of stairs to get to the living space on top, so some buns were in a bit better shape for having stayed there. It was a great place to just relax into and enjoy! We definitely plan to come again.My only suggestion would be to replace the shelves on the fridge door and make improvements to the area around the hot tub. It could use more pavers and a stable step and handrail to help people get in and out. And we never did find a cookie sheet, but that might have just been an oversight on our part.
Virginia G. from Tualatin, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2014 This is a lovely house with good location to beach. My family all like to stay together and this house has 6 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms! Only complaint is the humidifier had not been emptied ( bottom floor ) and the BBQ tank was empty (which they promptly replaced upon our call). Again - very nice property. Lovely kitchen/dining/family room.
Malcolm P. from Cowichan Bay, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014 The upstairs and master bedroom were superb.All the downstairs beds, bedrooms and accommodation was more appropriate for a family with lots or children, not adult couples.Those beds were uncomfortable, with insufficient bathrooms for that number of bedrooms.For the price, the whole house should be top standard.
A guest from Bellevue, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 10 days in August, 2014 Property was as described. Fantastic location, dead end street, short walk to the beach. A beautiful dog friendly house. We had a few concerns: Hot tub very nice, but difficult to get into without stepping in dirt/2 short adults in our group had trouble climbing in, no platform. We needed a pasta pan that was not rusted. None was available. Parking only allowed 2 cars in driveway. One car HAD to be in garage, so much juggling of cars required. (really unable to use pingpong table) Threat of towing was not so pleasant if we parked 3 cars on property limits.
A guest from Colbert, washington recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014 We loved it! Had a total of 16 people, perfect set up for us! Our party included a total of 4 children under the age of 5, great set up for that as well. Cooking facility was great.
A guest from Eagle, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2014 We had a fantastic stay at The Lodge! The home felt clean and had everything we needed! Our group consisted of 4 families (8 adults and 4 kids). This house was the perfect size for us to all gather as a group to eat meals and play games! Yet, with 3 floors, we all had our own space to get away if we wanted! The location was perfect. Just a short walk to the beach which made it easy To go back and forth since we had a baby, 5yr old, and two 8 yr olds! It was a perfect, relaxing weekend with plenty for us all to do! We will be back!
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2014 A large home on a beautiful beach with a view of other homes. Advertised "partial view", on the deck to the side between houses in the distance. Hot tub located on side yard in the dirt next to the fence and a fee of 35$, we didn't use it. Plenty of bedrooms were clean and a roomy living room. HDTV advertised but not connected.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in April, 2014 This house is spacious and beautiful and close to the beach. It easily accommodated our group. The beach access path is just steps away from the home which is super convenient. This place was great for kids of all ages. It is a 10 minute walk from town, and close to Nehalem Bay which was nice. The management company was easy to work with. There is NO WIFI in this house, and the furniture/bedding could be updated to provide a more comfortable stay. The parking is also not ideal. There is a 3 car limit with the only other available parking in town. Overall, our experience was great, and we'd definitely rent this place again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals There is internet for this home
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in March, 2014 The house is in a great location and looks beautiful from the photos. The living area was very nice as was the master bedroom. However our guests felt like the whole house just needed a deep cleaning (new pillows, sheets, scrub the floors, etc). There were chewed sunflower seeds found on the bathroom floor for example. And the pillows were so old and stained. Just needs some TLC to make it a great house.
Kristen C. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2013 The house was nice, clean and spacious, great location for walking down to the beach. Our disappointment was that the lower level bedroom with the double bed was sorely inequitable from the other rooms and not nearly as nice as it looks in the photo. It was very ?basement like? tucked into the back corner by the air hockey. It made for an awkward situation when the other rooms were much nicer, and the couple that was to have that room ended up sleeping in the mid-level with twin beds. Otherwise, a great place to bring the kids.
wonderful home. Lots of room for a big group. Lovely great room
Virginia G. from Tualatin, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2013 I graded down the general condition and clean ratings because the BBQ was VERY dirty and started on son put it out and cleaned it and the drip cup which was loaded with grease. Clean - under the couch looked like it hadn't been vaccummed under. In the garage the ping pong equipment were scattered all over and dirty and paddles in poor condition.
If you like squirrels living in the walls, you'll love this house
Candace A. from Bothell, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2013 The Lodge has everything the listing says: hot tub, ping pong, great access to the beach, and as a surprise bonus you get squirrels making a racket in the walls preventing sleep. If you use only one of the bedrooms, you should be fine because you can switch rooms away from the squirrels. But if you have all the rooms in use, be prepared for being woken up many times per night, and children with a new phobia of squirrels attacking them in their sleep. Upon contacting property management after the first night, they did send out pest control. ANOTHER squirrel trap was placed next to the one already there. Clearly this is a known issue and should have been resolved before guests check in. When asked to be moved or receive a partial credit towards our next stay, we were told we couldn't move and there are no refunds or credits. All in all we had a disappointing stay and little cooperation to resolve our concerns/disrupted stay.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals As soon as we learned that pests got into the walls, the homeowner promptly called pest control and the issue was elimited. We are very sorry for the inconvienence.
A guest from Kent, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in July, 2013 We had room for three families, plus Grandma and Grandpa. The house is clean and roomy. It is in a great location for access to the bay and the beach and the town. We had problems with the refrigerator during our stay, but the rental company was responsive and quickly tried to help us solve the problem. The new bar-b-que is nice and the hot tub is a welcome amenity. At least one of the queen size mattresses needs to be replaced - way too hard for sleeping comfortably! If you are looking for an ocean view, this is not your house. But if you are looking for a nice house at a reasonable cost along a beautiful stretch of Oregon Coast, this house is great.
Robert C. from Beaverton, Oregon does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013 Some dishes and silverware were dirty. The grill was too dirty to use...spent an hour cleaning it. Can opener had so much gunk it wouldn't even work until we dug out the stuff.Not a fully or quality stocked kitchen. Many small repairs are needed as well as time for some painting in the top level. WiFi was advertised and there isn't one. Wood fireplace was advertised, and it is gas. Large west-side windows are great...but with no coverings on them or deck door cannot see the TV because of the glare...until dark. Lots of energy wastingwith these windows.And the worst: House is moldy !! The lowestlevel...a daylight obnoxious with the smell. Floor tiles actually squish up and down from the rot beneath them. We had 4 of our 12 people very uncomfortable with the mold...cough and sinus problems resulted. The rest of the 12 were just uncomfortable as well.The odor hits you when you open the door on themiddle level. Upstairs seemed OK...but the lower level was totally unacceptable. We hadto alter sleeping arrangements for health reasons especially with the 5 children.For this price, we should never have to do such as this...and we were asked to wash the linens !!
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2013 Overall the stay was great. My only complaint is that the grill wasn't working - it was completely rusted through and unusable. The house description and advertising should be changed to reflect this. My friends and I planned meals specifically around use of the grill and this was as fairly major inconvenience for us. Otherwise the house was great and the management company was wonderful as well.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals 5-17- A new BBQ has been purchased for the home.
Amanda G. from Lake Oswego, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2013 The location of the home was terrific and we were able to walk (frequently) along the beach and/or go for a run/walk through the state park right nearby.Unfortunately we were told there was Wi-Fi but there was not, which made connectivity somewhat difficult. In addition, the downstairs rooms were quite cold in the morning so wearing an extra layer in the winter is a must.Parking for a large group can be dicey. There is public parking but probably about 3/4 of a mile away (in town).Nonetheless, would rent again.
Michelle W. from Hood River, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in January, 2013 The layout of the home was fantastic and very inviting. I would recommend it for large groups and multiple families but beware the parking is very limited. Close and easy access to the beach, plenty of bathrooms, some games and a hot tub made it e perfect place for us. I would however like to see them upgrade and replace most of the linens and bedding that was worn and had some odors. We didn't have any hair dryers, there is no wifi available and it took us a while to figure out how to use the DVD player but these were minor inconveniences and will still stay there again.
Bridget Z. from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in January, 2013 We had a nice time with our friends, because the house was able to accommodate all 9 of us plus 2 dogs. The proximity to the beach was ideal. The hot tub was nice, and the fireplace was a bonus. We had a nice time. A couple of things however... The house seems to be falling apart and needs some maintenance. One of the selling points for us was the air hokey, but there was no puck. We called the office twice to get one, and there wasn't one available. The office personnel didn't try to compensate us at all. The basement smelled musty/moldy. The kitchen cupboards are falling off.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in November, 2012 Our extended family enjoyed a weekend at "the Lodge". Everyone that needed their own bedroom had one; the main room was fantastic for us. Our main complaint was that a few basics such as pepper and a full selection of pots/pans were missing. Also if you slept downstairs the heater made quite the noise. We had strong winds one night and the neighbors gate banged around for hours. They were careful about it the next night so we slept better. Overall we had a good experience.
Amber W. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2012 The Lodge was the perfect home for a large group: a lot of privacy between bedrooms and a very large common space for gathering. The home is also a very short walk to the beach. It is a short drive (or long walk) to the main town. There were a few details in the home overlooked: no large frying pan and a few other kitchen tools that would have been handy, the puck was missing for the air hockey, there was some damaged furniture that was not useable left on the balcony that should be removed, etc. Also, there is no internet access which honestly seems like a must these days in most rentals. We found the written communication in the house to be off-putting - it was worded quite harshly and while the house was very welcoming, the wording of the rules and regulations did not really convey a welcoming feeling. Overall the house was great and I would recommend for large groups. It met most of our needs, and we were able to make due where it lacked. Manzanita is a wonderful town, our favorite on the Oregon Coast!
A guest from Calama, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2012 We had a wonderful time there! Thanks!!(The town we're from is spelled Kalama, not Calama, so please change that when displayed.)
A guest from Tigard, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2012 Everyone enjoyed the house. The ocean view is actually a partial ocean view. Could only see a small part of ocean between houses and trees. Wi-Fi would be a big plus for future renters.
A guest from La Grande, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2012 The design of the house is very nice, lending itself to multiple family groups,nice combo of beds. House has had some hard use and needs maintenance. Says it is 1/2 block from beach, really it's that to end of St., then a walk of maybe 1/5 mile on sand path thru dunes to beach,which is not possible for elderly or disabled. Didn't use hot tub as EXTRA $30 charge to do so seemed like too much. Foosball table was broken & big TV blurry. Parking restrictions were a last minute surprise, didn't like parking a mile away in unsecure lot The decor was lovely, would probably stay again if broken and worn things were fixed.
A guest from Gresham, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in October, 2012 The accommodations were spacious. There was privacy in the sleeping arrangements and a great common area to gather. As well, we were blessed by perfect, sunny October weather.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2012 We loved our stay in Manzanita. The house was comfortable and I love the room arrangement. This house was in walking distance of everything in Manzanita.
Gillian B. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2012 we had a lovely family visit,the only complaint was very uncomfortable queen beds on the main floor which could easily be rectified. The big kitchen and living room acomadated 6 adults and 4 young children perfectly. Hope to stay again in the future
A guest from Tigard, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2012 It is so difficult to find houses with 6 bedrooms and it was nice we had enough room. The living room was great with enough room for us all to watch TV or play games or just hang out. The house is close to beach access and about 1 mile walk to town. All in all we had a good time, but there were several problems. Some of the carpets have large stains which feels like it's dirty. The bottom floor has a disagreeable smell because of the moisture and a dehumidifier must run all the time.Quite a few places throughout the house have missing or loose screws so it doesn't seem very sturdy.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you for letting us know. We will schedule a thorough carpet cleaning.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012 Overall it was a good experience. I would have given higher marks if the carpet in the bedrooms and stairs were not so stained. I realize these would be difficult to keep clean you would be better off removing them as the rest of the house has tile or wood floors. Also the BBQ grates were in VERY poor shape and would have liked hand towels for the bathrooms. With that being said this is a nice property, bathrooms are very clean, beds are pretty much what you would expect for a rental overall the house was clean except for the stained carpet and just a few dings on the walls that could use some touch up paint but this is to be expecet for a rental that caters to large groups. Huge living room with lots of space for everyone and our family had a great time and enjoyed our stay.
A guest from Worthington, OH recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2012 We had a wonderful time. Great location. Loved the deck! There were a few maintenance issues -- dryer did not work well, door out to hot tub was very difficult to open and close, locks on bathroom doors were broken and the kitchen equipment was a little spotty (dull knives, absent pot lids, etc.), but these were MINOR irritations. I'm wondering about the parking -- we were warned not to park on street and to limit cars, but nearby houses had 5 and 6 cars parked willy-nilly. Why the difference?
A guest from Tigard, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2012 Property has an absolutely gorgeous deck which we enjoyed emmensely. There is alot of deferred maintanence that needs to be done. Kitchen is a hodge podge of items and does not even have a large frying pan. There is a musty smell in the basement and we had to move out of the basement rooms because the smell was overpowering. I did notify the management company, but did not get any satisfcation. This is a beautiful home and if it was well maintained and the smell was gone, we would rent again, but until those are cleared up we will not.
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2012 Good location - a quick walk to the beach. Nice great room floor plan & great closed in wrap around deck. Well stocked kitchen & solid gas bbq. Lots of wear and tear (stained carpet, furniture falling apart, walls in need of a new coat of paint, squeaky, broken, uncomfortable beds). Musty, moist basement (where 2 of the bedrooms are). Overall, cheap finishes & in need of some TLC, especially for the rate being charged. We did not use the hot tub, because of the water dripping off the deck onto the tub (it's fun to tub in the rain, but not random drippiness from a structure above), so that was a waste of $30. Have rented frequently from SSVR and have always been satisfied with their service and most of the properties - this was by far my least favorite. Will not rent this one again, but will use SSVR.
Robert C. from Alberquerke, NM recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2012 This was a very comfortable roomy house for our family reunion. Everyone had their own bedrooms. There were plenty of bathrooms. There is a nice deck, barbecue, and hot tub. The beach is great. The kitchen, living room, etc. were very comfortable and had everything we needed. We would definitely recommend this to others and would be glad to come back and stay here again in the future.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in June, 2012 This house worked really well for a faculty workshop. The three different levels allowed for privacy, and the spacious third level suited our needs for meetings and meals.
Great place for a group retreat with 9 separate beds
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2012 Comfortable , great natural light, nice flat screen in living area ; kitchen well stocked with needed tools/appliances. Beds comfortable. Only wish was for warmer on the lowest level bedrooms.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in March, 2012 We were six adults, four kids and a dog. There was plenty of room for all of us to spread out and relax. We had a wonderful time. Great location steps from the beach. House was clean and bright. Would definitely come back.
Jana A. from Hood River, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2011 If a peace and quiet experience on the beach is what you want., and if you need a place for a family reunion, then this time of year, and this house is just the best venue. Our family did an early Christmas holiday this year at the lodge house...Great experience!. We Had sunny weather, and returned with great memories.
Elliot G. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2011 Comfortable and spacious house with good amenities.Several bedrooms and beds allow 9 men to each have a separate bed.Just missing a hot tub...
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The owner will be installing a hot tub in the next month or two!! Hot tub coming soon!
Audrey & Gary H. from Billings, MT recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2011 I left some comments on the card that was left on the table. Also,you should point out to renters that the trash has to be set out near the road on pickup days. They picked up the trash on our last day and the stink from the empty container was overwhelming, you could smell it 20 feet away.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you for your review. Unfortunately the garbage company likes to not always pick up the trash. Our homeowners pay extra for the garbage men to come up the house and pick up the trash. Sorry for the inconvenience.
A guest from Bothell, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2011 We loved staying here. Some would have liked internet access but, not me! My only complaint, really, was that the upholstery was a bit dirty. Thanks for a great time!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Very sorry about the upholstery. We usually get it cleaned before the summer rush and after it.
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in April, 2011 Our stay here was pleasant. The house is located on a nice, quiet street with direct beach access. The main living space was great - open and roomy and comfortable with very large windows and high ceilings. The master suite was fantastic in theory. However, we had three main issues with this house that we just couldn't get over given the price: numerous items were in need of repair, the quality of things like bedding, cookware, entertainment (games, specifically) was sorely lacking and in places the house seemed just generally dirty. We didn't use the entire bottom floor and were thankful - the area had quite a mildew-y smell and the beds were pretty funky down there. I would highly recommend a trip to IKEA or somewhere like that for some better basic amenities and linens. This house needs some TLC - it could be great, but it was just okay.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you for your review. We gave this review to the homeowner who has recently replaced the majority of the beds, all the bedding, the living room furniture, basement furniture and she has done quite a bit of redecorating. We apologize that you had those issues during your stay and hope that you return again.
A guest from West Linn, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in February, 2011 The house was booked specifically for a retreat and it fit those needs very well. Overall the house and location worked great and will probably rent same house for another retreat in the future. Just a couple of "things" that property owners might want to be aware of: one of the kitchen island drawers falls easily off tracks; fridge side shelves fell off; mold in middle floor bedroom with twins; one of the twin bed frames in the basement is broken. We worked around everything and it's all good... beach rentals are used and stuff happens. One thing for the house keepers is the master bedroom sheets did not fit bed which was pretty uncomfortable. But like I said we worked around and got used to the quirks. Thanks for a lovely retreat location. The living areas were perfect; the ocean spectacular.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you for th input. We are working at fixing all the listed issues.
A guest from Portland, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in February, 2011 This place was fantastic! We thoroughly enjoyed the comfortable, nicely appointed rooms, ample space and great layout and of course the easy walk to the beach. If I were the owner of this house, I'd be concerned about a few minor maintenance issues, such as a small area of damage on the kitchen floor, a kitchen drawer that derails easily, and a few pieces of furniture that need repair. But NONE of these things marred our enjoyment of this spectacular house. We hope to be back!
A guest from Bend, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in January, 2011 House was very comfortable but was further away from downtown than we had been told so we didn't walk. Great views, nice floor plan, and private! The master bed needs newer, nicer linens.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The homeowner has replaced all the linens and bedding in all the rooms.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2010 We had a great time at the Lodge and were able to sleep everyone comfortably with room to spare. The house has a calm and relaxing feel. The only drawback is that it's a bit far from town. That said, getting to town was just a short 15 minute stroll a long the beach.
Diana D. from Boise, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010 We are a diverse group. Every member of our family group was delighted with our Week at the Beach. The children christened themselves "The Beachhouse Kids." A wonderful full family reunion.
A guest from Portland, oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2010 It was our first time staying at the Lodge. It was a very nice homw, well furnished and very comfortable. Only issues were the gas bq that needed to be thrown away since had completely melted inside. We had lots of grilling to do and we very lucky to have year long residents next door kindly let us use their grill. The dvd player upstairs needs replacing as well. Sunset Rentals does a great job of listing this rental the way it really looked. We would most definately stay here again.
Scott N. from Lake Oswego, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2010 Nice house, great location. Just the details were missing- torn mattress pads, kitchen had only a few utensils- looked like left overs in a college house. BBQ is unbelievably rusty and really old. We have stayed in 4 other homes in Manzanita and used to own a home there- this was by far the worst equipped home- no ping pong balls- called mgmt and they told me where to buy some? TV's were all very small and old- 14 inch max? Movies on rainy days are not very satisfying. Home has potential to be great with some attention to details and ammenities.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you for your review and we apologize that you didn't have the best stay. The homeowner has gone through the entire house and has done quite a bit of redecorating. The house now has new living room furniture, new beds, new linens and bedding, new dining table, etc... We now have ping pong balls in stock, they can't be bought in this area you have to go to Seaside or Tillamook so that is no longer a problem.
Slow draining shower was not fixed during our stay. We requested it to be addressed upon our arrival but the shower continued t
Michele S. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2009
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We apologize that this issue was not taken care of during your stay. The issue has been resolved and we have new maintenance men on staff that can come out to take care of those issues.
A guest from Tualatin, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2009 We had a fantastic stay at the Lodge. The layout of the house was perfect for our large family and the proximity to the beach was awesome! Thanks for a great stay - we are already talking about planning our next visit to the Lodge!
Suzanne M. from Keizer, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2009 We had a wonderful time at The Lodge. The house had everything we needed for a long weekend. The beach is an easy walk, however, if you have elderly people with you, you might want to consider a drive to somewhere with easier access to the beach as my parents weren't able to get down the hill to the water. The house was what I call "Coastal Comfort" which is just what we were looking for. The cleaning deposit was a little high, and of course is non-refundable and the parking had to be pre planned as there were 4 different families that had to be squeezed into three vehicles as there is only room for three cars on the property, but we made it work...just took a little planning. All in all it is a great place to get away to and has plenty of room for the family. A bigger TV in the upstairs family room would be nice....just a suggestion. Thank you!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Great news! The homeowner put a new flat screen TV in the living area for guests enjoyment.
Overall we were very happy with our stay. House worked well with a large group.
Teresa R. from Nampa, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in September, 2009 Were disappointed with the maintenance, several broken things should have been repaired for cost of house. Was clean, but couches were torn and very dirty, need to be replaced. Beds were very comfortable, overall house was very comfortable.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We apologize about the maintenance issues. They have all been taken care of.
Angela C. from Camas, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2009 The location was great, very close to the beach and a reasonable walk to the Nehalem Bay State Park campground and downtown Manzanita. A couple of maintenence issues with doors, but I loved the deck!
A guest from Bothell, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2009 This is a great house for a large group of people. The top floor has a great floor plan for a group. The two bedrooms in the basement are not comparable to the others, especially the one with five well-worn twins--wish we hadn't included them in our bedroom count. We had issues with really stinky garbage from the previous renters sitting out front for the first couple days. This should not be considered a view property (from the ad, we thought we'd have a view), but it is close to the beach.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Sorry for the confusion about the beach view. We have replaced the picture with a view of the ocean from the house and the twin mattresses have been replaced.
A guest from Washington DC, recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2009 most of the beds need to be upgraded--the only big disappointment. need more glassware/silverware for big groups. broom and dustpan would be good. Sunset Rentals worked to make everything right--very helpful.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The beds have been replaced, along with their bedding and the homeowner has restocked the house.
A guest from Woodinville, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2009 We loved the size of the house and proximity to the beach. There were several things in house that needed repair - for $350 per night we thought the maintenance could be better.
Kelly K. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in April, 2009 The couch was pretty grungy and dirty, for the size of the living room and the cost of the nightly rental, we expected a bigger t.v. and maybe even a flat screen. The t.v. was too small and the dvd player didn't work properly. It kept freezing up (and it wasn't a dirty dvd, we had just played it at home and it was fine). However, we loved the size of the house, the way it was decorated and the proximity to the beach.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The homeowner has put all new furnishings in the living room along with a large flat screen TV!
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in December, 2008 Clean and generally nice, but lacking in the details- could use light bulbs, towel hooks, small dressers to put clothes in, mirrors, lamps, and clocks in bedrooms... that kind of thing. The floorplan made sounds travel to all three levels so very noisy.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The homeowner has gone through the house and did quite a bit of updating and redecorating.
Paul N. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in November, 2008 The dryer was not working well. It would take 2-3 cycles to finally dry clothes. Either the dryer has a problem or the vent is full of lint. Overall with a large party we wish we had a few more bathrooms but we loved the closeness to the beach and the overall house. One other recommendation would be to add a wireless network connection in the house.
A guest from Edmonds, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2008 We had a wonderful time staying at the Lodge. The house was great and we loved being so close to the beach. Thanks!