Manzanita - Cozy beach house in Manzanita- 3 bedroom, 2 baths and a loft. What a gorgeous home with lots of appeal and loads of charm. Every room is a delight to investigate and explore! As you walk through the front door into the living room, you will be taken by surprise by the wood burning stove that actually sits in two rooms through a brick archway. Follow the flow into the dining room and kitchen and enjoy the china hutch and notice the collections on the wall; beach shells, rocks, antique bottles and ocean buoys
Upstairs are the bedrooms and family room loft area. The master bedroom is a fisherman's paradise, complete with every kind of fishing equipment on display imaginable. It is the most visually interesting room in the house. So much to read, see, explore and take in -you'll love it. This is a lovely home with much to offer the person looking for a getaway or family vacation. Everything has been considered to make your stay fun and rewarding. There is plenty of room and once you stay you will want to visit it every year. Come relax, enjoy. This is a great house- just 4 blocks to the beach and 1 block to town. Nice back yard to sit and read or just relax. It is in a quiet area of Manzanita.
**Holiday Premiums will apply over all July 4th reservations**
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Spring break vacation Glenn H. from Gilbert, Arizona does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in March, 2016 The house overall was fine, the beds were very hard, 2" foam would help a lot. The back deck was very slippery and a lot of the wood planks were rotten, 2 of the planks broke from normal walking, my son almost broke his ankle from a plank braking and his foot going through the deck, there was no shampoo or conditioner, but yet were expected to do all the laundry, the dryer didn't work very good, it wouldn't heat up
3 days for New Years 2016 A guest from Bellevue, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2015 Overall the house was very comfortable. Great layout and nice rooms and amenities. Good location. Quiet, even though just right off Laneda. My only quibble is the carpeting. It is quite dirty and detracts from the other features of the house. If I were doing it, I would replace downstairs with laminate, and re-carpet the stairs and bedrooms with a more utilitarian type. All that would really bring up the quality. Also need new plug-in stove elements (inexpensive at Home Depot).
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach. We will pass along your recommendations to the owners regarding the stove and carpet issues.
Charming, fun house Mary B. from Bend, Oregon recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2015 Gables House was a great place for my family to stay. It was very comfortable and accommodated all of our needs. It was a great experience.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
Easy place to stay A guest from Portland, Oregon recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2015 Nothing fancy but a suitable, clean, basic beach rental, conveniently located. Easy walk to the beach and downtown.
A Wonderful Week in Manzanita Lara B. from Franklin, WI recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2015 My sister and I rented this house less than a week before our vacation when our original lodging (not with Sunset) fell through. Sunset Vacation Rental got back to us the same day we made our reservations and made it easy for us to book on such short notice. Once we got there, we loved the location and the amount of space in the rental. We could walk easily to shops, restaurants, a small grocery store and, most importantly, the large sand beach! The house itself was large and clean with plenty of towels and a fully stocked kitchen. The decor was plentiful and a bit dated, but we enjoyed playing cards and unwinding there at the end of full days of exploring the area. Manzanita is a wonderful vacation town, much more laid back than Cannon Beach, and there are great parks and beaches nearby. All in all, a fantastic experience.
Month in Manazanita A guest from Phoenix, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 25 days in June, 2015 We stayed for month and it was not long enough of a stay. The house is perfectly located near the downtown restaurants and the grocery/deli. The beach is a walk down the street. The house was a perfect size for our family. Overall the house was great, and we would be more than willing to stay again, without question. One suggestion, the personal items throughout the house are a little overwhelming. I would suggest for future rentals tone down the decorations, especially in the master bedroom.
Gables stay Marie H. from Salem, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2015 Overall we had a lovely stay. I did call after hours regarding questions on internet, lack of space in garbage can and different information in house book vs my contract. NEVER received return call! With outdoor garbage can full to brim we had to leave our garbage bags in kitchen for housekeeper. Final flush of upstairs toilet overflowed, we plunged & cleaned up...we had noticed it needed extra jiggle of handle to stop running at times. Kitchen well supplied.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We apologize for not getting back to you. With the busy Memorial weekend we missed your message being passed to the day shift from the after hours line. The house has just added Internet and we will be updating the house book to correct the internet information and dog policy . Thank you for letting us know about the upstairs toilet issue. It has been repaired now.
Gables review. A guest from Hiisborogh, North Carolina does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2014 Location is decent. Only a few blocks from beach. Very close to grocery shopping.Beds not that comfortable.No wifi.Property needs upgrading. Some simple things like new towels.
Gables House Colleen K. from Milwaukie, Oregon recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014 Nice clean rental. Everything you need is there. Would rent again. Would love owners to make yard more inviting and usable.
Great location, but house needs some updating A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013 We had a great time -- loved the proximity to the main street and the beach. Perfect for kids. The house could, however, use some updating -- new bed linens, towels, and a more complete set of drinking glasses and cooking utensils.
Gables House A guest from Salem, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2013 Great house, great location. Cute well furnished accomodations.Some cleaning issues. Floor never vaccuumed.Cheerios and puzzle pieces and debris on front room carpet. Wet laundry in dryer, dishes were clean in dishwasher but not put away,so hoped we would not get "fined" when we ourselves did the same due to the time constraints on the AM departure. :)Wonderful house!
Dark dreary house Ramona F. from Vancouver, WA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2013 This house is very dark inside. The tress block all the natural light and it seemed like evening all day long. Required lights on all day long. We did not feel well after day three and when checking out lifted up to see under the couch for any lost items and saw mice droppings completely covering the carpet! Bleah! And we had a toddles in the house.!
Do not expect to cook if staying at this beach house. Debbie P. from Portland, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013 The microwave was out of order, and also the hood fan. The stove only had one large burner functioning properly. There was not a knife in the drawer that was sharp enough to cut ANYTHING. Did not find enough large bowls or large pots or large skillets to enable us to prepare the meals. Light bulbs were out all over the house. A cobweb dangled 7 feet down into the living room. The propane BBQ looked like a project to get out and running, so we did not bother.
Great place to stay A guest from Eugene, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012 We enjoyed the location and convenience to town and beach. The home was clean and great for a family.
Gables House Review Colleen H. from Portland, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2012 Great location and accommodations were spacious. However, one bed was too hard and the king bed too soft and sagged. Couches and chairs also uncomfortable and need cleaning under the cushions. Garbage can had not been emptied and was filled when we arrived.
Great family vacation! Danielle A. from Renton, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012 We enjoyed our stay at the Gables house. It was clean and the perfect size for our family. The mattress in the master bedroom wasn't very comfortable however, and people staying across the street were noisy a few nights. Overall, we had a good experience and everything we needed. Thank you!
Squirrel House James K. from Vancouver, WA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2012 The house was nice however it was difficult to sleep due to a squirrel running around in between the floors and rolling nuts at all hours of the day and night. The trees are serverly overgrown all around the house and should be trimed back to open it up to the light
beach stay Joyce B. from Powell Butte, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2012 Our stay ais a girls only family weekend. We always enjoy our stay. Two of the things that all participants mentioned was the watered down soap and old skippy bath towels--they could be updated and improved.
Staying in Manzanita Victoria G. from La Grande, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in March, 2012 Gables House was very nice. The location was great, beds comfortable, and management company very responsive. I do wish we had been given the correct access code, as we had to spend almost an hour trying to get into the house. But when the DVD didn't we kids work and the kids had rented movies they took care of it right away. Overall I would recommend this home for a fun stay at Manzanita.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We thank you for your stay and apologize that you didn't have the correct access code at check-in. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and hope to see you again!!
Great Location Julie S. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2011 We had a great stay at the Gables House. The only suggestion I have is to update the wall plugs, they are so wide that most of our phone chargers or laptop plugs slid out. Otherwise a perfect, simple, clean place to stay.
Gables July 14-21, 2011 A guest from Bellevue, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in July, 2011 My daughter left 4 shirts in an upstairs bedroom closet, which I notified your office of the day after we vacated. I was assured that the cleaning staff would be advised immediately and I would get a call back once they were located. 5 phone calls later (from me)and no one ever found the shirts, even tho the house was not actually cleaned until 2 days after we left. It would have been so easy for someone from your office to walk to the house after my first phone call, get the shirts out of the closet and call me back. We have been coming to Manzanita for 20 years, and have used your company several times in the last 5 years, but for the first time I felt like you just couldn't be bothered to help us. Didsappointing to say the least. You have some great houses in your rental pool, and I have no real complaints about the house, but I am not sure we will use your company again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are very sorry that you feel this way. We did have the cleaner notified to go over there and check to see if they could find the shirts which they did as soon as they were able. I am sorry you did not receive the customer service that we normally provide and we definitely hope to make it up to you.
A guest from Beaverton, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2010 The kitchen was stocked, but with pans and utensils(i.e. spatulas that were shredded at the tip)that were not usable. The condition of the "mini-gas grill" was unfortunately also unusable. Perhaps, the description of the property's amenities should be amended.
Great! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We brought our friends again this year that were here from Arizona. We hope to come back Kathy B. from Estacada, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2009
Great except for beds! Christie W. from Portland, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2009 This is a clean property in a great location. The king bed, however, was of terrible quality--unsupportive and felt like there were 2x4s rammed in underneath. Bedding was scratchy--I recommend switching to all cotton bedding. Also, please update your information about the grill, as we had to call about it, and brought charcoal from home for no reason.
I believe some of your requirements were very unbusinesslike. We all feel because of them, we would not like to do business wit A guest from Beaverton, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 6 days in August, 2009
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We have very few requirements and are very sorry for any misunderstandings. We hope you give SSVR another try.
carpet smells John M. from Yakima, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2009 bad smell of carpet pet oder in ground floor master bedroom and hallway.thanks for fixing the upper master bed issue--helped alot.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The carpets have been cleaned and are being cleaned frequently.
Thanksgiving Christopher H. from Vancouver, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in November, 2008 Staying a the beach is a tradition with us, this year we brought along out of town guest - what a wonderfull time - sitting by the fireplace, playing cards, walking into town. We had a great time.