Edgewater~three story home is beach front and great for a large family
Rockaway Beach - Lovingly restored, this 1919 craftsman combines the best of both worlds to make for a wonderful vacation experience. Boxed-beam ceilings, wainscoting and a large fireplace with a woodstove insert take you back to the graciousness of a bygone era, creating a peaceful coastal retreat. The new, large gourmet kitchen is all 21st century?perfect for cooking for two or more than a dozen, with granite countertops, stainless steel appliances and Pergo floors. An enormous front porch faces the ocean, ideal for watching the sun sparkle on the waves, gazing at gorgeous sunsets or the lights from the fishing boats at night.
During the day, relax in the sun in the beach front yard or step out of the gate to enjoy the dunes, the waves or a walk to the Barview Jetty. If you?re feeling more adventurous, you?re just minutes from kayaking, deep sea fishing, crabbing and two lovely lakes for boating and water skiing. After enjoying a bonfire at night and gazing at the shooting stars, watch a movie in one of the two separate living areas?both with comfortable couches, TVs and DVDs, giving everyone plenty of room to unwind. Five tastefully furnished bedrooms that sleep up to 14 and two brand new bathrooms ensure plenty of privacy for all.
All you need to complete your beach experience is to book your vacation here today!
**Holiday Premiums will apply over all July 4th reservations**
Bedding Configuration: 2 King, 1 Twin, 4 Bunk
Pets: Dogs Allowed
Additional Features: * Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby Post Office * Convenience: Nearby Grocery * Entertainment: DVD Player, Foos Ball Table, Satellite TV, WiFi * Geographic: Close to Town, On Beach * Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster * Living: Wood Stove, Ceiling Fans, Central Air, Linens, Washer & Dryer * Outdoor: Fenced Yard, Outdoor Shower, Charcoal BBQ Seasonal Only * SUITABILITY: pets considered
This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
Birthday by the Beach
Suzanne S. from Bellevue, WA does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2016 If it were not for the strong odor throughout the entire house, which took 5 days to air out, the steep stairs to upper four bedrooms with no upper floor bathroom, no ventilation in the sun room other than leaving the front door open & no picnic table, we enjoyed the well equipped kitchen, the view, the beach and family time. P.S.Instructions for all 6 remotes and the whereabouts of a broom would have been helpful.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are glad your enjoyed the view and had a lovely time with family. We are very sorry about the issues regarding the odor in the house. That was the first we were notified of the problem. We will make sure a broom is available in the house and that we pass on your comments to the owner regarding the instructions for the remotes. We hope we can help you with a future reservation here at the beach.
A guest from Eugene, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2016 Thanks to the owner for making their place available to others. We felt at home instantly. It's comfortable, esthetic, and updated without destroying it's character.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
A guest from Bend, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2015 Renting a house that you've never seen can be such a random event...We stayed in this home for 4 nights over Thanksgiving and had a great time. The house is a beach house right on the sand and access to the beach is through the gate. The house easily accommodated our large family including our dogs. The kitchen was outfitted very well and there was space for 13 of us to sit and have Thanksgiving dinner. This is a great house for all ages as there is separation...put the kids downstairs and the adults up. The middle floor is living space, kitchen and dining. There is a sun porch seen in the picture here which adds more living area. We were fortunate that, for the days we stayed it was sunny, no wind and the sunsets were stunning. We highly recommend this home.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and were lucky with the weather as well. This is a great house for large groups. We hope we can help you plan your next vacation here at the beach.
RICHARD F. from VANCOUVER, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in October, 2015 This house fit our family perfectly, we have been getting together at Rockaway beach for the last 3 years, this house is our favorite house and plan on hopefully staying here again next year around the same time
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you so much for your review of the Edgewater Beach House. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to help you with your future vacations here at the coast.
Georgene K. from Lake Oswego, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in September, 2015 Overall a great place to vacation, especially with children. House is right on the beach with a fenced back yard in grass - if you have a pet, this is perfect. The house was very clean and did not smell "beachy". Wonderful basement with bedroom and bath along with space for football table, which the children liked. Bedrooms on third floor, so main floor was large, well trafficked and clean. I would not hesitate to stay there again.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you for your review of Edgewater Beach house. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come stay with us again.
Lawrence M. from Bothell, Wa. recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in July, 2015 Loved our stay at Edgewater Beach! Felt like home......lots of connecting spaces for small and large family get togethers. We could choose the sunroom or dining room for dinner time and watch the waves no matter the weather! Loved hearing the ocean from our bedroom overlooking the water......the moonlight shimmered right in front of Twin Rocks...... :)
A guest from Hillsboro, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in June, 2015 We love staying at this Property that is right on the beach. It's clean, has a great kitchen and there is lots of room. I have only two contructive comments. The cleaning staff use a "Pledge" like product with WAX to "clean" the laminate floors. I (58 year old) slipped and nearly fell FOUR times. Our whole family commented on slippery and dangerous it was. If you have older, unsteady family members, you might want to rethink staying here.The other issue was that though the site says there is a BBQ, there was NO BBQ. I called the office and they said, "sorry, it broke" and though we were there a week, a BBQ was not provided. That was irratating.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We apologize for both the floors and BBQ. I have alerted the cleaner who used that product to stop using it immediately because it is causing slipping. We had an unfortunate accident with the previous renters accidently damaging the BBQ, so we ordered a replacement immediately. Unfortunately, it didn't arrive for your stay. We apologize for that.
Kannon M. from Enterprise, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2015 We had a wonderful stay. 4 adults, 5 "adult" kids and 3 teenagers. Plenty of space for everyone to spread out, but also cozy enough for quality time playing games and chatting. Great view and beach access. All the amenities you would need. Bathrooms are updated (I was a tad worried, since no pictures)and towels were plenty. We'd be happy to return.
Cindy G. from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in April, 2015 Great time, great location, nice facilities. Check in too late 4pm, should be 2-3pm and check out should be around noon -1pm. Otherwise a perfect place that I plan to rent in the future.
A guest from Dallas, TX does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in October, 2014 Access to the beach was fantastic! We were thrilled with that and that our dogs were welcome. We love the rental company and have used them 3 times. The kirchen, bathrooms, and laundry facilities were updated and quite nice. The furniture was ok, but the lamps were wobbly and the electric cords worried me. The house is on 3 levels and rather inconvenient on that account with LOTS of steps which people my age should consider beforehand. The lower level and bedroom there are too dark. The house is very close to its neighbors, but we experienced no difficulty with that. Overall, I would say the house needs to be updated. The tv, internet worked well, though.
A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in August, 2014 This house was great. We had a large party and there were plenty of places to sleep for everyone. The location was perfect, quiet beach and a separate yard. Couldn't have asked for anything better!
Lawrence M. from Bothell, Wa. recommends this property. Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014 Edgewater Beach is a beautiful home with a wonderful view and super comfortable accommodations! The kitchen/family room/sunroom spaces flow easily making family gathering and eating times wonderful! We felt totally at home in our "Cottage by the Sea!"
A guest from Tillamook, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 2 days in March, 2014 This place was a disaster!Broken windows,many safety hazards...dirty sheets on the beds,yes we could tell...we left all our comments on the sheet in the house...football table broken,couldn't play...both toilets broken and plugged up....was a very big disappointment
A guest from Hillsboro, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2013 We noticed several updates and improvements like more comfortable living room furniture, new windows, roof, a gas grill, and the kitchen seemed even better equipped, if possible, than before. This property seems to be very well maintained, which is why when the toilet had issues and the ice maker quit working (chunk of ice clogged it) we called Property Manager and they had someone out the next morning to take care of things. We were very pleased. We'll be back!
Dana N. from San Andreas, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013 We had a family reunion that included two preschoolers, an infant and nine adults. The house was comfortable with distinctive craftsman architecture and above-average kitchen amenities, including real, useable pots and pans suitable for a family that cooks at home. Sunset Vacation rentals sent someone promptly to replace a smoke alarm battery when one of the alarms began its low-battery chirrup. I'm grateful to have had such a pleasant stay in this beautiful house.
Brian J. from Vancouver, BC recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2013 2 families - 4 kids. Had a great time despite the weather. House was very large. We all stayed on the top floor but there was lots of space in the basement. Kids played in the ocean and family fires on the beach. Safeway in tillamook was 20 mins away (starbucks)
Broken and needs an update to amenities and management
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in November, 2012 This was the email that I sent to the MGMT company (on the day we left the house) with absolutely NO REPLY:Hi Betty,I wanted to give you feedback on the Edgewater house:- The backyard fence was toppled over when we arrived, most likely from the storm on Wednesday that brought 90MPH winds at the coast. Because the top of the fence posts are sharp and were pointed diagonally into the yard, we could not let the kids play in the yard on their own.- The neighbor to the south is insane. She hassled our group (including small children) and would scream endlessly into our window for no apparent reason. The children were frightened to go outside.- The satellite did not work the entire time. We called several times and were told that Comcast had been notified but no one ever showed up. We were planning to make the Football game a part of the experience but without satellite it wasn't possible.- The remote to the DVD player was missing. Controlling the player is nearly impossible without it.- There is only one trash can outside. After the second day some of our guests had to live with bags of trash in the lower room.I am wondering what SSVR would be able to do to compensate for these issues. Possibly a partial refund.Thanks,
Cari O. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2012 The house was great a usual with 2 exceptions. The house cleaner was there when we arrived at 4 pm and was not finished until 5:15 - kind of a bummer as we couldn't really unpack - but t he house was spotless. Secondly the extension cord to the TV as damaged and made me nervous to use it. I did call and let someone know. Other than that - things were great... This is a wonderful house for the gathering of multiple generations.
A guest from Boise, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in August, 2012 What a wonderful home for a Oregon coast vacation. Close to many things but far enough away that you get lots of relaxation. This is the perfect location for both fun and quiet and multiple families. Thanks! All three families had a lovely stay.
Julie C. from Granite Bay, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2012 The beach house was in a perfect location and very clean. We had a great time. The house is not suitable for small children due to steep stairways. We did not use the bunk beds in the recreation room as we did not know that this room was open to the front door. Note,outdoor side stairway needs a light. Great place to stay for a large family with older children or teens.
Erin E. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2012 This is the greatest house for a large family! Lots of rooms for everyone, great kitchen, fenced in backyard for little ones, short walk to the beach. This is our "go-to" beach house! We love it here!!
Margaret A. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2012 Overall grand experience for the second time. We had a problem with the TV which was more difficult to remedy than it should have been.
Jennifer P. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in May, 2012 We had 6 adults, 2 young children, and two dogs at this property and the layout was perfect for us. The house allows you to be in the middle of chaos or slip away for private time without anyone noticing. The view of the ocean from the enormous dining room table is perfect for meals. The kitchen is well stocked and the home's details are impecable. I must add one warning...the fence in the backyard is very low so the view of the ocean is not blocked, so if your dog is a jumper, they will escape! Otherwise, this home is perfect and we will be returning.
Janet E. from Lake Oswego, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in April, 2012 We had a great time! Our second trip to Edgewater and can't wait to go back! It is such a great house and the backyard and sun room are amazing!!!!!!
Patricia C. from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in February, 2012 What about a space heater in the basement? The baseboard heaters worked well in upstairs bedroom. Also suggest you note on info that there is not a fireplace, but a wood-burning enclosed stove. I would not have spent so much energy on bringing wood. Overall it was great! Fun to be back in a home I frequented in the 50's and 60's as a child when we were next-door neighbors. We played many a game of Canasta there with Mrs. Karl Emerich.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We will suggest to the owner to get a space heater for basement and we have updated the wood stove information on our website. The owner is installing a new baseboard heater in the downstairs bedroom.
Virginia B. from Priest River, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in December, 2011 We thought the property was well suited to serve the 12 of us. In the winter you really need some heat in the basement.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals We will suggest to the owner to get a space heater for the basement. The owner is installing a new baseboard heater in the downstairs bedroom.
A guest from Pasadena, California recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2011 Other than a major wind/rain storm the first night we were there it was a great place to have our family gathering for the Holiday. It was perfect and we would love to come back again!!
A guest from Beaverton, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in September, 2011 This house was so charming and cute! Amazing location, near everything you need. Store, Town, beach, Church, etc. Will definitely rent this house again!
Madeline F. from Gresham, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in September, 2011 We very much enjoyed our stay, even though it was really rainy! The large dining table in the sun porch area, with a view of the ocean, was stellar! Accomodated all 11 of us!
The house had very good points and some bad points
James A. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2011 good: the porch, kitchen, bathrooms, & sitting room were great. bad: The basement had windows that didn't open and was musty smelling; the steps were very steep. The foosball game was greatly enjoyed by our family. The walk to the beach was easy and the view of the beach was very good. We'd recommend the property to friends, but with the above caveats.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The owners have been notified about the windows.
A guest from Salt Lake City, UT does not recommend this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2011 This is a great house; however, this year, one of the bedrooms out of the 3 with queen or king beds did not allow windows to be opened. This was problematic as the bedroom is located on the second floor in an attic-like space. Also, we had the unfortunate experience of meeting "Grandma Crazy" next door. One of the great things about this house is that there is a fenced yard that overlooks the ocean. We had great weather and naturally spent a fair amount of time in the yard. Well, initially the next-door neighbor seemed friendly, and then one day she started telling us how we were not watching our children enough, telling us kites are made for the beach and should not be flown ever in the backyard. Then later she told us we were too strict with our children. On sunday, she kept coming to our fence, making complaints and comments, and many did not make sense. At one point, she was taking pictures of our children, because she wanted to document "their eyes". When I told her to stop doing this and to leave us alone, she said she was going to "burn the place down" and we would never see the Oregon coast again. Yes, she was told how this made not sense, given she did not control all the ocean front property in the beach town we were in. This kind of behavior would be fine, if I were on a psychiatric unit and getting paid to manage it, but instead, it occurred in the presence of young children and a toddler who were all confused about what this lady was saying. I did not think I would have to educate my son about thinking problems and what crazy means on my vacation. Her wierd behaviors continued to occur at the fence. She really scared the kids and teenagagers,and eventually, we called the police, and the police, unfortunately, knew her only to well. I heard her yelling at the policeman about how he did not know what he was doing. After the police left, she was quieter, but did wierd things, like putting up
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals I am very sorry about your unfortunate experience with the neighbor. I hope this does not discourage any future visits. Her family has been notified of this incident
Judy T. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2011 Great location with spectacular view, sun room was the best with the large table! Kitchen was beautiful and well equipped. Nice gas bbq was a surprise. Fenced yard was great for the dogs. Upstairs bedroom on street side was extremely stuffy, and we were not allowed to open windows. Very steep stairs from basement to main floor and from main floor to upstairs.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The owners have been notified about the window problem and she will be getting them replaced before summer.
A guest from Entiat, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2011 We had a great vacation at this house. There were 7 adults and 3 kids in our group. The house has plenty of room for us. We were not cramped or crowded at any time. House is spacious, nicely decorated, has some uneven floors and other quirks common to older homes, all just adds to the charm of the beach house. Kitchen was great and had everything we needed. The fenced yard was great for our dogs. The beach is right out the back door. The house is close to the center of Rockaway. It was nice to be able to walk to the shops, restaurants, and markets in Rockaway. Great trip, great house, and we would gladly rent this house again.
Barbara D. from Woodland, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in June, 2011 My only dissapointment is that there was no garbage pick up on Tuesday, which was stated on the rules posted on the refrigerator. Also for 13 of us there was only one garbage can outside. We had extra garbage that the birds got into. I cleaned it up we had to keep the extra garbage inside the house until we had an oppertunity to have it picked up.A very important subject is that there are no smoke alarms in the house. that may be illegal.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Smoke detectors have been installed. The garbage pick days are frequently changed and if you ever run into this problem, please call our office and we can take care of excess garbage during the high season.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2011 Broken windows and leak in the sunroom should be fixed. Disappointed by noise. No privacy, you can hear people whispering in the next room. Furiniture very uncomfortable. However, location/view was excellent. Best part of the house.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The owner is working on getting the windows fixed.
This is our second spring break spent at Edgewater. We absolutely love the home and location! The sunroom is our favorite room i
Hillary H. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in March, 2011 Our only disappointment was the the broken window in the sun room. It was sadly one of the main windows. Otherwise an amazing visit!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The broken window is being addressed. Glad you had a great stay otherwise!
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 3 days in February, 2011 Loved the location and the beach access, kitchen, sun porch nice except for the cracked window in front held together by tape...said had fireplace but it's not, there is a wood stove insert in the fireplace, moldy shower curtain in the downstairs bathroom which all 7 of us had to shower in as the tub drain upstairs was so slow draining the tub filled up when you showered, even though bathrooms were newer.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you for the input! The bath tub drain has been fixed and the shower liner replaced. Also, our website has been updated to show that there is a wood stove, not fireplace.
Rich S. from Lynnwood, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in December, 2010 First off, we really enjoyed our stay at Edgewater Beach. It's in a great location and it accomodates a large group. The beach house itself has been renovated in all the right places, and was overall pretty comfortable. As with any older home, there are some little maintenance issues [i.e. the light switch upstairs needs repairing, the shower drain needs to be cleared, etc], but after all, it is what it is...a beach house, and a durable one at that.If you are expecting a 5 star experience this is not the place for you. However, if you want a fun and accomodating place by the beach, within walking distance to a quaint small town, look no further.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The maintenance issues have been fixed
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in November, 2010 Each Thanksgiving, for over 15 years,our family has been renting houses on the coast. This was our first time in Rockaway Beach. Edgewater is an excellent, refurbished home with a very modern and large kitchen. We really appreciated having wireless capability to communicate with family in Canada, Florida, and California. We found some inconveniences--especially not having a bathroom on the floor with the majority of bedrooms and steep stairs--but had a wonderful time. For the first year, we had well-timed weather and were comfortable staying in the house rather than traveling to other locations on the coast during our stay. Management staff did not seem to know the property well enough and did not respond to our comment about garbage left from previous guests. We are likely to return.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Since your stay our staff have been aquainted with this and all our other homes. We apologize that your garbage situation was overlooked.
Jenefer H. from Seattle, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in August, 2010 Nice private path to the beach. The sun room is really beautiful. Really nice to have dinner with views of the ocean.
Very nice older renovated home ideally located on the beachfront. Perfect for the old school type stay at the beach when we were
Scott B. from Aloha, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in June, 2010 Draw back would be the very narrow stairay as only means of access to main level. (Hit my head on low beams a couple times)
Heather H. from Amity, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 2 days in May, 2010 The house was perfect. The teens stayed downstairs. The adults upstairs. The house was immaculate...thank you because we have stayed in so called "clean" houses before. Would love to rent again...on athe steep side...have to have the whooooooooooooole family go again.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 6 days in December, 2009 We had an amazing Christmas in the house. There only a few things I would say. We arrived the first night, made a big dinner and there was no dishwasher soap to do our dishes. We had to go out buy some and then bring back to the house. Also the foosball table didn't have a proper ball so you couldn't really play the game. Kind of a bummer. Just a few things but everything else was nice and the location was great.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Thank you for your comment. These issues have been addressed.
The property was great. Roomy and very enjoyable until we started washing linen and towels. The dryer did not work. Evidently
Patty H. from Greencreek, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in December, 2009
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The problem has been fixed. The appliance repair company had to order a part and were not able to have it fixed for your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the property! Thanks for your comments, SSVR
A guest from Pleasanton, CA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in August, 2009 The TV downstairs is useless because it's not hooked to the dish, and there is no VCR or DVD player. Maybe you should take that picture off the site.
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The TV is now hooked up to the Dish downstairs and the owners have put in a new DVD & VCR in the lower level.
Margaret P. from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 8 days in August, 2009 We really enjoyed the Edgewater beach house. It's proximity to the beach was wonderful. The house has lots of different gathering spaces so people could be in different areas of the house doing different things. The view of the ocean is spectacular from inside the house, so even if the weather had been lousy (it wasn't), we could have seen the ocean. There were a couple minor things... we had to go out and purchase TP when we first got there. Also, the dryer didn't work properly -- it took forever for the clothes to get dry. There is not much parking for such a large house (three spaces, and we had five cars), but the police let us park the extra cars in a city lot. But overall, a wonderful place to stay. We would definitely consider staying there again!
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals Starter packs of supplies are provided which include toilet paper, if any of the items listed that are said to be provided are missed, please call our office so we can deliver them to you. The dryer has been fixed.
Linda M. from Puyallup, WA recommends this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2009 We especially loved the sun room overlooking the ocean. The access to the beach was wonderful. The fenced yard was great for our family. We had children ages 3 to 8.
Edgewater Beach - Make up own beds, not enough towels, and dirt!
A guest from Hillsboro, OR does not recommend this property. Stayed for 5 days in July, 2009 We have never been in a rental cabin before that didn't have enough towels for everyone. The cleaning crew left us with 7 bath towels and 3 wash cloths for 11 people!!!! They knew we had that many people coming as the house sleeps up to 13. Four of the bunk beds downstairs were not made up with sheets, only the sheet sets were placed at the ends of these beds. I had to call the office 3 times to beg for more towels and they hemmed and hawed and finally said they needed to go out and buy some! We got 4 more towels and 3 more mismatched washcloths, still not enough for everyone. The manager (Amy) told me that we should have had 2 sets of towels per person! We didn't even come close to that the whole time we were there. Maybe the people before us stole them, she said! We had to wash towels every day. She told me that the reason the the beds weren't made was the people before us stayed later and they didn't have time to make them! I told her that was a poor excuse. Next, we found big wads of black hair along the baseboards upstairs, along with dust and bugs in corners, baseboards, and windowsills. Amy kept asking if we still enjoyed our stay, redirecting my attention from the problem at hand. We had good weather. The stairs are horrible for older people to climb. There is no bathroom upstairs where 4 bedrooms are located...you must climb down very steep steps to use a bathroom on the main level. The sunroom is nice and had a very large dining table to hold us all. Good beach access, but there was broken glass right outside the gate to the beach. I talked to Amy, the manager, about getting a refund for the cleaning deposit (130.00) but she was being hard nosed about it, saying the owners were have a hard time in this recession and needed all the money they could get. I reminded her that they don't get the cleaning fee! After days of going back and forth on the phone, she called me on the last day a few minutes before check out time to say she would only give us half (
Property Manager Response: Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals The house has been supplied adequately with towels and washcloths. We are sorry for the inconveniences you encountered.
Lori J. from Portland, Oregon recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in May, 2009 stairs from downstairs (1st floor)weren'nt safe to people with big feet. We had a couple of falls. THIS HOUSE WAS REALLY GREAT>
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property. Stayed for 3 days in March, 2009 this property was great for dogs and a large group of people. there were a couple of minor issues. the property was clean overall but there were left over beer cans and cigarette butts along the siding of the house and all of the trash had not been removed. i thought it was odd that the instructions for the rental requested a general clean up such as removal of linens and trash removal, dishes etc when there i was charged a specific cleaning fee.
Lisa H. from Kimberly, ID recommends this property. Stayed for 4 days in October, 2008 This property wsa much better than the pictures and discription on the website. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to get together with a group and spend time eating and visiting. Kitchen has everything a person would want and the bedding is very nice.