Perfect Places Vacation Rentals
Traveler Login Owner Login
Chinese (Traditional) Portugeuse Spanish Italian German French English

With Your Own Private Tide Pool
Kapoho 2 br Vacation Rental Home

Property Summary
Kapoho, Hawaii, United States
Type
Home

Bedrooms
2

Bathrooms
3

Sleeps
5

Rates
$155 - $260 per night
$1,030 - $1,820 per week
$3,950 - $7,500 per month

Non Smoking   High-Speed Internet
 
Book Online   Visa Mastercard American Express Discover
This property listing provides real-time availability and rate quotes. Book it securely and instantly using a credit card.

Vacation Home Rental Description:



YOUR OWN PRIVATE SWIMMABLE TIDE POOL is just outside the door! White Orchid Retreat is located in Vacationland, a popular area of Kapoho famous for its unique tide pools. (There is nothing quite like the tide pools anywhere else in the islands!) Most of Kapoho's many visitors swim or snorkel in one of the public ponds, but the gardens of White Orchid Retreat surround its own tranquil, tropical tide pool (with sister property Orchid Elua at the other end). Cement steps make it easy to get in and out, and you see the pond from most rooms in the house as well as from the lanai (patio). Windows surround the house, bringing the beauty and reflections of the natural pool indoors.

WHITE ORCHID RETREAT IS A NEW HOME (completed in the fall of 2007) with an open floor plan, high ceilings, wood floors, and tasteful touches around every corner. Its custom furnishings were hand-picked and imported from the Philippines where some of the finest furniture crafters are located. The house is all on one level and designed to give two couples traveling together the utmost privacy.

THE MASTER BEDROOM HAS AN INVITING KING BED with Ralph Lauren linens and an open Jacuzzi tub with shower. Windows on two sides of the master bedroom bring the outdoors in through the breezy window coverings. The second bedroom has a queen bed, windows to the gardens, and a desk area with high-speed access of course! High-quality linens and furnishings make this a very special place.

EACH BEDROOM HAS A HALF BATH next to the bedroom, and each bedroom has its own private outdoor shower just outside. If you're uncomfortable using an outdoor shower, the house has a conventional shower as well. The den has a day bed, flat-screen TV, and DVD player. White Orchid Retreat sleeps five comfortably.

FOR MORE ADVENTUROUS SNORKELING, just take the 5-minute walk (we'll show you the secret way!) to the Waiopae Marine Conservation Area, acres and acres of oceanfront ponds that contain an astonishing variety of fish, sea creatures, and of course the _honu,_ the beloved Hawaiian sea turtles. The tide pools provide a safe and inviting environment for even the novice swimmer to snorkel or just float in crystal clear 80-degree water year 'round, without worry of surf or currents, perfect for those who are not comfortable in the open ocean. For guests at ease in the water, Kapoho and the rest of the Big Island have much more to explore.

Year-round rate range is $155 - $285 per night, depending upon party size and dates of your visit. Cleaning fee ranges from $125 to $150, also depending upon party size.

W-01

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Queen, 1 Other

Additional Features:
* Drive Times: Near Kapoho Tide Pools, 15 minutes to Pahoa, 20min to Kehena Black Sand Beach, 45 minutes to Hilo, 45min to Volcanoes National Park
* Entertainment: FREE high-speed Internet!, Wireless Internet, Satellite TV, DVD Player, CD Player, Stereo System, Cooler, Beach Chairs
* Geographic: Kapoho Bay
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Microwave
* Living: Ceiling Fans, Portable Fans, Phone with Answering Machine, Jacuzzi Tub, Walk-in Shower, Washer & Dryer, Child Pack-N-Play (Must Request)
* Outdoor: Unassigned Offstreet Parking, Patio, Charcoal BBQ Grill (BYO), Outdoor Shower
Book Online:

Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.

Arrival Date:
Departure Date:
Adults (18+):
Children (<18):
Visa Mastercard American Express Discover



Accommodation and Amenities:

Features:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Full Kitchen
  • High-Speed Internet
  • Patio
Appliances:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Microwave
  • Phone
  • Refrigerator
  • Stereo

Owner/Manager last updated on 07/10/2014

 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»
  July   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  August   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  September   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»


Pricing/ Rates:    (click to convert currency)
Nightly Price Range: $  155 to: $  260
Weekly Price Range: $  1,030 to: $  1,820
Monthly Price Range: $  3,950 to: $  7,500

   » Prices in United States Dollars.



This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 Property Reviews 
A wonderful week
A guest from eureka, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2014
We had a great time for my birthday. The house was beautiful and felt like you could move right in. Pond was fun but the tide pools 1 minute walk away was amazing and where its at. Very nice neighborhood only down fall is it is far from town but if you are looking to get away and relax this is the place. Gekkos where awsome but did find a centipede watch out they are fast and mean. Overall a wonderful time would go back any time thank you guys for everything BeeJay and ShelbyEureka, Humboldt Co California
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A serene retreat with a great location!
Reviewed by: Victoria L. recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in February, 2014
We were very happy with our stay here. Can't wait to go back!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A great time at White Orchide
Claudia B. from lima, lima recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in February, 2014
We had a great experience at the house, is very pretty, nice furniture, the house is beautiful as well as the gardens and general environment. It has a very good location, you can feel likev being in the jungle. We felt at home, our kids were in love with the house too. The only thing that must be upgraded is the cleaning, it was not good, I had to clean the house when just arriving, the bed linen were in bad conditions, with holes, smelling bad. But for the rest we really enjoyed and loved the house. Thank you!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awesome place!!!!
Melissa H. from Waitsburg, Washington recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in November, 2013
This was a wonderful place!! We will be back!!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Heavenly!
Dave Y. from Kamuela, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in October, 2013
We decided to do a "staycation" this year. We were very surprized at how wonderful discovering this part of the island was. The home was a comfortable retreat to come home to after spending hours in the lovely Champagne Ponds (we 4 wheeled into from the back side on the Kapoho Road). Don't miss the Kalapana Farmers Market from 5-9p on Weds and Fri. Weds are by far the best day to attend. The food booth selling crab wonton's, etc from Molly and Sam's booth made us go back on Fri for more, it was by far the best food we had during our stay with Kaleo's being the next. I suggest just getting into your car and drive stopping were your heart takes you. We absolutely loved the outdoor showers! Every night I looked forward to coming home because I knew I they were waiting for us! This home is very lovely...I do think it could have been cleaner. (Floors hadn't been swept, and some other minor things and please get some sports channels on the TV, even though we were on vacation we still wanted to watch MLB and football) :(( With that being said, I would come back here in a heartbeat!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

White Orchid Stay
A guest from HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2013
Everything was great at the WHite Orchid. Beautiful property. Only area for improvement was limitation in the pots/pans - took some creativity and patience with existing options.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

coming back again
A guest from St. Albert, AB recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in April, 2013
enjoyed this place a year ago and again had a fantastic stay at the house. location is great for accessing snorkeling and as a base to explore the east side of the island as well as the volcano areas. hope to be back again!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Oasis in the tropics
A guest from Surrey, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 29 days in February, 2013
White Orchid is a beautiful comfortable house. The view from the many picture windows is very rich calming. It was a wonderful house to enjoy and come home to. The outside showers are an experience not to be missed. On the down side the lack of privacy to its sister house has made us stay indoors, our privacy felt invaded as we were totally exposed to the other guests on the peninsula. A better screening and property demarcation between the two would solve that problem. We also found that the bedding was not "clean" from the sheets, to mattress, mattress covers and pillow cases. The kitchen functions only for very basic needs,... a toaster, tea pot, serving cutlery and dishes would help,... the invasion of many resident geckos was unpleasant. On the whole, this house is a gem but needs more attention to make its guests more comfortable. There is much to see and enjoy in that area form the open sea pools to the volcanoes to beaches and markets.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Paradise
Lesley C. from London, UK recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2013
I would recommend this property as it was in a great location. The tidal pools were just a short walk away and the snorkeling was fantastic. The house was clean and tidy and the gardens beautiful. This was a very special trip to Hawaii and this beautiful home helped make it special. Thank you.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

White Orchid review
Sylvia R. from Orchard Lake, MI recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2013
This house is lovely, it is open with lots of light and very confortable. The two main bathrooms have outdoor showers which are great and very private but there is also an indoor shower for those less daring. The grounds are beautiful and feeding the fish are a hoot. We didn't go into the pools but obviously others had before us because they left water toys. The property is a 5-10 min walk to the ocean tidal pools to snorkel. The house is a about 8-9 miles from grocery stores or restaurants so buy your supplies before you go to the house. Pahoa is the closest town but only has small stores. The kitchen is fairly well stocked considering it is a rental which is really nice. the house has no A/C and we didn't need any while we were there, there are ceiling fans and enough windows to keep the house confortable; we were there in Jan/Feb.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

White Orchid evaluation
Carol H. from Riverside, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2012
The bench for watching TV was one of the most uncomfortable things imaginable! It would have been nice to have more information about the property, such as what were the ponds. Directions for operating the TV and satellite were lacking. There were no lids for the fry pans, and bottoms of fry pans were warped and would not work well on the cook top. The GFI in the front bathroom is DEAD!!! The White Orchid is a beautiful house, and we really liked our experience there.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Puna triangle holiday
Kenneth P. from San Luis Obispo, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2012
Location of the house made it ideal for us and the other couple. The tidepools were just a brief walk down the road. We spent quite a few days at there. One of the most enjoyable rides I have ever done is riding down the 137 along the coast. Truly a cool breeze bicycle ride. Make's bringing my bike to Hawaii worth the cost.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The perfect get away
Amy H. from Kailua-Kona, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2012
We wanted a last minute rental and found an incredible property and location to return to time and again. The white orchid was a perfect get away from day to day life and we're telling all our friends.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Too noisy at night
John L. from Honolulu, HI does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2012
Birds outside the bedroom window were so loud I could not get a decent night sleep for the entire stay. They could not be scared-off, and they kept the racket up until about 3 or 4AM. I have never experienced anything like it. Loved the house -- it is beautiful. But I would not go back due to the noise at night.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
The noise you experienced is the Coqui frog, a nocturnal tree frog. Unfortunately, they are loud and cannot be eradicated. Most folks here sleep ok with them as 'background noise' much like crickets in the Southeast. We are so sorry you did not have such luck. We do offer our 24 hour satisfaction guarantee and would have tried to move you to another property had you called our office. Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Stay in Kapoho!
Chris W. from Mt Pleasant, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2012
This house is lovely. The location is quiet and great for snorkelers! Everything was as advertised.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Splendid Isolation
A guest from DROITWICH, recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2012
This villa is quite remote and in an overall area that is not realy that touristy. After visiting 3 other islands it was quite a surprise but we really enjoyed it. There were one or two minor things , the 3 barbecues were all very dirty and full of ash so we couldn't use them, the pillowcases had stains so we had to wash them but overall the villa is excellent. The bugs aren't bad and the gecko's are great. The Coqui tree frogs can be a bit of a pain but you'll probably grow to love them.For us it was a different view of Hawaii but one which we really appreciated.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location to relax away from the crowds!
Kathryn W. from Clinton, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2012
What a wonderful place to relax in Hawaii! We used it this home as a base to relax and enjoy in the afternoons/evenings and spend the mornings exploring locally or elsewhere on the island. It wasn't that far of a drive into Hilo. Very peaceful, barely heard any neighbours, amazing tide pools close by and fantastic open/airy/clean home!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice!
Reviewed by: Ralph L. recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in March, 2012
Beautiful garden, handy to tidal pools, nice place.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Zen Elegance
A guest from Augusta, MT recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in January, 2012
White Orchid is a lovely property. The house is open & spacious, tastefully decorated & well-appointed. It was more private than I expected, within the viewshed of only the one house on the other side of the pond, but the landscaping provided nice privacy without feeling hemmed in. We didn't use the pond; there were noodles & rafts, etc., but it was so dark all we could see were decaying palm fronds & coconuts, so it just wasn't inviting. But the ocean tidal pools were just a few minutes walk & they were wonderful. Only half a day of rain ~ the weather was terrific. It was a lovely house & a great experience! Mahalo!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

White Orchid
Kelly B. from Otsego, MI recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in January, 2012
We had a very good time here. Would stay here again but only if the matress in the smaller bed room is replaced.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautifully furnished, bright, comfortable house
Thomas S. from Saratoga, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2011
We spent a great week in White Orchid despite a lot of rain (which is not unusual there in December). Swimming in the natural pond in the backyard was a unique experience that we loved. The house and especially the backyard/porch is not very private but given time the growing palms and other vegetation should improve that. The house needs a new and better front door key, the present one does not fit the front lock, making it quite difficult to unlock the door every time.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Thanks
A guest from Kamuela, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in November, 2011
couple of suggestions:1. if you advertise WiFi, make sure it works. 2 story house w/ no access all week.2. provide adequate cookware. doesn't have to be gourmet, but frying pans with Teflon film peeling off the cook surface doesn't cut it.3. provide for more frequent trash pickup, or advise tenants they should remove on their own. 15 people make a lot of trash over a full week.4. keep coconut trees free of large nuts, safety issueotherwise, thank you very much, we had a great time.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Erie, CO Family
Joey M. from Erie, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2011
The house worked great for our family. The only downside was the birds outside at night were pretty loud, but we had earplugs. So, I would just suggest bringing earplugs because you will want the windows open at night. The location was good. The restaurants in town of Pahoa were great. Loved being near the tidepools.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Thanks for your nice review! Those night sounds are actually the Coqui tree frogs that sing their chorus after sunset. Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Couldn't have been better
Ian P. from Paris, NA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2011
A really great property in a quite remote community in Kapoho (it almost feels like you're at the end of the world). There was not much to criticise about the property. It's spacious, clean and well maintained, has good kitchen facilities, nice outdoor showers and tasteful quite contemporary decor. We had an excellent experience there and would highly recommend it to other travellers.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Lovely Rental - Near Unique Tidal Pools
Cynthia L. from Concord, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2011
The layout and amenities of the house are great and we loved the outside showers! The house is beautifully decorated with various "extras" available for guests' use (snorkel masks, water shoes, a small cooler, beach towels, etc). This made it so easy to walk the "secret path" to the tidal pools for a truly unique snorkeling experience -- definitely on par with Molokini (off Maui) and even Hanauma Bay in Oahu, so we were pleasantly surprised. We also made good use of the house's reference book with laminated lists for restaurants and area attractions. We carried it with us as we drove around so we had the info readily available. Please relay to the owners to fix the following:1) The mattress and/or bed in the second bedroom needs to be replaced asap -- it has a horrible sag / slant in it on one side which made sleeping quite uncomfortable. I noticed in the comment book on site that others have complained about this mattress since at least May 2010, but maybe the comments are not really read by the owners? Anyhow, that is why I am putting the comment here -- so it has a better chance of being fixed for future guests.2) The kitchen microwave needs to be replaced (does not work at all; it comes up with an error code such as "H98"). 3) The coffee maker switch is faulty -- sometimes it works, sometimes not -- so the coffee maker should be replaced.Despite these 3 things above, the house really was lovely and I still highly recommend it. I only put those three items in the comments to ensure that someone (the management company, owners or whomever) will see them sooner and hopefully correct them for the enjoyment of future guests (you can't fix something if you don't know about it, right?). Anyway, we hope to be back soon! Maholo!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
Aloha all: the mattress in question was replaced in June 2011. All small appliances are in excellent working condition too. ~ Hawaii Holiday Management.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Marci M. from Bellevue, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 9 days in May, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Elizabeth D. from Sacramento, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in April, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

White Orchid Beauty
Jim & Vicki C. from Kuna, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in March, 2011
If you're looking for convenient access to snorkeling, stargazing and exploring tide pools while staying in a beautifully landscaped property, look no further. The tide pools are a short walk away or there are places to park if you prefer and the fish and coral are very interesting. Millionaire Pond is a mix of salt and geothermal water about a mile away. We enjoyed the drive to the end of Highway 137 where there was a fun restaurant, hiking and black beaches. Pahoa is a nice town with many restaurants choices and shopping. Downtown Hilo has a great Farmers Market especially on Wednesday and Saturdays where you'll find all kinds of things and food to buy. Downtown is also a great place to visit museums, eat and shop. One can also visit Hilo Hatties store, the Botanical Garden and the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory. Enough about all there is to do on this side of the Island. You will definitely enjoy your stay at this beautiful home. We loved using the private outdoor showers???very refreshing! We would love staying at this rental again. The property needed a thorough spring cleaning from ceiling, light fixtures down.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals
We're so glad you enjoyed our unique Hawaiian location! All of our properties get a deep cleaning in April/May after the VERY busy winter season. Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

great house in a great location!
Denise D. from Avon Lake, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in March, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Getaway!!
A guest from Garberville, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Yasuyuki S. from Tokyo, NA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in January, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Beaverton, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in November, 2010
A piece of Eden. Wonderful accomodations off the beaten path. Pick a fresh lemon for your personally bbq'd ahi steak. Take a moonlit drive to see the glow of the molton lava from Kiluhea. Find fresh produce and gourmet natural foods in the small villages. Read a good book while watching the geckos sun on the patio and the fish swim in the clear pool. Ideal for the adventerous at heart and those looking to escape to the "real" Hawaii.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awesome Rental
Deborah S. from Pahoa, Hawaii recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in November, 2010
Rented place for visiting relatives,they loved it.we live here and are want to come stay here. Love the Decor,close to tide pools,quiet and peaceful. Great jacuzzi tub
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

beautiful, unique property
Bill H. from Snohomish, WA. recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in October, 2010
I think the title says it all - what a unique place. Between the private tide pool to the great snorkeling location near by, overall the stay was great!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A Tropical Oasis
Deb H. from Hallett Cove, SA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2010
We loved our stay at White Orchid, so close to the tide pools beautiful house with a gorgeous garden. Didn't need to bring anything to the house, all is provided. Had time to relax and watch DVD's which were provided. Enjoyed the lcoation, close to the black sand beaches. Found the Lava Sea Cruise amazing and worth doing. Pahoa is quaint with fantastic restaurants loved the margarittas and huge Pizza. The organic market place was great to buy supplies from. Distance from Hilo only down side, a bit far for dining and driving back home. Overall 5/5
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Near a great tide pool
Yasutomo H. from Fuchu, Tokyo recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2010
We enjoyed the stay at White Orchid, a few minutes walk to a good tide pool. Find Kapoho Kai road to reach White Orchid.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Exceeded our expectations! We loved it, loved it, loved it. The house is beautiful! The location fantastic, the lagoon wonderful
Frank L. P. from Ojai, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great place in Kapoho
A guest from Baarn, NA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2010
Stayed 2 nights at White Orchid in Kapoho - was an excellent choice. Extremely close to tidal pools and 5 mins drive to Millionaire's Pond. House was beautifully contained with modern furniture and everything needed to cook nice meals.The only issue I have with the house is that we stayed during summer (hot days, little wind) and as the house is not air-conditioned, I found sleeping very uncomfortable.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful stay at the White Orchid
Leslie & Ken S. from El Cerrito, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2010
Loved the outdoor shower! The pools and gardens were gorgeous. I really liked all the glass windows and doors. You felt you were outside the whole time. The whole place gave you a real feeling of staying in a tropical rainforest. We enjoyed the sounds from the frogs and crickets at night. Just lovely! We drove around the area, and felt this was the nicest place to stay at the tide pools.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Montreal, QC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2010
vet nice but so far away from everything except the (wonderful) tide pools
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

White Orchid exceeded all expectations!
Kendra H. from T.O., CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2010
I travel often and stay in some pretty nice places, but never have I rented a house as beautiful as White Orchid. The location was great...the tidepools right down the street with the best snorkeling on the Island, and everything was picture perfect. (The pictures that are posted don't lie.) The only warning I have for you is that you need insect repellent. I was eaten alive here! My girls loved swimming in the natural pool until they were eaten too. The house was magnificant. I loved the open floor plan. I would definitely stay here again and again!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Paul A. from Mumbai, Maharashtra recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Thanks for a good vacation
A guest from Mercer Island, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2010
Every thing was excellent. Thanks for a good vacation.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from San Jose, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2010
There were quite a few mosquitoes around. A screened in porch or Lanai would have been nice.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful tropical paradise with great snorkeling
Mark H. from Fresno, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Home actually looked better than the photos!
Sylvia C. from Irvine, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2010
My husband, 3 year old and I spent a few days in Kapoho. The house was beautiful and comfortable. There was not one amenity or appliance we wished the house had. It was all there. If I had to mention a negative, it would be that the inside of the home was visible to a neighbor. If you like to walk around naked and you don't care if people can see you, this shouldn't be an issue.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Its a "JEWEL" in the bushes.
Carmelita & Edward H. from Honolulu, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2010
White Orchid is the best house in the neighborhood. Its 10 minute walk to the famous "Wai Opae" tide pools, a perfect spot to snorkel and discover live multi-color corals. Its like a home away from home. If you like cooking-the kitchen is equip fully. Its a perfect "get-away" place.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We loved the house & location so much, we started planning our next trip before we left. The house is beautiful & the location i
Marci M. from Bellevue, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Asian style retreat in beautiful Kapaho
A guest from Calgary, Alberta recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2010
I spent three nights here in early May 2010 with my wife and three daughters. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property. The Puna region of the Big Island is extremely beautiful and lush and I will certainly come back again some day.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful house; relaxing setting
Jean S. from Austin, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2010
The house was beautiful and immaculate. We loved sitting on the patio at night overlooking the tidepool and listening to the frogs and other night sounds. The location was great for us with the short walk to great snorkling and relatively short drives to a variety of beaches and parks, however it is at least a 15-20 minute drive to get to any restaurant or store so be prepared to plan ahead.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful home spacious clean but a long drive to get anywhere.
James R. from Edson, Alberta recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in March, 2010
The lagoon was very nice, saw lots of birds, the kids fed the fish, only drawback was the distance to find things to do besides the tide pools and the park down 137
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Christmas at White Orchid
Kelly Y. from Tacoma, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in December, 2009
We had a fantastic stay at the White Orchid. It became "our" home while in Hawaii. The house was in perfect order and tastefully decorated. The landscaping makes it feel like you are in a lush tropical paradise. The short walk to the tide pools made it extra special! We felt the location made it convenient to explore so many of the must see sights. Liked that it didn't feel touristy, much more old Hawaii feeling. Hilo was still close enough if we wanted more of the city stuff. We definitely be back and one day hope to have a place like this of our own.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

I love this place thank you
Qion Xi L. from Toronto, ON recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in November, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful, Intimate and Private
Sarah A. from Vernon, CT recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in September, 2009
We spent 4 nights at the White Orchid while on our honeymoon in September. The property was well maintained, private and we loved our stay there. Snorkeling in the tidal pools was a definite highlight of our honeymoon (We rented snorkel equipment at Jeff Hunt's shop in Pahoa). We would return to White Orchid and would recommend it to all of our friends.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awesome House!
Tim H. from Pearl City, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2009
We had a wonderful time! The home was perfect. Very clean, open, airy, and in a beautiful setting. We especially enjoyed the tidepools, which were within walking distance and had some of the best snorkelling I've ever experienced. We'll be back!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Rental!
Robin M. from Denton, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2009
We loved staying at White Orchid! Our only regret was that we didn't have longer to stay there! The house was beautiful and immaculate. I had a couple of occasions to call the rental company and was quite impressed at their professional and quick responses. They were also very accommodating regarding our need for a later check-out. I highly recommend White Orchid and Big Island Vacation Rentals! Mahalo!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great time in White Orchid
Evgeny K. from San Diego, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2009
We had a wonderful time in White Orchid. House is very nice, and we got real fill of staying in rain forest. Beware of noise of frogs and birds at night. But we actually liked it. Kids swam on the provided inflatable tubes in the tide pool by the house every day ? the proof it is swimmable...Kapoho Tide pools are very close, and were great for novice snorkelers. A lot of corals and tropical fishes. Reef shoes are must. Hiking Iki crater in Volcano park was another highlight. We also traveled to Hilo, and to Rainbow and Aka Waterfalls when stayed in White Orchid. We are very happy we had those 5 nights on Hilo side - this was barely enough to explore this portion of the Island. We continued to Kona side for another 6 nights after that. Highly recommended!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Amanda T. from Mason, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in May, 2009
Very nice and big, much more room than we really needed. The dishwasher and washer/dryer were very appreciated also. One tip - the blender leaks, so if you are wanting to make margaritas for example, add the tequila last so it doesn't end up all over the counter. Also, the "swimmable" pond is very picturesque and we enjoyed the view, but the water was murky and smelled bad. We only took one swim. The tidepools, a short walk away, are awesome though, so if you want to swim, go there.(and pack some snorkle gear)
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Barbara M. from High Level, AB recommends this property.
Stayed for 20 days in April, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful House and Location. I think we would stay here again if we returned to Big Island it was so nice.
Stephen S. from Houston, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

White Orchid Retreat
A guest from Lexington Park, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2009
The grounds are wonderful; it is only a short walk to the tidal pools, where you can swim among schools of brightly colored fish. The property is well maintained, our only issue besides the hair dryer not working was that the smoke detectors are very sensitive. The evening we planned to cookout it was raining very hard, so we decided to use the broiler to cook the shrimp. The smoke detectors went off before the shrimp had even turned pink; the shrimp was nowhere near being close to burning. That issue aside, we not only would recommend this wonderful home to our family and friends, it will be the first place we call when we plan our next trip to the Big Island of Hawaii.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

White Orchid makes you feel like a millionaire for a week
Marilyn P. from Saskatoon, SK recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in March, 2009
The White Orchid blew us away. this was our first ever home rental on a warm vacation. We usually did bed and breakfast or small cottages. This place met every standard, the tidal pool was amazeing and the close proximity to the tidal pools and the hot pool was great. The little town of Pahoa with its quaint restaurants is a must. Thanks to Hawaii Holiday Vacations for making a bucket list visit to the Volcanoes National Park and the Big Island of Hawaii a dream come true, your the best.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect Vacation
Susan & Bob P. from Sacramento, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in February, 2009
We loved the house...beautiful architecture, furniture, garden, and pond. Great snorkeling nearby. Good location for exploring VolcanoesNP and eastern Hawaii coast. The house is so beautiful we found ourselves bringing dinner home more than we expected to.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We had a wonderfull time and enjoyed the house very much. It is spaceous and well planed out. All appliances etc were functional
Sandra S. from Calgary, AB recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in January, 2009
A few wine glasses would also be very helpfull.We were told about this house by our daughter who stayed there last year. we will go there agian in the future - we alsorefer this side of the island.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful and Relaxing
Shannon W. from Burien, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2009
White Orchid is a beautiful place to stay - both the house and the area. It is in a more remote area than I expected, but I should have looked into that beforehand. Besides that it is a great place to relax and enjoy yourself.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful property!
A guest from Waiuluku, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2008
We loved everything about it except the jacuzzi tub needed to have the jets flushed out. Absolutely inviting, charming place otherwise! Let me know if it's ever for sale!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Huntingtown, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2008
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Place to get "Out of the Fast Lane"
Joe T. from Emmaus, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2008
White Orchid Retreat is a beautiful property in a rather remote location on the Big Island. The plusses are proximity to the tide pools which offer very good snorkeling, to the volcano, and to some outstanding restaurants in Pahoa. If you want night life or beaches - not so easy. White sand beaches are a 2+ hour drive away. Weather on the east coast is more unsettled so plan on more rain than the west - at least during the winter. The folks at Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals were very helpful and I'd definitely rent through them again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great place to stay.
Jim G. from Los Gatos, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in November, 2008
Had a great time, thank you.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Contact the Manager

Leave this field empty First Name *

Last Name *

Email Address *

Country *
Arrival Date

Departure Date

Adult (18+)
Child (<18)
Telephone
HomeMobileWork
Additional Message
Max 500 characters.

Email me this inquiry
Send me deals email

By clicking "Send Email" you are agreeing to our Terms and Conditions.


This advertiser has listed with PerfectPlaces.com since Feb 23, 2009

Find additional Vacation Rentals: