Perfect Places Vacation Rentals
Traveler Login Owner Login
Chinese (Traditional) Portugeuse Spanish Italian German French English

The Big Kahuna
Mission Beach 4 br Vacation Rental Home

Property Summary
Mission Beach, California, United States
Type
Home

Bedrooms
4

Bathrooms
4

Sleeps
12

Rates
$533 - $613 per night
$2,650 - $4,350 per week
$6,250 - $17,821 per month

Non Smoking   High-Speed Internet
 
Book Online   Visa Mastercard Discover
This property listing provides real-time availability and rate quotes. Book it securely and instantly using a credit card.

Vacation Home Rental Description:



You can reserve this home online right now!! This property is available year-round. We offer a 3 night minimum Sept to May. One week minimum Sat to Sat for summer season and also over the Holidays. We do make exceptions to the Sat to Sat rule at times typically in early June or late August. You can check with us! We do not accommodate arrivals on a holiday at this time. Please call to verify current RATES. We will do our best to have the up to date rate displayed but there will be times that our rates may not be current. SBR

Wow! What a great house! Beautiful, newer Beach House on Salem court just steps to the oceanfront or the Mission Bay front. It is nestled in a wonderful area with restaurants and shops right at your finger tips! It is listed as a 4 bedroom home but actually offers 5 bedrooms with one upstairs that is split by half a wall. Perfect for families with small children adding privacy but keeping the little ones close. The patio offers patio seating, a gas grill and a nice area to store your beach items.

The beach front is about 65 steps away with easy access on Salem Court. There is an outside fenced in patio area that opens onto the sidewalk that walks west to the beach!

What a beautiful home we have here. You enter up the stairs into the grand room with an outdoor deck area. The living room offers Cable TV with DVD. There is also a half bath on this level. The living area which is on the 2nd floor offers Tommy Bahama decor, Cable TV and DVD. There is a sleeper sofa located in the living area.

This home is located in one of the favorite North Mission Beach areas that is close to some wonderful local eateries, shops and of course just steps to the Pacific Ocean sand and waves! Just 65 steps away awaits the beautiful beach front for swimming, surfing, or beach combing. The sunsets are added at no additional charge!

The kitchen has beautiful granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances and all the items you will need to have your family dinners. We have 2 tables and also a breakfast bar area for plenty of seating.

Also on the 2nd level there is a bedroom with king size bed and private door onto the outdoor patio area. There is a full size private bathroom for this bedroom as well.

There is a king bed in the entry level bedroom along with a full size bath, private entrance from the patio area and an additional TV. It is private and makes for a nice bedroom master bedroom. There is also a high speed internet connection located in this room at the desk.

Salem Court is within walking to Saska's Steak and Sushi. The Mission Cafe is just across the street and they have the best blackberry banana pancakes ... Also close to rental places for bikes, surfboards, etc ... and even shopping for a new swimsuit at Gone Banana's or across the steet at Wind and Sea Surf Shop!

On the third level there are 3 more bedrooms and an additional full size bathroom located in the hallway between the bedrooms. The South bedroom offers a King size bed, TV, and doors onto the upstairs patio that offers an oceanview.

The decor alone makes you feel like you are on vacation!

The upstairs North side bedrooms are light and bright. The bedrooms were designed with vacation rental in mind. We have a split with the west side having the queen bed/closet and access to the outside deck and a half wall to separate the 3rd bedroom on the east side.

There is a half wall to separate the room and to add privacy. This room offers a Daybed with 2 twin mattresses. The 2 rooms together are meant to provide privacy yet closeness for the parents with children. This home also offers a crib.

We can accommodate up to 12 guests in this home year round. There is a 2 car garage that will accommodate 1 larger vehicle or 2 smaller vehicles. Also located in the garage is a washer and dryer. The outside patio offers a gas BBQ. We do have some other homes nearby both on Salem Court and San Jose Place if you need more

Bedding Configuration: 3 King, 1 Queen, 2 Twin, 1 Sleeper Sofa

Room Description: Beautifully decorated 3 level single family home. Located in North Mission Beach about 75 steps to the beachfront. Views from the 3rd level balcony. 3 king Beds, 1 queen bed, 2 twin beds, and a queen futon. Available year round up to 12 guests including a

Additional Features:
* Business: High Speed Internet, Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office
* Convenience: Area FitnessCenter, Golf Course, Movie Theatres, Nearby Grocery, Nearby Medical Services, Outlet Shopping, Public Pool, San Diego Zoo, Seaworld
* Culture: San Diego Museums, Symphony Orchestra
* Entertainment: Cable TV, DVD Player, VCR
* Geographic: Belmont Park, Few Minutes to Bayfront, Near Beach, Nearby Golf, Nearby Sailing, Nearby Surfing, Nearby Tennis, On Bay or Sound, On Beach, San Diego Airport, San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Zoo (15 min drive), Sea World, Stephen Birch Aquarium, Steps to Mission Bay, Steps to Mission Beach
* Kitchen: Blender, Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Glassware, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster
* Living: Ceiling Fans, Full Crib, High Speed Internet, Ironing Board, Linens, Portable Fans, Washer & Dryer
* Outdoor: Balcony, Beach, Biking, Fenced Front Yard Area, Gas Grill, Jogging, Patio, Patio Seating, Sailing, Surfing, Tennis, Water Skiing
Book Online:

Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.

Arrival Date:
Departure Date:
Adults (18+):
Children (<18):
Visa Mastercard Discover



Accommodation and Amenities:

Features:
  • High-Speed Internet
  • Full Kitchen
  • Balcony
  • Gas Grill
  • Patio
Appliances:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD Player
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Satellite TV or Cable TV
  • VCR Player
Activities:
  • Golf
  • Skiing
  • Surfing
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Walking
  • Water Skiing

Owner/Manager last updated on 07/31/2014

 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»
  August   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  September   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  July   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»


Pricing/ Rates:    (click to convert currency)
Nightly Price Range: $  533 to: $  613
Weekly Price Range: $  2,650 to: $  4,350
Monthly Price Range: $  6,250 to: $  17,821

   » Prices in United States Dollars.

Pricing Notes:
Minimum Night Requirements:
StartEndMin Nights
Jul 1, 2014Jul 28, 20143
Jul 29, 2014Sep 3, 20144
Sep 4, 2014May 21, 20153
May 22, 2015Aug 31, 20154
Sep 1, 2015Jul 31, 20163



This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 Property Reviews 
Lots of room
A guest from Las Vegas, NV recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014
Great house with plenty of room for our group of 7 adults, new kitchen and very well stocked for cooking. Rooms were good size (balcony access from all rooms!) and large open living area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The Arizonas
Norma G. R. from Yuma, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2014
Great Location,and great plaxw ro stay doe a large group..
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Bib Kahauna in January
A guest from Tulsa, OK recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in January, 2014
had a great time in Mission Beach altho' the weather was cooler than usual. Only problem at this condo was parking was for only one car and we had two cars.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful get away in SD
Chad C. from El Cajon, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013
We had family and a few friends come in town and this wonderful beach house accommodated everyone with out a hiccup. It has 5 beds and a futon so sleeping area was not a problem. The location was great as well nestled between pacific beach and mission beach. I would recommend not only this beach house but also the rental company to anyone.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know about your experience. We hope to have you banc in the future.
Sandy Beach Rentals
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Location
David D. from Wheat Ridge, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in September, 2013
The whole family had a wonderful vacation.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We look forward to your next one!
Sandy Beach Rentals
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The Big Kahuna Review
Mike S. from Arvada, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2013
We were very satisfied with our stay at the Big Kahuna. The property was exactly as described on the Sandy Beach Rentals web site, and its location was extremely convenient to Mission Beach and Mission Bay. We felt safe on the beach, and in the community. The only drawback to the location was our inability to put two vehicles in the two-car garage. We would strongly recommend this property to others.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We look forward to your next one!
Sandy Beach Rentals
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

50th Birthday Dream Vacation
A guest from Phoenix, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in July, 2013
2 weeks at the beach was a dream. The stove only had 2 burners which limited my cooking and the BBQ needed to have clean burner (uneven cooking) and the start button did not work. Only complaints GREAT PLACE!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Big Kahuna, Salem Court
A guest from Phoenix, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013
We have twice rented this unit for a family vacation. It's a great house for our 3 generation family of 10. The location is very good - a block from the beach at lifeguard station 20 and walking distance conveniently 1/2 way between Belmont and Ralph's. We noticed while unpacking that the dishes and glassware in the cupboard were dirty and that evening discovered that the dishwasher wasn't working. Sandy Beach Rental Company as always was very prompt and helpful. They sent out Raul their friendly handyman. Though he tried, the dishwasher seemed only very slightly better and we had to wash all the dishes by hand for the week. We bought paper plates though we hesitated because there is no recycling bin at this property. We knew the 2 garages are small but managed to almost squeeze in 2 cars and a van.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We had a fantastic time!
Ganesh V. from Katy, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013
We had a lovely time. There were 10 family members and we celebrated my dad's 75th birthday. It was a lovely, well maintained place and close to the beach with easy access to highways. All of us had tonnes of fun.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feeback. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fun 4th of July Vacation!
Marla A. from Las Cruces, NM recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013
I rented this home through Sandy Beach Rentals, who were professional and helpfull. A group of 10 adults stayed through the 4th of July week. We were so close to Sea World so we visited the park. The Big Kahuna is very fitting! Its 3 stories with lots of space. My firends and family cooked together a few nights. There is a market, shopping, cafes and restaurants within walking distance. The beach was within a few steps away from the home, so we made sandwiches and brought our pop up canopy from home and enjoyed the beach all day. It does get noisey, but we did stay during the 4th of July celebrations, so thats to be expected. I recommend this place!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your visit! We hope to have you back soon. Daphinne
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The Perfect San Diego Beach Vacation
A guest from Cortlandt Manor, NY recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
This house was perfect for our family of 11 adults and 4 small children. There was plenty of space for us to spread out. The bedroom on the 2nd (main floor) is perfect for a couple with a baby. The walk in closet was big enough for us to fit a full size crib, so our son could take naps and go to bed at night undisturbed. The large bedroom on the third floor is nice for a family, but does not afford anybody any privacy as theere is only a half wall separating the twin beds from the king bed.The kitchen is fully equipped and perfect for preparing meals for a large family. There is only a small eating area inside the house, but there is a beautiful, large patio set outside. The garages are quite small. We had a minivan and once that was in the large garage we weren't able to fit another car. The smaller garage is fine for a compact - midsize car, but if your bumper is low you might not be able to get it in the garage. The bottom of our Acura TSX kept hitting the entrance of the garage. We were able to find free parking nearby every day.There is no air conditioning in this house, but we didn't miss it. The house is a few steps from the ocean and down the street from the bay. It is also about a mile from Belmont Park and 10minutes from Sea World. It really was the perfect location to access everything. We will definitely be back the next time we come to San Diego.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals. We look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Lots of space and great location
A guest from Agoura Hills, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012
This house was the perfect size for a reunion that included mt family of 5 plus my sister's family of 4. There are more than enough beds, but the real key was the 3 car parking. We were able to fit a VW Jetta wagon, a Honda Insight and a VW GTI in the garage space, it was tight but so worth it since there is very little street parking during the busy summer days in Mission Beach. Very easy walk to the beach, easy to rent bikes and surfboards pretty much right next door. The bay was only a 2 minute walk away, and just a bit further of a walk on the bayside, Mission Bay Sportscenter with rentals for waverunners, sailboats, kayaks, etc. My kids easily walked to Belmont Park for the beachside amusement park, and Seaworld is very close drive. Sunsets over the ocean followed by Seaworld fireworks over the bay every night! There are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, but we cooked most meals in the well appointed kitchen ( the only think that was missing was a griddle). Although there is not one big dining table, there was enough eating space using the kitchen nook table and the bar for all of us. The beds were not great, but decent, there were plenty of linens, pillows. It was nice to have 3 TV's. Our only real complaint was the low chandelier over the dining table that we all kept hitting our heads on.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
We raised the chandelier! Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals. We look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Home away from home!
Sandra M. from Indio, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012
This was the most modern, clean, up-to-date beach house we have ever stayed in. It felt like I was home not on a beach rental property which can sometimes be used and abused. This home is the second home over from Mission Blvd sp you get a lot of street traffic but on the third floor there is a balcony and bedroom with ocean view. A nice patio downstairs with a grill and comfortable patio furniture (not just plastic chairs). There was a leak under the kitchen sink, after a phone call the plummer was their in 30inutes. We did have a bike stolen from the front. It was locked to the gas line but the cable was cut and a neighbor complained their tire was slashed. The garage fits two small SUV's and we kept the rest of our bikes secured in there. I've used Sandy Beach Rentals before and would definitely use them again. Thank you for a comforable and wonderful stay.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for your review! We love having you stay with us. I am sorry about your bike! We hope to have you back real soon. Daphinne
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice house, good management company
A guest from newark, DE recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2012
The house is very nice, and in a great location. We had a few issues while we were there (part of the stove broke, there was very little silverware), but as soon as we called the managment company, they handled it. They were very professional and did everything they could to make sure we had a great stay. I would recommend this house.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awesome
A guest from Glendale, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2012
We have now stayed here 4 times and just love it.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals! We look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

great for multiple families
Peggy W. from vail, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2012
We stayed with our daughter and her family with 3 small children. Everyone had privacy. the children loved the ocean, very very close. The only down side was the small garage, it was hard to get in and out of, but we managed.Thank you for a great vacation.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your trip. We do have 2 garages as the property and the one smaller one is more for storage or a compact car. I am so glad you were able to get your vehicle into it! We strive to let our guests know all about our properties including sending the garage measurements ahead of time so that they can be prepared for the parking in Mission Beach. Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals! We look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Four days in the sun...
A guest from San Jose, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2011
Great stay... The Big Kahuna is a fantastic house with a great location on the Pacific side. Parked three cars, plenty of room, great condition and Sandy Beach Rentals is the best. Thanks
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice house, good location
Leslie B. from Phoenix, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011
The 4 bedroom house was a good choice for our 3 generation family of 10. It is just a minute's walk from the beach and also quite close to the bay. There were a few inconveniences. The bedrooms don't have windows, only french doors and the 4 gates to the yard don't have locks so security at night is an issue if you want to sleep with the doors open. The house is fairly well furnished. It would have been nice if the dining space could seat 10. The kitchen has most necessities. Bring paper plates - the dishes are huge stoneware and take a lot of dishwasher space so we did many loads. The outdoor grill is small. It barely fit 10 burgers and we did the kabobs in 2 shifts. Parking is very tight. The sink upstairs was plugged when we arrived but was fixed on Monday. Management was very responsive!Overall it was a wonderful vacation house.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The Big Kahuna Visit
A guest from Alamogordo, NM recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2011
The parking facilities are inadequate for any type of large vehicle such as a SUV. Even though there are 3 car garage accommodations advertised, we could only park 1 vehicle and had to pay expensive parking fees for a second vehicle. It would be nice if the agency supplied more than 1 garbage bag for the property. Overall, it was a nice accomodation and my family enjoyed their stay.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice Large Mission Beach Vacation Home
William K. from Katy, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011
Our family - 6 adults and 2 kids - really enjoyed our vacation in this very large home. It had all the amenities we needed, the kitchen was well equipped, the beds were comfortable, and it is in an area we liked very much - north Mission Beach away from the crowds and noise of the central and southern areas. The ocean beach is a few steps out the front door where we enjoyed the waves, and the more peaceful bay-side is only a few steps more where we enjoyed the beach and rented a sail boat and kayaks. The management was friendly and helpful - a problem with the refrigerator was handled very promptly and well - and on the weekend. Although views from the house were limited - just a little from the 3rd floor bedrooms and deck - the very short walks to the ocean or bay gave really magnificent views to compensate. The garage was as described except the overhead clearance was a little better than described, which was a relief - our mid-sized SUV fit easily. There were a number of beach toys at the house that are not mentioned on the website. If you need a lot of space, you will enjoy renting this home.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Immaculate Large North Mission Beach Home
A guest from Mesa, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011
If you are looking for a large home that is extemely clean in the middle of the fun and hustle of Mission Beach plus close to both the ocean and the bay, this is the house for you. This home is well equipped, very clean, great for a large family or extended families. The only drawback is the parking. BUT, parking is at a premium in Mission Beach. The garages with the home are adequate at the most. We had a Ford Edge, Ford Fusion and a Honda Odessey. Parking was very tight. Could not close the garage doors. Loved the convenience of the washer and dryer with kids. Friendly neighbors.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Reno, Nevada recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Family Place
A guest from Las Cruces, NM recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010
Parking was a problem with a Honda CRV, Nissan Altima, and Toyata Tundra. Once we figured it out we managed, but we were never able to close any garage doors.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The Big Kahuna was fantastic. It was the perfect location to bike to everything.
Barbara J. from Chandler, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010
I just wish you could have done something about the cold weather we had. We would love to come back again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awesome Property!
A guest from Worthington, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2010
Great property, great location, very spacious, very satisfied.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Beach House
A guest from Phoenix, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2010
This is the second year we have rented this great house. It is the perfect house for our family. The furnishings and decor are lovely and comfortable. The kitchen is stocked with everything you need. Very clean and well maintained. Close to the beach, shopping, etc. We'll be back!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Jane H. from Point Pleasant Beach, NJ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Big Kahuna
James A. from Walnut Creek, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2010
I had a fantastic stay at the Big Kahuna. The house was very nice, the rooms big and the furniture fitting for a nice weekend beach stay. A brief walk from the beach (four houses away) and within walking distance of downtown PB. There is also a great deli right across the street that makes it easy to have a nice snack. I would highly recommend staying here, I had a great time.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

David B. from Bracknell, Berkshire recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in April, 2010
Very dark - decoration and furniture dark in colour - needed light on in day. Dishwasher in poor condition. Crockery and utensils dirty and needed cleaning before use. No electric kettle. Hob took ages to boil kettle. Garage door opener missing - reported but not provided
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Family Weekend at great location
Lloyd B. from Tempe, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2010
We had a great weekend at the Big Kahuna - the beatiful weather contributed to the enjoyment, but the rental home was configured just right for my big family of children with spouses and grandkids. Plenty of beds and bathrooms on separate floors. Living room and kitchen on main floor just right for meals and games or movie watching in the evening. Location perfect - short walk to either the ocean or bay beach.Property managers attentive and helpful. I appreciate learning from the reviews of others not to expect too much in the way of parking, but we did fit two mid-size cars (Acura, Infinti) in the 2 car garage, tight, but fine; and a Toyota Camry in the small garage leaving the door open. Better than parking on the street or at Santa Clara point a few blocks away. New carpets just installed.Internet service is through the modem in the downstairs bedroom. If I return again I will take a router to have WiFi on other floors.Beach toys (plastic buckets and wheeled toys,etc.) contributed to fun for little kids; nice to have.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Robert M. from Leawood, KS recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in February, 2010
in your instructions you should indicate that we need to provide addl trash bags and coffee filters--- we could have brought some from home or we aat lest would have known that we needed to get spome at the grocery store. Also it would be nice to have small bowls for salsa etc.also, it is virtually impossible to get 2 medium sized cars in the garage--- it would be ok if one was a compact carthanks--- otherwise the place was great

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Dear Robert,Thank you for taking the time to fill out our guest survey. We strive to offer an much information prior to your arrival via our Guest Information Email. This email provides the list of items that your vacation home is stocked with in regards to Trash liners, paper towels, TP etc.. We also provide the guest arrival instructions which offers Garage Measurements if requested. Vehicles are so many different sizes these days.. it is difficult for us to know if a car or cars will fit in the parking areas so we do offer the measurements to help our guests to plan for their arrival. We will certainly look into getting some smaller bowls for "Salsa" Great suggestion. Thank you! We do hope to accommodate you in the future and please know we will always offer you at least a $50 discount on a future visit with us! Best Regards,Daphinne Accomazzo
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

AWESOME PLACE!
A guest from Phoeniz, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2010
My family and I had a great time in San Diego and the house was perfect! Thanks again for a great place, location and overall awesome experience!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our guest survey. We look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Loving the Big Kahuna
Marc S. from Burlingame, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2009
Had a Great Time - Great location - near the ocean and near the bay. Kids loved the freedom. also close to Belmont Park. Ideal location, great house - lots of room. 2nd time we stayed there...will be back!!!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our guest survey. We look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Tony S. from Orlando, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 12 days in October, 2009
The stove top never got fixed even with a amainteneance guy out there. The carpets were stained pretty bad. Overall it was an excellent value.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Deat Tony,
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our guest survey. We have been able to repair the stove top after the ordered part came in and the carpets have been scheduled for cleaning as well. We do hope to accomodate you in the future! Please save this email for a $150 discount on your next visit!
Thank you! Daphinne Accomazzo
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A fun, convenient, spacious place to enjoy Mission Beach
Nola T. from Mesa, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in September, 2009
If the outdoor grill on the patio would have been clean and working, our stay would have been FANTASTIC. We really enjoy grilling some meals, so that couldn't happen--------but we survived.

Property Manager Response:
Dear Nola,
Thank you for staying with us again!! We do have an after hours number that you can call when you have any problems. We also guarantee our properties and grills will be clean and if such items have been overlooked we will send someone right over to take care of it. We hope to accomdate you in the future and will do our best to make the next visit FANTASTIC. Thank you for always choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Roomy house but needs a refresh
A guest from San Francisco, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2009
The location in Mission beach is great. The patio area downstairs is nice enough. Overall comfortable home. Cons are:1> AC doesn't work so it gets really warm2> The interiors and furnishings are a little dated, rugs and carpets need replacement in some areas3> Cleaning fee is $200, but you're expected to keep the place fairly clean, throw towels into the wash, wash/dry and put back all the dishes, clean the stove. They should be paying me.

Property Manager Response:
DearArjun,

Thank you for your comments. We strive to offer great comfortable homes and want your visit to be a favorite vacation. This home was proffesionally decorated just 5 years ago with a Tommy Bahama decor and has always been one of our best properties. It does not actually offer A/C as most properties near the beach do not offer this amenity. We do ask our guests to clean up any times that may have food on them or spills, crumbs, well as taking out the rubbish. This
helpsus keep pests away. We do not require our guests to do any laundry or cleaning other than food items.

We hope to accomodate you in the future. We do have 3 homes that offer A/C and will do our best to find the perfect property for your visit.
We also offer our returning guests a discount! We hope to have you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Daphinne Accomazzo
Property Manager Response:
DearArjun,

Thank you for your comments. We strive to offer great comfortable homes and want your visit to be a favorite vacation. This home was proffesionally decorated just 5 years ago with a Tommy Bahama decor and has always been one of our best properties. It does not actually offer A/C as most properties near the beach do not offer this amenity. We do ask our guests to clean up any times that may have food on them or spills, crumbs, well as taking out the rubbish. This
helpsus keep pests away. We do not require our guests to do any laundry or cleaning other than food items.

We hope to accomodate you in the future. We do have 3 homes that offer A/C and will do our best to find the perfect property for your visit.
We also offer our returning guests a discount! We hope to have you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Daphinne Accomazzo
Property Manager Response:
DearArjun,

Thank you for your comments. We strive to offer great comfortable homes and want your visit to be a favorite vacation. This home was proffesionally decorated just 5 years ago with a Tommy Bahama decor and has always been one of our best properties. It does not actually offer A/C as most properties near the beach do not offer this amenity. We do ask our guests to clean up any times that may have food on them or spills, crumbs, well as taking out the rubbish. This
helpsus keep pests away. We do not require our guests to do any laundry or cleaning other than food items.

We hope to accomodate you in the future. We do have 3 homes that offer A/C and will do our best to find the perfect property for your visit.
We also offer our returning guests a discount! We hope to have you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Daphinne Accomazzo
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Jack K. from Anaheim, California does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2009
We had our bike stolen from the garageand we were lookin for a house on the sand not down the ally...

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Dear Mr. Keeter,
We are sorry you did not enjoy this specific property. We do hope to have you return in the future and we have several other homes that are Beach Front. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We do hope to accommodate you in the future.
Daphinne Accomazzo
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great House for Fun Times
Donna C. from Redondo Beach, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2009
This house was great for our big family. We have stayed here twice and love it. We would just love the very top to not be so hot, more windows would help.

Property Manager Response:
Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals! We look forward to your next visit.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Amy J. from Gilbert, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in July, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from San Diego, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Five Star Vacation Rental
A guest from Phoenix, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2009
It was perfect for our family. Great decor with lots of room. It is close to the beach in an area that is not crowded. Overall it was a great vacation rental. However, there are a couple of things that could be improved. The home was very clean, except for the carpet which needed cleaning. We did not care for the glass topped dining table with folding wooden chairs. The chairs were wobbly and both the table & chairs need to be replaced.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Chrystal S. from Mesa, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2009
We absolutely loved our stay. Very spacious! We had a wonderful stay in SD!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Constance H. from Pinetop, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Review
Nan C. from Kansas City, MO recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in April, 2009
Mgr was very helpful in booking, working w/us prior to arrival, etc. But we couldn't get ahold of anyone during our stay. I understand that no one is in on the weekends, but since many stays are during a weekend, someone should be more responsive.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Needs some Maintenance
A guest from La Mesa, CA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2008
Overall a nice home but with (12) people and a broken stove we were forced us to eat-out more than we would have costing a lot more money. Needs central A.C. or security screens for fresh air. No Kleenex tissue,cooking spices, hand soap, beach chairs, remote control for garage door or beach umbrella. Needs new range/stove, garden hose, refrig. door repaired and carpets cleaned Smoke alarm went off for ten seconds in the middle of the night (No reason).
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

San Diego Beach holiday
Moira M. from Grantham, Lincs recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2008
Thanks for a fantastic week in San Diego. The Big Kahuna was a stone's throw awaty from the beach - and only a litle further to the shops and the Bay. We all had a fantastic holiday and were blown away by the comfortable accomodation and it's location but particularly by the friendly helpful people we encountered. We will be back soon hopefully
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Vacation-This beach house was in a great location and spacious.
Terry S. from Brawley ,, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2008
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Our 4th year at The Big Kahuna!
Julie H. from Tuscon, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2008
Once again we had a fabulous week. Perfect weather and perfect location. The house is perfect for our group and we had a great time! Thanks!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Family reunion
Susan H. from Tucson ,, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2008
We found the best way to celebrate our Mom's 90th birthday was to get together as a family. The big Kahuna House was the perfect setting. The common area was large enough for all of us to relax and talk as well as eat together. The bedrooms were comfortable and offered privacy for moments you wanted to get away. San Diego had lots to do, but the beach was also a tremendous drawing card.While we cooked most of our meals, there were many restaurants nearby for a change of pace.This was a vacation we will never forget.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sharon C. from Peoria, , AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2008
We love this house and would like to do it again next year, the same time (last week in June). The house did not seem as fresh and clean as when we rented it last year. The carpets were definately dirtier and more worn and the futon couch cushion in the living room needs to either be cleaned really well or be replaced because it smelled. We also had a problem with a running toilet in the downstairs bathroom that eventually overran. We love this house but it does need some freshening in the carpets and the futon couch. We will be back.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A Wonderful Way To Escape the Heat!
Gale E. M. from Sahuarita ,, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in June, 2008
We love the Big Kahuna because it meets our needs in regards to sleeping space, proximity to the beach and the ability to have a little private space to read, etc. away from the rest of the group. The only observations we made this year that weren't entirely positive are:1) Some of the rattan furniture in the living room is beginning to break down and sharp edges catch on clothing.2) The mattress in the downstairs bedroom is brutal and should possibly be replaced.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

San Diego Big Kahuna
Patty K. from Tempe, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2008
We had two wet suits stolen off the porch. It would have been nice to be warned not to leave anything out. The street noise (Mission Blvd) was a little loud.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Parking terrible. To have 2 or more cars and only one real servicable garage-a nightmare. The single car garage to small.
Stephen S. from Sebastopol ,, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 9 days in May, 2008
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

MARK M. from CRANBROOK, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2008
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Contact the Manager
Sandy Beach Rentals

Leave this field empty First Name *

Last Name *

Email Address *

Country *
Arrival Date

Departure Date

Adult (18+)
Child (<18)
Telephone
HomeMobileWork
Additional Message
Max 500 characters.

Email me this inquiry
Send me deals email

By clicking "Send Email" you are agreeing to our Terms and Conditions.


This advertiser has listed with PerfectPlaces.com since Feb 4, 2009

Find additional Vacation Rentals: