Perfect Places Vacation Rentals
Traveler Login Owner Login

Salem Surf Sanctuary- Fabulous beach cottage just steps t...
San Diego 1 br Vacation Rental Cottage

Property Summary
San Diego, California, United States
Type
Cottage

Bedrooms
1

Bathrooms
1

Sleeps
4

Rates
$240 - $533 per night
$1,385 - $1,885 per week
$3,435 - $7,635 per month

Non Smoking   High-Speed Internet
 
Book Online   Visa Mastercard Discover
This property listing provides real-time availability and rate quotes. Book it securely and instantly using a credit card.

Vacation Cottage Rental Description:



Salem Surf Sanctuary- Fabulous beach cottage just steps to the beach

This property is available year-round.
You can make an online reservation now or call us for assistance. We offer a 3 night minimum Sept to May. One week minimum for summer season Sat to Sat and also over the Holidays - we do make some exceptions in Early June and late August. Holidays have one week minimum but at times we can work around this so please call! We do not accommodate arrivals on a holiday at this time. Please call to verify current RATES. We will do our best to have the up to date rate displayed but there will be times that our rates may not be current.

Relax, you're on the beach! Enjoy time with your loved ones in this cozy beach cottage, just steps away from Mission Beach's famous Boardwalk. Watch sunsets every day, and relax in the jacuzzi at night. Salem Surf Sanctuary is the prime location for surfers, writers and ocean lovers alike.

It's private and it's an original stand alone home (rare on the beach). It has a big parking spot for SUVs, surf and classic art on Mango and yellow walls giving that well lit outside beach feel all day, 8-10 incredible tropical plants surround the private deck. Mid Century decor, wood flooring and speakers in all rooms including the bathroom so you can jam to your favorite music.

The cottage includes: a full size kitchen with refrigerator, stove/oven, dishwasher, microwave, toaster oven and blender. There is a barbeque on the deck. Wi-Fi ready!

What brings you to San Diego? Sun, sand and surf you say? Then you just found your beach house! This wonderful cottage is 45 steps to the sand and offers an ocean view from the beautiful redwood deck. Turn up the hot tub, sit back and relax while whipping up dinner on the gas grill.

The living room is sunshiny and bright with state of the art TV and audio, bring the iPod and enjoy the surround sound emitting from the speakers throughout the house. There is even a speaker in the bathroom so you can rock out while soaking in bubbles! Beautiful hardwood floors and mid-century furniture make this beach house a dream to come home to. Two 'click clack' sofas lay flat for a full size sleeper in the living room. The kitchen is efficient and well equipped, dishwasher, gas stove, blender and toaster oven. This beach house is available year round and it sleeps up to 4 adults.

Full bathroom off the living room is convenient from the master bedroom and the living room. It even has a tub for you to relax in. You will love the decor in this house!

The master has a skylight and queen size bed, desk area with wireless internet and cordless phone- if you MUST work- you are well equipped. Washer and dryer included too.

Parking space suits a larger car or SUV as it is an exterior space next to the house. The Salem Surf Sanctuary is beautifully located, steps away from bike and boogie board rental, The Mission Cafe and Saska's steak and sushi is a block away. Everything you need is steps away from your beach house. Bring your suit and your board, kick the sand off your feet, shower on the deck and settle in to the 4 person hot tub or relax on the hammock.

Daily, weekly and monthly rates offered.

Bedding Configuration: 1 Queen, 2 Sleeper Sofa

Additional Features:
* Business: High Speed Internet, Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office
* Convenience: Nearby Grocery, San Diego Zoo, Seaworld
* Culture: San Diego Museums
* Entertainment: Cable TV
* Geographic: Belmont Park, Few Minutes to Bayfront, Near Beach, Nearby Sailing, Nearby Surfing, Nearby Tennis, San Diego Airport, San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Zoo (15 min drive), Sea World, Stephen Birch Aquarium, Steps to Mission Bay, Steps to Mission Beach
* Kitchen: Blender, Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Glassware, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster
* Living: Ceiling Fans, High Speed Internet, Linens, Washer & Dryer
* Outdoor: BBQ Grill, Beach, Deck, Hot Tub
Book Online:

Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.

Arrival Date:
Departure Date:
Adults (18+):
Children (<18):
Visa Mastercard Discover



Accommodation and Amenities:

Features:
  • High-Speed Internet
  • Full Kitchen
  • Deck
Appliances:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Phone
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Satellite TV or Cable TV
Activities:
  • Surfing
  • Tennis

Owner/Manager last updated on 12/25/2014

 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  July   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  August   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  September   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
  October   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  November   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
 available     unavailable     tentative View next 12 months »»


Pricing/ Rates:    (click to convert currency)
Nightly Price Range: $  240 to: $  533
Weekly Price Range: $  1,385 to: $  1,885
Monthly Price Range: $  3,435 to: $  7,635

   » Prices in United States Dollars.

Pricing Notes:
Minimum Night Requirements:
StartEndMin Nights
Dec 1, 2014Jun 24, 20153
Jun 25, 2015Jul 31, 20157
Aug 1, 2015Feb 29, 20164
Mar 1, 2016Dec 31, 20163



This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 Property Reviews 
Very relaxing!
Cyndy J. from Chandler, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2014
We had a great stay at Salem Surf Sanctuary. Everything was exactly as written. We didn't get a chance to utilize the hot tub because the weather was pretty darn hot. The only disappoint was NO Blow Dryer...which resulted in many bad hair days for me!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Disappointment After Last Year
Paul J. from Suprize, AZ does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2014
Our Family had rented this property the prior year and it was awesome, so expectations were high, only to end up in frustration. Arrived after check in time after a 5.5 hour trip, to find cleaning crew still working and neighbor directing us on how to park (he has issues. Once inside you could tell the cleaners rushed through the work, and many items were in sub par condition. Neighbor smokes marijuana freely on his property, and is a nuisance! Referred my brother to stay there, and was told we would only get our referral bonus if we stayed the following year??? What a change from last year, I would not recommend anyone to stay there any longer after giving this property glowing reviews the prior year. I would like to add the ladies at Sandy beach rentals are very nice, and took care of us to the best of their abilities, the one exception being the referral bonus, which by the way was made 60 days earlier

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Paul, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I apologize that this trip did not compare to your last visits. We do our best to have the properties ready to go by 3:00 PM but there are times when the prior guests may leave more work for us to do or we have other surprises on our busy Saturday turn around day that prevent us from being on time. It was noted that the housekeepers departed 15 mins late. I am sure they were rushing to get it completed so that you could check into the house. We take pride in our cleaning and want it to be perfect for our guests. We would have gladly sent them back to address any items that may have been overlooked if it was reported to us. We do understand that our guests want to settle in and may not want to have housekeepers return or repair people. This is the only way we can address a problem when it has been over looked or maint issue that may occur during a visit. We do out best to minimize any inconvenience to you and your family.

Thank you for your referral!~ We do set up in your reservation notes regarding any referrals that you may send out way up to $200 total discount on a future visit. We are unable to apply a discount after a reservation has already been confirmed. You were given your returning guest discount of $50 off when you made your reservation in September of 2013. We are able to offer you the referral discount on your next visit so you will have a total of $100 discount coming your way!

Thank you for reporting the issue that you had with the neighbor. The owner has spoken to him and asked him to please be mindful of our guests and to contact Sandy Beach Rentals if he has any concerns in regards to parking or any of our visiting guests. We do have very specific information regarding the parking so that it does not disturb his ability to pass and get to his vehicle. This is the same neighbor that has been living next door for many years and this is the first issue we have encountered wi
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Couples Stay
Terri A. from MEsa, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2014
Great vacation getaway, loved the location it was close to everything we love about staying in Mission Beach. Great food, fun and great neighbors. Only downside is the semi obtstruced ocean view (walls are not shown in the picture) Upside to the walls, love the privacy it provides at night! would definitely rent here again! ***** Stars!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thanks for taking the time to offer your review. We actually had fencing that goes up and down and there should have been instructions in the guest information book provided inside the house. We are actually having to keep the fencing down permanently now due to a city ordinance that only allows 3 ft high fencing so it shoiuld not be a factor in the future!
Thanks for staying with us.
Daphinne
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

My favorite place
Robin M. from La Mesa, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014
Love this house, its in a great location and has a really nice feel! Would love to stay again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
We love this house too! The owner does a great job keeping it just right! It really is a gem! Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to offer your review. We appreciate you choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!
Daphinne
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fantastic Rental
Christine O. from Alexandria, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 31 days in March, 2014
I stayed here for three months for a work rotation and it greatly exceeded my expectations. It's a good amount of room for a one bedroom house and is steps away from the beach. The hot tub and speakers system were awesome. Also, I stayed by myself and felt totally safe. Wish I could have stayed longer!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hidden Gem!
Amy K. from Wisconsin Rapids, WI recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014
This vacation rental was amazing and perfect for myself and my significant other. The hot tub and hammock outside are something you can't find at many other properties and really make your vacation relaxing. The house itself was cute and accommodating. You can still hear the ocean from inside the bedroom at night which is amazing. I was tentative at first because I thought I wanted something right on Ocean Front Walk; but after staying here I would return in a heartbeat. You don't get as much noise and traffic as you do on the main strip and you can still see a little bit of the ocean from the backyard. Thanks Daphne for letting me enjoy you're hidden gem, it was amazing!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Cute House. Great Location, Will definitely return.
Lisa S. from Phoenix, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in October, 2013
The Jacuzzi stopped working while we were there. We understand things like this happen. The rental company and the owner of the house were very responsive, tried to get things working ASAP and did compensate us when it was not going to be fixed during our stay....our 5 year said that Larry (the owner) is going to teach her to surf when she comes back...this is not confirmed but he was very sweet to our kids when he was there working on the Jacuzzi. Those fold out beds were pretty uncomfortable. Previous reviews did not lie. I did know what I was getting into so I still rated the overall satisfaction a 5

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for staying with us and I am so sorry the jacuzzi stopped working. We look forward to your next visit and Yes Larry will teach your kids how to Surf! He is a great guy and his Surf Shop is really cool. I hope you made it over there to check things out!
See you soon.
Daphinne
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awesome place to stay in Mission Beach
A guest from Toronto, Ontario recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2013
Love this place, would have been awesome if all the jets on the hot tub were working. The staff at Sandy Beach was amazing and took care of all of my needs. Would definitely recommend this place and I will be staying here again for sure!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for staying with us and for reporting one of the jets not working! We hope to have you back really soon.
Sandy Beach Rentals
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

2 year anniversary
Marlon M. from Alpharetta, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in September, 2013
Wife and I are from Georgia and had known eachother for 12 years or so before we started dating. I was living in San Diego at the time and we spent tons on her traveling back and forth. I now have moved back to Atlanta, gotten married, etc. so to come back and have such a great place to stay on the beach was both breath taking and heart warming. Life is Good!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We look forward to your next one!
Sandy Beach Rentals
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

best beach house!
Eric M. from Phoenix, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013
this was our 3rd or fourth time to this property and we love it.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Surf Shack Summer 2013
Paul J. from Suprize, AZS recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013
Our experience so far has been wonderful. We look forward to returning in 2014

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feeback. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Amazing Family Vacation
A guest from Surprise, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013
This beach cottage was perfect for our family of four. The couches were very comfortable for our children and much more comfortable than a pull out sofa. The bamboo fence made it very private on the patio when enjoying the hammock and hot tub. The location was also wonderful and even provided views of the ocean from the patio. The only request I would make is that new utensils be purchased for guests to use instead of plastic. Other than that, however; the place was perfect for our family.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your trip. I am not aware that there are only plastic utensils in this property? We should have normal utensils. Thank you for bringing that to my attention. I will make sure that it is as it should be.
We look forward to your next visit.
Daphinne
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Salem Surf Shack Review
A guest from Berkeley, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2013
The property was in a great location, just steps from the boardwalk and the beach. The highlight of the property was the wonderful deck space for hanging out enjoying the SD weather. The disappointing part of the property was that it was advertised as sleeping 4 adults. The (1) bedroom with a queen size bed was great; large and comfortable. However, the 2 futons were absolutely beyond uncomfortable and I wouldn't ever want to subject someone, especially an adult to sleeping on them. In addition, there weren't a sufficient amount of pillows and blankets for (4) adults especially when it was pouring and cold (although unusual for SD weather). I expressed these concerns to the property management and they mentioned they would take it into consideration for the next guests.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for staying with us. We also appreciate your feedback. I am sorry that you did not have enough blankets or pillows to be comfortable. There should have been one there for the bed, and 1 for each sofa. If you had contacted our office during your visit, we would have been more than happy to bring some over for you. We only offer the property for 4 guests so we offer 4 pillows~ 1 per guest.

We have also just replaced the one futon sleeper that had a damaged arm rest. I do agree that sofa sleepers are not the most comfortable for sleeping. We have not had any complaints prior to your visit so we are looking into it at this time.

We do hope to have you back in the future.

Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice time at 716 Salem
Paul H. from Longmont, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in April, 2013
Just a few steps from the beach, enough to be away from all the traffic on the boardwalk. Tho an older house, the hot tub and sheltered patio were especially appreciated. Needs brighter light bulbs tho. Bike rental just steps away. We'd go back again.Management was very helpful, tho they didn't have the current code for the WiFi, which created frustration for 2 days. Updated now.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I apologize for the wifi issues. We do have an on call person that is set up to help our guests for such issues with the wifi as it is unfortunate but sometimes the passcodes get changed by prior guests, sometimes it gets erased, etc... I have made sure that the guest information is detailed in the guest book with the proper information. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals. We look forward to your next visit. Daphinne
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Birthday Getaway
Barbara H. from San Diego, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in November, 2012
I stayed at this property as a single woman and felt very safe and secure. The facilites and amenities were just as described online, No Suprises! The house is located right inbetween Mission and Pacific Beach. I rode a bike pretty much everywhere or walked and drove very little. I am a local San Diegan and was just looking for a relaxing staycation. The Jacuzzi was great :-) Another nice feature was the surround sound system throughout the home. I love listening to music in the shower, on the patio, while cooking and it was a nice unexpected bonus.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit! We look forward to your next one. Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!~
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Salem Surf Sanctuary
A guest from Astoria, NY recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2012
We loved our week at the Salem Surf Sanctuary! Location location location. You are so close to the sand and all the fun things in Mission/Pacific Beach. We especially enjoyed the hot tub in the evenings. Can't wait to come back - we would definitely stay there again!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit! We look forward to your next one. Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!~
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Better than the photos & description
A guest from SAN MARCOS, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2012
We couldn't have asked for a more amazing time. Perfect location, 3 houses from the beach with a view of the water from the comparably large deck! Very very clean and quaint home (and I am a stickler!) The property managers and the owner (whom I ran into as he was updating some of the home items) were very kind and attentive. Very good directions and instructions. Woke right up & walked to the beach to surf in the morning..and in the afternoon. Was a blessing finding this place! Would definitely highly recommend and come back! Thank you Sandy Beach Rentals!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit! We look forward to your next one. Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!~
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Love San Diego !!!
Robert H. from Calgary, Alberta recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in October, 2012
We've been to San Diego now a couple of times and every time its just as good if not better then the first time !! Love the little beach house in Mission beach, unbelievable locations seconds from the ocean , cafes , bars and restaurants !! Can't wait to visit again .

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit! We look forward to your next one. Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!~
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

716 Salem
Christopher D. from Vail, AZ does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
We arrived to the rental to find the property very unclean. Dust/sand everywhere. Soda stains on the desk in the bedroom. The desk chair looked nasty. My wife ended up cleaning everything up because our son needed to go to bed and we didn?t want to wait around and also have someone in the rental cleaning up and getting in our way especially while our son (almost 2) was trying to sleep from a long day --- very disappointing/inconvenient.More issues: The microwave had an internal electrical issue/sounded like it was going to blow-up, and I had to call multiple times just to get a new microwave (really??). Right when you walk in the rental, the tall plant is half dead. One of the couches was semi-broken. We had one issue with the shower not working at the top sprayer. The linen/storage closet next to the bathroom was a disaster (very dirty and cluttered). All of the satellite speakers from the sound system were rusted (I understand that it?s a humid/moist environment but, all of them?? They have a simple spray for preventing that kind of thing). There was a bunch of nasty looking pubic hair around the toilet. I understand there are some things out of the renter's control - as the rental office kept repeating to me over and over and over and over... but when you put EVERYTHING together, this rental's upkeep/overall quality is well below average. In my opinion, it seems as though the rental is being kept just above functional and not even coming close to any higher standards whatsoever. I felt taken advantage. I missed out on my family?s summer vacation for 2 years in a row because I was deployed to Afghanistan during those times, so I wanted to make up for it - and pay a little more than what we are normally comfortable paying for this yearly trip. The pictures and description aren?t even close to what we experienced. I am not happy with Sandy Beach Rentals and will not be using them again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Dear Christopher,Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I do appologize that everything was not perfect when you arrived. We do guarantee our cleaning and there are times that we make mistakes. The property was cleaned prior to your arrival and when you reported to us that there were items that were missed, it was noted that there were some cobwebs and dust. There was not mention of bathroom issues, soda, sand. We offered to have someone come right over and take care of the items that were over looked. At that time you requested we do not come over and indicated that your wife had already taken care of the missed areas. We did offer you a complete credti for the cleaning due to your inconvience. This is not within our policiy as do need to verify this sort of thing so that we can take the appropriate measures with our staff. We also came right over when you reported the microwave not working. We took the microwave and plugged it into another area to see if it was the unit or the outlet. The microwave was working and you were there to verify this. You trhen reported later that it was still not working and we had it replaced. The sofa was in working condition when you arrived. The arm had been broken down in one place but it was still functioning and we were waiting for the furniture company to bring in a replacement. We did not feel that this was an item to be done during your visit as the sofa was still functioning and still comfortable. The linen closet shoiuld be neat and this was addressed to the housekeeper. We take care to repair any item as it is brought to our attention. We did do this during your visit. This is one of our most favored homes and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit and that you did not find it up to your expectations. We did our best to service you and your family. We do wish you the best and thank you for staying with us. Daphinne Accomazzo
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A Home Away from Home
A guest from Gilbert, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2012
Salem Sanctuary was a beautiful property that was very well maintained. The spa created a nice end to a perfect day in San Diego.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals. We look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Small bit of Surf heaven...
A guest from Tempe, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2012
Location and house itself were great, good restaurants and market within walking distance. Just a small pet peeve, it would have been nice to have more toilet paper, trash bags and dish soap available at the house, without having to supply it ourselves.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals! We look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Location
Mary H. from Aurora, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in May, 2012
We loved the little cottage. Perfect location, parking. Loved having a stand alone place of our own so close to the beach you can hear the ocean.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Winter Relaxation!
A guest from Laramie, WY recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in January, 2012
We greatly enjoyed our time in out little one bedroom house. The location was great, the house was well kept and cozy. It was wonderful to go out in the evening and enjoy the hot tub under the stars. Bike shop around the corner and a cute little coffee shop across the street, what more do you need? Loved it, thanks for a very relaxing week!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Greatest escape
Tara A. from San Diego, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2012
Had an amazing stay. The location was perfect. The bungalow was way bigger than imagined, it never felt small even with 4 girls and all there stuff. The hot tub was a highlight. Neighbors were so kind and hospitable. Great breakfast steps from the house on mission. Only complaint the pull out couches were not comfortable to sleep on. We used an air mattress the remainder of our stay.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals. I wish we could find a comfy sofa sleeper?? Not sure if there are any out there! We recommend having the kids sleep on the sleepers. Hope you come back to stay with us soon!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Our 25th Anniversary Vacation
James K. from Fort Wayne, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in October, 2011
Loved the fact that we were only steps to the beach and boardwalk,where there was always something going on.The hot tub was nice.The bed was comfy & our rental had plenty of room for the 2 of us. I would suggest getting rid of 1 of the click clack sofas & get 2 recliners in place of them. A patio table would have been nice on the sunsetting deck. Overall we really enjoyed our stay in the Mission Beach area & hope to return again. A nice place for the price! Note: We are from Indiana, not Tennesee.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Chilling out
Anne W. from Little Smeaton, Pontefract recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in September, 2011
Great place to unwind, sink into the hammock or splash away inb the hot tub. Only a few yards to the boardwalk experience and an amazing beach.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals. We look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Literally Just Steps from the Beach...
Lynda T. from Phoenix, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in September, 2011
...about 40 steps to be exact, but I have short was nice to be so close to the beach, yet not facing the boardwalk and all of the passers-by... This property has a wonderful patio, as you can tell from the photos. We really enjoyed using the grill for everything from steaks and burgers to grilled vegetables, and the modern jacuzzi is has all the bells and whistles and we enjoyed that a lot, too... The property also has high-speed internet and Dish Network with all of the movie channels and other channels you could possibly want. The kitchen was very nice and modern...we enjoyed sitting at the little bar to eat our meals...and having a washer-dryer was great, since we stayed for a week and we could wash our clothes as needed... The only thing I would suggest is to maybe get a more modern bedspread and linens (and maybe a new mattress) for the bedroom...the linens were a little worn...but otherwise, everything was modern and functional, with a cute decor... We will be back...

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals. We look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We loved our stay!!
Georgina Y. from Waubaushene, Ontario recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2011
Salem Surf Shack was the perfect place for us. The ocean is so close that we were able to go to sleep to the sound of the waves. There is lots to do within walking distance and the surfing is great. The house was perfect - just what we had hoped for. It was big enough for a family of 4 adults. We'd love to return!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Phoenix, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Michelle C. from Tempe, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Vail, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

3rd Time Staying in The Salem Surf Sanctuary
Danielle F. from Phoenix, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2011
Sliding shower door needs to be replaced, as well as shower head. Should offer satellite TV in master bedroom. Would be nice if window could be opened in master bedroom (above bed).
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We'll Return
Joelle K. from Denver, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in April, 2011
Cute, clean place. Perfect for a couple or a couple with one child. The electronics were a bit confusing but the instructions were very straight forward. One piece of advice: this is not a negative but there were no condiments other than pepper and salt. Usually at Vacation rentals there are things like olive oil or vinegar or jam, etc. left over. There was zero so when you shop, be prepared to buy everything down to the wax paper or tin foil. But, there are great inexpensive restaurants a few seconds away. We are already planning our return trip.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Second visit as good as the first. We'll be back!
Gary D. from Chaska, MN recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in March, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Ocean getaway
D'Arcy T. from Saskatoon, SK recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in February, 2011
I believe that location is the best thing about this rental. I would get up everyday and walk to the ocean (about 60-90 seconds). I love to hear the waves and watch the various birds along the shore line. Getting to any of San Diego's many attractions is easy from this location.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Jean G. from Sacramento, California recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in January, 2011

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our guest survey. We look forward to your next visit. Daphinne Accomazzo
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wish I owned this place!
A guest from Fairbanks, AK recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in December, 2010
I love this place so much I hate to tell you all about it! Don't want competition for it the next time I'm in San Diego.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for staying with us another season! We look forward to your next visit. Daphinne Accomazzo
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect Getaway
A guest from Nashville, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in December, 2010
We loved the location, privacy, and coziness of the house. Great deck with awesome hot tub. Can't beat the area--close to the beach and bay-- and within a few blocks of great coffee shops and cafes.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Guyllaume C. from Zurich, 8048 recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in November, 2010

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

awesome location
A guest from Calgary, AB recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2010
The location was fantastic.Unfortunatly, for us the weather did not cooperate, sowe were limited with the use of the patio.The bar b q was scarey, old rusted out,we did inform the property manager, readingprior comments this was all ready mentioned, nothing done about it.All in all we enjoyed the place, it is a quiet location, no problems with ndightbours.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. We hope to have you return in the future and will offer you a discount for the inconvience that you experienced due to the poor condition of the BBQ. The owner has since replaced the grill with a new one. We look forward to your next visit! Daphinne Accomazo
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sna Diego '10
Steve H. from Shannon, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in September, 2010
We had an awesome time. This place was just the right size for the two of us. After staying 45 steps from the beach, do not think I would like being right on the beach. The row of houses between us and the beach blocked quite a bit of noise. Hot tub and hammock was the best.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We are so glad you had a wonderful visit and we look forward to your next! Daphinne Accomazzo Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Renals!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A Great Find!
Alison V. from North Haven, CT recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in September, 2010
We couldn't have had a better stay! This property was an a great location just steps from the beach and the boardwalk. The staff at Sandy Beach Rentals was friendly, informative and very responsive. We would definitely rent this property or another property from Sandy Beach Rentals again!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Milwaukie, Oregon recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2010
Great location! The property was good and the staff responded quickly to our problem with the plumbing. The barbecue needs to be replaced, it is rusted through. I would suggest replacing the very old soap dispenser in the bathroom and leaving your guests and extra trash bag in the kitchen. Also, the owner showed up about 10 minutes before our checkout time, leaving us a little flustered and I know we forgot to do a couple of tidy-up things because of that.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey! Thank you for also alerting us about the BBQ and the soap dish. We look forward to your next visit!! I appologize for any inconvience that you experienced during your visit! We will look forward to your next so that we can offer you a $100 discount! Daphinne Accomazzo
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A Real Sanctuary
Rebecca M. from San Diego, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in August, 2010
This was our second stay at this property. We stayed previously in 2008 when the owner first began renting it. The property is not worse for the wear of being a rental. In fact some new windows had been installed and were very nice. The best thing about this property is the location. It is steps from the beach, but not right on the boardwalk where it can be a bit more noisy. The house is perfect for a quiet getaway. NOT at party house. We used it for one couple and a teenager. The hot tub is great. There is a relaxing hammock. There is an awesome TV and stereo. There is only one small bathroom, but is has a full tub and shower and works well for 3 or less people. There is also an outdoor shower for rinsing off after the beach. The neighborhood is pretty quiet for Mission Beach. A mix of full-time residents and rentals. You can walk or bike to everything you need - stores, eateries, Belmont park, bars, rental shops, coffee shops, etc. The locals are very nice and mellow folk. We will be back.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

One week is not enough in this bungalow.
Heather C. from Glendale, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010
Spa breaker kept tripping and after third time of resetting breaker after being in the spa we didn't use it in fear that electrocution would happen. Everything else was outstanding. Thanks!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Ernie R. from Tarzana, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Tempe, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from healdsburg, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in May, 2010
The couch was very uncomfortable...sitting and sleeping. We had to add extra layers, yoga mat, sleeping bag, comforter to make sleeping somewhat ok. The chairs were a bit on the cheap side, not comfortable at all. The house was clean, cute, loved the wall colors, close to the beach, restaurants in walking distance. A lot of rules...even for the "older generation" but as long as we can our deposit back we'll be happy. Think it shouldn't take 14 days to be refunded back to your credit card tho!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hate to admit I love this place
A guest from Fairbanks, AK recommends this property.
Stayed for 9 days in December, 2009
I have stayed at the Salem Surf rental in San Diego twice now. I wish I lived there and my only hesitation on an honest evaluation is I'd love to keep the place my little secret!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our guest survey. We are so pleased that you always stay with us! Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals! See you soon!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Thanks Greg and Becky
Todd C. from Ketchum, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 30 days in October, 2009
Had a great time on Mission Beach for the month of November! The folks at Sandy Beach Rentals took care of any minor problems or questions immediately, making my stay worry free. I'll definately be looking to them when I rent next time, and fully recommend them to people looking for a vacation rental.Oh, don't leave anything (wetsuits) laying around on the deck for passerby's to grab. Other than that, the whole vacation was perfect.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great place to stay
A guest from Avon, CT recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2009

Property Manager Response:
We hope you had a wonderful Anniversary!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Eric M. from Phoenix, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2009

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sandy Beach Rentals Inc
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our guest survey. We look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Salem Surf Sanctuary - The caption says it all!
Ruth R. from El Mirage, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2009
Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay. We had a neighbor two doors down that didn't adhere to the 10 o'clock quiet time rule, but that in no way is a reflection of the home or Sandy Beach Rentals. We met some really nice neighbors during our stay. We definitely plan to come back again in the future!

Property Manager Response:
Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals! We look forward to your next visit.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Tucson, AZ does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2009

Property Manager Response:
Thank you for your review. Please feel free to let us know what we could do to make your visit better. We appreciate guest comments regarding the homes and offer this as a way to allow our owners to see what our guests are looking for in a home. We do hope to accomodate you in the future. Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Salem Surf Shack
Danielle S. from Las Vegas, NV recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2009
We loved our charming condo, beautiful location.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Salem Surf Sancuary..Paradise in Mission Beach!
A guest from Henderson, NV recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2009
The combination of the spa, hammock, sound system, comfortable bed, accomodating kitchen, and general location made this property a great choice!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Virginia T. from Kingman, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Garrett S. from Carlsbad, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 17 days in May, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect
Garrett S. from Carlsbad, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 13 days in April, 2009
the house is just big enough for a small froup of friends, quiet and close to anything you could want. just off the beach so you dont get the cold breeze in the morning but the deck offers a great view of the ocean with out people stareing in your windows as they walk by. will definately try to reserve this home again!!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Patricia D. from Coos Bay, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in April, 2009
The weather was cool and the house does not have a heater. They provide a standup heater for the bedroom and an electric fireplace for the rest of the house.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Contact the Manager
Sandy Beach Rentals

Leave this field empty First Name *

Last Name *

Email Address *

Country *
Arrival Date

Departure Date

Adult (18+)
Child (<18)
Telephone
HomeMobileWork
Additional Message
Max 500 characters.

Email me this inquiry
Send me deals email

By clicking "Send Email" you are agreeing to our Terms and Conditions.


This advertiser has listed with PerfectPlaces.com since Feb 4, 2009

Find additional Vacation Rentals: